728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 in. Channel Guard

38 in. Channel Guard

Channel Guard is a multi use guard designed to be used as a downspout diverter or splash block, fence edging, or mow strip. Fill with river rock or gravel and install the Channel Guard below a gutter downspout to divert water away from the foundation. Install the Channel Guard under a fence line or along a building foundation, fill with rock and control weeds while preventing fence damage from weed eaters or lawn mowers.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 38 in. Channel Guard
Review 1 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Pacific NW
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Not a good solution for diverting rain water

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed this to divert rain water away from foundation (replaced a splash block). Since there is no backstop, the water can flow back towards the house. I tried to slightly slope it to defy gravity, but in heavy rains, the water didn't drain fast enough and backflowed, ran down the outside basement steps, and defeated the purpose. For now I put the splash block back on top of the channel guard until I have time to figure out what to do. I may remove it and the rocks and try to put back the clumps of grass I just removed, and go back to using the splash block (at least it has a back stop).
This may work well for non-drainage use, but I wouldn't use it for drainage unless you slope it and install a dry well (pit) to absorb the rain water.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: not effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Elkhart, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent solution for landscape projects

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Channel Guard Edging for fences, splash blocks, and mow strips. It is easy to use and looks great! Gives the landscape a clean & finished appearance.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and fairly effective.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used three sections to bring water from two downspouts away from the house. Both downspouts flow into the single run of channel guard. The pieces fit into each other just fine and as long as your pitch is adequate, the flow will keep up. I would like to see the sides deeper with an intentional transition section to teh next piece. The reason is that when I load this with stone (it is in a stoned section) it doesn't create a nice straight line and under some conditions short of heavy rain, won't handle the flow from a single downspout from a 14 foot gutter. Less water isn't a problem. Lots of water needs more depth. Width is fine, however. Overall, does the job but could be better.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Plymouth, Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great idea for landscaping needs!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was very useful to prevent weeds from growing under the fence and no worries about mowing that area as well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Mishawaka, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy sell

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used Channel Guard on quite a few fence projects. The installation is easy. The end result looks great. It eliminates all of the 'weed eater' maintenance immediately.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Elkhart, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves fence looks great

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When looking to control weeds along fence product keeps weeds at bay and saves cutting grass along fence. Looks great with a new fence.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Champaign, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I'm so glad to see this product created.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a retired professor of Landscape Architecture at Purdue University, I’m delighted to see a product so right for solving so many site maintenance problems. Channel Guard is the ideal solution to the homeowner’s headache of controlling the fire hose effect of water pouring from a gutter downspout. Used as an edging strip around any building, the Channel Guard filled with gravel or other small stone receives and diverts the water all around the building, letting it be distributed gently into the lawn, leaving no damage from concentrated erosion.
In addition, the Channel Guard strip is a neat looking edging strip. No weeds can penetrate the solid plastic structure of the Channel Guard. Since it is installed level with the lawn grade, detail grass trimming is virtually eliminated at the base of the house, around any structures, under fences, and by walls.
I recall giving so many lectures advising young designers to devise details to develop a solution to these problems, with results that were worthwhile, but difficult to construct. Channel Guard would have turned pages into a paragraph and produced much less work and much more satisfaction. It’s a terrific idea. I recommend the use of this product with enthusiasm and confidence.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Mishawaka, IN, USA

Very pleased

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got a couple channel guards and am very pleased. I have a couple downspouts that constantly get washed out leaving big pits and drainage ruts in my yard. This does the trick and is surprisingly inexpensive. Plus I could fill with stone that matches the drive and other areas around the house.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Camp Hill, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great idea and easy to install

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this product for a customer to prevent mud and mulch from splashing against the house during heavy rains. Required some light excavation with shovel and rake, set in place with landscape staples and fill with gravel - end of problem and the customer loved it!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 in. Channel Guard

Looking forward to this

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've seen this stuff up close and plan to use it all along our fence. We're buying a fixer-upper and need to fence the entire property. This product is going to save us so much time in edging/weeding. Looking forward to the use. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Elkhart, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for splash blocks

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sick and tired of my builder supplied splash blocks blowing away. Installed product in 10 min., added stone, problem solved. The "Rivers of Rock" in my flower beds look great.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution for fence edging

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is such a simple solution. It makes maintaining a clean edge. Each piece snaps together, making installation really simple. I also love that you can mow over it!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, american made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 in. Channel Guard
from Mishawaka, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clever, clean, and easy to install

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The title of this summary says it all. Great product that is eye appealing and gives a professional appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.