728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED

3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED

The GE 3.7 cu. ft. Top Load Washer with the Hydrowave Wash System has Rotary Electronic controls for ease of use. The Dual action agitator gently moves your clothes to clean. Color lid instructions let you know how to get the best from your washer, while the maximum spin speed of 630 RPM removes water to make your drying time shorter. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product90 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(29)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(10)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product90 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

All Around Good Washer

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had this washer for about 3 weeks now and it does the job well. The motor is quieter than my last washer, which makes the "swishing" noises of the water more noticeable. This is the kind of appliance that you don't notice or think about much when it does it's job as intended. And so far, I haven't given it much thought because it's working well. Recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, get's the job done
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED

Simple, effective & reasonably priced. What else would you want?

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product replaced a front loader that sounded like a jet preparing for takeoff. It may have been more efficient but I was actually happy when it finally stopped working and I had an excuse to replace it. Our appliance repair man suggested going back to a top loader with an agitator and it was excellent advice. This unit has done EXACTLY what it needs to do; no more, no less. I don't need it to have bells and whistles - I need it to clean laundry. As a nice bonus, it's MUCH quieter than I expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, very reasonably priced
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Union, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great machine!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 4th washer purchase in 26 yrs.My first was almost identical to this (w/agitator), which still worked after 17 yrs, but opted for the "new/pretty" front loaders.First front loader lasted 4 yrs (no agitator,hated it). Second front loader (no agitator) lasted 5 yrs, broke down, clothes never "clean" to me.Hopefully this "old fashioned" one will last a long time. Clothes very clean! Very quiet operation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, love the agitator, quiet operation
Cons: no alert at end of cycle
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Compton, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

"Performance and Value"

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This washer is "fabulous", much more than I expected. Purchased for my mom who wanted a "standard" washer and a brand name that's familiar to her. Controls that are easy to read (mom is 80), and understand. Cycles are so quiet you sometimes have to check that it on and clothes are "clean". We couldn't have made a better choice. Thank you GE!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA

Great buy!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had our last GE for 10 years and never needed any service. This new machine is a little bigger and much quieter. The controls are almost identical. We only wash extra large loads and those do seem to take a little longer, however, the clothes are coming out much cleaner than they used to. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GE Hydrowave Wash

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cleans very well, quick cycles. This is a very quiet machine during the wash.
to user Migraine, did you remove the shipping rod? If not removed, the motor is locked in place and it will be loud.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from California
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with service and options available at Home Depot. Great customer service and dependability.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine so far

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this model in January 2014 to replace the machine that was left by the previous owners of my house. The delivery person said he had delivered a few of these and that I would be happy with this one. He was right. It's a great washing machine - cleans clothes, relatively quiet, and reminds me if I leave the door open after adding clothes (which happens every now and then). It's a washing machine not a sports car, so it definitely serves its intended purpose without being overly complicated or with bells and whistles that I don't need. It's also very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Richardson, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great washer for the price

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our Maytag Neptune started making this horrible noise which apparently is caused by the bearings. It would have cost more to repair than replace so I did a lot of research, going back and forth between a front load and top load and am very happy with this purchase.
I just could not justify the cost of a front load compared to a top load, and this is not your mother's top load with agitator. Yes, it does have a small agitator but it primarily cleans with the movement of the water, which is much gentler on clothes. Clothes are just as clean (if not cleaner) than with a front load and I had forgotten how convenient it is to be able to open the lid and throw in that errant sock or other lone item. I also don't have to deal with the inevitable mold that kept appearing on the rubber seal of the front load.
Yes, front loads are prettier and sexier than a top load, but they are hidden away behind closed doors so I would rather have affordable quality than pretty.
I am very happy with this purchase and even if doesn't last as long as I would hope (which I doubt will happen), the price will make it palatable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED

Good Deal

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home depot did good with this one. They came and installed it quickly and efficiently. We've had the washer for a bout a month and we wash a lot of clothes. It has done it's job perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Oxford CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Good buy

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had a front load washer for 13yrs, and had it repaired once. We weren't happy with the rubber seal in the front giving off funky odors, so we opted for this top loader. For the money, its a good buy. Nothing elaborate or special, but its nice having a new washer. Its very quite, and we like the way the cycles run. Its all very much plastic, and has a cheap feel to it, but again its not a lot of $$ and it does a great job. Clothes come out smelling fresh and very dry. The only 'problem' is the water level only seems to reach 75% capacity, we had tech support come out and take a look, and they confirmed that is the way the unit is designed. It just doesn't look full, but it fills to the full line upon close inspection. Hey, if this limits the amount of weight i try to jam into the thing, then so be it. Knowing what i know now about the unit, i would buy it again. Its fine for our family of 3...we probably do 3 loads a week.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am very happy with this GE washing machine.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This washing machine is great. It has plenty of cycles, water temps, and water levels to choose from. It's relatively quite so being located in my kitchen is fine. Overall, I am delighted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Emmaus, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great free delivery

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice washer. There's nothing fancy, but it gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from TABORTON, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GE WASHING MACHINE

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELENT!
VERY GOOD MACHINE
TWO WORKERS "BLESSING & MELVIN" BOTH EXCELLENT WORKERS - WOULD BUY AGAINN - JUST BECAUSE OF THEIR GREAT SERVICE
THANKS ,
DSCc
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from littleton, colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here's the main thing: broke down in under five years! The motor went out and it will cost almost as much as the washer cost to fix it. I loved this machine while it ran. It was very quiet, had lots of features, energy efficient. It is just my husband and me, so we only washed about two loads a week. We expected it to last a lot longer than five years. Our old machine we inherited was from the 1960s when things were built to last. It worked wonderfully for 45 years. I now wish I had kept it and had it repaired. It wasn't pretty or energy efficient, but it probably would have gone another 45 years!
Pros: Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, broke down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not fast, but does the job and is flexible

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took an hour to do a small load of clothes, but it did what is should, and there were no issues. Not a real heavyweight like I'm accustomed to, so I hope it lasts.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: takes a long time for a load
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Back to Basics

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a move "Back to Basics" after a daliance with faddish and overly electronic front-loader. We were never pleased with the way the front-loader washed clothes, nor with the fact that we had to pay to "wash" our washing machine itself just to prevent mildew.
We are back to controls that are actual contact switches that, should they fail could be easily replaced as opposed to an expensive electronic motherboard replacement required to solve virtually any problem. Now we have an agitator that really washes the clothes. We are impressed with the new motor technology GE has incorporated and expect at least double the measily five years of service we got from an expensive front-loader before the problems and issues became too expensive. If you want a computer, buy a computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO 80233, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is so quiet we had to check to see if it was working!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good timing and delivery. i love my new washer, g e makes excellent products.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good machine

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works differently that our 13 year old machine but the clothes come out very clean. Reduced water usage is fantastic.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White-DISCONTINUED

Always have had luck with GE appliances

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for the money. I have own a couple GE appliances and always have been pleased with them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>