728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Overall rating:
4.456 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(979 reviews) 979
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product831 of 943reviews
Rating Breakdown 979 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(706)
4
(150)
3
(38)
2
(33)
1
(52)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product831 of 943reviews
Customer questions and answers:
98 Questions | 812 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Review 1 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Regrets!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After buying a new home last year, it was time to retire my Craftsman push-mower after several good years. I wanted a self-propelled and as I do with every purchase, I researched it to death. I was between the Toro and Honda...
The Toro had a few "cool" features, but I saw several reviews complaining about the Mulching capabilities. I can only cut my yard 1x a week, and with a lot of southern exposure, and limited tree cover, the grass grows fast! Mulching is important to me as I can't stand bagging my grass, so i need a mower that mulches well. So, knowing the reputation Honda has with small engines, and seeing positive review after positive review, i pulled the trigger on the Honda.
It was un-boxed, "assembled" filled with gas and oil, and started on the first pull in under 10 mins. The grass was long, but I breezed through my first cut of the season had zero issues getting acclimated with the throttle. This baby was a dream for both bagging and mulching (I had to try both!).
With minimal annual maintenance, i have no doubts this mower will last me every bit of 10 years.
Couldn't be happier with my decision.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: none yet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Michigan
Gender:Male

Best mower in this price range

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is extremely easy to use and produces a great cut. Out of the box it comes with a single jug of oil that you empty into the mower. I put gas into it and gave it one single pull and it started right up. I was amazed. No hassling with a primer, no putting it on choke, nothing. Just started up and was ready to go.
The two blade system gives the lawn a great cut and even better, the clippings are extremely small.
The handle folds down really easily for storage. It has basically two catch buttons on each side that you pull out to fold the handle up. No messing with screwed or anything like that -- it takes about 10 seconds.
The mower has great features for use as well. The drive system is fantastic. You can set the handle to the most comfortable position and the mower actually has some good pep in it's step. It goes faster than I can comfortably walk so you don't need to floor it. If you push it down real quick it will do a wheely.
The air filter and spark plug are remarkably easy to get to and change. The air filter has a simple door that you open on the side.
One of the first things I noticed is that coming from my old Toro, this thing is pretty light and maneuverable. It didn't feel as clunky to move; especially when pulling back or around corners.
The ONLY thing I can think of that this mower is missing is the little hose connection for cleaning that you'll find on some mowers. I wish it had that, but in all honesty, it makes up for it a million times over in how easy the mower is to use. It's light enough to where flipping it over to rinse out isn't that big of a deal.
Yes, you should buy this mower if this is the price range you're looking in ($3-500).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from California, USA

Great balance between features and price.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower has all the basic features and then some. It is a good value; nice balance between cost and features. Plus its all Honda. So no need to worry about how to get parts or service. You can take it to a shop or fix yourself. Overall, works great and has what you need to get the job done easily.
One feature to note: you can easily adjust the drive speed while you are moving; helpful for long grass mixed with short grass.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
52out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Ames, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Buy it!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I know you... you're me...Searching, reading reviews..trying to find a great mower at a great price!
Well, stop all that and just buy this mower; for the home owner, it's got it all.
1. Rear wheel Drive - Check!
2. Mulching, Bag or discharge - Check!
3. No tool adjustments - Check!
4. Easy to start - Check!
5. Power to chomp through your failure to mow for a month - Check!
6. Quality build - Check!
7. Dual Blades for a laser flat cut and fine mulch - Check!
Yeah, you could save a $100, or $200, or $300 (gasp) on a "cheaper" mower..but you know how that works out...it won't start, it breaks, front wheel drive is worthless, no wheel drive leaves you half dead at the end..and you eventually have to borrow the neighbors mower while you search for a better replacement.
My Toro finally gave out after 30 YEARS! Planned to buy another Toro, but that Personal Pace drive system is horrible...and it's on EVERY rear wheel drive unit Toro makes..what are they thinking?...Read through the Toro reviews and people either hate or love Personal Pace...I hated it and Toro forced me to buy this Honda..bad move Toro..I really like this Honda:)
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+48points
49out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Matthews, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very impressed

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honda did a great job providing excellent power and variable speed propulsion on this mower. It cuts through tall grass without missing and straining and the variable speed rear wheel drive cuts my mowing time significantly. Do not be fooled by the small bag unit. Since it cuts the grass clippings smaller and sufficiently moves them to the back of the bag unit, it holds as much if not more than my previous bagging mower. I have mowed twice with this mower and am very happy with the purchase. I absolutely love the throttle speed control and how light it is to manuver around the yard, especially on the hill in the backyard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Camas,WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda Quality!!!! Beast of a Mower!!!

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this mower after purchasing a Toro and returning it (not even taking it out of the box). Got the Toro home, read the poor reviews and decided I needed a professional tool that will last. Did a little research, and the Honda was overwhelmingly the clear choice to go with. Got the mower home, assembled it in less than....7 mins give or take (majority of the time was to put the bag on the frame). Fillet it with oil, gas (ethanol free mind you), pulled it once.....fired right up. More than enough power to tackle my jungle...a 2 acre plot...mind you I only use about .65 of it. The rear wheel drive is a beast! Quality is obvious with this product...metal connectors and ball bearings for the wheels...not plastic. A fuel shutoff switch for the winter....
Another bonus...Home Depot (at least mine) was just certified to be a Honda factory service center...so if anything goes wrong (which I doubt) .....take it to big Orange.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Shrewsbury, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean machine

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is amazing how Honda consistently designs and produces very high quality products. With this mower, they achieved offering a very efficient, long lasting, smooth running, feature packed and low maintenance machine!
I got mine mid season last year after spending about 150 to refurbish an old MTD (about 7 years old) and then the drive system broke down.
The Honda starts 1st pull most every time, uses very little fuel, and does a fine job of lawn cutting. Tall wet grass - no problem. It cuts very quickly if you can keep up with it (pushing the drive control fast) This mower mulches very well and has a very smooth, sweet finish without lines of clippings. It is very smooth and quiet for a lawn mower.
I notice the materials used - example the wheels - the tires - is very high quality. Everywhere you see highly functional design - at the same time simple and low maintenance. Like the fuel shut off valve. Like the thumb drive speed control.
Bottom line, super operation, high build quality, and Honda reliability sealed the deal for me.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from shollotte nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Uneven wheel

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Basically just raise the handle bar, add gas and oil that is provided. It started on the first pull. The only Issue was the front left tire was not even with the other three and wouldn't always roll. I decided to take the mower back and try another one. The sales person was very helpful as we opened four boxes to find a lawnmower that all the wheels were the same height and would roll together. Obvious a problem with Honda mowers. Two mowers were the right wheel and two were the left wheels that wouldn't roll all the time. As I pushed the mowers in the store it was very obvious of this problem. The fourth mower was a good one as all the wheels rolled together.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: uneven wheels
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Saratoga, Ca

Honda or Toro?

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent hours reading reviews of lawnmowers on this site and others and came down to Honda vs Toro. What finally swung me was the fact that virtually every lawn service in my area (dozens) uses Honda mowers. So I bought the Honda to replace a 20 year old MTD and here's my contribution. To follow up on issues that other reviewers mentioned:
1. Variable speed system. The first time I used it I did a few wheelies, but then I just moved the paddles down a notch and everything went smoothly from then on.
2. Starting/autochoke. Never a problem when cold, starts up easily. Not as easy as my old MTD when warm - that started with the meekest of pulls. The Honda takes a bit more of a pull, but always starts.
3. Bagging. The bag is a little smaller than my old MTD, but it's big enough. I didn't experience the blow-thru of small particles some other have mentioned.
4. Mulching. I haven't tried it, so no comment.
5. Weight. Some said it felt heavy, some said light. I would fall in the light crowd, but that may be because it feels so smooth and maneuverable.
6. Height adjustment. All 4 wheels adjust separately, which could be a pain if I did it all the time. But I rarely change, so no issue for me.
7. Vacuuming. At least one reviewer said it didn't vacuum that well, and I was concerned about that. Doesn't seem to be an issue for me. When I'm done the lawn looks laser-level and there's nothing left behind.
8. Backing up. I have to do a ton of it, and have had no problems so far.
9. Storage. I definitely use the feature that allow you to fold the handle. Makes it pretty compact in the garage.
So to sum up, I'm a fan. I sometimes mow my lawn when it doesn't really need it, just because the Honda is so smooth. I know it's easy to over-think this stuff, but as one guy said, "I needed a lawn mower. This is a lawn mower." I think it's a good one.
+75points
79out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took it back--poor cutting

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had real issues with the quality of the cut. I have tall, thick fescue and no matter what I did this mower would leave behind long lines of uncut grass. I raised the blade, lowered the blade, overlapped passes, checked to make sure all wheels were at the same height,etc--everything the honda service center told me to do. Nothing worked. Just plain old bad cut.
Engine pulled like a champ--real powerful. The thing pops wheelies it's got so much torque. Feels real sturdy too. But in the end, I bought a lawnmower to cut grass. I expect a $400 mower to cut it nice and even. This did not, so I took it back. OH WELL.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Maple Valley, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great mower, make sure to tighten all screws.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love our new lawnmower. It is very easy to use. I had it delivered to our house. I didn't realize it would come almost completely assembled. I had to follow some instructions on assembling the bag and adding the oil. Word of caution, tighten all the wheels. On my second time mowing the back rear tire came off. After looking around to make sure I wasn't on Candid Camera I was able to reassemble the mower and then tighten all bolts. The mower itself is great and in it's defense we do have a bit of rugged terrain that is very bumpy. may be in the market for some kind of mole catcher soon as the cats aren't keeping up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best quality money can buy.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lawn mower was easy to use right out of the box. The only assembly required was the grass catcher. Once assembled, it took just one simple pull of the cord and the honda mower started. The mower cuts with precision. The only initial draw back was the dirt that this mower was kicking around. One simple adjustment of the height and the problem was resolved. Overall I would say that this is the most user friendly mower I've ever purchased.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+98points
107out of 116found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Parma, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Purchase Long Overdue

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many, many years of using hand me down mowers, I have at the age of 53, just pulled the trigger and finally purchased my first one! Took it out of the box, put in the oil, the gas and it started on the first pull. I pushed the Smart Drive Control and from that point on never let go as I buzzed my entire yard front and back in record time! Better than any Toro or Craftsman mowers I've been using all these years. Very nice machine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+105points
117out of 129found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Orlando, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fingers crossed... but it is a Honda

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had spent several days going back and forth between the Honda and the Toro and ultimately decided on buying the Honda. This decision was reached through research, but in the end a neighbor's praise of his Honda mower helped me decide... "Twelve years of constant use and still starts on first pull", he claimed. It is definitely the quietest mower I've ever owned and seems to cut through higher grass easily. My sole complaint so far is that I think it'll take a bit of getting used to the thumb paddles, which engages the drive wheels. Other than that, I'm not sure grass "clipping build-up" in the frame track for the clipping bag, warrants a one star review... Seems like a good, reliable machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Cons: tough on thumbs initially
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Omaha, Nebraska
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING Mower

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is amazing. There is a reason this mower is Home Depot's # 1 Seller. To put it simply, Honda just does everything better. The construction of this mower is nothing less than top notch.
On a side note, I want to give Ian, from Home Depot here in Omaha..a huge pat on the back. The original Mower I bought had a few slight cosmetic issues on the deck. The bad thing was, I didnt have a truck to return it, and i had filled it with oil and gas already. Ian offered to drive to my house after he got off work and give me a ride with the mower to the Home Depot i purchased it from, then gave me a ride back home with the new mower. I am blown away by the excellent customer service he provided. He went above and beyond to help a customer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Self-Propelled Mower Out There

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is simply the best self-propelled mower in its class. The twin blade cutting system blows away the competition. It does everything extremely well and has the renowned Honda quality and reliability to boot. My old Honda HRT lasted 12+ years and was still going strong when I sold it used and replaced it with this new HRR.
I actually really like the new variable drive system on this mower. My cutting time went down about 30% because I can cut faster in the open sections yet still slow down for trimming work around bushes and trees without having to stop and shift gears. You almost have to run behind this mower at maximum speed - it is that fast.
Honda makes several different self-propelled models, but this is the mower that hits the sweet spot balancing price and options. You really don't need anything else. This is the one to get.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Fishers, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Reliable Mower!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this mower after purchasing several very expensive John Deere mowers that both failed catastrophically within 2 years each, I did hours of research and always ended up back at the Honda. It seemed to offer the perfect blend of value, performance, and reliability. I took a chance, ordered online,and picked up in store along with a new string trimmer. Boy, did I make the right call! You can almost smell the engineering on this thing. It is a simple, thoughtfully designed, high quality mower.
Everything is designed for efficiency and reliability, and no gimmicky frills or gadgets to break or wear out. It has 160cc engine, which will cut almost anything except ridiculously grass, which got cut on the tallest height on rear discharge mode which is done by putting the mower on bagging mode with no bag..The twin blades seen to work very well, but seem to dull quickly, and the self propelled works amazingly well, although it will take some people a couple of uses to acclimate to. It is very fast for a self propelled system, but can be tamed through simple handle adjustments, and seems to settle after a few uses.
Overall I am very pleased, and plan to keep this mower for a very long time, and considering the three year warranty, I know honda will stand behind their product. I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone sich of buying new mowers every few years. It's not cheap, but definitely worth it in vaue.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from madison, wi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Help

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I need a little help. I have owned this mower for 5 years, and it has been great. I did just have to take it in as my carburetor became gummed up...running great again..except...I have a terrible time with the cutting height adjustment. I live in WI, and I have a great lawn, but I have to use the second from the highest setting, and sometimes the highest...and I scalp the lawn many times. I am a weekly, if not more often, mower. Has anyone else had this issue? Seems a range of only 2 workable settings from 5 is a desgn flaw. Is there a chance my blade has "dropped" or something I am missing?
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Blue Springs, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best mower on the market

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great mower, buy one, you won't be sorry. At 66 years old, easiest to use and cuts great, love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
40out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from North Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy Honda! You won't regret it!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been in the market for a new mower for the past couple of years, I looked at all brands and finally settled on the Honda. From all of the reviews I've read, the Honda motors are second to none and are very reliable compared to Briggs & Stratton, Kohler, etc.
I got this mower home, unboxed it, added the supplied oil, and gassed it up all within 2 minutes. Pulled the string and it started on the first pull. No priming, no choke, just pull the string and go.
The features, aside from the motor, that sold me on this mower were the variable speed Smart Drive, the twin blade cutting system, and the Clip Director that allows you to switch between bagging and mulching within seconds and with no extra parts. The Smart Drive is awesome, it goes pretty fast when you push it all the way down, much better than my old, single speed, mower that felt like I was pushing it more than it was propelling itself.
Pros: Honda Motor, Smart Drive RWD, Clip Director, plenty of power, 3 year warranty (actually mine was extended to 4 years because I bought it during a promotional period), very lightweight, Twin Blades cut up the grass into very small pieces, priced right for a mower of this quality.
Cons: None so far
I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone looking for something of excellent quality and reputation that has nice features at a good price point.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+114points
141out of 168found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 49 >>