728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Overall rating:
4.419 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(1231 reviews) 1231
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product1,038 of 1,188reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,231 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(872)
4
(196)
3
(45)
2
(43)
1
(75)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product1,038 of 1,188reviews
Customer questions and answers:
124 Questions | 930 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Review 1 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Pine Island, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a mower that can handle my lawn.

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Where both my B&S and Electric mowers couldn't keep up, this one excelled. Easy to set up right out of the box, and quite possibly the lightest self-propelled mower I've ever used. Normally self-propelled mowers are a few lbs off the average family sedan, and pushing it manually is a chore, this one's light enough that self-propulsion is an option. It plowed through the highest grass with no real clumping to be found, and should you push the propel lever all the way in it felt like I was moving along at 2-3 mph... pretty good for cardio. I got tired of mowers rotting out or failing every few years even with regular maintenance... this costs more than others in its class but the piece of mind and performance so far is worth it.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: lacks ai necessary to mow the lawn without me. :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Regrets!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After buying a new home last year, it was time to retire my Craftsman push-mower after several good years. I wanted a self-propelled and as I do with every purchase, I researched it to death. I was between the Toro and Honda...
The Toro had a few "cool" features, but I saw several reviews complaining about the Mulching capabilities. I can only cut my yard 1x a week, and with a lot of southern exposure, and limited tree cover, the grass grows fast! Mulching is important to me as I can't stand bagging my grass, so i need a mower that mulches well. So, knowing the reputation Honda has with small engines, and seeing positive review after positive review, i pulled the trigger on the Honda.
It was un-boxed, "assembled" filled with gas and oil, and started on the first pull in under 10 mins. The grass was long, but I breezed through my first cut of the season had zero issues getting acclimated with the throttle. This baby was a dream for both bagging and mulching (I had to try both!).
With minimal annual maintenance, i have no doubts this mower will last me every bit of 10 years.
Couldn't be happier with my decision.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: none yet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+69points
73out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Michigan
Gender:Male

Best mower in this price range

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is extremely easy to use and produces a great cut. Out of the box it comes with a single jug of oil that you empty into the mower. I put gas into it and gave it one single pull and it started right up. I was amazed. No hassling with a primer, no putting it on choke, nothing. Just started up and was ready to go.
The two blade system gives the lawn a great cut and even better, the clippings are extremely small.
The handle folds down really easily for storage. It has basically two catch buttons on each side that you pull out to fold the handle up. No messing with screwed or anything like that -- it takes about 10 seconds.
The mower has great features for use as well. The drive system is fantastic. You can set the handle to the most comfortable position and the mower actually has some good pep in it's step. It goes faster than I can comfortably walk so you don't need to floor it. If you push it down real quick it will do a wheely.
The air filter and spark plug are remarkably easy to get to and change. The air filter has a simple door that you open on the side.
One of the first things I noticed is that coming from my old Toro, this thing is pretty light and maneuverable. It didn't feel as clunky to move; especially when pulling back or around corners.
The ONLY thing I can think of that this mower is missing is the little hose connection for cleaning that you'll find on some mowers. I wish it had that, but in all honesty, it makes up for it a million times over in how easy the mower is to use. It's light enough to where flipping it over to rinse out isn't that big of a deal.
Yes, you should buy this mower if this is the price range you're looking in ($3-500).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
56out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Great purchase

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gas mower is easy to use. It is easy to start the engine with only one pull on the flat floor. Stable, clear cut with low gas consumption.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Somersworth NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality and Productive Mower!

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After pushing a non-drive mower for many years, the hills were finally getting to me. Both of my neighbors have the same model I bought and swear by it. I agree with them 100% as the rear wheel drive feature takes the stress off pushing the mower and covers the area more quickly. The mulch option is both a time saver ( no more dumping the bagger) and the clippings enhance the health of the lawn. Having owned Honda vehicles for many years, I was pleased to see the same quality built into this mower. Time will tell how it stands up over time but so far this has been a great investment!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from California, USA

Great balance between features and price.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower has all the basic features and then some. It is a good value; nice balance between cost and features. Plus its all Honda. So no need to worry about how to get parts or service. You can take it to a shop or fix yourself. Overall, works great and has what you need to get the job done easily.
One feature to note: you can easily adjust the drive speed while you are moving; helpful for long grass mixed with short grass.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
67out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from shollotte nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Uneven wheel

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Basically just raise the handle bar, add gas and oil that is provided. It started on the first pull. The only Issue was the front left tire was not even with the other three and wouldn't always roll. I decided to take the mower back and try another one. The sales person was very helpful as we opened four boxes to find a lawnmower that all the wheels were the same height and would roll together. Obvious a problem with Honda mowers. Two mowers were the right wheel and two were the left wheels that wouldn't roll all the time. As I pushed the mowers in the store it was very obvious of this problem. The fourth mower was a good one as all the wheels rolled together.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: uneven wheels
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Matthews, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very impressed

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honda did a great job providing excellent power and variable speed propulsion on this mower. It cuts through tall grass without missing and straining and the variable speed rear wheel drive cuts my mowing time significantly. Do not be fooled by the small bag unit. Since it cuts the grass clippings smaller and sufficiently moves them to the back of the bag unit, it holds as much if not more than my previous bagging mower. I have mowed twice with this mower and am very happy with the purchase. I absolutely love the throttle speed control and how light it is to manuver around the yard, especially on the hill in the backyard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda 21 variable speed mulch gas mower

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK, Here is a good review for you to take into consideration. I read 50 reviews for 4 types of mowers that I considered. some of the other reviews are good but some are misleading. I have a personal friend who had just bought this Honda and he said get it. However, I wanted to make sure to get a mower that would fit my needs. So here goes. Honda motor is known to be long lasting and very good. I opened the box, folded the handle back, added oil and gas and started cutting 3 min later. Yes it did start on the first pull. Now I looked at the Toro all wheel drive and the Husqvarna. I am attracted to power as most men like in their motorized toys. I looked at the snapper and cadet all in the same price range. the others where offered in 22 inch cut and all wheel drive. The Husqvarna and the toro were on my mind. I pondered for about a week. My biggest thing was that I was use to a front wheel drive craftsman. The Craftsman, lasted me about 9 years and was pretty good and did the job for me. it was just an average mower. It was time for me to move up. The summer is here and I am cutting almost twice a week. The Craftsman's front wheel drive was easy to lift and maneuver in my lawn that has a lot of obstacles. I also had a back up craftsman mower that i got refurbished with a big motor and huge bag. That was a pain and I hardly used that monster with too much plastic junk except for a rental property. So what did I do? I sold both the craftsman mowers and got $140 to put toward my new choice. I bought the Honda. I am happy. if you have an average home lawn this is really good. the no bag mulching option is cool but if your grass gets high, use the bag. I like a clean lawn. it tends to do a good job mulching but does leave a little grass for your pets and kids to track in. It mulches as good as any. It does cut up well so the bag does not fill as fast and as bulky as my two old Craftsman mowers. I am getting use to the rear wheel drive. You cant lift the front and turn like my craftsman but i can let up the self propel handle to do so which the craftsman would shut off if you let the handle go. For those with a bigger yard and a lot of land with hills, consider an All wheel drive with a 22 inch cut radius. It may be a better option. Don't get me wrong. this Honda rear wheel drive pulls like a mule when you floor the paddles down. the front pops up on my wife. Ha, She was against spending the money on this Honda but if I get 10 or 12 years out of it, its an awesome deal. She will get use to it. Its got the power to take on hills by the way. I have thick grass too. Also the self propel thumb paddles are cool. they are adjustable and go with the speed you choose. It just takes a few cuts to get the hang of it. I like the tough double blade underneath and the slim light body style for maneuvering around my yard. the bag is big enough and the mower is mad with quality. Some other mowers were bulky and had a lot of plastic junk on them. The wheel adjustments are easier on the Husqvarna and cooler, however the Honda adjustments are the standard manual ones that take some muscle but will last. No Plastic junk. I like that. The hose hook up option is not needed unless you are cutting wet grass all the time. Now for the best part. I got $50 dollars off at home depot. I told the guy that Lowe's was offering $25 off of items over $250 and they were. I just bought a saw with that coupon. So I just asked the lawn department manager if HD was offering a similar sale. He said the best he could do was $50 dollars off. I then smiled. I used that $50 to buy the 3 year extended warranty which was $60. I am covered for 6 years now. It was clear. Look, Don't beat yourself up about it. Its ranked highest on all lists for a reason. I did not need the $500 or $800 dollar Honda. I didn't need the push start or no shut off option. This Honda was priced right and had the options i needed. I wrote this long review to help give more insite to guys like me that think before they buy.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Self-propelled control mechanism outshines all the rest !!

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the only self-propelled mower I have ever used, and have only used it 3 times so far, but after looking at the other self-propelled mechanisms on other mowers, and using this one, I cannot imagine an easier-to-use self-propelled control. For me this outweighs any other negative you might find with this mower, but I also cannot imagine what negative you might find. This mower is so easily maneuverable because of this self-propelled control mechanism. Safety bar (kill switch) pulls into position so easily and is held there so easily and comfortably, you never notice it... probably due in part to the cushions on the handle bar (very comfortable).
My picture is only of the self-propelled control (infinitely variable speed), because this feature is absolutely the most important aspect of this mower and will make you a believer once you try it. Only minimal pressure on the thumb paddles is required to get it moving at a slower speed. I can also guarantee you it will move faster than you will ever need, according to how much pressure is put on the paddles (not overly sensitive in the least however). Higher grass is not a problem for this mower, despite no throttle control. More pressure on the thumb paddles will get it moving faster, and power/rpm does not drop ( nor cutting quality) in higher grass, even if you're going too fast. This control mechanism makes this mower suitable for both male & female, younger thru senior citizen ages. Try this mower before you try any other; you'll be glad you did !
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Camas,WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda Quality!!!! Beast of a Mower!!!

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this mower after purchasing a Toro and returning it (not even taking it out of the box). Got the Toro home, read the poor reviews and decided I needed a professional tool that will last. Did a little research, and the Honda was overwhelmingly the clear choice to go with. Got the mower home, assembled it in less than....7 mins give or take (majority of the time was to put the bag on the frame). Fillet it with oil, gas (ethanol free mind you), pulled it once.....fired right up. More than enough power to tackle my jungle...a 2 acre plot...mind you I only use about .65 of it. The rear wheel drive is a beast! Quality is obvious with this product...metal connectors and ball bearings for the wheels...not plastic. A fuel shutoff switch for the winter....
Another bonus...Home Depot (at least mine) was just certified to be a Honda factory service center...so if anything goes wrong (which I doubt) .....take it to big Orange.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best quality money can buy.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lawn mower was easy to use right out of the box. The only assembly required was the grass catcher. Once assembled, it took just one simple pull of the cord and the honda mower started. The mower cuts with precision. The only initial draw back was the dirt that this mower was kicking around. One simple adjustment of the height and the problem was resolved. Overall I would say that this is the most user friendly mower I've ever purchased.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+103points
112out of 121found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hit and Miss.. frustrating

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Synopsis: Good - features, value, reputation Bad - mulching performance, multiple service trips
Wanted to write a review about my experience with this mower 2+ years in (purchased May 2013). It has been very hit or miss. I bought it when I moved into a new house and wanted something reliable and easy to use (tired of the weekly fight with cheap disposable mowers - just wanted something that started every time and cut well). Honda has a great reputation so I bought it.
Worked great right out of the box. Only issue I noticed is mentioned in lots of reviews: when mulching you end up with lines of grass across the lawn (grass clumps on left rear wheel and then gets left in trails as you mow - disappointing but not the end of the world for me). I used fuel stabilizer in exact amounts recommended, ran carb out of gas every time using fuel cutoff switch, and did everything I could to make sure it stayed in tip top condition. 4 months in it began to have starting issues - instead of one pull it was taking 5, 6, 10 pulls to start. Got me through the end of the mowing season and tried to return/exchange at Home Depot; no can do. They serviced it under warranty - didn't have mower for three months but it was winter time so no problem. Official diagnosis was water in the fuel system - I found that hard to believe with all the precautions I took but whatever... it was fixed at no cost.
Worked for most of 2014 season great. Toward end of summer I started having more sporadic starting issues but it worked all season.
This spring 2015 it was terrible again. First use it started like a champ on first pull, then it got ugly in a hurry. Literally 20+ pulls every time to start (once it took 52 pulls before it started - no exaggeration) but it started until July when it became a $400 paperweight in my garage. Took it to local Honda dealer instead of Home Depot and they fixed it in two days - they installed new auto choke kit (which they told me is the kit on new models) and it works like new again; somehow this WAS NOT covered under the 3 year parts warranty but it was a cheap fix ($31 for parts and labor) and mower works again as it should. I didn't mind paying it because I REALLY liked the service I got at my local Honda dealer even though I didn't buy the mower there, if you know what I'm saying...
I love the features of the mower - very simple controls, built-in mulching or bagging options, and fantastic speed - I like to mow fast and I almost can't keep up with this at full speed! But early next season it will be out of warranty and I'm wondering how much I will be spending to maintain it. When it works I love it - only issue (other than starting) is grass trails when mulching. Anyway - that's one man's experience over three mowing seasons. Hope you found it useful.
Pros: Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, reputation
Cons: starting issues, mulching performance
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Parma, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Purchase Long Overdue

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many, many years of using hand me down mowers, I have at the age of 53, just pulled the trigger and finally purchased my first one! Took it out of the box, put in the oil, the gas and it started on the first pull. I pushed the Smart Drive Control and from that point on never let go as I buzzed my entire yard front and back in record time! Better than any Toro or Craftsman mowers I've been using all these years. Very nice machine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+107points
120out of 133found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Self-Propelled Mower Out There

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is simply the best self-propelled mower in its class. The twin blade cutting system blows away the competition. It does everything extremely well and has the renowned Honda quality and reliability to boot. My old Honda HRT lasted 12+ years and was still going strong when I sold it used and replaced it with this new HRR.
I actually really like the new variable drive system on this mower. My cutting time went down about 30% because I can cut faster in the open sections yet still slow down for trimming work around bushes and trees without having to stop and shift gears. You almost have to run behind this mower at maximum speed - it is that fast.
Honda makes several different self-propelled models, but this is the mower that hits the sweet spot balancing price and options. You really don't need anything else. This is the one to get.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Ames, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Buy it!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I know you... you're me...Searching, reading reviews..trying to find a great mower at a great price!
Well, stop all that and just buy this mower; for the home owner, it's got it all.
1. Rear wheel Drive - Check!
2. Mulching, Bag or discharge - Check!
3. No tool adjustments - Check!
4. Easy to start - Check!
5. Power to chomp through your failure to mow for a month - Check!
6. Quality build - Check!
7. Dual Blades for a laser flat cut and fine mulch - Check!
Yeah, you could save a $100, or $200, or $300 (gasp) on a "cheaper" mower..but you know how that works out...it won't start, it breaks, front wheel drive is worthless, no wheel drive leaves you half dead at the end..and you eventually have to borrow the neighbors mower while you search for a better replacement.
My Toro finally gave out after 30 YEARS! Planned to buy another Toro, but that Personal Pace drive system is horrible...and it's on EVERY rear wheel drive unit Toro makes..what are they thinking?...Read through the Toro reviews and people either hate or love Personal Pace...I hated it and Toro forced me to buy this Honda..bad move Toro..I really like this Honda:)
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+69points
78out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Shrewsbury, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean machine

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is amazing how Honda consistently designs and produces very high quality products. With this mower, they achieved offering a very efficient, long lasting, smooth running, feature packed and low maintenance machine!
I got mine mid season last year after spending about 150 to refurbish an old MTD (about 7 years old) and then the drive system broke down.
The Honda starts 1st pull most every time, uses very little fuel, and does a fine job of lawn cutting. Tall wet grass - no problem. It cuts very quickly if you can keep up with it (pushing the drive control fast) This mower mulches very well and has a very smooth, sweet finish without lines of clippings. It is very smooth and quiet for a lawn mower.
I notice the materials used - example the wheels - the tires - is very high quality. Everywhere you see highly functional design - at the same time simple and low maintenance. Like the fuel shut off valve. Like the thumb drive speed control.
Bottom line, super operation, high build quality, and Honda reliability sealed the deal for me.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Hemet ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I also have the VYA with blade brake clutch

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the cut quality, both started fist pull right out of the box. had the VYA for almost two years Our lot is large, we have lawn on 4 sides! Been wanting a 42" cut mower cost is prohibitive I live in california and the CARB compliant toro zero turn seemed over priced, and the reviews left lots to be desired
I decided against the 30" timemaster no timed blades for me!
answer two hondas, two men!
my 19 year old son loves the honda together we zip right through the chore in no time the 42" cut really saves time!! the plastic wheels are just that and I don't expect we'll see five years out of these low end sub 500.00 mowers I'm a bagger but the mulching is spot on, I see no debris left behind, not a speck.
on the fence don't be most people giving poor reviews obviously have no mechanical skills whatsoever
had one bad cold start episode when it was below 45 degrees pulled the air filter cover held the carb WOT and she chugged to life hasn't done it since but I leave the bowls full valve closed
I believe draining the bowl causes the caustics in the fuel to chalk up therefore doing more harm then good
love the mowers cut quality is outstanding
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Maple Valley, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great mower, make sure to tighten all screws.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love our new lawnmower. It is very easy to use. I had it delivered to our house. I didn't realize it would come almost completely assembled. I had to follow some instructions on assembling the bag and adding the oil. Word of caution, tighten all the wheels. On my second time mowing the back rear tire came off. After looking around to make sure I wasn't on Candid Camera I was able to reassemble the mower and then tighten all bolts. The mower itself is great and in it's defense we do have a bit of rugged terrain that is very bumpy. may be in the market for some kind of mole catcher soon as the cats aren't keeping up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Saratoga, Ca

Honda or Toro?

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent hours reading reviews of lawnmowers on this site and others and came down to Honda vs Toro. What finally swung me was the fact that virtually every lawn service in my area (dozens) uses Honda mowers. So I bought the Honda to replace a 20 year old MTD and here's my contribution. To follow up on issues that other reviewers mentioned:
1. Variable speed system. The first time I used it I did a few wheelies, but then I just moved the paddles down a notch and everything went smoothly from then on.
2. Starting/autochoke. Never a problem when cold, starts up easily. Not as easy as my old MTD when warm - that started with the meekest of pulls. The Honda takes a bit more of a pull, but always starts.
3. Bagging. The bag is a little smaller than my old MTD, but it's big enough. I didn't experience the blow-thru of small particles some other have mentioned.
4. Mulching. I haven't tried it, so no comment.
5. Weight. Some said it felt heavy, some said light. I would fall in the light crowd, but that may be because it feels so smooth and maneuverable.
6. Height adjustment. All 4 wheels adjust separately, which could be a pain if I did it all the time. But I rarely change, so no issue for me.
7. Vacuuming. At least one reviewer said it didn't vacuum that well, and I was concerned about that. Doesn't seem to be an issue for me. When I'm done the lawn looks laser-level and there's nothing left behind.
8. Backing up. I have to do a ton of it, and have had no problems so far.
9. Storage. I definitely use the feature that allow you to fold the handle. Makes it pretty compact in the garage.
So to sum up, I'm a fan. I sometimes mow my lawn when it doesn't really need it, just because the Honda is so smooth. I know it's easy to over-think this stuff, but as one guy said, "I needed a lawn mower. This is a lawn mower." I think it's a good one.
+84points
88out of 92found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 62 >>