728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan

20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan

The Remington Solar Ventilation Attic Fan is completely powered by free solar energy. This American-designed fan is designed to reduce attic temperatures and remove destructive moisture, thus making your home more comfortable and reducing the load on your HVAC system and lowering your electricity bills. In the winter, this fan reduces the risk of ice-damming. Our stylish, powder coated steel, 20-watt fan will effectively ventilate up to 1,800 sq./ft. of attic space. This is the least expensive high-quality fan, feature-for-feature, available. Each fan comes with a built-in humidistat and thermostat. Lifetime limited warranty (non-transferable).
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Review 1 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Kasey

Good solar powered fan, does what I want and looks nice.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This solar powered fan works well in my application and although the fan is smaller than I thought it would be based on the larger exterior, it seems to do the job for me. I am surprised that it is as expensive as it is. This unit was twice the cost of all the other units. I can't say anything bad about the quality, it looks and acts like a quality unit. Very quiet too. A bit pricey for a fan that is actually made in China. It comes with a 15 yr warranty so lets hope I don't have to use it like other things I have purchased lately. Since it is now mounted on top of my roof I hope it lasts and works well. Should save me a fortune with the solar panel instead of electricity. Also has a buil;t in thermostat and humidity sensor and cuts off when the temp is <80C. I like it so far..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not made in usa
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSApril 11, 2013
Kasey,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

Thank you for purchasing our 20 Watt Gray solar attic fan and posting your kind review. We would like to clarify a couple of points in your comments. Firstly, we have recently upgraded our warranty to "lifetime", as stated on the Home Depot product description. Secondly, when comparing solar attic fan pricing, please look at the wattage. The ability for any solar attic fan to move air through your attic is dependent on how much power is going to the motor. When comparing pricing, please look at other 20-watt and 25-watt fans to compare pricing. A 10 or 15 watt cannot move as much hot air out of your attic space as our 20- and 25- watt fans.

We strive to make every home owner or multi-family/commercial owner satisfied with our superior solar attic fans. We welcome and comments and look forward to assisting you. Again, thank you for being a valued customer of Remington Solar.
Review 2 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
HDGuy
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item online and had it delivered to my local home depot. The item was delivered fast and installation was not too complicated. I noticed a decrease in my attic temperature within a few hours of installation. On the following day my attic wasn't uncomfortably hot like it was before installing the unit. A must have item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Debo
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to install and does a GREAT job!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We set the fan up on sawhorses first to be sure it would move the air. Even in the open it created an amazing circulation of air! The installation was super simple and immediately you could see rivers of heat leaving the attic.
In my tri-level home, getting that attic heat out is essential to keeping things cool. With this attic fan, the air conditioner is no longer essential on a hot day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Texas7

Very well made

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this product. I am very happy with my purchase and plan on getting another. As is with any solar product which does not track the sun, the rpm's tend to slow down when it's not between noon and two. So to help compensate, I will be purchasing another...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: tad heavy for single person install on steep roof
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
AdamK

Solid attic fan

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very solid construction and easy to install. Also this brand is eligible for a tax credit which reduces the overall cost. Nice warranty and its great having an integrated solar panel and thermostat. This unit also allows you to disconnect the thermostat allowing the unit to run continuously while the sun is shining. Unit is heavy any caution should be take. When brining this up on the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Dick
from Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation by homeowner

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with solar vent. Good on line video showing installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Redguy
from Castro Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good so far

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. I replaced a dead solar fan that was the same size so it was just a replace. No need to cut anything. As soon as I took it out of the box and it saw the sun the motor started spinning. Very Quite. It has dropped the attic heat about 5 degrees. I have another dead fan up top that I am going to replace with this same unit. Thermostat works as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Watt Gray Solar-Powered Attic Fan
Donald
from Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was impressed.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For solar very impressed. It does everything the customer says it will do. Would be nice to have some sort of device that would allow you to go hardwired, for overcast days or night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.