728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

With a push of a button set your lights, exhaust fans or heaters to count down for shutting off at a desired time. Replaces a standard wall switches or older spring wound timers with a quiet digital operation. Fits decorator rocker style wall plates, single or multi-gang, and requires no neutral wire.
Overall rating:
3.595 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product31 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product31 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
Review 1 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Wait More than 1 MInute!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install to replace a bathroom fan switch. HOWEVER, the fan came on after installation and wouldn't shut off. I inspected all of the wiring, no problems. The buttons were simply unresponsive. After lots of head scratching, I almost gave up and took the unit back. Then I read a review - as stated in the instructions, the switch needs to "charge up" for a minute before it will operate properly. But it turns out mine took more than 10 FULL MINUTES to charge. I just wasn't giving it enough time. After that, it worked flawlessly. Give it some time after installation, I'm betting a lot of people make the same mistake as me.
Pros: Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features and design

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using the timer to power a fan. While the timer may have adequate current to power it, I connected a relay to the timer which in turn switches a on seperate power source to the fan. I like that after the time expires only the large button needs to be pressed to start the timer again from it's last setting. The relay fits easily under the timer itself in a standard electrical housing. I previously had a circuit I built myself, (with a 555 timer i.c) but that required a 12v power source. It didn't have the easily selectable time durations that this unit has.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from St. George, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little bit difficult to install, but works well

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions need to be read very carefully before installing, because the process is not very intuitive. It took me a while to figure it out, but it works fine now. I installed a second one right after the first, and that installation was much easier and faster. The weird part is that the timer needs to be connected and charged for a little bit before it works properly. I have never worked with a timer that has that kind of an odd quirk.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timed Light Switch

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a switch which would turn itself off when not in the small room. Since a motion sensor would not work as adjust hall would activate the switch I needed to find another solution. This was the answer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Portland Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

6,4 AMP 4 hour in wall digital countdown time with no neutral wire

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. It looks great and works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: doesn't come in cream only white
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Works well

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used these types of switches before and this one is about the same and works as advertised. Just wish HD had a better selection to choose from so I don't have to go to Lowe's for more choices.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Santa Fe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not fit standard 2 gang mud rings

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device has square corners and is too big to fit in box that uses a standard 2 gang mud ring. Mud rings have rounded corners.
This is just a bad design
Pros: does not reqire a neutral
Cons: does not fit metal boxes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Sun Lake, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not like and returned immediately

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted another Lutron Maestro Check which is much better all around
I purchased this unit because the local HD store person did not know where the Lutron units are located. I learned from the HD website reviewer comments that they are located with the dimmers. In fairness to the HD person I did not know the manufacture's name of the timer I wanted.
I returned it the next day, LEDs only flash once when the time selector button is pressed. So once the button is pressed there is no way to know what cycle it is on an how much longer will it will remain running. It could be set on continuous and never shut off. Push button labeling is too small and the buttons are too small too.
Again, I find there is a much better product selection on the HD web site and the local HD floor sales people forget is suggest that the customer should look at the HD web site. I have had great success ordering none stocked items on-line and getting items in few days. Shipping is free to the store and you receive an email when the item arrives
Seems to me that a computer (limited to HD webpage) located at the information desk that is intended for direct customer use might make it a lot easier to find products especially when a larger selection of products is available on their webpage
Pros: none
Cons: does not provide user-friendly operation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Christiansburg, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT for GFCI use

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The packaging on this didn't indicate that the timer had no neutral wire. When I installed it in a GFCI protected circuit, I got a ground fault. Looks like this one was returned before, too.
So a great little device if you're not using something on a ground fault isolated circuit.
Manufacturer & Home Depot beware: this unit ought to be packaged in a way that clearly indicates there's no neutral wire and "not for GFCI circuits".
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not for gfci use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DEAD after 4 months

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I loved it at first. But one day nothing lit up, no fan. Tested the electric on the incoming lines and all was live. Must have gotten a bad one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Blaine, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrated, then happy

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I started out very frustrated while installing the switch. When I first hooked it up, the bathroom fan turned on and stayed on. I assumed I hooked it up to the wrong wires (which are both black in my house wiring) and reversed them, which resulted in no power to the fan. I went back and forth until I got fed up. I read some of the reviews to see what I'd done wrong. One reviewer pointed out that it will start on for a minute or so, which was in the instructions but I hadn't noticed the small print. (Who reads instructions on putting in a switch?)
The next day, I did it again. I went back and forth because it wasn't powering up. It turns out it doesn't ALWAYS turn on automatically as soon as you restore power from the breaker. You know you're in business when the lights flash as soon as the unit is charged, then it will respond to input. Until then, you won't be able to turn it on (if off) or turn it off (if on).
This would have gotten a 5, but I have a couple problems with it. First, unlike most switches, the connection is made just by preinstalled wires out the back, it doesn't have any screw-in connection ports. Second, the unit stands out in a more pronounced position from my standard toggle, so it looks a bit odd under the cover. The left side is flush, while the right side sticks noticeably. Third, using the switch isn't as intuitive as I would have thought. To turn the switch on indefinitely, you have to hold the large button down for 5 seconds. Pressing it quickly will turn the switch on, so you assume it worked, but it will still be timed.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: installation can be frustrating
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

awkward design.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
cant see the reason for 4 or 2 hours timer for a restroom
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: awkward design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Suntree, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time works well for bath fan and light.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is difficult to find a timer that does not have a neutral wire and is powerful enough for a fan.
The only thing I don't like is that the timer indicator lights only flash on and off to tell how much time is left. Also the polarity must be correct for it work. It takes a minute to charge up when it is first activated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Bowling Green, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed per instructions. Fan came on when breaker reset, will not go off. No LED lights on timer, no way to turn fan off. Wasted time buying Installing, uninstalling, and replacing. Lost my receipt, so I probably wasted 20 bucks too. Put some WD-40 in the old wind up timer that had stopped working, and it works like a champ again. Overall terrible experience.
Cons: does not function.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TIMER

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the timer some times does not turn on when the button is pushed. then later when the button is pushed it turns on. it is like it has a mind of its own. If it is tired and does not want to turn on, it will not!
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: does not always work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Indian Creek, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is wonderful

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have a light that is always left on? You find it on after 8 hours away from the house and you only needed the light for a few minutes? This is the solution.
Push the five minute button and the light stays on for five minutes then shuts off. If you remember to shut it off, no problem, just push the big button and its off.
Works great, may not pay for itself in savings but it keeps our closet from overheating while we are away. That alone makes it worthwhile.
There was a ground wire and I used it on installation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Centennial CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another so far wso good

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these timers for an upstairs bathroom fan in my in-laws house. I used the Kline circuit breaker locater to find the right circuit, snipped the two existing wires on the switch, then reset the breaker to find the hot wire. A trip back to the circuit breaker to shut things back down, then I wired it as shown. It worked the first time and we have had no problems with it.
The size of the timer can make fitting it into the box a little tricky. For some reason the wires in the box here are about 10" long, so I had to do some work to get everything to fit.
I would probably have given the timer a 5 star rating, except for the following. There are lights by each button which flash when they are turned on. It would be nice if the light stayed on so you would know what time setting is running.
They look nice, no knob sticking out, and I just purchased two more for the other two bathrooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Works well; some timer buttons probably not useful

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installs easily without a neutral wire, no battery needed. Do keep in mind that when they say to connect it to the hot (black) wire, they're not kidding. The switch I was replacing interrupted the white wire, and I initially installed the timer switch on the white wire and it didn't work. Once I rewired things to have it interrupt the black wire, it worked as expected.
Once installed, it's useful and works as expected. My only gripes are that if you have bad eyes, you probably can't read the button labels without glasses; and three of the six timer buttons will probably never get used - seriously, why would you need to turn on your bathroom vent fan for 1, 2 or 4 hours? I've seen another model that had more sensible timer gradations (1/5/10/15/30/60), but that one was $10 more and I didn't want to pay the premium. The 5/15/30 buttons work fine on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)
from Eugene Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in the damp NorthWest, I've found its important to be able to circulate damp air out of the bathroom for at least an hour after a shower. This is one of the easiest ways to prevent mildew. I looked at quite a few stores to find a fan compatible countdown timer that could do more than an hour, to no avail. I was very pleased to finally find this unit at the Home Depot. It has several qualities that I wanted.
I appreciate the silent function of the digital unit, as opposed to the click, click, click that comes with a spring timer.
The indicator light next to the six time options flash when you select them, and then again five seconds later. This is great: Sometimes my finger covers the light when I'm pushing the button, so its nice to get the feedback a few seconds later that, yes - flash, this is the button you pushed. I've slept near fan timers in bedrooms where the indicator light was always on. Very annoying to me! Glad this one just flashes when I need it. I also like the color of blue of the LED. Very modern.
And, the BEST thing about this timer are the time selections. Most timers I looked at have buttons for, 1 Min, 5 Min, 10 min, 20 min, 30 min and 60 min. Goodness, who needs that small of an increment! This fan has a far greater range, and I feel the intervals are perfect: 5, 15, 30, 60, 120, and 240 minutes. Again, this is what really makes the timer for me!
The fan is activated by touching the the time button you want, or by touching the large central button at the bottom which activates the timer for the last selected increment. One can change the time by touching one of the other increments. Or turn it off prior to the designated interval by pushing the large on/off button.
Physically the design is nice, simple, elegant, modern.
I'm sad that this product is being discontinued. I purchased 6 for use in all my homes. I hope Home Depot will continue it, or make a similar replacement.
One unit I purchased quit working after about a month.
When you first power up the circuit after installation, it takes a few minutes (for a capacitor to charge?) before the unit will function.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.4-Amp 4-Hour In-Wall Digital Countdown Timer with No Neutral Wire (CFL and LED)

Bought 2 and neither worked!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 of these and neither one worked. Double checked wiring and all was done as instructed but no lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>