728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop AV Cables & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Banana Plugs

Banana Plugs

Use banana plugs to create high-quality speaker wire connections. Simple design takes only seconds to attach to speaker wire. These banana plugs offer gold-plated construction.
Overall rating:
1.909 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
21%of customersrecommend this product9 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
1.9 out of 5
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(24)
Quality 
1.8 out of 5
1.8 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
21%of customersrecommend this product9 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for Banana Plugs
Review 1 for Banana Plugs
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

decent quality but horrible product support

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the plugs feel like decent quality for the price and fit perfect in the speaker port. But, this product has zero product support, instructions or suggestions. Normally not an issue, it just shows they dont care. Plus, the one locking screw is poor and wouldnt secure my 18 gauge wire at all. The website doesnt even say you get 10 plugs! FIX...to secure your wire , strip 1/4 inch of wire and bend the copper wire backward (see pic) this will allow the screw to catch the plastic shielding and lock the wire. Minus 3 stars for screw and product support
Pros: Stylish, secure fit
Cons: No Instructions, poor lock screw
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Banana Plugs
from AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Do Not Buy, If unfortunately you did, see instructions below

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would never buy this banana plugs again, very cheaply made, the wire slot is way too shallow to catch any wire securely. However it was Christmas Eve and I had no choice and had to make it work. So for those who are stuck with them, here are the instructions, thanks to a couple of previous reviewers who gave the clue: First strip wire to leave ~3/8", then fold the ends to form a nipple ~3/16", take off the screw and plastic sleeve, insert/force the nipple into the wire slot, put back the sleeve and screw so that the screw goes through the middle of the nipple, forming a "loop" of copper wire around the screw. Only after this the crew can be tightened. Good luck everybody.
Cons: cheaply made
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Banana Plugs
from Elmira, Or.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Speaker Banana Plugs

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These plugs seem to do the job just fine! 14ga wire was a bit of a tough fit however.
Pros: Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Banana Plugs
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only a buck each, what did you expect?

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are inexpensive connectors, near the bottom of the line. The price per unit reflects that quality. Still, they can do the job if you know how to use them. First of all, do not strip the wire ends if you plan to use the set screws. The screws can push through the insulation just fine unless you are using something like Teflon-insulated wire. Make sure to tighten the screws as much as possible to make sure you have firm contact with the wire. If you want a more secure connection, strip the ends and use solder, but use only enough to do the job and solder on the side away from the screw hole. Don't fill the "pot" with solder or you probably won't be able to use the screw to fix the insulating sleeve in place. I doubt that any of these methods will "provide a more reliable connection" than bare wires, as stated on the package, since the main connection is still a pressure fit.
The core metal in these is steel, not copper, so they will rust quickly despite the "gold" plating.
The extra holes in the connector make it easy to "stack" these if you are using more than one on a socket.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive, stackable
Cons: will rust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Banana Plugs
from Virginia Beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY - PURE JUNK

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. I wish I had looked at these reviews before purchasing. These plugs are simply worthless. The reviews mention drilling and soldering. Give me a break. No instructions. No accompanying video. Nothing. As these are constructed, the "well" in which the wire is secured has about 1/16th of an inch for the screw to grip the wire. What were they thinking?
Cons: No Instructions, cheap construction
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Banana Plugs
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Usable For Stranded Wire

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not suitable for stranded wire. Wire simply falls out of the very short connection space. Very disappointing since the package DID NOT SAY NOT FOR STRANDED WIRE. My plugs are now in the garbage.
Cons: does not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Banana Plugs
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will do the job.

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not as bad as other reviewers have stated. Yes the "pot" is shallow but I was successful with using the plugs on 18 gauge wire. Make sure the end of the wire has been cut straight, loosen the screw so that the wire goes all the way in then tighten the screw so that it punctures the wire and is as tight as possible. To make sure that the screw actually punctured the wire I tested continuity with my multi purpose meter after each plug was installed. Done!
I would have rated the product as a 5 but the fact that the "pot" is shallow earned the plugs a 3. However, at a dollar a plug the value is there.
Pros: Easy Installation, cost
Cons: shallow wire pot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Banana Plugs

Worthless

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Totally worthless junk. Do not buy this worthless product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Banana Plugs

Not Great but they work fine..

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have no problems With them. They work just fine. I would buy them again! I folded my Wire end So that they were about a 1/16 in. long and Screwed the wire in tight. Also don't take the Screw Out all the way just enough to get the wire in .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Banana Plugs

terrible

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst products I ever bought. Do not buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Banana Plugs
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Banana plug fix

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the same issue as other reviewers. To fix the plugs so they work better, I secured it in a vise and backed the screw out so it did not protrude into the center cavity. Then using 1/8" drill bit I drilled the remaining metal out (all the way through). Stripped the wire about 1/4" and feed it into the newly drilled hole. I then tighten the screw into the wire and it worked great. Gave it a good tug and it stayed firmly in place.
Kind of pain to have to go this trouble to get these to work, but my assessment is that the cavity as it is provided from the factory is just too shallow to get good firm grip of the wire.
Pros: price
Cons: poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Banana Plugs
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Design All Around

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Others have mentioned a lack of instructions with these connectors- that is the least of your problems!
To begin, the socket in the connector is ridiculously over sized! The package indicates that the connectors are compatible with 14-18 gauge wire. According to my trusty Brown and Sharpe wire gauge, the socket would actually fit a 7 GAUGE wire!!! You should not have to fold a bare wire over itself or leave the insulation on and pierce it with the set screw and hope for a good connection.
Next, the socket is so shallow that the set screw is effectively placed at the bottom of the socket, with only a small countersink below it. Like other reviewers, I elected to drill through the bottom of the socket and solder the wire in place. I decided to fill the entire socket with solder, and ditch the set screw entirely. Instead, I tinned the outside of the connector to build up the OD, so that the insulator sleeve was a friction fit.
About that sleeve... the ID measures .230", allowing the wire to flop around. I put some RTV gasket maker in the end of the sleeve to hold the wire in a roughly centered position.
In case this was not enough of an ordeal, when I connected my speaker wires to the speakers, I could not help but notice that the connectors slipped into the terminals with disappointingly little effort for brand new connectors...
A smarter and/or less stubborn consumer would probably have returned these connectors and searched for a better option elsewhere.
Cons: poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Banana Plugs
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Poor quality.

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plugs vary in how well they hold when you plug them in. Some give you a nice solid fit, while others will come out if you give the wire a slight pull. The plastic barrel over the plug will fall off if you remove the screw. The screw presses directly on the wire. This can be a problem with fine strand wire, as only part of the wire will be under the screw. You can end up with less then half the strands making contact.
Over all, the plugs have a cheap look and feel to them. It is a good thing they will be hidden when using them to attach speaker wire. I would not recommend them for use with test equipment or power supplies.
Cons: poor construction quality.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Banana Plugs
from Simpsonville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These have to be some of the worse plugs I've ever purchased. If I can keep one person from buying these, it will be worth it.
Cons: poor design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Banana Plugs

Worthless, unless...

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are essentially worthless, until you drill out the central cavity to permit more than 1-2 mm of wire to be secured. It's a shame, HD used to sell well-designed banana plugs that didn't need any adjustment.
Cons: worthless
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Banana Plugs
from Traverse City Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worst item in the whole store!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Besides this item having no instructions it wasn't compatible with the gauge speaker wire it states it is rated for and just over-all "cheap feel". Worst purchase ever from Home Depot and that says a lot after the tens of thousands of dollars I've dropped there! Run from this product!
Cons: Complicated
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Banana Plugs
from Ashburn, VA, USA

Poor design, and no instructions

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have mentioned, this product has no instructions, so thankfully others have provided their instructions for how to use the product so I could get some value out of it.
Even with the instructions, the very small reservoir make it difficult for the very small screw to "catch" the wire. I spent a lot of time on multiple re-tries trying to get the wire to catch after turning the screw. And often times, I would end up dropping the very small screw and would have trouble finding it, leaving that particular plug worthless.
Very poor product. Do not buy this -- you can get better quality for the same money elsewhere.
Cons: poor design, No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Banana Plugs
from VA

Okay

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing technically wrong with these but for a few dollars more you can get something significantly better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Banana Plugs
from Springfield, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

These are terrible. Do. Not. Buy.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not seem to be a good way to get the wires to stay in, the screw is completely inadequate and wires slip right out. Also, extremely expensive for how bad they work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Banana Plugs
from San angelo, texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good connector but hard to place cable together tricky but one you get it its really easy
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>