728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat

Learning Thermostat

Meet the next generation thermostat. The Nest Learning Thermostat doesn’t need to be programmed — it remembers the temperature you set to build a personalized schedule. Nest turns itself down when you’re away to help save energy and you can change the temperature from anywhere using your smartphone, tablet or laptop.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product122 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(105)
4
(20)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product122 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat
Review 1 for Learning Thermostat
Murr
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Review

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I've been using the nest for approximately 30 days now. The design of the unit is exceptional and it would be at home in any decor. Construction of the unit is also excellent. Nest chose to use metal and glass as opposed to the cheaper plastic materials found on most thermostats. I am extremely pleased with the design and construction of the product.
The function of the Nest is marginal for a product that demands the price premium this one does. The proximity sensor (used to sense when you approach) is flaky at best. Sometimes walking by the thermostat will make it light up just as intended. Other times standing in front of the thermostat madly waving your arms has no effect. This would be a minor annoyance but for the fact that when it's not responsive, the thermostat automatically enters "away" mode and turns the heat down to 60 degrees. I have been forced to disable the "auto away" mode because of this ongoing malfunction. Multiple resets and calls to support have done nothing to correct this issue that many users are seeing.
I operate a dual fuel system and have caught the system running the wrong unit based on temperature three times in the last thirty days. Calls to Nest regarding this have not been helpful. On the first call I got "level one" support that didn't appear to know how a dual fuel system works. Had I not been better informed than he, they would have had me change settings in the unit essentially wiping out any efficiency realized from having the dual fuel system. The "level two" support at least understood my problem, but still did not have any insight as to why the problems were occurring. I have not had this malfunction in the last two weeks.
The web based control portion of the thermostat is exceptional. It is extremely intuitive and easy to use. If you disable many of the other functions and simply use this as a remotely controllable thermostat, you will not be disappointed. Unfortunately, there are many cheaper alternatives if this is all you're looking for.
Overall I like the Nest appearance and web function. There appear to be issues with sensors and logic that need to be fixed.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: many features still dont work properly, some support staff not well trained
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Learning Thermostat
Texas
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart just got intelligent

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Nest thermostat takes the guess work out of programming. Initial setup has you manually change your thermostat over the first week or so, after which the thermostat learns your habits and starts to set itself.
I found the thermostat very easy to install, simply connect the wires to the corresponding terminals and the nest detected them and automatically set itself for my heating and cooling type.
Motion sensors are built in, so it knows if you are away and automatically sets itself to conserve energy. This worked very well for us. I returned home early one day and the Nest sprang to life and cooled the home.
Some features not found in a regular thermostat are the "Airwave" feature. Typically thermostats stop the fan when the heating or cooling is stopped, this leaves some hot or cold air in the ducts. The Nest runs the fan a little afterwards, pushing out this otherwise wasted air. The Nest also learns how long it takes to heat or cool your room. So when you select your desired temperature it tells you how long it is going to take to get there, this actually influences your choice and can result in energy savings; for example I told the Nest I wanted to cool to 75 degrees and it said it would take 44 minutes to get there, selecting 76 told me just 20 minutes. I picked 75 instead and saved 24 minutes of energy (I didn't notice the 1 degree difference).
The Nest tries to influence your energy use habits. If you pick an energy efficient setting it shows a little green leaf on the display, this actually influenced me to pick a smarter temperature, saving me money and energy usage.
Aesthetically the Nest is a work of art. Very futuristic, yet not too obvious. The color display and solid metal casing make this stand out against the traditional plastic offerings. The polished black display spring to a vibrant colorful display when you approach, and also when you make changes using the free mobile application.
A helpful install kit, including tools, is provided. As is a concierge service to help with installation issues. I cant comment on the latter, as I didn't need to call - it was so easy to install.
I used this with a smart phone app, and I was surprised as how quickly it responded. I've used mobile applications with other WiFi thermostats and there is always a little lag, this seemed to respond immediately.
The thermostat can be controlled manually, via a web site, or using a smart phone. Filter change emails can be configured too - these are smart alerts. The Nest alerts you based on usage, not on how long the filter has been installed. If you don't need to run your AC or heating for a while, the Nest knows the filter is not getting dirty and doesn't tell you to change it unnecessarily, conversely if you are using it a lot it knows you need to change it more often.
Energy usage is available on the web and smart phone, along with information on how you compare to other users in your area. You'll find yourself trying to save energy to get in the top bracket of low energy users.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+105points
107out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Learning Thermostat
OldDuffer
from Shelley, ID 83274, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does what it claims.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thermostat was easy to install. I ran into a small issue during installation and I called the people at NEST and I got a live body and he was very helpful. I had a blown fuse in my furnace, replaced the fuse and the NEST was up and running. I had just installed an air conditioner a month prior and I got my power bill, I about fainted. The next month which was hotter I got my power bill and using the NEST it saved $44.00. My family was comfortable. This is a great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Learning Thermostat
Mastadruma
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE FUTURE IS NOW! NEST IS AMAZING!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I heard about the NEST Thermostat and how it can cut energy spending in the home. I saw their website and promo video and was instantly hooked!
Cracking open the box, I found all the pieces to be made with exquisite precision. The design is whimsical and intelligent, yet modern and chic all at the same time. This device is more than a thermostat, it elevates my living room and home to a "Jetsonesque" level!
All the tools to install were included. NEST even included a wall plate to cover up the size difference from the previous unit that it is replacing. This kept my wall clean and eliminated the need to waste time prepping and painting. VERY SMART!
After installing the wall plate and tagging the wires with the supplied identifier stickers, I installed the wiring harness with 2 screws and clicked in the system wires. I snapped in the NEST bezel and turned on the power!
"IT'S AAAAALIVE!" (We giggled with fascination and gawked at how beautiful it really is!)
The manual setup was easy and thorough. My WiFi connection synced and I was able to install the app on my iPhone 5. SO EASY and FUN!
Please watch my video and see how fun and easy it is to REVOLUTIONIZE YOU HOME HEATING AND COOLING!
Happy Thermo-regulating!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart technology, money saving, beautiful construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+43points
51out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Learning Thermostat
Etopman
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun tech with a purpose...and saves money too

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The NEST was a bit painful to teach as it wants to save you money by making it warmer in the house, but once it figured out our patterns, it's been hands off and has worked out for us quite well. We had to disable auto-away feature because it would turn the AC off when it thought we were away for more than 4 hours. Unfortunately that meant coming into a hot house and waiting a few hours for it to cool back down. Still would recommend it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Learning Thermostat
AptManager

Expensive Thermostat but so worth it!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been using it for just over a month now and we are so glad we broke down and bought it.
Pros: Easy to install, good visuals online. Works as advertised, Nest was learning our preferred temps after just a few days. You can control from iphone/ipad.
Cons: Wish they provided a stainless steel wall plate to go with the modern look of the thermostat itself.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Learning Thermostat
Vedomano
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Easy!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first unpackaged the Nest, I quickly realized that Nest makes this really easy for you. They even provide you with labels for your wires, so you can keep track of everything. In addition to that they give you a tool (which i'm adding to my tool box) to use for installation. The directions were great and it took me about 15 minutes to completely install (I'm an average DIYer). Not only do you have a great machine, but you can control it via an APP on your phone which shows you how much energy you are using. Overall this is a top notch product that provides better insight to your HVAC activity.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Learning Thermostat
AnotherProject
from DFW, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Furnace Shut Off Feature is a HUGE feature

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When paired with Nest Protects will shut down your furnace when a CO alert is triggered.
This is a huge safety feature and the only product out there I know about that does this.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Learning Thermostat
Otto

Like artwork on the wall: beautiful and non-functional

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the most beautiful thermostat I have ever seen. The fit and finish are entirely beyond the competition at the same price point, and the learning and reporting features are a real bonus.
I only had two complaints: the first unit's internal battery would not hold a charge and would shut down daily. I charged it off the wall with a phone charger until my replacement unit arrived in the mail. My second and final complaint is the misalignment of the replacement unit with the existing base pin connector (they only sent a new faceplate without a matched base). So it wouldn't work at all.
So I took it back and now I have a less interesting but completely reliable competitor unit.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-7points
21out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Learning Thermostat
EnglishMike
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nest Learning Thermostat - is it too intelligent?

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of the Nest Thermostat devices. They are incredibly cool and work like a charm. I have two more thermostats to change out, yes I have 5 zones but @$250 a pop I have been installing them every other week.
Be warned it get's a little complicated when you have a heat pump thermostat with 7 wires versus the regular thermostat with 3 or 4 wires. I learned this hard way!
Make sure you kill the power to the thermostat. I blew a 5 amp fuse on the heat pump furnace blower. I called Ness Support and I got to speak to their lead engineer - absolutely an amazing experience!!!!
I like that that I can control the temperature/zones from my phone. I plan on buying two more Nest Thermostats for my last two zones. The learning algorithm is pretty cool, after 4 days it had learned my family schedule and was going to away mode, this is great saving energy and my money!
However, with the crazy weather lately in Atlanta it was a little aggressive with the away mode since my boys were home from school and I had to go to the device/phone and remove some of the leanings that the learning algorithm had implemented.
In summary - it is a sleek design, the packaging reminds me of the iPhone packaging and the overall ease of install/use it simply elegant!
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Learning Thermostat
TimCPI
from Rowayton, Norwalk, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A slick and money-saving device, fun to use.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The NEST thermostat was easy to install and actually fun to program. I did half of the initial programming on the device itself, the other half over the Internet with my laptop. It is also easy to override your settings at any time from your smart phone with the free iPhone app. I expect to save a fair amount of fuel oil because of this device and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Learning Thermostat
Allie14Dad
from Mansfield, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The nest thermostat is well worth the money

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We received our first nest thermostat through our electric service provider. Prior to receiving the nest, I visited the nest website to verify our system would be compatible. While there, I read that many, like me have programmable thermostats but never bothered to program them. Nest estimated waste in power consumption of over 20% by not programming the thermostat. I never programmed ours because I did not want to invest the time it would take to program the thermostat. Once I installed the nest it was fun to notice that every time we altered the temperature, it remembered our preferences. Within a week it had programmed itself to our likes. When we were not home, the "away" feature would adjust the thermostat to my preset temperature low for heat and high for the AC.
I have since replaced the other two thermostats in our home with a nest. I highly recommend the nest and feel it is the best thermostat I have ever owned. Buy one and I believe you will agree.
Chris H,
Mansfield, TX
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Learning Thermostat
HappyNestCustomer
from Upper Peninsula of Michigan, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expertly Managed a Polar Vortex the first week

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for a simple automated Thermostat and found one in the Nest Learning Thermostat. It expertly managed the Polar Vortex of '14 in it's first week! I coupled it with the Nest Protect Smoke and CO detector. Took all of 15 minutes to install both units and connect to the Home WiFi and internet! Simplicity at its best!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Learning Thermostat
Nusscular
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34

If your temperature is warm, you must spin it!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Let me start by saying I was very skeptical of the Nest thermostat before I finally bought one. However, Nest's ability to respond to dynamic situations is ultimately what made me buy it. My wife is a nurse who does not work a regular schedule and we live a pretty dynamic life. This meant a typical programming thermostat would be difficult to use effectively. Nest, on the other hand, has an auto-away mode which detects a lack of motion for a period of time and switches to a less energy intensive cooling mode. It also handles on-the-fly changes really well. Setting the schedule is a breeze using an iPhone or the web interface on your computer.
Installation was really easy as well. The wire-terminal ring is genius and could not be easier to use. I do think the 1st generation Nest is a little bulky so the 2nd generation model is suggested. If you have an older or larger thermostat, you will likely find a pretty rough looking area of wall behind it when your go to install your nest. Nest tries to help by providing you several backing plates to cover up un-painted or ugly wall, however, I would suggest painting the area and not using the cover plates as I do not like the look. I did not have any problem with wifi hookup as the instructions were nice and simple.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Learning Thermostat
JRomulus
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, Wi-Fi enabled

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own this product and have used it since January 2013, in winter and summer. It is great. My electric bill has gone down $28 per month and my heating (gas) bill down $12 per month.
I have an Android app to run this and they are continually updating the software.
Not only a great product, but great looking too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Learning Thermostat
Jimmy
from Boonton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complicated and DID NOT work as promised.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the Nest Thermostat this weekend and it pushed our heat up to 80 degrees no matter how low we programmed it to go. It is 40 degrees outside. So we called Tech Support and they told us to keep it set to 80. When we told them we couldn't live in a house that was that hot, they advised us to turn it off. Did I seriously pay $250 for a product they advised us NOT to use? One hour and a half later tech support could not resolve the issue. They don't know what's wrong. We are reinstalling our cheap olde programmable one that always worked well. DOn't waste your time or your money - it is NOT what they promise.
Pros: there aren't any
Cons: it doesn't work, it is expensive, tech support is pretty frustrating
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-14points
10out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Learning Thermostat
Mazz

Already saving me money after one week

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to use and very helpful with telling your what temps are eco friendly based on local weather report.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Learning Thermostat
Brook
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Thermostat

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Overall I would recommend the Nest especially if you want to begin automating your lifestyle but i wouldn't purchase it if you think it's going to save you a substantial amount on your energy bill.
Pros:
- Well designed - nice packaging and very solid materials
- Easy installation and setup
- Simple to use
- Having control from your smartphone is very useful
Cons:
- Cost, cost, cost. It's nice to have but spending that much for a thermostat seems a bit over the top. If you already had a schedule on your previous thermostat it wont save you much, if anything at all.
- The scheduling interface is a bit confusing and tedious. The "learning" portion is a bit of a marketing ploy....not really worth it if you know your schedule and just set it through the web interface.
- if you had a previous thermostat you will probably need the wall plate. Problem is that the one they include is white and looks very bizarre on your wall (unless it is completely white). Fortunately i found a glossy black wall plate on amazon that matches it perfectly. just search for nest wall plate
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Learning Thermostat
ScallywagNJ
from New Jersey

Sexy, but misleading: be warned

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
BE WARNED BEFORE YOU BUY! This is an awesome idea, and a beautifully engineered unit, but before you buy you MUST understand one important thing, and the Nest website does NOT make this clear: if your existing thermostat does not currently have a C (control) wire, this thermostat will cause you a LOT of headaches. The online compatibility guide does NOT make this clear.
I have bought four of these and currently only ONE - yes, one - is working like a $250 unit should work.
Here's why: The internal battery is small and does not store charge for very long (unlike your current digital thermostat that probably has a AA or AAA or 9V battery). The consequence of this is that it constantly needs to cannibalize power from your furnace - if your unit is not running either heating or cooling, the circuit will not close and the battery will drain fairly quickly. When this happens the wifi connectivity, motion sensors etc will all stop working one by one. Nest customer service is superficially helpful but in my opinion they have been disingenuous about the C wire issue. Enough reviews have pointed this out.
if you're doing a complete renovation of your heating system, put in the correct wiring and you should be fine. Otherwise....watch out. For a $250 unit it's a real disappointment and only gets a Fair rating from me
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life, poor customer service, misleading specs regarding c wire
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Learning Thermostat
willwgp
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Glorified Programmable Thermostat with High-Tech Features

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Nest Thermostat is a big step to making your house smart. You can quickly access energy reports from your laptop/smartphone/tablet, control the heating/cooling, and much more!
Installation was too easy. Following the manual, taking pictures of your wires, and giving the wire labeling information to their website, are essential to this part of the process. In turn, the website will tell you whether your system is compatible with Nest, and where each wire will go on the wiring component for the thermostat. Nest really does an awesome job holding your hand on this step! If you're having trouble, don't hesitate to call their support. The product also includes a screwdriver with magnetic bit, handy for simple jobs around the house even after you're done with this step!
The setup and functionality of the device is intuitive and terrific. It takes you step-by-step, from confirming what kind of unit you have, to the wiring, to the wi-fi, to updating the device and getting itself ready to amaze you. After it is done, you can sit back and relax while it learns your habits, or you can dive right in on the website and schedule and control what the Nest should do, and when. Personally, I like to be in control, and I don't really like the "learning" and "auto-scheduling" the Nest involves. If you are like me, though, you are more interested in the savings behind the device. And the savings is definitely there! If you let the Nest auto-schedule and learn what your habits are, you are risking the true potential savings in the device. By manually scheduling, you are in control. By the next day, you can review your energy report and see exactly when your unit was on, and for how long. You can also see what temperatures were set by you or someone else throughout the day. Talk about 1984! By utilizing the energy report on a day-to-day basis you can learn from your own behavior and how to find that savings. It lights up when you walk across the unit and shows you the temperature the thermostat is set on, and what temperature the house is at. After a couple weeks, when it is cooling or heating, it will tell you how long it will take to get to the required set temperature. Cool!
My wife called me one day to tell me it was 89 degrees inside the house; she thought I was trying to kill her! I checked the Nest online and saw where the problem was, and quickly fixed it. Being able to control the Nest from wherever you are really gives you that sense of awareness and control.
Overall I am very impressed with this thermostat. It is so simple and easy to use, and neighbors are always marvelling and asking what in the world it is! It's very smart, and it will help save you money in the long run, just compare your last year's energy report to this next one with the Nest, and you will see! Nest is always updating its device with newer features, and it has a lot of potential to do even more!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>