728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hammers, Mallets, & Sledge Hammers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black

Tomahawk Axe in Black

The new Estwing Black Eagle tools are designed for the sportsman, serious professionals, and military. The lightweight design makes them easy to carry, perfectly balanced, weighted and built to last. Designed and made in the USA and forged out of one piece American steel. These tools have the world famous and patented Estwing Shock Reduction Grip. The grip which reduces vibration up to 70% is bonded on and will not come off. This Tomahawk style axe is perfect for cutting, trenching, digging, excavation, and operations including breaching, extrications. These axes are the worlds best. Protect your eyes from flying particles and dust. Always wear safety goggles. Bystanders shall also wear safety goggles.
Overall rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Review 1 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Cledus
from Washington state
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new favorite woods tool

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is tougher than woodpecker lips. I bought a SOG VooDoo Hawk and then this thing. I immediately sold the SOG to a friend. For the price, it cannot be beat. It's made here in America and its cheaper than a half plastic SOG. I used it on a camping trip recently and it outperformed my Estwing hatchet as far as being multifunction. The spike comes in handy when digging a fire pit too. I carry this thing everywhere in the truck with me. Just buy one already!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Will
from Macon, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was great!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was exactly what i wanted great length and weight!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: the eagle logo should be engraved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Superman

From a Combat Vet- Best Tomahawk I've Ever Owned!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used $600 tomahawks and I've used $10 hatchets. For a combat breaching 'hawk, this is the best one I have ever used. Not only is it very affordable, but it is better than most $600 tomahawks. Why? Because it is made in America from a solid piece of stee, and from bit to hilt, this thing is SOLID. It isn't two pieces attached together... it is a solid piece of steel all the way through the handle (which is covered in rubber to keep it from slipping... a GREAT feature). The pick end is shaped so that if you leverage it into someone or something in close quarters battle, it will come out without much resistance allowing you to "finish the fight" instead of losing your 'hawk in the process by getting it stuck. The blade portion is very sturdy and not overly sharp, which is what you want in a 'hawk. That keeps the blade from going dull too quickly or bending/curling as you use it for breaching activities. It's not too heavy, but this isn't a throwing 'hawk. This is a combat/utility 'hawk meant to be used for breaching and CQB. Even the nylon sheath that the 'hawk comes with is well made. This is a product that is so well-made and so well-priced for what it is that one shouldn't turn this product down if they're serious about owning a "combat 'hawk". With a $600 'hawk, I'm afraid of breaking it or damaging it... and when one does end up damaging it, it's a great loss. With the Estwing 'hawk, I go to town on something and it doesn't even wear at all, and even if I COULD break it, it wouldn't hurt my wallet so badly that I would worry about it. This thing is a beast and so useful. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Great Value
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Stormy
from Central Florida Swamp and Scrub
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Tomahawk feels real good in my hand,"Solid Steel" Wooden handle hawks break when ur life is at stake

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Hawk would be a great thrower. I prefer to throw my wooden handle Hawks . ESTWING R Made in U.S.A. and not a flea market toy .I would take it on any camping or outing but put a leather or nylon cord through the handle and a good belt so you don't lose it .Keep the sheath provided for practicing and wear a helmet and leather till you get use to the weight when working out.This is a true piece of art
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Good Shape, make yourself a field sheath, sharp enough till you get use to it .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Crawdaddy

Excellent tool

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for. Buy one, you'll like it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
ChrisZ
from lincoln NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FAST and Light, A GREAT CHOPPER.

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Slap on a pair of gloves, and lets have some fun. All the young unwanted saplings from last year are gone in about an hours fun. 1 1/2 inch and green wood cut through in just a swing. 2 inch would cut about 3/4 way then start a split down to the ground. by the 2nd sweep gone! The hawk is so light that what it lacks in sharpness it makes up in power and speed.
Pros: Strong, Light Weight
Cons: not the sharpest tool in the shed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
ArmyofOne
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tomahawk!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding construction and quality - great for all kinds of tasks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Blades

Excellent tomahawk.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a very well-made, strong, and useful tool, you have found it. As far as tomahawks go, I don't think you will find a more durable and reliable one as this. Out of the box: sharp edge, great feel and weight, and as with all Estwing hammers...awesome grip. Splits wood very well, and a great thrower. The sheath is great for what it's worth. 5 out of 5.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Crux
from Killeen, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent axe for the price

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friend deploying to Afghanistan. I knew he wanted a good quality tomahawk and after reading up on them I chose the Estwing. He was quite impressed with it and I am glad I could do this small thing for him. As for the quality, we'll have to wait till he returns to see, but I have faith it will not fail him when he needs it.
The shipping was very fast, the price was good and Home Depot even gave me a small discount when I explained who it was for. Thank you for that.
The only thing I would improve on it is the sheath, which seemed rather large and cumbersome to release the axe quickly.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the sheath needs reworked
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
BuckNasty
from Asheville NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I scoured the internet for a good hawk and various reviews led me to this baby. Made in the USA, Full metal construction and Estwing quality. I beat this thing to death and its keeps alive. Not super sharp but definitely gets the job done. Probably going to buy another to keep in the truck full time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
DLamp4401
from Fairview, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
when i saw that Estwing was coming out with a Tomahawk I could not wait for stores to start selling them. I found that HomeDepot.com was selling them so I ordered one. I found it to be as high of quality as the Other Estwing products i own. It goes to show you that the Good Old USA can still beat anybody when it comes to quality.
Its not that light but its all steel with a comfortable handle that you can hold tight and it will not slip out of your hand like some of the other tactical tomahawks with the hard slippery handle. it also had a nice edge for a working tool
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Chance
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product...After re-working the hawk

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item received was rough, very rough with forge marks. Fortunately, I work in a place with a machine shop. after a couple of hours of work and a new finish it looks like it should out of the factory. What a shame Estwing put so little effort into something with such great potential.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: very very rough, needs "tlc"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
TexasBornCaliStationed

Awesome Tomahawk

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The head wont fly off like other brands with plastic or wood handles. Solid one piece metal design. Destroys wood better than some expensive hatchets. Spike penetrates metal with ease.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
quietpeeps
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

neat

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Watched a few videos on product, and have many tomawaks. This one is better built than high end products
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
frank
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not to bad

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
not a bad tomahawk would like to see a longer beard seems cut not chop very well but overall a good product
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
blankthree
from Hurricane, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saaw several people rate highly on the estwing tomahawk, so I bought one to see how it did. After a good sharpening, The tool cut really well and made shoet work of some branches I had to trim. Great tool, great value and American Made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
GM88
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Axe for the money!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking at several brands, I stayed with Estwing because of their quality and reputation.
I made some adjustments to make this the ultimate camping/survival/zombie killing tool you can find.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Strongsafe

Solid

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tomahawk has surpassed SOG tools for it's durability. It seems lighter than other forged head hawks I have had, but still able to deliver good heavy blows. It has a grip that does a good job reducing shock. Overall I am very satisfied.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
Xtragg

Best Tomahawk I've seen.

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one strong Tomahawk! Its got a utility edge like a new camp axe would have but I plan to sharpen mine slightly more. I haven't seen anything better of its kind anywhere under $150 but that's just my opinion. A pretty good, black synthetic sheath is included.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomahawk Axe in Black
benji
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tomahawk, Great Price

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as far as value is concerned, I think you would be tough to find any competitor in the same ballpark. it is a full tang tomahawk at a reasonable price. can't go wrong. nylon sheath is very stout and protective, the belt loop seems a bit tight, but probably wont' have it belt mounted much.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>