728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Christmas Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Create a professional looking, one-of-a-kind holiday light show with this Spectacular Light and Sound Show kit. Hook up your outdoor display, add your favorite music via Bluetooth from your computer or mobile device and watch the lights dance to the beat. Then change it up when you want as you control it all by a single remote control. The kit comes with 1 base controller, 1 remote control, 3 satellite receiver, 5 yard stakes and 1 speaker. The options are endless.
Overall rating:
2.321 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product11 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product11 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Review 1 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy light display!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I converted my semi large display of Halloween lights to this system with an expansion pack. I just plugged in the base near where the speaker would be. Everything can be inline to existing lights, but the speaker needs constant power and cannot be attached to the base or receivers. No buttons to sync on the receivers either, they just worked! I had no problem going over 50 ft from the base to a receiver and using the handheld remote.
I was able to pair my android phone via Bluetooth and stream YouTube audio easily, but couldn't get the music sensor with speaker working. I had the base next to the speaker within 1 ft as the manual says.
Remote is quick to change all the lights and plenty of built-in functions for everyone to enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

ok

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really cool product easy to put together and simple to use although it seems to have 6 separate channels it is really only 3 and two operate at the same time one on the main unit and one of the satellite units. The speaker has to be basically touching the main unit to get the music effect in the lights and its not a very good representation of the song it just flashes when there is vibration. Remote speaker is the best part just it connects through blue tooth and you can stream music to it right off your phone it doesn't need the rest if the system which is something you can use year round
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Lake Tahoe Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Learn how to use this and it works just fine

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Look folks, this is NOT what you see on the Budweiser commercials with a home playing music and 20,000 lights. This is a $100.00 unit that does what it promises. I hooked up 18 strings of 100 each standard (non LED) lights, and 10 other decorations. Works just fine. Does the music sensor feature move exactly to the beat? No. Does the sensor need to be practically touching the main unit and volume up high to really move to the beat? Yes. This is an entry level light show unit, all sensors work great, I have experienced 50+ feet distance from my iPod to the unit via Blue Tooth and it is waterproof. If you want a fun ENTRY level light show that will play YOUR music via blue tooth? This unit is just fine. If you want some grand display that will be seen from airliners up above? Get ready to spend hundreds or thousands more.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Easy to Install, Perfect Size
Cons: music sensor could be better
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light show with a ton of great features!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With over 16 functions, this light show has the ability for customization - most light shows in this price point don't offer nearly this many options. Also the ability to get additional satellites so that you don't have to run extension cords for miles is great! The only down - if you even consider it a down is that the machine is sensitive to sound so if you turned off the sound - no light show, if the sound is turned down or the music has a quiet section you get a lot less lights. You need lively music at medium volume to really get the bang for your buck. If you clap next to the machine it bounces the lights.. If you live on a really busy street it may interfere with the light show. The features are great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Pennsylvania

Does what it says and is affordable fun

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked the way I expected and I'm happy with it. It's an affordable way to have a fun light show without spending thousands. I gave it 4 stars because the speaker operates independently of the remote. More about that in a bit. . . I'd like to explain how this set works, because it's not obvious from the box or the instructions.
Anyway, there's a base and 3 satellites. You spread out the satellite boxes in your decor. The satellite boxes get plugged into cords/outlets and your lights/display items get plugged into the satellite boxes. The base sends different signals to each of the satellites. You can also plug lights or other items into the base. The base works with the remote, so you can set or change it from inside your house. You use the remote to operate the lighting options: turn your lights on or off, set one of 15 or 16 lighting options (fade, flash combinations), dim them, or turn on the sync with music option. The base sends different signals to the various satellites, so items plugged into the different satellites do things at different times.
The speaker is a separate box. It has buttons on top to control it - on/off, go ahead or go back a song, and volume. I gave this product 4 stars because I have to go outside to operate the speaker box - it is not controlled with the remote and that's inconvenient. Once the speaker box is turned on (and it has to be next to the base), you use the remote to turn on the sync-lights-to-music option, then your lights will flash based on the vibration or pitch of the speaker. I'm using an SD card (not micro size). The speaker will play all songs on the card and go automatically from one to the next (this wasn't clear from the manual - only once I actually tried it). You can choose your own music, whatever you want. I think it might shuffle them - I'm not actually sure if that can be controlled or not.
If you turn on the music option but there's no music coming out of the speaker, your lights will be dark. This was confusing to me at first, I thought that the music option on the remote would turn on the speaker as well. I figured out that the speaker does not operate with the remote and is totally separate. You can actually use any speaker to play the music, as long as it's near the base and you turn on the music option button on the remote. You could even just put a radio out next to the base (mine are all under the porch roof, so no weather concerns) and just have that operate with the music option of the base.
This set worked right out of the box. With the way things are made these days, I'm hoping that it lasts through this season, and maybe even works when I get it out next year.
This set will not make your light show look as amazing as the ones you see on YouTube or make people drive out of their way to see your display, but it is fun and entertaining.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many other reviewers here, one of the satellites did not work out of the box. Bought another set hoping to get three working satellites out of six. No combination of satellites got me more than two working satellites. The speaker only "syncs" with the lights if it is immediately next to the base controller unit. I gave it two stars rather than one because I purchased it after X-mas for 1/2 price and my six year old son really wanted to have some sort of dancing lights like those he saw on youtube and TV. My son likes it, but it is basically a $50 toy and not a reliable lighting system. Definitely not worth the full price.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this product

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
With the radio communications between the controller and the satellite units, I was able to substantially reduce the number of extension cords I have to use. I also bought a second set of satellite receivers. My front door, garage door and large window are all synchronized and the effect is very good.
The only trouble I had setting it up is to be sure that the control unit has a direct line of sight to each of the satellites.
I have not tried the music option as I have no use for it.
My only criticism is that it would have been nice if:
1. there were a light sensor to turn on/off as the sun sets/rises
2. if it could remember the last program setting when powered off/on
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

never again

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
can not believe the poor quality in this product, the speaker wiring is of poor design, I had to go back to store 5 times to find one that would not short out,,i gave up,,i called the assistance phone number but their v/m is full-I wonder why,,,stay away from this product!!
Cons: Flimsy Quality
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Worst Investment Ever!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful piece of equipment, brought it home, did not work! Took it back and exchanged it for another, that did not work either. Took that one back and got my money back, went to another store and bought the bigger version, unfortunately it was the same brand and the speaker does not work! I will be taking it back for good this time. There is no number or web site to contact. DO NOT BUY!!!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from San Antonio, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

pure junk

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this unit read the poor instruction book and tried to hook it up. Found out the unit was DOA. It would not turn on. Taking it back for a refund.
Cons: doesn't work doa
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Easley, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth Taking Home

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took it home and decided to hook it up to lamps on kitchen counter before I ran all the lights outside. I was extremely glad I did. Nothing worked. Put music on SD card and placed it into the control unit and it immediately switched back to Bluetooth and did nothing. Did that several times.
Unlike the previous review, I stopped my trips back to the store at one. No more for me. Just go ahead and invest in a good one from a company that sells light controllers for a living. There are a couple online.
Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Lutcher, LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working for me.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading bad reviews, thought I had to submit this one. Everything worked for me. I tried it on indoor lamps first.. Only had 1 satellite with bad fuse in plug.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another dissatisfied user - any hints?

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm like others here who tried more than one unit, never got the thing to do more than play music and briefly light up a small strand of lights. I would be happy to have the basic functionality but even that does not appear to be possible. I noticed two other packages already opened and returned, I guess by dissatisfied customers.
For those of you who got this to work, what do you think made that happen?
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Arlington VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not waste time

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
System was easy to set up but only worked the first time. Went through trouble shooting steps described in the provided manual, also performed my own trouble shooting procedures. Seems the circuit board to the Base Controller failed. I packed up and returned for a refund.
Cons: Easily Damaged, Flimsy Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Spring Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't bother

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the biggest mistake I could have ever made...made in China garbage that only has lasted less than one week...bought the main unit and one of the remotes died...bought the additional 3 remote kit and all three have died. Sure hope I can get my money back on this garbage
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Flimsy Quality, poor quality, poor value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holiday lights to music

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
One unit was defective and exchanged it for another and it too was defective. Was only able to use 2 out of the 3 for my light show, as they had no more available.
Worked ok but not precisely in sync with music. Next year I will buy a higher end unit!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from oklahoma city
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cant figure it out

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
anybody that liked the product have any tips for installation? i installed 825 feet of commercial grade led lights on a house with plans to install this system. cant seem to be able to get more than one reciever to function.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Houston Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

trash

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really bad product... don't waste of time buying this...
Pros: none
Cons: Easily Damaged
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not working at all

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we connect the 3 extencions and don't work at all. the speaker work great.
Cons: Easily Damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor quality and customer service doesn't answer the phone says mailbox full

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is horrible. My wireless sensor was bad and the system flickers when it's off. The phone number giving for tech support rings and can't leave message because mailbox is full. Home Depot should not sell this piece of garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>