728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.585 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(390 reviews) 390
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Rating Breakdown 390 reviews
1.6 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(22)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(314)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Review 121 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Arlington, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These were older models of the flex hose, they had been discounted significantly. My father in law had been looking for two of them, as their lightweight design worked so much better for him and his bride! I bought one for myself, and I have to say I am impressed with how well they perform. I recommend them to anyone that needs a lightweight garden hose.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Escondido, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Horrible Quality

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm small and wrestling with hoses is a pain in the butt. Even the hoses they advertise that won't crimp, crimp or they crimp and are heavy, or they're just plain heavy. Was very hopeful that this would solve my problems with the light weight and no crimping ... bought a 50' one from Home Depot about 3 weeks ago. It split and burst apart this morning. Haven't even used it that much. Why can't the manufacturer simply make and give people something that will last. Home Depot should not sell it, it's a piece of junk.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, easily splits apart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Weston,Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for light duty.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I think people are trying to do too much with this hose. It has plastic connectors and a fabric cover. Don't think your going to tug this around by pulling it by the connectors, dragging it over concrete, and dropping the connectors to the concrete floor. it will break and detach for sure. I use mine to wash the car parked over the grass ,and other light duty, and it shows no wear or tear even after 6months use. Consider what you will use it for, don't expect it to stand up like a rubber and brass connector hose.
Pros: Compact, light
Cons: not for everyday use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Granbury, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to pull around and no kink

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Lightweight as desired. Have 3. One fabric came apart at nozzle end and exploded. Another defective at plastic end. Replaced and all are working well. Important to follow instructions for use and care.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Oceanside, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool Concept, Quick Failure...

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the idea of a lightweight, portable hose for occasional use. First time I used the hose, worked like a charm! Expanded to full size did it's job, and contracted when done. By the third use, the plastic shut off valve fell apart in my hand, rendering the hose useless. Thankfully Home Depot is good on returns - and I won't bother with an exchange.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA

problems still not fixed

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought and returned 3 of these last year. we figured the leaking problems would be fixed this year but we were wrong. bought 2 and returned both due to leaking after a week.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So Disapointing

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am just glad the first one I bought ruptured before I opened the second one I purchased. I loved this hose so much, that after several weeks I got another one. That very day I was watering the patio plants when suddenly I was being soaked to the skin by a rupture in the hose. The hose had only been used in very light duty settings, so I had to assume it was a faulty design. I am back to hauling around the good old fashioned beast of a hose that just won't die. Glad I didn't toss it out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Probably the best ''Made in China'' product

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought a house in florida and needed a garden hose, so I thought I would buy the pocket hose, I made sure I kept my receipt because I was really thought it was going back. man was I wrong, I have put it through a hard week of use, washing the garage floor, driveway, 2 cars, and then the lawn every night. I wouldn't like to leave it outside in the hot florida sun, but I don't mind putting it in the garage because it is so small. Over all for a china product AAA+++
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Daytona Beach
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very bad, fragile

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose was nice but after a couple of months of light use, the fabric tore from the fawcet connector and there is no way I can repair that. I was surprized to see how brittle the fabric had become.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Storrs, Mansfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product failed right out of the package

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product failed right out of the package. Took it out of the package, attached it to the water outlet, turned on the water, and a giant ballon started forming in the hose. I quickly shut off the water and drained the hose before it burst! It looked like something out of a movie prank.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Shreveport, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

totally busted

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I had ran across one of the best products to come to town. The hose was very compact for my apartment. I was able to water my plants on my balcony without carrying buckets of water. After the watering was done, it would shrink back to a wonderful size making it easy to store inside my washing area. After a few weeks, I was in the mist of watering my plants and the hose started shrinking in my hands as if the water was turned off. Upon inspection I found the hose had burst. I had water going everywhere until I could get back to the washroom and turn the valve off where I had the hose connected. The hose just exploded! I was so hurt. The 20.00 dollars was not worth just a few weeks of use.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Don't waste your money!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two pocket hoses going by the commercial and their website of how great it is. They were fine to start but soon after started leaking water and unable to maintain normal water pressure to water the yard. I will not buy another pocket hose again even though it claims the newer version is better. If I buy another expandable hose, I may try the DAP XHOSE PRO.
Pros: price
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from San Mateo, Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

expanding hose

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My second expanding hose exploded this week. It was fun while it worked but it
must have some major flaws if they keep exploding.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As advertised

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This hose works great but remember to let it totally drain before wrapping it up and putting it away, if you want it to be as small as possible. I Like the valve on the user end, nice touch.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from McDonough, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product ever

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After watering the garden three times we were watering when suddenly, POP, and a foot long split along the hose inner and outer lining burst and shot water everywhere.
It is junk.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't expect much

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this hose for the sole purpose of being able to wash my car during the winter when we'd get a few warmer days. Rather than drag out my heavy garden hose from the basement, I found this to be a great alternative. But that's the only positive thing about it - being lightweight. There is zero water pressure with this hose so if you have your spray on "jet" or "power wash" you're out of luck. Despite that, it was enough for me to get the job done.
I can't say that I'd recommend this hose for heavy usage because I'm positive it'll burst in no time, like others have found out. I'm not even going to attempt to use it more than what I intended to buy it for.
This product has been hyped up all over the place and I will admit that I'm kinda bummed that it hasn't lived up to all that hype. But, to be fair, I've had my fair share of regular garden hoses that cost more than this one and haven't performed very well either.
Pros: Easy to Install, lightweight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Marco Island, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very weak oroduct.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 4 50 ft hose. 2 have exploded or burst.
I will try to get an exchange.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from durham nc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has worked well for 4 months-no problems

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worth the money/highly recomend/i have bought 4-read directions & they work well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Lake Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the product is useless

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the second time I used the hose it burst at the connection. I will return the next time at home depot, don't like having to take the extra.time and gas for such a poor product, it should be removed from the shelves.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

GREAT!...while it lasts :-(

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've had 4 of these now and I think I've had better luck than some reviewers. All of mine failed in exactly the same way and almost to the day at the 4 week mark. The failure I've had is an increasing (from a trickle to eventually, a gush) at the junction of hose to fitting at the faucet end. So, I can't in all concious give it a high rating. But before it fails it is the greatest thing since sliced bread! I would still recommend it with the caveat that it won't last long. But heck! Home Depot is close by... I just go and exchange it for a new one and have hose bliss for another month!
Pros: Functionality, very light weight, absolutely no kinking, easy to put away
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9  ... 20 >>