728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat

Learning Thermostat

Nest Learning Thermostat Programs itself. Then pays for itself. Meet the Nest Learning Thermostat. It learns from you and your home, programs itself automatically, and helps save energy when you’re away. And you can control it using your phone, tablet, or laptop. In independent studies, the Nest Thermostat saved an average of 10-12% on heating bills and 15% on cooling bills. Based on typical energy cost, that means it paid for itself in under two years.
Overall rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(341 reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product285 of 328reviews
Rating Breakdown 341 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(247)
4
(41)
3
(9)
2
(13)
1
(31)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product285 of 328reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat
Review 1 for Learning Thermostat
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT BUY

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The nest was recommended by a friend. i requested it as a house warming gift. it was really simple to hook up. i m not a handy man at all. So if i can to it! i had it for over a year now with no problems. If something was better then this i would get it! HOWEVER, i haven't seen or heard about it yet. Its NOV 2014!
Simple to use
Easy wifi set up
No battery to replace
Looks great on the wall- no one know what it is until it lights up
Sends you e-mails every month on energy use
Adjust the heat right from your bed or on the sofa.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Learning Thermostat
from Gurnee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware of these....

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 2 of these installed for just over a year and a half. Numerous back plate failures and added repair costs forced me to remove these and find an alternative. (Ecobee) My HVAC equipment is the most basic and common- single stage, forced air heat and AC. I do have the notorious "C" wire for powering these units. Since the firmware update in Nov. 2014, they went offline much more often, which defeats the purpose of these when controlling remotely. If you're considering, do extensive research regarding failed FET backplates and the offline issues. $1500 spent for me that I'll never recover. Beware!
Pros: Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Learning Thermostat
from Los Angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything I Wanted

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Nest takes time to adjust to your house and habits before it can fully utilize all the features it comes with. I've been using Nest for nearly three months, which is enough time for everything to adjust and work perfectly, but honestly, from day one I was happy with my purchase. There are loads of things I love about this device so far, so I'll focus on the highlights.
The device was simple to install with very clear instructions, it even came with the nicest screws I've ever seen to install it with, which was kind of hilarious but a nice touch. A small bubble level is on the base of the device to help when mounting it to the wall. While my last thermostat had me screw in the wires to keep them in place, Nest features a little snap/clamp thing where you just need to press the button where the wire goes, slide in the wire, and release. Done. The whole device pops into place easily and even walks you through the account set up once it receives power. It came with a white rectangular faceplate at the bottom of the box which covers up the old holes from my last thermostat. This was a great edition because on one hand I love the sleek design of Nest, but since my last thermostat was a different shape, holes were going to be left in my wall. This nicely covered it up and left the area looking sharp.
The device has a very sturdy design with glass and metal that will last probably forever. The screen turns off when not in use and will momentarily light up when something changes, like it if it turning on the AC. When you want to view the current temperature, you can just wave your hand close to the motion sensor or tap the bottom section of the circle to make the screen turn on.
Nest does a very good job at learning your habits through a combination of using a motion sensor, light sensor, and your own manual adjustments to the temperature. Whenever I get home and walk by the thermostat, I hear my AC automatically turn on, which is exactly what I expect. I'm also easily able to access the Nest through an app on my phone, which means I rarely need to even touch the device. While the app has a myriad of features, my two favorites are the schedule and the energy history. There was a week where I was awake and working late every night and Nest noticed and made the AC turn on late at night when I was up. Afterward, I was easily able to click the timed event on the app and delete it. Extremely simple.
The energy history feature on the app tells you every single time the Nest turned on the air and for how long. It also told me what the reason was if the AC was used more than normal, for example, it would say user adjustment or high or low weather. I also receive monthly emails about my energy usage.
I love that the Nest takes into account when my house is in direct sunlight and what my local temperature. The little green "eco" leaf tells me what is the most energy efficient temperature for the circumstances. It doesn't always show up on the same temperature because conditions change that effect it's formula, which makes it easier for me to not think about it and trust my device to make things simpler.
All in all, this is exactly what I expected from the device, and I was pleasantly surprised to get even more features than I originally thought. I installed it quickly, it started learning immediately, and has done a good job at saving me money already and paying for itself. I highly recommend this if your looking for a quick fix that will give you one less thing to worry about.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Learning Thermostat
from Rowayton, Norwalk, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A slick and money-saving device, fun to use.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The NEST thermostat was easy to install and actually fun to program. I did half of the initial programming on the device itself, the other half over the Internet with my laptop. It is also easy to override your settings at any time from your smart phone with the free iPhone app. I expect to save a fair amount of fuel oil because of this device and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Learning Thermostat
from Fargo, ND
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Base Plate Shorted Out

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess I can consider myself lucky in terms that it took 2 years for my nest to stop working, but early this morning the furnace turned on and started blowing cold air when it was 39 degrees outside. Tried playing with nest and the furnace wouldn't respond to anything. Finally at 5am I had to resort to calling in an HVAC guy to come over at $150/hr since it was a weekend only for him to tell me the base plate on my nest shorted out and was sending a continuous signal to the furnace to run both the ac and heat at the same time. Pretty disappointing when I got online and saw that this is a very common problem with all versions of nests. For a product that costs $250, something as simple as a base plate should not be shorting out. Very disappointed and will not be buying another nest product ever again.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Easy Installation
+59points
61out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Learning Thermostat
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Review

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I've been using the nest for approximately 30 days now. The design of the unit is exceptional and it would be at home in any decor. Construction of the unit is also excellent. Nest chose to use metal and glass as opposed to the cheaper plastic materials found on most thermostats. I am extremely pleased with the design and construction of the product.
The function of the Nest is marginal for a product that demands the price premium this one does. The proximity sensor (used to sense when you approach) is flaky at best. Sometimes walking by the thermostat will make it light up just as intended. Other times standing in front of the thermostat madly waving your arms has no effect. This would be a minor annoyance but for the fact that when it's not responsive, the thermostat automatically enters "away" mode and turns the heat down to 60 degrees. I have been forced to disable the "auto away" mode because of this ongoing malfunction. Multiple resets and calls to support have done nothing to correct this issue that many users are seeing.
I operate a dual fuel system and have caught the system running the wrong unit based on temperature three times in the last thirty days. Calls to Nest regarding this have not been helpful. On the first call I got "level one" support that didn't appear to know how a dual fuel system works. Had I not been better informed than he, they would have had me change settings in the unit essentially wiping out any efficiency realized from having the dual fuel system. The "level two" support at least understood my problem, but still did not have any insight as to why the problems were occurring. I have not had this malfunction in the last two weeks.
The web based control portion of the thermostat is exceptional. It is extremely intuitive and easy to use. If you disable many of the other functions and simply use this as a remotely controllable thermostat, you will not be disappointed. Unfortunately, there are many cheaper alternatives if this is all you're looking for.
Overall I like the Nest appearance and web function. There appear to be issues with sensors and logic that need to be fixed.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: many features still dont work properly, some support staff not well trained
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+74points
78out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Learning Thermostat
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart just got intelligent

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Nest thermostat takes the guess work out of programming. Initial setup has you manually change your thermostat over the first week or so, after which the thermostat learns your habits and starts to set itself.
I found the thermostat very easy to install, simply connect the wires to the corresponding terminals and the nest detected them and automatically set itself for my heating and cooling type.
Motion sensors are built in, so it knows if you are away and automatically sets itself to conserve energy. This worked very well for us. I returned home early one day and the Nest sprang to life and cooled the home.
Some features not found in a regular thermostat are the "Airwave" feature. Typically thermostats stop the fan when the heating or cooling is stopped, this leaves some hot or cold air in the ducts. The Nest runs the fan a little afterwards, pushing out this otherwise wasted air. The Nest also learns how long it takes to heat or cool your room. So when you select your desired temperature it tells you how long it is going to take to get there, this actually influences your choice and can result in energy savings; for example I told the Nest I wanted to cool to 75 degrees and it said it would take 44 minutes to get there, selecting 76 told me just 20 minutes. I picked 75 instead and saved 24 minutes of energy (I didn't notice the 1 degree difference).
The Nest tries to influence your energy use habits. If you pick an energy efficient setting it shows a little green leaf on the display, this actually influenced me to pick a smarter temperature, saving me money and energy usage.
Aesthetically the Nest is a work of art. Very futuristic, yet not too obvious. The color display and solid metal casing make this stand out against the traditional plastic offerings. The polished black display spring to a vibrant colorful display when you approach, and also when you make changes using the free mobile application.
A helpful install kit, including tools, is provided. As is a concierge service to help with installation issues. I cant comment on the latter, as I didn't need to call - it was so easy to install.
I used this with a smart phone app, and I was surprised as how quickly it responded. I've used mobile applications with other WiFi thermostats and there is always a little lag, this seemed to respond immediately.
The thermostat can be controlled manually, via a web site, or using a smart phone. Filter change emails can be configured too - these are smart alerts. The Nest alerts you based on usage, not on how long the filter has been installed. If you don't need to run your AC or heating for a while, the Nest knows the filter is not getting dirty and doesn't tell you to change it unnecessarily, conversely if you are using it a lot it knows you need to change it more often.
Energy usage is available on the web and smart phone, along with information on how you compare to other users in your area. You'll find yourself trying to save energy to get in the top bracket of low energy users.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+147points
151out of 155found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Learning Thermostat
from Shelley, ID 83274, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does what it claims.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This thermostat was easy to install. I ran into a small issue during installation and I called the people at NEST and I got a live body and he was very helpful. I had a blown fuse in my furnace, replaced the fuse and the NEST was up and running. I had just installed an air conditioner a month prior and I got my power bill, I about fainted. The next month which was hotter I got my power bill and using the NEST it saved $44.00. My family was comfortable. This is a great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
56out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Learning Thermostat
from Evans, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like my Nest

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was the first almost electrical product that I have ever installed. The written instructions were not easy for me so, I watched the videos. Took less than an hour to install and get configured. This is a cool product, I was able to check the home and outside temperature while out of town - can literally check the state of the system from anywhere with internet access. The Nest has only been in for about two weeks. I am anxiously awaiting the reports on energy consumption it will send me as well as notifying me on when to change my air filter. The great thing for me about this product is that when we go to bed at night it goes into an "away" status and lets the house cool off. I don't get hot air blown on my all night long as my previous thermostat wanted to keep the house warm all night so, I am sleeping much better. Of course, with the learning mode the Nest has it does know that I get up early and like the house at a certain temp and will start the heating in time for me not to be frozen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Learning Thermostat
from Franklin, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install, Setup, and Use

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you're at all handy, this install is a breeze. I had hopes of not having to use the back plate, but the drywall had a few holes that were tough to patch and look good.
Nest setup is easy as it walks you through a series of questions, followed by a period of learning, after which it builds out a schedule. The schedule can be adjusted later.
I'm now curious as to how much coin this will save me. Stay tuned.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Learning Thermostat
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE FUTURE IS NOW! NEST IS AMAZING!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I heard about the NEST Thermostat and how it can cut energy spending in the home. I saw their website and promo video and was instantly hooked!
Cracking open the box, I found all the pieces to be made with exquisite precision. The design is whimsical and intelligent, yet modern and chic all at the same time. This device is more than a thermostat, it elevates my living room and home to a "Jetsonesque" level!
All the tools to install were included. NEST even included a wall plate to cover up the size difference from the previous unit that it is replacing. This kept my wall clean and eliminated the need to waste time prepping and painting. VERY SMART!
After installing the wall plate and tagging the wires with the supplied identifier stickers, I installed the wiring harness with 2 screws and clicked in the system wires. I snapped in the NEST bezel and turned on the power!
"IT'S AAAAALIVE!" (We giggled with fascination and gawked at how beautiful it really is!)
The manual setup was easy and thorough. My WiFi connection synced and I was able to install the app on my iPhone 5. SO EASY and FUN!
Please watch my video and see how fun and easy it is to REVOLUTIONIZE YOU HOME HEATING AND COOLING!
Happy Thermo-regulating!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart technology, money saving, beautiful construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
M18 18-Volt Lithium-Ion 1/2 in. Cordless Compact Drill/Driver
4.2 out of 5(78)
 
 
 
 
 
+72points
85out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Learning Thermostat

Do not install NEST with a Heat Pump w/ elec. AUX no matter what their support claims.

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(this review is only useful if you have a heat pump)Do not buy this thermostat if you have a Heat Pump system with electric aux. My energy bill actually increased by about 35%. The makers of this product should have clearly stated on the packaging that the thermostat is not made for heat pumps. Instead it claims it can work with a heat pump, and while that may be somewhat true and yes it can actually function the system properly, but you will find that all the reasons you bought the Nest for in the first place are mitigated due to the etremely high cost use of Elec Aux usage. The nest programs a schedule on its own and then the next thing you know all the temp setbacks have actually cost you more money instead of saving.The marketing drew me in I guess but the poor permormance with my system caused me to return the product after 2 months of use and using more energy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Learning Thermostat
from Cape May, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Base Plate Failures and FETs are a much bigger problem than publicly acknowledged.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fortunately, this failed during a time when I could still return it to the store. Ours destroyed our AC condensor in the middle of winter due to a base plate failure. The FETS in the base plates on these units appear to be very easy to damage under normal usage and failures appear to be more common than reported. Ours turned on just the compressor on our AC in the middle of winter on a vacation home. It turned it into a block of ice, blew our compressor, and cost us a bundle. You will never have peace of mind with this unit, making it a horrible option for a vacation home. Better to stick to Honeywell for now until NEST ditches FET technology and begins using old fashioned relays. Our problem was that the unit failed open and there's absolutely no way to know remotely that this happened. Our HVAC guy recommended removing it and using Honeywell.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Burns Out, poorly designed, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Learning Thermostat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible - reutrned it within 48 hours of purchase

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hoping it didn't burn up my air conditioner when I turn it on this summer. Luckily I went to the basement about 3 hours after I installed it and heard it trying to start up the air conditioners. I had the breakers turned off and it was still firing current to the units and emitting a loud buzz that I heard through the cinder block. Pulled it up on line and it is a systemic problem not a one off. So didn't even ask for a replacement. Gave me my money back and went back to the old standby model. Nest has some work to do on their circuit boards and quality. Great idea and looks good, but poor quality and execution
Cons: Burns Out, doesn't work - tried to run ac in 20 degree weathe
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Learning Thermostat
from Rockville, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gorgeous AND Smart! Marry me?

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have two HVAC zones and needed two thermostats. We compared the features of the Lyric and other WiFi thermostats. This one seems to have fewer bugs, more features and the best support possible... not to mention it's sleek design makes me linger in the hallway staring at it :)
Be sure to read the well-written, easy-to-follow instructions & give it a while to acclimate itself. LOVE that it comes with a screwdriver too! They thought of everything!
There are a ton of things that "Work with Nest" that I'm excited to integrate. Wait... why am I writing this review? I don't really want anybody to know about how awesome this thing is but us!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Learning Thermostat
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun tech with a purpose...and saves money too

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The NEST was a bit painful to teach as it wants to save you money by making it warmer in the house, but once it figured out our patterns, it's been hands off and has worked out for us quite well. We had to disable auto-away feature because it would turn the AC off when it thought we were away for more than 4 hours. Unfortunately that meant coming into a hot house and waiting a few hours for it to cool back down. Still would recommend it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Learning Thermostat
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Easy!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I first unpackaged the Nest, I quickly realized that Nest makes this really easy for you. They even provide you with labels for your wires, so you can keep track of everything. In addition to that they give you a tool (which i'm adding to my tool box) to use for installation. The directions were great and it took me about 15 minutes to completely install (I'm an average DIYer). Not only do you have a great machine, but you can control it via an APP on your phone which shows you how much energy you are using. Overall this is a top notch product that provides better insight to your HVAC activity.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Learning Thermostat
from Washington, DC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Close to a Five

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am so close to a five on this one, but I have had some major issues with the Nest. Some of the issues I think may have been on us/the HVAC installer we used for installation, but they were major issues. We purchased two for our home; one for a regular heat pump and the other for a heat pump with a gas furnace backup.
Pros:
The Nest connected to our heat pump has given us no issues. Our heat pump is about 20 years old though and I have heard that they don't work as well on newer systems. The Nest thermostats look AMAZING and are really simple to program/use. Auto away kicks in at the right time and runs the program in the evening for us even when it still knows that no one is home yet. I also have it connected to my phone through the new google app connection which I believe contributes to that happening as my phone tells the Nest when I am on the way home.
Cons:
The Nest is pretty complicated to install properly. We had to pay an HVAC tech to come out and install it for our split system and since he was here we went ahead and had him install it on our regular heat pump unit as well. The tech we used has been working on our units for years (they are old) and even he had some issues connecting the system to the unit. Once he did though things went well, or so we thought. On our second bill we noticed a significant increase in our gas bills. Turns out the nest was kicking over to the gas furnace when it did not have to causing it to run and costing us lots of money. On especially cold days it would not kick over to the alt. heat, and we woke up on a few mornings to an ICE COLD house. When we called out a different technician we were told that there is a little known wire that wasn't connected properly and that some of the "older" techs may not know about the newer technology.
Either way it cost me a lot of money to get these systems up and running. But now that they are, we can tell for sure that even though this has been a bitterly cold winter we are saving money on our gas/electrical bills. I would recommend the system to anyone who is into home automation, but cannot say enough to get a HVAC tech that knows these systems and how to connect them properly. Once that happens, you are going to love the system!
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Learning Thermostat
from Vero Beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WARNING!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My A/C repairman at Dynamics Air of Vero Beach that Trane is voiding my warranty on my 2 1/2 year old 20i System because I installed a NEST thermostat. I have been without air for 2 weeks now. When I first called NEST about the problem I was told that they were compatable and they sent me another Nest to swap out. There should be a warning at all stores selling this product, if there are units this thermostat will not work with and until that time it should be pulled from all store shelves. I skimped to pay thousands of dollars for a new Trane System when my old unit went out. I had almost a 10 year warranty left that Trane will no longer honor. And I do not have Air Conditioning and my house has been reaching 90 degrees with senior animals and humans living under unbearable conditions.
Cons: kills a/c units
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Learning Thermostat
from Bloomingdale, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase! Saves Energy!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was very pleased with my Nest purchase. It was simple to install, connected to my wifi right away, and began working within minutes. The "away" settings are great, and I love programming an entire week right from the app. It also now controls my HUE lights when i arrive home, so it keeps getting better.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>