728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish

15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish

This traditional-style refrigerator has 15.7cu. ft.of space and a lot to offer, like LED lighting (Refrigerator & Freezer Sections) and sophisitcated styling. Meanwhile, humidity-controlled crispers help keep your food fresh by keeping temperature and humidity levels where they need to be.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
Review 1 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from New York

Have more problems with misinformation than the fridge

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pro: Quiet, decent stainless steel option (and it's not stainless steel), price, size, LED light nice, like the width of the juice/soda/water holder on the inside door
Cons: My cons are mostly due to misinformation. The photos don't show that the fridge is on legs and not flat to the floor; The photos don't really show that the door is higher than the actual refrigerator. Not really sure why and it's kind of annoying that it isn't the same height. The crisper is very narrow -- shockingly narrow (have to put a package of 3 romaine stalks in verticall b/c it's only 1 stalk wide). It's not available to see in person in any Home Depot store it seems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: see above review
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love it!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The refrigerator is quite tall and deep, but it isn't as wide as most refrigerators. The design is very modern and sleek. We've received many compliments, even when it was being delivered. People were walking by and saying the fridge was "awesome" and "really cool looking." The handles and the finish are what really make this fridge stand out. It's more stainless-steel like in person that what the pictures show, but it is a dark gray color. I think it's some kind of very durable plastic. It's really nice. The LED lights are great. They offer just enough light so that it doesn't blind you if you open the refrigerator in the dark. There's tons of space, especially in the freezer. You can fit a lot of things in the door's shelving (in both the fridge/freezer). It's is great for an apartment and the price really can't be beat. We looked at many other refrigerators and this one offered much more than some of the pricier models. The absolute best thing about the refrigerator is that it is silent. We're very pleased!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tall, Dark, and Handsome

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, so good! This fridge is a replacement for my old compact fridge. Although is taller than the prior one, it fits perfectly in the space without overcrowding my small kitchen. It's very sleek, sophisticated and great to look at. There is more than enough room in the fridge section. Glass shelving and wide space on the doors, perfect for gallon containers. Even though the freezer is not very deep, it does have a shelf which is a plus. Most compact refrigerators do not have a shelf in the freezer. The recommended temperature is perfect for my food. The LED lighting gives an attractive look to the fridge; creates an expensive look without the price tag to match. It runs quiet and the color (gray/platinum) is awesome. Most ppl who have seen it thought I paid over $1000. I'm in love!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Oak Lawn, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellant fridge..

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this fridge I looked at over a hundred fridges as needed a specific size and depth fridge. This was perfect price for counter depth fridge. Only downfall is the dim interior lighting. Besides that its amazing. Couldnt be happier
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: dim lighting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish

I see why it's been discontinued...

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love everything about the fridge, except that the glass shelves and the plastic frames around them are too thin and bow down in the center when normal weighted items are placed on them. I'm concerned they with snap and crack....
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Waltham
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Interior lighting of refrigerator is terrible

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product from the Home Depot website, so we didn't get a chance to see it on the showroom floor. However, I suspect that even if we had, we wouldn't have noticed this significant flaw in the design of the product. The lighting in the interior of the refrigerator is a small strip of LED lights running down the center, back panel of the unit. When the refrigerator is empty, the interior lighting is sufficient enough. However, once you put items on the shelves, the lighting is blocked, and the interior of the refrigerator is dark making it difficult to see food items.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, poorly lit interior space
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Albuquerque NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice refrigerator

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely an attractive refrigerator, which we bought to augment our existing kitchen fridge. We have home offices and had set up part of one room as a kind of coffee nook and refreshment area, and it was when I started looking at energy efficiency ratings, I saw that a full-sized refrigerator like this LG 15.7 cu/ft Energy Star-rated unit actually uses about as much electricity as our crammed-full mini-fridge.
I mean, it was a gallon jug of iced tea, one of cranberry juice, cans of V8 and hard cider, etc., some condiments and the mini-fridge was both constantly full and constantly running (loudly) to cool down the beverages being restocked daily.
The LG 15.7 is big. Bigger than I was expecting, but we had plenty of room set aside for it. (You'll need about 30.5-in wide and around 26.5-in deep.)
Pros:
- Maybe some folks think it's loud, but I don't and it's literally 20 feet away from me as I type this review. It's WAY quieter than the mini-fridge (now defrosting out in the driveway).
- The LED lighting takes some getting used to, but I like it. Besides not being a point source like a bulb would be, the LEDs also add to the energy efficiency. (The mini had no light at all.)
- Cools down fast. I know the usual break-in period is 24 hours, but I put a bunch of warm cans and bottles in there about two hours after it was running (the manual said it was okay) and at six hours they're already icy cold.
- Very attractive exterior, doesn't look cheap at all.
Cons:
- I deducted one point on quality because in my opinion, the glass shelves have a wee bit too much flexing give when heavy items are put on them. I decided to rearrange them so that anything really heavy will go on the sturdier plastic shelf directly over the crisper.
- The shelves are somewhat awkwardly spaced and the spacing between them is nearly fixed. There's no variation possible on the door shelves (four of them) other than removal. Same with the freezer shelf. I did end up removing one of the three glass shelves in the fridge, to allow room for large juice and iced tea containers to stand upright and to allow reasonable space for the middle and top shelves.
- No freezer light. I don't care about this, but if this is your only refrigerator, it might not be preferable.
- Cannot reverse the door opening direction. This almost caused me not to buy the fridge because I would've preferred it to open with the handles on the right. (The coffee nook's counter is to the right of the fridge.) But it was either this model or one with features far inferior to the LG. I don't regret the decision.
Ideal uses:
- Secondary refrigerator, for beverages, or in home-bars or rec rooms; would almost seem like a waste though to put a refrigerator that looks this nice out in a garage, but it'd do for that too.
- Apartment or small house, where space is at a premium and a super-big refrigerator is not needed; probably big enough for one or a family of two with modest needs, wouldn't be big enough for a large family though.
We would definitely buy this refrigerator again if we had to do it all over again and would recommend it to others.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: flimsy shelves
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fridge option

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this fridge because it fits in the space our 1950s era home offers. We like the size, the shape, the color, and how quiet it is compared to our former 1982-era Harvest Gold Frigidaire. This was a move in the right direction. My only complaint is the LED lighting inside the fridge is a bit dark, but it's a small price to pay for a fridge that fits in our kitchen!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: lighting is dark
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Minneapolis Area, Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very unique refrigerator!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced a stainless unit with this and can't tell the difference...very attractive. Very quiet...can't tell if it's running. Large interior that has door storage for tall items but you have to watch which shelves you use if they oppose each other. The main door closes very positively by itself...the freezer door has a point of resistance several inches from closed and must be separately/manually pushed..it gives a better seal and now I'm used to it. Lighting is very cool...literally. LED's are calming and functional unless you stuffed lots of food inside which will block the light somewhat...I love the lights. The measurements listed were not correct...it's taller and wider. Height measured from the floor is 69.5 front and 69.25 back (I have the two front legs adjusted almost all the way out which raises it to my measurement). It is close to counter depth at 25" and the front is convex to the center of the front of the door at 26". The height of the door itself is 71" but should clear cabinets being so far forward. I did have to convert my overhead cabinet to an open shelf unit to gain enough clearance...I actually use it more now that it's open! It measures 30.25" wide. Scheduling delivery was simple and convenient. They arrived on time...called ahead to provide a more accurate window...carried it up a half flight of stairs and took the old unit. What I appreciated most was their on-line inventory was accurate and their competitor's was not...waited 6 weeks and notified it may be another 2 weeks...cancelled and Home Depot had it in my kitchen in less than a week. Thrilled with the appliance and especially Home Depot's reliability and honesty/integrity. One of my best appliance purchases ever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from texas

perfect as a second refrigerator. don't care for the interior lighting

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
interior lighting is not adjustable and casts a greyblue light. other than that it serves our needs well
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Bronx, NY, USA

Great buy for an equally great refrigerator

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really well made, basic refrigerator with a few nice touches that are different from others.Like the curved door handles & the platinum finish, which is actually a laminated, high gloss surface. This prevents the amount of fingerprints & smudges that you would get with a stainless steel finish but still gives the elegance of stainless.The body of the unit (the sides & back) are in dark grey unlike the usual black you find on most refrigerators. The premium LED lighting will not give you the same brightness of a standard bulb, which may take some getting used to. Temperature controls come factory preset & LG recommends that you stay with them for a while before adjusting. I've had mine for a month now and have not changed anything.While it is low on features(no ice/water or freezer light) other units in this price range don't look as good as the LG LT16385PL
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Almost exactly what I expected

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fridge is beautiful, just like the photo online. I love the stylish handles. It is also taller and shallower than my last fridge which fits into my kitchen better.
I read reviews from other people that stated the light inside is not the greatest, sort of dark. This is true--it is darker inside than my last fridge, but I don't mind it too much as the lights appear to be LED and will probably outlive the fridge itself.
The only issue I have with this fridge is that it gets loud if you open it a lot. Looking around on the internet it looks like a lot of fridges these days are louder than past models. The sound is annoying, but only happens for 30 min or so after the door is open for extended periods of time.
If you need a simple fridge that looks nice and does not have any bells or whistles, I would recommend this.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from sacramento, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value for the money

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
fits nicely in a small space; I like the LED lighting
Pros: Easy to Clean, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Atascadero, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful fridge, but taller than advertised!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator is a beautiful color. I love the grey doors and sides. Love the lighting and the roomy interior, and it is quiet. My only complaint is that it is a full 71 inches in height!!! They advertise that it is 69 inches, so it did not fit in my kitchen. I had to have a contractor out to raise the overhead cabinet. What a surprise to find it taller than they said. It is also odd that the doors sit up higher than the top of the fridge. But overall it looks great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
Cons: too tall
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was what I was looking for and easy to buy and very convenient to delivery and install
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great fridge great price looks great

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great fridge for the price looks expensive this is going to be used for my bar fridge and it is an excellent choice love it but the led light inside are not the best very dark
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: lighting inside is not the best
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Kitty Hawk, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Other than the dim lighting, the product fits my needs perfectly

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Performance is great. The lighting is a little dim, but, it works great for my needs. Customer service with Home Depot was excellent along with the delivery.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: dim lighting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
from Chicago
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is the perfect unit

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The inside seemed much bigger than the advertized 15 cu.in. The unit looks pretty and modern, and it fits perfectly into an older home with its small size refrigerator space alotment. We are very happy that we found it on the website, even though the handle dimensions were mixed up. It is perfect!
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 15.7 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Platinum Finish
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5