728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.711 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product150 of 198reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(49)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(40)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product150 of 198reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

easy to use, clean, and it's quiet!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best Wagner spray gun I've used since they started making them. It's a great improvement over their old models.
The first thing I have to mention is how quiet it is compared to their old guns. I didn't needed to wear ear plugs to do a paint job, and that alone makes me want to use this more.
Wagner's been making spray guns for a long time and they have it down well. The Flexio 590 is light enough that you don't get tired if you have a larger job to do. It comes with two paint canisters, one for small jobs, and one for larger jobs, though I wish it had an even larger paint canister, which would add to the weight, but would allow you to spray longer.
I used this to spray some kitchen cabinet doors for my brother in-law and, after a few practice sprays to get the feel for it, it worked like a charm. The gun gave a great finish and we were set up and finished so much faster than we could have been with brush and roller, and I didn't need to lug a compressor around with me.
There's not much overspray, but you still need to tape up the corners and use plastic for anything near what you're spraying.
The kit comes with two canisters, each with their own nozzle, one for larger areas and a smaller one for detail work. The nozzles are adjustable for a wide or tight spray pattern depending on what you're spraying. Be careful how close you hold the gun to your target, as if you're too close the paint will not look right, and if you're too far away you won't get the right coverage and will have to go over it again.
What I like most about the Flexio 590 over other Wagners I've used, and what will likely make me willing to use this more is that this gun is easy to clean and reassemble. Cleaning is the most important part for a spray gun because if you don't do a good job it'll gunk up and won't work well or at all. Cleaning this gun is a piece of cake.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
53out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Califronia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sprayer

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to repaint exterior of house with wood siding and trim. After reading fairly simple instruction used Behr premium latex primer/paint without thinning with great success. Makes fast work of large areas. Instead of taping again went with roller for trim but pre-painted trim on initial sprayer run so less 'missed' spots on trim paintwork. Cleaning easy as well - DID have problem on 2nd day of painting as no paint sprayed out. Thought I didn't clean well or reassemble correctly and spent hours trying to fix. Turns out there is a tiny hole on the suction tube that goes to the paint canister that must be well cleaned or it prevents spray. Didn't really catch it on initial cleaning so latex paint clogged hole. Once found and cleaned everything back to total spraying awesomeness. So easy and light had the kids help on some sections!
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+63points
63out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top Notch Paint Sprayer

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint sprayer is amazing. My old sprayer was an airless model that spit globs of paint all over my projects. This one is night and day better.
The kit comes with two interchangeable nozzles and the turbine component all in a hard case. An additional spray tip is included, as well as two extra seal/gaskets, a cleaning brush, and a paint dilution gauge/stirrer tool. There's also a big fold-out test sheet with spray instructions on it for getting used to how to use the sprayer.
The sprayer has a ton of adjustable options. There's an adjustable trigger limit that allows the user to set the desired stop. The air flow rate has 10 different settings, and the nozzle rotation controls the spray pattern.
The first project I used it for was painting a wooden crate with a latex paint+primer finish. I used the iSpray nozzle, which allowed me to use the sprayer without diluting the paint at all. Both nozzles have an angled suction tube so that the sprayer can be tilted and still pick up all of the paint in the container.
The spray pattern can be adjusted to a horizontal or vertical fan, as well as a round spray pattern. You can spin up the turbine by slightly depressing the trigger initially, which eliminates any splatter from the sprayer. Once it's spun up, depressing the trigger further will start the paint flowing. The sprayer is very well balanced and not tiring to use at all. I didn't have to touch up any drips afterwards either. The sprayer left a super smooth finish with even coverage. I couldn't be happier with the results!
The sprayer is also fairly quiet - it sounds like a hair dryer. Much better than my old sprayer, which I had to wear hearing protection while I was using.
Cleanup:
- The larger iSpray container fits perfectly on top of a gallon paint can so it can be emptied back into a gallon paint container by flipping it upside down and just leaving it there to drain.
- The sprayer cleanup is as easy as any other paint sprayer I've used before. Fill up the paint container halfway with water and spray until it's clear. Then disassemble the nozzle and clean with the included brush.
- I really like how the nozzle assembly separates from the sprayer so I don't have to worry about getting the turbine component wet while I'm cleaning the rest of it.
- The nozzle assembly comes apart fairly easily, and the smallest piece is 3/4" diameter seal, so there aren't a ton of tiny pieces to loose.
The only downsides I could think of:
- The small seal component is a translucent plastic piece that blends right in with a white water/paint mixture. During cleaning, I accidentally dumped it out with the waste water into the grass and had to spend 10 minutes looking for it. If the seal was manufactured in a bright color, it would have been much easier to find.
- The case it comes in is a little cheap feeling, and the plastic snaps are already showing stress marks after opening and closing the case a few times. The interior contour piece is such thin plastic that it arrived broken.
Despite a few minor complaints, this is by far the best paint sprayer I've ever used.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use, ergonomic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!! I highly recommend.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few days but it's been long enough to get to know the product pretty well. I used it to repaint some nursery furniture and it came out beautifully. The paint went on evenly and coated it well. I painted a glider chair in about 5 minutes. With a brush it would have taken me an hour +, and it would have been a lot messier (and ugly).
The only things to be aware of are that it can get a little heavy after awhile and you need to allow a good 20-30 minutes for cleanup. CLEANUP IS ESSENTIAL! They provide great directions on how to properly clean the machine and it's worth following them. If it get's clogged you'll get frustrated. Ultimately it's easy to clean but it is time consuming.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Grand Prairie, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best purchase for beginners!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently bought a house and painting quotes were outrageous so my sister and i decided to buy the Flexio Paint Sprayer and give it a try. Best decision ever! In one day, we were able to paint three bedrooms and the finish was excellent. for us this was a huge accomplishment given that it was our very first time painting a bedroom. The spray painter made it so easy that we are already planning our next few projects... Highly recommended for those with little time and reasonable sized rooms.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great time saver with professional results

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gun upgraded my previously owned Wagner 570 and I am more than happy with 590’s performance and capabilities. It requires no spray painting skills what so ever and any DIYer can produce professional results using this gun with the help of tips provided in included manual. Kit ships with 2 nozzles which I find very handy while painting multiple colors or working in tight coverage area. With iSpray nozzle, I had been able to cover large areas with minimal effort / time and with detailed finish nozzle my prep time was shortened since it worked great in tight areas.
My wife and I built a hard board castle for our 4 year old and we used this gun along with paint ready station to paint it all. Once prep work was done, it took us about half hour to complete the task that could have taken half a day with brushes and rollers. The outcome appeared professional. The gun allowed me to control the speed, pattern and amount of paint it sprayed out which makes it a true jack of all trades.
Even though this gun can handle any size task but I recommend using it when a task without this gun will take more than an hour since the afterwards cleaning will take about good 20+ minutes. Even though you can just soak the nozzles in soapy water for cleanup but I scrub every part with a small brush to ensure that it’s absolutely clean and ready for my next task. iSpray and Detail nozzle dis-assembles in 19 parts so I would strongly recommend taking pictures as you dis-assemble. It helped me a lot when I assembled the nozzles again. Included 2 cleaning tools are very handy and have greatly helped me in cleaning the gun.
I strongly recommend wearing a good quality face mask and if you are painting outdoors then pick a day when there is no wind at all.
Given the time and energy I saved and professional results I produced using this gun, it has already paid itself off. Go buy it, you will like it,
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
35out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Hampton, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After 18 Months...

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After a year and a half of use, I can still recommend this sprayer, and upgraded my previous rating from Four Stars to Five. This thing has become my go-to sprayer, over the big commercial unit that I also have. It does not do thick paint very well, but I have done it, using a rather thick latex to spray my trailer deck with BEHR Premium DeckOver Silver Gray Wood and Concrete Paint (see picture). I thinned out the paint as much as I dared, and it worked okay, but not ideal. The best use, for me, has been stain. The stain went on smoothly and made quick work of staining over a hundred tongue-and-groove boards that were installed on a patio ceiling (see picture). Don't use this to spray overhead; it doesn't work well that way. I follow the directions to a T and have not had any problems. Proper cleanup is essential! Take the time to clean this (it's not that big a deal) and it will last. I gave this Five Stars overall, Four Stars for Quality only because it isn't aluminum (so?), and Four Stars for value for no apparent reason. It may very well rate a Five Star for value.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A complete package for all paint jobs

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a three level town home that I had to repaint before I list it back for rent. We were 3 guys including me. It took us half a day just to prep the house but once prepping was done, this gun had us rolling through the rooms. Since the house was empty, we did not have to move any furniture. Using Flexio 590 with iSpray nozzle attached, a task that seemed daunting at the start became a fun group activity. We had the rollers and brushes around but we only used them in areas where we did not want to consume time prepping. We had the whole house painted in one long day. The paint looked like done by professionals. I am absolutely delighted being owner of this paint kit. It certainly saved me a good amount of labor cost. Use it with face mask and safety glasses or you will breathe paint particles.
This gun comes in a nice storage case with two containers i.e. iSpray and Detail Finish. Having a full control over the amount of paint it sprays, the pattern you want and the variable power control makes this kit a complete package for any size paint project. Do not cut corners during gun/nozzle cleanup which takes about 20-30 minutes. This kit does not need a recommendation. Just buy it, try it and you will love it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
64out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+110points
132out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with its performance

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Flexio 590 Wagner Spray gun is a must have for home improvements, even for a novice. It comes in a convenient storage case with a well-written manual which is a quick read and easy to understand. Rollers and brushes are synonymous with backbreaking work but this gun made painting an enjoyable task. With no assembly required, you have the option to use a large iSpray Nozzle or the smaller Detail Finish Nozzle which attaches to the gun like plug-n-play. You can adjust the spray width lever which determines the pattern of spray and can control the amount of material sprayed. It also has X-Boost power dial ranging “0-9” which gives you control over the air power.
I used the detail finish nozzle to stain my deck and followed up with a brush to work the stain into the grain especially where there were deeper grooves. This allowed me to apply the stain equally with ease. The unit was not too heavy on the wrist either and this project took about 3 hours. I also stained the mailbox post in less than a minute. Irrespective of the job size, this gun delivers. Make sure to wear a face mask and safety glasses because there are some fine particles which permeate the air. Also, tape and drape off the area not to be painted. More time is spent in prepping the area so there are crisp clear lines and no spatter. Once the prep is complete, staining/painting is a piece of cake. I felt like a professional and accomplished so much without lifting a roller. The gun coated the wood beautifully with a smooth and even spray with no drips, drops or clumps.
Cleanup was easy and not messy like washing trays, rollers or brushes. The iSpray Nozzle has 10 parts and Detail Finish Nozzle has 9 parts that require cleaning with negligible time to disassemble and reassemble. Just soak the parts in detergent and scrub away and the unit is ready to tackle a new project. Thoroughly clean the unit before storage to ensure a clean even spray each time. I am very happy with its performance and highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+63points
75out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Chicago IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint Sprayer

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to paint the porch from outside and wanted to paint the fence but it would have taken me all day to do this, so I went to home depot and asked about a paint gun, this was very inexpensive and to my surprise it worked fine, i was able to paint the whole back porch, the fence, and part of the garage,
awesome. I've seen other comments about it is hard to clean,, it is not hard, it just takes some time, but for the time i saved on not painting by hand, i don't mind taking a bit of time to clean it.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let me start this review off by saying that i have never used a paint sprayer before. All of my experience lay with brushes & rollers. I recently built a gate for the driveway, and recall that it took me a good 2 hours with a brush to prime the whole thing. As a matter of fact, it took so long, that i didn't have the motivation to ever put a top coat on it! With this Wagner Flexio paint sprayer, i was hoping to save valuable time and energy, and for the most part that's exactly what i did.
SETUP
There's really nothing to the setup. You pour in the paint, change the settings, and you're good to go. The instruction manual explained the features and settings thoroughly, but they're pretty simple to figure out.
USE
The paint sprayer was quite easy to use. Pull the trigger half-way to start the motor, and then all the way to paint. Then you either move side to side, or up and down, depending how you plan on painting. Basically, you're holding an over-sized hairdryer, albeit much, much heavier. With a full load of paint, this thing weighs a ton. Perhaps its my lack of strength, but I had to change hands frequently to maintain control, and take breaks often.
The paint sprayer puts out a nice, even spray that is easy to work with and easy to adjust, I found it trivial to maintain a constant pattern, and became much more comfortable after some time with the device. I expect future projects to go much more smoothly now that I've got the hang of this.
PAINT
For the gate, i went with some exterior latex paint. I made the terrible and amateurish mistake of mixing the paint with a drill attached mixer instead of a stick. Rubbing up against the sides and bottom, latex paint that had formed a skin came loose into the paint. With the high speed of the drill, the skin shredded and formed hundreds of little chunks of paint that caused me a massive headache.
First, the paint sprayer would spit out these chucks every so often, forcing me to stop, remove the piece with a brush, and then re-spray the area. Secondly, a large enough piece eventually got stuck in the nozzle causing the nozzle to jam and stop spraying! I finally wised up and realized that i had to strain the paint. This caused an enormous mess, as i was dumping paint back and forth. So if you're using latex paint, make sure to mix with just a stick, and save yourself this nightmare!
CLEANUP
Due in part to the mistake mentioned above, the cleanup of the pain sprayer took much longer than anticipated, as there was a lot more paint everywhere. The front of the nozzle comes off effortlessly to give access to the pieces inside. However, the nozzle itself has many small nooks and crannies that are tough to get to. The kit does come with a brush to help to clean, but it still took an unreasonably long time to do so. I would hesitate to use this gun on small projects, opting to simply buy a can of spray paint and avoid the setup & cleaning hassle.
SUMMARY
A bit of a learning curve if you've never used a pain sprayer before. HEAVY. Good spraying results. Parts could be easier to clean. Not efficient for smaller projects.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
65out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will change the way you paint (and maybe your life)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am absolutely blown away by how well this paint sprayer worked. This is a gem of a tool that will address a wide range of DIY and homeowner projects.
Overview: The sprayer comes well packaged in it's own hard-sided carrying case for storage. Awesome.
Project: I've never used a paint sprayer before, so I decided to start with something straightforward- fencing and decking.
Performance: I sprayed ~300 sq ft of fencing and decking with a water sealer/stain in less than 20 minutes. The majority of that time was spent filling up the paint holder (refilled roughly 5 times). Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is better than this thing for fencing and decking. I've painted a lot of fences by hand and this BLOWS paintbrushes and rollers away. It fills in the cracks with one coat quickly and smoothly. AWESOME. There is no other way to paint a fence.
- I'll also be using this to paint my outside furniture and my interior doors with semi-gloss paint. I'll update the review once I do so. (The sprayer literally worked so well and was so fun to use that I'm actively trying to think of things to paint.)
Clean-up: Easy. Put a bit of paint thinner in the container and sprayed it out and wiped down with a rag. Done in no time. Easier to clean than brushes.
Other benefits:
- Instructions are incredibly thorough and detailed. Wagner has really thought of everything, they even include a poster to help you test out the spray as you acclimate to the tool.
The tool itself is pretty straightforward and intuitive, I was able to figure out most of the assembly without even looking at them.
Good to know:
- Paint container size is the only possible drawback. It could get tedious to frequently refill for very large jobs. For the average job it's fine.
- Screwing in the paint container (when it's full) is slightly awkward, but you'll get used to it. Move to fast in the beginning though and you may be looking at some spilled paint.
- Highly recommend a mask (also encouraged in the instructions). You might be able to get away without one outside, but you'll definitely need one if you inside.
- I used this outside so the overspray wasn't a real issue, but if you're painting indoors you'll need to prep/use tarps. (Wagner includes instructions on how to prep your space. I told you they'd thought of everything).
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34

Made Fence Painting Bearable

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fence painting should be considered a warm up round to purgatory, it just never ends. I purchased the Flexio 590 to stain my new fence on a half acre lot. ~52 sections of stockade fence front and back with Behr Semi Transparent Weather Proofing Stain. Using the larger spray head for all of the applications, this thing made painting go very fast. After spraying, I back brushed the stain the ensure it spread into all the hard to spray areas (especially on the back side of the fence). This handy little guy probably cut my painting time down to half. Cleaning was very easy. I found it is best to flush the system with warm soapy water, then disassemble the unit and let everything soak for a little bit. I used a nylon scrub brush and the paint came off with ease.
I will be using this to paint my shed and will try the smaller attachment for painting the dining room chairs.
Tip1: Use an old piece of cardboard or plywood to test the spray pattern before attacking your project.
Tip2: On very hot and dry days, spraying too thin dries almost instantly
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent sprayer

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the sprayer for a week and have nothing but praise. I had a Wagner Model 330 that quit and replaced it with the 590. I will really put on the paint! I have painted 260 feet of block wall fence and it performed excellent. The paint flows very even, very little overspray and no sputtering even when the pot gets low. With a full pot of paint it isn't light to handle, two hands work best. I spent more time filling the pot than painting because it will go through the pot in just a few minutes. It sprayed the latex paint right from the can with no issues..............no thinning required. Compared to the old 330 model the clean up is a breeze. Easy to disassemble, clean and reassemble ready for the next job. I haven't tried the smaller detail pot yet but I have no doubts it will perform with the same quality. Removing the head assembly is very convenient and the power unit can be set aside when time to clean. My sprayer looks just like new. Our next project is painting the exterior of our home. Excellent product.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatility and solid results

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cleaning is a major consideration with power painting equipment and something I am going to focus on here. I've used power painters in the past. They worked ok, but were a nightmare to clean. So much so that it was barely worth cleaning them That is not the case with this system. I actually get my cleaning set up ready before I even start painting. It's quick and fairly painless with this system. Oil based finishes are easier to clean up after because the solvents do a better job than water - just be aware you are going to run through quite a bit of solvent.
So far I have used this to spray polyurethane on custom made furniture. I wasn't expecting to be blown away as "power painters" are capable of spraying fine finishes, but in general do a terrible job. With the fine finish nozzle, that was not at all the case here. This truly is a turbine driven HVLP system. I wouldn't say the fine finish was completely flawless, but it was more than acceptable, and better than anything I have used costing close to twice as much.
It is very easy to control, and very easy to use. The instructions are awesome, and the included case is great.
Wagner definitely put a lot of effort into the design and overall user experience of this product. It shows and it a very solid performer.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Delivers quality finish for any project

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Wagner Flexio 590 is my first airless paint sprayer, however, I have extensive experience using sprayers fed by compressors as well as traditional roller and brush painting. So far I've used a latex based enamal to refinish a baby crib and a latex based flat primer to refinish some trim on the exterior of my house. I've been very satisfied with the results of my projects thanks to the 590. The paint flows out of the nozzle evenly and smoothly resulting in a quality, professional looking finish. Of course, the durability and length of time you can enjoy a great finish all depends on the proper application and quality of paint you buy and use. Much like any other power painting tool, the 590 can go through a gallon of paint rather quickly. There is a setting on the tool designed to control the flow rate of paint being sprayed. Heavier paints, such as enamal, can be used up quite quickly since the flow rate required for an even coverage must be set higher which results in a signifigant amount of wasted paint due to overspray. So work quickly and use common sense when deciding how much paint to purchase. The only glaring issue I did tend to have with the 590 was the sagging and running of paint on vertical surfaces. No matter what flow rate, distance from the object I was painting or how fast I moved the sprayer across the object, I couldn't achieve a perfectly flat finish without drip marks. This has become somewhat irritable since I have to sand those spots down when I didn't notice them the first time and they dried that way. I've used sprayers run off of air compressors in the past that produced no run or drip marks on the finished product so I know it can be achieved. Despite the very few projects I've painted so far, I have practiced on scrap wood and metal on at least 20 occasions with a combination of different settings and still struggle to achieve that perfect finish without drips. Hopefully in time that will change and operator error will be the cause as opposed to the Flexio 590. The drips and runs issue alone is why I decided to give the 590 4 stars instead of 5. Cleanup is a breeze with water based paints. Its as simple as flushing the unit with hot soapy water in the same manner that it sprays paint. Then disassemble the nozzle and soak or brush off in hot soapy water and reassemble when everything is dry. After cleanup the unit looks brand new again. I can't speak for oil based paints since I haven't used any but cleanup for water based is very simple so I can imagine oil based is much the same. Overall, if you can handle the occasional runs on your finish or are an experienced user that has tricks to avoid the drips and runs then you will be highly satisfied and will have a versatile sprayer that should last you many years.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Ellsworth , ME
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy as Pie !

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sales girl recommended this Paint sprayer to me and it cut the time in ½ . It was light and manageable even for a 70 year old woman! Clean up was simple and she was right on about the whole product.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>