728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

The Milwaukee 48-22-5125 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure has up to 10X longer life against jobsite dirt and debris with Extruded Nylon Blade Protection and a 5-Point Reinforce Frame for drop protection. Innovations on this tape measure that help increase productivity include: the Finger Stop-protects your finger during tape hook retraction and Dual Magnets- prevents roll over and hold onto steel studs and EMT for easy measurement.
Overall rating:
3.938 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Review 1 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Hurwizzle
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best tape measure I've ever owned!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the first time I held the measure, I could tell it was great. The body of this tape measure feels extremely sturdy, which is great because I tend to drop it pretty often, and the tape feels incredibly durable, too. Seriously, the thing just feels like it was born ready to work.
Cool features include dual magnets on the tab for a stronger, more secure hold, a brilliant finger protector (shown in one of the pictures) to keep your hand from feeling the pain of the retracting tape/tab, and numbering on both the front AND the back of the tape measure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Skipper
from newark De
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A hassle to open

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just got the combo pack ( 25' and 16') and struggled to get the things free from the packaging! I can't believe it needs to be that difficult to get the product out of a blister pack. There is no real difference between these tape measures and a Stanley Fat Max or Lufkin. don't waste your time fighting with the un-necessary packaging hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
hanstone
from Lowell mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed with blade only...

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the feel and the blade. As other reviewer stated the end gets stuck like crazy, and the thing that drove me crazy was, when measuring boards the tape doesn't stand on its own, it falls over. I did use it on a plumbing job and did like the magnetic tip.
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Anonymous
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was disappointed in the performance

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I was in the market for a good quality tape ,price was not a huge factor. I spent 20 to 30 minutes scrutinizing what was available and decided on the Milwaukee 25 ft. with the magnetic end since I put an addition on our home built out of steel. In comparing features and price I really was impressed with all the features on this tape. Today I was laying out some 2x4's for a deck railing and boom, the tape kept falling over and sometimes hit the ground. Not good in the work I do! The body is somewhat rounded with a small flat area which is not large enough to keep the tape upright when laying something out. I guess I'm in agreement with BillC that some improvements need to be made. I like the sturdy head on it but it makes the first inch hard to read.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: numbers in first inch hard to read
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
ranger57

awesome tape

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have the 25 foot as well as the 16 foot. Right now Milwaukee has the best tape measure on the market. Just a little better than the cobalt magnetic tape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Grizzly

Hook easily bends

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this tape measure, it slides in and out smoothly, the feel of it is nice, the magnet and the wide end to hook and measure from.
This tape measure was to replace my 16' Klein Tape Measure (Klein Tools 93116) as the magnets shattered off the end hook. This tape measure replaced it very well and I was very happy until a week after using it I noticed the end hook is bent from normal use, this end hook is of very thin fragile material and I was extremely disappointed. ***View customer pictures***
I'm an electrician mainly measuring EMT conduit, I use a tape measure very often and not in any abusive aggressive manner. I'm not sure when this exactly happened, it's never been lodged, stuck, crimped in any way, it's EMT conduit after all.
If it wasn't for the hook being so fragile, this would easily be a 5-star tape measure, and most likely may favorite as well, everything else about it is very smooth and almost flawless.
CONCLUSION: Very fragile hook that bends with pressure (At least it did for me). ***View customer pictures***
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
turtle77
from Pittsburgh, Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

close, but not quite

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this tape because I am currently working with metal studs and a magnetic tape is super helpful when trying to get a layout for the studs,etc.. As others have said, this thing won't stay upright when I set it down to make a measurement because of the finger guard design, which is rounded. How could they possibly have thought that was a good idea? Other gripes: because of the magnet placement I cannot read the lines from 1-2 inches on the front, and the tape itself is not very durable (it bent in several places after just a couple of uses- not abuses).
Nice features: the magnets work pretty well, and having a reading on the back is awesome. I haven't used the scale rule on the back yet for blueprints, but I think that could be a useful feature too.
All in all, this could be a great tape measure if they just did a little redesign. But as it is now, I would maybe look elsewhere.
Pros: Accurate, good for metal stud work
Cons: Not Durable, poor design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
BillC
from Hallandale Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needs Improvement

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Tape has some good features but needs some work back at the chalkboard to make it better. I bought this tape because the magnets seemed secure & I have Milwaukee tools. What I did not like was a 7 to 8 foot stand out only; the nice wire guard on the front was nice but it was round & will not let the tape sit flat on the floor or work surface (rolls around a bit); the tape lock seems kinda flimsy. I did like the wire belt clip. These days, I really have not found anyone that makes really great tape measure (or one that holds up). I hope that Milwaukee goes back to improve this one.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Coloradohermit
from Canon City, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this tape!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used Stanley tapes for over 30 years hoping somebody would make a better one. Finally they did! This Milwaukee Tape is so much better than the other tapes. It has a larger hook on the end of the tape that will hook not only on the back or bottom of the tape but it will also hook with either side or the top. Plus it has a printed scale on both faces of the tape. It has the traditional yellow on top and a white scale on the back. And both faces of the tape are textured like they have fabric on them which makes the tape anti-glare and easier to read in bright sunlight. It now has a metal bar with a gap behind it on the bottom so you can use your finger to brake the tape when running it in without it pinching your finger when it gets to the end like other tapes do. It has a heavy spring wire belt clip that is easier to hook onto my pocket or belt. It has heavy black rubber molded around the edges making it easier to grip and the dark red and black color is easy to spot. Some times I have hard time finding my other tape with the chrome finish on it when its laying with my other chromed finish tools. This one is a lot easier to spot with the red & black. Now that I have this Milwaukee tape I'm going to retire my old Stan tape.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, finger gard, multiple hook surfaces
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Jim2
from MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive features!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased it for my son-in-law for working on his basement. We worked together on it for a week. Made me wish it was mine! The wide tab on the end is great for snagging a 2x4 to take a measurement. Love the slot for controlling the recoil speed. And the magnet tip comes in handy too. Numbers on both sides is helpful in some interesting settings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, great features not offered in most competitors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
aan1951
from Shell Knob, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I have two

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I misplaced the first one I bought, thought I might have left it on a job so had to resort to my old tape a Dewalt which is a good tape but the Milwaukee is the best tape I have ever had. It is worth the extra $$ heavier duty and has a coating on the blade no rust. Also won't tear up your pocket with the clip as other tapes do. Thanks Milwaukee
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, won't tear up pocket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
bmk51
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome tape measure !!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The most awesome tape measure, quality built, rugged, smooth action and overall the best HD tape measure I have ever owned. AAAA+
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Nbgoodnite

Awesome Tool

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best tape measure I've ever used. Nice fast return, good quality tape, excellent belt clip. I have every tape measure out there including Snap-on, in my opinion this one is far superior to any I've owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
GolfingGrandma
from IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice heavy duty tape measure

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very easy to use & read tape measure. It has measurements on top and bottom of tape as well as tabs on the end allowing use of tape to catch on the top or bottom. The end of the tape is magnetic which secures the tape to metal so you can measure longer areas by yourself. Tape is heavy weight and does not bend easily (I pulled the tape out to over 9 foot with no support on the end before it bent) The only con is that it is a bit heavy to carry on your belt while doing a job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: a bit too heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Jimmy

Best tape measure ever

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tape measure is nothing like the others. This is in a class of it's own. It's that good!! You can feel how solid of a product it is. It's vinyl tape, sturdy clip, finger guard are great to work with. In addition it has the measurements on both sides as well. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. It's great for anyone from a carpenter, contractor or just someone working around the house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
kdb54
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This new tape measure has some very nice features including the no pinch retrieval and the easy clip features. The magnet is very strong for its size and the top and bottom clips on the tape allow you to hook an object without flipping the tape over and loosing the extension strength. Overall a very nice unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.