728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.682 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(201 reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product141 of 194reviews
Rating Breakdown 201 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(51)
3
(16)
2
(14)
1
(35)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product141 of 194reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defiant Timer

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for a timer that would turn my outdoor lights on automatically since I go to bed before it gets dark. I've never replaced any of my switches before but the electrician (Chibuzor) was very helpful and walked me through the whole process of installing the timers. Very easy to install thanks to Chibuzor expert advice. Timers work perfectly, I really like the daylight saving feature on this model, it adjust the time automatically which saves me the hassle of changing the time every week. The timers were easy to program. Only had them installed about a week now but I haven't had any problem with them so far.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great timer!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this switch several weeks ago and have had no problems. I would suggest you have a basic understanding of wiring if you want to install this yourself. The directions could be a little clearer. Once installed it was easy to set up and use. I have not had a problem with the switch losing its programming when the power goes out. I've turned the circuit breaker off to this switch several times and the programming stays. The little door seems strong enough for me. It's not like you're going to be opening it all the time. It's a set it and forget it type of thing. This has been the perfect solution for turning my outside lights on and off at dusk and dawn. A great security addition.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+64points
70out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Great timer for lighting control

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This time has all the features I need. (1) It will automatically. turn on/off any light (including LED). (2) It can replace a regular switch or a 3-way switch. (3) It can be programmed to turn on at sunset and off at sunrise (which changes almost every day). (4) If there is a power outage, it resumes the automated program after the power is on. (This is useful when you are away on a trip. I tested this feature by turning off/on the power supply.) (5) It comes with two cover plates so it can match either white or light almond color decorative wall plate. The installation requirement is that the switch box has also the neutral (white) and ground (bare copper) wires.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Pretty easy installation

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Let me start off by saying electrical work is not my strong point. Lol
That being said I found this pretty easy to setup. my current configuration actually had a 2 black wires and the white neutral was wound up with a wire nut with other white neutral wires. it'd take me a little bit to figure out that the black on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires and the blue on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires.
Once I got it figured out everything setup just fine. Programming the switch was easy as following the directions.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Florida

Turns the lights on and off as described

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to install, and turns the lights on and off as described. Good value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Mt. Laurel, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Electrical Timer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used one of these to replace a similar GE model (damned near identical but for the brand!) that had failed. The only trouble installing this was the fact that it went into a 3-gang box which made for a lot of crowding. The instructions might have been a little clearer--but I knew from looking at the diagram that the blue wire was intended to connect to the "load" and the black one to the "line." (If you don't know this elementary difference between load and line you should not be playing around with electrical wires!). Got the thing installed okay but found that after programming my outside lights did not turn on at dusk and off at dawn. Called the help line and learned my mistake: After programing the "Initial Setup" I never went on to the next step (which is clearly stated in the instructions) "Programming ON/OFF Events." Duh. The very nice electrician from Home Depot's help line was kind enough not to point out what a dork I was. Now that I have followed ALL the instructions the device works perfectly. Just like the one before it. And another we have had running for 3 years. My only problem was RTFI: Read the frigging instructions--even if you think you know it all! It may not keep time quite as accurately as my iPhone but it does a great job turning on at dusk and off at dawn, which is what I want. THe other features sound interesting but I have not tried them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: you must read the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Fort Myers, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Working Product!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was lucky to have a neighbor who is an electrician install for me. However, I could have done myself as given instructions were provided clearly. I was able to program easily a Mon - Sunday schedule by following the instructions.
Pros: Stylish, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Powder Springs, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solved My Problem!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My electrician recommended this product for setting timer on my landscape lights. It's a little complicated to program, but it works great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Bethlehem
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insanely Over Complicated

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This switch works well & seems to be well made. You should not have to go get the instructions out & take 6 or 7 minutes to reprogram the thing because you had a 30 second power outage. It is SO overly & needlessly complicated to program that it's ridiculous. I used the Intermatics for years & found them very easy to use & I regret having switched at the advice of a store employee/
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Cedar Rapids
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Love this timer

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to program to the time you want! I had this same timer in our last house and immediately purchased the same one for the new house. Lights on as dusk and I get to choose the time they turn off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Spring, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The digital timer is compact and very easy to install. It fits to the existing light switch. I use it to control my outside lights (porch and garage). It works really well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice timer, great price

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good timer at a good price. I found it as easy to program as a programmable thermostat or sprinkler system. Yes, the buttons are tiny, but the programming instructions have a diagram and step by step directions for setting the time, date, and location. I initially set the Dusk and Dawn times to local Sunset and Sunrise, which made the lights go on too early and shut off too late. I changed the Dusk and Dawn times to local Dusk and Dawn. Google "dusk in YourTown, USA" to find the correct times, which are usually about 25 minutes different than sunset/sunrise.
The installation instructions could be better (one star off for that), but if you follow the diagrams carefully, it will work properly.
The hardest part of the installation was cramming all the wires back into the wall box. The timer is deep and bulky, taking up a lot of space in the box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: so-so instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from YOUNG HARRIS GEORGIA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome works great

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This took less than 5 minutes to install, directions were very easy to understand. Programming also just took a couple of minutes. I have no clue why so many here have such a hard time installing this. I don't think they could have made it any easier. black wire on incoming hot wire - blue wire on outgoing to load - white wire with white wires - red capped - green grounded -- SUPER EASY!!!!!!!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this timer!!

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This timer switch has solved all our problems with having the outside lights go on even when we are not home. It allows you to set it based on sunset in your time zone. We had been searching for this type of switch for several years!!!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>