728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Tomahawk Axe in Black

The new Estwing Black Eagle tools are designed for the sportsman, serious professionals, and military. The lightweight design makes them easy to carry, perfectly balanced, weighted and built to last. Designed and made in the USA and forged out of one piece American steel. These tools have the world famous and patented Estwing Shock Reduction Grip. The grip which reduces vibration up to 70% is bonded on and will not come off. This Tomahawk style axe is perfect for cutting, trenching, digging, excavation, and operations including breaching, extrications. These axes are the worlds best. Protect your eyes from flying particles and dust. Always wear safety goggles. Bystanders shall also wear safety goggles.
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Review 1 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Washington
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Hawk For The Price!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I originally purchased the one with the leather washer handle. I use it when I go backcountry hammock/tarp camping. I saw the local Home Depot had the black in stock and snagged one up. I keep it in my truck.
These are a great buy for yourself or a friend. They are well made and just plain fun.
A huge plus is they're made in the USA. As an Infantry Veteran that pleases me. Tomahawks have a special place in the hearts of Infantryman.
The only downside is the sheath. I'd love to see a kydex or leather sheath available.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: the sheath
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Bridgeport, West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THE ULTIMATE TOMAHAWK!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like most working folks, I want the best quality and value for my money, and THE HOME DEPOT offers top-notch tools and materials every time. I purchased my Estwing (Black Eagle) Tomahawk in-store for $39.98 and couldn't stop looking at it until I had to hand it over to the clerk for check out. I had no doubts about its quality, it's an Estwing product, the name speaks for itself, and like all the other tools I have purchaed at THD over the years I knew it was going to last. Sure enough, I scored again, this tomahawk is made above-and-beyond in terms of quality and materials. The nylon sheath fits the head of the tool very snug and can be carried on a wide military-style belt, the handle prevents shock and stress from tiring out my hand and wrist, and the overall product is just one exceptional piece of work. The cutting head and the spiked end were covered by a thick black rubber shield to protect the tool on the shelf and during handling, and they can be used again after being removed. I have spent a lot of money on tools of similar design, but the Estwing Tomahawk is by far the best at only a fraction of the cost. This tomahawk is pure business, there's no cosmetic eye-candy, it isn't for hanging on the mantle for display --- it's for hanging on your belt and taking to a demolition project or a trek in the woods. Plus it could serve as a life-saving tool to keep around in the event of an emergency. I expect that our amazing American soldiers will be carrying these before long, it could help them very much. Thank you for your time and buy with confidence from THE HOME DEPOT (online or in-store). God bless America and God bless the fine working folks that keep our country going.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, made in the united states of america
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from East Hartford
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked great on the ice dams,

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The past winter has left an ice dam situation on many of my northern exposed roofs, this tool proved to be light enough to use for hours and not fatigue the operator. They were able to control the swings and reduce or eliminate the potential damage to the roof
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from concord nh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tomahawk axe

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this great for camping and home splitting small wood for fire
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Nice

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is the high quality that is expected from a estwing product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Southeastern US
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Estwing is Estwing

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been looking for a few pieces of equipment to fill out my "go bag" and I ran across this in searching for a sheath for my Estwing campers axe. This was the last item on the shelf but since I was already there, I picked it up along with one other item.
Negative - slight chips in paint on pick end of axe. With normal sharpening as some might do, this should be taken care of easily.
Positive - Great workmanship in this tomahawk. This is the first one I've picked up, and if others are as they say, with fiberglass/plastic handles, this will be hard to beat in future tomahawk purchases. Full length steel body only exudes quality.
Purchased to complete "go bag" items. Primary use will hopefully be never but if needed will use for trenching, clearing small areas and in a worst case scenario seems like it would handle breaking glass or popping a door open to get out of a building in a hurry fairly well.
I would definitely recommend this as a "go" or "bug out" bag item.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Killeen, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent axe for the price

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for a friend deploying to Afghanistan. I knew he wanted a good quality tomahawk and after reading up on them I chose the Estwing. He was quite impressed with it and I am glad I could do this small thing for him. As for the quality, we'll have to wait till he returns to see, but I have faith it will not fail him when he needs it.
The shipping was very fast, the price was good and Home Depot even gave me a small discount when I explained who it was for. Thank you for that.
The only thing I would improve on it is the sheath, which seemed rather large and cumbersome to release the axe quickly.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the sheath needs reworked
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Washington state
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new favorite woods tool

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is tougher than woodpecker lips. I bought a SOG VooDoo Hawk and then this thing. I immediately sold the SOG to a friend. For the price, it cannot be beat. It's made here in America and its cheaper than a half plastic SOG. I used it on a camping trip recently and it outperformed my Estwing hatchet as far as being multifunction. The spike comes in handy when digging a fire pit too. I carry this thing everywhere in the truck with me. Just buy one already!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

These are a field archaeologists's dream!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a field archaeologist working through some of the densest thickets imaginable, I have nothing but good things to say about this axe. It is light and maneuverable in VERY tight conditions and is completely dependable. Please keep in mind my purpose in life is to move across country most folks would say is impossible to penetrate, but my axe has no problem clearing a way through the underbrush. I've found it to be easy carry (on an improvised belt loop), light, unobtrusive, and very handy. All in all, to me this axe is an indispensable tool
that makes my life in the field that much more comfortable.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Central Florida Swamp and Scrub
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Tomahawk feels real good in my hand,"Solid Steel" Wooden handle hawks break when ur life is at stake

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Hawk would be a great thrower. I prefer to throw my wooden handle Hawks . ESTWING R Made in U.S.A. and not a flea market toy .I would take it on any camping or outing but put a leather or nylon cord through the handle and a good belt so you don't lose it .Keep the sheath provided for practicing and wear a helmet and leather till you get use to the weight when working out.This is a true piece of art
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Good Shape, make yourself a field sheath, sharp enough till you get use to it .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Excellent tomahawk.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are looking for a very well-made, strong, and useful tool, you have found it. As far as tomahawks go, I don't think you will find a more durable and reliable one as this. Out of the box: sharp edge, great feel and weight, and as with all Estwing hammers...awesome grip. Splits wood very well, and a great thrower. The sheath is great for what it's worth. 5 out of 5.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Fresno, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent quality for the money.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've got a few tomahawks. This axe comes from Estwing, a name I trust. For the price, I'd easily compare it to comparable models at twice the price. Solid construction. Well made. Great for camping, demo and tactical applications. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from NE Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Price, Made in the USA

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son was interested in a hawk, or small hatchet. I like this one especially because it was made in the USA and the price was right.
Pros: Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Estwing

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product , made in USA and better than similar product at Gander Mtn. & Cabella's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Fairview, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
when i saw that Estwing was coming out with a Tomahawk I could not wait for stores to start selling them. I found that HomeDepot.com was selling them so I ordered one. I found it to be as high of quality as the Other Estwing products i own. It goes to show you that the Good Old USA can still beat anybody when it comes to quality.
Its not that light but its all steel with a comfortable handle that you can hold tight and it will not slip out of your hand like some of the other tactical tomahawks with the hard slippery handle. it also had a nice edge for a working tool
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from southern indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality and value,balanced, light weight yet very strong lifetime quality

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
meet all expectations and more, ordered for home delivery, received item very quickly because it was shipped so fast
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

From a Combat Vet- Best Tomahawk I've Ever Owned!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used $600 tomahawks and I've used $10 hatchets. For a combat breaching 'hawk, this is the best one I have ever used. Not only is it very affordable, but it is better than most $600 tomahawks. Why? Because it is made in America from a solid piece of stee, and from bit to hilt, this thing is SOLID. It isn't two pieces attached together... it is a solid piece of steel all the way through the handle (which is covered in rubber to keep it from slipping... a GREAT feature). The pick end is shaped so that if you leverage it into someone or something in close quarters battle, it will come out without much resistance allowing you to "finish the fight" instead of losing your 'hawk in the process by getting it stuck. The blade portion is very sturdy and not overly sharp, which is what you want in a 'hawk. That keeps the blade from going dull too quickly or bending/curling as you use it for breaching activities. It's not too heavy, but this isn't a throwing 'hawk. This is a combat/utility 'hawk meant to be used for breaching and CQB. Even the nylon sheath that the 'hawk comes with is well made. This is a product that is so well-made and so well-priced for what it is that one shouldn't turn this product down if they're serious about owning a "combat 'hawk". With a $600 'hawk, I'm afraid of breaking it or damaging it... and when one does end up damaging it, it's a great loss. With the Estwing 'hawk, I go to town on something and it doesn't even wear at all, and even if I COULD break it, it wouldn't hurt my wallet so badly that I would worry about it. This thing is a beast and so useful. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Great Value
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Yorktown Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Little Axe

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was bought for a small camp axe vs taking a wooden handled cruising axe. It is light which requires a bit more skill to use to split campfire wood - dont expect to split logs with it as it does not have the weight nor the heft of larger axes. I purchased just for a lightweight camp axe and for that it didnot disappoint me. The solid forging is a plus as you can strike the handle with another small log as you would use a splitting wedge and not worry about damaging it like you would a wooden handled one. Also the head does not work loose over time requiring you to reset the wedges. Another plus is...if left out overnight (like I did with a wooden handle one in Maine) you dont have to worry about the Porcupines or other small sized creatures chowing down on the handle. It is a good light weight axe and it suited the exact purpose for which it was purchased.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tomahawk!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding construction and quality - great for all kinds of tasks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The head wont fly off like other brands with plastic or wood handles. Solid one piece metal design. Destroys wood better than some expensive hatchets. Spike penetrates metal with ease.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>