728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat

Learning Thermostat

Meet the next generation thermostat. The Nest Learning Thermostat doesn’t need to be programmed — it remembers the temperature you set to build a personalized schedule. Nest turns itself down when you’re away to help save energy and you can change the temperature from anywhere using your smartphone, tablet or laptop.
Overall rating:
4.403 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product165 of 188reviews
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(145)
4
(23)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product165 of 188reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Learning Thermostat
Review 1 for Learning Thermostat
from Los Angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything I Wanted

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Nest takes time to adjust to your house and habits before it can fully utilize all the features it comes with. I've been using Nest for nearly three months, which is enough time for everything to adjust and work perfectly, but honestly, from day one I was happy with my purchase. There are loads of things I love about this device so far, so I'll focus on the highlights.
The device was simple to install with very clear instructions, it even came with the nicest screws I've ever seen to install it with, which was kind of hilarious but a nice touch. A small bubble level is on the base of the device to help when mounting it to the wall. While my last thermostat had me screw in the wires to keep them in place, Nest features a little snap/clamp thing where you just need to press the button where the wire goes, slide in the wire, and release. Done. The whole device pops into place easily and even walks you through the account set up once it receives power. It came with a white rectangular faceplate at the bottom of the box which covers up the old holes from my last thermostat. This was a great edition because on one hand I love the sleek design of Nest, but since my last thermostat was a different shape, holes were going to be left in my wall. This nicely covered it up and left the area looking sharp.
The device has a very sturdy design with glass and metal that will last probably forever. The screen turns off when not in use and will momentarily light up when something changes, like it if it turning on the AC. When you want to view the current temperature, you can just wave your hand close to the motion sensor or tap the bottom section of the circle to make the screen turn on.
Nest does a very good job at learning your habits through a combination of using a motion sensor, light sensor, and your own manual adjustments to the temperature. Whenever I get home and walk by the thermostat, I hear my AC automatically turn on, which is exactly what I expect. I'm also easily able to access the Nest through an app on my phone, which means I rarely need to even touch the device. While the app has a myriad of features, my two favorites are the schedule and the energy history. There was a week where I was awake and working late every night and Nest noticed and made the AC turn on late at night when I was up. Afterward, I was easily able to click the timed event on the app and delete it. Extremely simple.
The energy history feature on the app tells you every single time the Nest turned on the air and for how long. It also told me what the reason was if the AC was used more than normal, for example, it would say user adjustment or high or low weather. I also receive monthly emails about my energy usage.
I love that the Nest takes into account when my house is in direct sunlight and what my local temperature. The little green "eco" leaf tells me what is the most energy efficient temperature for the circumstances. It doesn't always show up on the same temperature because conditions change that effect it's formula, which makes it easier for me to not think about it and trust my device to make things simpler.
All in all, this is exactly what I expected from the device, and I was pleasantly surprised to get even more features than I originally thought. I installed it quickly, it started learning immediately, and has done a good job at saving me money already and paying for itself. I highly recommend this if your looking for a quick fix that will give you one less thing to worry about.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Learning Thermostat
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Review

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I've been using the nest for approximately 30 days now. The design of the unit is exceptional and it would be at home in any decor. Construction of the unit is also excellent. Nest chose to use metal and glass as opposed to the cheaper plastic materials found on most thermostats. I am extremely pleased with the design and construction of the product.
The function of the Nest is marginal for a product that demands the price premium this one does. The proximity sensor (used to sense when you approach) is flaky at best. Sometimes walking by the thermostat will make it light up just as intended. Other times standing in front of the thermostat madly waving your arms has no effect. This would be a minor annoyance but for the fact that when it's not responsive, the thermostat automatically enters "away" mode and turns the heat down to 60 degrees. I have been forced to disable the "auto away" mode because of this ongoing malfunction. Multiple resets and calls to support have done nothing to correct this issue that many users are seeing.
I operate a dual fuel system and have caught the system running the wrong unit based on temperature three times in the last thirty days. Calls to Nest regarding this have not been helpful. On the first call I got "level one" support that didn't appear to know how a dual fuel system works. Had I not been better informed than he, they would have had me change settings in the unit essentially wiping out any efficiency realized from having the dual fuel system. The "level two" support at least understood my problem, but still did not have any insight as to why the problems were occurring. I have not had this malfunction in the last two weeks.
The web based control portion of the thermostat is exceptional. It is extremely intuitive and easy to use. If you disable many of the other functions and simply use this as a remotely controllable thermostat, you will not be disappointed. Unfortunately, there are many cheaper alternatives if this is all you're looking for.
Overall I like the Nest appearance and web function. There appear to be issues with sensors and logic that need to be fixed.
Pros: Compact, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: many features still dont work properly, some support staff not well trained
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Learning Thermostat
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart just got intelligent

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Nest thermostat takes the guess work out of programming. Initial setup has you manually change your thermostat over the first week or so, after which the thermostat learns your habits and starts to set itself.
I found the thermostat very easy to install, simply connect the wires to the corresponding terminals and the nest detected them and automatically set itself for my heating and cooling type.
Motion sensors are built in, so it knows if you are away and automatically sets itself to conserve energy. This worked very well for us. I returned home early one day and the Nest sprang to life and cooled the home.
Some features not found in a regular thermostat are the "Airwave" feature. Typically thermostats stop the fan when the heating or cooling is stopped, this leaves some hot or cold air in the ducts. The Nest runs the fan a little afterwards, pushing out this otherwise wasted air. The Nest also learns how long it takes to heat or cool your room. So when you select your desired temperature it tells you how long it is going to take to get there, this actually influences your choice and can result in energy savings; for example I told the Nest I wanted to cool to 75 degrees and it said it would take 44 minutes to get there, selecting 76 told me just 20 minutes. I picked 75 instead and saved 24 minutes of energy (I didn't notice the 1 degree difference).
The Nest tries to influence your energy use habits. If you pick an energy efficient setting it shows a little green leaf on the display, this actually influenced me to pick a smarter temperature, saving me money and energy usage.
Aesthetically the Nest is a work of art. Very futuristic, yet not too obvious. The color display and solid metal casing make this stand out against the traditional plastic offerings. The polished black display spring to a vibrant colorful display when you approach, and also when you make changes using the free mobile application.
A helpful install kit, including tools, is provided. As is a concierge service to help with installation issues. I cant comment on the latter, as I didn't need to call - it was so easy to install.
I used this with a smart phone app, and I was surprised as how quickly it responded. I've used mobile applications with other WiFi thermostats and there is always a little lag, this seemed to respond immediately.
The thermostat can be controlled manually, via a web site, or using a smart phone. Filter change emails can be configured too - these are smart alerts. The Nest alerts you based on usage, not on how long the filter has been installed. If you don't need to run your AC or heating for a while, the Nest knows the filter is not getting dirty and doesn't tell you to change it unnecessarily, conversely if you are using it a lot it knows you need to change it more often.
Energy usage is available on the web and smart phone, along with information on how you compare to other users in your area. You'll find yourself trying to save energy to get in the top bracket of low energy users.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+112points
115out of 118found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Learning Thermostat
from Rowayton, Norwalk, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A slick and money-saving device, fun to use.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The NEST thermostat was easy to install and actually fun to program. I did half of the initial programming on the device itself, the other half over the Internet with my laptop. It is also easy to override your settings at any time from your smart phone with the free iPhone app. I expect to save a fair amount of fuel oil because of this device and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Learning Thermostat
from Shelley, ID 83274, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does what it claims.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thermostat was easy to install. I ran into a small issue during installation and I called the people at NEST and I got a live body and he was very helpful. I had a blown fuse in my furnace, replaced the fuse and the NEST was up and running. I had just installed an air conditioner a month prior and I got my power bill, I about fainted. The next month which was hotter I got my power bill and using the NEST it saved $44.00. My family was comfortable. This is a great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Learning Thermostat
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE FUTURE IS NOW! NEST IS AMAZING!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I heard about the NEST Thermostat and how it can cut energy spending in the home. I saw their website and promo video and was instantly hooked!
Cracking open the box, I found all the pieces to be made with exquisite precision. The design is whimsical and intelligent, yet modern and chic all at the same time. This device is more than a thermostat, it elevates my living room and home to a "Jetsonesque" level!
All the tools to install were included. NEST even included a wall plate to cover up the size difference from the previous unit that it is replacing. This kept my wall clean and eliminated the need to waste time prepping and painting. VERY SMART!
After installing the wall plate and tagging the wires with the supplied identifier stickers, I installed the wiring harness with 2 screws and clicked in the system wires. I snapped in the NEST bezel and turned on the power!
"IT'S AAAAALIVE!" (We giggled with fascination and gawked at how beautiful it really is!)
The manual setup was easy and thorough. My WiFi connection synced and I was able to install the app on my iPhone 5. SO EASY and FUN!
Please watch my video and see how fun and easy it is to REVOLUTIONIZE YOU HOME HEATING AND COOLING!
Happy Thermo-regulating!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, smart technology, money saving, beautiful construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+45points
55out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Learning Thermostat
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun tech with a purpose...and saves money too

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The NEST was a bit painful to teach as it wants to save you money by making it warmer in the house, but once it figured out our patterns, it's been hands off and has worked out for us quite well. We had to disable auto-away feature because it would turn the AC off when it thought we were away for more than 4 hours. Unfortunately that meant coming into a hot house and waiting a few hours for it to cool back down. Still would recommend it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Learning Thermostat
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wonderful piece of technology when it works

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The Nest T-stat is a great addition to my tech junkie lifestyle but I had to return the 1st one because it would not work. I even had a pro attempt to install thinking I was doing something wrong. The second one did work though my pro told me that he has had to replace several at a time to finally find 1 that works.
Once it was working it is great . . . Easy to set up . . . The I-pad and Android apps are fantastic! Here again . . . but there is an issue unrelated to the t-stat that has caused the manufacturer to take nest offline which makes this product about as useful as an old round t-stat.
This product is amazing when it is working
Pros: Lots of Features, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: needs to have the bugs worked out of it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Learning Thermostat

Expensive Thermostat but so worth it!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been using it for just over a month now and we are so glad we broke down and bought it.
Pros: Easy to install, good visuals online. Works as advertised, Nest was learning our preferred temps after just a few days. You can control from iphone/ipad.
Cons: Wish they provided a stainless steel wall plate to go with the modern look of the thermostat itself.
Pros: Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Learning Thermostat
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Easy!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first unpackaged the Nest, I quickly realized that Nest makes this really easy for you. They even provide you with labels for your wires, so you can keep track of everything. In addition to that they give you a tool (which i'm adding to my tool box) to use for installation. The directions were great and it took me about 15 minutes to completely install (I'm an average DIYer). Not only do you have a great machine, but you can control it via an APP on your phone which shows you how much energy you are using. Overall this is a top notch product that provides better insight to your HVAC activity.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Learning Thermostat
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nest Learning Thermostat - is it too intelligent?

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of the Nest Thermostat devices. They are incredibly cool and work like a charm. I have two more thermostats to change out, yes I have 5 zones but @$250 a pop I have been installing them every other week.
Be warned it get's a little complicated when you have a heat pump thermostat with 7 wires versus the regular thermostat with 3 or 4 wires. I learned this hard way!
Make sure you kill the power to the thermostat. I blew a 5 amp fuse on the heat pump furnace blower. I called Ness Support and I got to speak to their lead engineer - absolutely an amazing experience!!!!
I like that that I can control the temperature/zones from my phone. I plan on buying two more Nest Thermostats for my last two zones. The learning algorithm is pretty cool, after 4 days it had learned my family schedule and was going to away mode, this is great saving energy and my money!
However, with the crazy weather lately in Atlanta it was a little aggressive with the away mode since my boys were home from school and I had to go to the device/phone and remove some of the leanings that the learning algorithm had implemented.
In summary - it is a sleek design, the packaging reminds me of the iPhone packaging and the overall ease of install/use it simply elegant!
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Learning Thermostat

Like artwork on the wall: beautiful and non-functional

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the most beautiful thermostat I have ever seen. The fit and finish are entirely beyond the competition at the same price point, and the learning and reporting features are a real bonus.
I only had two complaints: the first unit's internal battery would not hold a charge and would shut down daily. I charged it off the wall with a phone charger until my replacement unit arrived in the mail. My second and final complaint is the misalignment of the replacement unit with the existing base pin connector (they only sent a new faceplate without a matched base). So it wouldn't work at all.
So I took it back and now I have a less interesting but completely reliable competitor unit.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-6points
24out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Learning Thermostat
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34

If your temperature is warm, you must spin it!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Let me start by saying I was very skeptical of the Nest thermostat before I finally bought one. However, Nest's ability to respond to dynamic situations is ultimately what made me buy it. My wife is a nurse who does not work a regular schedule and we live a pretty dynamic life. This meant a typical programming thermostat would be difficult to use effectively. Nest, on the other hand, has an auto-away mode which detects a lack of motion for a period of time and switches to a less energy intensive cooling mode. It also handles on-the-fly changes really well. Setting the schedule is a breeze using an iPhone or the web interface on your computer.
Installation was really easy as well. The wire-terminal ring is genius and could not be easier to use. I do think the 1st generation Nest is a little bulky so the 2nd generation model is suggested. If you have an older or larger thermostat, you will likely find a pretty rough looking area of wall behind it when your go to install your nest. Nest tries to help by providing you several backing plates to cover up un-painted or ugly wall, however, I would suggest painting the area and not using the cover plates as I do not like the look. I did not have any problem with wifi hookup as the instructions were nice and simple.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Learning Thermostat
from DFW, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Furnace Shut Off Feature is a HUGE feature

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When paired with Nest Protects will shut down your furnace when a CO alert is triggered.
This is a huge safety feature and the only product out there I know about that does this.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Learning Thermostat

Life Changing

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can change the temperature when I go to sleep and when I get up in the morning... From bed. I can change the temperature from work. Works flawlessly!
Pros: Lots of Features, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Learning Thermostat
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, Wi-Fi enabled

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own this product and have used it since January 2013, in winter and summer. It is great. My electric bill has gone down $28 per month and my heating (gas) bill down $12 per month.
I have an Android app to run this and they are continually updating the software.
Not only a great product, but great looking too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Learning Thermostat
from Upper Peninsula of Michigan, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expertly Managed a Polar Vortex the first week

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for a simple automated Thermostat and found one in the Nest Learning Thermostat. It expertly managed the Polar Vortex of '14 in it's first week! I coupled it with the Nest Protect Smoke and CO detector. Took all of 15 minutes to install both units and connect to the Home WiFi and internet! Simplicity at its best!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Learning Thermostat
from Boonton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complicated and DID NOT work as promised.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the Nest Thermostat this weekend and it pushed our heat up to 80 degrees no matter how low we programmed it to go. It is 40 degrees outside. So we called Tech Support and they told us to keep it set to 80. When we told them we couldn't live in a house that was that hot, they advised us to turn it off. Did I seriously pay $250 for a product they advised us NOT to use? One hour and a half later tech support could not resolve the issue. They don't know what's wrong. We are reinstalling our cheap olde programmable one that always worked well. DOn't waste your time or your money - it is NOT what they promise.
Pros: there aren't any
Cons: it doesn't work, it is expensive, tech support is pretty frustrating
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-14points
11out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Learning Thermostat
from Mansfield, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The nest thermostat is well worth the money

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We received our first nest thermostat through our electric service provider. Prior to receiving the nest, I visited the nest website to verify our system would be compatible. While there, I read that many, like me have programmable thermostats but never bothered to program them. Nest estimated waste in power consumption of over 20% by not programming the thermostat. I never programmed ours because I did not want to invest the time it would take to program the thermostat. Once I installed the nest it was fun to notice that every time we altered the temperature, it remembered our preferences. Within a week it had programmed itself to our likes. When we were not home, the "away" feature would adjust the thermostat to my preset temperature low for heat and high for the AC.
I have since replaced the other two thermostats in our home with a nest. I highly recommend the nest and feel it is the best thermostat I have ever owned. Buy one and I believe you will agree.
Chris H,
Mansfield, TX
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Learning Thermostat
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Thermostat

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Overall I would recommend the Nest especially if you want to begin automating your lifestyle but i wouldn't purchase it if you think it's going to save you a substantial amount on your energy bill.
Pros:
- Well designed - nice packaging and very solid materials
- Easy installation and setup
- Simple to use
- Having control from your smartphone is very useful
Cons:
- Cost, cost, cost. It's nice to have but spending that much for a thermostat seems a bit over the top. If you already had a schedule on your previous thermostat it wont save you much, if anything at all.
- The scheduling interface is a bit confusing and tedious. The "learning" portion is a bit of a marketing ploy....not really worth it if you know your schedule and just set it through the web interface.
- if you had a previous thermostat you will probably need the wall plate. Problem is that the one they include is white and looks very bizarre on your wall (unless it is completely white). Fortunately i found a glossy black wall plate on amazon that matches it perfectly. just search for nest wall plate
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>