728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop AV Cables & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Banana Plugs

Banana Plugs

Use banana plugs to create high-quality speaker wire connections. Simple design takes only seconds to attach to speaker wire. These banana plugs offer gold-plated construction.
Overall rating:
1.809 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
15%of customersrecommend this product3 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
1.8 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
15%of customersrecommend this product3 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Banana Plugs
Review 1 for Banana Plugs
nostradamus3
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

decent quality but horrible product support

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the plugs feel like decent quality for the price and fit perfect in the speaker port. But, this product has zero product support, instructions or suggestions. Normally not an issue, it just shows they dont care. Plus, the one locking screw is poor and wouldnt secure my 18 gauge wire at all. The website doesnt even say you get 10 plugs! FIX...to secure your wire , strip 1/4 inch of wire and bend the copper wire backward (see pic) this will allow the screw to catch the plastic shielding and lock the wire. Minus 3 stars for screw and product support
Pros: Stylish, secure fit
Cons: No Instructions, poor lock screw
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Banana Plugs
GaryDoug
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only a buck each, what did you expect?

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are inexpensive connectors, near the bottom of the line. The price per unit reflects that quality. Still, they can do the job if you know how to use them. First of all, do not strip the wire ends if you plan to use the set screws. The screws can push through the insulation just fine unless you are using something like Teflon-insulated wire. Make sure to tighten the screws as much as possible to make sure you have firm contact with the wire. If you want a more secure connection, strip the ends and use solder, but use only enough to do the job and solder on the side away from the screw hole. Don't fill the "pot" with solder or you probably won't be able to use the screw to fix the insulating sleeve in place. I doubt that any of these methods will "provide a more reliable connection" than bare wires, as stated on the package, since the main connection is still a pressure fit.
The core metal in these is steel, not copper, so they will rust quickly despite the "gold" plating.
The extra holes in the connector make it easy to "stack" these if you are using more than one on a socket.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive, stackable
Cons: will rust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Banana Plugs
Cheyenne
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Banana plug fix

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the same issue as other reviewers. To fix the plugs so they work better, I secured it in a vise and backed the screw out so it did not protrude into the center cavity. Then using 1/8" drill bit I drilled the remaining metal out (all the way through). Stripped the wire about 1/4" and feed it into the newly drilled hole. I then tighten the screw into the wire and it worked great. Gave it a good tug and it stayed firmly in place.
Kind of pain to have to go this trouble to get these to work, but my assessment is that the cavity as it is provided from the factory is just too shallow to get good firm grip of the wire.
Pros: price
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Banana Plugs

Does not hold wire securely

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a good design. The major flaw is that the wire bottoms out barely 1/16" past the set screw, making it all too easy for the wire to pull out at the slightest tug. I used 16 gauge stranded wire, which is right in the middle of the manufacturer's recommendation of 14 to 18.
I did discover one interesting feature quite by accident (as instructions were non-existent). There is a hole that goes all the way through the grip, and is the right size to accept another banana plug. Let's say that you have limited space behind your speaker or receiver -- not enough to accommodate a regular-sized banana plug. Terminate your wire into the higher quality banana plug, Then, plug that into this product, and plug this product into your receiver or speaker. This allows you to make a right angle turn coming out of the component, and saves over an inch of space behind it.
Other than that, I would pass on this product.
Pros: small
Cons: No Instructions, does not grip wire securely
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Banana Plugs
Alan
from Rockville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor design; doesn't work on 18 gauge wire!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No instructions & waste of money! Package is misleading. This will not work for 18 gauge, despite packaging.
Pros: red and black color coding
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Banana Plugs
Patrick
from Traverse City Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worst item in the whole store!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Besides this item having no instructions it wasn't compatible with the gauge speaker wire it states it is rated for and just over-all "cheap feel". Worst purchase ever from Home Depot and that says a lot after the tens of thousands of dollars I've dropped there! Run from this product!
Cons: Complicated
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Banana Plugs
noviceinstaller
from Lone Tree, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than it first appears

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased banana plugs and was baffled on how to install. I came to this site for more information on how to install and was, at first, dismayed when I read other reviews. I really wanted to complete my project, so I persevered and found a way to make them work - quite simply. First prepare wire by stripping about a 1/4 inch of insulation off. Next bend bare wire completely back on itself. Prepare banana plug by loosening screw. I found this was easiest done by looking down the hollow shaft as I unscrewed small screw on the side until it was no longer visible inside the plug. Screw is quite small and is hard to rethread in hole if it comes all the way out, so it is easier to loosen and avoid removing. Next I held up the wire next to plug and visually marked how far the wire had to be inserted to be engaged slightly past the screw. I grasped the wire at this point and shoved into hollow center of plug, making sure that wire was pushed in to the visual mark at my fingertip. This is harder to do with thicker wire. I found that twisting wire into hole was helpful. Once wire is inserted, keep pressure on wire while you tighten screw on side. Tighten this as tight as you can. Check connection by giving a little tug on the wire. After I was done, I concluded that someone thought the process was to simple to bother writing instructions for. Although it is simple, it is not intuitive.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Banana Plugs
RandomGuy
from Carefree, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total junk

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Normally I feel squeamish about returning opened bubble packs, but not in this case. I bought these banana plugs to hook up some speakers. There is very little room to get the wire under the screw and they do not hold the wire reliably. FYI, the wire was #18 stranded. I returned them and went elsewhere to buy a better design. Bottom line - don't buy these.
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Banana Plugs
hops9807
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst banana plugs I've ever seen.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, these are poorly engineered and do not work. There is no way to secure the speaker wire securely with or without the speaker wire stripped. I am returning these. For this price one can find quality made banana plugs on ebay or through online stores with two screws and base that helps secure the wire that also screws on.
Cons: poorly designed, No Instructions, unable to secure speaker wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Banana Plugs
DickB
from Westwood, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well-made plugs

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These banana plugs really are a cut above the rest. First, they are gold-plated so there will be no corrosion in the connection. Secondly, you attach the wire in the connector using a Philips head set screw as opposed to a soldered connection. This is really the best way for the wire to make a good solid contact which will not loosen over time and it is less of a hassle than trying to solder the connection and melt the plastic insulator in the process. I highly recommend these plugs. They will work exceptionally well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Banana Plugs
Retired297
from South Hill, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Banana Plugs

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We ran across a few reviews of these plugs and just can't come to terms what there problem was. I have done my share of wiring in my days and speaker contacts are old hand.
You should tin over the ends of your wires, there are only a few type of wiring jobs where this is of no benefit. One is your house wiring. Small wires will mash out under the pressure of the screw and you end up with a few holding the load. Tinning bonds them all together and you have one under the screws for a firm contact. One other is contacts where you going the solder them in place.
These plugs do have a large port and will hold most monster wires as a result. It's not deep, so you will need to trim the end to about a 1/4 inch. Slide the wire in with the black or red cover intact and screws it in place. That's it, very simple and the gold plate will ensure years of trouble free use if not a lifetime.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: no instructions but why would you need any.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Banana Plugs
TechDabbler
from Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Workable, but there are better ones

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought better quality setscrew banana plugs on-line and got more plugs for the same price. But I came up short and bought these from Home Depot to complete my setup.
As another customer noted, no directions are included. Most of us don't do this every day, so detailed instructions from the manufacturer really are essential. I used CETech 16 gauge speaker wire, also from Home Depot. The screw wouldn't hold the bare wire, but if I folded the wire back over the insulation it was too thick to fit into the tube under the screw. What worked for me was to strip 3/8" or so, twist the bare wire, then fold it in half. Then the bare wire would slide into the tube with a tight fit, and when I tightened the screw it seemed pretty secure.
There is an extra hole through the diameter of the plug. I'm not sure what it's meant for but it could be used to tap into the line for another speaker (an unusual usage), or a tool like a mini screwdriver could be inserted to pull out a stuck plug without ruining the plastic sleeve.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Cons: no directions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Banana Plugs
MaroonLantern
from Ashburn, VA, USA

Poor design, and no instructions

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have mentioned, this product has no instructions, so thankfully others have provided their instructions for how to use the product so I could get some value out of it.
Even with the instructions, the very small reservoir make it difficult for the very small screw to "catch" the wire. I spent a lot of time on multiple re-tries trying to get the wire to catch after turning the screw. And often times, I would end up dropping the very small screw and would have trouble finding it, leaving that particular plug worthless.
Very poor product. Do not buy this -- you can get better quality for the same money elsewhere.
Cons: poor design, No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Banana Plugs
Nite0wl8
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Product not as great as it looks

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these banana plugs because they were the only brand offered at Home Depot, so I thought they would be of great quality. Not even!
As other reviewers have stated, there are no instructions on how these work, and I had a lot of trouble figuring out what to do. These banana plugs are different from other brands so the how-to videos I found on Youtube were not helpful. There is only a small shallow hole to fit the wire in.
I ended up doing what another reviewer recommended which was to strip some extra wire, fold the wire in half, then stick that into the hole. This allowed the screw to catch the wire.
I am very disappointed with this brand, but also Home Depot. Offer another brand that's better than this one!
Pros: cheap
Cons: confusing, poor quality, hole too shallow
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Banana Plugs
disappointed123
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst banana plug ever

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
will not hold wire as the shaft is too short and does not extend sufficiently so that the screw can bite in to the wire. Also, there is NO way to secure the wire if placed in the side port.
defective design.
Cons: no instructions worst design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Banana Plugs
Darkman
from Spring, Texas

Flawed, but Fixable Design

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with these is that the length of wire engaged by the clamping mechanism, which is a short hole with a side screw, is too short to provide reliable attachment. I was able to correct this flaw using a 1/8 inch drill and a vise. I simply made the hole deeper until it intersected with the extra hole through the side. This allowed more speaker wire to enter for engagement. Obviously a lot of trouble - but if you are stuck with some of these, at least they can be salvaged.
Pros: insulated unlike most others.
Cons: flawed design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Banana Plugs
YoshiV

Overpriced Junk, Don't Bother

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe I'm an idiot but there are no instructions and could not figure these out. You might make them work with a soldering iron but I don't think that is the intention of the product. Forget these and get something else.
Pros: can be returned for money back!
Cons: don't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Banana Plugs
wezer
from ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Ok Quality

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The trick to using these plugs is NOT to strip the wire. Just insert an clean cut into the end and the set screw will pierce the insulation.
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Banana Plugs
springer11
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure junk! Save your money

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Others are totally correct. It took me 30 minutes to figure out how it was supposed to work only to find out that it can't hold worth a darn.
Slightest strain pulls it loose again with standard 16 gauge wire. Back it goes to Home Depot and hopefully off of their shelves saving others money and misery..
F minus as a grade..
Cons: do not work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Banana Plugs
DGlenn
from Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cound not figure it out, so I cheated!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
O.K. I looked at the example that somebody posted but I was not happy with it! Short of just returning it to the store, I figured the right was was to tint a 1/4 inch of a stripted end with soder and that would give the screw enough surface to catch the wire, Might have worked! However I felt happier if I made the hole deeper and that would give me some reserve length. Yes this voids any Warranty, but I work with this stuff to know that I have some piece of mind its going to work and this was the only set available for within 50 miles of where I live so I had to make due.
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>