728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Strips & Multi-Outlet Converters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Garage Power Station

Garage Power Station

Introducing the Chamberlain Garage Power Station. Air, power and lighting, all within reach. The Auto-Retractable Utility Cord combines air and power in one cord, so you can pump up, power up, and light up anything from one tool. The unit is ceiling mounted, to keep your work space free of clutter.
Overall rating:
3.839 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product46 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(24)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product46 of 60reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Garage Power Station
Review 1 for Garage Power Station
from North Richland Hills, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good, handy but the major fault is significant.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't have the trouble installing this by myself that many seemed to. I'm no Hercules (though I am quite stunning in my own right) but I was able to lift and hold this with one hand (my left and with a slightly separated shoulder) while running the lag bolts into the joists.
It'd probably be easier with two people but it's not impossible to do by oneself. I did pre-drill all my holes and had the lag fully inserted to make it as easy as possible.
The lights are bright, but not included, and the handheld light works well but the switch requires enough effort that it feels broken until you gets used to it. I'd describe the feel as "mushy."
The real and only problem, albeit a pretty big one, is that the pressure gauge is nearly worthless. It reads completely incorrectly when I try to air up my tires. For instance, my motorcycle tire had 32 psi but the gauge on the Chamberlain read over 40 psi and at one point nearly 50. I'm going to experiment this weekend to see if there is any consistency. Normally it hovers around 100 psi when not in use but charged which is the norm.
Overall, it's very convenient but one might have to expect to have another pressure gauge handy.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inaccurate tire guage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+42points
44out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garage Power Station
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful Addition To The Garage!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This power/air/light station is a great addition to the garage. It weighs 17lbs. and appears to be a very wholesome piece of equipment. It measures 20.25" x 12.75" with a height of 6.5".
The convenience of having three functions is really nice. I don't have to lug out the air compressor for just a small job, have an extra LED work light (with an on/off button) to look at things in awkward places and quick access to an electric outlet. Just pull out the cord to a position where it does not retract and the task lights turn on, the compressor runs about 3-5 seconds, and the electric outlet is on. Retract hose to turn them off. The 25 foot cord/hose retracts easily when finished using it (I really hate to wind cords up when finishing a project, so this feature is wonderful!)
The main unit has 2 task light and uses 2 MR16 bulbs, which unfortunately are not included. It would have been nice to have them in the box. The sockets are made of ceramic. Even though they were wrapped in bubble wrap, I found pieces of it inside the wrap. However, it still functions.
The section of the garage where I wanted this installed had no room on the ceiling. After consulting with Chamberlain Customer Service, we found that we could install it on the wall studs with the cord/hose pointing down (the mounting holes have 16" centers, as our studs have). The Chamberlain logo is upside down, but everything works just fine. This worked out much better for us, as it would have been very cumbersome at our age to mount it onto the ceiling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garage Power Station
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adds functional mobility to your garage

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This power station offers number of great features. There are two light sources within the main unit that mount on the ceiling. Work light assembly contains a power outlet, a work light and vehicle or bicycle tire inflator. The air pressure scale is in 5 lbs. increments making it difficult if desired pressure is not evenly divisible by 5. There is an additional needle connector for inflating sporting goods which have inflation needle input. The inflation needle connector also has a rubber molded funnel connector that you can use to inflate the balloons. Its 25 feet long retractable cord provides you abundant flexibility to move around the garage with work light assembly. You can adjust the work light assembly cable drop by adjusting the docking ball. The lights in the main unit turn ON automatically as soon as you pull the work power assembly out and turns OFF as soon as the cable is completely retracted back into the cable housing.
When you are pulling the cable out of main unit, you will hear crank sound, that’s when the cable stops retracting.
Mounting of this power station is a 2 person task. The whole unit is hung by two 2.25” lag screws which must be screwed into joist or stud which require pilot holes.
Tools you will need are; a powerful drill, a stud finder, 3/16” drill bit, 7/16” socket wrench and 6” socket extension.
Mounted unit requires two bulbs that are not shipped with the box which should’ve been clearly advertised. You need to buy two MR16 GU10 120 V Halogen bulbs (50 Watts maximum). The retainer rings for the bulbs don’t really hold the bulbs in one place; you have to tweak it so the bulbs stay in one place.
This power station certainly has added functional mobility to our garage and we love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
54out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garage Power Station
from Camano Island, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good, needs a better pressure gauge

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I liked the idea of this power station and it's generally well executed except for a couple of issues.
It took about an hour to install. I removed the light covers and disconnected the ground wires (4 screws), then removed the plastic cover (another 4 screws). My joists have 24" spacing and I wanted to install the power station perpendicular to the joists so I fit a 2 x 4 between the joists to mount the power station.
To bolt the power station to the 2 x 4 I used two ladders and had my wife hold one end of the power station while I used my drill to install the lag bolts. This went smoothly. Reinstalling the light bulbs and covers while working over my head was tedious.
The hose reel works smoothly. The air chuck locked on securely, and an auxiliary needle tip is provided. The "trouble light" is reasonably bright, but the switch requires a firm press to turn it on and off.
The issues:
1) Having read other reviews complaining about the missing MR16 bulbs, I planned ahead and ordered a pair of MR16/GU10 LED light bulbs so I wouldn't ever have to replace them. But, when it came time to install them they didn't fit in the metal holder and I had to bend the holder arms so the bulb would fit and the bulb is still not centered. It would have been better to have built-in LED bulbs - they aren't that expensive these days. Since the power station is installed right next to my garage door opener which has lights in it anyway, the lights in the power station don't add much.
2) The pressure gauge isn't useful. For some reason it measures to 180 psi when the power station compressor only goes to 105 psi. The scale reads to the nearest 5 psi, making it hard to read the 33 psi I need for my tires. But the real problem is that the gauge read 60 psi when attached to my tires. I double-checked with two of my regular gauges to make sure the tires were really inflated to 33 psi. Would have been nice to have a standard NPT connection so I could provide my own chuck with a better pressure gauge.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: inaccurate pressure gauge, requires an unusual bulb that wasn't included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
42out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garage Power Station
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy Garage Addition

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, I love the whole concept of this garage power station. It packs a lot of functionality into a little space, and then it gets it out of the way by hanging it all on the ceiling, finally giving you a reason to utilize that neglected outlet space across from the one your garage door opener uses. Once installed, everything works as it should - it puts off a good amount of light, the air compressor works well (though I did notice some curious fluctuations on the pressure gauge) & there's a needle attachment built in, which is handy. Having the electrical outlet is a huge bonus as well.
With that said, installing this station was quite a chore. Installation wasn't so much difficult as it was awkward. This product would be greatly improved by the inclusion of a mounting plate. Alas, until that feature is added - I definitely recommend having two people (and obviously, 2 ladders) to complete this install. The unit is fairly heavy & holding it over your head gets tiring pretty quickly. You'll also need a tool with an extension as the holes for the lag bots are inside the station's housing, which is deep enough to require some added length.
Other than an awkward installation, this product is well thought out & well executed. It's a great upgrade to any garage.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garage Power Station
from Yelm, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Took about 30 minutes and it was ready to use. Product is heavier than expected but is well built.
ONE NOTE*** Unit DOES NOT come with bulbs. I stepped up and bought GU10 LED bulbs for this before it arrived so I was able to put them in right away. Don't cheap out, go get the LED's. trust me. I was pleasantly surprised how well the compressor works! I bought this primarily for the drop light but I have used the compressor a couple of times and it works very well.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: lamps not included
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garage Power Station

Great concept with a few glitches.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was not all that difficult for one person depending on the ceiling height. Installation plate would have made for a more efficient install. MR16 halogen were not included and should be part of the power station. Lack of LED down lighting does not make sense regarding this new design. Very difficult to control air pressure on inflatable items other than tires as unit always stays on with no on off button.
Well built with nice quality workmanship. Great idea for the garage, especially for have an LED light with receptacle built in. Not sure how fast the compressor fills up tires so stay tuned. Overall a nice addition for the garage, no lamps along with model of MR16 just makes no sense. Compressor tool hose gets in the way with the LED pull light. Still happy with the purchase overall despite a few minor details.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Sturdy
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garage Power Station
from Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and easy to install

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This a 100% improvement over my old trouble light. Everything I need in an easy to use hand control for my garage. Yes the weight made it hard to hold up while installing but I am a 60 year old office pinky and I didn't have any trouble. I predrilled the first hole and used my cordless drill with a socket attachment to install the lag bolts. The rubber grommets help to keep the bolts from coming out while you install them. It only took me 1/2 an hour tops to install. I had the bulbs already because they are the same as my recessed lights I bought from HD that are over my sink. I love how the lights go out when your retract the cord so I won't be letting them on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garage Power Station
from Danville, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, could use a few tweaks to make it excellent

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found this very easy to install when going the route of taking the whole cover off. Took about 10 minutes and everything was ready to go. The LED light is bright and focused at a good distance, the power plug is very handy, and the compressor is a nice touch. I do wish that the unit had an on/off switch for the compressor rather than automatically turning on when the cord is pulled. It would also be a better value if LED bulbs were included.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: mr16 gu10 bulbs not included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garage Power Station
from Harrisonburg, VA, USA

Not bad so far...hard to install by yourself.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Received this as an early Fathers Day gift. Reviews so far are correct. Very difficult to mount by yourself. Need 2 people. They should supply the light bulbs. Also had to run back to the store to pick them up. C'mon for over a $100 they can throw in some halogen light bulbs. When they say don't over tighten the lag bolts-they mean it. The unit does not fit flush to the ceiling so it wobbles from side to side a bit. I figured it needed to be tightened so I broke a lag bolt off. I assume the reason why it does not fit flush is to provide some air circulation. So far, it has worked fine. I am assuming that it will function for a long time.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garage Power Station
from CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inflating a bit tricky

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
High quality hose and retraction mechanism. The 25ft hose reaches everywhere in my three car garage, and a few feet outside too. I've only had it for a few days, but I'm pretty impressed so far. It feels solid, and seems like it should last a long time. I do have a few complaints though. It does NOT come with the 2 mr16 bulbs that go into the base unit. This wouldn't be a big deal if these were just standard bulbs, but now I have to go back to the store to get these very specific 50watt Mr16 bulbs. Other complaint is it's pretty tricky to fill things up, Maybe I havent quite figured out how to do it effectively. But the device turns on as soon as you connect it to the tire. This makes it much harder to get smaller inflatables (bike tire, beach balls) to a specific pressure since to turn it off you have to disconnect the hose. It would be much better to be able to connect the inflater, and then press a button to actually inflate.
Pros: Durable, All In One
Cons: bulbs not included, inflater turns on as soon as you attach tire
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garage Power Station
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just OK

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this online and it looked like what I expected. When installing it the instructions were below average and I put a lag bolt in the wall and while snugging it up it snapped... Couldnt believe they would use such low quality bolts. The lights come on when you pull out the cord which is kind of silly cause they are always one when the cord is out even during daylight. The pump works pretty good. Overall it does what it says I guess just not very impressively. Glad I got it on sale or the value would be very poor at regular price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garage Power Station
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Limited Installation Options

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This power station has been an absolute nightmare to install. It only has two holes for the lag bolts to mount to studs. Since the studs in my garage are spaced 24" apart, this left me few mounting options. I finally found a suitable location, but realized that there was not an outlet within 6' (the length of the power cord).
Since I had to install a new outlet, I opted for a recessed receptacle so that I could mount the unit over the outlet and completely hide the plug. Well, it turns out that a recessed outlet, plus the "wide" rubber spacers do not give enough clearance for the plug to fit between the unit and the ceiling. This would not be an issue, except that the slight pressure of the cord pushes one side of the unit away from the ceiling, causing the other side to touch the ceiling. Since the (only) two mounting holes are in a straight line, there is no other anchor point to level the power station.
Also, after unscrewing the four screws to remove the cover, I discovered that two of the screw anchors on the cover were broken. So I will have to glue those back together for the cover to stay attached.
As others state, the required (not included) halogen bulbs are not the standard medium base, but rather a GU10 plug that costs upwards of $5 per bulb. An LED alternative that fits in this unit will deliver about 20% less light at a cost of over $25 per bulb. Halogen lights are very hot, so unpleasant to work under in a hot garage for any length of time.
This power station definitely needs some improvements, or at very least a mounting plate with more than two anchor points to stabilize the unit. Be prepared to shell out a good bit more for additional mounting hardware and bulbs to get this installed, and be aware that installation is tedious, frustrating, and time consuming.
Cons: Too Heavy, poor mounting hardware
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garage Power Station
from Boise ID
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Addition to my Garage

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was easy to install. Love how the compressor comes on automatically when I plug the hose into a tire valve. The lights help brighten my garage and the worklight is a great help.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garage Power Station
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't know we needed this until we received one!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We received this as a gift and love it! It combines so many useful features and doesn't take up any space! It is nice to have extra lighting in the garage when needed as well as a 'flashlight' with the drop down light. It makes it easy to plug in tools and no more dragging the compressor around to fill tires. We don't even have to find an air pressure gage when we're filling tires since this unit does this as well! It only took about half an hour to install and installation was easy.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garage Power Station
from Chicago

good buy!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
watched this product go down in price from $100+ to just $49 over a couple weeks. I was interested in it for full price but couldn't myself to spend that. When it dropped in price I said hey this is a great deal! I have 12+ foot ceiling in my garage, making this a little harder install than normal, but it was still really easy. Had to adjust air hose/cord to hang low enough so we can easily grab it when needed. Only drawback is that this unit uses halogen bulbs which are NOT included, and it would be great if they could provide an LED option so the vibrations don't cause premature bulb burnout. Other than that this product is definitely worth full price, or better if you can get it for less!!!
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garage Power Station
Age Range:45 to 54

Neat product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this as a Christmas present for my husband when he saw it on tv and commented that it would be convenient. It stays tucked away on the ceiling until needed and is very handy when in a hurry. I do however think it is overpriced. You could purchase each of the items separately and not pay half of what this cost. My husband actually had all these things separately but we thought it would be nice to have it all in one so we could get rid of the others and not have as much clutter.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
Cons: price is too high
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garage Power Station
from Danvers ma
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For DIY

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the unit, but having to pull out the cord to power on the lights seems to be too much wear on the hose and switch.Should have come with lights.
Pros: Compact
Cons: having to pull cord to turn on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garage Power Station

Welcomed Addition to My Garage

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am happy with my purchase and I got it on sale for $100. Let me start out by saying that my expectations were not as high as others. I was in the market for a retractable led drop light and an AC air pump when I stumbled onto this. At regular price I did not see the value in it but on sale it was perfect.
Installation was not difficult for me as I used tie down straps from my garage door opener mounts to my attic ladder to assist in holding the unit as I screwed it. In the pictures you will see that I added 4x4 posts between rafters to mount the Power Station where I wanted it. I also got longer lag screws so that I could put bolts on the end of them. I don’t like the idea of pulling the Power Stations cord for the years to come and wondering if the screws will let go.
Convenience is what this unit provides. As I work on the cars, bike, and clean my garage, all I have to do is reach up for three main tools that I use. It has never been easier to keep my tires at correct pressure also. It was very cumbersome to plug the air pump into cigarette lighter and turn the car on just to air up my tires. It’s also is faster than my DC air pump.
Not all is great with the Power Station. The gauge is worthless but in its defense none of the other three pumps I own have accurate gauge. The light could be bigger. I don’t know what they were thinking about the air chuck design. It may be the only way the auto on air pump works properly. It is easy enough to hold the chuck there seeing how it airs tires fast. I did not even buy the spot lights because I have enough lights in my garage.
In looking at all the positives and negatives I would buy this all over again.
Pros: Easy to Use, convenience
Cons: inaccurate gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garage Power Station
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Unit, But Not Perfect

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall I am happy with the Chamberlain Garage Power Station. I think it helps perform certain tasks that otherwise would be possible, but a bit more tedious. For example, I like that the 2-50W halogen (or LED) bulbs provide enough overhead lighting to complete most jobs and that the added lamp at the end of the 25ft extension cord can be hooked in place or just placed closer to a job to really brighten up a work space. Also, the air compressor seems to have enough power to inflate just about anything a normal DIY’er would need to inflate.
Installation of the actual unit was fairly easy. The instructions were straight forward and easy to understand. There were, however, several issues. I happened to have a 6” extension for my socket wrench that made securing the unit to the ceiling fairly easy; however, if I didn’t have that particular tool it would have been more difficult. And, like others have stated if Chamberlain provided a steel mounting plate it would have been much easier. Also, the bulbs don’t fit easily into the brackets provided to hold them into place. I’m not sure why, seems to be an easy fix on Chamberlain’s part. I did get the bulbs to fasten, but it was not as straight forward as one would imagine. Finally, the two lag bolts used to fasten the unit to the ceiling are parallel to each other and the directions state that ½” rubber washers/spacers be placed on the ends. This creates a space between the unit and the ceiling that results in a “wobble” when the cord is pulled. I imagine that a mounting plate would solve this problem as well. I simply placed a wedge between the unit and the ceiling that eliminated that wobble but still allowed the air to circulate.
The Power Station performs as expected. When the cord is pulled, the 2-50W bulbs come on immediately and when the cord is retracted they turn off. I have tested how well it inflates too on several basketballs, bike tires, and briefly on a car tire. It has the power to inflate everything easily. Others have complained that the air does not turn off until the nozzle is removed from whatever is being inflated, I don’t particularly see this as a problem. What is a bigger cause for concern is the pressure gauge. It only reads in increments of 5 and does not seem to be accurate. I have 2 other gauges in addition to the gauge on the Power Station. When I inflated the bike tires and car tire, the 2 other gauges both read the same, however, the Power Station gauge was always 3psi – 5psi low. Not a huge cause for concern, but not accurate either.
In the end, I do like the Chamberlain Garage Power Station because it makes life a bit easier, however, Chamberlain definitely has a few modifications to make that will result in a much better unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>