728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Overall rating:
4.447 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(761 reviews) 761
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product641 of 728reviews
Rating Breakdown 761 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(547)
4
(117)
3
(29)
2
(26)
1
(42)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product641 of 728reviews
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 571 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Review 1 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best quality money can buy.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn mower was easy to use right out of the box. The only assembly required was the grass catcher. Once assembled, it took just one simple pull of the cord and the honda mower started. The mower cuts with precision. The only initial draw back was the dirt that this mower was kicking around. One simple adjustment of the height and the problem was resolved. Overall I would say that this is the most user friendly mower I've ever purchased.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+62points
65out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Parma, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Purchase Long Overdue

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many, many years of using hand me down mowers, I have at the age of 53, just pulled the trigger and finally purchased my first one! Took it out of the box, put in the oil, the gas and it started on the first pull. I pushed the Smart Drive Control and from that point on never let go as I buzzed my entire yard front and back in record time! Better than any Toro or Craftsman mowers I've been using all these years. Very nice machine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
75out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from North Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy Honda! You won't regret it!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been in the market for a new mower for the past couple of years, I looked at all brands and finally settled on the Honda. From all of the reviews I've read, the Honda motors are second to none and are very reliable compared to Briggs & Stratton, Kohler, etc.
I got this mower home, unboxed it, added the supplied oil, and gassed it up all within 2 minutes. Pulled the string and it started on the first pull. No priming, no choke, just pull the string and go.
The features, aside from the motor, that sold me on this mower were the variable speed Smart Drive, the twin blade cutting system, and the Clip Director that allows you to switch between bagging and mulching within seconds and with no extra parts. The Smart Drive is awesome, it goes pretty fast when you push it all the way down, much better than my old, single speed, mower that felt like I was pushing it more than it was propelling itself.
Pros: Honda Motor, Smart Drive RWD, Clip Director, plenty of power, 3 year warranty (actually mine was extended to 4 years because I bought it during a promotional period), very lightweight, Twin Blades cut up the grass into very small pieces, priced right for a mower of this quality.
Cons: None so far
I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone looking for something of excellent quality and reputation that has nice features at a good price point.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+87points
109out of 131found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Blue Springs, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best mower on the market

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great mower, buy one, you won't be sorry. At 66 years old, easiest to use and cuts great, love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Palatka Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Think Twice --Buy with Caution

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower 15 months ago and it gave good service until the last two times I used it. At first there was an intermittent problem with pulling the mower backwards, the back wheels would lock up or would only turn with great difficulty. This problem continued to get worse and worse the more I used it. The mower eventually became unusable. I called Honda Power and they recommended two of their authorized service locations. Long story short, the mower has been at the service center 5 days now and after saying it was fixed it turns out they just did some other things that didn't even need doing. After I paid them a visit they finally realized what the problem was but don't seem to have a clue as to how to fix it. After this visit I came home and did some homework on the internet about this particular Honda Mower (HRR216VKA) and it turns out that the locking up of the rear (drive) wheels is a fairly common problem with the SmartDrive and is very difficult to get repaired. After reading about 20 horror stories where people go to multiple Authorized Service Centers and just can't seem to ever get their mower fixed I have about decided that if mine is not repaired on the first try i'm going to strip all the self-propelled equip off of it to reduce weight and use it as a push mower. I can assure you that I WOULD NOT BUY THIS MOWER AGAIN. I only wish I had done better research before spending so much money for a product that has well documented problems with the self-propelled mechanism. I hope this information will help you make a good decision, DO YOUR RESEARCH..
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Great Engine
Cons: back wheels lock up, difficult to get repaired, too complicated
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Northwest Washington State
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You Get What You Pay For!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been reading some of the reviews good and bad and I will put my two cents in.
I have used the HRR and the HRC commercial mowers from Honda for years.
I did lapse and purchased an Orange mower and a Red one,that was a mistake on both accounts.
I mow commercially and I am real picky and cant stand a mower that leaves trails or wont suck up grass and leaves.
I have never had a Honda leave a trail (unless I bent a blade) and the cut has always been smooth.
If you can afford the extra it costs over the others then you'll Get what you paid for in a beautiful lawn.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+98points
126out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Self-Propelled Mower Out There

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is simply the best self-propelled mower in its class. The twin blade cutting system blows away the competition. It does everything extremely well and has the renowned Honda quality and reliability to boot. My old Honda HRT lasted 12+ years and was still going strong when I sold it used and replaced it with this new HRR.
I actually really like the new variable drive system on this mower. My cutting time went down about 30% because I can cut faster in the open sections yet still slow down for trimming work around bushes and trees without having to stop and shift gears. You almost have to run behind this mower at maximum speed - it is that fast.
Honda makes several different self-propelled models, but this is the mower that hits the sweet spot balancing price and options. You really don't need anything else. This is the one to get.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Bangor, Me.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont Buy this mower!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dont buy this model. I purchased this model on May 28, 2014, used it aproximately 7-8 times to mow my lawn and on September 8, 2014 the mower no longer is self-propelled.... Of course I purchased the 3 year protection plan only to learn Home Depot will do nothing to assist me. I'm on my own to try and find a dealer who will honor Honda's 1 year warrantee. My advice is stay away from this product!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good machine& engine but wheels not level

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy set up out of the box, starts right up. One problem, when I first started mowing and this machine is FAST, I noticed at times the front right wheel wasn't turning, it was about an 1/8 or 1/4 inch different height (higher) than the other 3. So I put that wheel setting one notch different setting and seems ok, BUT not sure if I want to keep it that way, you would think Honda wouldn't have a problem like that. 30 day return no questions at Home Depot (bought in online) so I just might return it for another one, hopefully all 4 wheels level, lol. Anyone else have this problem?
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: front right wheel unlevel
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

it was ok

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First of all I am using this mower commercially. It was great. Started so easily and ran well. The self propelled is very nice and I like the smart drive control. It cut the grass nicely by when mulching it would deposit grass in front of the left rear wheel. The. The wheel would mat it down and leave streaks. There is another review that says the same thing titled one fatal flaw with pictures. I loved all aspects of this mower except for this so I upgraded to the hrx. I returned this one. Kudos to Home Depot for their amazing return policy. Like I said I used it commercially but they just took it. No questions asked. The hrx does not do this. I am keeping that one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Cadillac of my yard.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this about a month ago to replace an old Toro and couldn't be anymore happier. A friend who works on small engines suggested spending a little more for this mower and wow! what a difference. Took it out of the box, uprighted the handle, oil & gas and then one pull to start! amazing. For the price I would highly recommend this mower you can't go wrong.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bookmark this review

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this mower new from HD two months ago. Have since used it about a dozen times or so. I'm a small engine mechanic. I do repairs and modifications to 4 stroke ohv engines, specifically honda. My lot size is about 1/6 of an acre.
You must be thinking what's up with my rating. You've read the reviews good, and bad, pros and cons.
Smooth cuts, good power, easy starts, excellent drive action. I agree with everything that's been said along these lines, it's a honda.
Horrible cuts, underpowered, auto JOKE, sore thumbs, mulching fatalities ( I loved that one). This is true of any mower pushed beyond it's limits or when used when not using the best technique. This particular honda is high maintenance and really doesn't show it's true colors unless it has a healthy, well cared after lawn to mow.
If you try to mulch what looks like 6" grass with the height set at 3.5" you're pushing it and that's why you see reviews (pictures of clumps of grass). The other reason is the grass might be too moist. IF the grass appears to be 6", it is actually closer to 7" because the weight of the mower will cause it to sink a little.
If the mower cut is missing and leaving a line of uncut grass, that is usually dull blades or it could be running in a rut. Instead of an up and down cut, it may need a side to side cut also. Just remember no two mowers are alike and even though we had mowers in the past that might not have had any cutting issues, this honda mower really has a cut of its own.
While many reviews complain about sore thumbs or erratic drive action, it really is about as simple and imo smooth as it can get. However, this is when using your palms and not your thumbs. If you use only your thumbs and it doesn't get worn out, I'd be very surprised.
Other reviews have mentioned about wheels appearing to not be level and sometimes would float making it seem like the deck is crooked and not level. This is because the wheels don't have bearings, it is a bushing. I don't like it personally because it should freewheel all by itself. It shouldn't need to be greased but that's what it takes.
I would not have bought this mower if I didn't know what I was getting into. The engine (honda) has a reputation on it's own. It's proven in just about every outdoor power equipment use from here to there. The frame/ cut works as advertised. My rating (and why you should have this review bookmarked) is because of the autochoke.
Out of the box, everything works great. What eventually happens is the autochoke won't open as it should, the spark plug will foul, the engine will sputter, and eventually if you keep trying to turn the engine over you will end up needing a new coil.
The autochoke is automatically set on choke. When the engine fires up there is a valve that opens the choke which is held closed by springs. When the springs get dirty or the valve to choke connection doesn't work as it should the choke will not open and the motor will sputter, cough, and spew out black smoke. These are the signs that the auto choke is not functioning correctly. For some, I can imagine if I was not a mechanic this would include me, the auto choke would be too cumbersome to deal with. After all, this is not a cheapo mower.
It's a simple extra few maintenance steps when the autochoke starts to act like an autojoke. You'll have to wirebrush the sparkplug, and clean the carburetor linkage. This is the basis of my ratings and a heads up, that if you do not recognize the autochoke as part of your maintenance program it will not only cause the engine to sputter but also if you continue to try to run it as such it will create other issues like excessive carbon build up and as previously mentioned, coil failure.
In short, regarding this honda, It's a good mower, works as advertised. It's more maintenance than others, instead of just oil and air filter changes it really needs to be kept clean. (Not my first choice if you are considering this for all out commercial use in rain, high frequency wet or tall grass) unless you are willing to put in the extra few steps. For residential use up to 1/4 acre I would recommend. Beyond 1/4 acre I would only recommend if you don't mind staying on top of the maintenance at closer intervals.
Photo attached.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, good engine
Cons: auto choke
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+330points
383out of 436found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda HRR216VKA - Great Mower

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased my Honda HRR2168VKA mower last year in August, initial set up out of the box was very easy. Added the oil, put in fresh gas and clipped the bag to the frame and put it on. It started on the first pull and it has done so ever since, it never has any problem with cutting thick grass it has more than enough power. The engine has a lot of torque to it, the OHV and OHC saves a lot of fuel compared to my old flat head mower. The deck and handle are very well balanced and sturdy feeling, the Honda Smart Drive system is nice to use and very simple. Just push down and off the mower goes. I changed the oil after the first 5 hour break in period and still change it regularly and it never misses a beat, just keep the gas fresh and change the oil and it will last forever. I would definitely recommend one of these mowers, I previously had one for over 10 years and had to sell it due to certain problems after all the use. It's a very durable mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting, ohc and ohv, rust resistant deck, large bag, heavy duty self propel system
Cons: no oil drain plug, not enough cons to outweigh the pros
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My favorate Honda

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Another great Honda product. I have had many sense they came to America and never one complaint.
When is comes to motors Honda really is the best.!!!!!!
It started with the very first pull. It never pulls down in a heavy grass load. It mulches the best I ever saw. I wish my riding unit did as well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Wyoming
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating mower!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower as a backup mower for more expensive Honda, which I've never had problems with. The first time I started this mower, the automatic choke would not shut off for several minutes. The motor ran roughly and spewed black smoke for those few minutes until the choke shut off and the engine sped up. I thought this was just because it was the first time it ran, but it continued to do it on all cold starts. I returned to HD with no problem and got a refund. I decided to buy the same mower at the local Honda dealership so if I had the same problem they could at least fix it. Unfortunately, I had the same problem with their mower, too. I took it to their repair shop so they could replace the automatic choke. After picking it up and taking it back a couple times, they replaced the carburetor. Even with that, the mower still starts the same way when it is cold. I intend to take it back again for a refund and buy a Toro instead. Unless you have a lot of patience to wait for this mower to warm up, don't waste your money on it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, poor engine quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Prattville, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought one of these years ago!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I can say is wow! Had a decent competitor brand variable speed self-propelled lawn mower before, and while its Briggs and Stratton engine ran very good, it was difficult to push and I could never adjust the speed mechanism to go fast enough for my walking pace. Decided to do some research, narrowed my choices down to two, and headed down to the Home Depot to compare this Honda against the comparable "red brand" model. Asked the salesman his opinion, and without hesitation he recommended the Honda hands down over the other mower (same price for both). I was wondering about the butterfly throttle control, and he said it was great but if I didn't like the mower for any reason, I could use it as much as I wanted and still bring it back within 30 days for a full refund. So I decided to give the Honda a try, and am glad I did! What a difference from my old mower! After removing it from the box, putting oil in and filling it with gas, it started on the first pull. And even though the butterfly throttle has a different feel than my old mower's squeeze-type throttle on the handle, it only took about 15 seconds of use before I figured it out - it is very ergonomical and intuitive, and is surprisingly comfortable to use. Also, it has more than enough power, goes as fast or slow as I want it to, and the dual blades do an amazing job - which you may not notice at first...until you go to empty the catcher for the first time and the smaller size of the finely-chopped and double-sliced grass clippings easily spill out without any undue hassle or extra shaking. Lastly, the rear wheel drive is also fantastic, and the weight/balance is slightly rearward which helps it to make sharp turns very easily. But it does have LOTS of power, so just like driving a fast car, be careful about slamming the throttle down too fast or it will REALLY take off - just apply steady pressure down on the throttle like you would do in your car after a stop sign, and no problems at all. All in all, I couldn't be happier...unless of course I would have decided to buy this mower years ago...never imagined it would be so much easier to mow my lawn. Great job Honda!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+82points
90out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Coupeville, WA 98239, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is well built and cuts great

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Honda makes a solid machine. When cold it starts on the first pull. When warm if you shut it off to move something and try ans start it right away it takes 2-4 pulls. The mower is a bit heavy so going backwards with no power sometimes takes some effort. The thumb activated speed control is a bit jerky which makes it difficult to control the speed. The mower does do a great job of cutting the grass and even with taller grass you don't need to bag it as it mulches well with the dual blades. Price was ok and we got another $50 off by opening a Homedepot account.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: Too Heavy, hard starting when warm, speed control jerky
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Works great.

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Removed it from the box, pulled off the packing materials, filled with the provided oil, filled it up with gas, and it started on the first pull. It did a great job on my hybrid Bermuda grass. I have seen some reviews indicating that the speed control is difficult to get used to, but the mower I received did not have any of these issues, and it worked flawlessly without any adjustment. The handle is also very comfortable to hold. I found no issues with it over my bumpy 2300 square foot backyard lawn. I found it to be quieter than my previous mowers as well. One note for those who are planning to pick it up at the store without a truck, the shipping box is 44” long, 24” wide, and 20” high. I had no problem throwing it in the hatchback of my Civic. Time will tell on its durability, but it appears to be well built, and I have had very good luck with various Honda products over the years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, it's a honda
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+70points
83out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made, quality machine.

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only owned it a short time. Wanted a self propelled (variable speed) mower. Dozen uses so far, but very impressed. Sturdy and well made and should provide years of service. As a result, a bit heavy, but fortunately, it does most of the work. Bags and mulches very well. Has started on first pull nearly every time. Cuts evenly and performs better than any mower I have used over the last 30+ years.
For those with a really demanding yard, go with the 190cc engine, otherwise the 160cc is quite adequate, IMO.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, easy clean up
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Self-Propelled Just Quit

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased this product and when I got home it was ready to use in 15 minutes so the ease of setup was great. The adjustable height on the self-propelled was nice as I could raise it higher and actually use the sides of my palms instead of my thumbs to control the speed which worked well when hitting bumps in the yard. It started right up on the first pull every time.
My complaint with this mower is the 2nd time using it the self-propelled feature just stopped. It didn't even happen between stopping and starting, it happened when I was mid-walk. I didn't hit anything or do an unusual maneuver with it as my fist thought was something came loose internally. I read about online to see if there was a simple fix I could do myself, however none of them worked. I had to return it to the store after 2 weeks. I am considering giving it another chance, but still reviewing other options before committing again. I might have just gotten the bad one out of 100 from reading other reviews, but still frustrating and is giving me 2nd thoughts about Honda mowers.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, where did the self-propelled go?
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 39 >>