728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pressure Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer

1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer

Knock out those weekend cleaning jobs in a hurry with the new Ryobi Electric Pressure Washer. Delivering 1700-PSI and 1.2-GPM of cleaning force, this unit is the perfect choice for cleaning grills, lawn furniture, windows and other residential cleaning jobs. As a bonus, this pressure washer also includes a Turbo Nozzle for up to 50% more cleaning power than a standard nozzle, so you'll get the job done even faster. All backed by a 3 year warranty, this Ryobi Electric Pressure Washer is guaranteed to perform.
Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product173 of 185reviews
Rating Breakdown 188 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(139)
4
(35)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product173 of 185reviews
Customer reviews for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Review 1 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
DannyB
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of power! Love not paying for gas!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used lots of gas powered pressure washers in the past. Pretty noisy and sometimes difficult to start. This electric Ryobi is perfect! Not so powerful that it removes parts of the driveway or deck but takes the dirt right off. I was worried it would not be powerful enough but it's totally fine. Like the fact that it's electric - gas is expensive these days. Plus I will only use this a few times a year and I don't want to mess with storing the gas with stabilizer, oil changes, etc. Used it tonight to remove about 4 years of grime from my back patio. Like the 3 year warranty too. Check out the picture to see the results! Even my 12-year old can run it :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store, no gas required
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+66points
66out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
rdub
from massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Will Be Washing Everything

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a pressure washer for a long time now. The Ryobi 1700 is exactly what I needed. It has a lot of power for an electric washer. I like the roll cage construction, something you do not find on many electric power washers.
I’ve used it to wash my grill (which you can see in my detailed video review that is attached), my deck, and the brick face of my house. It did a great job on everything.
The low pressure soap nozzle makes it easy to switch from soaping to washing.
The only assembly that was need is putting the two wheels on with cotter pins, pretty simple!
I definitely recommend this washer!
Please check out my video. It will give you a good understanding of this washer.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, three nozzles included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+77points
85out of 93found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
TampaDIY
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great option for electric power washer

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this pressure washer a week ago and cleaned a 2,000 sq.ft home (concrete block). This unit replaced an old Karcher, which served me well until the pump failed. What I find nice about this Ryobi washer is its design which provides the functionality of a gas pressure unit: replaceable nozzles and the external pump. It has higher pressure than my old unit, enough to remove old latex paint from concrete block. It is also gentle enough to clean terracotta and saltillo tiles ( I have more than 700 sq.ft). The 3-year warranty is a plus. Also, the wheels rotate freely and are much sturdier, compared to my older Karcher unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
hiram
from Laredo, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good electric pressure washer

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good pressure light and sturdy frame. Short house but easily fix with a $25 house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
freelyelee
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pressure washer for around the home

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great pressure washer that's handy for around the house needs.
Assembly: ~5-10 minutes.
- The pressure washer comes in a good-sized box. Assembly doesn't require any tools. You pop on a two wheels, attached the nozzle and nozzle holder and you're good to go.
Accessories:
The power washer comes with 3 nozzles: a high-pressure nozzle, a lower pressure "soap nozzle" and a 15 degree nozzle (in between the high pressure and low pressure nozzle).
- The high-pressure nozzle is pretty strong, I'd previously painted my concrete patio with concrete paint, and by holding the nozzle close to the patio, it chipped the paint right off. (This is great if this is what you're looking for, just be aware).
Use:
- I used the power washer to clean my asphalt driveway and concrete patio. It did a great job cleaning the dirt off the driveway and there was a visible difference between the power-washed and non-powerwashed areas.
- Concrete patio: The finish of my patio means dirt sticks in an annoying way that a normal hose wouldn't clean. The 15 degree nozzle (no soap) took the dirt right off and the patio looked brand new (see photos).
Verdict:
For most needs, this power-washer definitely fits the bill. I can think of a ton of ways I'll use this in the future. It strips paint pretty well (in my experience) and cleans dirt off patios without elbow grease. It's not huge, but will take up some space in the garage so make sure you have a place for it! All in all, I'd highly recommend.
This is not professional strength like the ones you might rent at Home Depot, but it's definitely handy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Michael696
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Performance and Value

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of buying an electric pressure washer but decided to try the Ryobi after reading reviews. Overall design is nice roll cage construction seems very sturdy. Hose connections are tight with no leaks and. Power cord is longer then I expected which is a plus, have not had any issues with GFI plug on my unit. Assembly was quick and easy snaps everything basically snaps together. Quiet running motor which shuts off once pressure is built up.Only thing I would say could be improved is a shut off valve for the soap dispenser which can be added easy enough. Unit is powerful enough to clean concrete sidewalks (as seen in pictures) and works good for cleaning vehicles, have used for a total of 12 hours now and has not loss pressure or had any problems what so ever. I have not regretted purchasing this product the quality is better then expected and would recommend for anyone looking for a good easy to use pressure washer that is a good value
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Quiet
Cons: no shut off for soap dispenser
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Joe1
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DISAPPOINTED

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought I had found the best pressure washer for the price. Worked great when I first started cleaning my patio, thinking alright "you made a great choice". After about 45 minutes the unit just stopped, died!!
Returned it immediately to my local Home Depot. No hassle return, now need to find another pressure washer to complete the job I started.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
110orgohome
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for around the home (outside of course)

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great pressure washer and great price. I love the design of the frame. So many electric pressure washers are tip over disasters. This one is not. The build is quality. Honestly, despite many good reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect given the price was only $159. I'm satisfied. It worked great right out of the box, after minor assembly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, great design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
jt228
from Biloxi, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best electric pressure washer on the market

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are thinking about a new pressure washer......quit wasting time and purchase this item. In my opinion, this is the best electric pressure washer on the market. Recently used this item to clean my sidewalks and driveways......had 3 neighbors stop by to ask questions. Based on my comments and the very visible results........ 2 of my neighbors have said that they will soon purchase this exact item. The 3 year warranty is also the 'best of the best'.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
BWbama
from Fairhope, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked for one day

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really impressed on day one. ran for about 2 hours solid as I cleaned my walkway and porch. The included Turbo Nozzle worked much better than the standard...wow, I was really having fun. Went to use on day 2, and it would not turn on. I called Ryobi customer service and was pleased they answered on a saturday, they were very nice, and said to bring it back to Home D for return. HD was great, gave me credit, so I bought a Clean Force 1800 psi, which I absolutely love. Maybe I just got a lemon, it worked great at first, but didn't want to replace with the same
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
miggs
from Santa Clara, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Electric Ryobi 1700

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I looked at most top rated pressure washers in this price range. I was sold simply on the roll cage design. I imagined most of the other plastic models tipping over and so on. As far as the pressure goes, well it was able to pull up old paint & pvc glue on our cement patio. I used the 15 degree tip on the fence and it seemed to clean up with ease also sprayed down out eaves of our house from a distance. At this point I realized this is a must for a home owner. The initial hook up is easy. As other have mentioned the motor stops running when you stop spraying, nice to have it that way. I've only had it for two weeks and with a total of 8 to 10 hours. It looks well built with quality parts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
BigBrother44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had the opportunity to use this pressure washer for the first time yesterday. I have used other electric and gas pressure washers in the past. This one does a good job. It comes up to pressure quick, but isn't nearly as loud as other electric washers I've used.
It was easy to assemble and seems well built. The design is compact with a low center of gravity so it is VERY stable. The only negative so far is the connector for the hose is in a difficult spot for me to get my hand into and tighten the connector. But it is doable and is out of the way so it won't get whacked and broken while it is in storage.
It is a good unit for personal use around the house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Greg
from Oxford, MS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent pressure washer

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before buying this, I had only used one other pressure washer before. I don't remember the brand, but know that it was one of the taller electric models. It fell over multiple times while using. The Ryobi is very stable. I was impressed with the aluminum pump and real metal fittings! I have used the Ryobi twice since purchasing it. It works wonderfully well. I have had no issues with it at all. I have not used any detergent, so I can't speak to that. I tried all three nozzles. The blue one is quite week. It is suggested for washing cars, but I found it had slightly less pressure than my standard hose at full blast. The other two, though are extremely powerful. I pressure washed my entire house (bricks and vinyl siding) as well as the sidewalk. Grime came right off. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Mike
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a champ. Other reviewers were right.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily removed years of dirt from driveway and side walk. Electric motor is quieter than gasoline and doesn't have to idle when not spraying. The 1700 psi seems adequate for homeowner use. Easy to set up, move around and store. Would recommend buying the pump protector with the product to have it available.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
RWH49
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pressure washer for around the house.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely quiet in comparison to the gas unit it replaced. Sturdy base that prevents any chance of tipping over while being used. Not as powerful as the gas version but plenty of power to clean walks, grates, screens, small driveways etc. I'm very pleased with the auto turn off function when you release the wand trigger. My gas unit ran continually until you turned off the engine. I really like the fact that this unit uses the same connectors, wand tips, etc. that are used with the gas units. I'm able to use the many accessories I had purchased for my gas unit.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
bgates
from Little Elm, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the first time to ever use an electric pressure washer. Was kinda iffy on if it had enough power to clean around the house.
WOW. Very impressed!! I bought it to clean the mud off my quads and it did! I have no issues with this machine. Very quite & powerful. I highly recommend this unit
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Neatfrk

So far, so good.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just put this together, used it for one weekend of spring cleaning and so far so good. Plenty of power. Turbo nozzle works really well on pavement and has a nice satisfying jet engine sound to it.
Spent 2+ hours powerwashing a vinyl fence and the unit held up well during constant use. Nozzles super easy to switch out.
The handle (for the unit not the wand) could be taller. It is tricky to drag the thing around as the wheel are small and the handle is short - but those aside....good purchase.
Cons: handle too short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
Dirt
from Clarion Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Only worked once

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Washed my truck one time when I first bought this washer , the next time I went to use it the wand leaked so badly I couldn't use it. Called Ryobi and they said the wand is not covered under warranty. So much for having a clean truck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
FourDeckerz
from Holiday, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have about 6 hours on this unit so far and it has done a nice job so far! The Turbo head is a huge time saver! The only thing I could see Ryobi improving is adding a trigger lock. I used it by a pool to clean the cool deck. About 4 years of grim was washed away with the help of some bleach in about 5 hours. The unit was very study through the whole process. Make sure your extension cord is heavy duty!! Examine the cord you are using and make sure there isn't any cuts or breaks in the covering or wire itself. Also, you don't want to run more than 50' of extension cord. I used at 12/3 cord that was 25' long and it worked flawlessly. Last important thing is to keep an eye on your cords near water sources!! Even though I had it up off the ground, I still had it wrapped with a freezer bag and taped at both ends. I hope to get at least a few good years out of this unit.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Light Weight
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1700-PSI 1.2-GPM Electric Pressure Washer
MLMCM
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost Perfect

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped a year for a decently priced, well made pressure washer and this one fit the bill. The features I like are:
Tubular steel frame
Horizontally mounted motor - won't tip over
Easily removable handle - facilitates storage
Sturdy wheels
Reinforced sprayer hose
Metal water hose attachment point - no cheap plastic
Wand Holder
What could be improved:
Soap container should be easily removable to facilitate
emptying and rinsing.
A soap shutoff should be available to easily switch from
soap dispensing to power washing.
I plan on making these modifications myself.
If you're looking for a model with a hose reel, forget it.
The hose will take a "set" if rolled that tightly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, Easy to Store, well designed, Great Value
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>