728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Surveillance Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Remotely access live video from up to 4 cameras anytime, anywhere via iPhone, iPad, Android smart phones, tablets or PC. Easy to install and secure digital wireless transmission, you can record up to 4 cameras simultaneously to independent files directly to the included 4GB SD card. Rechargeable long life battery.
Overall rating:
3.893 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product23 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product23 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Review 1 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for home

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Security cameras are working fine and the installation was easy enough. We feel more secure at home and especially when we're away. We plan to add another camera soon. Great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Though one camera did not work when I received the package, the new system works great. I wish it had come with 4 cameras (I know you can purchase more, but the viewer has a 4 window screen and it is hard to look at with only the 2 cameras, plus 1 additional camera costs as much as the whole system). I like the motion activation mode, the sound and the clear picture. I puchased this because it said the cameras were wireless, assuming I could put them anywhere outside. I did not realize it had to be plugged in, so that limited where I could put them, plus I had to get an electrician to put in some outlets outside my house. It would be nice if the cameras ran on solar or something so they could be put away from the house. Otherwise it is a good system for the price.
Pros: Lots of Features, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions
Cons: wireless does not mean wire free, only 2 cameras
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good system

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall, this is a nice security package. Best thing is how easy to set up and get going. Basically plug in the camera and turn on the unit. The one thing to note, is that to have remote web viewing, you must have a window PC and the base unit must be plugged into that computer to gain access. Therefore the PC must always be on. If you have a mac you are out of luck.
The only other issue is the motion detection is so sensitive that the cameras are recording all the time.
I have adjusted the masking as well as the sensitivity, but still the cameras seem to always be in record mode.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: limited functions
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Lovejoy, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

THE VERY BEST IN SURVEILLANCE

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just bought this system and all we have to say is WOW!!! It took us more time to unwrap than to set up. Greatly pleased with results of cameras and the monitor. Instructions could have been clearer but we are managing. Husband had to take one camera down because the picture on the monitor was upside down but no problem. We got it straighten out in less than five minutes. Our house is big so we decided to get another system. Then we will have enough cameras to cover our house and property. Great Value!!! Yes, we highly recommend this product. Just have husband see how picture is before fastening it to frame, ceiling, etc.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Installation
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Prairie du Sac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to use

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works great. We wish the range was a little better. For the price of this camera system, it is a great deal.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Nice Design
Cons: poor insructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from washington dc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IMPORTANT PURCHASE

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My son was able to install both cameras and teach me the monitor in one afternoon. The only down side to the whole process was the price. My daughter in law bought the same product via amazon for $70 less.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for my purpose

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought it to watch my two new adopted dogs when they'r'e in the yard so I can correct bad behavior as it happens. Right now it's winter so I'm using it to watch them in their dog house to be sure they're comfortable/warm. I don't think I'd use this as a security system because it senses motion when I sure can't see any and it seems the wireless connection is adversely affected by precipitation. But the recordings are good and clear, it requires amazingly little light to continue to see in color and you can put a fair sized memory card in and record a lot. Being able to turn sound on or off is a feature I hadn't considered when I bought it but have found that I am very glad to have it. I wish you could interrupt recording once it has started but that doesn’t seem to be possible (although everything I know how to do with this is from using it, which says something about how easy it is; I guess I should read the manual to be sure recording can’t be stopped).
As I said, it's great for my purpose and I am happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Green Bay, WI

Good cameras for the price

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These cameras were very easy to install and connect to the monitor, was up and running in minutes. The cameras have good clarity & distance in day light, night vision is limited, based on available light but acceptable for my needs as they are installed to monitor front and back areas of home.. The main issue I have had and am still dealing with is getting the cameras to function on the remote view program. They use old windows operating systems (7 and below) and older internet explorer (9 or less). I am still working with Microsoft tech support to get them to work correctly on my computer. Uniden customer service is no help at all on this issue. I hope Uniden updates their camera remote view operating systems
All in all these are a good value for a basic home surveillance/ security system
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from salt lake
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice system, remote access not for Mac

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just set this up today, very easy plug and play. My only reservation is that the remote access viewing is not available for mac users. Even if you have a iphone, the monitor needs to be connected to a Windows PC on your home network to allow for remote viewing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: limited remote access for mac
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

A good product, but...

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The system is great if you don't care too much about remote viewing (i.e. via the internet or smart phone). all you have to do is plug the display unit and the cameras to power outlets, and you are in business. I even bought two additional cameras to have a total of four viewing areas. However, when it comes to remote viewing which is very important to me, the system is ok, not great. It did not work by following the provided instructions and I had to call customer service. That went very well actually and I was able to set up the remote service to view the video on my phone. The remote viewing software that I use on my Android phone is not great. The connection is not stable (but that could be due to the cell phone signal) and the software is a bit glitchy (it freezes and quits sometimes). I still have not been able to view the video using a remote desktop computer through an internet browser which you are supposed to be able to do. It just did not work, and I tried it on several computers and systems. Over all I think the product is good especially for the price. It could be much better if the remote capabilities are improved.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Miami, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic Value

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cameras work great. They were very easy to install and have been a great benefit.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Security System has Exceeded My Expectations

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the system for several weeks now. It was very easy to install and set up. The quality has been better than I expected. I have even purchased an additional camera and added it to the system without any problem. As of now I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. It has solved my outdoor security problem and exceeded what I was hoping for in a outdoor home wireless security system.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, fulfills my need
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Waltham, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Limited Features.

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation and Set up of each camera was easy enough. Mount the camera where you want it and use the power cable extenders if necessary.
Pairing to the base unit took a little while, but after the initial technical difficulties, it works fine every time.
The motion detection is not the best as the UV camera will cause image blur that activates the motion detection and thus the recording. I have many hours of absolutely nothing on my SD card.
The only cameras compatible with this system are the type that come with it, which is great for outdoor use, but for indoor use you are stuck with big, bulky cameras.
Activating the remote viewing was a hassle. It took many hours of talking with tech support to finally get my system recognized on Uniden's servers. After that, though, the remote viewing works very well with Android based systems and Windows OS.
Unfortunately, when the unit is plugged into a computer for Remote Viewing use, there is no way to operate the base unit. The screen goes blank and you cannot access the controls. Unplugging the USB seems to turn off the Remote Service, so it is a bit inconvenient to go back and forth.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Complicated, Short Battery Life
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from charlotte
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

AS ADVERTISED

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will agree with all other reviews... this product is great! BUT next to impossible to connect on my laptop... which means no remote viewing via tablet / smart phone. - easy install.
My thoughts are... If i come home and my house is tore up... just go view the video and see what happened... this unit records.
Glad I got it! It fits my needs, I love that it has an alarm when motion detector tigers it on, so I can glance over and see whats going on. Night vison works great, motion detect works great, all in all... everything is great! I will be buying two more cameras to connect to keep an eye out on the rest of my property.
Things I wish had been written in other reviews - the cameras do require 120V plugins. The kit does include your 120V plugins. - you just have to find a socket to plug them in. ---- in my case eaves worked well and plugged them in via attic / over the garage... too easy!
Also - this unit records till the sd card is full, ... it keeps the newest, and rids the oldest, ... if you set it up that way.... I did.
Would I recommend? YES....
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Poor Product

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second of these Uniden camera setups. After a while the playback on the tablet stops working. Go with something from Swan. This thing is trash.
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This system gave us more visibility in our driveway than we imagined! It installed in a couple of hours and gives a perfect view! Having the audio along with a clear picture is an added bonus. Wish we had this years ago!
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You MUST have a computer connected and running 24/7 to monitor from an iPhone or Android and even then it fails more than it works. 7" monitor is disabled when connected to computer, so it is worthless. One camera failed completed in less than one month.. Very poor hardware and software design. After struggling with it for much too long, it is going in the trash!!!.
Pros: fits nicely in my trash can
Cons: poor software design, requires a computer connected 24/7 to monitor, hardware failed in less than 1 month, software is very buggy, nighttime image quality poor
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

not bad but not great either - poor video compatability

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
setup and installation are easy. Picture in daylight and night vision are OK. Motion detection with night vision is completely useless. Objects that to not move trigger detection constantly. The microphone is ok but seems to cut out when it thinks there is no sound and tends to miss a small amount of audio. The worst part is that the video files record in ".snx" format, which you have to use uniden's viewer to view on the pc. I have done research online and cannot find a format converter anywhere that will convert this VERY unstandard format to a more standard one like mpeg, avi, or wmv. So if you are planning on sending a recording to someone, IE an HOA, just forget about it. There is an AV cable that allows you to plug the monitor into a tv, but it will NOT work with a DVR. Not sure why Uniden used this obscure format but it is the death nail for an otherwise half-way decent system for the price. We bought the unit for supporting evidence for court and the HOA but since it's totally useless for this, I will likely return it and upgrade to a better system. If you're not worried about sharing the files, it's not a bad system for the price.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: poor video compatability
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Reasonable Purchase

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product works except that sometimes the signal falters and thereby freezes the screen while recording.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: signal not consistent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Not bad for the price

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pictures will freeze on the viewer and has a lot of lines of colors running through the picture on the monitor.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
Cons: picture will freeze up on the monitor.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>