728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop AV Cables & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Banana Plugs

Banana Plugs

Use banana plugs to create high-quality speaker wire connections. Simple design takes only seconds to attach to speaker wire. These banana plugs offer gold-plated construction.
Overall rating:
1.97 / 5
2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
19%of customersrecommend this product6 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
19%of customersrecommend this product6 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Banana Plugs
Review 1 for Banana Plugs
from Elmira, Or.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Speaker Banana Plugs

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These plugs seem to do the job just fine! 14ga wire was a bit of a tough fit however.
Pros: Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Banana Plugs
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

decent quality but horrible product support

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the plugs feel like decent quality for the price and fit perfect in the speaker port. But, this product has zero product support, instructions or suggestions. Normally not an issue, it just shows they dont care. Plus, the one locking screw is poor and wouldnt secure my 18 gauge wire at all. The website doesnt even say you get 10 plugs! FIX...to secure your wire , strip 1/4 inch of wire and bend the copper wire backward (see pic) this will allow the screw to catch the plastic shielding and lock the wire. Minus 3 stars for screw and product support
Pros: Stylish, secure fit
Cons: No Instructions, poor lock screw
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Banana Plugs
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only a buck each, what did you expect?

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are inexpensive connectors, near the bottom of the line. The price per unit reflects that quality. Still, they can do the job if you know how to use them. First of all, do not strip the wire ends if you plan to use the set screws. The screws can push through the insulation just fine unless you are using something like Teflon-insulated wire. Make sure to tighten the screws as much as possible to make sure you have firm contact with the wire. If you want a more secure connection, strip the ends and use solder, but use only enough to do the job and solder on the side away from the screw hole. Don't fill the "pot" with solder or you probably won't be able to use the screw to fix the insulating sleeve in place. I doubt that any of these methods will "provide a more reliable connection" than bare wires, as stated on the package, since the main connection is still a pressure fit.
The core metal in these is steel, not copper, so they will rust quickly despite the "gold" plating.
The extra holes in the connector make it easy to "stack" these if you are using more than one on a socket.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive, stackable
Cons: will rust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Banana Plugs
from chicago
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Right product excellent value

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would purchase these again! Had serious problem in getting help at store for my selection.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Banana Plugs
from Simpsonville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These have to be some of the worse plugs I've ever purchased. If I can keep one person from buying these, it will be worth it.
Cons: poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Banana Plugs
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Banana plug fix

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the same issue as other reviewers. To fix the plugs so they work better, I secured it in a vise and backed the screw out so it did not protrude into the center cavity. Then using 1/8" drill bit I drilled the remaining metal out (all the way through). Stripped the wire about 1/4" and feed it into the newly drilled hole. I then tighten the screw into the wire and it worked great. Gave it a good tug and it stayed firmly in place.
Kind of pain to have to go this trouble to get these to work, but my assessment is that the cavity as it is provided from the factory is just too shallow to get good firm grip of the wire.
Pros: price
Cons: poor design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Banana Plugs
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Poor quality.

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plugs vary in how well they hold when you plug them in. Some give you a nice solid fit, while others will come out if you give the wire a slight pull. The plastic barrel over the plug will fall off if you remove the screw. The screw presses directly on the wire. This can be a problem with fine strand wire, as only part of the wire will be under the screw. You can end up with less then half the strands making contact.
Over all, the plugs have a cheap look and feel to them. It is a good thing they will be hidden when using them to attach speaker wire. I would not recommend them for use with test equipment or power supplies.
Cons: poor construction quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Banana Plugs

Worthless, unless...

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are essentially worthless, until you drill out the central cavity to permit more than 1-2 mm of wire to be secured. It's a shame, HD used to sell well-designed banana plugs that didn't need any adjustment.
Cons: worthless
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Banana Plugs
from Lemon Grove, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Banana Plugs

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed banana plugs for my old garage stereo. I had some old ones and wanted some newer ones. Tried these and they required a little bit of work to get them to sit where you needed them. I had to use pliers to slide the sleeve down on the speaker wire and smushed the metal contacts. I had to use a tiny flat head screw driver to pry them back open. The speaker connectors on the stereo wouldn't screw down on the flattened contacts. Other than that, they did what they were ment to do. I guess if I wanted gold tipped contacts, I could have ordered them and waited 7-10 days and paid more than twice the price but my garage stereo system needed something right now. Projects wait for no man.
Pros: adequate
Cons: light weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Banana Plugs
from Traverse City Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worst item in the whole store!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Besides this item having no instructions it wasn't compatible with the gauge speaker wire it states it is rated for and just over-all "cheap feel". Worst purchase ever from Home Depot and that says a lot after the tens of thousands of dollars I've dropped there! Run from this product!
Cons: Complicated
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Banana Plugs
from Rockville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor design; doesn't work on 18 gauge wire!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No instructions & waste of money! Package is misleading. This will not work for 18 gauge, despite packaging.
Pros: red and black color coding
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Banana Plugs
from Ashburn, VA, USA

Poor design, and no instructions

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have mentioned, this product has no instructions, so thankfully others have provided their instructions for how to use the product so I could get some value out of it.
Even with the instructions, the very small reservoir make it difficult for the very small screw to "catch" the wire. I spent a lot of time on multiple re-tries trying to get the wire to catch after turning the screw. And often times, I would end up dropping the very small screw and would have trouble finding it, leaving that particular plug worthless.
Very poor product. Do not buy this -- you can get better quality for the same money elsewhere.
Cons: poor design, No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Banana Plugs
from Westfield, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Extremely Poor Design

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought banana plugs from Home Depot before, and was satisfied. However the banana plugs were from a different manufacturer.
These CE Tech plugs are very poorly designed. There is only one screw to hold onto the wire. (The other product had two.) The plug will only accept about 1/16th of an inch length of wire - not enough to get a firm grip on.
Bottom line do not buy these plugs - go to Radio Shack or Lowes.
Pros: none
Cons: useless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Banana Plugs
from Allen, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just spend more money and buy quality banana plugs and speaker wire

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seriously, if you have to spend time drilling holes or some such to make these work, then it's not worth it. I screwed the terminals straight through the speaker cable insulation (not the best connection) and pray that it works OK. I'm an audiophile that has been relegated to budget audio--cheap components and cheap cables/wire/terminals. It's a sad life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Banana Plugs
from Blanco, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to use

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These connectors were very hard to connect wire to. They have large recesses to put the wire in and small screws to hold the wire, all inside the plastic insulator. This made it just really hard to get the wire the stay in place under the screw while it was tightened. Once I finally got the wire attached they held it well, went into the connection well and seemed sturdy. In the past I have used some that soldered on, I think I'll go back to those.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: difficult to attach wire to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Banana Plugs

Does not hold wire securely

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a good design. The major flaw is that the wire bottoms out barely 1/16" past the set screw, making it all too easy for the wire to pull out at the slightest tug. I used 16 gauge stranded wire, which is right in the middle of the manufacturer's recommendation of 14 to 18.
I did discover one interesting feature quite by accident (as instructions were non-existent). There is a hole that goes all the way through the grip, and is the right size to accept another banana plug. Let's say that you have limited space behind your speaker or receiver -- not enough to accommodate a regular-sized banana plug. Terminate your wire into the higher quality banana plug, Then, plug that into this product, and plug this product into your receiver or speaker. This allows you to make a right angle turn coming out of the component, and saves over an inch of space behind it.
Other than that, I would pass on this product.
Pros: small
Cons: No Instructions, does not grip wire securely
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Banana Plugs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT buy this product. Deserves no stars.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The inside cavity is not deep enough to hold the wire -- keeps slipping out of the screw clamp. Waste of money. Bad product and should not be sold by Home Depot.
Cons: poorly engineered
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Banana Plugs
from Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Workable, but there are better ones

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought better quality setscrew banana plugs on-line and got more plugs for the same price. But I came up short and bought these from Home Depot to complete my setup.
As another customer noted, no directions are included. Most of us don't do this every day, so detailed instructions from the manufacturer really are essential. I used CETech 16 gauge speaker wire, also from Home Depot. The screw wouldn't hold the bare wire, but if I folded the wire back over the insulation it was too thick to fit into the tube under the screw. What worked for me was to strip 3/8" or so, twist the bare wire, then fold it in half. Then the bare wire would slide into the tube with a tight fit, and when I tightened the screw it seemed pretty secure.
There is an extra hole through the diameter of the plug. I'm not sure what it's meant for but it could be used to tap into the line for another speaker (an unusual usage), or a tool like a mini screwdriver could be inserted to pull out a stuck plug without ruining the plastic sleeve.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Cons: no directions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Banana Plugs
from Lone Tree, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than it first appears

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased banana plugs and was baffled on how to install. I came to this site for more information on how to install and was, at first, dismayed when I read other reviews. I really wanted to complete my project, so I persevered and found a way to make them work - quite simply. First prepare wire by stripping about a 1/4 inch of insulation off. Next bend bare wire completely back on itself. Prepare banana plug by loosening screw. I found this was easiest done by looking down the hollow shaft as I unscrewed small screw on the side until it was no longer visible inside the plug. Screw is quite small and is hard to rethread in hole if it comes all the way out, so it is easier to loosen and avoid removing. Next I held up the wire next to plug and visually marked how far the wire had to be inserted to be engaged slightly past the screw. I grasped the wire at this point and shoved into hollow center of plug, making sure that wire was pushed in to the visual mark at my fingertip. This is harder to do with thicker wire. I found that twisting wire into hole was helpful. Once wire is inserted, keep pressure on wire while you tighten screw on side. Tighten this as tight as you can. Check connection by giving a little tug on the wire. After I was done, I concluded that someone thought the process was to simple to bother writing instructions for. Although it is simple, it is not intuitive.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Banana Plugs
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive. Not high end, but quite functional for the money

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Maybe it's just me...
You take your wire, strip as much as you need depending on the wire gauge (about 3/8 inch for 14, longer for smaller). For a smaller gauge, you wrap it into a small 3/8 inch oval until you have a cylinder that is about the size of a 16 gauge wire. You then tin the wire with solder, let it cool, push it in, and tighten the screw. It's just not that difficult.
I use them with 14 gauge speaker wire with mediocre speakers in a cheap stereo and with 24 gauge jumpers on my experimenter's breadboard. They work fine. It's a bonus that they have the hole for chaining (really useful on the breadboard; useless in the stereo world).
Would I use these in a high end audio system? Of course not. Then again, they're not $20 per connector.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>