728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Range Hoods or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

The NuTone ACS30 Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood uses a washable aluminum filter when ducted to help make cleanup a breeze. This hood features a powerful fan with up to 220 CFM to help rid your kitchen of cooking odors and smoke. The convertible hood can be adapted to fit a variety of installation setups and offers both a ducted and duct-free option, depending on your needs.
Overall rating:
4.097 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product25 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product25 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
Review 1 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Toledo, OHio

Could be happier.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have liked two filters instead of the one [should have checked] also do not like the flimsy plastic light bulb cover.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from linwood.n.j.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

it works great

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
looks good, runs good, the motor is a little at high speed but I am satisfied
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: punch outs diffcult
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

Works great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Already reviewed, this fan, just uploading a photo
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Eastern Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GEAT HOOD. UPPER LEVEL FEATURES AT LOW PRICE

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did some research on range hoods as it was time to retire my old "entry level" one. This NuTone ACS30WW caught my eye on several levels. It has a dual position light switch so you can have bright when cooking, or low for just kitchen night light. Also, the fan has infinite speed adjustment instead of one or two speeds. And, it's 3-way convertible; rectangle 3" x 10" vented, 7" round vented, or non-vented. If you "non-vent" then you need to buy the charcoal filter instead of the mesh filter it comes with. With the 7" round venting you will need to purchase a separate damper if you want or need one, but it comes with the damper for the rectangular venting.
I am pretty handy, so I tackled this job myself (first time). You should have a helper to do the install as it's awkward otherwise. Instructions are pretty clear and it came with everything you needed (except as noted above). Removal of the old one and installation of the new one was pretty straight forward. For a first timer, it took about 2 ½ hours to remove old and install new. Probably wouldn't have taken that long if I hadn't needed to make some modifications to the mounting area to correct the bad original installation!
It fit perfect and works and looks great. It's not the quietest fan (on full speed) as top of the line range hoods, nor is it the noisiest (like my old one). But you can adjust the fan speed anywhere you want it. It looks great, works great and hopefully will last for years come. And the price was great for a range hood with these features.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: really...can't find any cons!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from People's Republic of CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overpriced

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a lot of difference between this and the $42.99 hood, certainly not worth 2 1/2 times as much. Bought this because I needed a hood immediately for a job and Home Depot was out of the other, cheaper hood.
Needed a recirc type hood, which is what this one is, but Nutone couldn't even throw in a charcoal filter (which is what's needed on hoods used for recirculating exhaust air). The filters have to be bought separately. And Home Depot doesn't stock the charcoal filters, they have to be ordered.
Not a good value for $120, and now I have to chase down a filter, which should have been included in the first place, considering the price.
Will not buy this again.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not recommend

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The range hood fan is extremely loud even on low. We had to order a filter on line in order to use it without
venting. They did not carry them at Home Depot where we purchased the hood. The light worked well.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: noisy fan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Socorro, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIY homeowner

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install and it fit perfectly. Very good product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had the same model in a smaller size for 11 years and it worked great, only changed it due to kitchen remodel. New one works great and looks good with our white cabinets. I like how you can adjust the fan speed, it doesn't just have high or low, the knob lets you adjust the speed to multiple levels.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

Great hood but lacks a power light.

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. ventilates great!!! Can't understand why Nutone didn't invest another 25 cents & had a power on/off light. It is very easy to leave the fan running at lower speed & not Know it. I'am going to invest 50 cents & put mu own fan power light in.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no fan power indicator light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Seymour, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product for the budget minded. No bells and whistles, but it covers the basics: vent and light.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Elko, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my new range hood!

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
I am in the process of updating my house...finally replaced my nasty old range hood with this one, and I have to say I love it. Installation was easy, and there are some great features with this one. Definitely recommend!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from miami florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Range For the price

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Bisque
I had previously purchased an over the counter microwave. However the cabinet were the duct is installed is much lower causing the microwave to be to close to the burner area. Therefore I had to settle for a new range hood that I needed. This range is dual duct installation meaning that it can be installed horizontal or vertical. In my case it was vertical and it fit right in. It also brings its own adapter with damper. The range hood also has several speeds for the fan and two light adjustments so are are good features that my old one didn't have. the installation was simple. I like the vents in the front of the hood.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Longview, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This range hood had everything we needed in a range hood

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
I bought this on line with the help of a tech that was on line who helped me through the process and picked it up the next morning. It was easy to install and we were using it by noon. It is relatively quiet and the light with dimming feature is terrific as a night light.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Roanoke, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Looking Hood at a Good Price

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
The hood looks great and was easy to install. It was the perfect upgrade to our old, dingy hood. It provides excellent light and I like that it has 2 settings (1 for night-light). I also like the variable speed fan -- gives you just as much as you need. Although it is kind of loud on the highest setting, I find that we rarely, if ever, need to have it set to the max speed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
We bought it to replace an older version of the same hood so it would match our new appliances. It was easy to install and works well. The fan is much more effective than the fan in our older model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Williamsport, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ACS series 30 in. Range hood

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Bisque
Work as advertised. I like the 2 position light switch and the fan, while loud, is most excellent. Fan/exhaust power is something found in higher priced units. Installs in a flash and offers 2 types of venting. I like the rectangle gate as it takes up less room in my cab.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from West Seneca, N.Y
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Bad, Not Good.

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
Wished the color had came in a semi-gloss finish instead of the dull satin black. Okay to install.
Installed securely so no noisy vibrations. The light is great (loved the dim feature), but turned
on the fan and wow, to my surprise, it had a humming sound. Turned the fan up and the humming sound became quieter. Too much work to return and it was priced right. Need to run out and purchase
a non-vented replacement filter for $8.99 (3 pack). Thought they could have thrown one in the purchase until we could get to the store. But, besides the humming sound, and dull finish then I am quite happy with my purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
from Santa Maria, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Surprises

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
The Range Hood is exactly what I expected. It was an exact replacement for the 20+ year old unit that was installed. Due to an addition & remodel, we decided to replace with new unit
Pros: Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

Stay away

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
This was a replacement for a 20 year old unit. The sheet metal seems much lighter and weaker then older unit. Very noisy fan. Face plate vibrates and makes noise. The entire hood makes noise at all speeds, This is way overpriced for what it is. You have been warned.
Cons: Not Durable, Noisy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in White

Excellent value

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:ACS Series 30 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
The hood was easy to install. The fan is very powerful and the light with the high and low beam is great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>