728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

SunSmart options provide sunset and sunrise times for easy settings that adjust automatically throughout the year. Set one or multiple ON/OFF settings for each day of the week, daily cycles, or weekday-weekend cycles, up to 7 individual weekly programs. Random vacation security feature varies the programmed ON/OFF times within an hour to create a lived-in look with a push of a button.
Overall rating:
3.632 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(185 reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product128 of 178reviews
Rating Breakdown 185 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(74)
4
(49)
3
(16)
2
(12)
1
(34)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product128 of 178reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Review 1 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defiant Timer

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for a timer that would turn my outdoor lights on automatically since I go to bed before it gets dark. I've never replaced any of my switches before but the electrician (Chibuzor) was very helpful and walked me through the whole process of installing the timers. Very easy to install thanks to Chibuzor expert advice. Timers work perfectly, I really like the daylight saving feature on this model, it adjust the time automatically which saves me the hassle of changing the time every week. The timers were easy to program. Only had them installed about a week now but I haven't had any problem with them so far.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In-wall digital timer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value
Cons: instructions were not clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Haymarket VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced old manual two wired timer with this digital timer

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just recently installed this timer switch as a replacement for an analog timer that broke. The only real concern was that this new digital timer had five (5) wires (blue, black, red, white and green) and the previous one had two (2) black wires.
After speaking to a couple of electricians and reviewed the wiring I was able to install the switch here is the wiring I used for the new timer: (The instructions basically had the same layout for a single pole switch)
* Black - terminated to the bunch of black lines that were tided together
* Blue - terminated it to the other black line that ran to the lights (I think)
* Green - terminated it to the copper ground wire
* White - connected it to the bunch of white neutral that were tied together
* Red - capped it did not need to use it
It was tight to the get the everything back into the box the number of additional wires and the box itself for the timer is a little big so space will be at a premium.
The setup of the timer was pretty straight forward just follow the directions. The manual button worked fine and timer executed just as expected. Make sure you sync up your zone where you live.
*** Oh do not forget to buy a new face plate to support the new switch...I had to run out and get one after installation. ***
Best wishes to all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: bulky internals
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
66out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Florida

Turns the lights on and off as described

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to install, and turns the lights on and off as described. Good value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart timer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was programmed for my location, dusk and dawn times, and turns my lights on at dusk and off at a time I programmed. Handled the daylight savings time change, and also has a security feature to vary the times. Fit in a standard box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this timer for a little more than a week, and so far, I think it is a fantastic product. I have it controlling my front porch CFL-bulbed light. I had to use some guesswork on the installation, (2 of the wires provided weren't used) but then, I don't like to read directions, and the ones provided had very small print, almost too small for my 68-year old eyes. I did have to try a couple times to get the switch into the wall and share the space in a 4x4 box with an existing plain 3-way switch. Programming was involved, but not difficult. Once installed, I think it looks pretty classy and modern. I'm going to get a second one for the back porch.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Mt. Laurel, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Electrical Timer

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used one of these to replace a similar GE model (damned near identical but for the brand!) that had failed. The only trouble installing this was the fact that it went into a 3-gang box which made for a lot of crowding. The instructions might have been a little clearer--but I knew from looking at the diagram that the blue wire was intended to connect to the "load" and the black one to the "line." (If you don't know this elementary difference between load and line you should not be playing around with electrical wires!). Got the thing installed okay but found that after programming my outside lights did not turn on at dusk and off at dawn. Called the help line and learned my mistake: After programing the "Initial Setup" I never went on to the next step (which is clearly stated in the instructions) "Programming ON/OFF Events." Duh. The very nice electrician from Home Depot's help line was kind enough not to point out what a dork I was. Now that I have followed ALL the instructions the device works perfectly. Just like the one before it. And another we have had running for 3 years. My only problem was RTFI: Read the frigging instructions--even if you think you know it all! It may not keep time quite as accurately as my iPhone but it does a great job turning on at dusk and off at dawn, which is what I want. THe other features sound interesting but I have not tried them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: you must read the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Works very nice!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: cables are long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Hudson, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too Big

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two good things about this dimmer is that it's supposed to adjust automatically to daylight hours and it appears to be heavy duty. I say that's it's heavy duty because of its 20 amp service and 10 gauge wires that are permanently attached for the hot & ground wires.
The problem is these 10 gauge wires are very stiff and hard to work with. They come straight out of the back of this dimmer, so you will need a deep box. Worse is the size of this dimmer, it's bigger than a GFI switch, so you will need a wide box too.
Ultimately, this was just too tight of a fit for my double work box which had another switch beside it.
I ended up purchasing a separate double gang box and using this dimmer on a different light. After all the connections were made. This dimmer and wires took up all the space of a Double (32 cubic inch) work box.
The back-light of this unit stays on 24/7 too
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: oversized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from West Chester, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

These are great!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last year I purchased one of these timers for my porch lights and it worked great. Easy to program and it just works. Since then I have purchased four more for additional outdoor lighting and they have worked as well as the one I purchased last year. It’s nice not to have to adjust the timer as the daylight changes, set it and forget it.
A couple things to know about this switch: The wiring in the box where you install the switch needs to have a neutral and this unit takes a lot of box space. I a deep box there is no issue but with a standard box you will need to bend your wires carefully to save room for the switch. Not a big deal, just think of GFI for space requirements.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Pretty easy installation

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Let me start off by saying electrical work is not my strong point. Lol
That being said I found this pretty easy to setup. my current configuration actually had a 2 black wires and the white neutral was wound up with a wire nut with other white neutral wires. it'd take me a little bit to figure out that the black on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires and the blue on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires.
Once I got it figured out everything setup just fine. Programming the switch was easy as following the directions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Fort Myers, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Working Product!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was lucky to have a neighbor who is an electrician install for me. However, I could have done myself as given instructions were provided clearly. I was able to program easily a Mon - Sunday schedule by following the instructions.
Pros: Stylish, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Defiant Timer Same as GE Sunsmart Timer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought the Defiant on 11/4/14. Not an electrician. Had difficulty with the 5 wires that the timer has, but finally got it right -- timer to wall for single pole: white to white, green to copper, black to red, blue to black, and no connection for red (tied off with wire nut as instructed). Hard time getting unit in the wall with so many wires, but got it done. Followed instructions for initial set up and to program timer for lites to come on at dusk and off at dawn. Did this at nite around 9pm after sunset. The timer showed Auto Off. This means the lights are off. The timer worked the next nite. Called customer service to confirm what Auto Off meant. Sure enough when the timer lights came on, the unit showed Auto On.
Before I figured it out, I looked for guidance on YouTube and found a tutorial for programming from Jasco Products on the GE Sunsmart Timer. Exact same as Defiant. Very helpful.
Gave this 3 stars because instructions need bolstering, should be a video from Home Depot available and better wiring instructions, buttons and wording too small.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Powder Springs, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solved My Problem!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My electrician recommended this product for setting timer on my landscape lights. It's a little complicated to program, but it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Orange Co. Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Digital 7 Day Timer

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation of the timer is easy and only takes a few minutes. Follow the instructions closely and you should not have any problems. The only problem I had, was the in the programing the timer for it to turn on and turn off at the designated times that we selected. The instructions are very vague when it comes to this. They need to revise their instructions when it comes to programing, they need to make it simpler for the laymen that does not program items like this for a living. I worked on the programing until I got a headache, and then called my wife in to see what she could do. She did complete the programing, now to see if it goes on and off at the selected times. It took me 10 minutes to install and both of us 2 hours to program. I gave this timer 3 stars because of the instructions to program this unit...I have 3 others to install, I will install the timers and have my wife program them. No more headaches for me.
Pros: Stylish, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Complicated, poor programing instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Palm Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not buy!!!!!

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality, I should have returned to Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could not be Happier

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Chapin, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This timer does everything I need it to do!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I previously had purchased a similar timer made by Utilitech. But, they no longer make it. I needed one so I bought this one. It works perfectly. It was very easy to program. I had a wiring question so I called their tech support and quickly had it wired and working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Wall timer

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a good product and does what it's supposed to do. This not the first or the last of these that I have purchased but if I had a wish list of improvements here it goes.
1. Too bulky, try fitting this in to a 3 gang box with multiple terminations. Needs to be smaller
2. With today's technology why can't this be programmed through bluetooth or similar especially for this price. If I can get wireless Bluetooth headphones for $20 I should be able to get this for $30
3. Wiring it's manageable but does it have to be so complicated with all the extra wires?
4. I like the different colored face plates but the hinge mechanism is not well made and easily breaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer
from Easley, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice functionality

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Somewhat difficult to get setup but works as expected to control exterior lighting.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>