728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.585 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(390 reviews) 390
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Rating Breakdown 390 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(22)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(314)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First one then the other

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these in the spring when Home Depot had them on sale. I loved it. Looked nice in the front of the house, was light weight and perfect for watering plants and filling the bird bath. I
I bought another one for the back yard. I released the pressure as soon as I finished using them. Only once did I use the back one for an extended period to water a dry area. Two weeks ago I was cleaning the bird bath and POP water all over my back as it burst at the faucet.
Today we planted some new plants in the back and as I went to water them in I looked down to see a water balloon forming at my wrist and POP water all over me.
I guess it is back to the heavy but reliable hoses.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+77points
77out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken After a month

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the other reviews after the hose broke. We bought this hose not realizing these reviews had already been written. My spouse said this was only the second time it had been used. Now it's broken. Well, our hose BROKE OFF where the hose connects onto the adapter fitting which connects to the tap. Upon closer inspection, there is no clamp to keep the hose onto the barb! What were they thinking! They depended upon a friction fit. I did try to fix this, but there is no space to use tools to put the plastic tube hose back onto the barb. This is just a cheap and poor design, never going to buy this again. It is not worth the money, no matter how cheaper it is compared to construction grade hoses. I have included a few pictures of where it failed.
Cons: Not Durable, poor design, cheap for the wrong reasons, fails after the second time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+155points
169out of 183found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1.5 Months - Broken Hose

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this hose a few months back so that we could save some space in our backyard. It seemed magical that it could expand and contract, something that is almost needed in a confined apartment backyard.
Well, the first thing that broke (within two days) was the on/off switch. I accidentally turned it the wrong direction and it snapped right off. If you check their website, one of the top FAQ's is where to buy a new on/off switch. (hmmm...)
Secondly, I was watering the plants the other day and the internal rubber hose blew up from the pressure and started spraying water everywhere. I am not sure what the internal chamber is but after 1.5 months?!?
A little bummed out about my experience with this product, I decided to call the "TELE Brands" customer service center. They explained that I would need to send the hose back to them and at that point, it would take a minimum of 4-6 weeks to get a replacement in the mail, which would then take up to another two weeks for me to receive it. Faulty product, horrible service = out of business soon.
I'll wait for the next generation company that develops something better.
Pros: great idea
Cons: Not Durable, horrible service, lack of a true warantee, breaks very easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+84points
85out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

ABSOLUTE JUNK - JUNK - JUNK!!! YOU ARE WARNED - DO NOT BUY!!!!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you need a hose for a day or two - buy this... if you want a hose that will last longer than 2 uses (if you are lucky) then buy this....
Bought 2 - both leaked at the connection - no big deal - but both exploded - the outside 'material' tears easy then the actual 'hose' inside expands at that spot until it explodes... same exact thing happened to my neighbor - I happened to be watching - seemed funny when it happened to him - not too funny when it happened to me - you get soaked!!
I can't believe Home Depot sells this !!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Not Durable, will not last a week, made like garbage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expands until it bursts

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife bought the hose last summer. It worked great through the fall. We never left the water on after use, always allowed it to contract. We got the hose out after winter and hooked it up to the outdoor faucet. Turned the water on and water began spraying out everywhere. The hose had burst, just like the pictures others have sent in. There is $20 down the drain.....
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

pocket hose is the worst

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've purchased 4 and 3 have failed, 2 sprung leaks and the third came apart from the nozzle this morning, the 2nd day I've had it. The forth is getting returned because I don't want to make another trip to do this next week.
Cons: Not Durable, leaks and falls apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+84points
95out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Lightweight and compact

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the pocket hose after I was getting ready to do some things around the house and realized that my typical rubber hose broke. I bought two 50' pocket hoses at my local Home Depot. Immediately I loved how light weight the hose was, it made it very easy to use at 5 months pregnant. I sprayed off my large deck and patio furniture with ease. I also really like how compact it was to store. 100' of hose took up about 1/3 of the space as did my 50' rubber hose and didn't kink either. After reading several reviews I'm a little nervous that this hose may be too good to be true. I will definitely keep my receipt in case of issues.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
53out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester, NY, USA

GARBAGE. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hose split down the side after approximately six uses.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
60out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst hose ever

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased three of these hoses recently and all three have broken. Two connectors at the spray end broke off about a month and the third started springing leaks all along the hose. They are not the type of hose that can be used for everyday use around the yard or washing the card. It presents Home Depot in a bad light to sell such an inferior product.
Cons: quality is inferior
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Don't buy this hose

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hooked up the hose with the shut off valve closed, turned the water on and the hose expanded. Cool. Then I opened the shut off valve lightly and snap, the lever broke off! I thought, OK...I don't really need the shut off since my hose nozzle has one already so I removed it and hooked the hose directly to the hose nozzle, turned the water on and then it leaked from the threads. I thought the gasket was bad on my hose nozzle but upon closer inspection the threads aren't even garden hose standard threads which makes the threads bind up before the end can contact the gasket inside the hose nozzle. Why would a company make something so cheap and unusable?
Cons: Not Durable
+89points
99out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from eagan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bad workmen ship

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
broke first time i used it not happy moved dile to on and it broke and leeks at all hook up points the on and off failed
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Pensacola Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expanding garden hose

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I owned this for about 2 months. Used very little. I was simply watering the garden and it popped open at the seam. Do not purchase this item. Waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Junk!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Opened the package, looked alright, lightweight, seemed like it was ok hose. The good ends there.
Hooked up to spigot, screwed on nozzle, leaked all over me. Tried two other nozzles, all leaked terribly, not a huge deal but annoying. Similar to others opinion, I liked the lightweight of the hose and ease of use so was willing to deal with the leaking.
Think it was the 3rd or 4th use of the hose shut-off valve broke off, shot across the yard and water began shooting out of where the switch was located.
That was that, luckily I had the receipt, returned item and would never buy another one. Complete garbage, neighbor had similar issues with his hose.
Cons: Not Durable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Tempe, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pocket Hose failures

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 6 pocket hoses, they all failed. Thanks to Home Depot, I was able to return them. At least 3 leaked grossly, one the black plastic screw on cracked. One sprayed out close to the connector and got me soaked. They should recall this item and improve it, after all is not cheap and Home Depot should not carry it. I will never buy another one again unless they make durable changes.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality and design
+61points
65out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Another poorly made product from Telebrands

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mine broke after about one hour of use (leaks badly at the faucet connection - and cannot be repaired). Does not compact to anywhere close to what it advertises.
The concept is good. The execution is awful and the quality is typical for an "as seen on tv" product from the folks at Telebrands.
Cons: Not Durable, horrible quality
+47points
51out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think this is a very good idea in garden hoses, but it is not ready for market yet.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have bought six of the 50 foot pocket hoses and have returned four to Home Depot. There are several problems with the hoses. 1. The fabric on the hose has split and leaked on two of the hoses. 2. The plastic connection end has split causing leakage. 3. The plastic shut off valve handle has broken off.
Otherwise we really like the hoses if they can cure the problems. We think the idea is sound and should be a big seller if the bugs get fixed and will keep using the pocket hose as long as HD keeps letting me return the defective hose.
Customer service at HD is quick and easy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Pacific Grove, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give the hose two stars only because my wife loves the design concept. We did purchase this hose 8 months ago, but truly have only used it at the most once a month for a short period of time. I went to use it the other day and almost immediately after turning on the water it burst just below the faucet connection. After digging out the receipt, I realized ow poor the return policy was and now we have to spend at least another $20-25 on a comparable length hose. To be clear, our water pressure here is not high and the weather is always mild so this was not, in my opinion, a factor. Simply put, the strength factor advertised is a complete exaggeration.
Lewis S
Pros: Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pocket Hose

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased a 50 foot pocket hose and was very disappointed. After two uses it leaked and the cheep plastic connector fell off. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable
+36points
40out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Erie, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea but bad hose...

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had mine for about a month and it sprung a leak. The idea and the design are great but the quality just isn't there. Even if they fixed it so that it didn't spring a leak, I was a little disappointed with how dirty it gets. The light green color picks up mud very easily and because it's a fabric, it gets soaked into it. I don't go out of my way to write reviews too often, but this one was pretty bad. I definitely recommend against the hose.
Pros: Vibrant Color, innovative
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily, gets dirty easily
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from jessup Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

junk

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the hose popped soon after I bought it, lowered the water pressure so didn't wash the deck as well as other hoses do, save your money on this product
Pros: easy to throw away
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>