728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Milwaukee Magnetic Tape Measures are Nothing But Heavy Duty.  Using Nylon Blade Protection and a 5-Point Reinforced Frame, they offer up to 10X Longer Blade Life, by resisting contamination wear and increasing protection when dropped.   To increase productivity on the jobsite, Milwaukee Magnetic Tapes feature a new-to-world Dual Magnets, which securely attaches to EMT sticks from below and steel studs in front. An additional innovative feature is the Finger Stop, which protects your finger when the blade retracts.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product23 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product23 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Review 1 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Bear, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tape measure for drop down ceiling and steel framing work

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a top notch, high quality tape measure. The actual tape is very robust, legible and versatile in both use and function.
Tape is dual marked on both sides. Top side is the usual inch graduated scale that all tradesmen are use to. The unique thing about this tape measure though, is the the bottom side is also graduated with both an inch scale that is displayed on the vertical, but also includes a Architectural Scale for use with drawings in both a 1/8" and 1/4" scale.
I use used this tape measure for a drop down ceiling project and the magnetic tape end came in handy for the metal framing work.
Tape was also dropped from approximately a 40' ceiling a handful of times with no worse for wear and continued to function fine. I highly recommend this tape measure and has me looking at the rest of the Milwaukee tape measure line for my other tape measure needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A well made tape measure that looks like it will last for a long time.

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is pretty chunky being 3¼” long (why not make it exactly 3” to make internal measurements that much easier?)
The belt clip is very strong and would not go onto my leather belt but does slide into a pocket edge.
The magnetic end of the tape holds onto the metal screw of a light switch easily.
The package claims it can extend up to 9’ and I can get it to extend 103” - 5” shy of 9’. The tape has a very deep curve to it, which is needed to enable such a good extension.
The tape itself is nylon coated and very easy to read. Retraction spring is strong and the lock easy to apply and solid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thoughtful features make this a must have

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're like me, you probably think most tape measures are the same. While that's generally true this tape measure, in addition to having the standard features of others, has a few bonus features that I feel set it apart.
Worth noting:
- Magnetic end means it sticks to wall studs as well as your fridge (if you're trying to measure from one end of the kitchen to another)
- The tape itself is semi-textured nylon, almost like a very rigid fabric which means it doesn't seem to have the tendency to fold or buckle like other aluminum tape measures I've had.
- Finger stop: You can retract the tape measures with no fear of pinching fingers or slamming the end.
Worth spending a little extra to get these thoughtful features.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Fromberg,Mt
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tape measure works very well,I like that there are measurements on both sides.Durable great product for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable and Sturdy

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sturdy and accurate. Good standout length. Hook end is large and can grab corners from top or bottom. Large hook end may make it difficult to use for short, inside measurements (less than 12")
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy Tool!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tape has a good feel to it when using it. The magnetic end on the tape is very handy when measuring from a metal object and keeps the tape in place while taking the measurement. The tape width is excellent. The tape material is very durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Seattle Wasington
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not for the professional

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice features but misses the mark. I am a carpenter and use my tape daily. The belt clip wire is nice if you plan on wearing this tape on your pocket, but if you have a tool belt or suspension rig with tape measure clips the fit is not nice. The wire is too thick and is tough to clip onto your belt. The blade hook on this tape is really big, too big. The first drop off of a ladder or scaffold and then it is bent. Bam an inaccurate tape in one drop. I really did like the magnet feature though. IMHO stick with a fat max.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a great tool to have.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this tool, makes it very easy to measure. like how it has measurement markings on both sides.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Chester County, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good tape measure

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Every aspect of this tape measure is excellent except for the recoil spring is too light it needs help to recoil other than that it's great I guess it's better than getting bit when it snaps back.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: recoil spring too light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Longview, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tape

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Washington and it rains alot ,this tape holds up the best. Iv'e tried many brands.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Brownsville texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love the double sided measurments

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great product its soft feel when you pull out the measuring tape out..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Ever

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Feel it, use it measure something right there in the store and you will agree. Money well spent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from orange county ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

TAPE MEASURE REVIEW

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tape meaure to use during estimates assuming immediately that it would not hold up top real remodeling/construction work. I knew this because no other tape measure had ever lasted like a Stanley Fat Max...
First of all the overall feel of this tape is great, it has a very high quality coating that is obviously moisture resistant, it has decent extension, a large hooking surface which has a magnet built in. One feature this has that I dont think anyone has mentioned is that it has a very strong hook for attaching to a belt or pants etc... Anyone who is a professional and has done estimates knows exactly how annoying it is when a tape measure falls off of your belt onto a customers floor or important surface. I appreciate very much that its a tight clip. All in all this is a quality tape measure and a solid competitor of that Fat Max line. Ive already used it on couple big remodels and its holding up nice not to mention its beautiful to look at with the red and black. I dig it. Go buy one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, strong belt clip
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New favorite tape

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the magnet, since I also telecom in addition to carpentry, it removes the need to stop someone else from working, to hold the other end of the tape. Another really nice feature is that the bottom side of the tape is also marked, which is very handy in akward situations.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Brighton, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One of the best tapes on the market!

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not surprised to state that Milwaukee has produced a fine tape measure with this product. This tape measure has many convenient features not found on a typical brand tape. You have the finger hold, magnetic nose, great belt clip, and measurements on the underside of the tape for measurements above eye level. This tape mease works great for both construction work and finer wood working. The tape itself never kinks or bends since it has a durable nylon coating. Milwaukee claims this tape can make a 9' run without losing stability and I can get 9'1''. A very rugged and durable tape that everyone should have in thier tool chest.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good, Sturdy Tape

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The blade is nylon and takes a beating. The finger guard is a nice touch. I also like the redesigned clip. Rounded edges help keep my pocket from shredding. The magnet on the end is very helpful as well. I'd recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great tape measure

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most good tape measures cost good money and for this price (comparable with the fat maxes and Stanleys with no magnet) this one beats them all. I have had several other tapes with magnets and none compare with this one. You can pick up a screwdriver from the top of a 8ft ladder with this thing. The quality of it is top notch with the Teflon coating and the belt clip that doesn't cut your hand up when you reach into your pocket to get something. Much more durable than the normal clips. The magnet is a little heavy but usually doesn't effect the functionality of the tape measure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Just feels nice, not to big, it is red

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tape measure is not heavy, the magnetic tip gives you options, with the tabs sticking out on side you can hook on the sides as well as the bottom. Tape is printed on both sides of tape measure, and is easy to read. Probably the best tape measure on the market for me. 16'
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Dry Ridge, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milwaukee 16 FT Tape Measure

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought this tape measure was a little wierd at first, but after using it, I think it's the best one I have ever had. Whoever designed this knew exactly what was needed. I'm very happy with it and I recommend it to my friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neat tool!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tape measure works great. I love the architectural scale on the back of it and the magnet on the end.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>