728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

The Remington Solar Ventilation Attic Fan is completely powered by free solar energy. This American-designed fan is designed to reduce attic temperatures and remove destructive moisture, thus making your home more comfortable and reducing the load on your HVAC system and lowering your electricity bills. In the winter, this fan reduces the risk of ice-damming. Our stylish, powder coated steel, 20-Watt fan will effectively ventilate up to 1,800 sq./ft. of attic space. This is the least expensive high-quality fan, feature-for-feature, available. Each fan comes with a built-in humidistat and thermostat. Lifetime limited warranty (non-transferable).
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
Review 1 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Riverton, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had done this a long time ago

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its been a little over a month since putting this in and I wish I had done it years ago (had a bad case of the "been gonna's"). it went in easy as pie, and started saving on cooling cost right away. it was very hot the first week this went in and I noticed that the AC didn't kick on until much later in the day vs before this fan was installed. I had looked at the smaller ones that we have in the local store, but wanted to make sure I was going to have enough draw for our attic size. this was definitely the unit to go with. if your house gets hot due to high temps in your attic, I'd highly recommend you get one of these, and put it in. i've knocked off almost $50 the first month of this being installed from my electric bill.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Good solar powered fan, does what I want and looks nice.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This solar powered fan works well in my application and although the fan is smaller than I thought it would be based on the larger exterior, it seems to do the job for me. I am surprised that it is as expensive as it is. This unit was twice the cost of all the other units. I can't say anything bad about the quality, it looks and acts like a quality unit. Very quiet too. A bit pricey for a fan that is actually made in China. It comes with a 15 yr warranty so lets hope I don't have to use it like other things I have purchased lately. Since it is now mounted on top of my roof I hope it lasts and works well. Should save me a fortune with the solar panel instead of electricity. Also has a buil;t in thermostat and humidity sensor and cuts off when the temp is <80C. I like it so far..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not made in usa
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSApril 11, 2013
Kasey,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

Thank you for purchasing our 20 Watt Gray solar attic fan and posting your kind review. We would like to clarify a couple of points in your comments. Firstly, we have recently upgraded our warranty to "lifetime", as stated on the Home Depot product description. Secondly, when comparing solar attic fan pricing, please look at the wattage. The ability for any solar attic fan to move air through your attic is dependent on how much power is going to the motor. When comparing pricing, please look at other 20-watt and 25-watt fans to compare pricing. A 10 or 15 watt cannot move as much hot air out of your attic space as our 20- and 25- watt fans.

We strive to make every home owner or multi-family/commercial owner satisfied with our superior solar attic fans. We welcome and comments and look forward to assisting you. Again, thank you for being a valued customer of Remington Solar.
Review 3 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Charlestown RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

so far so good

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The attic was so hot and this solar fan seems to do the trick.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to install and does a GREAT job!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We set the fan up on sawhorses first to be sure it would move the air. Even in the open it created an amazing circulation of air! The installation was super simple and immediately you could see rivers of heat leaving the attic.
In my tri-level home, getting that attic heat out is essential to keeping things cool. With this attic fan, the air conditioner is no longer essential on a hot day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item online and had it delivered to my local home depot. The item was delivered fast and installation was not too complicated. I noticed a decrease in my attic temperature within a few hours of installation. On the following day my attic wasn't uncomfortably hot like it was before installing the unit. A must have item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Solid attic fan

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very solid construction and easy to install. Also this brand is eligible for a tax credit which reduces the overall cost. Nice warranty and its great having an integrated solar panel and thermostat. This unit also allows you to disconnect the thermostat allowing the unit to run continuously while the sun is shining. Unit is heavy any caution should be take. When brining this up on the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Very well made

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this product. I am very happy with my purchase and plan on getting another. As is with any solar product which does not track the sun, the rpm's tend to slow down when it's not between noon and two. So to help compensate, I will be purchasing another...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: tad heavy for single person install on steep roof
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Portland, Or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unable to rate the fan

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this fan and had it installed. Since I can't get on the roof to see how it is
working, it is pretty hard to rate. We recently had a very hot period of weather and I found
no difference in my house. Therefore, I think it was a waste of money. How do I even know
if the fan is working.
Pros: Easy to Use
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceAugust 7, 2014
Dear Connie,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and find their response below.

“We're very sorry you didn't notice an immediate cooling in your house. Without knowing the details and specifications of your home, I would suggest you consider the following: 1) Do you have adequate soffit ventilation. That is, make sure you have free air intake below the eaves of your roof so cooler air can come in and replace the hot air that your Remington Solar attic fan is blowing out. 2) Is your attic fan adequately sized for your attic space? The 20 watt fan you have is a great product, but it is designed for attics up to 1,800 sq. ft. While solar attic fans are not cheap, they are designed to remove the hot air out of your attic and save you on your utility bills. They typically will pay for themselves with a season or two. (This is the quickest payback in the solar industry, by the way). You may want to consider adding another fan. Many of our customers tell us that before they installed their Remington Solar fan, they touched their ceiling on a hot day, and their ceiling was actually hot. They were literally heating the interior of their house before they installed their Remington Solar attic fan. Now it's cool. They really do work and really make a difference. And they qualify for a 30% federal tax rebate on the product and the labor!”
Review 9 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation by homeowner

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with solar vent. Good on line video showing installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Castro Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good so far

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. I replaced a dead solar fan that was the same size so it was just a replace. No need to cut anything. As soon as I took it out of the box and it saw the sun the motor started spinning. Very Quite. It has dropped the attic heat about 5 degrees. I have another dead fan up top that I am going to replace with this same unit. Thermostat works as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was impressed.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For solar very impressed. It does everything the customer says it will do. Would be nice to have some sort of device that would allow you to go hardwired, for overcast days or night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Wrightstown, Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

should have bought sooner

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:20 Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
I have had my house for 15 years, and it consistently would gain at least 3 degrees at 6:00 pm. Since installing my house gains about 1 degree at most.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Long Island NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solar 20 watt attic fan

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:20 Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
The solar fan was nice and sturdy is wisper quiet and was rather easy to install. It looks nice on the roof and works great. I can feel a difference in the lower temps in the attic and my house feels cooler.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I purchased this unit along with a 25 watt unit so as to vent attic air out of my atic in two different locations. My question is do these units retai

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:20 Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
Unit looks great and is easy to install. So far (summer months) unit seems to operate fine. Very quiet
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.