728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Like attachments for gas-powered trimmers, Ryobi Connexion Attachments connect to the upper half of your 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless Ryobi product. This Connexion Edger is the perfect solution for tidying up your edges after mowing. Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool, and you're ready to go. The Connexion Edger features a 9 in. serrated blade and 4-position depth adjustment to help you get just the right cut along your driveway or walkway. All backed by a 3 year warranty, the Connexion Edger is a ready to help you get the most out of your 24-Volt/40-Volt Ryobi tool collection.
Overall rating:
4.351 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product69 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(32)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product69 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Review 1 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Brigantine, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Edger Attachment

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, the Edger attachment is a nice item. I edged my drivewall and side walk with a full battery and ending with one bar left on the battery, so the attachment does use alot more juice than the weedwacker attachment. It did a great job edging but the blade did wear down alot after one use...overall satisfied cause it did what it was ment to do, the only cons I have for this attachment is that the blade will bog down and stop for a few seconds if its having a hard time edging, it drains the battery pretty fast, and the blade worn done as well after one use (maybe poor steel quality). I do love however have the Ryobi One do multiple tasks with an ease to swap out the attachments.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: bogs down, drains battery, blade wears down fast
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only compatible with one of the 40 volt trimmers, Model # RY40201A

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
FYI: This edger only fits one of the 40 volt trimmer models (Model # RY40201A; the model with the rotating trimmer head that doubles as an edger). Note the grey coupling on the trimmer and edger, these are compatible models. There is a newer model of the 40 volt trimmer with an older style connection (Model # RY40220) and it requires the orange handled edger. Check the connector for an easy way to make sure it is really compatible. I just bought the newest 40 volt trimmer and this edger from Homedepot.com because the local store didn't carry either of these only to unpack them and realize, they are not compatible. Same description above (" Simply connect this Edger to your Ryobi 24-Volt or 40-Volt Cordless tool and you're ready to go.") is what I based my purchase on and it's on the HomeDepot.com site. I contacted Ryobi and they apologized for the misleading descriptions and for making the colors the same for non-compatible products. Not that color is a huge part of the evaluation but when a new line is touted as being "compatible" it plays a part.I think Homedepot and Ryobi need to be more clear on which trimmer and which attachments are compatible since they have two products in the same line using the same battery but with unique internals requiring different attachments. You'd think the newest models would be compatible with each other but it's totally different.
Rating was based on general experience with these models as I returned edger for it's counterpart that fits my trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, description of compatibility inaccurate misleadin
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Battery powered yard tool

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ryobi Edger Attachment, Model RY40030A, SKU 203766198. Received through the Home Depot Seeds program.
The Ryobi RY40030A is an attachment tool that operates with either the Ryobi 24 volt, or 40 volt family of yard tools. The attachment connects to a “power control handle” that incorporates a variable speed control switch, and a battery holder. I currently have the control handle from the Ryobi 24 volt string trimmer (Model RY24021), which uses the 24 volt power handle (Model RY24001). Other “attachments” are available that operate with either 24 Volt or 40 Volt Power handles.
The edger attachment connects to the power handle with a quick screw-on coupling. This connects the power connections to the edger motor assembly at the base. This also provides the “mechanical connection” between the to assemblies. When “coupled” they be come one tool. The combined unit is a battery powered edger.
The tool is about 60 inches in total length, and weighs about 10 pounds with the battery attached. The supplied edger blade is 9 inches long, and is connected to the motor through a gear reduction set. This size edger blade is about the same size and type that I have on my gasoline edger. There are two plastic wheels that are attached to the blade guard’s motor side. The two support wheels, one of which is installed on a adjustment lever for blade depth setting, more on this below. This allows the rear most wheel to set the depth that the blade cuts below surface of the sidewalk. The two wheels ride on the sidewalk or driveway while you trim the grass at the edge. The rear adjustment wheel has four depth settings, that range from ~1.3 inches to 1.5 inches below the surface of the sidewalk or driveway surface. This is a very limited adjustment range over the 4 positions. I took two pictures of the measurement of the blade depth below the reference plane of the two wheels. One picture for the position-1 and one for the position-4 I used a rubber-band stretched between the two wheels to establish the reference of the rolling surface, and a ruler to measure the distance from this point to the tip of the edger blade. The manual for the edger seems to indicate that the depth of cut can be adjusted from ~1/2 inch to ~2 inches or more. Based on the simple measurements I made on this unit, about the shallowest depth I could set in position 4, was 1.3 inches. The deepest blade setting was about 1.5 inches. I would prefer a shallower setting to reduce the dirt removal while edging. There is no guide plate to keep the trimmer blade away from the edge of the sidewalk, you have to let the rotating blade scrape the edge of the sidewalk as it spins. This will produce more wear on the blade. (A replaceable guide plate would be nice to have on this edger)
The edger comes with a wrench, and a locking “pin” for use in changing blades. The locking pin is passed through a hole in the blade drive shaft, and rests in a slot in the metal collar of the gear box. The pin prevents the shaft from rotating while you loosen or tighten the nut on the blade shaft during blade changes, simple but effective.
Observations; I have been using both the Ryobi 18 volt and 24 volt string trimmers for several years now. Moving from a Gasoline powered string trimmer to a battery powered one about four or five years ago. The battery powered tools are not as powerful, but they are a lot more convent. Getting away from mixing gas and oil, changing oil, and the cranking and yanking on 2-cycle and 4-cycle engines is nice. For a typical average size yard, that is maintained, battery tools are nice. Install a charged battery and off you go ! No extension cords to deal with, and generally a couple of fully charged batteries will do most yards. I can generally edge my yard on one fully charged battery. The OP242, 24 Volt batteries are rated at 56 watt hours, or about 2.3 Ah @ 24 Vdc. The OP242 has a built in LED charge indicator to quickly check the charge level. The batteries seem to fully charge in about an hour.
Other advantages with battery tools are lower noise, lighter weight, easier handling, no exhaust fumes, and no fuel to store or mix. If you have a thick overgrown area to cut, or you do commercial work, they probably will not meet your needs. As to performance the edger seems to work reasonably well. It will throw up dirt and debris as will any edger of this type. It is advisable to use safety glasses when operating this type of tool, and keep bystanders some distance away. Small stones can really sting if you get hit by them. Yes, the edger is not a powerful as a gasoline powered one, but if you keep your yard trimmed on a regular basis, you don’t need as much power, and a battery tool will generally perform well, with less hassle.
As to durability, time will tell. The edger attachment as well as the power handle has a three year warranty. The edger attachment appears to be of similar construction as the string trimmer attachment. I hope this information has been useful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store, good battery life.
Cons: blade adj limited.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
Gender:Female

Great Edger Attachment

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This edger attachment has been a great enhancement to my Ryobi 40V Trimmer. The edger option on the trimmer (turning the head 90 degrees for edging) worked to an extent but the string always seemed to break quickly and the edge was never very clean. I eventually decided I needed a better edger and found this attachment and decided to try it out. I have never had cleaner looking edges on my lawn. I used to have a push edger that worked very well but this beats it by a long shot. My only complaint is that I wish it would edge about 1/2" deeper than it does. This is a minor complaint however because the overall performance of the edging attachment is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, clean edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40V Ryobi Edger attchment

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well I bought the Ryobi Edger attachment on line at the HD and I got to use it for just a few minutes until the Ryobi head went bad for my 40v weed eater (I have had it over a year) HD replaced with a whole new weed eater and power head and the edger works great with it so far. I am not to crazy about the weed eater it will not release the line properly I wish they would fix this problem, but the edger is awsome...
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Owasso, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product works well.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the trimmer/edger first and it worked so well I purchased the edger attachment. The edger attachment works great and is easy to use. My lot is 1/2 ac., fenced on 3 sides with a 3000 sq. ft. house on it. I trim around the house, 5 trees, 2 flower beds, 4 sides of the fence and edge 200 ft. of sidewalk and driveway and the battery still show 1/2 charge when finished, so I ordered the 40 volt blower as I am tired of hauling out my 100 Ft extension cord. I expect it in shortly. I hope it works as good as the other 2 tools. I am sure I can complete the trimming, edging and blowing the clippings of the sidewalks and driveway on one charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy, needs shoulder strap
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Jefferson City, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This year I decided to try the Ryobi 40V Lithium trimmer because I was tired of buying a cheap 2 Cycle, and wearing my arms out pulling the string. I was reluctant at first, but was very impressed. I bought this Edger attachment, and boy did it do great. I did have to hold trigger to get it going before putting it to ground, but no problems edging around my flower beds. I would recommend the Ryobi 40V Lithium products to anyone tired of dealing with pulling a string.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wasn't sure if the battery power was going to be powerful enough to cut a good edge around my sidewalk. I was very surprised tbat it does a very good job. If you haven't edged recently you will have
to be patient as it struggles to get through tough and overgrow grass. However, once your edge is established, it does well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Sebastian, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a time saver!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I initially bought the 40 volt trimmer, it touted the string trimmer as be use for an edger. While it does perform that function , it was slow and the trimming string kept breaking. With the metal blade edger attachment, the job takes only minutes to complete, perhaps at least 10 times faster or more. It works well and is extremely easy to use. I wish I had gotten this earlier. A very good purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well.. but hungry for power.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This edger attachment works very well especially when edging new areas.
Afterwards, I found that the trimmer/edger (24V) worked fine to keep the edging clean.
Biggest issue is that it drained the 24V battery within 15 minutes of moderate use.
You'll need an extra battery if your lot is of any size at all and you use this as your primary edger.
However, your mileage might be much better with the 40 Volt unit.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great buy.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to use, not noisy does the the job well . only charge my battery once and it holds the charge well.. i just do edging on the front of the house. beats dealing with gas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Vineland, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40 volt Cordless Edger attachment

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and break-down for storage. Great product
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Va. Beach,Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does well

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy connection. The adjustment depths came in very handy. It did bog down a few times but with a little patience it managed to complete my edging job nicely.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

worth every penny

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best edger I have ever used. If I didn't know it was battery-powered I would never know the difference
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Smart buy

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great and makes the lawns look like they were professionally done!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does a good job on edging

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted an edger trimmer combo, this attachment gives her that. Seems to be built well and does the edging fine.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A powerful edger!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
a visual indicator that electric motor is under excessive load would be useful.
product does excellent job of edging, and minimizes time required to get large jobs done, thus great Price/value
Blade is sturdy. Ergonomics is excellent. handling is very easy, unit is light and reduces fatigue
all plastic construction reduces weight;will follow up with comments on durability
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment
from White Marsh, Md.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

40-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The attachment was easy to switch out and operates well. The only advice I can give you on this, is that it can't be used on heavy edging for it will kill your battery but on normal & light edging it works great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Great Edger Attachment

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this edger attachment for my 40V ryobi string trimmer because the edging option on the string trimmer does not work well. Setup took literally 1 minute at most (simply disconnect the trimmer and attach the edger) and was very easy. The adjustable edging depth is nice although I do wish it went a little deeper but that is a very minor complaint as it does a great job on the edging.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, produces clean edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt and 24-Volt Cordless Edger Attachment

Impressed

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Didn't have high expectations, but it did the job. It took a some work the first time I used it, as I had not edged in over a year, but after the initial edging, it was easy and fast.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>