728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Create a professional looking, one-of-a-kind holiday light show with this Spectacular Light and Sound Show kit. Hook up your outdoor display, add your favorite music via Bluetooth from your computer or mobile device and watch the lights dance to the beat. Then change it up when you want as you control it all by a single remote control. The kit comes with 1 base controller, 1 remote control, 3 satellite receiver, 5 yard stakes and 1 speaker. The options are endless.
Overall rating:
2.2 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product17 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(27)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product17 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Review 1 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item for the money

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set right after thanksgiving. We downloaded 35 Christmas songs in MP# format as it stated. I put those in a mini sd card and in it went. Just to make sure it worked i plugged in 9 different sets of lights into each plus and turned it on. With the transmitter right next to the speaker as indicated in the directions and u tube videos i watched , they all worked perfectly. I currently have 35000 yes 35000 LED bulbs on this system. I have bought another expansion pack to try next year as id like my blow molds on it as well. I don't know what the issue is with some of these reviews but if the unit doesn't work swap it out. If it does in fact work and you cant figure out how to use it. Google this on u tube as i did to make sure i had it set up right. One day i will buy the light o Rama controller sets. Until then,this will do just fine.Nothing like seeing 20 cars out front of your house at a time watching your light show.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Southwest FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does What It Is Advertised To Do

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros: Easy to read instructions, all the steps worked. Very easy to set up. Very versatile. Multiple inputs for the music that YOU want to listen to, not something that is pre-programmed or just sounds sh!tty. And because of the tailored music, you could use this equipment for any holiday/celebration/party/whatever. Possibilities are not limited. Anything that makes noise can be picked up by the base controller, depending on volume and proximity. If you get close and talk to or at the base controller, you will get a lighted response. 16 different programmed functions possible, not including the musical response. We purchased three extra satellite controllers. The base controller and all six of the satellite controllers worked right out of the box while testing in the garage with single 100 count LED light strands, for a grand total of 900 lights in a standard garage. Equipment is rated at 420 watts max per satellite receiver and base controller (that's 140 watts per each of the three outlets on the base controller). Each 100 bulb strand I have is 20.5 feet long and rated at 7.2 watts. Theoretically, if I had the time and money, it would be possible to connect 58 strands per controller or receiver and be within the technical specifications with strands stretched 1,160 feet or almost four football fields in linear length. Please check my math but those numbers sound ridiculously more than what I need.
Cons: Made in China. No number or website to contact with problems or questions. The Q&A section in the instruction pamphlet is very limited in scope and range. Synchronization is just a tad bit off which is due to the way the base controller picks up the "beat" of the music. When the lights do come on, they pulse/flash/strobe even for the split second they are on. Coming on solid would not make me nauseous like the designed output currently does.
Locally, Home Depot was the only store we could find this product, or anything even similar. Lowe's and BJ's did not carry a programmed system at all.
Overall, it's above average but definitely not the kind you'd see on YouTube basically because you're not spending as much. But, it will probably either make your neighbors love you or hate you. So, good luck, have fun and (I can't believe I'm saying this so early) Merry Christmas!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional, lots of input/output possibilites
Cons: not perfectly synchronized
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy light display!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I converted my semi large display of Halloween lights to this system with an expansion pack. I just plugged in the base near where the speaker would be. Everything can be inline to existing lights, but the speaker needs constant power and cannot be attached to the base or receivers. No buttons to sync on the receivers either, they just worked! I had no problem going over 50 ft from the base to a receiver and using the handheld remote.
I was able to pair my android phone via Bluetooth and stream YouTube audio easily, but couldn't get the music sensor with speaker working. I had the base next to the speaker within 1 ft as the manual says.
Remote is quick to change all the lights and plenty of built-in functions for everyone to enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Pennsylvania

Does what it says and is affordable fun

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It worked the way I expected and I'm happy with it. It's an affordable way to have a fun light show without spending thousands. I gave it 4 stars because the speaker operates independently of the remote. More about that in a bit. . . I'd like to explain how this set works, because it's not obvious from the box or the instructions.
Anyway, there's a base and 3 satellites. You spread out the satellite boxes in your decor. The satellite boxes get plugged into cords/outlets and your lights/display items get plugged into the satellite boxes. The base sends different signals to each of the satellites. You can also plug lights or other items into the base. The base works with the remote, so you can set or change it from inside your house. You use the remote to operate the lighting options: turn your lights on or off, set one of 15 or 16 lighting options (fade, flash combinations), dim them, or turn on the sync with music option. The base sends different signals to the various satellites, so items plugged into the different satellites do things at different times.
The speaker is a separate box. It has buttons on top to control it - on/off, go ahead or go back a song, and volume. I gave this product 4 stars because I have to go outside to operate the speaker box - it is not controlled with the remote and that's inconvenient. Once the speaker box is turned on (and it has to be next to the base), you use the remote to turn on the sync-lights-to-music option, then your lights will flash based on the vibration or pitch of the speaker. I'm using an SD card (not micro size). The speaker will play all songs on the card and go automatically from one to the next (this wasn't clear from the manual - only once I actually tried it). You can choose your own music, whatever you want. I think it might shuffle them - I'm not actually sure if that can be controlled or not.
If you turn on the music option but there's no music coming out of the speaker, your lights will be dark. This was confusing to me at first, I thought that the music option on the remote would turn on the speaker as well. I figured out that the speaker does not operate with the remote and is totally separate. You can actually use any speaker to play the music, as long as it's near the base and you turn on the music option button on the remote. You could even just put a radio out next to the base (mine are all under the porch roof, so no weather concerns) and just have that operate with the music option of the base.
This set worked right out of the box. With the way things are made these days, I'm hoping that it lasts through this season, and maybe even works when I get it out next year.
This set will not make your light show look as amazing as the ones you see on YouTube or make people drive out of their way to see your display, but it is fun and entertaining.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light show for little money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
compact, relatively easy to use and spectacular end result.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Lots of Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

ok

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really cool product easy to put together and simple to use although it seems to have 6 separate channels it is really only 3 and two operate at the same time one on the main unit and one of the satellite units. The speaker has to be basically touching the main unit to get the music effect in the lights and its not a very good representation of the song it just flashes when there is vibration. Remote speaker is the best part just it connects through blue tooth and you can stream music to it right off your phone it doesn't need the rest if the system which is something you can use year round
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Lake Tahoe Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Learn how to use this and it works just fine

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Look folks, this is NOT what you see on the Budweiser commercials with a home playing music and 20,000 lights. This is a $100.00 unit that does what it promises. I hooked up 18 strings of 100 each standard (non LED) lights, and 10 other decorations. Works just fine. Does the music sensor feature move exactly to the beat? No. Does the sensor need to be practically touching the main unit and volume up high to really move to the beat? Yes. This is an entry level light show unit, all sensors work great, I have experienced 50+ feet distance from my iPod to the unit via Blue Tooth and it is waterproof. If you want a fun ENTRY level light show that will play YOUR music via blue tooth? This unit is just fine. If you want some grand display that will be seen from airliners up above? Get ready to spend hundreds or thousands more.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Easy to Install, Perfect Size
Cons: music sensor could be better
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light show with a ton of great features!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With over 16 functions, this light show has the ability for customization - most light shows in this price point don't offer nearly this many options. Also the ability to get additional satellites so that you don't have to run extension cords for miles is great! The only down - if you even consider it a down is that the machine is sensitive to sound so if you turned off the sound - no light show, if the sound is turned down or the music has a quiet section you get a lot less lights. You need lively music at medium volume to really get the bang for your buck. If you clap next to the machine it bounces the lights.. If you live on a really busy street it may interfere with the light show. The features are great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Richmond Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

worked just fine

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought on December 1st hooked it up and ran all season with no problems, music and light sync is off just slightly but not so much you really couldnt tell, you really have to pay attention to instructions the main base (the one with the three plugs) has to be within a foot of the front of the speaker box to get the three satellite bases to work if it is more than a foot away the three satellite boxes wont work. When installed correctly it works very nice. The family really enjoyed it.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor directions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product on 11/29/2014 connected it up on 11/30/2014 and only one satellite works. The speaker works very well and installs exactly as described in the instructions. The rest of the system, however, is completely worthless. There is only 2 to 3 functions through one satellite, the other 2 satellites never worked out of the box. I read the instructions completely prior to installation, then reread them thinking i missed something. After reading the instruction book 4 to 5 times I gave up. Good luck to who ever buys this product. The only reason for a 1 star rating is that there is no 0 star rating.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
spent 200 for the starter and 2 satellite sets only to find out it doesnt really work like it shows Qoute from pg 11 "Your lighted items will not follow the music beat exactly" It has good sound but I had higher expectations having watched the promo. Directions have to be followed VERY carefully otherwise this will not work. Had purchased a less expensive product at walmart e few years back much better than this
Pros: good sound
Cons: Difficult to Install, lights not synchronized
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Buyer Beware! Terrible product

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this setup, along with 3 boxes of the Ecosmart C9 LED super bright lights. After getting all my lights & decorations up, & hooked up to this silly thing, only 1 strand would light up fully, & the speaker would keep switching to bluetooth, instead of the SD card mode. Returned for two new sets of lights, & another sound show.... Checked them in store, worked fine, get home get them back up, & same thing... Half of the lights quit working..(both times, it was the red & purple lights.) and they never were in sync this time around. Also the speaker again switched to bluetooth relentlessly....Back to store again.. This time, I took the base controller & plugged it in, then opened two new boxes of lights, & plugged those into base... Immediately the lights began to flicker. Plugged them in without the base, magically they worked like a charm! I see several reviews w/5 stars & I'm wondering how this could be.. This product is junk, & I would never let anyone I know waste $$ or time on this squirrelly contraption. It deserves a zero star rating.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The speaker is way to quite, 2 of the six plugs did not work right out of the box, does not sync the lights based on any kind of tempo...
Cons: Difficult to Install, Flimsy Quality, quite
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Forest VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SpectCular light and sound show

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the instruction. Luckily I tested in the house instead of hanging the lights first. This product worked for about 10 minutes and quite working. Follow instructions for trouble shooting still didn't work. Was able to return to the store.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Katy, TX

Can't get it to work!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got home and tried to setup the product without an installation manual. I'm unsure why there was no manual in the box! There is no manual online to help. Terrible!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from queen creek arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light show

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions were too complicated to install. Was unable to use it this year. If we knew how to connect everything it would probably be a good item. right now, we would not recommend it, especially if you are not handy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Walla Walla, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Product! Don't waste your time ...

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one Light & Sound Show, set it up and it worked for about 2 days. Then one of the satellite receivers quit working. Took it back and exchanged for another set. One of those satellites did not work either. Took it back and exchanged for a third set, this time the base controller did not work. I gave up and returned the third one!!! Don't bother hoping you will actually find one that works.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Woodland, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

motion music set up

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have purchased 3 of these. Last year the two we had did not work and was told they were defective. This year we paid someone to put the music on a mini card and the speaker worked but non of the extensions worked. Too much money to keep with 1/2 not working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from West Palm Beach, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two of the three extensions quit working after 2 days rendering the product unusable.
Cons: Easily Damaged, Flimsy Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from San Leandro, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a shame...

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The value was great for what it can potentially do but as the saying goes.. you get what you pay for! It only lasted for a week then the whole system shut down and would not work. I should have believed the reviews after reading them. But i wanted to give this product a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>