728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox

American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox

The Char-Broil American Gourmet 700 Series Charcoal with Offset Firebox Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. Features porcelain-coated cooking grates, chrome-plated secondary cooking grate, and multiple dampers for easy heat and smoke control.
Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product108 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 145 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(36)
3
(19)
2
(10)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product108 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
Review 1 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good entry level smoker

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I gave this unit an overall rating of five stars, because with minimal modifications it is a very useful smoker. Out of the box it is a great grill, but the quality of the smoker design is poor at best. The unit is difficult to maintain temperature, and it leaks smoke from everywhere. Additionally, the cheap steel bends with heat.
With that said, if you seal the unit with high temperature silicone (food safe RTV) and some sort of high temperature rope, you can resolve the smoke leaks. To resolve the uneven temperatures across the unit I cut a disposable deep pan in half to use as a heat deflector, and then I used disposable cookie sheets to direct the smoke throughout the unit. The last modification I made was to lower the chimney using a three inch dryer vent.
The end result is a unit that is a great grill, and the best value smoker you can get for the money. If you are looking for a smoker instead of a grill, you should get an upright or an electric upright. Their temperature is easier to maintain, and they are easier to smoke on. However, if you want a grill and a smoker, this one is great with a few modifications.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Great Value
Cons: thin steel doesn't hold heat, will have to be repainted often to inhibit rust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Three Rivers, MI 49093, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grill

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill to replace the one I use to have that was just about like it. This is a great product and I highly recommend it. The only thing I don't like about this grill is its thermometer. It only has words. No numbered degrees scale. I added my own thermometer that I bought at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Atlanta, GA

Big Charcoal Grill

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grill is for our remote control airplane club. The chief really loves the large cooking area. It is almost twice the size of our old one. We fed over 100 people at our last event.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox

mad about this grill

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
when this product got to my house i was super excited, i have been in the market for a grill of this type for a while and while i am fully aware that this grill is on the lower end of the quality price spectrum i did not expect the problems that i got with it. first off, it arrived damaged, i did not make a big deal out of this because the damage was aesthetic and did not reduce functionality, so i ignored it and continued. second, the heat in the smoker burned the paint off the outside of the smoker fire chamber the second time it was used. third, during the same use the heat also popped the weld on the lid to the smoker chamber. i am very disappointed in this grill and am contacting char-broil about it. the welds were pathetic and could have been done better by my 7 year old son and the fire i had in the chamber was well within what should have been acceptable limits. i must sadly not recommend this grill
Cons: non-quality construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+68points
81out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love This

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will never go back to Gas Grilling. This is one of the best BBQers I have owned. Thank You Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Single Mom Dream Grilling

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The size of this grill is just perfect for me. I can BBQ a little or a lot and it cooks better and faster than the in doors oven. It was so convenient to have free shipping to get this grill home when you only have a car. Simple and quick transaction.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Listen up everyone

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are going into our fifth season with this smoker, and after a thousand hamburgers and hot dogs, hind quarters from deer, roast from moose, and beef, turkeys etc I can tell you it does one heck of a job. sure the paint burns off the fire box, what would one expect with heat confined in such a small area the burnt off paint does not effect the quality of this smoker. don't be misled this thing works great, Oh and don't forget to put some baby backs in this thing and smoke them up are you in for one heck of a meal. don't take my word for it buy the darn thing and enjoy the food and compliments oh ya don't forget the beer.
And one more thing use it year round like we do, Anyway enjoy your summer and Happy, Happy.Happy eating
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+44points
45out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Sou, 61500 Bursard, France
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Smoker Grill, Super large cookoing area

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered my Char Broil smoker grill on line. They gave me a 7 - 10 day delivery date. The grill arrived 2 days later, all 106 lbs. Assembly was easy with simple instructions. Instruction recommended 2 people for assembly. I'm a do-yourself handyman and assembled the grill myself in a little over an hour, simple. If you are not a do-it yourselfer, a second pair of hands will be very helpful. I followed the instructions and covered the inside cooking area, smoker, grill from top to bottom with at coat of vegetable oil and cooked it off until the charcoal was completely burned, several hours at about 300 degrees. This is the secret of protecting the painted surface of the grill. My first use of the grill was total success. I smoked a Boston butt, rack of ribs, and whole chicken with indirect heat, using only the firebox for 9 hours at 225 - 250 degrees, wrapped the meat in foil and smoked it another 2 hours. The meat cooked to perfection. My family said it was better than the BBQ joints. I would recommend this smoker to anyone without hesitation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Philadelphia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Large for family events

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for a big family like mines, we all enjoy it very much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Hammond, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product at a great price

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
except for the lid. was easy to put together. Must have a production issue with the lid of the cooker, had to pound into place to get to fit correctly. I noticed at all stores, the demos looked liked they had the same problem, early. Now the demos in stores now look like they fit properly. Cooks awesome, and that is the reason for it isn't it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My New Smoker

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to understand instructions, easy to assemble, good looking upon assembly. Cured for 4 hours the next day. The day after that, smoked a beef brisket. (5 hours at 270 or so), wrapped and cooked on the smoker for another 3 hours. Came out excellent. Bit of advice to minimize cleanup time, line bottom of cooking chamber with aluminum foil.
Only negative that I see is that there is quite a bit of leakage of the smoke. I will spend a little time sealing up cracks and putting in an oven sealing strip around the door before the next cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: loses smoke
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Englewood Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

parts missing company would not send without a $4.95 shipping charge! not a happy customer!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Charbroil company made me register the product first which was a bit of a magical with scanning proof of purchase and then wouldn't replace the missing bolts and hex nuts without a $4.95 shipping charge. Two bolts and nuts don't cost $5 ?!?!
Cons: charbroil does not believe in customer satisfactin
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Grand Prairie
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Christmas Present for Husband

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great grill. Wish it was welded instead of bolts/screws but overall the hubby enjoys grilling on it and he was very happy to get this present.
Pros: Large Cooking Space
Cons: bolts/screws not welded
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from FAYETTEVILLE GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesomeness this summer

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched and searched all last year for a grill that I could enjoy. Some how I ran across this grill on homedepot.com and loved the specifications on it. Similar grills with the same specs run about 178+tax but i got this grill for 127.00. Its huge and just what I wanted. Putting it together was so freaking easy its almost scary. I would suggest doing a few modifications to it if youre a big time smoker/griller like myself. I ordered some high temp silicone to close up my gaps and its awesome. When I originally called the online store they were out of stock and weren't sure if they would receive anymore, but they did everything they could to help me get this grill. They even called charbroil to see if they were going to send more and when if they were. The customer service was outstanding. This grill is by far the best for the price. The material is better than the brinkman grill. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Made Son really happy!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this for our son in FL. He was so excited to receive it that he put it together as soon as he saw it. He said it went together well. After getting it together he lit it up and burned off all the oils and sealants. Next night he started cooking. He loves it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Katy, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It would have been a great purchase if it had not come in damaged

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to assemble. Unfortunately it had dents on the barrel where it had been damaged before I received it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Christmas grill

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great grill so far and we love it! Easier to put together with 2 people.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not just a grill

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
how come all the reviews are calling this a grill?
this is much more than a grill...
this is a SMOKER!
try using it as such, folks........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Germantown, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Everything!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This one is better and bigger than the last one. More space to cook. Helps out with big parties. Highly suggest this one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for American Gourmet 700 Series 60.25 in. Charcoal Grill with Off-Set Firebox
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for grilling, very poor smoker

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do a lot of smoking and a little griling, I wore out two old CharBroil grills but was very pleased with them. It just got to where there was nothing left to patch. I bought the new one and it is horrible to try to smoke in, There is a half inch gap all the way around the lid so there is no way to control the heat with the damper or door. It lets the fire flame up and you can't close the air off.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>