728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Like attachments for gas-powered trimmers, Ryobi Connexion Attachments connect to the upper half of your 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless Ryobi product. This Connexion Edger is the perfect solution for tidying up your edges after mowing. Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool, and you're ready to go. The Connexion Edger features a 9 in. serrated blade and 4-position depth adjustment to help you get just the right cut along your driveway or walkway. All backed by a 3 year warranty, the Connexion Edger is a ready to help you get the most out of your 24-Volt/40-Volt Ryobi tool collection.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product89 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(51)
4
(37)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product89 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Review 1 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Biloxi, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SOOOOO much better than dragging a cord around

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer also connects to the 40 volt trimmer and I could not be happier with this purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: wish there was a trimmer edger blower package
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Inkster, Mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Satisfactory Product

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It works ok but if your lawn has not been edged before, the first time you edge will be laborious. Also it is quite a challenge for the 24 volt system. It still beats lugging 100 feet of extension cord around or fumbling with temperamental 2 cycle engines. Lithium technology is great but still is in need of more development to challenge the power of gas powered engines
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: poorly suited for a 24 volt system
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Battery powered yard tool

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ryobi Edger Attachment, Model RY40030A, SKU 203766198. Received through the Home Depot Seeds program.
The Ryobi RY40030A is an attachment tool that operates with either the Ryobi 24 volt, or 40 volt family of yard tools. The attachment connects to a “power control handle” that incorporates a variable speed control switch, and a battery holder. I currently have the control handle from the Ryobi 24 volt string trimmer (Model RY24021), which uses the 24 volt power handle (Model RY24001). Other “attachments” are available that operate with either 24 Volt or 40 Volt Power handles.
The edger attachment connects to the power handle with a quick screw-on coupling. This connects the power connections to the edger motor assembly at the base. This also provides the “mechanical connection” between the to assemblies. When “coupled” they be come one tool. The combined unit is a battery powered edger.
The tool is about 60 inches in total length, and weighs about 10 pounds with the battery attached. The supplied edger blade is 9 inches long, and is connected to the motor through a gear reduction set. This size edger blade is about the same size and type that I have on my gasoline edger. There are two plastic wheels that are attached to the blade guard’s motor side. The two support wheels, one of which is installed on a adjustment lever for blade depth setting, more on this below. This allows the rear most wheel to set the depth that the blade cuts below surface of the sidewalk. The two wheels ride on the sidewalk or driveway while you trim the grass at the edge. The rear adjustment wheel has four depth settings, that range from ~1.3 inches to 1.5 inches below the surface of the sidewalk or driveway surface. This is a very limited adjustment range over the 4 positions. I took two pictures of the measurement of the blade depth below the reference plane of the two wheels. One picture for the position-1 and one for the position-4 I used a rubber-band stretched between the two wheels to establish the reference of the rolling surface, and a ruler to measure the distance from this point to the tip of the edger blade. The manual for the edger seems to indicate that the depth of cut can be adjusted from ~1/2 inch to ~2 inches or more. Based on the simple measurements I made on this unit, about the shallowest depth I could set in position 4, was 1.3 inches. The deepest blade setting was about 1.5 inches. I would prefer a shallower setting to reduce the dirt removal while edging. There is no guide plate to keep the trimmer blade away from the edge of the sidewalk, you have to let the rotating blade scrape the edge of the sidewalk as it spins. This will produce more wear on the blade. (A replaceable guide plate would be nice to have on this edger)
The edger comes with a wrench, and a locking “pin” for use in changing blades. The locking pin is passed through a hole in the blade drive shaft, and rests in a slot in the metal collar of the gear box. The pin prevents the shaft from rotating while you loosen or tighten the nut on the blade shaft during blade changes, simple but effective.
Observations; I have been using both the Ryobi 18 volt and 24 volt string trimmers for several years now. Moving from a Gasoline powered string trimmer to a battery powered one about four or five years ago. The battery powered tools are not as powerful, but they are a lot more convent. Getting away from mixing gas and oil, changing oil, and the cranking and yanking on 2-cycle and 4-cycle engines is nice. For a typical average size yard, that is maintained, battery tools are nice. Install a charged battery and off you go ! No extension cords to deal with, and generally a couple of fully charged batteries will do most yards. I can generally edge my yard on one fully charged battery. The OP242, 24 Volt batteries are rated at 56 watt hours, or about 2.3 Ah @ 24 Vdc. The OP242 has a built in LED charge indicator to quickly check the charge level. The batteries seem to fully charge in about an hour.
Other advantages with battery tools are lower noise, lighter weight, easier handling, no exhaust fumes, and no fuel to store or mix. If you have a thick overgrown area to cut, or you do commercial work, they probably will not meet your needs. As to performance the edger seems to work reasonably well. It will throw up dirt and debris as will any edger of this type. It is advisable to use safety glasses when operating this type of tool, and keep bystanders some distance away. Small stones can really sting if you get hit by them. Yes, the edger is not a powerful as a gasoline powered one, but if you keep your yard trimmed on a regular basis, you don’t need as much power, and a battery tool will generally perform well, with less hassle.
As to durability, time will tell. The edger attachment as well as the power handle has a three year warranty. The edger attachment appears to be of similar construction as the string trimmer attachment. I hope this information has been useful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store, good battery life.
Cons: blade adj limited.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
45out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I only wanted a battery powered edger. But I had to buy a string trimmer attachment with the power pack in order to get the power pack. The edger and power pack work fine and there is plenty of power in the battery to do the small edging projects around the house. But now I've got a string trimmer attachment (about $80) that I don't need. I don't like the fact that I had to purchase the power pack along with the trimmer and then separately buy the edger attachment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful
Cons: had to purchase an unwanted attachment
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only compatible with one of the 40 volt trimmers, Model # RY40201A

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
FYI: This edger only fits one of the 40 volt trimmer models (Model # RY40201A; the model with the rotating trimmer head that doubles as an edger). Note the grey coupling on the trimmer and edger, these are compatible models. There is a newer model of the 40 volt trimmer with an older style connection (Model # RY40220) and it requires the orange handled edger. Check the connector for an easy way to make sure it is really compatible. I just bought the newest 40 volt trimmer and this edger from Homedepot.com because the local store didn't carry either of these only to unpack them and realize, they are not compatible. Same description above (" Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool and you're ready to go.") is what I based my purchase on and it's on the HomeDepot.com site. I contacted Ryobi and they apologized for the misleading descriptions and for making the colors the same for non-compatible products. Not that color is a huge part of the evaluation but when a new line is touted as being "compatible" it plays a part.I think Homedepot and Ryobi need to be more clear on which trimmer and which attachments are compatible since they have two products in the same line using the same battery but with unique internals requiring different attachments. You'd think the newest models would be compatible with each other but it's totally different.
Rating was based on general experience with these models as I returned edger for it's counterpart that fits my trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, description of compatibility inaccurate misleadin
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Brigantine, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Edger Attachment

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Overall, the Edger attachment is a nice item. I edged my drivewall and side walk with a full battery and ending with one bar left on the battery, so the attachment does use alot more juice than the weedwacker attachment. It did a great job edging but the blade did wear down alot after one use...overall satisfied cause it did what it was ment to do, the only cons I have for this attachment is that the blade will bog down and stop for a few seconds if its having a hard time edging, it drains the battery pretty fast, and the blade worn done as well after one use (maybe poor steel quality). I do love however have the Ryobi One do multiple tasks with an ease to swap out the attachments.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: bogs down, drains battery, blade wears down fast
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Mount Dora
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment 40-VOLT AND 24-VOLT CORDLESS EDGER ATTACHMENT

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This exchangeable part is an excellent addition to the trimmer, this way you can cut the clutter by having one unit with interchangeable accessories a great idea. The edger attachment is also of high quality and easy to connect and disconnect, saving you lots of time. The metal blade is 100% better that string edgers, leaving the garden with a professional look.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Jefferson City, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This year I decided to try the Ryobi 40V Lithium trimmer because I was tired of buying a cheap 2 Cycle, and wearing my arms out pulling the string. I was reluctant at first, but was very impressed. I bought this Edger attachment, and boy did it do great. I did have to hold trigger to get it going before putting it to ground, but no problems edging around my flower beds. I would recommend the Ryobi 40V Lithium products to anyone tired of dealing with pulling a string.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Owasso, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product works well.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the trimmer/edger first and it worked so well I purchased the edger attachment. The edger attachment works great and is easy to use. My lot is 1/2 ac., fenced on 3 sides with a 3000 sq. ft. house on it. I trim around the house, 5 trees, 2 flower beds, 4 sides of the fence and edge 200 ft. of sidewalk and driveway and the battery still show 1/2 charge when finished, so I ordered the 40 volt blower as I am tired of hauling out my 100 Ft extension cord. I expect it in shortly. I hope it works as good as the other 2 tools. I am sure I can complete the trimming, edging and blowing the clippings of the sidewalks and driveway on one charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy, needs shoulder strap
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40V Ryobi Edger attchment

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well I bought the Ryobi Edger attachment on line at the HD and I got to use it for just a few minutes until the Ryobi head went bad for my 40v weed eater (I have had it over a year) HD replaced with a whole new weed eater and power head and the edger works great with it so far. I am not to crazy about the weed eater it will not release the line properly I wish they would fix this problem, but the edger is awsome...
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy this edger.

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this attachment and after one year of use the motor and boom started smoking and died. I took the edger to an authorized Ryobi service center. They informed me that a 1 year life is about all you can expect from new Ryobi edgers. After waiting 3 months I still do not have an edger because Ryobi has not provided replacement parts. They carry no inventory of parts in the United States. Ryobi customer service said they will not provide a new replacement unit because that would mess up inventory. They will not provide a voucher nor will they reimburse me if I go to Home Depot to buy a new unit. The edger is a piece of junk and Ryobi could not care less about customer service. Forget their inventory. My inventory is messed up because I paid for a this edger to work and it does not!
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, easy to store because it is being repaired
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Edger With Trimmer Combo

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received this product through a shipment/online-order.
The box it comes in was very sturdy and easy to open.
When I got into the trimmer box, I was able to quickly assemble it. The trimmer requires three screws for the guard at the bottom of the pole. The trimmer half hooks up very easily to the power pole. Be sure to line up the sleeve and it pops into place with minimal effort. The product itself appears to be made of durable plastic at the base and some form of metal for the pole, but it is a bit bottom heavy. That may be an issue since the stick part is so light.
I also received the edger attachment for this product – which is what I was really wanting.
The battery I have is the 24 volt. From what others have said, the power you get from the 40 volt and the 24 volt is negligible in terms of power and has more to do with longevity of battery life. The trimmer comes with the battery and charger. It is a little larger than first anticipated. The charger is about 5 inches by 8 inches and about 5 inches tall. It uses a standard plug and comes with a charging indicator for powering on, charge, charging total, etc. Very nice for infrequent use if you ask me.
I don’t know how long this tool will last (according to other reviews of Ryobi products in the series), but I started my yard work after getting the battery charged (it took about 15 minutes out of the box). I first did the edge work. My home is about 290 feet total of edging. It took about 5-7 minutes max to do this. It does work quickly. But it does not have the same power as a gas edger. That said, I would recommend this for home use only and not for professional landscapers who want to maximize their time. That is because I found you do go slightly slower as you walk behind it than a gas edger.
One of the major benefits to edging with this product was that there were zero sparks from where the blade hit the cement sidewalk. Also, and obviously, there is no bending over to crank the edger up and turn it on; nor a gas smell on your hands! The device is all hand-held; which is another good aspect. Unlike the trimmer, this did not feel heavy at all. I like that. The only drawback that I had was that the blade at first kicked up a lot of dust! This was my fault. I had the wrong setting on for the blade depth. Once that was corrected, it went very smooth and gave a nice finished edge. It is not 100% the same as a gas powered blade cut, but I would put it surely in the 90% and up range.
After getting this done, I plugged the battery in to charge it while I mowed (about 30 minutes). When I was finished, I went to the battery and it was on full charge! So I exchanged poles and put the trimmer attachment on. I only did weed-eating for about 5 minutes. The exchange in the poles was really easy. All you do is plug one into the other and then screw on a “cap.” The trimmer does weigh a lot more than its corded counterpart. But you don’t have to fuss with a cord! That is worth it to me in a nutshell! I have never owned a gas trimmer, so I can’t make a comparison. It has a clean cut and it appears that you can either buy a refill of twine already made or take the time to roll your own coil. I have not done that since it is new, so I don’t know if that will be a bad thing or not just yet. It also has an edger component to it. But with it being just a coiled string that cuts the grass, I don’t see it lasting too long against cement. So if you are in a bind, sure, but I would not recommend doing that.
After completing the trimming, I plugged in the battery again and went and blew the grass to tidy up and watered/tamped some of the dirt down. This only took about 10 minutes and upon return the charge was complete again! The direction say that a full charge from a drained battery takes 2 hours, but for what I need it for, it was far less time than that!
If I were ever to purchase the mower in this series, I may also purchase a second battery and get the 40 volt. For now though, with only using it at home, I am very content with this product. And while not typically a fan of multifunctional products that you have to switch out attachments, this was a nice surprise. Very easy to use and more importantly – it worked!
As an aside, I am 6’4” so I was concerned about the pole length and the adjustability of the handle. This too was very easy to manipulate. No more sore back from hunching over and using a lawn tool!
Storage is a breeze. The handle folds up, so it’s just a pole!
The warranty on the product is for 3 years. If this product is like some of the other Ryobi reviews, you may need it, but as of today, I like this product… a lot!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: hard non-metal engine components
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly good edger

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical about the effectiveness of this edger, but it has worked great so far. I have now bought so many of these attachments from Ryobi, I'm going to have to get an extra battery. I am using the 40 volt system. The first time I used it, it took me longer, and it had to work harder. When the edger meets a certain amount (very high) of resistance, it will stop on its own. It keeps a good line and is really easy to use. The only complaint that i have is that it has a small guide wheel on the front. That wheel was off out of the box (fell off in shipping). It's held on by some kind of compression cap. Now it won't say on for more than about 10 feet of use. The back wheel works fine. I may call and get another cap and see if that holds.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great addition to 40v system

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The edger is lightweight, yet powerful. Does not use much power from the battery. Works great. Just what I needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Gender:Female

Great Edger Attachment

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This edger attachment has been a great enhancement to my Ryobi 40V Trimmer. The edger option on the trimmer (turning the head 90 degrees for edging) worked to an extent but the string always seemed to break quickly and the edge was never very clean. I eventually decided I needed a better edger and found this attachment and decided to try it out. I have never had cleaner looking edges on my lawn. I used to have a push edger that worked very well but this beats it by a long shot. My only complaint is that I wish it would edge about 1/2" deeper than it does. This is a minor complaint however because the overall performance of the edging attachment is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, clean edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good edger - 40v

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 40v has plenty of power. About as heavy as a gas powered unit. It takes time to get used to it spinning against the direction you are moving, but this also means it throws dirt in front of you and not on your legs.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Jacksonville Beach FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was skeptical at first due to some of the reviews I read online, but the product worked fine. It did exactly what I expected and was easy to use. I was able to edge about 100 lineal feet of tough grass, and barely impacted the charge of the 40V Lithium battery (not included in this purchase), it still had plenty left for weed whacking. It appears to be well made and a complement to the string trimmer. For the price it is a good value. So far, I am impressed at the Ryobi products which seem far better made and far superior to the Black and Decker junk I had before. It is unfortunate that B&D has done such a good job with their DeWalt line of tools but has not been a leader in this category.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Edmond, Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked for 5 minutes...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I know my review and the recommendation are contradictory but I first got interested in this edger when I borrowed my neighbors and I was very impressed with it. I purchased mined on-line and don't know if it was an exception but it worked for 5 minutes and then would not run. I tried it attaching it to my neighbor's Ryobi but it wouldn't work either. I will re-order and give it another try before I switch to another brand.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Works good.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I connected this to my 24V wire trimmer handle and worked fine. Only issue is that you need to ensure you let the blade "spin up" prior to starting your cutting. If not, the blade won't turn and your battery will show as depleted even though you know it's fully charged. I had to put the battery on the charger to "reset" it in order to continue. At first, I thought it was my battery, but I have 2 and both did this. As long as you let the blades spin before applying to ground, you're fine. If you hit something, you'll have thus problem. Not a deal breaker, but kinda annoying sometimes.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Pensacola Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I have only used this attachment once, the battery died and won't recharge, until I find out if the battery or charger is bad, I can't say if I would recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>