728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.586 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(389 reviews) 389
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 371reviews
Rating Breakdown 389 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(22)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(313)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product63 of 371reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
Review 121 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Annandale, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hose Bursts under Minimal Water Pressure

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had purchased one of these pocket hoses several months ago and was initially happy with it -- so happy that I wrote a glowing review on this website and then purchased a SECOND pocket hose. The second hose burst when I used it for the first time, and I returned it as defective.
The first hose I purchased burst today (I don't think I used it more than 10 times since my initial purchase). I had used it according to the directions ("Attach the Pocket Hose inlet to the water supply of your home."). The directions also say "[o]nly for outdoor use in applications under 80psi." I assumed it could handle the water pressure at my home, which is a standard cookie cutter house in a 1950s' era development. Evidently, it can't.
The price of this item suggests it would be made of quality materials. Sadly, It's not.
Pros: light and easy to manipulate.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Well worth the price.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice product. Does all it claims. Get one while they last. You'll like it.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Terrible Product

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know that the Water Pressure in China is less than the average American City because I have been there several times. It is apparent that this product was not designed for the USA as I have returned several of them for the same reason, "THEY ALL BURST". It might not be the first or second time but trust me it will fail. Not a bad idea once they get the next improved shipment in but stay away for now.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fabulous idea! Whomever came up with this concept is a genius!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great hose, especially for a woman to handle..light weight, easy to drain and store...I gave away 2 other traditional hoses I owned because this 50 foot hose is the best yard tool I own..I highly recommend this hose for anyone who is sick and tired of winding up traditional hoses and getting filthy and exhausted at the same time...Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointed

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so disappointed, I loved the light weight and ease of use. I went out to water this morning and the hose now has a leak. I am very careful and have not abused the hose in any way. I water my lawn and replace the hose carefully to a hose stand which I also purchased from The Home Depot. The hose has a hole, I don't understand how this could have occurred. I believe the hose is faulty in some way. I am going to return it to the store and get another one. I hope that this does not happen again. I really love the hose. I have told all my friends and neighbors how light and easy this hose is to use. Now, with no reason, the hose has a hole in it. I am so gentle and I handle the hose gently and with much care. How did this happen? Should I bother getting another one, or should I just give up?
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was disappointing

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The second time I used the "Expanding Garden Hose" the adapter broke. I continued to use the hose without the adapter and the hose broke from the pressure of the water after 2 months of use. I loved the concept of "Seinfeld Shrinkage Theory", but the quality was VERY poor.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Howell, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a piece of junk

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these hoses. The first one started to leak within 2 weeks. It just started to leak from the middle of the hose. The second hose started to leak about 2 weeks later in the same general area. The third one is still not leaking, but it is a matter of time before it does. I would NOT recommend this product. It is a very good idea and a great space saver, but if the hose leaks, it is not worth the money. It is a piece of junk and Home Depot should not be selling this product, it makes them look bad.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, leaks without warning
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to use, love it.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very light and easy to stow, great preasure and no leaks
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

waste of money

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 1st time I used the pocket hose, there was a leak near the nozzle. Figured that would still be usable. Well, used it for the 2nd time today & turned the valve @ the end of the hose & a little ways from the end I was holding, the hose sprung a leak. Upon returning to the faucet to turn water off, found a big balloon in the hose with the fabric ripped around it. The water pressure was not high at all as I was about to water my flowers. Major waste of $20!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not perfect, but if you follow the directions...

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would highly recommend this hose, but with a couple of reservations/cautions...
1) It IS a cheaply imported product, but then what isn't these days? Understand that and don't abuse it.
2) I can understand many of the negative reviews.
3) But, if you follow the directions EXACTLY, you shouldn't have any trouble for a year or two. Specifically, it tells you how to make the hose retract back to it's original crinkly shape... by turning OFF the water source while leaving the hose/sprayer unit ON... which will drain most of the water out and thereby take the majority of the pressure off of the elements when the hose is not in use. I strongly suspect that many of the breakage problems are as a result of what many people do, which is to leave the water source on or to leave the pressure built up inside the hose by not draining it. So, if you are using a sprayer attachment, leave that sprayer locked into the spray/ON position and turn your hydrant/water source off. It will continue to spray for maybe 30-45 seconds, but as the hose empties it will begin to crinkle up again because the pressure is lessening more and more. Clear as mud? I hope so, cuz I am just ordering 2 more right now!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
Cons: use caution
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

A gift purchase.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very please with the size and weight and plan to buy one for me.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to manage

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to manage and easy to storage. Love the color.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from billings mt
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now hooking up my fourth pocket hose.
The first one blew out because I left the water on too long and it couldn't take the pressure
The second one leaked where the nozzle connected to it. I had a pocket hose I used in another part of the yard that I had no issues with and tried using it's nozzle and that's how I knew it was the hose.
The third blew the shut off valve right out of it's seat and drenched my just before I had to come to work.
Great idea but it needs re-engineering
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus, Oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible quality!!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great concept...very very poor quality. The inner rubber lining will fail soon. I just tried two others and both failed to seal at the faucet. This company has some serious quality control issues going on and the product is being returned everywhere so don't waste your time or your money.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good concept, poor design

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was really looking forward to not having our big hose out in the yard and have been eyeing the pocket hose for months. Bought four of them and out of the four the first one sprung a leak at the end that screws onto the faucet. The second one just exploded yesterday all over the yard and was split right down the middle and the last two we just took back because they obviously can't take the pressure of the water. So, so, so disappointed!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Popped on the 3rd use

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I loved this when I first bought it. I used it 3 times (stored it in my deck box right after use), however, and then closed the valve that came with the hose. Pop! The cloth broke, water spit out, and it was done. Returned it at HD, they took it right back without a receipt. 3 people in front of me were returning the same hose. So it's got a major design flaw, and I would suggest HD stop carrying it.
Pros: great idea
Cons: Not Durable, poor executionand product testing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED

Works as described

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had no problems with the hose, its worked as described.
Not a hose for energetic users but if your about watering the pants and let the water out before putting it away I have had no problems now for 2 months.
I do warn that people who need more of an industrial hose should look elsewhere since this is not for you, but if your looking for a hose the shrinks is light and for the most part out of sight out mind when not in use, I 100% recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: for watering plants and basic use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 138 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hose.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great light weight and easy to handle hose and its ready to use when I need it.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Worth
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One week - So far, so wonderful!!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two pocket hoses on Memorial Day weekend and have been using them joined together all week. They work perfectly! Light-weight, no leaks, and so easy! I bought mine on the recommendation of an avid gardener who had been using his for a year.
I read these bad reviews after my purchase and thought I would add in my experience. But given what I now know, I don't think I'll be yanking on it. Don't want to tempt fate!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose-DISCONTINUED
from Lombard, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap Piece of Junk

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hose after three days of use had small pin holes I took it back along with a second hose which was not even opened and was informed by the sales rep that I was not the first to return this hose they are by far cheap poor quality and Home Depot should break all ties with the company. Great idea poor, poor, quality but what do you expect from items made in China.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9  ... 20 >>