728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Surveillance Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Remotely access live video from up to 4 cameras anytime, anywhere via iPhone, iPad, Android smart phones, tablets or PC. Easy to install and secure digital wireless transmission, you can record up to 4 cameras simultaneously to independent files directly to the included 4 GB SD card. Rechargeable long life battery.
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Review 1 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
SATX777
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for home

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Security cameras are working fine and the installation was easy enough. We feel more secure at home and especially when we're away. We plan to add another camera soon. Great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Barbara
from Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for my purpose

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought it to watch my two new adopted dogs when they'r'e in the yard so I can correct bad behavior as it happens. Right now it's winter so I'm using it to watch them in their dog house to be sure they're comfortable/warm. I don't think I'd use this as a security system because it senses motion when I sure can't see any and it seems the wireless connection is adversely affected by precipitation. But the recordings are good and clear, it requires amazingly little light to continue to see in color and you can put a fair sized memory card in and record a lot. Being able to turn sound on or off is a feature I hadn't considered when I bought it but have found that I am very glad to have it. I wish you could interrupt recording once it has started but that doesn’t seem to be possible (although everything I know how to do with this is from using it, which says something about how easy it is; I guess I should read the manual to be sure recording can’t be stopped).
As I said, it's great for my purpose and I am happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
vprso
from Prairie du Sac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to use

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great. We wish the range was a little better. For the price of this camera system, it is a great deal.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Nice Design
Cons: poor insructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
AJ923

A good product, but...

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The system is great if you don't care too much about remote viewing (i.e. via the internet or smart phone). all you have to do is plug the display unit and the cameras to power outlets, and you are in business. I even bought two additional cameras to have a total of four viewing areas. However, when it comes to remote viewing which is very important to me, the system is ok, not great. It did not work by following the provided instructions and I had to call customer service. That went very well actually and I was able to set up the remote service to view the video on my phone. The remote viewing software that I use on my Android phone is not great. The connection is not stable (but that could be due to the cell phone signal) and the software is a bit glitchy (it freezes and quits sometimes). I still have not been able to view the video using a remote desktop computer through an internet browser which you are supposed to be able to do. It just did not work, and I tried it on several computers and systems. Over all I think the product is good especially for the price. It could be much better if the remote capabilities are improved.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
SeniorGuy
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Security System has Exceeded My Expectations

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the system for several weeks now. It was very easy to install and set up. The quality has been better than I expected. I have even purchased an additional camera and added it to the system without any problem. As of now I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. It has solved my outdoor security problem and exceeded what I was hoping for in a outdoor home wireless security system.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, fulfills my need
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Mikesq
from Waltham, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Limited Features.

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation and Set up of each camera was easy enough. Mount the camera where you want it and use the power cable extenders if necessary.
Pairing to the base unit took a little while, but after the initial technical difficulties, it works fine every time.
The motion detection is not the best as the UV camera will cause image blur that activates the motion detection and thus the recording. I have many hours of absolutely nothing on my SD card.
The only cameras compatible with this system are the type that come with it, which is great for outdoor use, but for indoor use you are stuck with big, bulky cameras.
Activating the remote viewing was a hassle. It took many hours of talking with tech support to finally get my system recognized on Uniden's servers. After that, though, the remote viewing works very well with Android based systems and Windows OS.
Unfortunately, when the unit is plugged into a computer for Remote Viewing use, there is no way to operate the base unit. The screen goes blank and you cannot access the controls. Unplugging the USB seems to turn off the Remote Service, so it is a bit inconvenient to go back and forth.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Complicated, Short Battery Life
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
arth

All appears to work fine except for remote operation

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not get the remote viewing to work, even after multiple calls to support. The last attempt caused the PC viewer to pick up the camera being used for general usage with the PC, but I never was able to get the video from the network - attempted this on multiple Windows 7 systems with the same result. The stand alone monitor/recording worked fine, but this is inoperable when the remote monitoring is being used. Unit was returned - still looking for an alternative.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: could not get remote to work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Wrsm45
from WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great deal.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to set up and use. Works very well.
Pros: Loud, Great Sound Quality, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
panamasteve

Not bad for the price

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pictures will freeze on the viewer and has a lot of lines of colors running through the picture on the monitor.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
Cons: picture will freeze up on the monitor.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Jacob2

Very cool

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice and useful. Perfect for those who spend time in basements and need to monitor outside.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Bobby
from Auburn, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good features that are easy to understand

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good clear picture with all the features needed for the price. Customer Service was very good and Shipping was very fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless 480 TVL Indoor and Outdoor Portable Video Surveillance with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Me57
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was diy, and simple; the quality was more than my expectations. Anyone wanting surveillance this product is for you!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: hard trying to get it on the computer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.