728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(793 reviews) 793
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product670 of 760reviews
Rating Breakdown 793 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(569)
4
(123)
3
(30)
2
(29)
1
(42)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product670 of 760reviews
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 667 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Review 1 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best quality money can buy.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn mower was easy to use right out of the box. The only assembly required was the grass catcher. Once assembled, it took just one simple pull of the cord and the honda mower started. The mower cuts with precision. The only initial draw back was the dirt that this mower was kicking around. One simple adjustment of the height and the problem was resolved. Overall I would say that this is the most user friendly mower I've ever purchased.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+68points
71out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Parma, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Purchase Long Overdue

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many, many years of using hand me down mowers, I have at the age of 53, just pulled the trigger and finally purchased my first one! Took it out of the box, put in the oil, the gas and it started on the first pull. I pushed the Smart Drive Control and from that point on never let go as I buzzed my entire yard front and back in record time! Better than any Toro or Craftsman mowers I've been using all these years. Very nice machine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+71points
79out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from North Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy Honda! You won't regret it!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been in the market for a new mower for the past couple of years, I looked at all brands and finally settled on the Honda. From all of the reviews I've read, the Honda motors are second to none and are very reliable compared to Briggs & Stratton, Kohler, etc.
I got this mower home, unboxed it, added the supplied oil, and gassed it up all within 2 minutes. Pulled the string and it started on the first pull. No priming, no choke, just pull the string and go.
The features, aside from the motor, that sold me on this mower were the variable speed Smart Drive, the twin blade cutting system, and the Clip Director that allows you to switch between bagging and mulching within seconds and with no extra parts. The Smart Drive is awesome, it goes pretty fast when you push it all the way down, much better than my old, single speed, mower that felt like I was pushing it more than it was propelling itself.
Pros: Honda Motor, Smart Drive RWD, Clip Director, plenty of power, 3 year warranty (actually mine was extended to 4 years because I bought it during a promotional period), very lightweight, Twin Blades cut up the grass into very small pieces, priced right for a mower of this quality.
Cons: None so far
I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone looking for something of excellent quality and reputation that has nice features at a good price point.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+91points
114out of 137found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Blue Springs, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best mower on the market

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great mower, buy one, you won't be sorry. At 66 years old, easiest to use and cuts great, love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Northwest Washington State
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You Get What You Pay For!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been reading some of the reviews good and bad and I will put my two cents in.
I have used the HRR and the HRC commercial mowers from Honda for years.
I did lapse and purchased an Orange mower and a Red one,that was a mistake on both accounts.
I mow commercially and I am real picky and cant stand a mower that leaves trails or wont suck up grass and leaves.
I have never had a Honda leave a trail (unless I bent a blade) and the cut has always been smooth.
If you can afford the extra it costs over the others then you'll Get what you paid for in a beautiful lawn.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+99points
127out of 155found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Palatka Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Think Twice --Buy with Caution

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower 15 months ago and it gave good service until the last two times I used it. At first there was an intermittent problem with pulling the mower backwards, the back wheels would lock up or would only turn with great difficulty. This problem continued to get worse and worse the more I used it. The mower eventually became unusable. I called Honda Power and they recommended two of their authorized service locations. Long story short, the mower has been at the service center 5 days now and after saying it was fixed it turns out they just did some other things that didn't even need doing. After I paid them a visit they finally realized what the problem was but don't seem to have a clue as to how to fix it. After this visit I came home and did some homework on the internet about this particular Honda Mower (HRR216VKA) and it turns out that the locking up of the rear (drive) wheels is a fairly common problem with the SmartDrive and is very difficult to get repaired. After reading about 20 horror stories where people go to multiple Authorized Service Centers and just can't seem to ever get their mower fixed I have about decided that if mine is not repaired on the first try i'm going to strip all the self-propelled equip off of it to reduce weight and use it as a push mower. I can assure you that I WOULD NOT BUY THIS MOWER AGAIN. I only wish I had done better research before spending so much money for a product that has well documented problems with the self-propelled mechanism. I hope this information will help you make a good decision, DO YOUR RESEARCH..
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Great Engine
Cons: back wheels lock up, difficult to get repaired, too complicated
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Self-Propelled Mower Out There

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is simply the best self-propelled mower in its class. The twin blade cutting system blows away the competition. It does everything extremely well and has the renowned Honda quality and reliability to boot. My old Honda HRT lasted 12+ years and was still going strong when I sold it used and replaced it with this new HRR.
I actually really like the new variable drive system on this mower. My cutting time went down about 30% because I can cut faster in the open sections yet still slow down for trimming work around bushes and trees without having to stop and shift gears. You almost have to run behind this mower at maximum speed - it is that fast.
Honda makes several different self-propelled models, but this is the mower that hits the sweet spot balancing price and options. You really don't need anything else. This is the one to get.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Cadillac of my yard.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this about a month ago to replace an old Toro and couldn't be anymore happier. A friend who works on small engines suggested spending a little more for this mower and wow! what a difference. Took it out of the box, uprighted the handle, oil & gas and then one pull to start! amazing. For the price I would highly recommend this mower you can't go wrong.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bookmark this review

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this mower new from HD two months ago. Have since used it about a dozen times or so. I'm a small engine mechanic. I do repairs and modifications to 4 stroke ohv engines, specifically honda. My lot size is about 1/6 of an acre.
You must be thinking what's up with my rating. You've read the reviews good, and bad, pros and cons.
Smooth cuts, good power, easy starts, excellent drive action. I agree with everything that's been said along these lines, it's a honda.
Horrible cuts, underpowered, auto JOKE, sore thumbs, mulching fatalities ( I loved that one). This is true of any mower pushed beyond it's limits or when used when not using the best technique. This particular honda is high maintenance and really doesn't show it's true colors unless it has a healthy, well cared after lawn to mow.
If you try to mulch what looks like 6" grass with the height set at 3.5" you're pushing it and that's why you see reviews (pictures of clumps of grass). The other reason is the grass might be too moist. IF the grass appears to be 6", it is actually closer to 7" because the weight of the mower will cause it to sink a little.
If the mower cut is missing and leaving a line of uncut grass, that is usually dull blades or it could be running in a rut. Instead of an up and down cut, it may need a side to side cut also. Just remember no two mowers are alike and even though we had mowers in the past that might not have had any cutting issues, this honda mower really has a cut of its own.
While many reviews complain about sore thumbs or erratic drive action, it really is about as simple and imo smooth as it can get. However, this is when using your palms and not your thumbs. If you use only your thumbs and it doesn't get worn out, I'd be very surprised.
Other reviews have mentioned about wheels appearing to not be level and sometimes would float making it seem like the deck is crooked and not level. This is because the wheels don't have bearings, it is a bushing. I don't like it personally because it should freewheel all by itself. It shouldn't need to be greased but that's what it takes.
I would not have bought this mower if I didn't know what I was getting into. The engine (honda) has a reputation on it's own. It's proven in just about every outdoor power equipment use from here to there. The frame/ cut works as advertised. My rating (and why you should have this review bookmarked) is because of the autochoke.
Out of the box, everything works great. What eventually happens is the autochoke won't open as it should, the spark plug will foul, the engine will sputter, and eventually if you keep trying to turn the engine over you will end up needing a new coil.
The autochoke is automatically set on choke. When the engine fires up there is a valve that opens the choke which is held closed by springs. When the springs get dirty or the valve to choke connection doesn't work as it should the choke will not open and the motor will sputter, cough, and spew out black smoke. These are the signs that the auto choke is not functioning correctly. For some, I can imagine if I was not a mechanic this would include me, the auto choke would be too cumbersome to deal with. After all, this is not a cheapo mower.
It's a simple extra few maintenance steps when the autochoke starts to act like an autojoke. You'll have to wirebrush the sparkplug, and clean the carburetor linkage. This is the basis of my ratings and a heads up, that if you do not recognize the autochoke as part of your maintenance program it will not only cause the engine to sputter but also if you continue to try to run it as such it will create other issues like excessive carbon build up and as previously mentioned, coil failure.
In short, regarding this honda, It's a good mower, works as advertised. It's more maintenance than others, instead of just oil and air filter changes it really needs to be kept clean. (Not my first choice if you are considering this for all out commercial use in rain, high frequency wet or tall grass) unless you are willing to put in the extra few steps. For residential use up to 1/4 acre I would recommend. Beyond 1/4 acre I would only recommend if you don't mind staying on top of the maintenance at closer intervals.
Photo attached.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, good engine
Cons: auto choke
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+337points
390out of 443found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from New Berlin, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best lawnmower I have ever had

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easily the best lawn mower we've ever had. Starts right away out of the box - self propelled control is easy to use, like others have said at high speed it moves! Definitely a step up from the old standby Craftsman or any others we have had. Seems very well built and solid - only drawback we had (which prevented me from giving it 5 stars) was the front right wheel issue - ours was not level to the ground and would tend to lift up on that side at higher speeds. I thought it would wear in over a few weeks but it did not. We took it back to Home Depot before the 30 day return policy period and got a replacement that all 4 wheels roll evenly. We had to go to 2 different stores as 2 of 3 units we pulled out of box exhibited similar issues. For all of the top quality this was unacceptable. The new unit works just like it should but I really think Honda should review it's inventory if this is that common (we did see a few others on this site with similar issues).
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: tire height issues
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda HRR216VKA - Great Mower

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased my Honda HRR2168VKA mower last year in August, initial set up out of the box was very easy. Added the oil, put in fresh gas and clipped the bag to the frame and put it on. It started on the first pull and it has done so ever since, it never has any problem with cutting thick grass it has more than enough power. The engine has a lot of torque to it, the OHV and OHC saves a lot of fuel compared to my old flat head mower. The deck and handle are very well balanced and sturdy feeling, the Honda Smart Drive system is nice to use and very simple. Just push down and off the mower goes. I changed the oil after the first 5 hour break in period and still change it regularly and it never misses a beat, just keep the gas fresh and change the oil and it will last forever. I would definitely recommend one of these mowers, I previously had one for over 10 years and had to sell it due to certain problems after all the use. It's a very durable mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting, ohc and ohv, rust resistant deck, large bag, heavy duty self propel system
Cons: no oil drain plug, not enough cons to outweigh the pros
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good machine& engine but wheels not level

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy set up out of the box, starts right up. One problem, when I first started mowing and this machine is FAST, I noticed at times the front right wheel wasn't turning, it was about an 1/8 or 1/4 inch different height (higher) than the other 3. So I put that wheel setting one notch different setting and seems ok, BUT not sure if I want to keep it that way, you would think Honda wouldn't have a problem like that. 30 day return no questions at Home Depot (bought in online) so I just might return it for another one, hopefully all 4 wheels level, lol. Anyone else have this problem?
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: front right wheel unlevel
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Prattville, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought one of these years ago!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I can say is wow! Had a decent competitor brand variable speed self-propelled lawn mower before, and while its Briggs and Stratton engine ran very good, it was difficult to push and I could never adjust the speed mechanism to go fast enough for my walking pace. Decided to do some research, narrowed my choices down to two, and headed down to the Home Depot to compare this Honda against the comparable "red brand" model. Asked the salesman his opinion, and without hesitation he recommended the Honda hands down over the other mower (same price for both). I was wondering about the butterfly throttle control, and he said it was great but if I didn't like the mower for any reason, I could use it as much as I wanted and still bring it back within 30 days for a full refund. So I decided to give the Honda a try, and am glad I did! What a difference from my old mower! After removing it from the box, putting oil in and filling it with gas, it started on the first pull. And even though the butterfly throttle has a different feel than my old mower's squeeze-type throttle on the handle, it only took about 15 seconds of use before I figured it out - it is very ergonomical and intuitive, and is surprisingly comfortable to use. Also, it has more than enough power, goes as fast or slow as I want it to, and the dual blades do an amazing job - which you may not notice at first...until you go to empty the catcher for the first time and the smaller size of the finely-chopped and double-sliced grass clippings easily spill out without any undue hassle or extra shaking. Lastly, the rear wheel drive is also fantastic, and the weight/balance is slightly rearward which helps it to make sharp turns very easily. But it does have LOTS of power, so just like driving a fast car, be careful about slamming the throttle down too fast or it will REALLY take off - just apply steady pressure down on the throttle like you would do in your car after a stop sign, and no problems at all. All in all, I couldn't be happier...unless of course I would have decided to buy this mower years ago...never imagined it would be so much easier to mow my lawn. Great job Honda!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+82points
90out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Works great.

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Removed it from the box, pulled off the packing materials, filled with the provided oil, filled it up with gas, and it started on the first pull. It did a great job on my hybrid Bermuda grass. I have seen some reviews indicating that the speed control is difficult to get used to, but the mower I received did not have any of these issues, and it worked flawlessly without any adjustment. The handle is also very comfortable to hold. I found no issues with it over my bumpy 2300 square foot backyard lawn. I found it to be quieter than my previous mowers as well. One note for those who are planning to pick it up at the store without a truck, the shipping box is 44” long, 24” wide, and 20” high. I had no problem throwing it in the hatchback of my Civic. Time will tell on its durability, but it appears to be well built, and I have had very good luck with various Honda products over the years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, it's a honda
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+70points
83out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

it was ok

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First of all I am using this mower commercially. It was great. Started so easily and ran well. The self propelled is very nice and I like the smart drive control. It cut the grass nicely by when mulching it would deposit grass in front of the left rear wheel. The. The wheel would mat it down and leave streaks. There is another review that says the same thing titled one fatal flaw with pictures. I loved all aspects of this mower except for this so I upgraded to the hrx. I returned this one. Kudos to Home Depot for their amazing return policy. Like I said I used it commercially but they just took it. No questions asked. The hrx does not do this. I am keeping that one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Ft. Wright
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does everything well

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this mower at the beginning of mowing season this year. It has been a delight to use. Has started first time every time when the chute is clear and the machine is on pavement. The engine is powerful enough to not get bogged down but still not thirsty. It mulches the best of any mower I have ever owned. This fall it has done a superb job of bagging leaves. The paddles for the self propelled drive are easy to get used to. Much better system than a wire . The rear wheel drive is more solid than front . The bag is not overly large, but realistically , when it is full it is about as heavy as a person would want to deal with, Additionally, too much weight in the bag does make the mower rear leaning.
Negatives would be lots of plastic parts. It is the modern world. I will be interested to see how the little things last. The mower is also quite heavy to lift . Definitely a two person job to get it in a vehicle. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase. When I looked at the returns at home depot there was only one of these and a slew of the other colors . Ponder that. I am not a shill for Honda. First Honda mower Ever for me .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made, quality machine.

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only owned it a short time. Wanted a self propelled (variable speed) mower. Dozen uses so far, but very impressed. Sturdy and well made and should provide years of service. As a result, a bit heavy, but fortunately, it does most of the work. Bags and mulches very well. Has started on first pull nearly every time. Cuts evenly and performs better than any mower I have used over the last 30+ years.
For those with a really demanding yard, go with the 190cc engine, otherwise the 160cc is quite adequate, IMO.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, easy clean up
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Mower I have ever bought

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took it out the box and was ready to use in less than 5 minutes...filled the oil and gas and she fired up on the first pull and it took one pull each time to start .....only used it once so far and it does a great job, lawn looks nice. I live in the mountains of North Georgia and my yard is not flat, hills and slopes. I was able to control the mower with one hand. Time will tell if it was worth the money. So far, I like it
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
48out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Coupeville, WA 98239, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is well built and cuts great

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Honda makes a solid machine. When cold it starts on the first pull. When warm if you shut it off to move something and try ans start it right away it takes 2-4 pulls. The mower is a bit heavy so going backwards with no power sometimes takes some effort. The thumb activated speed control is a bit jerky which makes it difficult to control the speed. The mower does do a great job of cutting the grass and even with taller grass you don't need to bag it as it mulches well with the dual blades. Price was ok and we got another $50 off by opening a Homedepot account.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: Too Heavy, hard starting when warm, speed control jerky
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Western, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One fatal flaw

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love most features of the mower - but when mulching, it deposits grass right in front of the left rear wheel...the wheel runs over the grass and mats it down and leaves tracks. The pictures tell the story. The grass was not wet or long. I tried a couple times, and had the same results. I can't see spending this much money for a mulching mower to have to rake afterwards. It seems that the design is flawed - the bottom side of the deck has a protrusion that creates a choke point for the grass being mulched - and it results in the grass being forced out by that left rear wheel. Ugh. I gave up after a couple tries and took it back to try another brand.
Cons: poor mulching, leaves clumps of grass behind
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
145out of 245found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 40 >>