728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Soda Makers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

SodaStream’s Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker turns water into soda in seconds. No more lugging, storing and disposing of bottles and cans of store-bought drinks. You can add as much fizz and flavor as you like, without high fructose corn syrup or aspartame. Many SodaMix choices are available, including regular and diet sodas, lemonade and fruit blends, flavored tea, energy drinks and flavored sparkling waters. Value-priced SodaStream Fountain Jet home soda maker has a family friendly design that's easy to use. No batteries or electricity required.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
Review 1 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Far less expensive than isi bottle

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this on a great sale plus there was a rebate, so the purchase price is somewhat irrelevant. The real savings of the SodaStream system is that each charge of about one liter of water costs approximately ten cents. This is based on a conservative 100 liters against the cost of a refilled/exchanged bottle of SodaStream CO2. They rate their bottle at 160 liters, so in the end it might be less than that. Compare that to the cost of CO2 cartridges for isi and other similar siphons. Even buying in bulk on the Internet, cartridges run about $0.45 each (and even more for the isi brand). No need for a math degree to see that the payback period is quite good, particularly if there are kinds in the house and you are making your own root beer or cola drinks. And the returnable CO2 cartridges are more environmentally sound that throwing away the little, empty CO2 traditional cartridges.
To save CO2, I have been charging bottles by pressing briefly, then waiting about 10 to 15 seconds, then repeating until the "burp' sound indicating full pressure has been reached, and then waiting a few minutes before removing the bottle from the charger. This allows the CO2 to be more sully dissolved into the water.
The soda water created with the SodaStream is very close to seltzer water and far more carbonated than we were ever abler to achieve with the isi charger. The SodaStream also allows you to choose or make your own flavors. We have been using a homemade concentrate of fresh-squeezed lime just, a touch of lemon juice, and sweetening it with stevia and sugar. We add a bit of that over ice and use about half cold water and half soda water. Add an ounce of vodka and it makes a wonderfully refreshing cocktail. We did not use the sample pack of flavorings as they all contain artificial ingredients.
Speaking of cold water, we keep a large dispensing container of cold water in the fridge and use that to fill the SodaStream bottle to be charged. Cold water will hold more CO2 than warm (tap) water.
I have read that the internal valves and such of all SodaStream products is the same. You just pay extra for styling and added features like display of pressure. With a two year warranty, don't worry about the apparent low-cost of the basic models. AND, it's not made in China! A rarity in itself today!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Let's bring Science to this

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Colder your Water is... the MORE CO2 can be dissolved into the water.
Carbon dioxide is weakly soluble in water.. but stronger in colder water. Simple.
So Cold tap water even on a cold November day(in Texas) ...isn't cold enough. Chill it to near freezing 25-35 degree's should be enough and this puppy will really carbonate.
A previous review really hit the process on the nail. If this unit was automated and hit the button every 20 seconds for just small spurts over 2-5 minutes and you came back.. you'd have a stronger bond. But your water is warming to room temps. Step 1... carbonate and leave it in your fridge. I have room on the bottom shelf and it keeps the temp from raising too fast.
I LIKE flatter Cola myself... soft pallet. But if you want stronger..follow the steps above. Be Mindful of Carbon water bonds.
FLAVOR: I poured from the Cherry Cola, to the line in cap, and filled the Liter bottle. mixed.. let it sit and came back. Yuck... nasty ... I looked over the mixture numbers and realized .. the cap isnt giving me a proper 1 cap to 23 cap ratio.... no wonder it tasted Nasty. I added more flavor sans the glass i poured already and Eureka! now I have a good partially carbonated Cherry cola that tastes awesome.
Machine works great in a colder environment where the cold tap water is cold.. or you get your water from the fridge spout. It's colder than my ground water on a cold day even after being in the fridge.
So now I put my water in the freezer long enough to almost form ice. Then carbonate over time and then fill a little extra flavor than 1 cap.. and I am now happy that I made this purchase. The NON-aspartame (i'm allergic to it...in EVERY diet soda), and no High fructose corn syrup.. (the bane of diets)... and I have a healthier soda that I can actually enjoy.. Happy Days!
The fact that the Cost of the unit, and the bottles, added to the CO2 container.. all were a heavy upfront cost... in the long run you will have soda's costing the same as those $25 can soda's from Sam's... Less trash to the earth in bottles... and you will eventually figure out how to make your OWN flavors..
I was a Boy Scout and I used to MAKE homemade Rootbeer in igloo's with Dry Ice. Make the Syrup for a Igloo in water gallons, place a wire mesh on the bottom.. drop dry ice into the mixed water and syrup solution and pop the top on.. lock the lid with the carry handle and TADA.. in no time the dry ice carbonates the igloo and the best taste of the South just became a money maker for the Church Bizaar. It wont be long before My syrups are all natural, great tasting and Not costing me $4-8 per container. I'll post YouTubes when I finally get into my Syrup making again.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Good Use of Space
Cons: Complicated, needs better instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

This product is Fantastic!!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Fountain Jet machine is incredible! I love all the diet flavors and the different drink recipes that are possible. The soda is easy to make and there is truly no mess. I would recommend this machine to any soda-lovers that are looking for a way to save money and make drinks from home.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Duck, NC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a superb way of making soda. I can use my own water, the carbonation doesn't dissapate overnight.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the product. It is easy to put together and easy to use. It will save plastic bottles that come from the store. I am very happy with the way it works and keeps its carbonation even overnight. I was sent samples of the flavors, which helped a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Fast / Speed, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Pretty nifty, does exactly what it says on the tin

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made almost entirely out of plastic, so parts feel flimsy and the back cover (gas cylinder container) takes extra care to close properly.
An insert saying that the device is licensed to the end user (rather than sold) raises an eyebrow -- but most likely that's a legal trick to get around some stupid government regulation.
Device operation is pretty simple, but so far is prone to backwash -- during carbonation, some liquid splatters back into the device because of CO2 pressure/bubbling inside the bottle.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Keyport, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My Husband in in Heaven

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little machine works GREAT! My husband got it for Christmas and has been using it ever since. It was the gift he got excited about. I don't have to lug bottles of soda from the store any more. I love it too.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Highland Park, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product does exactly as advertised. The flavors are extensive and reasonably priced. The only issue is the cost of the C02 canisters since the design is proprietary. However, there are work arounds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Reliable
Cons: price of co2 refills
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Doesn't seem to give the water enough carbonation

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wasn't impressed with how the soda tasted afterwards. I don't think that the water tastes carbonated enough. It just tastes like water with flavoring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Good product, easy to use

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good product, easy to use, not the most sturdy material for the price, but can't say for sure until we see if it stands the test of time
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Fast / Speed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

This product has great features.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the purchase of our Sodastream. It not only performs perfectly it looks great too.
The price was also a deal we couldn't refuse.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Convenient, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, compact and sleek design makes for easy storage when not in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Pa

I love my soda stream

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well, I no longer buy seltzer water, I just use this. I like that no battery or power cord is required.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great tool

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home is a no brainer but the most unexpected upside has been in relation to our family practice to go camping quite often. What a great item to just pop in the truck and set up ANYWHERE on the campsite for instant, healthy, or perhaps unhealthy depending on syrup choice, drinks!!! Makes adult drinks more exotic (despite the plastic cup) and kids drinks so much fun!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Durable, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Newport News, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is really cool. My husband has wanted one for some time so we bought him one for Father's Day. It was quick and easy to set up and he enjoyed a soda within minutes of taking it out of the box. My husband and kids think it is great. Would have been better if it came with a couple of bottles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Durable, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Tucson, AZ, USA

Unit did not operate as expected

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit did not seem to carbonate the water unless I pressed on the button for long bursts. Then and only then did the water get somewhat fizzy. But in doing so, I found that water was spilling out of the top of the unit. So much so, that I finally had to place a thick towel under the unit and wring it frequently. The instructions were clear on not overfilling the water bottle or holding the button down too long. There was no way to get the water to fizz, even a little, without holding the button down for longer bursts. At one point I did short bursts on the unit 50 times. A lot less water spilled out, but all I had was chilled water with no fizz.
I have a friend with a different model. Theirs does not suffer any of the symptoms I describe. I don't know if this unit is defective, or if this is a problem with this model. Either way, it's going back with an empty CO2 tank and no fizz to show for my efforts.
Cons: Leaks, Quality, Difficult to Use, Performance, feels cheap
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Great, inexpensive sparkling water maker

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes great-tasting carbonated water at a good price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Not worth the time or money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The carbonation produced is at best comparable to a very flat commercial product.
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Dover, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does the job at low price point.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Simple concept that for the great part works.
The effervescence equal a day old open bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Convenient
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red

Love it!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fun and easy to use. So far all the flavors have been great and taste really good.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Convenient, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit in Red
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the bargain that it appears to be.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Sodastream Genesis that I love. I bought this one for my daughter. It seems like the CO2 is leaking when you push the button to "charge" your bottle of water. The water is not bubbly enough. I am hoping that my next cartridge will make a difference.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Clean, Convenient
Cons: Leaks, Difficult to Use, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>