728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

The Remington Solar Ventilation Attic Fan is completely powered by free solar energy. This American-designed fan is designed to reduce attic temperatures and remove destructive moisture, thus making your home more comfortable and reducing the load on your HVAC system and lowering your electricity bills. In the winter, this fan reduces the risk of ice-damming. Our stylish, powder coated steel, 20-Watt fan will effectively ventilate up to 1,800 sq./ft. of attic space. This is the least expensive high-quality fan, feature-for-feature, available. Each fan comes with a built-in humidistat and thermostat. Lifetime limited warranty (non-transferable).
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
Review 1 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Remington attic fan

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Makes quite the difference with this unit in..... The entire house seems to cool down in real time along with the sun going down! Super easy install, YouTube a couple of Remington products and you're good to go!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Remington SolarJuly 31, 2015By Remington SolarJuly 31, 2015
Thanks for the positive review, Alex. We're in the "happy customer" business right along with the "solar attic fan" business. Remingtonsolar
Review 2 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Washington State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fan was easy to install while putting a new roof on the house. The install is exactly the same as a standard vent with the exception of the sensor that needs to be placed in the attic area a couple of feet away from the fan. I was surprised at how little light is required to start the fan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Orange, CA

Great improvement!!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are pleased with these solar attic fans. After purchasing, we learned H.D. does not install these fans so we found someone else. Our installer seemed impressed with the quality and made several positive comments. He did not appear to have any difficulties in the installation. They are a great improvement over our old, ugly turbines!! We look forward to many years of good service.
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Ashland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couple things not as stated

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So yes, it is a great fan. Great quality and very quiet. And am hoping to reap the benefits. The company is very customer focused. They called to let me know that it would not be gray but black, and wanted to make sure that was okay. Now for the thermostat part: yes, they have one factory pre-installed, but it is not adjustable. It is set to turn on at 80 degrees, so if you want any other setting (my googling seemed to point to 100 degrees or higher, depending on where you live), you are out of luck. I was hoping to set it higher for the winter, so that the warm attic would help house heating.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: thermostat not adjustable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015
Hi Mary. Thank you for the kind words. We are sorry you didn't know that the thermostat is not adjustable, but our factory set thermostats are designed to keep you cool in summer and warm in winter. If your attic is 80 degrees in the winter, then you must live in Texas!, and you would want the fan to be on. You wouldn't want the inside of your house to be 100 degrees, even in the winter. Otherwise, you would probably be in a sauna. So really, we set it right to make you the most comfortable and preserve your utility costs. Please contact us directly if there is anything we can help you with! Remingtonsolar
Response from By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015
Hi Mary. Thank you for the kind words. We are sorry you didn't know that the thermostat is not adjustable, but our factory set thermostats are designed to keep you cool in summer and warm in winter. If your attic is 80 degrees in the winter, then you must live in Texas!, and you would want the fan to be on. You wouldn't want the inside of your house to be 100 degrees, even in the winter. Otherwise, you would probably be in a sauna. So really, we set it right to make you the most comfortable and preserve your utility costs. Please contact us directly if there is anything we can help you with! Remingtonsolar
Review 5 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Riverton, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had done this a long time ago

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Its been a little over a month since putting this in and I wish I had done it years ago (had a bad case of the "been gonna's"). it went in easy as pie, and started saving on cooling cost right away. it was very hot the first week this went in and I noticed that the AC didn't kick on until much later in the day vs before this fan was installed. I had looked at the smaller ones that we have in the local store, but wanted to make sure I was going to have enough draw for our attic size. this was definitely the unit to go with. if your house gets hot due to high temps in your attic, I'd highly recommend you get one of these, and put it in. i've knocked off almost $50 the first month of this being installed from my electric bill.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Good solar powered fan, does what I want and looks nice.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This solar powered fan works well in my application and although the fan is smaller than I thought it would be based on the larger exterior, it seems to do the job for me. I am surprised that it is as expensive as it is. This unit was twice the cost of all the other units. I can't say anything bad about the quality, it looks and acts like a quality unit. Very quiet too. A bit pricey for a fan that is actually made in China. It comes with a 15 yr warranty so lets hope I don't have to use it like other things I have purchased lately. Since it is now mounted on top of my roof I hope it lasts and works well. Should save me a fortune with the solar panel instead of electricity. Also has a buil;t in thermostat and humidity sensor and cuts off when the temp is <80C. I like it so far..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not made in usa
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSApril 11, 2013
Kasey,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

Thank you for purchasing our 20 Watt Gray solar attic fan and posting your kind review. We would like to clarify a couple of points in your comments. Firstly, we have recently upgraded our warranty to "lifetime", as stated on the Home Depot product description. Secondly, when comparing solar attic fan pricing, please look at the wattage. The ability for any solar attic fan to move air through your attic is dependent on how much power is going to the motor. When comparing pricing, please look at other 20-watt and 25-watt fans to compare pricing. A 10 or 15 watt cannot move as much hot air out of your attic space as our 20- and 25- watt fans.

We strive to make every home owner or multi-family/commercial owner satisfied with our superior solar attic fans. We welcome and comments and look forward to assisting you. Again, thank you for being a valued customer of Remington Solar.
Review 7 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Bellwood, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solar Attic Fan

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fan works great and is as quiet as advertised. Easily able to feel the air flow exiting roof.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Molalla, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dependable green power fan

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Runs quietly whenever the sun is in the sky, which is when you need the fan.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to install and does a GREAT job!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We set the fan up on sawhorses first to be sure it would move the air. Even in the open it created an amazing circulation of air! The installation was super simple and immediately you could see rivers of heat leaving the attic.
In my tri-level home, getting that attic heat out is essential to keeping things cool. With this attic fan, the air conditioner is no longer essential on a hot day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item online and had it delivered to my local home depot. The item was delivered fast and installation was not too complicated. I noticed a decrease in my attic temperature within a few hours of installation. On the following day my attic wasn't uncomfortably hot like it was before installing the unit. A must have item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Very well made

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this product. I am very happy with my purchase and plan on getting another. As is with any solar product which does not track the sun, the rpm's tend to slow down when it's not between noon and two. So to help compensate, I will be purchasing another...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: tad heavy for single person install on steep roof
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan

Solid attic fan

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very solid construction and easy to install. Also this brand is eligible for a tax credit which reduces the overall cost. Nice warranty and its great having an integrated solar panel and thermostat. This unit also allows you to disconnect the thermostat allowing the unit to run continuously while the sun is shining. Unit is heavy any caution should be take. When brining this up on the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Castro Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good so far

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. I replaced a dead solar fan that was the same size so it was just a replace. No need to cut anything. As soon as I took it out of the box and it saw the sun the motor started spinning. Very Quite. It has dropped the attic heat about 5 degrees. I have another dead fan up top that I am going to replace with this same unit. Thermostat works as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation by homeowner

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with solar vent. Good on line video showing installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Charlestown RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

so far so good

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The attic was so hot and this solar fan seems to do the trick.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was impressed.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For solar very impressed. It does everything the customer says it will do. Would be nice to have some sort of device that would allow you to go hardwired, for overcast days or night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Portland, Or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unable to rate the fan

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this fan and had it installed. Since I can't get on the roof to see how it is
working, it is pretty hard to rate. We recently had a very hot period of weather and I found
no difference in my house. Therefore, I think it was a waste of money. How do I even know
if the fan is working.
Pros: Easy to Use
-14points
0out of 14found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceAugust 7, 2014
Dear Connie,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and find their response below.

“We're very sorry you didn't notice an immediate cooling in your house. Without knowing the details and specifications of your home, I would suggest you consider the following: 1) Do you have adequate soffit ventilation. That is, make sure you have free air intake below the eaves of your roof so cooler air can come in and replace the hot air that your Remington Solar attic fan is blowing out. 2) Is your attic fan adequately sized for your attic space? The 20 watt fan you have is a great product, but it is designed for attics up to 1,800 sq. ft. While solar attic fans are not cheap, they are designed to remove the hot air out of your attic and save you on your utility bills. They typically will pay for themselves with a season or two. (This is the quickest payback in the solar industry, by the way). You may want to consider adding another fan. Many of our customers tell us that before they installed their Remington Solar fan, they touched their ceiling on a hot day, and their ceiling was actually hot. They were literally heating the interior of their house before they installed their Remington Solar attic fan. Now it's cool. They really do work and really make a difference. And they qualify for a 30% federal tax rebate on the product and the labor!”
Review 18 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Littleton, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy with purchase, delivery, price and performance!

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:20-Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
Last year I had an attic fan installed to cool the house down at night. However, ventilation in attic caused the fan to not operate as efficiently as we had hoped. I recently had my roof replaced due to hail storms and, in anticipation of that, ordered this solar attic fan/vent and had the roofers install. The fan runs very quietly and allows the attic fan to work great! Mission accomplished!
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015By Remington SolarJuly 23, 2015
So why not 5 stars? :) So glad it's working as designed. You should also see a reduction in your HVAC usage. Tons of benefits by using solar attic fans. It's not just "free power", it's the fact that the brushless DC motors will run nearly forever and you don't have to pull it off your fan and replace it every few years like the wired in electric fans. It will also preserve your insulation, cool your furnace in your attic, cool your pipes running through your attic, keep your downstairs cooler....you can tell we're excited about our product...which we think is the best value solar attic fan sold in the USA. Thank you for being a valued customer. Remingtonsolar
Review 19 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Summerfield Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation of solar powered attic fan

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:20-Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
I had no problem installing this fan .I want to caution you that when installing this unit ,make sure that the thermostat is not hanging down below the bottom of the fan .It should be tied up inside the fan until you are ready to drop the thermostat down into the attic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Remington SolarJuly 22, 2015By Remington SolarJuly 22, 2015
Great advice, Geno. The thermostat/humidistat combo is zip-tied during shipping. Remove that and let it dangle into your attic (to get a true temperature and humidity reading) AFTER the fan is installed. Thanks for the great review! Remingtonsolar
Review 20 for 20-Watt 1280 CFM Gray Solar Powered Attic Fan
from Wrightstown, Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

should have bought sooner

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:20-Watt 1280 CFM Black Solar Powered Attic Fan
I have had my house for 15 years, and it consistently would gain at least 3 degrees at 6:00 pm. Since installing my house gains about 1 degree at most.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>