728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Travertine Repair Kit

Travertine Repair Kit

Custom Building Products Travertine Repair Kit is a complete kit to repair cracked or damaged travertine. This product provides a durable fix that matches most colors of travertine. Easy to use and takes less than five minutes.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Travertine Repair Kit
Review 1 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Fix

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
How do I start. Well, I purchased a marble vanity top from a small hole in the wall liquidation guy. The reason he had it was there was a crack along the left corner. A granite/marble supplier wanted $100. to fill in the crack. I took my chances that the plumber would install it in one piece. And he did. So I thought I would just put something on top of it to cover it. Then I saw this travertine repair kit. It was like something falling from the heavens. I used it. 2 coats and it looks great! With all the natural veining, you cannot see the crack anymore. I will just seal it and use it forever!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Scottsdale, Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great but adequate

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Travertine is a hollow based stone. Kitchen chairs with casters have crushed the thin areas of the tile exposing the hollow cavity underneath. Epoxy type fillers though they do a wonderful job are very expensive. While this kit is adequate to fill in the holes as it dries it shrinks and subsequently leaves a depression on the surface. It is better than the hole but not what I had hoped for.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not give even surface
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Portland, OR

Good product, but not dark enough

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product does a good job of patching cracks, chips, and worn spots. It is easy to use and clean-up is no problem. But, as others have commented, the color range is too limited, and even the darkest color was lighter than I needed. This makes the patched areas show more than they should.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Travertine Repair Kit

Fairly good fix

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The idea of having a fill for the holes in a travertine floor is an excellent idea. This product did a good job of filling the holes. THe only downside that I saw was that I could not blend a color from the two different color putty's they included to match the color of my floor tiles adequately so as not to draw attention to the filled area. They need to include a third color a little darker than the two that are enclosed. That is what was missing as well as a final sealer to seal the hole once it drys.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean, not enough color choices
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Travertine Repair Kit
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good purchase

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was fairly easy to use. It acts quite a lot like sandless grout. I used a screwdriver to knock off any other loose travertine in the holes, or remove collapsing areas before installation. I then applied the product in several layers to get it to smooth and to about the right level with the floor and then scraped down any excess. It says that it's for shallow holes, but I had one collapse all the way down to the mortar...and then to the concrete below due to a comb line; I filled it about 1/4 inch at a time, which allowed it to dry in layers. Some of my holes were also wider so I used a larger scraper than they provided. I've had no problem with any of it coming out of the holes even with the layered approach and it's been about a month now. I was a bit lax about cleaning off the "film" because I kept disrupting the patch, so I've had to work on cleaning that up after the fact, while not damaging the surface of the surrounding travertine; take the time to do the cleaning as it's installed. My only issue is that I've got travertine that's fairly beige with some brown in it, and the darker tub of color was not quite dark enough; my floor is fairly "busy" with colors, but it bothers me that the patched areas are a bit too white. Likely, I'm the only person who can see it. I almost wish that I had bought some modified sandless grout of a more appropriate color and experimented, but didn't want to buy 5 lbs of it and I'm not sure that this product doesn't have additional components that make it better than grout. I put grout sealer on it to keep it from getting too dirty...and then realized that I should have dumped some tea on it, to get it to a slightly darker color so that it matched up a bit better. The final surface is like grout, so the patches get scuffed easier than the surrounding tile (but do clean up again) and it's not as smooth as the tile, but it's a lot better than holes and collapsed areas that keep propagating, are rough on the feet, and quickly fill up with dirt, etc.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Travertine Repair Kit
from bradenton florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product. Easy to use. Pale in colour so can be noticed on darker travertine tile
Pros: Great Instructions, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Monument CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as advertised

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware-According to the fine print on the box, this Travertine Repair Kit is "not for repairing hairline cracks." In addition, the "dark" filler is nearly identical to the "light" filler. The description is misleading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Travertine Repair Kit
from South Jordan, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product--works for hairline cracks in marble.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on another review, I bought this product to repair a hairline crack in marble tile I had installed. It works great--making the crack look like just another seam. One caution--there is abrasive material in this product, so be careful when treating high gloss surfaces such as marble so that you don't scratch it. Perhaps put masking tape on both sides of the crack. I found out after the fact--the scratches aren't really noticeable except from a certain angle. I'm still very happy with the result.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Travertine Repair Kit

Easy to use, but needs a little practice

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use and they are correct that it matches the majority of travertine colors. The kit comes with two good size containers with the patching product. Each container is a different color, one light and one dark. The kit comes with a plastic bag that you mix the two colors in to create the desired matching color. When mixing, you knead the mix, very much like bread dough.
Up until now the process is very simple and easy to do. When applying the product on the floor, you use the included tool in the kit. The process of applying the product to the floor is very similar to applying sparkle on a wall. The part that requires a little bit of practice and skill is keeping the product from remaining on the floor outside of the crack or hole. I found that I had a harder time of this on the thin cracks because of needing enough product on the tool to fill the crack, but the crack being so narrow it was hard to get it filled. In the beginning I felt that I was getting more product on top of tile than inside the crack which required some extra cleanup. After doing this a few times, I developed my technique that worked very well. I would recommend to start in a corner or inconspicuous spot. By doing this, by the time you reach the more visible areas, you should have the technique down.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Looks High End, Effective, easy to prepare
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Travertine Repair Kit

Travertine 911!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dropped a can on my travertine tile floor and nice big chunk of tile chipped right out of the center of one of the floor tiles. UGH!! This product worked wonders. I mixed this product to the desired color and I tested the color in and inconspicuous area and it took me 2 attempts to match it as my stone doesn't have lots of veining to disguise a mismatch in color. I recommend taking your time to get the correct match. When I got the desired color I filled the crack and tried to clean up as much as possible right away so that there was no residue around the patch. I'm curious to see how durable this repair product will be over time but I guess I can simply repair it again as it's better than trying to replace the tile. I imagine this can be used for many surfaces and I'm going to try some experiments on other stone and marble to see how it works. Now I wonder if they make a product like this for crows feet and smile lines...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: not a con per se but it takes time to color match
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Dunlap, TN 37327, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You can hardly see it!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to repair a very long settling crack across my travertine tile bathroom floor in my basement. It applies just like any grout and wipes off easily. It took only minutes. Before I used it, all my guests would point out the crack to me. Now, no one can see it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, blends in great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glorified grout

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was expecting an epoxy type fill, but it is nothing more then 2 shades of grout in very small containers that you mix to the desired color. If you are not looking for a smooth finish than this product will work for you, but then just buy some grout at 1/4 the price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: rough finish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Cleveland, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had several small holes/cracks in my bathroom floor tile. While it is not perfect, you do not notice them now unless you are specifically looking for them. It applies basically like spackle. The only issue is if your tiles are dark, it may not match well. However, my tiles had enough variation that it was not a big deal for me. This saved me money and time. I would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Travertine Repair Kit
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked like a charm

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is a lot of repair material in two tubs (one light and one darker). Comes with everything needed and only took a few minutes to fill in about 40 small spots in the floor. There is enough material in the kit to probably last forever for the avg. homeowner just doing minor repairs. Now that is is done, I can't even find the places I filled in.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Travertine Repair Kit

Easy to use & worked great

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 4 travertine tables at an auction & 2 of them had 2 large chips on the corners & 1 crack.
We used this product & it took 3 coats for me to get it perfect & I lightly sanded. I used the darkest color but it was still too light so my wife painted it (even the patern of the travertine). It came out great...very hard to locate the damage now. I am only giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the. Color match, but you could paint it as we did to match. Great product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Travertine Repair Kit
from Phoenix, Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a simple, quick fix.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this product because it had a light and a dark in it to mix to the correct color. I tried mixing it and it was too light. I used just the dark and it was still too light, plus it was to grainy and I could not get the holes filled in smoothly. I still have divots where the holes are.
Cons: can't fill a flat hole.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.