728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tool Chests or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet

41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet

The WEN Tool Storage series is the ultimate for the industrial user, professional mechanic or anyone who is looking for the best in a 41 in. tool storage system. This tool storage system is composed of 2 units that can be used independently, or as a combo. Heavy-duty construction makes this stylish storage cabinet appropriate for a variety of applications, both at home and in the most demanding professional environments. Features 100 lb rated self locking ball bearing slides and protective drawer liners. This unit is built to last and provides the ultimate protection for your hand and power tools.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
Review 1 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Cartersville, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool Box Combo & Value

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great box and value. Its not a Snap-On or Proto, and its not in that price range either. Those boxes are not that much heavier built and way over priced.
The only con I have is the casters. Just like kicking the tires of a new car folks will put their hand on the box and shake it. The casters flex a little.
The good stuff is the Finish is a nice looking silver or gray and black texture that will not scratch or show prints or smudges easily. The pull handles have a finish that avoid this also.
The drawers are the standard 100lbs rated ball bearing type and are lightly lubed. The drawers shut themselves when you get them less than an inch from shut. The drawer liners are not too bad as I have seen come with others. They will not wrinkle if someone slam's a drawer.
Home Depot hands down has the best price for this combo and free shipping to the store for pickup is nice. Be prepared to have help unloading. The bottom box alone is around 200lbs. It took three of us to get it into the back of my truck. Lucky for me I have a 4Wheeler lift in my garage to slide it onto.
The top box has gas struts on the lid, and the boxes are not keyed alike.
This combo will easilty handle pro applications. If I were going to be rolling it around a factory I would get some casters made of thicker metal, and I would still be money ahead of getting a Proto or Snap-On.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, exelent &durable smudge and scratch restant finish
Cons: casters could be a little heavier duty but not a d
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beats the other comp. every time!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heavy duty in all aspects. The wheels could be alittle more heavier duty, but all in all the quality of this chest is great. More durable and heavier built than any in its class. The price can't be beat. Very happy with this chest.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet

Well balanced choice.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall, I'm happy with this purchase, but I went it not expecting a top of line product at a low end price. I expected a decent box at a good price and this meets that requirement. Based on my experience, this is on par with a good Craftsman tool chest, but nowhere near the level of the premium chests.
I've had two issues in the 3 or so weeks I've owned this box which I feel should be addresses by design. First, when unlocking the tool chest, it's possible to turn the key beyond the unlocked position and as a result, disengage the locking bar from it's guide. So each time this happens (which is frequent when operating the lock) I have to manually insert the locking bar back into its guide before I can lock the upper cabinet. Second, the keys are very soft and my lower chest now has a snapped off key in it due to a small bump while the key was still in the lock.
Were I a professional, like others have suggested, I would upgrade the casters and maybe replace the locks and it might work as a pro chest, but really, if that were the case, I'd probably just recommend a different chest due to the heavy abuse professional chest receive. As a garage mechanic, even with the issues I've described above, I'd recommend this simply because of the bang you get for your buck.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Norman, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool Box Combo

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier. Casters were pre-installed, drawers work smoothly and the various sizes of the drawers were perfect for my use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice box at an affordable price

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These boxes are more than adequate for the recreational mechanic and very adequate for the professional mechanic. Snap-on is nice and every guy would like to own one but there's just no way I'm going to consider paying more than 3X for a tool box, right.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Windsor, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great deal for the money

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool box combo is Very heavy empty. Very well built welded where it counts. Does the job i need as a mechanic. You will need help unloading this. The pictures dont do justice on the casters as they appear to be small but are actually good sized. Drawers slide easily the only problem with them is they dont want to stay open when looking for the tools you need out of the drawer may be i dont have it level i dont know yet to that. the locking system seems to work well ive only had it now for around a month so in a few months ill write back on that.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
Cons: only one handle to pull box around with
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from 92630
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice box!!!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love this toolbox. Only issue I have is the lid must completely raised to unlock the drawers. Other then that, perfect.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Cons: lid / drawer lock combo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 41 in. 24-Drawers Combo Tool Chest and Cabinet
from Lawrence, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well made box and chest But wait!!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plenty of room for tools and test equipment. Strong and seems pretty rugged. One small problem. The locking mechanisms are the worst I have ever seen on a tool box in 35 years of being a tech. The keys and locks are a joke.
I put tools in the chest and locked it. I tried to immediately open the box and the lock wouldn't budge. I tried to turn it harder and the key broke off in the lock. I had to drill it out to recover my tools. Needless to say I will not lock the chest of drawers. Other than that I am quite satisfied with this combo. Kokiak needs to get serious about the locking mechanisms
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bad locining system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.