728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Overall rating:
4.419 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(1174 reviews) 1174
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product988 of 1,132reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,174 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(830)
4
(188)
3
(44)
2
(42)
1
(70)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product988 of 1,132reviews
Customer questions and answers:
118 Questions | 897 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Review 1 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Regrets!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After buying a new home last year, it was time to retire my Craftsman push-mower after several good years. I wanted a self-propelled and as I do with every purchase, I researched it to death. I was between the Toro and Honda...
The Toro had a few "cool" features, but I saw several reviews complaining about the Mulching capabilities. I can only cut my yard 1x a week, and with a lot of southern exposure, and limited tree cover, the grass grows fast! Mulching is important to me as I can't stand bagging my grass, so i need a mower that mulches well. So, knowing the reputation Honda has with small engines, and seeing positive review after positive review, i pulled the trigger on the Honda.
It was un-boxed, "assembled" filled with gas and oil, and started on the first pull in under 10 mins. The grass was long, but I breezed through my first cut of the season had zero issues getting acclimated with the throttle. This baby was a dream for both bagging and mulching (I had to try both!).
With minimal annual maintenance, i have no doubts this mower will last me every bit of 10 years.
Couldn't be happier with my decision.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: none yet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
64out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Michigan
Gender:Male

Best mower in this price range

PostedApril 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is extremely easy to use and produces a great cut. Out of the box it comes with a single jug of oil that you empty into the mower. I put gas into it and gave it one single pull and it started right up. I was amazed. No hassling with a primer, no putting it on choke, nothing. Just started up and was ready to go.
The two blade system gives the lawn a great cut and even better, the clippings are extremely small.
The handle folds down really easily for storage. It has basically two catch buttons on each side that you pull out to fold the handle up. No messing with screwed or anything like that -- it takes about 10 seconds.
The mower has great features for use as well. The drive system is fantastic. You can set the handle to the most comfortable position and the mower actually has some good pep in it's step. It goes faster than I can comfortably walk so you don't need to floor it. If you push it down real quick it will do a wheely.
The air filter and spark plug are remarkably easy to get to and change. The air filter has a simple door that you open on the side.
One of the first things I noticed is that coming from my old Toro, this thing is pretty light and maneuverable. It didn't feel as clunky to move; especially when pulling back or around corners.
The ONLY thing I can think of that this mower is missing is the little hose connection for cleaning that you'll find on some mowers. I wish it had that, but in all honesty, it makes up for it a million times over in how easy the mower is to use. It's light enough to where flipping it over to rinse out isn't that big of a deal.
Yes, you should buy this mower if this is the price range you're looking in ($3-500).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
51out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Pine Island, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a mower that can handle my lawn.

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Where both my B&S and Electric mowers couldn't keep up, this one excelled. Easy to set up right out of the box, and quite possibly the lightest self-propelled mower I've ever used. Normally self-propelled mowers are a few lbs off the average family sedan, and pushing it manually is a chore, this one's light enough that self-propulsion is an option. It plowed through the highest grass with no real clumping to be found, and should you push the propel lever all the way in it felt like I was moving along at 2-3 mph... pretty good for cardio. I got tired of mowers rotting out or failing every few years even with regular maintenance... this costs more than others in its class but the piece of mind and performance so far is worth it.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: lacks ai necessary to mow the lawn without me. :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from California, USA

Great balance between features and price.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower has all the basic features and then some. It is a good value; nice balance between cost and features. Plus its all Honda. So no need to worry about how to get parts or service. You can take it to a shop or fix yourself. Overall, works great and has what you need to get the job done easily.
One feature to note: you can easily adjust the drive speed while you are moving; helpful for long grass mixed with short grass.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+58points
65out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from shollotte nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Uneven wheel

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Basically just raise the handle bar, add gas and oil that is provided. It started on the first pull. The only Issue was the front left tire was not even with the other three and wouldn't always roll. I decided to take the mower back and try another one. The sales person was very helpful as we opened four boxes to find a lawnmower that all the wheels were the same height and would roll together. Obvious a problem with Honda mowers. Two mowers were the right wheel and two were the left wheels that wouldn't roll all the time. As I pushed the mowers in the store it was very obvious of this problem. The fourth mower was a good one as all the wheels rolled together.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: uneven wheels
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Matthews, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very impressed

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honda did a great job providing excellent power and variable speed propulsion on this mower. It cuts through tall grass without missing and straining and the variable speed rear wheel drive cuts my mowing time significantly. Do not be fooled by the small bag unit. Since it cuts the grass clippings smaller and sufficiently moves them to the back of the bag unit, it holds as much if not more than my previous bagging mower. I have mowed twice with this mower and am very happy with the purchase. I absolutely love the throttle speed control and how light it is to manuver around the yard, especially on the hill in the backyard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Camas,WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda Quality!!!! Beast of a Mower!!!

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this mower after purchasing a Toro and returning it (not even taking it out of the box). Got the Toro home, read the poor reviews and decided I needed a professional tool that will last. Did a little research, and the Honda was overwhelmingly the clear choice to go with. Got the mower home, assembled it in less than....7 mins give or take (majority of the time was to put the bag on the frame). Fillet it with oil, gas (ethanol free mind you), pulled it once.....fired right up. More than enough power to tackle my jungle...a 2 acre plot...mind you I only use about .65 of it. The rear wheel drive is a beast! Quality is obvious with this product...metal connectors and ball bearings for the wheels...not plastic. A fuel shutoff switch for the winter....
Another bonus...Home Depot (at least mine) was just certified to be a Honda factory service center...so if anything goes wrong (which I doubt) .....take it to big Orange.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Somersworth NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality and Productive Mower!

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After pushing a non-drive mower for many years, the hills were finally getting to me. Both of my neighbors have the same model I bought and swear by it. I agree with them 100% as the rear wheel drive feature takes the stress off pushing the mower and covers the area more quickly. The mulch option is both a time saver ( no more dumping the bagger) and the clippings enhance the health of the lawn. Having owned Honda vehicles for many years, I was pleased to see the same quality built into this mower. Time will tell how it stands up over time but so far this has been a great investment!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Ames, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Buy it!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I know you... you're me...Searching, reading reviews..trying to find a great mower at a great price!
Well, stop all that and just buy this mower; for the home owner, it's got it all.
1. Rear wheel Drive - Check!
2. Mulching, Bag or discharge - Check!
3. No tool adjustments - Check!
4. Easy to start - Check!
5. Power to chomp through your failure to mow for a month - Check!
6. Quality build - Check!
7. Dual Blades for a laser flat cut and fine mulch - Check!
Yeah, you could save a $100, or $200, or $300 (gasp) on a "cheaper" mower..but you know how that works out...it won't start, it breaks, front wheel drive is worthless, no wheel drive leaves you half dead at the end..and you eventually have to borrow the neighbors mower while you search for a better replacement.
My Toro finally gave out after 30 YEARS! Planned to buy another Toro, but that Personal Pace drive system is horrible...and it's on EVERY rear wheel drive unit Toro makes..what are they thinking?...Read through the Toro reviews and people either hate or love Personal Pace...I hated it and Toro forced me to buy this Honda..bad move Toro..I really like this Honda:)
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+70points
77out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Maple Valley, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great mower, make sure to tighten all screws.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love our new lawnmower. It is very easy to use. I had it delivered to our house. I didn't realize it would come almost completely assembled. I had to follow some instructions on assembling the bag and adding the oil. Word of caution, tighten all the wheels. On my second time mowing the back rear tire came off. After looking around to make sure I wasn't on Candid Camera I was able to reassemble the mower and then tighten all bolts. The mower itself is great and in it's defense we do have a bit of rugged terrain that is very bumpy. may be in the market for some kind of mole catcher soon as the cats aren't keeping up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda 21 variable speed mulch gas mower

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK, Here is a good review for you to take into consideration. I read 50 reviews for 4 types of mowers that I considered. some of the other reviews are good but some are misleading. I have a personal friend who had just bought this Honda and he said get it. However, I wanted to make sure to get a mower that would fit my needs. So here goes. Honda motor is known to be long lasting and very good. I opened the box, folded the handle back, added oil and gas and started cutting 3 min later. Yes it did start on the first pull. Now I looked at the Toro all wheel drive and the Husqvarna. I am attracted to power as most men like in their motorized toys. I looked at the snapper and cadet all in the same price range. the others where offered in 22 inch cut and all wheel drive. The Husqvarna and the toro were on my mind. I pondered for about a week. My biggest thing was that I was use to a front wheel drive craftsman. The Craftsman, lasted me about 9 years and was pretty good and did the job for me. it was just an average mower. It was time for me to move up. The summer is here and I am cutting almost twice a week. The Craftsman's front wheel drive was easy to lift and maneuver in my lawn that has a lot of obstacles. I also had a back up craftsman mower that i got refurbished with a big motor and huge bag. That was a pain and I hardly used that monster with too much plastic junk except for a rental property. So what did I do? I sold both the craftsman mowers and got $140 to put toward my new choice. I bought the Honda. I am happy. if you have an average home lawn this is really good. the no bag mulching option is cool but if your grass gets high, use the bag. I like a clean lawn. it tends to do a good job mulching but does leave a little grass for your pets and kids to track in. It mulches as good as any. It does cut up well so the bag does not fill as fast and as bulky as my two old Craftsman mowers. I am getting use to the rear wheel drive. You cant lift the front and turn like my craftsman but i can let up the self propel handle to do so which the craftsman would shut off if you let the handle go. For those with a bigger yard and a lot of land with hills, consider an All wheel drive with a 22 inch cut radius. It may be a better option. Don't get me wrong. this Honda rear wheel drive pulls like a mule when you floor the paddles down. the front pops up on my wife. Ha, She was against spending the money on this Honda but if I get 10 or 12 years out of it, its an awesome deal. She will get use to it. Its got the power to take on hills by the way. I have thick grass too. Also the self propel thumb paddles are cool. they are adjustable and go with the speed you choose. It just takes a few cuts to get the hang of it. I like the tough double blade underneath and the slim light body style for maneuvering around my yard. the bag is big enough and the mower is mad with quality. Some other mowers were bulky and had a lot of plastic junk on them. The wheel adjustments are easier on the Husqvarna and cooler, however the Honda adjustments are the standard manual ones that take some muscle but will last. No Plastic junk. I like that. The hose hook up option is not needed unless you are cutting wet grass all the time. Now for the best part. I got $50 dollars off at home depot. I told the guy that Lowe's was offering $25 off of items over $250 and they were. I just bought a saw with that coupon. So I just asked the lawn department manager if HD was offering a similar sale. He said the best he could do was $50 dollars off. I then smiled. I used that $50 to buy the 3 year extended warranty which was $60. I am covered for 6 years now. It was clear. Look, Don't beat yourself up about it. Its ranked highest on all lists for a reason. I did not need the $500 or $800 dollar Honda. I didn't need the push start or no shut off option. This Honda was priced right and had the options i needed. I wrote this long review to help give more insite to guys like me that think before they buy.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best quality money can buy.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lawn mower was easy to use right out of the box. The only assembly required was the grass catcher. Once assembled, it took just one simple pull of the cord and the honda mower started. The mower cuts with precision. The only initial draw back was the dirt that this mower was kicking around. One simple adjustment of the height and the problem was resolved. Overall I would say that this is the most user friendly mower I've ever purchased.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+102points
111out of 120found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Shrewsbury, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean machine

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is amazing how Honda consistently designs and produces very high quality products. With this mower, they achieved offering a very efficient, long lasting, smooth running, feature packed and low maintenance machine!
I got mine mid season last year after spending about 150 to refurbish an old MTD (about 7 years old) and then the drive system broke down.
The Honda starts 1st pull most every time, uses very little fuel, and does a fine job of lawn cutting. Tall wet grass - no problem. It cuts very quickly if you can keep up with it (pushing the drive control fast) This mower mulches very well and has a very smooth, sweet finish without lines of clippings. It is very smooth and quiet for a lawn mower.
I notice the materials used - example the wheels - the tires - is very high quality. Everywhere you see highly functional design - at the same time simple and low maintenance. Like the fuel shut off valve. Like the thumb drive speed control.
Bottom line, super operation, high build quality, and Honda reliability sealed the deal for me.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Parma, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Purchase Long Overdue

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many, many years of using hand me down mowers, I have at the age of 53, just pulled the trigger and finally purchased my first one! Took it out of the box, put in the oil, the gas and it started on the first pull. I pushed the Smart Drive Control and from that point on never let go as I buzzed my entire yard front and back in record time! Better than any Toro or Craftsman mowers I've been using all these years. Very nice machine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+106points
118out of 130found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Self-Propelled Mower Out There

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is simply the best self-propelled mower in its class. The twin blade cutting system blows away the competition. It does everything extremely well and has the renowned Honda quality and reliability to boot. My old Honda HRT lasted 12+ years and was still going strong when I sold it used and replaced it with this new HRR.
I actually really like the new variable drive system on this mower. My cutting time went down about 30% because I can cut faster in the open sections yet still slow down for trimming work around bushes and trees without having to stop and shift gears. You almost have to run behind this mower at maximum speed - it is that fast.
Honda makes several different self-propelled models, but this is the mower that hits the sweet spot balancing price and options. You really don't need anything else. This is the one to get.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Saratoga, Ca

Honda or Toro?

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent hours reading reviews of lawnmowers on this site and others and came down to Honda vs Toro. What finally swung me was the fact that virtually every lawn service in my area (dozens) uses Honda mowers. So I bought the Honda to replace a 20 year old MTD and here's my contribution. To follow up on issues that other reviewers mentioned:
1. Variable speed system. The first time I used it I did a few wheelies, but then I just moved the paddles down a notch and everything went smoothly from then on.
2. Starting/autochoke. Never a problem when cold, starts up easily. Not as easy as my old MTD when warm - that started with the meekest of pulls. The Honda takes a bit more of a pull, but always starts.
3. Bagging. The bag is a little smaller than my old MTD, but it's big enough. I didn't experience the blow-thru of small particles some other have mentioned.
4. Mulching. I haven't tried it, so no comment.
5. Weight. Some said it felt heavy, some said light. I would fall in the light crowd, but that may be because it feels so smooth and maneuverable.
6. Height adjustment. All 4 wheels adjust separately, which could be a pain if I did it all the time. But I rarely change, so no issue for me.
7. Vacuuming. At least one reviewer said it didn't vacuum that well, and I was concerned about that. Doesn't seem to be an issue for me. When I'm done the lawn looks laser-level and there's nothing left behind.
8. Backing up. I have to do a ton of it, and have had no problems so far.
9. Storage. I definitely use the feature that allow you to fold the handle. Makes it pretty compact in the garage.
So to sum up, I'm a fan. I sometimes mow my lawn when it doesn't really need it, just because the Honda is so smooth. I know it's easy to over-think this stuff, but as one guy said, "I needed a lawn mower. This is a lawn mower." I think it's a good one.
+81points
85out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Orlando, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fingers crossed... but it is a Honda

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had spent several days going back and forth between the Honda and the Toro and ultimately decided on buying the Honda. This decision was reached through research, but in the end a neighbor's praise of his Honda mower helped me decide... "Twelve years of constant use and still starts on first pull", he claimed. It is definitely the quietest mower I've ever owned and seems to cut through higher grass easily. My sole complaint so far is that I think it'll take a bit of getting used to the thumb paddles, which engages the drive wheels. Other than that, I'm not sure grass "clipping build-up" in the frame track for the clipping bag, warrants a one star review... Seems like a good, reliable machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Cons: tough on thumbs initially
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Blue Springs, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best mower on the market

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great mower, buy one, you won't be sorry. At 66 years old, easiest to use and cuts great, love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
40out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Northwest Washington State
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You Get What You Pay For!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been reading some of the reviews good and bad and I will put my two cents in.
I have used the HRR and the HRC commercial mowers from Honda for years.
I did lapse and purchased an Orange mower and a Red one,that was a mistake on both accounts.
I mow commercially and I am real picky and cant stand a mower that leaves trails or wont suck up grass and leaves.
I have never had a Honda leave a trail (unless I bent a blade) and the cut has always been smooth.
If you can afford the extra it costs over the others then you'll Get what you paid for in a beautiful lawn.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+120points
155out of 190found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda HRR216VKA Vs Cub Cadet SC500HW

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Greetings,
I’m the type of person who researches and researches and researches before making a purchase. Therefore in my search for a lawn mower I did a lot of, you guessed it, research. Based off many online reviews, top ten lists and Consumer Reports and budget, my search ended up at the Honda HRR2169VKA. I have to say I was impressed at the build quality of this mower. It appeared well built and started on the first pull. However unfortunate, that’s where praises for this mower ended. I had some serious issues with this mower that I just couldn’t ignore. The first being that this lawn mower does not handle well on rough, hilly terrain. It was honestly very uncomfortable to operate, the mower feels heavy, gets bumped/jarred around and induces operator fatigue. I was worn out after mowing. The Smart Drive did not help in any way. It was very touchy and cumbersome to regulate, especially going over bumps or hills, having to constantly adjust the pressure I was putting on the paddle lever to control my speed. Not enough pressure and the mower wouldn’t move, too much and I was running behind the mower and the bumps. I could see how someone could be able to live with the touchy handling of the mower on a flat even surface. However, something that I could not live with is the cut quality. There is something terribly wrong here. This mower would leave random uncut strips of grass all over the yard and it would leave clumps of grass in the wheel tracks. I would have to go over many areas again. I’ve tried all kinds of mowing patterns, heights, Bagging vs Mulching vs Discharge, etc. I even went so far as to take the mower back and exchanged it for the same model but the cut quality was no better on the second unit. This is unacceptable, entry level or not this mower is $400, that’s a lot of money for a residential mower. I’ve owned a few cheaper mowers in my days (Toro, Troy Bilt, etc.) and they would all at least cut competently. Besides the build quality and the reliable Honda motor there wasn’t much for me to like here. I’m just not understanding how this was rated a consumer reports best buy especially with the way this mower cuts?
So, another round of research. This time based off online reviews I stumbled across a Cub Cadet SC500HW, lots of satisfied owners but not a favorable Consumer Reports review based off quality. I was skeptical, but noticed that Consumer Reports had an older model pictured on their review. So I decided to take a chance. Because this model is not readily available in stores I had to order online. When I received the mower I was a bit skeptical as well, the packaging wasn’t as fancy as Honda’s and there seemed to be a bit more plastic on it. The build quality appears solid overall though, perhaps maybe a notch below the Honda but definitely above industry standard. The wheels are industrial tread with ball bearings, and the height adjustment is effortless. When assembled it feels sturdy and when running there aren’t any objectionable vibrations. When I started it up (on the first pull), the engine sounded smooth and strong. This mower glides across the terrain effortlessly with minimal effort. The self propel functionality is executed very well here. There is a soft touch handle you hold onto and as you walk forward you put force on the handle and it moves forward, the faster you walk the more force you put on the handle and the faster the mower goes. It feels transparent, the self propel doesn’t get in the way, you don’t have to concentrate on it, it just feels like whatever speed you are walking at the mower tags along with you. There’s no jerking or feedback from the transmission, It’s as if the mower is weightless. The mower handles the hills and terrain with aplomb. There’s no bumps or jarring, just smooth and effortless. Most importantly, the mower just cuts well, really well. It mulches grass into fine pieces and sucks up anything in its path. The grass is cut nice and even and there aren’t any clumps or uncut strips of grass left behind. I’m also impressed with the Deck Wash system. After my mowing I had a few strips of caked on grass under the deck. I attached the hose, fired up the engine and let run for 2 mins. Detached hose let run for another 2 minutes and the caked on grass was completely gone and undercarriage was dry. If this holds up over the years with regular maintenance then Cub Cadet has a real winner here in my book.
Pros: Sturdy, Great Engine
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 59 >>