728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.486 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product67 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(24)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product67 of 103reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+40points
46out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from NJ

Manual override is poorly designed

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Auto on/off works fine as long as you DON'T do manual override to turn the lights on. As someone mentioned earlier in their post, it goes through 24 hour cycle before it goes back to Auto on/off. It would've been helpful if this was included as warning in the directions. I almost returned it thinking it was broken. Thankfully, I saw the posting. Program buttons are also very small. Defiant should improve the device to allow switching between auto and manual mode without waiting 24 hrs. If weather gets dark and gloomy earlier than the set time, it would be great to manually turn the lights on without ruining the timer cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Houston, TX

Easy to read and program, works with many loads, but bulky and limited features

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These types of timers are notorious for being hard to read so this one is nice and backlit and easy to program. The problem is that it's too simple. There is no way to temporarily disable programming and being on manual mode. For example, say you want your Christmas lights to come on around Christmas on auto, but the rest of the year you want manual mode. You have to erase the programming. Your choices are Auto and Auto.
The backlight while nice is sometimes a nuisance. In a bedroom, you want the light to be off, but the only way to do it is put black tape.
Last, this is very bulky. I appreciate 12 AWG wires, but they take up so much room. It might be better to just remove the wires and leave the terminals so you can wire directly. Also, with the heat sink wings, it makes it difficult to flush the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Draper, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Timer

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like the feature of dust to dawn and it was easy to program
Pros: Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, once I figured it out!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted this timer for my front porch and outside garage lights that run on the same switch to be able to come on so I never come home to a dark house. My Dad thankfully, was able to install this for me, We did have a little trouble/difficulty with it the first night because we couldn't get the timer to work. We knew the light worked because we could manually turn it on/off. After reading some of the reviews it was noted that when you manually turn it on/off it resets the timer for 24hrs. That seems to be a fault in the timer in my opinion. After leaving it alone it did work the next night and has continued working perfectly at the set times.
It would have been nice to have a troubleshooting section in the instructions for this type of example as it seems many people had the same issue. I mean who doesn't check to see if the light comes on before setting the time? For this reason I am only giving it 4 stars. I haven't had it long enough to know if it will last a long time. I sure hope it does!
Cons: Complicated, no troubleshooting instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from atl, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This timer DOES have a full manual mode.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Full manual is achived by holding the + and - for five seconds. the word manual will appear on the screen. same thing to go back to auto.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice having the lights on when I come home

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The device is easy to install and set-up. Then it adjusts automatically for daylight savings and changing sunset times. Perfect fior outdoor light control!
Pros: Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this switch because I have an outdoor, LED can light over my front door. I wanted something that would switch on/off from dusk to dawn whether we are home or not. The wiring instructions were clear with one exception. At the very top it tells you to bend and snap-off an extra piece of metal if you have a 2 or more switch plate. It was obvious once I started to install the other switch. The programming instructions were straight forward. The random on/off feature worked perfectly. The hardest thing I encountered was getting all of the wires pushed far enough back in the junction box to screw this switch in. In total, install and programming took me 1-hour.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product - set it and forget it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We now have three. Controls outside lighting - front porch, driveway, rear parking area. These timers were required when we started using LED bulbs. Programming is easy when you read the instructions thoroughly first. They make the mechanical timers obsolete.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Philadelphia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good timer with limitations

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In the proper application this is a good astronomical timer. It does require a neutral wire to operate, so not all switch locations are suitable for this unit. No battery in this timer so no need to replace a battery every couple of years. A good choice if you understand the limitations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Wauconda, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Replacement Control Switch/Timer

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a Honeywell timer/switch that was installed on a wall mounted towel drying rack that went out after 18 months of service. This is a better featured replacement! This is backlit and easy to read. It was easily programmed and has worked flawlessly for two months and counting.
The instructions were clear and it was easy to swap out the original timer/switch.
The timer feature can be over-ridden to turn on and off the towel bar when we aren't going to shower during the usual time.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Light Timer & good fit

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well made product and after comparison to other programmable switches the best for my 3-way switch situation. The Instructions need to be larger for easier reading without magnification and the wiring diagrams need consistent Wire Color coding in EVERY diagram not just some. Especially for the 3-way application and use. A good switch overall.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: instructions need to be larger and more colors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Major Design flaw!

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a licensed electrician, that had been working with this kind of timers since they were first introduced. I've been using Intermatic until today, when I purchased this one, without even looking at the brand. After installing, I've noticed, that it has no full manual option, where it would keep the programmed schedule in its memory, but would be turned off, until turned on "auto" In my opinion, manual mode is a basic option, which makes this product completely useless, for someone, who only want to control their device by timer occasionally. You can only have full manual control, if you delete all programming....but you have to reprogram every time, you wanted to have your device on a schedule. Customer supports response is, that the customer that I installed for, should familiarize herself with programming it. She's 62 and will certainly not going to learn to program this unit. They need to redesign this unit, as manual mode should be a basic function on this timer.
Cons: no manual option!
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>