728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

This extreme duty replacement snow blower shoe (sold individually) is designed to lift snow blowers up over sidewalk cracks up to almost 2 in.. Bottom runners are 12 in. long, and are CNC cut from 1/4 in. thick steel plate more than twice as thick as many stock skids. You may have bent your stock skids, but you are not going to bend these. By design, the leading edge of our skid is moved forward, to protect and gently lift snow blowers up over bumps. The angle of the leading edge is less than half that of most stock skids. For every bump the skid encounters, it has more than twice the distance to lift the snow blower up, compared to a stock skid shoe. Made in America with American Steel. Gravel is brutal on snow blowers. Stock skids dig into gravel, leave ruts, and bend when they encounter frozen rocks. Armors kids provide a ski-like glide over uneven terrain, exactly what is needed for gravel driveways. Details: This skid size has 4 slots. The slots are designed to have a slightly loose fit on a 3/8 bolt. If you have a 5/16 bolt, you will need to use washers (not included). Note that due to size of skid there may be clearance issues with other bolts or protrusions on the snow blower. Either use the old skid as a spacer, or large fender washers to space skid further outward if needed. Patent Pending. This item is a single skid most people will want to order 2 skids, one for each side of the snow blower.
Overall rating:
4.969 / 5
5.0
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5.0 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for gravel driveway

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old Ariens snowblower that finally wore out, so I recently bought a new Ariens model with the same 24-inch width. But the new machine is much heavier -- especially in front, since the drive wheels are farther back than on the old one. The skids were plowing furrows into the driveway, so I had do something.
I was pleased to find these longer skid shoes; they work well, stay on top of the gravel.
I added shims to space the shoes out about 1/4 inch to clear the rolled edge at the front of the snowblower. (See the picture.) The Ariens stock bolts work fine for mounting.
Pros: Sturdy, made in usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty skids

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed on a new Ariens 28" Deluxe. Skids install in minutes and work great. Protect the body of the blower front and back end and effortlessly rides over rough surfaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Pompey, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the skid shoes because I have a gravel driveway and wanted something that wouldn't dig in. Had a nice snow storm a few weeks ago and got about 2 feet. Skid shoes worked as advertised, very pleased. Hope this ends blowing gravel in my yard. I had to shim the shoes with some washers to get the right fit on my 2014 Ariens Deluxe 28 snowblower. Good product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Gilbert, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best skids ever

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The skids made my Ariens Platinum 30 snow blower a lot better to handle. Before it was very hard to keep going in a straight line - I was always fighting it from going where ever it wanted to go. I had to keep both hands on the handle bars and stop if I had to change the direction of the chute. After I put the new skids on I could go faster and relax while blowing. Now I can use one hand on the handle bars and the other to direct the chute while still moving. After blowing for 2 hours, I do not feel like I have been wrestling with a bull like I did before. WHAT A BIG DIFFERENCE!!!!!
a
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased these for my 2014 Ariens Deluxe 28 recently. They are a HUGE improvement over the OEM skids and make handling the machine much easier on uneven surfaces. We just had 20 + inches of snow and even after 4 plus hours of running the machine, I still felt good. Compared to fighting the machine last year with the OEM / undersized skids (scraper blade grabbing and fighting the autosteer) using the machine is night and day now. Ariens should seriously consider equipping the autosteer machines with these skids directly from the factory.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Elkridge
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Replacement Skids

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This skids are extremely well made. They're as easy to install as the current skids on your snowblower, just loosen the nuts holding on your current skids, remove the current skids and place on these, set your clearance and tighten the nuts. Done.
These will prevent the bottom of your snowblower housing from getting damaged in many situations where the OEM skids will allow damage. The skids will extend beyond both the front and back of the snowblower's drum so it's well protected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

They look great, very well made

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install, and they are very well made, I would buy them again.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Riner, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well made in the USA, easy to install and works as advertised.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Rehoboth, MA

Heavy duty - much better than original equipment.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These skid shoes are really heavy duty and just what I was looking for. The only issue I have is that on my Ariens, I had to have them at the highest level (approx 2 inches from ground) or they wouldn't fit exactly right. The design of the rolled metal on the side of the blower made it impossible to raise the shoes without putting the edge of the shoe over the roll. No matter - I have a tar & chip driveway, and I would prefer it a bit higher anyway. But for those who want their driveway down to the pavement, this would be an issue.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Central Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very easy to install and made with heavy gauge steel.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Skids replace factory junk! They protect the front and the back of the blower box from bad concerete edges by sliding over not catching the edges. I do alot of sidewaks and driveways to help out my neigbors and family and so far the skid have been great. I liked them so much that I order a set for my work Honda blower. And the same guality with them. And that blower does around 1mile of side walks for kids have a safe place to walk to school insted of the street. Buy these, you will not be sorry!! Plus their MADE In The USA.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

If I had three thumbs all of them would be up!!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very well built. Installed them the first day I got them on my craftsman 28" snow thrower, the midwest got dumped on. At first I set them to high but could instantly tell how much smoother the use was. Set them to the right height and it was game on.
I should say my driveway is 50 yards with a huge turn around and it's all gravel. I need a good snow blower, and I have one. The shims the snow blower came with plastic (puke) fine for a year that's it.
Before it was like fighting a bronco my shims were 5 years old and barely holding on. After install was like a brand new snowblower. Now I will fight the machine less and come spring I will have less annoying gravel in my yard. Bravo!! I think these things will outlast my snowblower well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Southern NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

smoother ride

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The extended length of these skid shoes and the lower slope of the entry edge makes the snow blower ride along broken surfaces with less pulling from side to side. I would put these shoes on any new machine I bought. BTW, I put these on an Ariens ST824.
Pros: Easy to Use, better than stock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 180-foot gravel driveway that is really difficult to clean up, the snow blower digs in and I get gravel in the intake. Replacing the original shoes on my Ariens 926 LE with these ones has made it worry free, no more digging in or getting stuck, and more important no more gravel in the intake. These shoes, are well designed and built, they solved my problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Winchester MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just had 30" and I'd say these cut clean up time on 150' gravel driveway by 25%. It's like the front of the machine is on wheels.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't hesitate to buy!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last winter I bought a 36" Ariens professional snow blower to use on my huge gravel driveway. The stock skids kept digging in and making the auto-turn feature wrongly assume I was attempting to turn. It was like a wrestling match to keep it going straight. It was exhausting to say the least. I was disgusted thinking I wasted almost $3,000 for a snow blower that I could hardly use. As this winter was approaching, and dreading the thought of having to use the snow blower again, I thought to myself that probably the skids were too small and that if the skid was more like a ski it would work a lot better. I did some research online and discovered ARMORskids. Wow what a difference! No more wrestling matches. Stays nice and straight! I can not say enough about how great these work. Do not hesitate, BUY THEM!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Upstate NY

Saving My Shear Bolts

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These oversize skid shoes were very easy to put on my machine and the keep the scraper plate on my snow blower at least one inch off my crusher run driveway, So far, I haven't had to replace another shear bolt.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Greenbush ME.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was thinking of having some oversize skid shoes made for my snow blower, but found these online at the home depot website. These skid shoes are well made and the price is right for me.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Allentown, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All Business!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These skids are definitely heavy duty. Makes my vintage Ariens look like a mean snow-eater. Will have to wait for snow to try out on gravel driveway and grass area. I have no doubt they will perform as other reviewers have stated. Will try to follow-up!
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Central Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty skids

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are very well made heavy duty skids. I should not have to replace these in the foreseeable future. When I do need to replace them I will definitely buy these again.
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoe Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm impressed by the quality of the product. The skis are made of thick steel stock and were simple to install. Made in the USA to boot.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>