728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product79 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(26)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product79 of 117reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
53out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from NJ

Manual override is poorly designed

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Auto on/off works fine as long as you DON'T do manual override to turn the lights on. As someone mentioned earlier in their post, it goes through 24 hour cycle before it goes back to Auto on/off. It would've been helpful if this was included as warning in the directions. I almost returned it thinking it was broken. Thankfully, I saw the posting. Program buttons are also very small. Defiant should improve the device to allow switching between auto and manual mode without waiting 24 hrs. If weather gets dark and gloomy earlier than the set time, it would be great to manually turn the lights on without ruining the timer cycle.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to install and program. Just read the instructions first

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I suspect the negative reviews are from people not reading the instructions prior to install. Hookup was easy, white to neutral, black to hot, blue to load, green to ground and I capped off the red as I did not need it.
It took about 3 minutes to program and the lights come on as sunset and turn off at sunrise. I tied my porch and outside lights together during install so I could use one switch. This also let me free up a few wires and connectors in the box.
4 star rating was left only because it does seem to lose configuration during an extended power outage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: extended power outage requires reprogramming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Sugar Grove, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3-way installation a little bit intimidating, but works great.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My installation was for the five led coach lights on the front of my house which were previously controlled by two 3-way switches. I am not an electrician and so some of the terminology in the instructions, although common electrical terms, were terms I don't fully understand. I had to do some research on "line" vs "load", for example. At one point, after having disconnected my old switch in the garage, I realized that the installation would require wiring changes at the other switch as well and I almost gave up. I'm glad I didn't. The changes to the other switch were easy and the necessary parts were included. In the end, it all worked as advertised. The programming was pretty easy, despite the necessarily tiny buttons and display.
I have no hesitation recommending this for a simple 1-switch installation, but for a 3-way, you'll need to feel confident in your electrical skills. That's no fault of the switch itself -- just a reality of working with 3-way switches.
My only other comment is that you'll need enough room in the electrical box as the switch itself is large and there are up to 5 wires to connect , each of which may require the use of a medium-sized wirenut. I installed mine in a standard square box which previously held two standard 3-way switches. It was tight after replacing one of them with this switch.
Pros: Clear Instructions
Cons: Complicated
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Slidell, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to program

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know some have a greater knack for these things than others, but I have found this thing devilishly difficult to program.
For one thing, the buttons and display are tiny and if you are at an age where you are experiencing any decline in eyesight or light sensitivity you will find the display hard to read. I find myself trying to hold a pencil to push the buttons and a small flashlight to read the display while simultaneously trying to read the instructions and punch the right buttons. Once programmed I have found it difficult to confirm that the programming is correct. For example last night my lights came on as desired but did not turn off in the morning. I feel like the only way to be sure will be to monitor what happens over the next week.
The display is very confusing and I often don't know, for example, whether "on" means the numbered program is on or if it refers to the programmed on time for the lights. Also it is supposed to display the days of the week but, despite spending several hours with this I have never seen that choice displayed.
In all fairness, the item appears to be of good quality and, in order to pack so many features into such a small space perhaps makes these problems inevitable.
However, if based on what I have said you have doubts about your ability to program it, I suggest you beware.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact
Cons: Complicated, poor instructions/
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Houston, TX

Easy to read and program, works with many loads, but bulky and limited features

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These types of timers are notorious for being hard to read so this one is nice and backlit and easy to program. The problem is that it's too simple. There is no way to temporarily disable programming and being on manual mode. For example, say you want your Christmas lights to come on around Christmas on auto, but the rest of the year you want manual mode. You have to erase the programming. Your choices are Auto and Auto.
The backlight while nice is sometimes a nuisance. In a bedroom, you want the light to be off, but the only way to do it is put black tape.
Last, this is very bulky. I appreciate 12 AWG wires, but they take up so much room. It might be better to just remove the wires and leave the terminals so you can wire directly. Also, with the heat sink wings, it makes it difficult to flush the plate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Aurora IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great light switch

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a photo eye for the lights on the front of house and recently wanted to have the lights on the rear of my house. I was looking for a timer of some sort and found this switch. It is great, it automatically adjusts the turn-on time according to the shorting or lengthening of day light. It also has the ability to be turned on for a few hours or manually if I need to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great security

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These timers are a great security feature for the house, and they are super easy to install and program.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this switch because I have an outdoor, LED can light over my front door. I wanted something that would switch on/off from dusk to dawn whether we are home or not. The wiring instructions were clear with one exception. At the very top it tells you to bend and snap-off an extra piece of metal if you have a 2 or more switch plate. It was obvious once I started to install the other switch. The programming instructions were straight forward. The random on/off feature worked perfectly. The hardest thing I encountered was getting all of the wires pushed far enough back in the junction box to screw this switch in. In total, install and programming took me 1-hour.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, once I figured it out!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted this timer for my front porch and outside garage lights that run on the same switch to be able to come on so I never come home to a dark house. My Dad thankfully, was able to install this for me, We did have a little trouble/difficulty with it the first night because we couldn't get the timer to work. We knew the light worked because we could manually turn it on/off. After reading some of the reviews it was noted that when you manually turn it on/off it resets the timer for 24hrs. That seems to be a fault in the timer in my opinion. After leaving it alone it did work the next night and has continued working perfectly at the set times.
It would have been nice to have a troubleshooting section in the instructions for this type of example as it seems many people had the same issue. I mean who doesn't check to see if the light comes on before setting the time? For this reason I am only giving it 4 stars. I haven't had it long enough to know if it will last a long time. I sure hope it does!
Cons: Complicated, no troubleshooting instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product to put in my shed for my chickens, so it would automatically turn the lights on and off for them for the winter. It was easy to install and is working great.
Pros: Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Paducah, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great timer and even better customer support

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this timer to turn on 16 soffit lights with CFL bulbs. The lights are on a separate circuit and are controlled by two 3-way switches. Each switch is in a box with two other switches that control other lights in the house. I turned off power to everything in both boxes and pulled out all the switches in order to be able to see all the wires and have room to work. Following the instructions, I broke off the tabs on either side of the timer with two pair of pliers. I can't understand how anyone could have a problem with this or miss it in the instructions, if you just read everything. I quickly determined that the wiring on my circuit was completely different than the wiring diagrams in the instructions, but installed the timer in the chosen location following the instructions the best I could. Of course, nothing happened when I returned power to the circuit, partly because I had no idea how to rewire the other switch since it wasn't remotely similar to what was described in the instructions. At this point, I again followed the written instructions and called customer support. After describing the situation, I was connected to an electrician. This is what most impressed me. He acknowledged that my wiring was a little unusual, but he spent over an hour on the phone with me working through the wiring and even when I suggested getting off the phone while I made adjustments, insisted on staying on the line until we knew everyhting was working as it should. Some of the delay was simply that I didn't explain my wiring adequately for him to understand and some was because of the time it took to work on the wiring and connections. When the lights didn't work after getting all the wiring in the right places, he determined that I had a bad connection and stayed with me while I traced all the connections and found the one that was not making contact. At that point, everything came up as it should. This was VERY impressive customer service. With a three switch box and the tabs removed from the timer, I was able to push everything back into the box with plenty of room and nothing came loose in doing so. I anticipated from the reviews that programming would be difficult, but it was very simple, again, just read the instructions that come with the timer. It looks good installed and worked exactly as intended. It's only been in for one night and I haven't experienced a power outage, but I'm very pleased with it and would use another if the situation arose. I'd highly recommend this timer, in the right application, but it's imperative that you read and follow ALL the instructions and don't hesitate to call customer support
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, great customer support
Cons: no battery backup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Light Timer & good fit

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well made product and after comparison to other programmable switches the best for my 3-way switch situation. The Instructions need to be larger for easier reading without magnification and the wiring diagrams need consistent Wire Color coding in EVERY diagram not just some. Especially for the 3-way application and use. A good switch overall.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: instructions need to be larger and more colors
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>