728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

This extreme duty replacement snow blower shoe (sold individually) is designed to lift snow blowers up over sidewalk cracks up to almost 2 in.. Bottom runners are 12 in. long, and are CNC cut from 1/4 in. thick steel plate more than twice as thick as many stock skids. You may have bent your stock skids, but you are not going to bend these. By design, the leading edge of our skid is moved forward, to protect and gently lift snow blowers up over bumps. The angle of the leading edge is less than half that of most stock skids. For every bump the skid encounters, it has more than twice the distance to lift the snow blower up, compared to a stock skid shoe. Made in America with American Steel. Gravel is brutal on snow blowers. Stock skids dig into gravel, leave ruts, and bend when they encounter frozen rocks. Armors kids provide a ski-like glide over uneven terrain, exactly what is needed for gravel driveways. Details: This skid size has 2 slots spaced 2 3/4 in. apart. Slots are designed to have a slightly loose fit on a 5/16 bolt. New bolts and washers not included. Note that due to size of skid there may be clearance issues with other bolts or protrusions on the snow blower. Either use the old skid as a spacer, or large fender washers to space skid further outward if needed. Patent Pending. This item is a single skid most people will want to order 2 skids, one for each side of the snow blower.
Overall rating:
4.976 / 5
5
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Pittsburgh,PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me mere moments to mount these skidshoes made from 1/4" steel on my Troy-Bilt 24" Two Stage Snowblower using the existing bolts and nuts.
All I have to say is...what a shocking difference in quality!
If your factory skid shoes have turned to rust and are breaking apart, you WANT these skid shoes on your snowblower. Just remember to order 2, the price shown is for 1.
Don't even think about replacing your skid shoes with anything else. You can get OEM Equipment for $13-$20 for the pair, but they will rot in 1-2 years and you will have to buy them again.
The original skid shoes on my snowblower were used for 2 winters without trouble and rotted away last winter. If you have any question about my review or the worth of spending the extra money for quality, please let this picture do the talking for you.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, quality, bolts up to oem bolt location
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Stillwater, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a must have!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great fit, built strong, and they do the job better
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Perfect for gravel drives

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this to help keep the blower from getting into my gravel drive and throwing rocks. These are a perfect fit on my craftsman and lift the blower 1/2 to 1 inch off the ground. Very solid construction and I expect many years of use. Highly recommended upgrade to the plastic risers. You can check for fit on your blower on the manufacturer website as the mounting holes are different by brand and model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will Improve Snow blower performance

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty product. Thick plate steel with excellent welds and finish Beveled leading edges are an excellent design feature to maneuver over sidewalk and driveway raised joints and rougher surfaces. Matched existing bolt pattern perfectly. Worth the money for a quality product that's made in the USA
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting, quality built, good price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The last skid that you will ever need

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I replaced the original worn out skids on my Craftsman snow blower with these. They are a much heavier guage steel than the OEM ones and look like they will easily outlast the rest of the machine. Bolted right on.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Maplewood, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very smooth

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very smooth operation, much better than the original skid shoes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Aston, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Major Improvement over OEM Design

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ARMORskids were installed in less that 10 minutes on my MTD snow blower. The skid shoes were 2.75 in. spacing and were a precision fit that did not require any additional fabrication or hardware whatsoever. These skids glide over uneven as well as even surfaces that are undergoing snow removal and have reduced the effort required to maneuver the snow blower.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Reisterstown, Md.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These skids will probably outlast the snow blower itself. Very easy to install with original machine's bolts. These skids easily glide over the raised portions of the pavement and broken sections.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Valley City, Liverpool, OH 44280, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Armor Skids: Superior over standard skids.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got armor skids and all I can say is WOW. One look is all you need. Bolted on in two minutes and its was ready to go. For the time I wasted on standard skids I can't wait to use these new armor skids.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from North Dakota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased heavy duty skid shoes for my Craftsman Snow Thrower attachment. These shoes last 3 times longer than the original shoes and are about the same price. Great product.
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Baltimore; Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good working product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product to improve the operation of your snow blower. Installed them on a Yard Machine 24" and the machine operates 100% smoother. Not only do they work well on my slightly irregular sidewalk; but they work well on the gravel drive and grass. It is like mounting a pair of skis on the unit. They protect the housing when you bump an object by slightly protruding forward. You can use the existing bolts and install in less than five minutes with a ratchet and 13mm socket. These cost just a few dollars more than the stock skids; however I predict they will last ten times longer. These skids are great; a foot long and a quarter inch thick. Try these out on your blower; if you don't like them return to HD for a refund. I guarantee you will love them too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Decatur, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best alternative to OEM snow blower equipment ever!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put these on my Craftsman 24" 2-stage snow blower #88173 as the factory original skids didn't keep the auger out of the gravel part of my drive (1/2 gravel, 1/2 concrete) even at their highest setting resulting in me throwing shrapnel rock all over. These custom skids were a perfect fit for my machine and worked beautifully! Straightforward installation: unbolt the OEM skids, re-use the same bolts, bolt the Armorskids on in their place. Since installing, I rarely pick up rock unless it is suspended in the snowbank left by the passing snowplow at the foot of the drive. OEM skids may be fine over pea gravel, but mine is 3/4-1 1/2"stones and all the OEM skids did was dig/sink into the gravel resulting in gravel being thrown by the blower. The Amorskids have much better ability to float over the gravel. Fantastic product!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from La Grange Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a difference in snow blower use!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After three years of considerable jamming,damaging and replacing of factory spec skids, I ordered a pair of these heavy duty, redesigned snow blower skids and I've been ivery mpressed. We have had a great deal of snow this winter in the Chicagoland area this winter. These new skids have made my snow blowing much easier. These skids glide over raised seams and jarring and jamming have been eliminated. There appears to be minimal wear on the skids to date which suggests better quality steel is used in manufacturing. I strongly recommend these as a replacement to factory installed skids on any snow blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Haverhill, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Product

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was ready to purchase stock skids until ckecking out the armorskids decided to take a chance on them and very happy i did they were easy to install exact fit. I have to clear a path to my wood pile and my snow thrower did not dig up my grass at all. Thank You armorskids and one other selling point made in the USA.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Should be Standard Equip on all Snowthrowers!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased these for my new SnoTek 24in. Fits perfectly, and I am amazed at how much easier it is to use the snowthrower. Glides over the gravel driveway, no catching at all. Makes turning a lot easier as well. Solid construction. Very happy with these!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome skid shoe

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My drive way is totally uneven due to the hilly terrain in Pittsburgh. The original one literally chipped off the uneven surfaces and they worn out bad after few uses.
Was searching online and bought these from Home Depot since they are free store shipping and easy to return. Installed and used the snow blower today. These are really gliding on the uneven surface. Loved them so much. I am hoping these will survive for sometime as installing the shoe is a painful job.
The description did not mention that its a single piece and not a pair. I have to make two orders.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: a bit expensive
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy duty skid...the best ones made.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty American made replacement skids...They make your snow blower glide over rough pavement or concrete. Highly recommended..
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, works like it should

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great item & it slides over cracks like its advertised.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Atco, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heavy duty built in the USA they will last a long time,very easy to install,a little pricy but they will outlast several standard duty shoes
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Snow Blower Skid Shoe Fits 2 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Oregon, WI 53575, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Holly Balls these are very good skids!!!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow is all I can say. Holly Molly these are very good skids. They are 10 times better than the stock Ariens. They are built to last, and by the way, they are the same price as the Ariens by the time you buy two and pay shipping.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>