728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product60 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(21)
3
(11)
2
(9)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product60 of 95reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
43out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this switch because I have an outdoor, LED can light over my front door. I wanted something that would switch on/off from dusk to dawn whether we are home or not. The wiring instructions were clear with one exception. At the very top it tells you to bend and snap-off an extra piece of metal if you have a 2 or more switch plate. It was obvious once I started to install the other switch. The programming instructions were straight forward. The random on/off feature worked perfectly. The hardest thing I encountered was getting all of the wires pushed far enough back in the junction box to screw this switch in. In total, install and programming took me 1-hour.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Wauconda, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Replacement Control Switch/Timer

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a Honeywell timer/switch that was installed on a wall mounted towel drying rack that went out after 18 months of service. This is a better featured replacement! This is backlit and easy to read. It was easily programmed and has worked flawlessly for two months and counting.
The instructions were clear and it was easy to swap out the original timer/switch.
The timer feature can be over-ridden to turn on and off the towel bar when we aren't going to shower during the usual time.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Light Timer & good fit

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well made product and after comparison to other programmable switches the best for my 3-way switch situation. The Instructions need to be larger for easier reading without magnification and the wiring diagrams need consistent Wire Color coding in EVERY diagram not just some. Especially for the 3-way application and use. A good switch overall.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: instructions need to be larger and more colors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally worthless

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed yesterday and we had a THREE hour power outage today, after the power came back on, my Honeywell & cheap Brinks timers both remembered the time and programming, not this peace of fine China engineering, it was blinking away, did not remember anything, tomorrow it is coming off the wall and being replaced with a Honeywell. Do yourself a favor, spend a couple more dollars and get a good timer.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Short Battery Life, forgets programming, display hard to read
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product - set it and forget it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We now have three. Controls outside lighting - front porch, driveway, rear parking area. These timers were required when we started using LED bulbs. Programming is easy when you read the instructions thoroughly first. They make the mechanical timers obsolete.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from COLORADO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed something to control the timing on the porch light so I didn't have a high electric bill. An associate told me that this would be a great addition. It saved me time and money from searching for a while new light fixture and works wonderfully.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from McDonough, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, here are some tips....

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased online, picked up in store in about an hour. Decided to tackle it today. I'm not an electrician and I'm probably dangerous, but reading the reviews here and online searches I did the following:
1: shutoff the main circuit breaker (probably didn't need to, but if something goes wrong, it usually happens to me).
2: had an wire tester around the switch, everything looks good and off
3: disassembled the porch light switch and had 3 wires connected to it (hmm...new switch has 5)
4: went to the directions and it talked about a neutral. Some googling, found the neutral(s) all bundled together (they were all white).
5: green-->ground wire (so far so good)
6: figured out this is a single pole and did not need the red wire, so capped it.
7: "Line" v. "Load"...err...using the diagrams and direction of where the bundles were coming from, I connected the 1 black to line and 1 to load.
8: before I reassembled, I needed to see if it worked. Supposedly the LCD should light up flashing the time. Turned circuit breaker on...no flashing. Great!
9: the only thing I could think of is that I have the line/load reversed. Switched line/load and voila, got me a flashing clock/light.
10: tested porch light (just push the button) and they came on!
11: turned off circuit breaker ... and this ... stuffing all the wiring back in ... was the hardest part of the job.
12: after all said and done, the programming was a snap and works as described.
I would recommend this product and for y'all that are like me and scared to death of electricity, just shut off the main.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
Cons: not a con just me: learn what line/load wires are
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use for my outside lights. Wiring is slightly more complicated given it was for a 2-way switch. Only downside is when the power goes out, you have to reprogram the entire thing (which isn't hard). Product is able to have multiple settings. Its nice to have lights on when I leave in the morning and when I get home at night with no effort from me. The random setting allows lights to adjust every day slightly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, easy to set up, looks good, works perfect.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great, easy to set up, looks good, works perfect. Takes up a fair amount of room in a box.
Pros: Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Livermore, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Something wrong here....

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No sure why, but I have bought 3 for the same light switch location and first failed after about a year, second, after 6 months or so. Now I'm on the third one that failed after 3 months... I even had an electrician look at it, and he couldn't figure it out. I think it's time for a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Slidell, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to program

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know some have a greater knack for these things than others, but I have found this thing devilishly difficult to program.
For one thing, the buttons and display are tiny and if you are at an age where you are experiencing any decline in eyesight or light sensitivity you will find the display hard to read. I find myself trying to hold a pencil to push the buttons and a small flashlight to read the display while simultaneously trying to read the instructions and punch the right buttons. Once programmed I have found it difficult to confirm that the programming is correct. For example last night my lights came on as desired but did not turn off in the morning. I feel like the only way to be sure will be to monitor what happens over the next week.
The display is very confusing and I often don't know, for example, whether "on" means the numbered program is on or if it refers to the programmed on time for the lights. Also it is supposed to display the days of the week but, despite spending several hours with this I have never seen that choice displayed.
In all fairness, the item appears to be of good quality and, in order to pack so many features into such a small space perhaps makes these problems inevitable.
However, if based on what I have said you have doubts about your ability to program it, I suggest you beware.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact
Cons: Complicated, poor instructions/
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Major Design flaw!

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a licensed electrician, that had been working with this kind of timers since they were first introduced. I've been using Intermatic until today, when I purchased this one, without even looking at the brand. After installing, I've noticed, that it has no full manual option, where it would keep the programmed schedule in its memory, but would be turned off, until turned on "auto" In my opinion, manual mode is a basic option, which makes this product completely useless, for someone, who only want to control their device by timer occasionally. You can only have full manual control, if you delete all programming....but you have to reprogram every time, you wanted to have your device on a schedule. Customer supports response is, that the customer that I installed for, should familiarize herself with programming it. She's 62 and will certainly not going to learn to program this unit. They need to redesign this unit, as manual mode should be a basic function on this timer.
Cons: no manual option!
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Kansas City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation ok, but can't program it

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm just a DIY homeowner but usually above average in handiness. I got this installed and working, which I thought was the hard part! But I have tried following the programming instructions word for word, but just cannot get the dang thing to turn on/off by itself. If I still have to manually turn it on/off all the time, it does me no good over the traditional light switch I replaced! Hoping I can find some help for this.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish
Cons: difficulty programming
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>