728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Point Of Use or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater

SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater

Stiebel Eltron has been a world leader in advanced water heating technology for 90 years. Our engineering excellence and high-quality manufacturing results in products fulfilling the highest expectations of performance and reliability. Our SHC Mini-Tank Water Heaters are no exception. They excel at supplying hot water at a sink for hand washing or for kitchen applications. An SHC saves water and electricity by putting hot water right where it is needed rather than having a long pipe run from a central hot water tank. The smaller tank and good insulation reduces the stand-by losses compared with a larger tank water heater and the wait for hot water at the tap is reduced to a minimum. Why store 30 or more gallons of hot water if much less are sufficient for the job. An SHC can be installed in-line with a central tank to allow immediate hot water draws without waiting for a long pipe run to purge itself of cold water. It may also be used to buffer temperatures in a DHW recirculation loop. A lightweight and compact SHC mounts right under or near a sink with its included bracket. Once it is filled with water, it is easy to simply plug it into a 120 volt outlet as no special wiring is required. A T&P valve is supplied and should be installed.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
Review 1 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
from Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality small water heater!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is 4th Stiebel water heater I have installed. This one is very high quality just like the others, and I have confidence in the manufacturer. it fit fine under the sink as a point of use heater for the two vanity sinks. I just added an outlet under the counter by running line down from the GFI up above. Even when heating water you can still run your hair dryer on the 20 amp circuit without it tripping. I put a plastic pan under it with a water sensor alarm to avoid the horrors I have read about from others who had leaky water heaters. The unit is well insulated and I didn't feel any warmth under the sink so it is energy efficient.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
from Prescott, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit the bil

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really just the ticket for our application. We are remodeling an old house and living in a fifth wheel trailer and needed a temporary hot water source in the garage for the washing machine. This fit the bill perfectly. I do wish that the thermostat had some kind of temperature reference on the dial though.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater

Perfect for the kitchen

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this water heater to provide instant hot water for my sink and dishwasher. My large gas heater is far away from the sink and it takes about 2 minutes for the water at the sink to heat up. Installed in the hot water line the mini heater provides the hot water immediately.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, 110v
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hooked it up and took about 5-8 minutes for the water to get hot at about 3/4 temperature setting. I've only had it hooked up for about a month.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater

Great kitchen sink water heater

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great 4 gallon water heater. Easy installation and instant hot water where you need it. I did not use the mounting bracket or hardware and called company...said it is ok to just stand it under sink.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
from Crescent City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Dogs

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wife wants to bathe dogs in warm water. We got the shed from Home Depot and ordered a tub. Easy to hook up this hot water heater. Biggest problem was finding a faucet to hook up the sprayer. We haven't used it yet but 4 gallons should be plenty. This beats paying groomers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Water Heater

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just the size I needed as I was limited on space. Took 2 sinks off the tankless and put them here so we could get hot water in a reasonable amount of time. Works great, easy install, plug and go. On the other hand if you want tankless think twice, we were having to run water for 45 sec to a minute before hot water, because it has to cut on heat and get there, about a gallon of water. But this is a great solution for our problem. Shipping was quick!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SHC 4-Gal. Electric Mini-Tank Water Heater
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little water heater!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was fairly easy to install and heated up very quickly.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.