728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

With a push of a button set your lights, exhaust fans or heaters to count down for shutting off at a desired time. Replaces a standard wall switches or older spring wound timers with a quiet digital operation. Fits decorator rocker style wall plates, single or multi-gang, and requires no neutral wire.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Review 1 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Christiansburg, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT for GFCI use

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The packaging on this didn't indicate that the timer had no neutral wire. When I installed it in a GFCI protected circuit, I got a ground fault. Looks like this one was returned before, too.
So a great little device if you're not using something on a ground fault isolated circuit.
Manufacturer & Home Depot beware: this unit ought to be packaged in a way that clearly indicates there's no neutral wire and "not for GFCI circuits".
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not for gfci use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Blaine, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrated, then happy

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I started out very frustrated while installing the switch. When I first hooked it up, the bathroom fan turned on and stayed on. I assumed I hooked it up to the wrong wires (which are both black in my house wiring) and reversed them, which resulted in no power to the fan. I went back and forth until I got fed up. I read some of the reviews to see what I'd done wrong. One reviewer pointed out that it will start on for a minute or so, which was in the instructions but I hadn't noticed the small print. (Who reads instructions on putting in a switch?)
The next day, I did it again. I went back and forth because it wasn't powering up. It turns out it doesn't ALWAYS turn on automatically as soon as you restore power from the breaker. You know you're in business when the lights flash as soon as the unit is charged, then it will respond to input. Until then, you won't be able to turn it on (if off) or turn it off (if on).
This would have gotten a 5, but I have a couple problems with it. First, unlike most switches, the connection is made just by preinstalled wires out the back, it doesn't have any screw-in connection ports. Second, the unit stands out in a more pronounced position from my standard toggle, so it looks a bit odd under the cover. The left side is flush, while the right side sticks noticeably. Third, using the switch isn't as intuitive as I would have thought. To turn the switch on indefinitely, you have to hold the large button down for 5 seconds. Pressing it quickly will turn the switch on, so you assume it worked, but it will still be timed.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: installation can be frustrating
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Does what it's made for!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It would be nice if the LED next to the time selected would stay on and change to the the time left as the time runs down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Centennial CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another so far wso good

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these timers for an upstairs bathroom fan in my in-laws house. I used the Kline circuit breaker locater to find the right circuit, snipped the two existing wires on the switch, then reset the breaker to find the hot wire. A trip back to the circuit breaker to shut things back down, then I wired it as shown. It worked the first time and we have had no problems with it.
The size of the timer can make fitting it into the box a little tricky. For some reason the wires in the box here are about 10" long, so I had to do some work to get everything to fit.
I would probably have given the timer a 5 star rating, except for the following. There are lights by each button which flash when they are turned on. It would be nice if the light stayed on so you would know what time setting is running.
They look nice, no knob sticking out, and I just purchased two more for the other two bathrooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Works well; some timer buttons probably not useful

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installs easily without a neutral wire, no battery needed. Do keep in mind that when they say to connect it to the hot (black) wire, they're not kidding. The switch I was replacing interrupted the white wire, and I initially installed the timer switch on the white wire and it didn't work. Once I rewired things to have it interrupt the black wire, it worked as expected.
Once installed, it's useful and works as expected. My only gripes are that if you have bad eyes, you probably can't read the button labels without glasses; and three of the six timer buttons will probably never get used - seriously, why would you need to turn on your bathroom vent fan for 1, 2 or 4 hours? I've seen another model that had more sensible timer gradations (1/5/10/15/30/60), but that one was $10 more and I didn't want to pay the premium. The 5/15/30 buttons work fine on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Bought 2 and neither worked!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these and neither one worked. Double checked wiring and all was done as instructed but no lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Bay Area California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install...Works well

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed two of these timers along with two new bathroom exhaust fans (Panasonic Whisper Ceilings...great fans). Timers have only been in for 3 days, but are working as advertised - so far, so good. The timers DO NOT need a neutral and they ARE countdown timers as the website and packaging detail. I thought I had a problem with the first install because after you wire it up, the device (light, fan, or whatever) for which you are using the timer turns on when you turn the breaker back on. I decided I should look at the timer instructions...it says that the device will turn on for approx. 1 minute at the intial time the breaker it turned back on. Just wait for the device to turn off by itself and then test the timer. After a successful test of the timer, you should turn off the breaker again to push all the wires back into the switch box, screw in the timer to the box, and put the faceplate on. Again, the timer will take about 1 minute to reset itself, but the device will not turn back on. Just wait for the 1 minute or so then you will see the lights flash on the timer. The timer should be ready for normal operation. Good luck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none yet...
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Satellite Beach, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Burned out

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two of these on sale, which now I realize I only saved a dollar on each which is not worth the headache. I had them professionally installed. The first one burned out/fried within two weeks and the second one never worked at all. I guess that is why they were on clearance!
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Houston, TX

Great Push-Button Timer, Pay Attention to Wiring

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This timer works great overall. Only caution I would give is to pay attention carefully to the wiring. In my house the RED wire needed to connect to the wire from top of the old switch and black to the bottom. If it is reversed it won't work. Your house may be different.
The only thing I wish was that there was a 10 minute timer option in addition 5, 15, 30 min, 1h, 2h, 4h. The 2h could be skipped but this is a minor quibble.
One TIP: If you don't have a family member or friend to tell you when the right circuit breaker / fuse is turned off, use an iPhone or Android with FaceTime / Skype and use the video to figure out when you have turned off the right breaker. Most houses are not labeled well at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very convenient and energy saving

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You set this timer to shut off after you leave the bathroom to remove the humidity from bathing or the odors from the toilet and it automatically shuts off the fan after the selected amount of time. Easy to install and use is simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product will save me money!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product will save us money on our electric bill as our kids seem to enjoy leaving the bathroom fan on for hours after their showers. After one adjustment (as I got the ground and hot wires reversed when installing it), it works fine. There are no moving parts (as with the "twist-type" timer switches) so I expect it will last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could have been clearer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well but could be better

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works as expected except for the LED indicators. I would have expected the appropriate LED indicator to stay lit the entire time the switch is on. However, it only flashes for a few seconds when you first push a button then goes out for the rest of the time the switch is on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Burlington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works with Exhaust Fans

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I replaced our cheap very loud exhaust fan that the builder installed, I also replaced a single pole light switch in our bathroom that controls the exhaust fan. The timer is working well, but I have only had it installed for a week or so. On the front of the package it does not state it can be used for exhaust fans, however it does state it can be used for exhaust fans on the back of the package. I plan on installing another one in our other bathroom this weekend.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MINE DID NOT NEED A NEUTRAL WIRE

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mine did not need a neutral wire. Only needed 1) the hot/line wire, 2) the feed/load wire to my bathroom fan and 3) ground wire. (#3 is the exposed copper wire) Hard to find these switches in the store though. In mine it was not in the normal light switch aisle. So check inventory online first to make sure they have it and when you get to store have an associate help you find it. In my store it was near the motion light section - side wall hanging on a hook. Works like a champ - so far. Only have had it about 3 weeks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from frederick, md

Neither one worked

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought first one, didnt work. Thought it might be bad luck, went back and bought another, that didn't work either. Returning both. (Original switch still works, so it is not electrical problem.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Anacortes Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Digital push button ease

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed as in the instructions. Only in use for 1 day but it works just fine and dandy. No ! it doesn't need a common, (netural, white wire) to work. Netural and ground are the same place inside your breaker box if the netural bar is bonded to the box properly. Will replace two other spring timmers with these units.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Kalispell, MT
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage. Complete garbage.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 3 for my bathroom fans. Hooked up the first one... nothing. Hooked up the second one and the bathroom fan came on for 10 seconds after I turned the breaker on, then nothing. I'm not even going to try the third one. Two fried units is enough of my time wasted. Yes, they're wired correctly. Yes I read the manual and gave them ample charging time. I'm assuming it's the cheap circuit board that failed. Don't bother with these - find a more trustworthy brand like Leviton.
Cons: Burns Out, doa
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does not use the neutral, but does require the ground...

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My older house does not have grounded outlets in most places, so this timer will not work for the application I purchased it for. I ended up purchasing a different timer (Store SKU # 1000003076) that utilizes the neutral and doesn't require the ground to function. The push-button timer would have been a bit easier to use, but I had to have something that worked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Connected unit per instructions. Indicator lights respond to minute button selected. Hold indicator light comes on but load (in this case a small fan) does not come on. Replaced with spring/ wind type timer and it operates properly.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Amado, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stylish and Functional

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this for a bathroom fan, very easy to use, quiet, and and a number of choices for run time. Easy to replace the existing switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>