728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

This extreme duty replacement snow blower shoe (sold individually) is designed to lift snow blowers up over sidewalk cracks up to almost 2 in.. Bottom runners are 12 in. long, and are CNC cut from 1/4 in. thick steel plate more than twice as thick as many stock skids. You may have bent your stock skids, but you are not going to bend these. By design, the leading edge of our skid is moved forward, to protect and gently lift snow blowers up over bumps. The angle of the leading edge is less than half that of most stock skids. For every bump the skid encounters, it has more than twice the distance to lift the snow blower up, compared to a stock skid shoe. Made in America with American Steel. Gravel is brutal on snow blowers. Stock skids dig into gravel, leave ruts, and bend when they encounter frozen rocks. Armors kids provide a ski-like glide over uneven terrain, exactly what is needed for gravel driveways. Details: This skid size has 2 slots spaced 2 3/4 in. apart. Slots are designed to have a slightly loose fit on a 5/16 bolt. New bolts and washers not included. Note that due to size of skid there may be clearance issues with other bolts or protrusions on the snow blower. Either use the old skid as a spacer, or large fender washers to space skid further outward if needed. Patent Pending. This item is a single skid most people will want to order 2 skids, one for each side of the snow blower.
Overall rating:
4.949 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product58 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(57)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product58 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Addition

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fit right on my troybilt storm 2410. two bolts on each side lined right up. 5min install. These are Heavy Duty!!
makes snow blowing much easier on Gravel, Tar, Cement and even the Deck!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Pittsburgh,PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took me mere moments to mount these skidshoes made from 1/4" steel on my Troy-Bilt 24" Two Stage Snowblower using the existing bolts and nuts.
All I have to say is...what a shocking difference in quality!
If your factory skid shoes have turned to rust and are breaking apart, you WANT these skid shoes on your snowblower. Just remember to order 2, the price shown is for 1.
Don't even think about replacing your skid shoes with anything else. You can get OEM Equipment for $13-$20 for the pair, but they will rot in 1-2 years and you will have to buy them again.
The original skid shoes on my snowblower were used for 2 winters without trouble and rotted away last winter. If you have any question about my review or the worth of spending the extra money for quality, please let this picture do the talking for you.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, quality, bolts up to oem bolt location
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Northern Virginia

Super Duty!! Quality product

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although they cost about twice as much as OEM skids, these are well worth that and then some!! They arrived quickly and installed with no problems in minutes.
They are extremely heavy duty and you can tell they are made with quality steel. I used them for about 3 hours during a recent snow and besides the paint scratching off, the metal showed no wear. The OEM ones I replaced these with only lasted 4-5 hours before being completely ruined.
The skids glided easily over the many rises and cracks on my driveway and sidewalk, and also made it easy to create a path on the grass for the dogs.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs to replace their OEM skids. Just be sure and order two!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Stillwater, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a must have!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great fit, built strong, and they do the job better
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best skid shoe

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The skids that came with our new snow blower were flimsy and quickly buckled. I researched on line and found this product and thought - what the heck, I will give them a try. The skid shoes were very easy to fit, actually are ultra strong and worked really well in the record breaking snow this winter. I was so happy to receive a product that lives up to its promise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Quality skid plates for a tough

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 200-yard long gravel driveway (that's 2 football fields long) that I snowblow with a walk-begind snowblower and my standard skid plates are inadequate.
Just received the ARMORskids and they are the perfect answer for me. I can float the machine over uneven terrain and the skids are very VERY well made-- can't find a better product. Buy these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than OEM skid shoes!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
200' of uneven sidewalks, these made the job so much easier. They have a slight tendency to act like a ski and raise the shave plate off the ground a bit, but only a 1/4" or so. Not a big deal. Also work well if you need to blow a path through the yard, to get the Harley-Davidson out of the shed on a warm day. Just lower the shoes to raise the shave plate. I now have grass, not a foot of snow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly Heavy Duty

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These skids were really easy to put on my snow blower. My original skids made it through two rounds of snow. I would expect these bad boys to last many seasons. Their design actually allows them to slide like a sled runner over the snow which minimizes friction and helps them last. Be sure you measure existing mounting slots carefully and order two.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Like title says

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great products, heavy built , packed In bubble wrap!! Fits great !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heavy duty

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our sidewalks have uneven joints and my original skids would bang into any little bump and stop the snow blower. These longer skids slide right over the bumps. That feature alone makes them a must have for me. I suspect these skids will last far longer than the original skids since they are made of much thicker steel.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Ray, Mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best purchase ever

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased a pair for my Craftsman 27 inch blower. What a difference! Would recommend these skids for any snowblower. Shipped fast, quick installation and eight years of battling uneven driveway is now behind me forever. Best $35.00 I've ever spent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Ossineke, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My snowblower just glides down my driveway with these skids. Made such an amazing difference. Heavy duty construction. Definitely a great purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Galloway, Oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get a pair!

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These skids are terrific! They make my machine glide over the cracks and imperfections on my drive and walkway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from P'burg NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

STRONG!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product that is made in the USA! This should outlast the machine.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value.

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For about the same price as the OEM skid shoes, this new product is manufactured with at least two to three times the quality and quantity of steel, and makes the snow blower easier to move and maneuver.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Milford, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...didn't quite match my model

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered specific model based on my Sears snowblower model...Unfortunately, it didn't quite match up so I added a new hole/bolt.
The product works as promised lessens fatigue by easily going over bumps, uneven sidewalks,...basically if you have a self propelled snowblower it's smooth sailing.
Oh, one more thing....price is per skid....so you need a pair (or not)
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Valley City, Liverpool, OH 44280, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Armor Skids: Superior over standard skids.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just got armor skids and all I can say is WOW. One look is all you need. Bolted on in two minutes and its was ready to go. For the time I wasted on standard skids I can't wait to use these new armor skids.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Medina OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

snow blower skid shoe trial and report

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed these skid shoes on my Craftsman snow blower on recommendation of other customer reviews. I am totally pleased with results on my lengthy stone driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from NORTH CENTRAL ILLINOIS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A really slick upgrade.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since I have a gravel drive, I ordered these after looking at the useless plastic skids on my new Craftsman 24 " snow blower. These skids let the blower use more power to throw snow and less power to propel itself. I also think it makes the machine easier to turn.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Better than expected

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered a set for my troybilt. Makes snow blowing much less work on my 200ft long gravel drive way!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>