728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.205 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product40 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(15)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product40 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Trainwreck
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Leon
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Doug
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Steve
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
jp1221
from plymouth meeting PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pain to deal with so far

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
installation was a pain, had to do some guesswork and then call the 1-800 customer support number and they were helpful.
but agree with other reviewers barely fits in the box, wires too large and stiff, lots of pushing and needed to get other box screws after this stripped out the old screws
biggest gripe is I cannot get it to consistently go on and off....I may have a defective unit because reset button doesn't always work..I have had to pull out the manual and re-enter my settings 10 times and it still doesn't shut off at 1am when I want it to...now I may have to rip it out and take it back...another pain.
also instructions are unclear - does auto 'on' or 'off' mean the timer settings will work?
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish
Cons: Complicated
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
shadowless
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
MavTX
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally worthless

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed yesterday and we had a THREE hour power outage today, after the power came back on, my Honeywell & cheap Brinks timers both remembered the time and programming, not this peace of fine China engineering, it was blinking away, did not remember anything, tomorrow it is coming off the wall and being replaced with a Honeywell. Do yourself a favor, spend a couple more dollars and get a good timer.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Short Battery Life, forgets programming, display hard to read
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
HLRJR79
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product - set it and forget it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We now have three. Controls outside lighting - front porch, driveway, rear parking area. These timers were required when we started using LED bulbs. Programming is easy when you read the instructions thoroughly first. They make the mechanical timers obsolete.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
DIYUtahGuy
from Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use for my outside lights. Wiring is slightly more complicated given it was for a 2-way switch. Only downside is when the power goes out, you have to reprogram the entire thing (which isn't hard). Product is able to have multiple settings. Its nice to have lights on when I leave in the morning and when I get home at night with no effort from me. The random setting allows lights to adjust every day slightly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
saluki1

I'll be returning.

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have said, this unit is way too big for a tight area. I had to move, smash, and finagle the wires back into the box to get it to fit. Even then it was too tight. Also, it has no memory so when the power goes out you have to reprogram it, and that's not easy. The door on this thing is flimsy and popped off when installing the almond face. Not robust at all. The only thing good about it was the customer service. When I called the number I spoke to a human pretty quickly and they were extremely helpful. Quality is lacking and I ordered a Honeywell unit. This will be going back soon.
Cons: big with no memory
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
usmcrtr
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Bought one, Bought two more.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have three of these installed. Fairly simple to install, but space inside the gang box may be an issue. I had to install a retro fit box in order to have enough space for the wiring on one of them. While they do perform as described, I gave it 4 of 5 stars because I have to adjust the times on occasion. This adjustment is primarily needed in the spring and fall. I bought this product because my home has large eaves and the dusk to dawn sensors did not work properly as they were nearly always shaded. Great solution. Installed spring of 2013.
Pros: Easy to Use, alternative to dusk to dawn sensors
Cons: space requirement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
SMinAZ
from Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
DIYer
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and value and easy to install

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have spent more money to on the little screw in sensor light timers than this unit costs just to have our front porch light on a timer. These timers cannot be used with Florescent bulbs. Programming is easy. Our only issue with this timer is that the power to the unit will fail if your light bulb blows out. We did not know this initially, but tech support for the unit was very helpful and explained this issue to us. This Defiant timer controls our front porch light and we plan to buy additional units for our soffit lights and driveway.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
LenNJ
from Voorhees, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't overide timer

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit was easy enough to connect and program. The instructions were adequate for both. The automatic adjustment for time of year is a great feature too. However, if you want to operate the switch totally manually and not have the timer turn off the lights according to the program, that cannot be done. Say the timer is set to turn off at 10:00 PM but you're going out and want it to stay on until you return and turn it off manually, there's no way to do that unless the unit is reprogrammed which is a pain. . I called the customer service number and they confirmed this shortcoming.
Pros: Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: no manual mode. must be reprogramed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
sgordon
from Kansas City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation ok, but can't program it

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm just a DIY homeowner but usually above average in handiness. I got this installed and working, which I thought was the hard part! But I have tried following the programming instructions word for word, but just cannot get the dang thing to turn on/off by itself. If I still have to manually turn it on/off all the time, it does me no good over the traditional light switch I replaced! Hoping I can find some help for this.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish
Cons: difficulty programming
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
doctorr
from US
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great device

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This device exceeded my expectations. It was easy to install and it comes with a white or ivory cover too.
Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
jeebes

piece of junk

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked for 3 days then quit wont work by manual mode ,it turns off after 2 minutes and reprogrammed still doesnt work will be returning without the box should of known anything home de pot sells is usually a factory second even door handles ive had to return for locking mechanism not working
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Doug
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better try the more expensive Honeywell solar timer

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried two of these. The first never worked right with erratic on-times. The second came on at dusk but never turned off. The comment about being bulky is true. On a single outlet box, you may be hard pressed to get all the connecting wires and plug wire nuts arranged so you can fit this timer in.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Ramjet

Timer

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had two other products some years ago and they programmed just fine. But of course company had to mess with a good thing. Newest timer is the worst piece of junk I have had to deal with! Programming is SO bad, I can't deal with it! Can't get a website to Defiant (and I know why) but note to company... If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Cons: Complicated
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
mwireless
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

20 amp unit. will do most anything that needs a timer

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great timer that replaces a light switch. 20 amps...
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>