728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.622 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product100 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(34)
3
(13)
2
(12)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product100 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
60out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chapin, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This timer does everything I need it to do!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I previously had purchased a similar timer made by Utilitech. But, they no longer make it. I needed one so I bought this one. It works perfectly. It was very easy to program. I had a wiring question so I called their tech support and quickly had it wired and working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Easley, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice functionality

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Somewhat difficult to get setup but works as expected to control exterior lighting.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Defiant Timer Same as GE Sunsmart Timer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought the Defiant on 11/4/14. Not an electrician. Had difficulty with the 5 wires that the timer has, but finally got it right -- timer to wall for single pole: white to white, green to copper, black to red, blue to black, and no connection for red (tied off with wire nut as instructed). Hard time getting unit in the wall with so many wires, but got it done. Followed instructions for initial set up and to program timer for lites to come on at dusk and off at dawn. Did this at nite around 9pm after sunset. The timer showed Auto Off. This means the lights are off. The timer worked the next nite. Called customer service to confirm what Auto Off meant. Sure enough when the timer lights came on, the unit showed Auto On.
Before I figured it out, I looked for guidance on YouTube and found a tutorial for programming from Jasco Products on the GE Sunsmart Timer. Exact same as Defiant. Very helpful.
Gave this 3 stars because instructions need bolstering, should be a video from Home Depot available and better wiring instructions, buttons and wording too small.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Mt. Laurel, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Electrical Timer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used one of these to replace a similar GE model (damned near identical but for the brand!) that had failed. The only trouble installing this was the fact that it went into a 3-gang box which made for a lot of crowding. The instructions might have been a little clearer--but I knew from looking at the diagram that the blue wire was intended to connect to the "load" and the black one to the "line." (If you don't know this elementary difference between load and line you should not be playing around with electrical wires!). Got the thing installed okay but found that after programming my outside lights did not turn on at dusk and off at dawn. Called the help line and learned my mistake: After programing the "Initial Setup" I never went on to the next step (which is clearly stated in the instructions) "Programming ON/OFF Events." Duh. The very nice electrician from Home Depot's help line was kind enough not to point out what a dork I was. Now that I have followed ALL the instructions the device works perfectly. Just like the one before it. And another we have had running for 3 years. My only problem was RTFI: Read the frigging instructions--even if you think you know it all! It may not keep time quite as accurately as my iPhone but it does a great job turning on at dusk and off at dawn, which is what I want. THe other features sound interesting but I have not tried them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: you must read the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from NJ

Manual override is poorly designed

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Auto on/off works fine as long as you DON'T do manual override to turn the lights on. As someone mentioned earlier in their post, it goes through 24 hour cycle before it goes back to Auto on/off. It would've been helpful if this was included as warning in the directions. I almost returned it thinking it was broken. Thankfully, I saw the posting. Program buttons are also very small. Defiant should improve the device to allow switching between auto and manual mode without waiting 24 hrs. If weather gets dark and gloomy earlier than the set time, it would be great to manually turn the lights on without ruining the timer cycle.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to install and program. Just read the instructions first

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I suspect the negative reviews are from people not reading the instructions prior to install. Hookup was easy, white to neutral, black to hot, blue to load, green to ground and I capped off the red as I did not need it.
It took about 3 minutes to program and the lights come on as sunset and turn off at sunrise. I tied my porch and outside lights together during install so I could use one switch. This also let me free up a few wires and connectors in the box.
4 star rating was left only because it does seem to lose configuration during an extended power outage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: extended power outage requires reprogramming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Boston, MA

Not a quick istallation or set-up.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a digital timer on the front door light and purchased this one for the back door light. Took a little longer to setup. Directions are small and long. Timer works great once setup but installation was difficult due to the depth of timer. You need a deep electrical box in order to get it to fit in with all the wires. But once in and setup you can forget about leaving the light on in the AM. The only thing now is to see how long it last.
Pros: Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly
Cons: Complicated, need deep electrical box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

not happy with this

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this switch has a design issue. This switch comes with wires attached. These wires have to be hooked up to existing wires from the wall. With limited space in the box this is a challenge. I had to buy another switch from a competitor. The new switch did not have any wires attached, instead just place to hook up existing wires from the wall. Saved space and I was able to install it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great switch, can't beat the price and features.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this switch for a lone parking lot light in our back lot. Previously only had switch control and most of the time it was ether left on all night for days on end, or was forgotten about till someone complained about the lack of light in our back parking lot. This switch fits the job perfectly. We have it set to come on at dusk (it auto adjusts it's on time based on season) Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. And we have it set to go off 1 hour after our different closing times on the same days. The light stays off on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday when we are closed. This timer works so well I am going to replace two other timers for our main lot lights, and two more for our marina lights with this model because our current timers were more than twice as much and turn the lights on all 7 days a week and don't auto adjust the on and off times based on season. With a 16 amp ballast switching capability it should work fine.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: installation is a little involved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Winnabow,NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to program

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Timer is very easy to install. No special tools needed if this switch is replacing a light switch. Easy to program. Directions are easy to follow. Only takes a few minutes and everything is complete. Using mine to switch outdoor flood lights on and off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from ca

It works great. No issues

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The switch looks and works great. I did not have any issues with the install or the programming. I'm not sure why others seem to have issues, but the manual on/off worked as expected. There are 5 wires. The 5th red wire is not needed unless you're doing a 3 way switch, so we just capped it off. The remaining wires must be hooked up correctly for it to work correctly: 1-power into switch (hot), 2-power out to lights (load), 3-common/neutral (it is required), 4-ground (not sure if it's required). The hardest part was finding enough room to fit everything. I had to change the box.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Sugar Grove, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3-way installation a little bit intimidating, but works great.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My installation was for the five led coach lights on the front of my house which were previously controlled by two 3-way switches. I am not an electrician and so some of the terminology in the instructions, although common electrical terms, were terms I don't fully understand. I had to do some research on "line" vs "load", for example. At one point, after having disconnected my old switch in the garage, I realized that the installation would require wiring changes at the other switch as well and I almost gave up. I'm glad I didn't. The changes to the other switch were easy and the necessary parts were included. In the end, it all worked as advertised. The programming was pretty easy, despite the necessarily tiny buttons and display.
I have no hesitation recommending this for a simple 1-switch installation, but for a 3-way, you'll need to feel confident in your electrical skills. That's no fault of the switch itself -- just a reality of working with 3-way switches.
My only other comment is that you'll need enough room in the electrical box as the switch itself is large and there are up to 5 wires to connect , each of which may require the use of a medium-sized wirenut. I installed mine in a standard square box which previously held two standard 3-way switches. It was tight after replacing one of them with this switch.
Pros: Clear Instructions
Cons: Complicated
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Reno, NV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little hard to setup at first just some tweaking but works great...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>