728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

With a push of a button set your lights, exhaust fans or heaters to count down for shutting off at a desired time. Replaces a standard wall switches or older spring wound timers with a quiet digital operation. Fits decorator rocker style wall plates, single or multi-gang, and requires no neutral wire.
Overall rating:
3.827 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product41 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product41 of 50reviews
Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Review 1 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Denton, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this switch/timer

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife was always complaining when I forgot to turn the lights off in the garage or on my work bench after finishing for the day/evening. I installed timers with a max limit of 1 hour, which turned out to be annoying, as I would be in the middle of a project and the lights would go out. After a little research, I found this timer with a 4 hour limit. I purchased 2 of them, one for the garage light and one for my work bench. Installation is pretty straight forward, and they both work like a charm. My wife is happy (happy wife, happy life!) and I am happy not to have to stop what I'm doing to turn the lights back on every hour. As noted in a previous review, you need to give the timer a minute or so to reset before it will work properly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation, 4 hr time limit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Wait More than 1 MInute!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install to replace a bathroom fan switch. HOWEVER, the fan came on after installation and wouldn't shut off. I inspected all of the wiring, no problems. The buttons were simply unresponsive. After lots of head scratching, I almost gave up and took the unit back. Then I read a review - as stated in the instructions, the switch needs to "charge up" for a minute before it will operate properly. But it turns out mine took more than 10 FULL MINUTES to charge. I just wasn't giving it enough time. After that, it worked flawlessly. Give it some time after installation, I'm betting a lot of people make the same mistake as me.
Pros: Easy Installation
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Snohomish, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted something to control the light in our pantry and previous attempts with a socket mounted motion sensor failed. Since the switch is outside the door a wall mount PIR was out. This timer switch was the best alternative. One thing that may have been in the instructions that I missed was that when the master button is pushed it will repeat the last time period selected which is fine for my use. The switch does not come with a wall plate so be sure to get one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Black Forest, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bathroom fan timer

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple, easy install. Only timer that specifically stated that you can run a fan with. Works well. Keeps steam exhausted from the bathroom.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Conroe, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was simple. This is the second one of these I have purchased...It works perfectly and is reliable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Fair Oaks, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like the Blue light

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cool blue light at start up, make sure you have enough room in your junction box
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timer Switches

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have timer switches in my house already. This one gives me more options for timing. On one of my old ones I have 10, 20, 30 and 60 minutes; the other is 3, 5, 10 and 15 minutes. This new one is 5, 15, 30, 60 minutes, 2 and 4 hours for timing. This can also deal with the load of a ceiling fan and it's lights. This one does not give you a warning that there is less than 1 minute before it shuts off like my old one does. My old one has an indicator of which button is on; the new one flashes about every 20 seconds to indicate which timer is on (a negative). It just comes in white. These timer switches are excellent for bathroom exhaust fans, if you know what I mean. I have old timers on three of my exhaust fans (5 years). Fits the Rocker switch face cover.
Read instructions completely to include fine print.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: old instructions too small
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features and design

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm using the timer to power a fan. While the timer may have adequate current to power it, I connected a relay to the timer which in turn switches a on seperate power source to the fan. I like that after the time expires only the large button needs to be pressed to start the timer again from it's last setting. The relay fits easily under the timer itself in a standard electrical housing. I previously had a circuit I built myself, (with a 555 timer i.c) but that required a 12v power source. It didn't have the easily selectable time durations that this unit has.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from SoCarolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome! A good-looking in-wall timer than spans from 5 minute to 4 hour intervals? Sign me up! Works great. You can override the time and use the large bottom button to turn the light/fan/whatever off as well. I installed this on a bathroom fan to clear the room after steam showers. I also plan to install one on an exhaust fan in the basement/shop as well. Very pleased- should have gotten it sooner.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Excellent

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use it for the bathroom fan to let the steam out from the shower. It really works well. You can set it for how long you want it to stay on and leave it. Easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so pleased with this timer I bought 4 of them for my house. It does everything you need it to do. Works great.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Akron, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

working great so far

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
only had it for a month but it's working great so far and it seems durable. Installing it was easy. Read the instructions because I thought it wasn't working at first but it is supposed to stay on for a minute when you first install. Have had a couple 12 hour light switch timers with a dial but they kept breaking after a month or two and wouldn't count down anymore. Hoping this one lasts much longer.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Blaine, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrated, then happy

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I started out very frustrated while installing the switch. When I first hooked it up, the bathroom fan turned on and stayed on. I assumed I hooked it up to the wrong wires (which are both black in my house wiring) and reversed them, which resulted in no power to the fan. I went back and forth until I got fed up. I read some of the reviews to see what I'd done wrong. One reviewer pointed out that it will start on for a minute or so, which was in the instructions but I hadn't noticed the small print. (Who reads instructions on putting in a switch?)
The next day, I did it again. I went back and forth because it wasn't powering up. It turns out it doesn't ALWAYS turn on automatically as soon as you restore power from the breaker. You know you're in business when the lights flash as soon as the unit is charged, then it will respond to input. Until then, you won't be able to turn it on (if off) or turn it off (if on).
This would have gotten a 5, but I have a couple problems with it. First, unlike most switches, the connection is made just by preinstalled wires out the back, it doesn't have any screw-in connection ports. Second, the unit stands out in a more pronounced position from my standard toggle, so it looks a bit odd under the cover. The left side is flush, while the right side sticks noticeably. Third, using the switch isn't as intuitive as I would have thought. To turn the switch on indefinitely, you have to hold the large button down for 5 seconds. Pressing it quickly will turn the switch on, so you assume it worked, but it will still be timed.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: installation can be frustrating
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Bay Area California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install...Works well

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed two of these timers along with two new bathroom exhaust fans (Panasonic Whisper Ceilings...great fans). Timers have only been in for 3 days, but are working as advertised - so far, so good. The timers DO NOT need a neutral and they ARE countdown timers as the website and packaging detail. I thought I had a problem with the first install because after you wire it up, the device (light, fan, or whatever) for which you are using the timer turns on when you turn the breaker back on. I decided I should look at the timer instructions...it says that the device will turn on for approx. 1 minute at the intial time the breaker it turned back on. Just wait for the device to turn off by itself and then test the timer. After a successful test of the timer, you should turn off the breaker again to push all the wires back into the switch box, screw in the timer to the box, and put the faceplate on. Again, the timer will take about 1 minute to reset itself, but the device will not turn back on. Just wait for the 1 minute or so then you will see the lights flash on the timer. The timer should be ready for normal operation. Good luck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none yet...
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Works well

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have used these types of switches before and this one is about the same and works as advertised. Just wish HD had a better selection to choose from so I don't have to go to Lowe's for more choices.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Centennial CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another so far wso good

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed one of these timers for an upstairs bathroom fan in my in-laws house. I used the Kline circuit breaker locater to find the right circuit, snipped the two existing wires on the switch, then reset the breaker to find the hot wire. A trip back to the circuit breaker to shut things back down, then I wired it as shown. It worked the first time and we have had no problems with it.
The size of the timer can make fitting it into the box a little tricky. For some reason the wires in the box here are about 10" long, so I had to do some work to get everything to fit.
I would probably have given the timer a 5 star rating, except for the following. There are lights by each button which flash when they are turned on. It would be nice if the light stayed on so you would know what time setting is running.
They look nice, no knob sticking out, and I just purchased two more for the other two bathrooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Santa Fe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not fit standard 2 gang mud rings

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device has square corners and is too big to fit in box that uses a standard 2 gang mud ring. Mud rings have rounded corners.
This is just a bad design
Pros: does not reqire a neutral
Cons: does not fit metal boxes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from St. George, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little bit difficult to install, but works well

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions need to be read very carefully before installing, because the process is not very intuitive. It took me a while to figure it out, but it works fine now. I installed a second one right after the first, and that installation was much easier and faster. The weird part is that the timer needs to be connected and charged for a little bit before it works properly. I have never worked with a timer that has that kind of an odd quirk.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Works well; some timer buttons probably not useful

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installs easily without a neutral wire, no battery needed. Do keep in mind that when they say to connect it to the hot (black) wire, they're not kidding. The switch I was replacing interrupted the white wire, and I initially installed the timer switch on the white wire and it didn't work. Once I rewired things to have it interrupt the black wire, it worked as expected.
Once installed, it's useful and works as expected. My only gripes are that if you have bad eyes, you probably can't read the button labels without glasses; and three of the six timer buttons will probably never get used - seriously, why would you need to turn on your bathroom vent fan for 1, 2 or 4 hours? I've seen another model that had more sensible timer gradations (1/5/10/15/30/60), but that one was $10 more and I didn't want to pay the premium. The 5/15/30 buttons work fine on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DEAD after 4 months

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I loved it at first. But one day nothing lit up, no fan. Tested the electric on the incoming lines and all was live. Must have gotten a bad one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>