728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control

Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control

This automatic candelabra lighting control turns an on at dusk and off at dawn. It's compatible with incandescent bulbs, LED & CFL bulbs. Use it indoors or outdoors with rain-tight light fixtures
Overall rating:
3.222 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
Review 1 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
FastEd
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonderfully

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these and put them in the outside light fixtures on either side of the front door. They went in easily and have worked like a charm. The lights come on at dusk and off at dawn and I no longer worry if someone has left them on all day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
lightguy
from Bloomington, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, but not the least expensive

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product works well, however, it may take several physical adjustments of the "light pipe" shroud. The hole diameter on the light pipe can be drilled bigger to fine-tune the sensor so that it doesn't stay on too long in the daytime or go on too early in the night time. These aren't the most economical devices, but they seem to be built well and they work good. They work well with LED bulbs too, which will save you some money in the long run.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
Pickycamper
from Steven Forde
Gender:Male

2/3 of them work properly

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We now have six of these around the house. Four of them work just fine (once I chopped down the tubes shielding the sensor--otherwise they stay on till noon). The other two blink on and off all night. Given the few selections available for compact units like this, and their relative cheapness, I rate them "fair."
Pros: Compact
Cons: fails 33% of the time, requires modification to work properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
PirateFan52
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These dusk-to-dawn light controls did not work in my outside fixture. I installed them with LED bulbs. Would not come on. This specific product was more expensive than others out there. I shipped them back the next day.
Cons: did not work.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
ErinnD
from Castle Rock, CO

Some Worked, Others Didn't

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These adapters are a great idea, but don't work reliably. Four of them never registered the daylight and never turned off. Others would never turn on. I sent them back for a return and installed a programmable light switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
MaryK
from Anderson, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use and have piece of mind.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent way to have lights on in your absence and letting someone think your residence is occupied. Any deterrent to keep my home safe is an excellent investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
hughrexx

Works as advertised - simple to use

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recommend the GE's automatic dusk to dawn lighting control. The GE automatic dusk to dawn lighting control is a few bucks more than its competitors, but it is worth it. It works. No problems. This is a simple concept, but the less expense lighting controls did not always work properly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
TMS4657
from Whitehall, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stays on longer than it should

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works OK. However, it tends to stay on longer than it should, well past dawn. At times, it is necessary to turn the light off at the switch during partly cloudy days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Automatic Dusk to Dawn Lighting Control
npsa2
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not fit my fixture

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Unfortunately when I put the lighting control in my outside light and then added the bulb it was too high to put the top back on the fixture. I had to return the item to the store. I shared with my sister whose light bulb screws in from the bottom and it is working wonderfully for her.
Pros: Easy Installation
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.