728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

This extreme duty replacement snow blower shoe (sold individually) is designed to lift snow blowers up over sidewalk cracks up to almost 2 in.. Bottom runners are 12 in. long, and are CNC cut from 1/4 in. thick steel plate more than twice as thick as many stock skids. You may have bent your stock skids, but you are not going to bend these. By design, the leading edge of our skid is moved forward, to protect and gently lift snow blowers up over bumps. The angle of the leading edge is less than half that of most stock skids. For every bump the skid encounters, it has more than twice the distance to lift the snow blower up, compared to a stock skid shoe. Made in America with American Steel. Gravel is brutal on snow blowers. Stock skids dig into gravel, leave ruts, and bend when they encounter frozen rocks. Armors kids provide a ski-like glide over uneven terrain, exactly what is needed for gravel driveways. Details: This skid size has 4 slots. The slots are designed to have a slightly loose fit on a 3/8 bolt. If you have a 5/16 bolt, you will need to use washers (not included). Note that due to size of skid there may be clearance issues with other bolts or protrusions on the snow blower. Either use the old skid as a spacer, or large fender washers to space skid further outward if needed. Patent Pending. This item is a single skid most people will want to order 2 skids, one for each side of the snow blower.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing

If I had three thumbs all of them would be up!!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very well built. Installed them the first day I got them on my craftsman 28" snow thrower, the midwest got dumped on. At first I set them to high but could instantly tell how much smoother the use was. Set them to the right height and it was game on.
I should say my driveway is 50 yards with a huge turn around and it's all gravel. I need a good snow blower, and I have one. The shims the snow blower came with plastic (puke) fine for a year that's it.
Before it was like fighting a bronco my shims were 5 years old and barely holding on. After install was like a brand new snowblower. Now I will fight the machine less and come spring I will have less annoying gravel in my yard. Bravo!! I think these things will outlast my snowblower well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from columbia, conn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gives a more stable platform for forward end of sno blower to travel on

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Were easy to install and fit perfectly without any additional adjustments. Recommend for all gravel driveways as original skid shoes were to small and dug into the gravel driveway. Additionally, the replacement skid shoes would probably be even better being about 1/2" wider. Recommend to all having a gravel driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from western Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent upgrade

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are a simple and excellent upgrade to the skids that were on my snow blower; worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy to install, heavy duty.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes maneuvering the blower a lot easier, especially larger models on uneven surfaces. Manufacturers should consider these skids standard on all models.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from St. Cloud MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to my Ariens blower

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Really tames the "uneven" parts in my driveway and walkways. These skids will outlast the blower.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Bemidji, Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for most snow blowers!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"MAKE SURE YOU PURCHASE A PAIR (2)" I almost messed up and purchased only one, but caught myself.
The shoes on my brand new MTD blower attachment are junk. They are simply stamped out pieces of sheet metal, as many brands are. The stock shoes are like ice skates, that dig into the substrate of my very large driveway. This makes steering impossible, and scraper height nearly impossible.
These Armorskids are a lifesaver. Compared to ice skates, these are like cross-country skis. The quality and workmanship are excellent. The shoes are at least 12" long and a tad over 1" wide, and 1/4" thick. HEAVY DUTY. Top it off with the fact that when you expect to see them spray painted black, these are black powder coated.
My new Cub Cadet with snow blower attachment now handles like it has power steering. Blowing through the recent 2' of snow was effortless.
This product is a must for snowblowers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Iowa

These shoes glide on gravel driveways!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great American-made product! These shoes glided across my 110 ft gravel driveway like a hovercraft. Seriously, these shoes are fantastic for those with gravel driveways. They just work. I have a Troy-Bilt 2410 Storm snowblower. Ricky - Iowa - Jan 2013
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Definitely Worth It!!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It performs better than the OEM Skid shoes that are supplied from the manufacturer by far! It runs a lot longer in length than the stock skids, which protect the Auger housing from damage. Other Skids just wear out, cost way too much, and use inferior metal. They are made from a harder steel. They are Made here in the USA!
When ordering them, make sure you measure the middle of the slots, not the middle of the bolts (they could be bent, or holes could be worn out and will not give you an accurate measurement). You can take a permanent ink marker and mark the top center of the slot, and then measure your marks with a ruler/tape measure.
When you get them make sure your auger housing is straight. Replace all the bolts, washers, and nuts with new fasteners. Depending on the auger housing, you may have to use washers to space the gap in between the skid shoes and the housing.
I use these personally on my snow thrower, and highly recommend them to my customers when they bring their snow throwers in for repairs. It is easy to attach and adjust!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting, excellent price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Marshfield,wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMORskids WOW

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100% better then stock skids. Put them on my 25 year old Ariens. There going to work great on my uneven sidewalk.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Coeur D'Alene, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best solution for gravel drive

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1000% better than stock John Deere skids on my 828D. Gravel drives and snow blowers are not particularly compatible, but better than plowing up the driveway every winter. These skids work extremely well on packed gravel, still dig in a bit on lose material, but will work well if blower is set high enough. Best solution I have found, and the quality and value cannot be beat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, best solution for gravel drive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beefy

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered these because I have a gravel driveway. The stock ones kept getting snagged on everything. These just glide along, no problem. And these things are heavy duty to say the least. AND they're MADE IN USA! Get em. You won't regret it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes Fits 3 in. and 1 in. Slot Spacing
from MN

Made in the USA..... Enough said!!!!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good quality product that's made right here in the USA. Very easy to put on. Slides along driveway like a dream. Glad I found these!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.