728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.585 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(390 reviews) 390
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Rating Breakdown 390 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(22)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(314)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Review 121 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was disappointing

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The second time I used the "Expanding Garden Hose" the adapter broke. I continued to use the hose without the adapter and the hose broke from the pressure of the water after 2 months of use. I loved the concept of "Seinfeld Shrinkage Theory", but the quality was VERY poor.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Pine Island, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

one and done

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
burst the first time I used it. Not meant to have any kind of back pressure even holding your finger over the end will pop the hose.
Cons: Not Durable, junk product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Waste of money.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchase two of them. Did not last very long. Cheaper than the better ones sold elsewhere, yet even for free it is overpriced.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The hose did exactly what it said!! Was easy to put away! Not bulky like the big hoses. Nice and neat!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would recommend to anyone who does not have a lot of room to store hoses!! Kept great water pressure and stores away neatly!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from billings mt
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now hooking up my fourth pocket hose.
The first one blew out because I left the water on too long and it couldn't take the pressure
The second one leaked where the nozzle connected to it. I had a pocket hose I used in another part of the yard that I had no issues with and tried using it's nozzle and that's how I knew it was the hose.
The third blew the shut off valve right out of it's seat and drenched my just before I had to come to work.
Great idea but it needs re-engineering
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Sisters, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst hose ever

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst ever!!!! Bought two and they both broke down and popppppped within 3 months. DO NOT BUY. The black original one is supposted to be better. See the picture from others as to what happens to this poooooooor product. I'm surprised home depot will carry it. In Centeral Oregon
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not perfect, but if you follow the directions...

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would highly recommend this hose, but with a couple of reservations/cautions...
1) It IS a cheaply imported product, but then what isn't these days? Understand that and don't abuse it.
2) I can understand many of the negative reviews.
3) But, if you follow the directions EXACTLY, you shouldn't have any trouble for a year or two. Specifically, it tells you how to make the hose retract back to it's original crinkly shape... by turning OFF the water source while leaving the hose/sprayer unit ON... which will drain most of the water out and thereby take the majority of the pressure off of the elements when the hose is not in use. I strongly suspect that many of the breakage problems are as a result of what many people do, which is to leave the water source on or to leave the pressure built up inside the hose by not draining it. So, if you are using a sprayer attachment, leave that sprayer locked into the spray/ON position and turn your hydrant/water source off. It will continue to spray for maybe 30-45 seconds, but as the hose empties it will begin to crinkle up again because the pressure is lessening more and more. Clear as mud? I hope so, cuz I am just ordering 2 more right now!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
Cons: use caution
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good concept, poor design

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was really looking forward to not having our big hose out in the yard and have been eyeing the pocket hose for months. Bought four of them and out of the four the first one sprung a leak at the end that screws onto the faucet. The second one just exploded yesterday all over the yard and was split right down the middle and the last two we just took back because they obviously can't take the pressure of the water. So, so, so disappointed!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Popped on the 3rd use

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I loved this when I first bought it. I used it 3 times (stored it in my deck box right after use), however, and then closed the valve that came with the hose. Pop! The cloth broke, water spit out, and it was done. Returned it at HD, they took it right back without a receipt. 3 people in front of me were returning the same hose. So it's got a major design flaw, and I would suggest HD stop carrying it.
Pros: great idea
Cons: Not Durable, poor executionand product testing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Works as described

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had no problems with the hose, its worked as described.
Not a hose for energetic users but if your about watering the pants and let the water out before putting it away I have had no problems now for 2 months.
I do warn that people who need more of an industrial hose should look elsewhere since this is not for you, but if your looking for a hose the shrinks is light and for the most part out of sight out mind when not in use, I 100% recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: for watering plants and basic use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure garbage

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product doesn't work as advertised and is total garbage. A waste of time and money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Worth
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One week - So far, so wonderful!!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two pocket hoses on Memorial Day weekend and have been using them joined together all week. They work perfectly! Light-weight, no leaks, and so easy! I bought mine on the recommendation of an avid gardener who had been using his for a year.
I read these bad reviews after my purchase and thought I would add in my experience. But given what I now know, I don't think I'll be yanking on it. Don't want to tempt fate!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Austin TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I can't believe Home Depot keeps selling this junk

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 at once last summer and they all broke in less than 4 months. I wonder if the owners of home depot haven't seen or heard how bad this product is.
DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Lombard, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap Piece of Junk

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hose after three days of use had small pin holes I took it back along with a second hose which was not even opened and was informed by the sales rep that I was not the first to return this hose they are by far cheap poor quality and Home Depot should break all ties with the company. Great idea poor, poor, quality but what do you expect from items made in China.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 135 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fabulous idea! Whomever came up with this concept is a genius!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great hose, especially for a woman to handle..light weight, easy to drain and store...I gave away 2 other traditional hoses I owned because this 50 foot hose is the best yard tool I own..I highly recommend this hose for anyone who is sick and tired of winding up traditional hoses and getting filthy and exhausted at the same time...Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from New Orleans, la
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought four of these hoses from Home Depot, within two weeks, one hose started leaking badly from the nozzle end plastic connection, and one hose came completely off the nozzle end connection. There is no way user can repair these hoses when they break. And they break quickly.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a week.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great for a week or two. Then the fitting fails at the ends. Have went through 3 of these. One blew out totally because I forgot to turn it off. If they fix the fittings, it might get 3 stars. Never leave the water pressure on it.
Pros: Vibrant Color, flexible
Cons: Not Durable, very weakly made. leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 138 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Well worth the price.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice product. Does all it claims. Get one while they last. You'll like it.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hose for the elderly

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The "pocket hose" is a five star hose for the elderly. Lightweight and convenient to store. However, the quality is fair at best. Cheap plastic ends have broken off of many of those who put it through a little harder workload. Price can't be beat. A must have for someone who struggles with tangles, kinked or heavy hoses.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: cheap plastic ends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't throw your money away on this

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic head near the threads began spraying out water after only a few uses and the hose developed holes from being moved around on the lawn. Next thing I knew the hose blew apart right in the middle. Made of cheap materials. Save your money!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9  ... 20 >>