728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control

Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control

This automatic candelabra lighting control turns an on at dusk and off at dawn. It's compatible with incandescent bulbs, LED & CFL bulbs. Use it indoors or outdoors with rain-tight light fixtures
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
Review 1 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Acts like a strobe light when used with an LED bulb

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product picture does not look like the part I received. The part I received has one side showing a printed circuit board. It looks like the plastic cover is missing. Was I shipped a used or returned part? When used with an LED bulb the dusk to dawn turns off the bulb every 3 seconds providing a strobe light effect. Made in China part claims to work with LED bulbs.
Pros: Compact
Cons: strobe light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportSeptember 24, 2014By Tech SupportSeptember 24, 2014
BufordTJustice You should not be able to see the circuit board at all. If the photo sensor is turned toward a wall where the light can reflect off the wall and onto the sensor this can cause the light to flash. It could also be that its defective because part of the cover is gone.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 2 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Crystal, Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product worked as advertised!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product cost was more than expected, but I wanted one for led bulb use. It works perfectly, so am happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Pontiac, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flickers if you use a fluorescent light bulb

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put it in my outside side garage light that has a fluorescent bulb. It flickered and looks like a strobe light and drives you crazy. The eye/sensor was facing the garage when I screwed it in and that caused it to think it was dark and the light came on way too early. The excessive length caused the bulb to hang down really far below the fixture and looks ridiculous! I switched to a smaller halogen bulb, but still hangs down too far and still looks ridiculous below the fixture. I decided to purchase an expensive LED, which is a lot smaller bulb and it would not turn on at all! Using a halogen bulb is really expensive and defeats the purpose of saving money. Did no one ever think to test it with several types of bulbs? Back to the drawing board!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: flickers non-stop
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014
MissNancy, sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with this product. This product was tested with many types of bulbs, that is why the packaging says that it works with Incandescent, LED, and CFL bulbs, all of these types of bulbs have been tested with it. Unfortunately there isn’t enough detail in your review to know what might have been going on to cause these issues. If you would like to discuss it further I would recommend that you call into technical support.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Response from By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014
MissNancy, sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with this product. This product was tested with many types of bulbs, that is why the packaging says that it works with Incandescent, LED, and CFL bulbs, all of these types of bulbs have been tested with it. Unfortunately there isn’t enough detail in your review to know what might have been going on to cause these issues. If you would like to discuss it further I would recommend that you call into technical support.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 4 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Elmhurst, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a product I am hoping for

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is better than other lower end dusk-to-dawn lighting control products; however, it is still blinking every few seconds when the light is on. I plan to return the product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: blinking ever few seconds, little pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportSeptember 8, 2014By Tech SupportSeptember 8, 2014
JSL501 if the sensor is facing a light source then this can cause the light to flash because the photo sensor will see the light and turn the light off and then the sensor will see that it’s dark and will turn the light back on. This happens a lot if headlights from cars hit the sensor.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 5 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these and put them in the outside light fixtures on either side of the front door. They went in easily and have worked like a charm. The lights come on at dusk and off at dawn and I no longer worry if someone has left them on all day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from KC MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't work

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
installed them and they don't work as advertised. Lights flickered all night. for the money I'll buy a whole new motion light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportAugust 13, 2014By Tech SupportAugust 13, 2014
LVchief, sorry to hear that the light was flickering all night for you. If any light hits the photo sensor it can cause it to think that it is morning and turn the light off. As soon as the light is gone the devices will register that it is night time and turn the light back on. The external light source can be anything from cars driving by to street lights that are behind trees so that there isn’t a constant light source on the fixture. The best way to correct this is to turn the product that it is facing away from any possible light source. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 7 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Bloomington, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, but not the least expensive

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product works well, however, it may take several physical adjustments of the "light pipe" shroud. The hole diameter on the light pipe can be drilled bigger to fine-tune the sensor so that it doesn't stay on too long in the daytime or go on too early in the night time. These aren't the most economical devices, but they seem to be built well and they work good. They work well with LED bulbs too, which will save you some money in the long run.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These dusk-to-dawn light controls did not work in my outside fixture. I installed them with LED bulbs. Would not come on. This specific product was more expensive than others out there. I shipped them back the next day.
Cons: did not work.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Steven Forde
Gender:Male

2/3 of them work properly

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We now have six of these around the house. Four of them work just fine (once I chopped down the tubes shielding the sensor--otherwise they stay on till noon). The other two blink on and off all night. Given the few selections available for compact units like this, and their relative cheapness, I rate them "fair."
Pros: Compact
Cons: fails 33% of the time, requires modification to work properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control

Works as advertised - simple to use

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recommend the GE's automatic dusk to dawn lighting control. The GE automatic dusk to dawn lighting control is a few bucks more than its competitors, but it is worth it. It works. No problems. This is a simple concept, but the less expense lighting controls did not always work properly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Castle Rock, CO

Some Worked, Others Didn't

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These adapters are a great idea, but don't work reliably. Four of them never registered the daylight and never turned off. Others would never turn on. I sent them back for a return and installed a programmable light switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Whitehall, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stays on longer than it should

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works OK. However, it tends to stay on longer than it should, well past dawn. At times, it is necessary to turn the light off at the switch during partly cloudy days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from Anderson, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use and have piece of mind.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent way to have lights on in your absence and letting someone think your residence is occupied. Any deterrent to keep my home safe is an excellent investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not fit my fixture

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Unfortunately when I put the lighting control in my outside light and then added the bulb it was too high to put the top back on the fixture. I had to return the item to the store. I shared with my sister whose light bulb screws in from the bottom and it is working wonderfully for her.
Pros: Easy Installation
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.