728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

With a push of a button set your lights, exhaust fans or heaters to count down for shutting off at a desired time. Replaces a standard wall switches or older spring wound timers with a quiet digital operation. Fits decorator rocker style wall plates, single or multi-gang, and requires no neutral wire.
Overall rating:
3.864 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product16 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product16 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Review 1 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Woodmobiledrivr
from Centennial CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another so far wso good

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these timers for an upstairs bathroom fan in my in-laws house. I used the Kline circuit breaker locater to find the right circuit, snipped the two existing wires on the switch, then reset the breaker to find the hot wire. A trip back to the circuit breaker to shut things back down, then I wired it as shown. It worked the first time and we have had no problems with it.
The size of the timer can make fitting it into the box a little tricky. For some reason the wires in the box here are about 10" long, so I had to do some work to get everything to fit.
I would probably have given the timer a 5 star rating, except for the following. There are lights by each button which flash when they are turned on. It would be nice if the light stayed on so you would know what time setting is running.
They look nice, no knob sticking out, and I just purchased two more for the other two bathrooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
MrFixItDaddy
from Houston, TX

Great Push-Button Timer, Pay Attention to Wiring

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This timer works great overall. Only caution I would give is to pay attention carefully to the wiring. In my house the RED wire needed to connect to the wire from top of the old switch and black to the bottom. If it is reversed it won't work. Your house may be different.
The only thing I wish was that there was a 10 minute timer option in addition 5, 15, 30 min, 1h, 2h, 4h. The 2h could be skipped but this is a minor quibble.
One TIP: If you don't have a family member or friend to tell you when the right circuit breaker / fuse is turned off, use an iPhone or Android with FaceTime / Skype and use the video to figure out when you have turned off the right breaker. Most houses are not labeled well at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Mohican

Works well; some timer buttons probably not useful

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installs easily without a neutral wire, no battery needed. Do keep in mind that when they say to connect it to the hot (black) wire, they're not kidding. The switch I was replacing interrupted the white wire, and I initially installed the timer switch on the white wire and it didn't work. Once I rewired things to have it interrupt the black wire, it worked as expected.
Once installed, it's useful and works as expected. My only gripes are that if you have bad eyes, you probably can't read the button labels without glasses; and three of the six timer buttons will probably never get used - seriously, why would you need to turn on your bathroom vent fan for 1, 2 or 4 hours? I've seen another model that had more sensible timer gradations (1/5/10/15/30/60), but that one was $10 more and I didn't want to pay the premium. The 5/15/30 buttons work fine on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
DaveW

Bought 2 and neither worked!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these and neither one worked. Double checked wiring and all was done as instructed but no lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Jim031415
from Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product will save me money!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product will save us money on our electric bill as our kids seem to enjoy leaving the bathroom fan on for hours after their showers. After one adjustment (as I got the ground and hot wires reversed when installing it), it works fine. There are no moving parts (as with the "twist-type" timer switches) so I expect it will last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could have been clearer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
MikeyK72
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well but could be better

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works as expected except for the LED indicators. I would have expected the appropriate LED indicator to stay lit the entire time the switch is on. However, it only flashes for a few seconds when you first push a button then goes out for the rest of the time the switch is on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
DIY47
from Burlington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works with Exhaust Fans

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I replaced our cheap very loud exhaust fan that the builder installed, I also replaced a single pole light switch in our bathroom that controls the exhaust fan. The timer is working well, but I have only had it installed for a week or so. On the front of the package it does not state it can be used for exhaust fans, however it does state it can be used for exhaust fans on the back of the package. I plan on installing another one in our other bathroom this weekend.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
GoNiners
from Bay Area California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install...Works well

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed two of these timers along with two new bathroom exhaust fans (Panasonic Whisper Ceilings...great fans). Timers have only been in for 3 days, but are working as advertised - so far, so good. The timers DO NOT need a neutral and they ARE countdown timers as the website and packaging detail. I thought I had a problem with the first install because after you wire it up, the device (light, fan, or whatever) for which you are using the timer turns on when you turn the breaker back on. I decided I should look at the timer instructions...it says that the device will turn on for approx. 1 minute at the intial time the breaker it turned back on. Just wait for the device to turn off by itself and then test the timer. After a successful test of the timer, you should turn off the breaker again to push all the wires back into the switch box, screw in the timer to the box, and put the faceplate on. Again, the timer will take about 1 minute to reset itself, but the device will not turn back on. Just wait for the 1 minute or so then you will see the lights flash on the timer. The timer should be ready for normal operation. Good luck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none yet...
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Durbangirl
from frederick, md

Neither one worked

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought first one, didnt work. Thought it might be bad luck, went back and bought another, that didn't work either. Returning both. (Original switch still works, so it is not electrical problem.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
TonyATL
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MINE DID NOT NEED A NEUTRAL WIRE

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mine did not need a neutral wire. Only needed 1) the hot/line wire, 2) the feed/load wire to my bathroom fan and 3) ground wire. (#3 is the exposed copper wire) Hard to find these switches in the store though. In mine it was not in the normal light switch aisle. So check inventory online first to make sure they have it and when you get to store have an associate help you find it. In my store it was near the motion light section - side wall hanging on a hook. Works like a champ - so far. Only have had it about 3 weeks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
MontanaDIY
from Kalispell, MT
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage. Complete garbage.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 3 for my bathroom fans. Hooked up the first one... nothing. Hooked up the second one and the bathroom fan came on for 10 seconds after I turned the breaker on, then nothing. I'm not even going to try the third one. Two fried units is enough of my time wasted. Yes, they're wired correctly. Yes I read the manual and gave them ample charging time. I'm assuming it's the cheap circuit board that failed. Don't bother with these - find a more trustworthy brand like Leviton.
Cons: Burns Out, doa
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Trek2120
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does not use the neutral, but does require the ground...

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My older house does not have grounded outlets in most places, so this timer will not work for the application I purchased it for. I ended up purchasing a different timer (Store SKU # 1000003076) that utilizes the neutral and doesn't require the ground to function. The push-button timer would have been a bit easier to use, but I had to have something that worked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
12345
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Connected unit per instructions. Indicator lights respond to minute button selected. Hold indicator light comes on but load (in this case a small fan) does not come on. Replaced with spring/ wind type timer and it operates properly.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Wingnut
from Anacortes Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Digital push button ease

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed as in the instructions. Only in use for 1 day but it works just fine and dandy. No ! it doesn't need a common, (netural, white wire) to work. Netural and ground are the same place inside your breaker box if the netural bar is bonded to the box properly. Will replace two other spring timmers with these units.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
MoyzaFrank
from Amado, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stylish and Functional

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this for a bathroom fan, very easy to use, quiet, and and a number of choices for run time. Easy to replace the existing switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Cdrbillg
from Brandon, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works as advertised once I got it installed correctly

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a couple of tries installing it. The instructions said to connect to the ground wire but that didn't work. I got a Home Depot assistant on the line and he recommended I connect to the neutral wire and that worked. After that it has worked like a charm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Jeffectiveness
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke right out of the box.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In spite of having all requisite wires in place, switch did not work at all. Am returning it today. I am saddened by the state of the world today, everyone in a hurry to crank out cheaper and cheaper products. This was underscored for me when I absent-mindedly sat this switch down on top of my ca. 1948 Craftsman table saw that's still running like a new machine (with requisite maintenance and belts, of course.)
Pros: Stylish
Cons: suspect quality control
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Spectre
from Westminster, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good features at the right price

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only gripe is about HD's product page for this item. The product description is completely different from the posted specs for the item. This is an accurate description:
• This is NOT a 7 day timer, it is a COUNT DOWN TIMER
• It is NOT programmable to the minute, it has six preset time settings (as is CLEARLY shown in the picture of the product.) 5-15-30-60 min, 2 & 4 hrs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
BrentH
from South Jordan, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice product; DOES need a neutral

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only flaw in the online description is that it DOES INDEED need a neutral wire.
A caveat when you install it is that you need to be able to identify the HOT and the LOAD wires.
I found out the hard way that the Leviton and Lutron timers that HD carries won't work with CFL bulbs, but this one does!
I just installed 3 of this timer. Good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
djs9
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. The timer is very accurate. Would purchase for other applications.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>