728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.606 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(160 reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product109 of 155reviews
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(65)
4
(39)
3
(14)
2
(12)
1
(30)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product109 of 155reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+55points
61out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Mt. Laurel, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Electrical Timer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used one of these to replace a similar GE model (damned near identical but for the brand!) that had failed. The only trouble installing this was the fact that it went into a 3-gang box which made for a lot of crowding. The instructions might have been a little clearer--but I knew from looking at the diagram that the blue wire was intended to connect to the "load" and the black one to the "line." (If you don't know this elementary difference between load and line you should not be playing around with electrical wires!). Got the thing installed okay but found that after programming my outside lights did not turn on at dusk and off at dawn. Called the help line and learned my mistake: After programing the "Initial Setup" I never went on to the next step (which is clearly stated in the instructions) "Programming ON/OFF Events." Duh. The very nice electrician from Home Depot's help line was kind enough not to point out what a dork I was. Now that I have followed ALL the instructions the device works perfectly. Just like the one before it. And another we have had running for 3 years. My only problem was RTFI: Read the frigging instructions--even if you think you know it all! It may not keep time quite as accurately as my iPhone but it does a great job turning on at dusk and off at dawn, which is what I want. THe other features sound interesting but I have not tried them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: you must read the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Defiant Timer Same as GE Sunsmart Timer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought the Defiant on 11/4/14. Not an electrician. Had difficulty with the 5 wires that the timer has, but finally got it right -- timer to wall for single pole: white to white, green to copper, black to red, blue to black, and no connection for red (tied off with wire nut as instructed). Hard time getting unit in the wall with so many wires, but got it done. Followed instructions for initial set up and to program timer for lites to come on at dusk and off at dawn. Did this at nite around 9pm after sunset. The timer showed Auto Off. This means the lights are off. The timer worked the next nite. Called customer service to confirm what Auto Off meant. Sure enough when the timer lights came on, the unit showed Auto On.
Before I figured it out, I looked for guidance on YouTube and found a tutorial for programming from Jasco Products on the GE Sunsmart Timer. Exact same as Defiant. Very helpful.
Gave this 3 stars because instructions need bolstering, should be a video from Home Depot available and better wiring instructions, buttons and wording too small.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chapin, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This timer does everything I need it to do!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I previously had purchased a similar timer made by Utilitech. But, they no longer make it. I needed one so I bought this one. It works perfectly. It was very easy to program. I had a wiring question so I called their tech support and quickly had it wired and working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Easley, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice functionality

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Somewhat difficult to get setup but works as expected to control exterior lighting.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Augusta, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The best.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This automatic switch is perfect for outdoor lighting and front porch it turns the light on and off at the times you set, which is a very strait forward thing to, do just fallow the instructions provided. I have installed 4 of them already, two in my home and two at my sisters, she loved them too when she saw how they worked on a visit to us. You can turn it on manual or set it and forget it, and it adjusts to daylight savings time if you so desire it to. It also has a timer which doubles as a clock right by the front door, back lit and easy to see.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, it has a timer which doubles as a clock
Cons: none so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from NJ

Manual override is poorly designed

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Auto on/off works fine as long as you DON'T do manual override to turn the lights on. As someone mentioned earlier in their post, it goes through 24 hour cycle before it goes back to Auto on/off. It would've been helpful if this was included as warning in the directions. I almost returned it thinking it was broken. Thankfully, I saw the posting. Program buttons are also very small. Defiant should improve the device to allow switching between auto and manual mode without waiting 24 hrs. If weather gets dark and gloomy earlier than the set time, it would be great to manually turn the lights on without ruining the timer cycle.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product Turns My Porch Light on at Dusk and Off at Dawn

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great little timer. It took me about a half an hour to install. I had no problem with the wiring. You will need an electrical tester or a test light to determine which black wire is hot and which goes to the load. You touch the tester lead to the black wire and to the white wire. If the tester lights up the wire is the hot. If not it's the load. Took me a couple of tries to get the programming sequence right. I only had one event so you hit the auto button after the one event is entered if you don't you go on to program the next event. I had to go back and read the instructions to realize this. The biggest problem I had was that I forgot to get the switch plate and had to go back to Home Depot to get it. After I installed it, it worked perfectly. It was allot easier than running wire to install a light sensor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Carrollton, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Timer

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lets deal with some of the issues mentioned here: It does have a manual override option. You don't have to wait 24 hours if you use the temporary override option. Use linemans pliers to break off the tabs for a multi gang switch configuration. If you have an extra or errant program, it will not function. The default setting in the programming for on is dawn. If you want your lights on at night, change this to Dusk for the on time and Dawn for the off time. There is no battery. It contains a charging circuit that holds the time and program for 2 or 3 hours. Wiring can be complex and hard to understand. The buttons are small but there is limited space to begin with. It will fit into a standard size box. Older homes(60's and earlier) did use smaller boxes. The instructions are small and a little hard to undestand. Call the Tech Support number for any issues. They are very knowledgeable and willing to help. This is a very dependable timer and very few are defective.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, great technical support
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from East Setauket, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a great price

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was almost as easy to install (wire) as the Home Depot light dimmer switch that I installed this morning, except for the description of the "hot wire". I believe it is best to use a voltmeter or test bulb to determine the (source) hot, if you don't know for sure which black wire to use.
Be prepared to read tiny print and press tiny buttons during initial programming. I had to take off my contacts and use my reading glasses to see everything clearly. While the day to day USER on-screen text is pretty large and easy to read, the programming text is much smaller.
I could imagine some people with poor eyesight who do not own corrective lenses would have some difficulty getting this item to work properly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Value
Cons: tiny print while programming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Franklin, nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Timer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great timer switch. It does everything I need. A previous review of this product had mentioned that once you turn on the lights using manual override you have to wait 24 hours for the timer to function, this is not true. The flip door should be in closed position and then gently press in to use the switch for manual override. I have noticed this does not affect the timer settings and it does not have to go thru the 24 hour cycle for timer to work.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Round Rock, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Flimsy construction

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This timer is poorly constructed. It has tabs that must be removed for installation in a multi-switch box. To remove them, you must use pliers to flex them back and forth to break them off. When I did this, even though I was very careful, because the metal is so soft, the frame bent as I was flexing the tabs. This resulted in the snap-on cover plate not fitting correctly. Also, the flipper door has very small "ears" that fit into the frame as hinge pins. They are needle thin and break very easily.
Cons: flimsy construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Lansdale, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad product

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to control my front yard lights.. I followed the instructions as per what was given on the instruction sheet. The timer nor the lights never worked.
After reading the discussions and comments on HomeDepot website about this product, I realized I have wasted too much time trying to make this one work. I am going to return this product and go for another one.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

In Wall Switch Timer

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well the only issue Ihad with this was the lack of directions on the fact that thes bottom left part of the time needed to have the words auto showing and how to change that. Once I figured that out the switch has tuned on and off according to the program.
The display stays lit which tells me it will go out sooner than my old style units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>