728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Christmas Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Create a professional looking, one-of-a-kind holiday light show with this Spectacular Light and Sound Show kit. Hook up your outdoor display, add your favorite music via Bluetooth from your computer or mobile device and watch the lights dance to the beat. Then change it up when you want as you control it all by a single remote control. The kit comes with 1 base controller, 1 remote control, 3 satellite receiver, 5 yard stakes and 1 speaker. The options are endless.
Overall rating:
2.268 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product15 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product15 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Review 1 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Southwest FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does What It Is Advertised To Do

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: Easy to read instructions, all the steps worked. Very easy to set up. Very versatile. Multiple inputs for the music that YOU want to listen to, not something that is pre-programmed or just sounds sh!tty. And because of the tailored music, you could use this equipment for any holiday/celebration/party/whatever. Possibilities are not limited. Anything that makes noise can be picked up by the base controller, depending on volume and proximity. If you get close and talk to or at the base controller, you will get a lighted response. 16 different programmed functions possible, not including the musical response. We purchased three extra satellite controllers. The base controller and all six of the satellite controllers worked right out of the box while testing in the garage with single 100 count LED light strands, for a grand total of 900 lights in a standard garage. Equipment is rated at 420 watts max per satellite receiver and base controller (that's 140 watts per each of the three outlets on the base controller). Each 100 bulb strand I have is 20.5 feet long and rated at 7.2 watts. Theoretically, if I had the time and money, it would be possible to connect 58 strands per controller or receiver and be within the technical specifications with strands stretched 1,160 feet or almost four football fields in linear length. Please check my math but those numbers sound ridiculously more than what I need.
Cons: Made in China. No number or website to contact with problems or questions. The Q&A section in the instruction pamphlet is very limited in scope and range. Synchronization is just a tad bit off which is due to the way the base controller picks up the "beat" of the music. When the lights do come on, they pulse/flash/strobe even for the split second they are on. Coming on solid would not make me nauseous like the designed output currently does.
Locally, Home Depot was the only store we could find this product, or anything even similar. Lowe's and BJ's did not carry a programmed system at all.
Overall, it's above average but definitely not the kind you'd see on YouTube basically because you're not spending as much. But, it will probably either make your neighbors love you or hate you. So, good luck, have fun and (I can't believe I'm saying this so early) Merry Christmas!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional, lots of input/output possibilites
Cons: not perfectly synchronized
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light show for little money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
compact, relatively easy to use and spectacular end result.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product on 11/29/2014 connected it up on 11/30/2014 and only one satellite works. The speaker works very well and installs exactly as described in the instructions. The rest of the system, however, is completely worthless. There is only 2 to 3 functions through one satellite, the other 2 satellites never worked out of the box. I read the instructions completely prior to installation, then reread them thinking i missed something. After reading the instruction book 4 to 5 times I gave up. Good luck to who ever buys this product. The only reason for a 1 star rating is that there is no 0 star rating.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
spent 200 for the starter and 2 satellite sets only to find out it doesnt really work like it shows Qoute from pg 11 "Your lighted items will not follow the music beat exactly" It has good sound but I had higher expectations having watched the promo. Directions have to be followed VERY carefully otherwise this will not work. Had purchased a less expensive product at walmart e few years back much better than this
Pros: good sound
Cons: Difficult to Install, lights not synchronized
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Buyer Beware! Terrible product

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this setup, along with 3 boxes of the Ecosmart C9 LED super bright lights. After getting all my lights & decorations up, & hooked up to this silly thing, only 1 strand would light up fully, & the speaker would keep switching to bluetooth, instead of the SD card mode. Returned for two new sets of lights, & another sound show.... Checked them in store, worked fine, get home get them back up, & same thing... Half of the lights quit working..(both times, it was the red & purple lights.) and they never were in sync this time around. Also the speaker again switched to bluetooth relentlessly....Back to store again.. This time, I took the base controller & plugged it in, then opened two new boxes of lights, & plugged those into base... Immediately the lights began to flicker. Plugged them in without the base, magically they worked like a charm! I see several reviews w/5 stars & I'm wondering how this could be.. This product is junk, & I would never let anyone I know waste $$ or time on this squirrelly contraption. It deserves a zero star rating.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Katy, TX

Can't get it to work!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got home and tried to setup the product without an installation manual. I'm unsure why there was no manual in the box! There is no manual online to help. Terrible!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Walla Walla, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Product! Don't waste your time ...

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one Light & Sound Show, set it up and it worked for about 2 days. Then one of the satellite receivers quit working. Took it back and exchanged for another set. One of those satellites did not work either. Took it back and exchanged for a third set, this time the base controller did not work. I gave up and returned the third one!!! Don't bother hoping you will actually find one that works.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy light display!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I converted my semi large display of Halloween lights to this system with an expansion pack. I just plugged in the base near where the speaker would be. Everything can be inline to existing lights, but the speaker needs constant power and cannot be attached to the base or receivers. No buttons to sync on the receivers either, they just worked! I had no problem going over 50 ft from the base to a receiver and using the handheld remote.
I was able to pair my android phone via Bluetooth and stream YouTube audio easily, but couldn't get the music sensor with speaker working. I had the base next to the speaker within 1 ft as the manual says.
Remote is quick to change all the lights and plenty of built-in functions for everyone to enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of fun

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had it set up for 11 days and the base controller stopped working. Called the warranty phone line, all I got was a recording and the mailbox was full. Called Home Depot customer support and they helped me right away. A new one is on the way so we will see. We were very happy with how it worked when it was working and was very easy to set up.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Not Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Thank god I bought last year after Christmas for $30 because this really is junk. Let's see brand new never used won't read an SD card. I love Christmas and can't do 1/3 of my lights without blowing fuses. Really is junk junk junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from O'Fallon, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It comes with SD slot for music, I don't have to sync with bluetooth devices to kick on the music. Only lights connect with base controller sync with music, the other receivers some time do some time don't. It doesn't worth money if only base controller is working.
Cons: inconsistency
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Herndon VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT WORTH IT!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The video that is shown does not equal what the product produces. The system comes with preset patters and when all is hooked up they all do the same thing. There is not independent control to make specific strings of light due unique things.
Pros: Sturdy, the blue tooth link is cool from ipad.
Cons: does not due what the video shows, no independent control, no support
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

Only used it once

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The speaker is already broken on it. Although, it looks like you can hook any speaker up to it. I'm disappointed I paid this much and it's broken already. Thinking about returning it. It was very fun the first time we played it though!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Pennsylvania

Does what it says and is affordable fun

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked the way I expected and I'm happy with it. It's an affordable way to have a fun light show without spending thousands. I gave it 4 stars because the speaker operates independently of the remote. More about that in a bit. . . I'd like to explain how this set works, because it's not obvious from the box or the instructions.
Anyway, there's a base and 3 satellites. You spread out the satellite boxes in your decor. The satellite boxes get plugged into cords/outlets and your lights/display items get plugged into the satellite boxes. The base sends different signals to each of the satellites. You can also plug lights or other items into the base. The base works with the remote, so you can set or change it from inside your house. You use the remote to operate the lighting options: turn your lights on or off, set one of 15 or 16 lighting options (fade, flash combinations), dim them, or turn on the sync with music option. The base sends different signals to the various satellites, so items plugged into the different satellites do things at different times.
The speaker is a separate box. It has buttons on top to control it - on/off, go ahead or go back a song, and volume. I gave this product 4 stars because I have to go outside to operate the speaker box - it is not controlled with the remote and that's inconvenient. Once the speaker box is turned on (and it has to be next to the base), you use the remote to turn on the sync-lights-to-music option, then your lights will flash based on the vibration or pitch of the speaker. I'm using an SD card (not micro size). The speaker will play all songs on the card and go automatically from one to the next (this wasn't clear from the manual - only once I actually tried it). You can choose your own music, whatever you want. I think it might shuffle them - I'm not actually sure if that can be controlled or not.
If you turn on the music option but there's no music coming out of the speaker, your lights will be dark. This was confusing to me at first, I thought that the music option on the remote would turn on the speaker as well. I figured out that the speaker does not operate with the remote and is totally separate. You can actually use any speaker to play the music, as long as it's near the base and you turn on the music option button on the remote. You could even just put a radio out next to the base (mine are all under the porch roof, so no weather concerns) and just have that operate with the music option of the base.
This set worked right out of the box. With the way things are made these days, I'm hoping that it lasts through this season, and maybe even works when I get it out next year.
This set will not make your light show look as amazing as the ones you see on YouTube or make people drive out of their way to see your display, but it is fun and entertaining.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

4 those who give it a good rating.

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I was a youth, I've always wanted to sync my lights to music. Right now it's hard to get the real stuff so I though this will be a starting point. I plugged it in and got it going, the base unit works great! But all three "satellites" do not work at all. I don't want to give up on it, but it may be defective. :/ Any thoughts????
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show

ok

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really cool product easy to put together and simple to use although it seems to have 6 separate channels it is really only 3 and two operate at the same time one on the main unit and one of the satellite units. The speaker has to be basically touching the main unit to get the music effect in the lights and its not a very good representation of the song it just flashes when there is vibration. Remote speaker is the best part just it connects through blue tooth and you can stream music to it right off your phone it doesn't need the rest if the system which is something you can use year round
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light show with a ton of great features!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With over 16 functions, this light show has the ability for customization - most light shows in this price point don't offer nearly this many options. Also the ability to get additional satellites so that you don't have to run extension cords for miles is great! The only down - if you even consider it a down is that the machine is sensitive to sound so if you turned off the sound - no light show, if the sound is turned down or the music has a quiet section you get a lot less lights. You need lively music at medium volume to really get the bang for your buck. If you clap next to the machine it bounces the lights.. If you live on a really busy street it may interfere with the light show. The features are great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Lake Tahoe Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Learn how to use this and it works just fine

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Look folks, this is NOT what you see on the Budweiser commercials with a home playing music and 20,000 lights. This is a $100.00 unit that does what it promises. I hooked up 18 strings of 100 each standard (non LED) lights, and 10 other decorations. Works just fine. Does the music sensor feature move exactly to the beat? No. Does the sensor need to be practically touching the main unit and volume up high to really move to the beat? Yes. This is an entry level light show unit, all sensors work great, I have experienced 50+ feet distance from my iPod to the unit via Blue Tooth and it is waterproof. If you want a fun ENTRY level light show that will play YOUR music via blue tooth? This unit is just fine. If you want some grand display that will be seen from airliners up above? Get ready to spend hundreds or thousands more.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Easy to Install, Perfect Size
Cons: music sensor could be better
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this product

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
With the radio communications between the controller and the satellite units, I was able to substantially reduce the number of extension cords I have to use. I also bought a second set of satellite receivers. My front door, garage door and large window are all synchronized and the effect is very good.
The only trouble I had setting it up is to be sure that the control unit has a direct line of sight to each of the satellites.
I have not tried the music option as I have no use for it.
My only criticism is that it would have been nice if:
1. there were a light sensor to turn on/off as the sun sets/rises
2. if it could remember the last program setting when powered off/on
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spectacular Light and Sound Show
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many other reviewers here, one of the satellites did not work out of the box. Bought another set hoping to get three working satellites out of six. No combination of satellites got me more than two working satellites. The speaker only "syncs" with the lights if it is immediately next to the base controller unit. I gave it two stars rather than one because I purchased it after X-mas for 1/2 price and my six year old son really wanted to have some sort of dancing lights like those he saw on youtube and TV. My son likes it, but it is basically a $50 toy and not a reliable lighting system. Definitely not worth the full price.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>