728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
1.571 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(375 reviews) 375
Open Ratings Snapshot
16%of customersrecommend this product58 of 357reviews
Rating Breakdown 375 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(21)
3
(8)
2
(11)
1
(304)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
16%of customersrecommend this product58 of 357reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 121 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Suggar

The water flow is very low it does not retract S they advertised. Must remain out of sunlight so u must bring in and out for

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The water flow is very low. Does not retract as advertised. Does not resist weather. Must be kept inside
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Chris
from Monroe,Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst product ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
dont buy this hose! good idea ,poor materials.PLASTC BREAKS, hosed leaked after 2 weeks of purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Wolfpackmom3
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

waste of money

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 1st time I used the pocket hose, there was a leak near the nozzle. Figured that would still be usable. Well, used it for the 2nd time today & turned the valve @ the end of the hose & a little ways from the end I was holding, the hose sprung a leak. Upon returning to the faucet to turn water off, found a big balloon in the hose with the fabric ripped around it. The water pressure was not high at all as I was about to water my flowers. Major waste of $20!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 124 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Tommysoap
from Holiday, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

catastrophic failure

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this hose in the summer, kept it indoors. This afternoon I went to use it to wash my car and the hose simply burst. A piece of ill conceived garbage!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
KenN
from Howell, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a piece of junk

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these hoses. The first one started to leak within 2 weeks. It just started to leak from the middle of the hose. The second hose started to leak about 2 weeks later in the same general area. The third one is still not leaking, but it is a matter of time before it does. I would NOT recommend this product. It is a very good idea and a great space saver, but if the hose leaks, it is not worth the money. It is a piece of junk and Home Depot should not be selling this product, it makes them look bad.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, leaks without warning
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 126 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Harry
from Pasadena, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cheep and not worth paying for it.

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these for me and one for a friend. All of them broke and sprung a huge leak. The ends are made of cheep plastic that cracks even with normal tightening. I will never recommend nor advise anyone to waste there money on this no quality hose.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, cheep, waste of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
drippingwet
from billings mt
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now hooking up my fourth pocket hose.
The first one blew out because I left the water on too long and it couldn't take the pressure
The second one leaked where the nozzle connected to it. I had a pocket hose I used in another part of the yard that I had no issues with and tried using it's nozzle and that's how I knew it was the hose.
The third blew the shut off valve right out of it's seat and drenched my just before I had to come to work.
Great idea but it needs re-engineering
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 128 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
candidalaw
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good concept, poor design

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was really looking forward to not having our big hose out in the yard and have been eyeing the pocket hose for months. Bought four of them and out of the four the first one sprung a leak at the end that screws onto the faucet. The second one just exploded yesterday all over the yard and was split right down the middle and the last two we just took back because they obviously can't take the pressure of the water. So, so, so disappointed!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 129 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
ginn
from SI NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used three times and then it broke DONT waste your money
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
WildDave
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Popped on the 3rd use

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I loved this when I first bought it. I used it 3 times (stored it in my deck box right after use), however, and then closed the valve that came with the hose. Pop! The cloth broke, water spit out, and it was done. Returned it at HD, they took it right back without a receipt. 3 people in front of me were returning the same hose. So it's got a major design flaw, and I would suggest HD stop carrying it.
Pros: great idea
Cons: Not Durable, poor executionand product testing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 131 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
b479
from Daphne AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea that needs modification

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Enjoyed the hose for the short time that it worked. Follows the commercial flawlessly unit it decides to become a water bomb. Used mine for 3 months. Watering plants when I heard the pop and lost water pressure. At least it satisfied my curiosity as to how long will this thing last. Good idea but poor quality. Would not buy again or recommend to a friend. Price is high for something that is faulty.
Pros: concept
Cons: not a good investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Kiah
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy this hose

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased three of these hoses (and returned three) - they do not last beyond a week even if the instructions are followed explicitly.
I do like the concept and was on the home depot site to find the DAP hose to see if it is any more reliable. I see they do not sell that one but I am surprised they continue to sell this one.
It is Junk in it's purest form.
Pros: Compact
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Sharon
from Shreveport, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

totally busted

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I had ran across one of the best products to come to town. The hose was very compact for my apartment. I was able to water my plants on my balcony without carrying buckets of water. After the watering was done, it would shrink back to a wonderful size making it easy to store inside my washing area. After a few weeks, I was in the mist of watering my plants and the hose started shrinking in my hands as if the water was turned off. Upon inspection I found the hose had burst. I had water going everywhere until I could get back to the washroom and turn the valve off where I had the hose connected. The hose just exploded! I was so hurt. The 20.00 dollars was not worth just a few weeks of use.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Wayne
from Paoli, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pocket Hose--not a good idea

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hose was purchased to water plants on our deck. The water pressure was maintained low and within 30 days the hose burst in the middle.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Pewee
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hose not duable- does not last

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so pleased to have found the hose on sale for $14.99. It did exactly what was seen on TV. I used it one time a week for a month. I was the only one to use the hose. this Material leak by the hydrant water went everywhere. I could not believe my eyes. I used the hose to water plants once a week. Very disappointed. I was so happy with it I was telling every one I knew to get one. A couple days before this happen, I encouraged my friend to purchase one, now I have to tell them not to, how sad.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Kiljoy616

Works as described

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had no problems with the hose, its worked as described.
Not a hose for energetic users but if your about watering the pants and let the water out before putting it away I have had no problems now for 2 months.
I do warn that people who need more of an industrial hose should look elsewhere since this is not for you, but if your looking for a hose the shrinks is light and for the most part out of sight out mind when not in use, I 100% recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: for watering plants and basic use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 137 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Woodworm63
from Lombard, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap Piece of Junk

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hose after three days of use had small pin holes I took it back along with a second hose which was not even opened and was informed by the sales rep that I was not the first to return this hose they are by far cheap poor quality and Home Depot should break all ties with the company. Great idea poor, poor, quality but what do you expect from items made in China.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 138 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Gardenchick
from Fort Worth
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One week - So far, so wonderful!!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two pocket hoses on Memorial Day weekend and have been using them joined together all week. They work perfectly! Light-weight, no leaks, and so easy! I bought mine on the recommendation of an avid gardener who had been using his for a year.
I read these bad reviews after my purchase and thought I would add in my experience. But given what I now know, I don't think I'll be yanking on it. Don't want to tempt fate!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 139 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
dano
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a week.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great for a week or two. Then the fitting fails at the ends. Have went through 3 of these. One blew out totally because I forgot to turn it off. If they fix the fittings, it might get 3 stars. Never leave the water pressure on it.
Pros: Vibrant Color, flexible
Cons: Not Durable, very weakly made. leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 140 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
KJ200614
from Apache Junction, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AVOID This Hose

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used this hose a total of two times before it split. I would not recommend this hose for anything other than a one time use disposable hose.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 5 6 7 8 9  ... 19 >>