728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop AV Cables & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Banana Plugs

Banana Plugs

Use banana plugs to create high-quality speaker wire connections. Simple design takes only seconds to attach to speaker wire. These banana plugs offer gold-plated construction.
Overall rating:
1.873 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
22%of customersrecommend this product12 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
1.9 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(9)
2
(8)
1
(32)
Quality 
1.8 out of 5
1.8 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
22%of customersrecommend this product12 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for Banana Plugs
Review 1 for Banana Plugs
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK quality. Here is how I installed them.

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The reviews for the CE Tech banana plugs from Home Depot were decidedly mixed but I went ahead and bought a pack of ten (five plug pairs, perfect for my 5.1 speaker system less the subwoofer, which takes a separate special cable). Because of the reviews, I knew I was in for a little work. Here's what I did:
Working one wire at a time, I stripped about three-eighths inch of insulation from the end of my speaker wire then tinned the wire with my soldering gun. When cool, I trimmed back the exposed tinned wire to about one-eighth inch. Looking in the wire end of the plug, I loosened the set screw until the wire would fit, slipped the tinned wire into the plug, and tightened the screw. The screw and plastic plug cover do not need to be removed; the set screw holds the cover in place when the plug is slipped over the wire. Also, you don’t want to drop that tiny screw.
You need a wire stripper, wire cutter, soldering gun or iron with solder, and a small Philips screwdriver -- I used a #0 -- to make this work. After you do the first plug, it is easy to move along and finish the other wires. Since I was changing over from Monster Cable angled pin plugs (they were horrible) to banana plugs on existing speaker wires, I worked on one wire in each pair at a time so I didn't make a mistake with the polarity.
The CE Tech banana plugs are not the greatest quality but they were in stock in my local Home Depot and I didn't have to order them and wait for delivery by mail. Radio Shack lists banana plugs on the website but the are solder-only (no set screw) and were not in stock at my local store. Its a shame: Radio Shack used to be great for basic electronic items like this.
Pros: very basic design, five pairs per pack
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Banana Plugs
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

decent quality but horrible product support

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the plugs feel like decent quality for the price and fit perfect in the speaker port. But, this product has zero product support, instructions or suggestions. Normally not an issue, it just shows they dont care. Plus, the one locking screw is poor and wouldnt secure my 18 gauge wire at all. The website doesnt even say you get 10 plugs! FIX...to secure your wire , strip 1/4 inch of wire and bend the copper wire backward (see pic) this will allow the screw to catch the plastic shielding and lock the wire. Minus 3 stars for screw and product support
Pros: Stylish, secure fit
Cons: No Instructions, poor lock screw
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Banana Plugs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst on the market

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hole for feeding the wire through is sealed off right at the tightening screw, so only a tiny piece of wire makes contact with the screw. The connection is not reliable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Banana Plugs
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only a buck each, what did you expect?

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are inexpensive connectors, near the bottom of the line. The price per unit reflects that quality. Still, they can do the job if you know how to use them. First of all, do not strip the wire ends if you plan to use the set screws. The screws can push through the insulation just fine unless you are using something like Teflon-insulated wire. Make sure to tighten the screws as much as possible to make sure you have firm contact with the wire. If you want a more secure connection, strip the ends and use solder, but use only enough to do the job and solder on the side away from the screw hole. Don't fill the "pot" with solder or you probably won't be able to use the screw to fix the insulating sleeve in place. I doubt that any of these methods will "provide a more reliable connection" than bare wires, as stated on the package, since the main connection is still a pressure fit.
The core metal in these is steel, not copper, so they will rust quickly despite the "gold" plating.
The extra holes in the connector make it easy to "stack" these if you are using more than one on a socket.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive, stackable
Cons: will rust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Banana Plugs
from AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Do Not Buy, If unfortunately you did, see instructions below

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would never buy this banana plugs again, very cheaply made, the wire slot is way too shallow to catch any wire securely. However it was Christmas Eve and I had no choice and had to make it work. So for those who are stuck with them, here are the instructions, thanks to a couple of previous reviewers who gave the clue: First strip wire to leave ~3/8", then fold the ends to form a nipple ~3/16", take off the screw and plastic sleeve, insert/force the nipple into the wire slot, put back the sleeve and screw so that the screw goes through the middle of the nipple, forming a "loop" of copper wire around the screw. Only after this the crew can be tightened. Good luck everybody.
Cons: cheaply made
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Banana Plugs
from Elmira, Or.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Speaker Banana Plugs

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These plugs seem to do the job just fine! 14ga wire was a bit of a tough fit however.
Pros: Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Banana Plugs
from Midland, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Project Completed-saved my day

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was in the middle of a project to completely wire my home when I found I did not have enough connectors. I wanted top quality and didn't know where to go since I have moved to a new state. I went to Home Depot and looked at what they had for connectors and rolled the dice. I am exceptionally pleased with the quality of these connectors. A small item, but a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Banana Plugs

Garbage

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These literally do not work. I am actually completely confused by how the manufacturer even thought they were supposed to work. Do not buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Banana Plugs
from Missouri
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really, Really Bad Product

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I get it ... they're cheap. But this is awful. They look like a great product in the package, and at a good price. But once you open that package, you find no instructions and a very low-quality product that is nearly useless.
Pros: price ... but still not worth buying
Cons: junk, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Banana Plugs

Terrible product

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No instructions. Inserts for wire are way to small for the screw to grab the wire. Useless product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Banana Plugs
from Virginia Beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY - PURE JUNK

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. I wish I had looked at these reviews before purchasing. These plugs are simply worthless. The reviews mention drilling and soldering. Give me a break. No instructions. No accompanying video. Nothing. As these are constructed, the "well" in which the wire is secured has about 1/16th of an inch for the screw to grip the wire. What were they thinking?
Cons: No Instructions, cheap construction
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Banana Plugs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap but work well for the price

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
You need to know that these are not on par with high end plugs. They worked fine for me. Seems like a lot of people had trouble with them. I was able to attach them quickly and easily.
The nice thing about them is that the wire comes out the back instead of on the side (like a lot of plugs).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Banana Plugs
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Usable For Stranded Wire

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not suitable for stranded wire. Wire simply falls out of the very short connection space. Very disappointing since the package DID NOT SAY NOT FOR STRANDED WIRE. My plugs are now in the garbage.
Cons: does not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Banana Plugs

CE TECH Audio Banana plugs hopelessly poor designed product

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Such a simple product gone wrong.Wire pocket is maybe 1/8 inch deep not possible to secure wire. A nice trip back to return. Impulse buy so I would not have to order proper product online from Sewell.
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Banana Plugs
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Banana plug fix

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the same issue as other reviewers. To fix the plugs so they work better, I secured it in a vise and backed the screw out so it did not protrude into the center cavity. Then using 1/8" drill bit I drilled the remaining metal out (all the way through). Stripped the wire about 1/4" and feed it into the newly drilled hole. I then tighten the screw into the wire and it worked great. Gave it a good tug and it stayed firmly in place.
Kind of pain to have to go this trouble to get these to work, but my assessment is that the cavity as it is provided from the factory is just too shallow to get good firm grip of the wire.
Pros: price
Cons: poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Banana Plugs

Worthless

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Totally worthless junk. Do not buy this worthless product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Banana Plugs
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Design

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
CE Tech must have thought it was obvious with respect to installation. And for such a simple device, it should be. But it's NOT. The set screw doesn't set the wire securely. The 'see through' hole seems to serve no purpose whatsoever. Why does my favorite store in the world... Home Depot... sell such useless items?
Cons: No Instructions, useless design features, does not perform
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Banana Plugs
from Aromas, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure Junk!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the 10, I yielded 3 that were usable. The bore where the wire goes is SUPER shallow allowing ~1/16" of wire to be inserted. The screws that hold the wire in place strip out with the slightest of tension, which needs to be done to hold the wire in place.
Wish I could get my money back on this. Out of ALL the products I've ever reviewed on H.D., this one is THE WORST!
Cons: strip out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Banana Plugs
from Traverse City Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worst item in the whole store!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Besides this item having no instructions it wasn't compatible with the gauge speaker wire it states it is rated for and just over-all "cheap feel". Worst purchase ever from Home Depot and that says a lot after the tens of thousands of dollars I've dropped there! Run from this product!
Cons: Complicated
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Banana Plugs
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It would be hard to be worse than this

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As other reviewers have done, I have had to drill the connectors out in order to get the wire to be to the point where it could be reliably screwed down. No instructions, no help at all on the internet, as of this writing. So until I can get some quality plugs from a reliable store, these cheap-os will have to do.
Cons: not designed by an engineer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>