728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.585 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(390 reviews) 390
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Rating Breakdown 390 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(22)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(314)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 372reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Review 121 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Split after 2nd use - don't waste your money

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was a great idea, just made very very poorly. We used it twice... about 10 minutes each time... and several leaks started. After that, we switched to a better hose for landscaping and let my five year old play with the expanding hose in her kids pool. Within a week it was useless and in the trash. Don't waste your money!
Pros: good in theory
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Amesbury, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great alternative to big hoses

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great hose for around the house, washing the car. I am going to buy another hose for the other side of my house. Easy to store, I don't need that big hose reel anymore. I would highly recommend this as an alternative to the big heavy hose.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from beaverton, or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Idea - Bad Product

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It leaks through the on/off switch. first time/every time.
back to the store it goes
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Orange County, california
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pure junk

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this hose and within a few weeks it broke - a bubble formed at the connection and water started spraying everywhere. No warranty. DO NOT BUY
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from New Orleans, la
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought four of these hoses from Home Depot, within two weeks, one hose started leaking badly from the nozzle end plastic connection, and one hose came completely off the nozzle end connection. There is no way user can repair these hoses when they break. And they break quickly.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad buy

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor product design, good idea gone bad. This product will fail from gentle use. Do not buy this hose.
Cons: Not Durable, bursts easy, will tear if pulled over concret
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Arizona

Good idea, poor execution

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two, both came with small leaks that probably will get worse over time. A collapsible hose is a great idea and I like the concept but based on my experience the product quality needs to be improved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a week.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great for a week or two. Then the fitting fails at the ends. Have went through 3 of these. One blew out totally because I forgot to turn it off. If they fix the fittings, it might get 3 stars. Never leave the water pressure on it.
Pros: Vibrant Color, flexible
Cons: Not Durable, very weakly made. leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Great handy hose

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to make it easy to hose off snow from the dish. Much lighter to carry and use. Would also work great in a greenhouse. Recommended for light work.
Pros: Functionality, lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hose for the elderly

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The "pocket hose" is a five star hose for the elderly. Lightweight and convenient to store. However, the quality is fair at best. Cheap plastic ends have broken off of many of those who put it through a little harder workload. Price can't be beat. A must have for someone who struggles with tangles, kinked or heavy hoses.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: cheap plastic ends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Fraziers Bottom, WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ruptured after 2 uses.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought 2, for the price wow. 1st ruptured about 10 feet from user end. The fabric ripped creating a cool clear plastic baggy u shaped loop. By the time I wrapped my head around this and started toward the shut off at the house the hose ruptured and soaked me! 2nd one just could not hold pressure at all leaked everywhere.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 132 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't throw your money away on this

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic head near the threads began spraying out water after only a few uses and the hose developed holes from being moved around on the lawn. Next thing I knew the hose blew apart right in the middle. Made of cheap materials. Save your money!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from South Yarmouth, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, does not live up to hype.

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My hose only extended to approx. 30'(may be my water pressure). Have used it 6 times and it has sprung two leaks. It was only extended over a wooden deck. Nothing to snag on.
P.S.
Try and put it in your pocket....
Pros: there is none
Cons: Not Durable, cheep quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

loved it

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought two hoses and both have worked. It takes up little space and expands great. So far I have had no problems like the others that have reviewed them. I intend to buy more - I hate the regular hoses - they take up too much room and spring leaks too at the end and kink like crazy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 135 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Lovettsvile, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as expected

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this hose on a whim having seen similar hoses on TV. I have used it several times so far, without any problems. After I'm done, I bunch it back up and stuff it right back into the container it came in.
It's much more convenient and easier to deal with than the big bulky hoses I've used in the past.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville,TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

More Chinese Junk

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used it for 1 month wrapped the cheap plastic connectors to stop the leaking then turned on the water and the hose grew as advertised then split about 12" long.
Pros: nice color!!!
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality. Leaked out of box.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaked the first time I used it. Like the idea of the shrinking hose. That bit worked. But connectors and materials seem to be of very poor quality. Returned it.
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks, poor materials
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 138 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor execution of a great idea!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
plastic fitting broke in 5 minutes. hose sprung a leak within a few days. I purchased a 2nd one and it broke within a couple days. Interesting though that the price went from 14.97 to 19.97.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Reeds Spring, MO 65737, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Quality

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After just a few uses, the hose connections at both couplings have a heavy stream of water leaks. The hose is not usable. I will be returning the hose as soon as I can locate the receipt.
Pros: great idea
Cons: poor construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose sprung a leak in the middle after only 3 uses. Good concept, but very poor quality. Fortunately, Home Depot is allowing a return.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9  ... 20 >>