728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Tomahawk Axe in Black

The new Estwing Black Eagle tools are designed for the sportsman, serious professionals, and military. The lightweight design makes them easy to carry, perfectly balanced, weighted and built to last. Designed and made in the USA and forged out of one piece American steel. These tools have the world famous and patented Estwing Shock Reduction Grip. The grip which reduces vibration up to 70% is bonded on and will not come off. This Tomahawk style axe is perfect for cutting, trenching, digging, excavation, and operations including breaching, extrications. These axes are the worlds best. Protect your eyes from flying particles and dust. Always wear safety goggles. Bystanders shall also wear safety goggles.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product32 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product32 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Review 1 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

These are a field archaeologists's dream!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a field archaeologist working through some of the densest thickets imaginable, I have nothing but good things to say about this axe. It is light and maneuverable in VERY tight conditions and is completely dependable. Please keep in mind my purpose in life is to move across country most folks would say is impossible to penetrate, but my axe has no problem clearing a way through the underbrush. I've found it to be easy carry (on an improvised belt loop), light, unobtrusive, and very handy. All in all, to me this axe is an indispensable tool
that makes my life in the field that much more comfortable.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Southeastern US
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Estwing is Estwing

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a few pieces of equipment to fill out my "go bag" and I ran across this in searching for a sheath for my Estwing campers axe. This was the last item on the shelf but since I was already there, I picked it up along with one other item.
Negative - slight chips in paint on pick end of axe. With normal sharpening as some might do, this should be taken care of easily.
Positive - Great workmanship in this tomahawk. This is the first one I've picked up, and if others are as they say, with fiberglass/plastic handles, this will be hard to beat in future tomahawk purchases. Full length steel body only exudes quality.
Purchased to complete "go bag" items. Primary use will hopefully be never but if needed will use for trenching, clearing small areas and in a worst case scenario seems like it would handle breaking glass or popping a door open to get out of a building in a hurry fairly well.
I would definitely recommend this as a "go" or "bug out" bag item.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Washington
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Hawk For The Price!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally purchased the one with the leather washer handle. I use it when I go backcountry hammock/tarp camping. I saw the local Home Depot had the black in stock and snagged one up. I keep it in my truck.
These are a great buy for yourself or a friend. They are well made and just plain fun.
A huge plus is they're made in the USA. As an Infantry Veteran that pleases me. Tomahawks have a special place in the hearts of Infantryman.
The only downside is the sheath. I'd love to see a kydex or leather sheath available.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: the sheath
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Yorktown Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Little Axe

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was bought for a small camp axe vs taking a wooden handled cruising axe. It is light which requires a bit more skill to use to split campfire wood - dont expect to split logs with it as it does not have the weight nor the heft of larger axes. I purchased just for a lightweight camp axe and for that it didnot disappoint me. The solid forging is a plus as you can strike the handle with another small log as you would use a splitting wedge and not worry about damaging it like you would a wooden handled one. Also the head does not work loose over time requiring you to reset the wedges. Another plus is...if left out overnight (like I did with a wooden handle one in Maine) you dont have to worry about the Porcupines or other small sized creatures chowing down on the handle. It is a good light weight axe and it suited the exact purpose for which it was purchased.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from southern indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality and value,balanced, light weight yet very strong lifetime quality

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
meet all expectations and more, ordered for home delivery, received item very quickly because it was shipped so fast
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Washington state
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new favorite woods tool

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is tougher than woodpecker lips. I bought a SOG VooDoo Hawk and then this thing. I immediately sold the SOG to a friend. For the price, it cannot be beat. It's made here in America and its cheaper than a half plastic SOG. I used it on a camping trip recently and it outperformed my Estwing hatchet as far as being multifunction. The spike comes in handy when digging a fire pit too. I carry this thing everywhere in the truck with me. Just buy one already!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Central Florida Swamp and Scrub
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Tomahawk feels real good in my hand,"Solid Steel" Wooden handle hawks break when ur life is at stake

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Hawk would be a great thrower. I prefer to throw my wooden handle Hawks . ESTWING R Made in U.S.A. and not a flea market toy .I would take it on any camping or outing but put a leather or nylon cord through the handle and a good belt so you don't lose it .Keep the sheath provided for practicing and wear a helmet and leather till you get use to the weight when working out.This is a true piece of art
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Good Shape, make yourself a field sheath, sharp enough till you get use to it .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

woods tool

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well balanced tool that performs as adveertised. Easy carry for yard work, camp wood, brush clearing.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Killeen, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent axe for the price

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friend deploying to Afghanistan. I knew he wanted a good quality tomahawk and after reading up on them I chose the Estwing. He was quite impressed with it and I am glad I could do this small thing for him. As for the quality, we'll have to wait till he returns to see, but I have faith it will not fail him when he needs it.
The shipping was very fast, the price was good and Home Depot even gave me a small discount when I explained who it was for. Thank you for that.
The only thing I would improve on it is the sheath, which seemed rather large and cumbersome to release the axe quickly.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the sheath needs reworked
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best product for the price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a inexpensive tactical tomahawk and Home Depot had exactly what I was searching for at a very economical price.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Excellent tomahawk.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a very well-made, strong, and useful tool, you have found it. As far as tomahawks go, I don't think you will find a more durable and reliable one as this. Out of the box: sharp edge, great feel and weight, and as with all Estwing hammers...awesome grip. Splits wood very well, and a great thrower. The sheath is great for what it's worth. 5 out of 5.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

From a Combat Vet- Best Tomahawk I've Ever Owned!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used $600 tomahawks and I've used $10 hatchets. For a combat breaching 'hawk, this is the best one I have ever used. Not only is it very affordable, but it is better than most $600 tomahawks. Why? Because it is made in America from a solid piece of stee, and from bit to hilt, this thing is SOLID. It isn't two pieces attached together... it is a solid piece of steel all the way through the handle (which is covered in rubber to keep it from slipping... a GREAT feature). The pick end is shaped so that if you leverage it into someone or something in close quarters battle, it will come out without much resistance allowing you to "finish the fight" instead of losing your 'hawk in the process by getting it stuck. The blade portion is very sturdy and not overly sharp, which is what you want in a 'hawk. That keeps the blade from going dull too quickly or bending/curling as you use it for breaching activities. It's not too heavy, but this isn't a throwing 'hawk. This is a combat/utility 'hawk meant to be used for breaching and CQB. Even the nylon sheath that the 'hawk comes with is well made. This is a product that is so well-made and so well-priced for what it is that one shouldn't turn this product down if they're serious about owning a "combat 'hawk". With a $600 'hawk, I'm afraid of breaking it or damaging it... and when one does end up damaging it, it's a great loss. With the Estwing 'hawk, I go to town on something and it doesn't even wear at all, and even if I COULD break it, it wouldn't hurt my wallet so badly that I would worry about it. This thing is a beast and so useful. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Great Value
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Fairview, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
when i saw that Estwing was coming out with a Tomahawk I could not wait for stores to start selling them. I found that HomeDepot.com was selling them so I ordered one. I found it to be as high of quality as the Other Estwing products i own. It goes to show you that the Good Old USA can still beat anybody when it comes to quality.
Its not that light but its all steel with a comfortable handle that you can hold tight and it will not slip out of your hand like some of the other tactical tomahawks with the hard slippery handle. it also had a nice edge for a working tool
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Macon, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was great!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was exactly what i wanted great length and weight!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: the eagle logo should be engraved
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from lincoln NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FAST and Light, A GREAT CHOPPER.

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Slap on a pair of gloves, and lets have some fun. All the young unwanted saplings from last year are gone in about an hours fun. 1 1/2 inch and green wood cut through in just a swing. 2 inch would cut about 3/4 way then start a split down to the ground. by the 2nd sweep gone! The hawk is so light that what it lacks in sharpness it makes up in power and speed.
Pros: Strong, Light Weight
Cons: not the sharpest tool in the shed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Excellent tool

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for. Buy one, you'll like it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tomahawk!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding construction and quality - great for all kinds of tasks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Asheville NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I scoured the internet for a good hawk and various reviews led me to this baby. Made in the USA, Full metal construction and Estwing quality. I beat this thing to death and its keeps alive. Not super sharp but definitely gets the job done. Probably going to buy another to keep in the truck full time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

neat

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Watched a few videos on product, and have many tomawaks. This one is better built than high end products
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not to bad

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
not a bad tomahawk would like to see a longer beard seems cut not chop very well but overall a good product
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>