728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Milwaukee Magnetic Tape Measures are Nothing But Heavy Duty.  Using Nylon Blade Protection and a 5-Point Reinforced Frame, they offer up to 10X Longer Blade Life, by resisting contamination wear and increasing protection when dropped.   To increase productivity on the jobsite, Milwaukee Magnetic Tapes feature a new-to-world Dual Magnets, which securely attaches to EMT sticks from below and steel studs in front. An additional innovative feature is the Finger Stop, which protects your finger when the blade retracts.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Review 1 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Hootbro
from Bear, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tape measure for drop down ceiling and steel framing work

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a top notch, high quality tape measure. The actual tape is very robust, legible and versatile in both use and function.
Tape is dual marked on both sides. Top side is the usual inch graduated scale that all tradesmen are use to. The unique thing about this tape measure though, is the the bottom side is also graduated with both an inch scale that is displayed on the vertical, but also includes a Architectural Scale for use with drawings in both a 1/8" and 1/4" scale.
I use used this tape measure for a drop down ceiling project and the magnetic tape end came in handy for the metal framing work.
Tape was also dropped from approximately a 40' ceiling a handful of times with no worse for wear and continued to function fine. I highly recommend this tape measure and has me looking at the rest of the Milwaukee tape measure line for my other tape measure needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
mixmox
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A well made tape measure that looks like it will last for a long time.

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is pretty chunky being 3¼” long (why not make it exactly 3” to make internal measurements that much easier?)
The belt clip is very strong and would not go onto my leather belt but does slide into a pocket edge.
The magnetic end of the tape holds onto the metal screw of a light switch easily.
The package claims it can extend up to 9’ and I can get it to extend 103” - 5” shy of 9’. The tape has a very deep curve to it, which is needed to enable such a good extension.
The tape itself is nylon coated and very easy to read. Retraction spring is strong and the lock easy to apply and solid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
freelyelee
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thoughtful features make this a must have

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're like me, you probably think most tape measures are the same. While that's generally true this tape measure, in addition to having the standard features of others, has a few bonus features that I feel set it apart.
Worth noting:
- Magnetic end means it sticks to wall studs as well as your fridge (if you're trying to measure from one end of the kitchen to another)
- The tape itself is semi-textured nylon, almost like a very rigid fabric which means it doesn't seem to have the tendency to fold or buckle like other aluminum tape measures I've had.
- Finger stop: You can retract the tape measures with no fear of pinching fingers or slamming the end.
Worth spending a little extra to get these thoughtful features.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
geekcarpenter
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New favorite tape

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the magnet, since I also telecom in addition to carpentry, it removes the need to stop someone else from working, to hold the other end of the tape. Another really nice feature is that the bottom side of the tape is also marked, which is very handy in akward situations.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Buildit
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good, Sturdy Tape

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The blade is nylon and takes a beating. The finger guard is a nice touch. I also like the redesigned clip. Rounded edges help keep my pocket from shredding. The magnet on the end is very helpful as well. I'd recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
RCtolland
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great tape measure

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most good tape measures cost good money and for this price (comparable with the fat maxes and Stanleys with no magnet) this one beats them all. I have had several other tapes with magnets and none compare with this one. You can pick up a screwdriver from the top of a 8ft ladder with this thing. The quality of it is top notch with the Teflon coating and the belt clip that doesn't cut your hand up when you reach into your pocket to get something. Much more durable than the normal clips. The magnet is a little heavy but usually doesn't effect the functionality of the tape measure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
bobplum

Just feels nice, not to big, it is red

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tape measure is not heavy, the magnetic tip gives you options, with the tabs sticking out on side you can hook on the sides as well as the bottom. Tape is printed on both sides of tape measure, and is easy to read. Probably the best tape measure on the market for me. 16'
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
JHRemodeling
from orange county ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

TAPE MEASURE REVIEW

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tape meaure to use during estimates assuming immediately that it would not hold up top real remodeling/construction work. I knew this because no other tape measure had ever lasted like a Stanley Fat Max...
First of all the overall feel of this tape is great, it has a very high quality coating that is obviously moisture resistant, it has decent extension, a large hooking surface which has a magnet built in. One feature this has that I dont think anyone has mentioned is that it has a very strong hook for attaching to a belt or pants etc... Anyone who is a professional and has done estimates knows exactly how annoying it is when a tape measure falls off of your belt onto a customers floor or important surface. I appreciate very much that its a tight clip. All in all this is a quality tape measure and a solid competitor of that Fat Max line. Ive already used it on couple big remodels and its holding up nice not to mention its beautiful to look at with the red and black. I dig it. Go buy one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, strong belt clip
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
cash4020
from Brighton, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One of the best tapes on the market!

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not surprised to state that Milwaukee has produced a fine tape measure with this product. This tape measure has many convenient features not found on a typical brand tape. You have the finger hold, magnetic nose, great belt clip, and measurements on the underside of the tape for measurements above eye level. This tape mease works great for both construction work and finer wood working. The tape itself never kinks or bends since it has a durable nylon coating. Milwaukee claims this tape can make a 9' run without losing stability and I can get 9'1''. A very rugged and durable tape that everyone should have in thier tool chest.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
kerryc43
from Dry Ridge, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milwaukee 16 FT Tape Measure

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought this tape measure was a little wierd at first, but after using it, I think it's the best one I have ever had. Whoever designed this knew exactly what was needed. I'm very happy with it and I recommend it to my friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Poppabear
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neat tool!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tape measure works great. I love the architectural scale on the back of it and the magnet on the end.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Vicj

Tore in half like paper

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Used this about a month doing commercial Hvac installations, it had a small nick in the edge of the tape, next time I used it tore in half. Absolute junk, tape seams like it's made of fabric. My fat max 16' tape lasted a few years doing the same work
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Tyler
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This tape measure is innovative, durable, and extremely user friendly!! Highly recomend

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not the type to typically write reviews, but having actually used this tape measure and being truly impressed I felt I would share. I would have to say my favorite feature right off the bat was the finger guard. I caught myself naturally already holding my tape measure that way and didn't really notice it until I released it and it didn't slam back on my finger. That's when I started seeing some other differences as well.
Take for example the new design on the belt clip, it clips to my pants easier, also it doesn't put the same wear and tear that my old one did on my clothes, no more frayed pockets lol. The material that the tape is made out of is a lot better as well seems like my measurements and numbers will never wear off, where as on my old one a few spots were completely worn away.
I have also dropped it a few times while on my ladder and it did not split open or jam up, maybe thats because of the 5 screws holding it together as opposed to the old standard of 3. I also like the double sided magnets on the end of it, as an electrician it comes in handy while measuring conduit, or pipes or many different things really. Or if I drop a screw while hanging a light I noticed I can use the magnet on the end to pick it up while not having to come down off my ladder. :) All in all this is a great new tape measure, oh I nearly forgot the measurements for reading drawings on the backside has the 1/8 and 1/4 so when I need to calculate distances for running conduit at an Oil pipeline booster station lets say, I can do it all on my tape measure.. I love this thing!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
James
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This tape measure is durable and easy to use

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While at the Home Depot Pro Event in Cumming Ga, I met Don the Milwaukee Rep. I was very impressed with new 16 ft. magnetic tape measure. I have always been pleased with the quality of Milwaukee tools. The finger stop is very useful in preventing the tape from snapping back on your hand. The magnetic clip works great for metal shelving. The outside material also prevents damage if you drop it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
MikeD
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milwaukee hit a homerun

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a top notch tape measure for over a month now. (I'm an engineer, and needed a better tape for my cabinet making hobby.) Milwaukee came through in a big way.
Though made of plastic, the case has a very rugged professional feel when you hold it. The tape is wide and heavy duty with easily read numbers and crisp graduations on the front and back side of the tape. Milwaukee claims the tape is designed to last ten times longer...that may be a stretch (ok, bad pun), but no doubt the tape will hold up better than the standard 'heavy duty' tapes that are out there now.The tape has a textured feel with a matte finish, unlike the glossy feel of most tapes. The hook can grab from all four sides- top, bottom, left and right and is securely attached to the tape with four rivets. And if that's not a enough, a magnet has been added to the hook. Oh, and the finger stop is a great addition, something I didn't even know I needed.
The only negative I could find, and it's minor to me, is that you need to add 3.25" when taking inside measurements. "3.25" is just a goofy number to add when calculating an inside measurement. Though to fix it to be 3" or 4" would no doubt take away from the rest of the design, so I'll live with the 3.25" calculation for the few times I take an inside measurement.
This tape measure will literally set a new standard.
(I'm shocked a tape measure could inspire me to write such a glowing review, but it's that good.)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: 3.25" adder for inside measurements
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.