728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Like attachments for gas-powered trimmers, Ryobi Connexion Attachments connect to the upper half of your 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless Ryobi product. This Connexion Edger is the perfect solution for tidying up your edges after mowing. Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool, and you're ready to go. The Connexion Edger features a 9 in. serrated blade and 4-position depth adjustment to help you get just the right cut along your driveway or walkway. All backed by a 3 year warranty, the Connexion Edger is a ready to help you get the most out of your 24-Volt/40-Volt Ryobi tool collection.
Overall rating:
4.301 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product83 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(49)
4
(35)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product83 of 88reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Review 1 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only compatible with one of the 40 volt trimmers, Model # RY40201A

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
FYI: This edger only fits one of the 40 volt trimmer models (Model # RY40201A; the model with the rotating trimmer head that doubles as an edger). Note the grey coupling on the trimmer and edger, these are compatible models. There is a newer model of the 40 volt trimmer with an older style connection (Model # RY40220) and it requires the orange handled edger. Check the connector for an easy way to make sure it is really compatible. I just bought the newest 40 volt trimmer and this edger from Homedepot.com because the local store didn't carry either of these only to unpack them and realize, they are not compatible. Same description above (" Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool and you're ready to go.") is what I based my purchase on and it's on the HomeDepot.com site. I contacted Ryobi and they apologized for the misleading descriptions and for making the colors the same for non-compatible products. Not that color is a huge part of the evaluation but when a new line is touted as being "compatible" it plays a part.I think Homedepot and Ryobi need to be more clear on which trimmer and which attachments are compatible since they have two products in the same line using the same battery but with unique internals requiring different attachments. You'd think the newest models would be compatible with each other but it's totally different.
Rating was based on general experience with these models as I returned edger for it's counterpart that fits my trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, description of compatibility inaccurate misleadin
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Brigantine, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Edger Attachment

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, the Edger attachment is a nice item. I edged my drivewall and side walk with a full battery and ending with one bar left on the battery, so the attachment does use alot more juice than the weedwacker attachment. It did a great job edging but the blade did wear down alot after one use...overall satisfied cause it did what it was ment to do, the only cons I have for this attachment is that the blade will bog down and stop for a few seconds if its having a hard time edging, it drains the battery pretty fast, and the blade worn done as well after one use (maybe poor steel quality). I do love however have the Ryobi One do multiple tasks with an ease to swap out the attachments.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: bogs down, drains battery, blade wears down fast
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Battery powered yard tool

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ryobi Edger Attachment, Model RY40030A, SKU 203766198. Received through the Home Depot Seeds program.
The Ryobi RY40030A is an attachment tool that operates with either the Ryobi 24 volt, or 40 volt family of yard tools. The attachment connects to a “power control handle” that incorporates a variable speed control switch, and a battery holder. I currently have the control handle from the Ryobi 24 volt string trimmer (Model RY24021), which uses the 24 volt power handle (Model RY24001). Other “attachments” are available that operate with either 24 Volt or 40 Volt Power handles.
The edger attachment connects to the power handle with a quick screw-on coupling. This connects the power connections to the edger motor assembly at the base. This also provides the “mechanical connection” between the to assemblies. When “coupled” they be come one tool. The combined unit is a battery powered edger.
The tool is about 60 inches in total length, and weighs about 10 pounds with the battery attached. The supplied edger blade is 9 inches long, and is connected to the motor through a gear reduction set. This size edger blade is about the same size and type that I have on my gasoline edger. There are two plastic wheels that are attached to the blade guard’s motor side. The two support wheels, one of which is installed on a adjustment lever for blade depth setting, more on this below. This allows the rear most wheel to set the depth that the blade cuts below surface of the sidewalk. The two wheels ride on the sidewalk or driveway while you trim the grass at the edge. The rear adjustment wheel has four depth settings, that range from ~1.3 inches to 1.5 inches below the surface of the sidewalk or driveway surface. This is a very limited adjustment range over the 4 positions. I took two pictures of the measurement of the blade depth below the reference plane of the two wheels. One picture for the position-1 and one for the position-4 I used a rubber-band stretched between the two wheels to establish the reference of the rolling surface, and a ruler to measure the distance from this point to the tip of the edger blade. The manual for the edger seems to indicate that the depth of cut can be adjusted from ~1/2 inch to ~2 inches or more. Based on the simple measurements I made on this unit, about the shallowest depth I could set in position 4, was 1.3 inches. The deepest blade setting was about 1.5 inches. I would prefer a shallower setting to reduce the dirt removal while edging. There is no guide plate to keep the trimmer blade away from the edge of the sidewalk, you have to let the rotating blade scrape the edge of the sidewalk as it spins. This will produce more wear on the blade. (A replaceable guide plate would be nice to have on this edger)
The edger comes with a wrench, and a locking “pin” for use in changing blades. The locking pin is passed through a hole in the blade drive shaft, and rests in a slot in the metal collar of the gear box. The pin prevents the shaft from rotating while you loosen or tighten the nut on the blade shaft during blade changes, simple but effective.
Observations; I have been using both the Ryobi 18 volt and 24 volt string trimmers for several years now. Moving from a Gasoline powered string trimmer to a battery powered one about four or five years ago. The battery powered tools are not as powerful, but they are a lot more convent. Getting away from mixing gas and oil, changing oil, and the cranking and yanking on 2-cycle and 4-cycle engines is nice. For a typical average size yard, that is maintained, battery tools are nice. Install a charged battery and off you go ! No extension cords to deal with, and generally a couple of fully charged batteries will do most yards. I can generally edge my yard on one fully charged battery. The OP242, 24 Volt batteries are rated at 56 watt hours, or about 2.3 Ah @ 24 Vdc. The OP242 has a built in LED charge indicator to quickly check the charge level. The batteries seem to fully charge in about an hour.
Other advantages with battery tools are lower noise, lighter weight, easier handling, no exhaust fumes, and no fuel to store or mix. If you have a thick overgrown area to cut, or you do commercial work, they probably will not meet your needs. As to performance the edger seems to work reasonably well. It will throw up dirt and debris as will any edger of this type. It is advisable to use safety glasses when operating this type of tool, and keep bystanders some distance away. Small stones can really sting if you get hit by them. Yes, the edger is not a powerful as a gasoline powered one, but if you keep your yard trimmed on a regular basis, you don’t need as much power, and a battery tool will generally perform well, with less hassle.
As to durability, time will tell. The edger attachment as well as the power handle has a three year warranty. The edger attachment appears to be of similar construction as the string trimmer attachment. I hope this information has been useful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store, good battery life.
Cons: blade adj limited.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
39out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Edmond, Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked for 5 minutes...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I know my review and the recommendation are contradictory but I first got interested in this edger when I borrowed my neighbors and I was very impressed with it. I purchased mined on-line and don't know if it was an exception but it worked for 5 minutes and then would not run. I tried it attaching it to my neighbor's Ryobi but it wouldn't work either. I will re-order and give it another try before I switch to another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Tallahassee, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great attachment

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this worked impressively well. Because it was light and easy to handle , my wife took it out of my hands within a few minutes and proceed to edge 3/4 of an acre property. unit worked great
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Anna, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lawn tool

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just used the cordless edger attachment this morning, and I love it. this tool is a great addison to my lawn care gear.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi never dissapoints

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble, same power as the gas, no issues with the battery hook up, good life on the battery
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Cordless edger

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great! As good if not better than gas models. Does wear down the battery pretty quickly though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Owasso, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product works well.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the trimmer/edger first and it worked so well I purchased the edger attachment. The edger attachment works great and is easy to use. My lot is 1/2 ac., fenced on 3 sides with a 3000 sq. ft. house on it. I trim around the house, 5 trees, 2 flower beds, 4 sides of the fence and edge 200 ft. of sidewalk and driveway and the battery still show 1/2 charge when finished, so I ordered the 40 volt blower as I am tired of hauling out my 100 Ft extension cord. I expect it in shortly. I hope it works as good as the other 2 tools. I am sure I can complete the trimming, edging and blowing the clippings of the sidewalks and driveway on one charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy, needs shoulder strap
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Edger

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great just a little slow at start but done a great job at the end.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40V Ryobi Edger attchment

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well I bought the Ryobi Edger attachment on line at the HD and I got to use it for just a few minutes until the Ryobi head went bad for my 40v weed eater (I have had it over a year) HD replaced with a whole new weed eater and power head and the edger works great with it so far. I am not to crazy about the weed eater it will not release the line properly I wish they would fix this problem, but the edger is awsome...
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Jefferson City, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This year I decided to try the Ryobi 40V Lithium trimmer because I was tired of buying a cheap 2 Cycle, and wearing my arms out pulling the string. I was reluctant at first, but was very impressed. I bought this Edger attachment, and boy did it do great. I did have to hold trigger to get it going before putting it to ground, but no problems edging around my flower beds. I would recommend the Ryobi 40V Lithium products to anyone tired of dealing with pulling a string.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Gender:Female

Great Edger Attachment

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This edger attachment has been a great enhancement to my Ryobi 40V Trimmer. The edger option on the trimmer (turning the head 90 degrees for edging) worked to an extent but the string always seemed to break quickly and the edge was never very clean. I eventually decided I needed a better edger and found this attachment and decided to try it out. I have never had cleaner looking edges on my lawn. I used to have a push edger that worked very well but this beats it by a long shot. My only complaint is that I wish it would edge about 1/2" deeper than it does. This is a minor complaint however because the overall performance of the edging attachment is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, clean edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

awesome

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Takes a bit of getting used to but a great addition to the trimmer. Does well over half the trimming job since most of it is around gardens
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Mauriceville TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Edger!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very lightweight but gets the job done. We have a lot of driveway and sidewalks and this edger attachment works well. Leaves our property looking well-manicured. Made with a lot of plastic so its not meant to be tossed around but works well when handled with common sense.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: lots of plastic parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

it cuts Everything.. including toys.. Depth sticker upside down everyone

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
alrighty then.. this attachment works.. cuts fine regardless of what's in front of it.. (kid toy cut in half), Yes the shroud gets Snagged.. and I found out why, the Depth gauge sticker is on UpSide Down, so all of us are cutting at full depth when we think we are cutting at 1" and That is the loss of one star..
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: depth gauge sticker upside down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Florence, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This edger works great and is a much needed addition to my lawn tools

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is very easy to change from weed trimmer to edger and back. The 40 volt battery has plenty of power and lasts through 3 yard cuttings before I have to recharge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from kenner La
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

beats gas or electric by a mile

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to operate ,good feel,no gas,no cord to drag around saves time battery haslong charge
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

real good purchase

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble easy to use cuts well. review looks for to much info
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great the 1st time BUT......

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great the 1st and 2nd time but the 3rd time I used it.....broke! Stopped and a puff of smoke came out. Returned it. Not sure if I will get another one. Maybe? Could have been a bad one. Doing research before I buy another one. Was easy to use and it did a great job at first. I was excited and disappointed at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>