728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing

This extreme duty replacement snow blower shoe (sold individually) is designed to lift snow blowers up over sidewalk cracks up to almost 2 in.. Bottom runners are 12 in. long, and are CNC cut from 1/4 in. thick steel plate more than twice as thick as many stock skids. You may have bent your stock skids, but you are not going to bend these. By design, the leading edge of our skid is moved forward, to protect and gently lift snow blowers up over bumps. The angle of the leading edge is less than half that of most stock skids. For every bump the skid encounters, it has more than twice the distance to lift the snow blower up, compared to a stock skid shoe. Made in America with American Steel. Gravel is brutal on snow blowers. Stock skids dig into gravel, leave ruts, and bend when they encounter frozen rocks. Armors kids provide a ski-like glide over uneven terrain, exactly what is needed for gravel driveways. Details: This skid size has 4 slots. Slots are designed to have a slightly loose fit on a 3/8 bolt. Washers required (not included). Note that due to size of skid there may be clearance issues with other bolts or protrusions on the snow blower. Either use the old skid as a spacer, or large fender washers to space skid further outward if needed. Patent Pending. This item is a single skid most people will want to order 2 skids, one for each side of the snow blower.
Overall rating:
4.929 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from avon ,mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ARMORskids fit my craftsman snowblower perfect

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Craftsman Snow thrower Gas model #536887990 these skid shoes are a perfect fit . I mounted them inwards and the scraper bar rested perfectly on top of the inward shoes and left a 1/4 inch clearance gap from the ground. these skid shoes look better than my snow blower ,I will have to spray paint her next year..all I need now is some snow , home depot`s store delivery was fantastic easy pick up at the service desk . ARMOR skid shoes are a Superior Design over original skids and they are Made in America
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Duluth, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid part, does its job.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nothing complex here. Bolt it on and go. Thick enough to take abuse for quite a while. Don't expect the paint to stay on it for long, but that's only cosmetic. It's a wear item, after all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality Skid

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This skid is well made- much stronger than the factory skids that came with my snowblower. It was well machined and very easy to install on my Craftsman snowblower. It will most definitely make a difference on my gravel driveway and transitioning to walkways. Bonus- it is made in the USA.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Barnstable, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 72 year old woman and cannot get out of my uphill driveway without running the snowblower. Before installing these skids, which was very easy to do, I would pick up 3/4 inch stones, even with the old skids raised as high as they would go, which could result in damage to the blower and makes yard clean up in the spring very difficult. I have already replaced the plastic chute twice due to objects breaking it. With the new skids on, the snowblower glides over the stones easily and I was able to raise the blower higher than with the old skids. I am extremely pleased with this product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Improvement in snow blower ease of use

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These skids went right on over the existing skids on my Craftsman snow blower model 536.881851 - 8.5 hp 27 snow blower and kept it from digging up the gravel driveway and chipping the brick sidewalk. This should be the type of skid snow blowers come with from the factory instead of the stupid plate skids that are standard. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product work very well

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all the claims of this product and on line reviews are correct and work as it is broadcasted. Works well on my John Deere trs22
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Newark,DE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These replacement skids are very well made and much heavier duty than the original equipment skids on my Craftsman snow blower. They fit perfectly and were easy to install. The longer length with the angled leading edges allow for very smooth operation across sidewalks and driveways. I would not hesitate to recommend these to a friend or to buy another set when these wear down (due to the heavy gauge of these skids it will be several years before replacements are needed). Excellent product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worth the Investment!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just an outstanding upgrade from standard small skids. I have a flat concrete driveway, and the typical grind and bite of my original skids was replaced with the smooth glide of ARMORskids. Much easier on the back and the bum knee. Easy to mount and easy to adjust, just make sure you buy the correct hole spacing for your needs.
These are heavy duty skids designed for uneven surfaces. We seem to get a fair amount of ice under our snow here, and ARMORskids are a wonder at throwing the light off the top while leaving that inch or so of ice or slush behind as desired.
I get the sensation that these skids were designed by someone tired of mediocre skids that barely last the season. I expect these will last me for several years at least, and when they need replaced, I'll be putting on new ARMORskids. Well worth the investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Indianapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an outstanding product! The price is a few dollars less per skid than the OEM skids. There is absolutley no comarison between these skids and the OEM skids. ARMORskids are substantially bigger and much heavier duty. Buy them from Home Depot and free delivery to local store to avoid shipping charges and you are WAY ahead of the game. Buy these skids!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Joppa, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You need these!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Turns your snowthrower into a snow mobile, these should be standard equipment on every machine sold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Manson, WA 98831, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very well made product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well made,lots of adjustment,made the blower more easy to handle,almost like adding power steering.
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Grand Blanc, MI

Snow blower skids

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These things are nice. 1/4" plate steel about 12" long. They are heavy duty, and slide over everything. Plus they were "WAY" cheaper than the crummy 1/8" stamped plate that were my old ones.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Foster, RI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Snowblower Add On Investment

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 20 years of pushing and bumping over gravel, ice and snow ruts, I bought a pair of heavy duty skid shoes for my snowblower. It was the best investment ever. It really cut down on my snow clearing time and effort. The skids are curved upwards at the tips and tails and actually work like skis by sliding effortlessly over the snow, gravel (if you have any like me),ice and ruts in paved driveways.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Skid Shoes fit 2 in. and 4 3/4 in. Slot Spacing
from Drums, PA 18222, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality. Installs easily. Heavy duty metal. Does the job.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.