728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED

18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED

The Poulan Pro PP4218A is powered by a 42 cc 2-cycle gas engine and is outfitted with an 18 in. steel bar. The PP4218A model includes an Anti-Vibe handle and over molded rear handle to lessen operator fatigue, automatic chain oiler, Effortless Start System, plus the Super clean air filtration system. This saw is backed with a 2-year limited warranty. This chainsaw is excellent for homeowners plus general landowner property managers. The PP4218A includes a mail in offer for free carrying case.
Overall rating:
3.813 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(434 reviews) 434
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product319 of 417reviews
Rating Breakdown 434 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(205)
4
(114)
3
(19)
2
(21)
1
(75)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product319 of 417reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what happened to quality?

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used my old poulan pro 18" for six years, before the fuel tank developed a crack. I bought this model a month ago as a replacement. It lasted a total of six hours of use, before the primer bulb stopped working and it wouldn't crank. Swapped it out for a new one. Used it for about an hour. Went to use it a week later........ Nothing, it wouldn't run. Swapped out again yesterday. Used this morning to cut down some shrubs. A little over an hour of run time and, you guessed it, it quit. I can get it to crank, but it will not stay running. I am taking this one back for good. I tried calling poulan customer support, but you only get the option of looking up a service center or the parts website. I am through with poulan. Going to get a stihl after home depot!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Northern, Vt.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw for the money

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After punishing my first poulan pro 18' for years I finally had to buy a new one. I live in the north and cut most of my own firewood. After adding oil and gas off I went and cut a cord and a half of firewood. I'm talking maple, birch, and butternut, all hardwood, and this saw went through all of them with no problems. This was also done with using just one chain. The only dumb thing that poulan did with this product is to make you wait 6-8 weeks to get a plastic case by mail after you register it with poulan. [ I'm still waiting for mine }. All in all I know there better chainsaws out there, but for the money this ones hard to beat.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Winter Park, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than other reviews suggest

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not have any problem with the chain falling off because I read and followed the instructions. The chain loosens quickly when new, so you should check the tension frequently early on -- as the manual says. Read and follow the manual, people! A chainsaw is not a toy. Loose chains are dangerous. The no-tool chain tension adjustment is very nice. It's easy to adjust the chain tension in the field, even with the saw idling. You can hang onto the saw with one hand and adjust the tension with the other.
People who have problems with the engine after a year or two probably also haven't followed the instructions. The spark plug and the air and fuel filters need to be cleaned or replaced in this time frame.
It cuts through a fresh 10" oak branch at an inch a second or so with a sharp chain. A professional might need to work faster, but it's plenty of power for residential use. I've used it for 5 work days now.
The saw starts easily cold and warm with a proper fuel mix and proper use of its choke and priming bulb. You can see the fuel appear in the clear priming blub. Be sure to shake up the fuel/oil mix in the chainsaw before starting it after it has been sitting for even just an hour, and shake up the fuel/oil mix in your can before filling the saw. The oil and gas can separate pretty quickly. Then the saw won't start or will stall. The manual doesn't warn about this. This may be a new problem for 2-stroke engines caused by all the alcohol in gas these days.
The included spare chain is a nice bonus, but my saw didn't include the small bottle of 2-stroke oil it was supposed to. No big deal. Remember to buy 2-stroke oil and chain oil for your saw, and a one gallon gas can for the fuel/oil mix is convenient.
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from West Yarmouth, Yarmouth, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love our Poulan Pro!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're saving money by heating with wood in our coal chubby. The Poulan Pro PP4218A is surely serving its purpose!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

100% satisfied

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have had poulan saws in the past(wild thing) i have never had a problem with any of them. i like this one very much and love the chain tension system, i just hope i still get my free case otherwise very happy with it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut

worked very well

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked this up because I had a sugar maple taken down professionally and I needed to cut up the wood they left. Had never used a chainsaw previous to this. Came highly recommneded from HD staff. Brought it home, fueled/oiled it up and it ran like a champ for 5 hours straight. Chain is still in good condition too. The handle absorbed all the vibrations, couldn't tell you were even cutting through wood. Very impressed with the product! Now I will have to find more projects around the house to use this saw.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Northern, Vt,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Case Received

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second reveiw of this product. Just wanted people to know that after registering my saw online that I did get the hard plastic case through fedex. I bought the saw on 9/7/12 and got the case on 11/20/12.so it takes some time but you will get the case.Remember to register the saw online.
Pros: Sturdy
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut

good saw for light or medium work

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this saw to replace a Poulan Wildthing 18" saw that gave up the ghost. I needed it fo clear my yard after hurricane Irene...I just finished using it and I must say I am pleasantly surprised...excellent cutting and starting. I would not use this saw for commercial work, but for the money this little gem can't be beat. Remember, most high end quality 18" saws will run you $350-$500. With this saw you get what you pay for and it is worth the investement if light or medium work is what you need...
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm Happy

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first chain saw and given my experience with small 2 cycle engines, I expected it to be finicky. But I've been pleasantly surprised. I bought it new in 2011 and used it in the fall. It sat outside in my shed over the winter until this April when I had a tree come down on my neighbor's car. It cranked up easily and did a good job of reducing the tree to manageable sizes. The tree was about 18" at the base. My only complaint is the blades dull pretty quickly. Otherwise, I say it's a good saw for general household use.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great saw.

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw starts up easy every time. Runs strong and cuts like butter. Tool free chain tensioner is great, always remember to check chain and make sure it is properly adjusted. Have only had saw for about 24 hr's but have already fell a couple 10+ inch trees. saw also came with extra chain which will come in very handy. Great product for a great price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Allen, TX, USA

Outperformed other chainsaws - easy to use

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took this chainsaw out to a service project. There were several other people with chainsaws clearing dead trees and bushes etc. This one kept up a good pace quite nicely although for the 18 inch bar, it could have used a little more horsepower. The hand-tightening dial on the chain was brilliant. There are two things you have to worry about with chainsaws, keeping the chain on the bar and keeping it moving. This means using the right oil (VERY important!) and using proper cutting technique. Most of the time, your chain will come off the bar several times during a job despite all you can do. Being able to re-seat it without using tools was a huge time-saver.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacing after 4.5 years

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked this up at a good sale about 4.5 years ago in time for hurricane season (and Hurricane Ike). I've used it for selective clearing and maintenance on an acreage since then. It does its job, as long as the chain is sharp and the wood is nice. Springy wood, like yaupon or vines, can easily bind even a sharp blade and rip it right off the bar, but that could be a universal problem and at least it is easy to put back on with the convenient toolless tensioner
The problems:
The tensioner does not maintain tension well, I had to re-tension every 20 minutes during heavy cutting.
The gas cap is a serious pain. It is a different material to the body, and expands more than the hole when it gets hot (when running and during summer months) and needs a wrench or screwdriver handle jammed into it to get it screwed on and off.
The chain oiler is poorly designed. It has a long tube sticking into the oil reservoir, so if the saw is being used upright it will oil the chain, but not during horizontal cuts unless the reservoir is full to the very top.. The tube has to be cleaned out periodically, it is easily plugged up. After a couple of years, it stopped working reliably at all, sometimes it drinks oil, and sometimes I have to stop to oil the chain manually. There is no pattern that I have identified.
It has problems starting, moreso when warm. The choke will not always lock on, and I almost always have to start it with the throttle fully engaged, and leave it running at full throttle for a couple of minutes to prevent it from stalling out. Sometimes it wants to stall out even once it gets warm, and I have to keep a little throttle on all the time. Then it might choose to sit and idle nicely indefinitely. If it stalls, it can be a serious pain to restart, or it might just start right back up again. Not at all predictable.
The fuel line disintegrated and the fuel filter dropped off this fall. The priming bulb is feeling hard and is only a matter of time before it splits. I don't mind cheap components like that, but it should be anticipated that they will fail and a good design will have them easily accessible for replacing. This is not such a design.
it also needs a new sprocket, the bar is getting worn, and with the other problems associated with an aging 2-stroke engine, I am now looking for a replacement.
It has been an ok tool for occasional use for 4.5 years. More reliable than my previous saw, but that was 20+ years old. I had hoped it would last longer, and I kinda wish I had got something better. But the price was right. You get what you pay for.
Recommend for occasional use, such as clearing up after a hurricane, recognizing that it is a disposable tool with a limited life. It is not a saw that you will pass on to the grandkids.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, significant design flaws poorly conceived
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Randolph, NJ

Cut great

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used the saw right out of the box and it cut like a champ.
Took down two 60 foot oak trees with it and had no problem for the first couple of hours. Then ran into problems. My guess is it was bad gas. Used someone else's mixture and it killed the chainsaw.
My advice...but the premixed gas/oil. A great saw, but very tempermental if the gas is not mixed perfectly...and fresh,
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Cape Cod Massachusetts

Poulan Pro 18* Chainsaw

PostedApril 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was considering spending over $600 on a commercial saw. I bought this one with 4 chains. I cut 36 twelve inch oak trees over a period of 3 days. No problem. This little saw is awesome. I saved a bundle and made $1,800 on the job. Thanks Home Depot. You rock!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from College Park, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to start

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The first time I used this saw,it was hard to start.Once I got it started,it would not idle.The next time I used it ,it was cold out about 40.Started right up and idled.The third time it started ok,but once the saw warmed up it would not idle and got harder to start.I wanted to use it today to cut a tree that came down in a rain storm.The temp out was about 80.It would not start!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, hard to start
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Indianapolis Indiana

I Like It

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A similar chainsaw was stolen out of my garage this past winter, and I replaced it with this one. It has several improved features over the one I purchased 6 or 7 years ago. It is perfectly suited for every day around the yard tree trimming. Not sure how it will fare on cutting down the dead 20 foot Blue Spruce in my back yard though I am going to give it a try.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Warwick RI

Over all good saw for the $$

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked up this saw to clean up a tree that fell during Irene, This saw made quick work of the small and large pieces. The only downfall is the clutch handle is plastic.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Suwanee, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well balanced easy to use

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The PoulanPro 1842 is not for the profesional lumberjack. It would be too light to stand up to that kind of use. On the otherhand the lightness is an asset for the middle age outdoors man. Out of the box it started with two puuls. I ran it for about 3 hours with only intend stops. I climded a latter and started it at the top of the later toped a tree with little effort.The size, power, and weight are a good match.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

does not start

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this chain saw this morning, tried for about 2 hours. It would not start for nothing,i primed choked, and checked everything out did not start. Took it back to store and they could not get started, do not buy this product because everything is plastic. I would go more into this product but what is the point sence i could not get started.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 42 cc Gas Chainsaw-DISCONTINUED
from Setauket- East Setauket, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blows away Echo

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $159 - You can't lose. Cuts through trees like butter. Tightening the chain is simple. Starts right up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>