728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

The Milwaukee 48-22-5125 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure has up to 10X longer life against jobsite dirt and debris with Extruded Nylon Blade Protection and a 5-Point Reinforce Frame for drop protection. Innovations on this tape measure that help increase productivity include: the Finger Stop-protects your finger during tape hook retraction and Dual Magnets- prevents roll over and hold onto steel studs and EMT for easy measurement.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product94 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(79)
4
(15)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product94 of 109reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Review 1 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Hackensack, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

25-Foot Milwaukee Magnetic Tape Measure Doesn't Hold Up to the Mark

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Saw it on sale and thought it would be a nice addition to my tool box, but was wrong. Biggest flaw is that it doesn't stand up when the blade is extended and you lock the blade. So when measuring wood and other non-metallic products (like sheet rock), the body of the ruler rolls over, causing the end of the tape to detach from the edge of the object you are measuring. Guess it would be a much better tool if I was working with metal products. Going back to my old Stanlely 25-footer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Great Tape Measure....Until The Blade Broke After 3 Months

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked this tape measure. I have had at least 10 or 12 different tapes over the years and this one was clearly my favorite. The blade stand out was long and steady. The numbers on the blade are easy to read on both sides of the blade. I dropped it more than a few times at job sites and no problems at all. The only minor issues was that the tape would not securely sit up right on a board and you can't really use the first 1" of the tape due to the large hook attachment system.
I have had this tape for a bit over three months and the blade is broken almost half way through. Of course, it has passed the 3 month return for Home Depot and Milwaukee will only work on the tape if I mail it to a regional repair center, which is many hundreds of miles away. Not much of a warranty when you have to spend almost as much to use the warranty.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Colorado

Cadillac of tape measures..

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tape measure is amazing. Bit big and the clasp is very hard to attach to belt but wow! Measurements on both sides plus the magnetic end makes it very versatile. Way to go, Milwaukee.
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

best tape measure

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best product. Never had a tape measure like this!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Nothing else measures up!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very rugged and durable, this thing has magnets built in and a wide stance from the first inch, readings on front and back for those awkward measurements. I bought the holiday combo pack that gave me 25' and 16' for the price of one! Some may complain it's weight is to heavy, but I have big muscle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Bend Or
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent buy (with combo 16' tape)

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used Stanley products forever but... This was a combo set on sale with a 16' foot matching tape. I use it daily as a contractor and this guy has help up better than expected. Still prefer the Stanley leverlock for certain uses but I'll go out of my way to grab this one. Would buy again. *It is more bulky than matching length tape measures, but not a concern of mine.
Pros: Durable, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Excellent!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tape measure, highly visible and easy to read, the magnetics come in handy too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best tape measure I've ever owned!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From the first time I held the measure, I could tell it was great. The body of this tape measure feels extremely sturdy, which is great because I tend to drop it pretty often, and the tape feels incredibly durable, too. Seriously, the thing just feels like it was born ready to work.
Cool features include dual magnets on the tab for a stronger, more secure hold, a brilliant finger protector (shown in one of the pictures) to keep your hand from feeling the pain of the retracting tape/tab, and numbering on both the front AND the back of the tape measure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Verona, Wi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't say enough good things about this tape measure

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
By far the best tape measure i've owned. I love the design where you can stop the tape measure with your finger and then you also have the magnet and it doesn't break when holding it out. The only thing to watch for is this tape measure is insanely difficult to get out of the packaging.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, great design
Cons: awful packaging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good quality tape measure

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The magnetic feature is better than I was expecting. So far the mechanism works very well and the tape is one of the best I have purchased in years (which unfortunately are several). I would definately buy this brand again.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

nice tape

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The hook end is very nice has hooks on the sides top and bottom, with a magnet., very easy to hook and stay hooked.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: little bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Fairbanks, ak
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice benefits

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the gauge of steel that was used to make this, great standout length. And the measure marks on the back are quite convenient! The finger lock is great as well, Kinda of the best of lever lock and thumb lock but more convenient. I have only used the magnet a few times, works nice, but that big, huge, double sided tape-end is cool, holds on anything! I love this tape, and because my work requires me to have several tool boxes, I am getting more of these! Love it!
(Just wish it was made by Yellow-and-Black to match my other tools)
Pros: Sturdy, Strong
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

milwaukee25 foot tape

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
its easy to read to see and too handle.its very handy and easy to see the numbers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total junk

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk.
This is one of those tools that makes you wonder if anyone actually tested it prior to production.
Pros:
1. numbers are listed on both sides. It's hard to find a tape measure that is two sided.
2. Huge hook with Magnetic end
3. Lock actually works.
4. The build quality is very good.
Cons:
1. The hook is attached with a plate on the bottom of the tape. What this does is snags the end of whatever you're hooking and if you're not paying attention will cause the cut to be about 1.5" short. What a piece of junk. I cut a $50 PVC trim-board too short because of this.
2. Same problem with the snagging something with the top side of the hook. If you're not careful you'll snag the magnet and not the hook.
3. When I'm using my SCMS, I usually don't bother to mark the board, instead I just move the material with the tape measure standing up and put a tooth of the blade directly on the number on the number with the tape measure stretched out. What happens with the milwaukee tape measure, the body of the tape measure doesn't stand up, it falls over.
4. The functional design is hugely flawed.
At the price they get for this, it should have been the best tape measure I've ever owned. I've never owned a tool that I was so angry at that I destroyed it. This is the first.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Details matter

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The finger slot to hold the tape is fantastic plus adding the coating to the tape helps its motion. So far, this is the best tape measure I've used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure

Good tape measure

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This tape have a lot of good features most tapes don't have. A scale for blue print reading magnetic tip. Numbers on both sides. Although is does not retract that well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Clinton Township, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New Tape Measure

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I don't recommend buying the last one on the shelf. After using the tape measure for a week, we pulled it out to its maximum length and it disconnected from the winder inside. We did appreciate the Home Depot return policy and are now enjoying our new tape measure once again. No plans to pull it all the way out. We appreciate the markings on both sides, the magnetic end and the smooth distribution and return of the tape.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Reno, NV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid purchase

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tape measurer. Beats the others hands down. Highly recommend
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best tape measure ever

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very smooth operating tape with measurement readings on both sides of the tape. The magnetic pickup at the end of the tape is strong enough to hold it in place when making measurements.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 25 ft. Magnetic Tape Measure
from buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

made well but has design flaws

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal head is too big and hard to fit into tight spaces. Belt clip is hard to clip on to a belt. Bottom of tape housing isn't flat and causes the tape to roll over when locked open and laid out on a board. No where on the tape to scribble measurements. Hard to read first inch of tape. Upon retraction tape occasionally twists and gets jammed in metal guard
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: metal head too big, hard to read first inch, won't sit flat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>