728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.908 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product99 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product99 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

easy to use, clean, and it's quiet!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best Wagner spray gun I've used since they started making them. It's a great improvement over their old models.
The first thing I have to mention is how quiet it is compared to their old guns. I didn't needed to wear ear plugs to do a paint job, and that alone makes me want to use this more.
Wagner's been making spray guns for a long time and they have it down well. The Flexio 590 is light enough that you don't get tired if you have a larger job to do. It comes with two paint canisters, one for small jobs, and one for larger jobs, though I wish it had an even larger paint canister, which would add to the weight, but would allow you to spray longer.
I used this to spray some kitchen cabinet doors for my brother in-law and, after a few practice sprays to get the feel for it, it worked like a charm. The gun gave a great finish and we were set up and finished so much faster than we could have been with brush and roller, and I didn't need to lug a compressor around with me.
There's not much overspray, but you still need to tape up the corners and use plastic for anything near what you're spraying.
The kit comes with two canisters, each with their own nozzle, one for larger areas and a smaller one for detail work. The nozzles are adjustable for a wide or tight spray pattern depending on what you're spraying. Be careful how close you hold the gun to your target, as if you're too close the paint will not look right, and if you're too far away you won't get the right coverage and will have to go over it again.
What I like most about the Flexio 590 over other Wagners I've used, and what will likely make me willing to use this more is that this gun is easy to clean and reassemble. Cleaning is the most important part for a spray gun because if you don't do a good job it'll gunk up and won't work well or at all. Cleaning this gun is a piece of cake.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Doresoom
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top Notch Paint Sprayer

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint sprayer is amazing. My old sprayer was an airless model that spit globs of paint all over my projects. This one is night and day better.
The kit comes with two interchangeable nozzles and the turbine component all in a hard case. An additional spray tip is included, as well as two extra seal/gaskets, a cleaning brush, and a paint dilution gauge/stirrer tool. There's also a big fold-out test sheet with spray instructions on it for getting used to how to use the sprayer.
The sprayer has a ton of adjustable options. There's an adjustable trigger limit that allows the user to set the desired stop. The air flow rate has 10 different settings, and the nozzle rotation controls the spray pattern.
The first project I used it for was painting a wooden crate with a latex paint+primer finish. I used the iSpray nozzle, which allowed me to use the sprayer without diluting the paint at all. Both nozzles have an angled suction tube so that the sprayer can be tilted and still pick up all of the paint in the container.
The spray pattern can be adjusted to a horizontal or vertical fan, as well as a round spray pattern. You can spin up the turbine by slightly depressing the trigger initially, which eliminates any splatter from the sprayer. Once it's spun up, depressing the trigger further will start the paint flowing. The sprayer is very well balanced and not tiring to use at all. I didn't have to touch up any drips afterwards either. The sprayer left a super smooth finish with even coverage. I couldn't be happier with the results!
The sprayer is also fairly quiet - it sounds like a hair dryer. Much better than my old sprayer, which I had to wear hearing protection while I was using.
Cleanup:
- The larger iSpray container fits perfectly on top of a gallon paint can so it can be emptied back into a gallon paint container by flipping it upside down and just leaving it there to drain.
- The sprayer cleanup is as easy as any other paint sprayer I've used before. Fill up the paint container halfway with water and spray until it's clear. Then disassemble the nozzle and clean with the included brush.
- I really like how the nozzle assembly separates from the sprayer so I don't have to worry about getting the turbine component wet while I'm cleaning the rest of it.
- The nozzle assembly comes apart fairly easily, and the smallest piece is 3/4" diameter seal, so there aren't a ton of tiny pieces to loose.
The only downsides I could think of:
- The small seal component is a translucent plastic piece that blends right in with a white water/paint mixture. During cleaning, I accidentally dumped it out with the waste water into the grass and had to spend 10 minutes looking for it. If the seal was manufactured in a bright color, it would have been much easier to find.
- The case it comes in is a little cheap feeling, and the plastic snaps are already showing stress marks after opening and closing the case a few times. The interior contour piece is such thin plastic that it arrived broken.
Despite a few minor complaints, this is by far the best paint sprayer I've ever used.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use, ergonomic
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Faisal
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great time saver with professional results

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gun upgraded my previously owned Wagner 570 and I am more than happy with 590’s performance and capabilities. It requires no spray painting skills what so ever and any DIYer can produce professional results using this gun with the help of tips provided in included manual. Kit ships with 2 nozzles which I find very handy while painting multiple colors or working in tight coverage area. With iSpray nozzle, I had been able to cover large areas with minimal effort / time and with detailed finish nozzle my prep time was shortened since it worked great in tight areas.
My wife and I built a hard board castle for our 4 year old and we used this gun along with paint ready station to paint it all. Once prep work was done, it took us about half hour to complete the task that could have taken half a day with brushes and rollers. The outcome appeared professional. The gun allowed me to control the speed, pattern and amount of paint it sprayed out which makes it a true jack of all trades.
Even though this gun can handle any size task but I recommend using it when a task without this gun will take more than an hour since the afterwards cleaning will take about good 20+ minutes. Even though you can just soak the nozzles in soapy water for cleanup but I scrub every part with a small brush to ensure that it’s absolutely clean and ready for my next task. iSpray and Detail nozzle dis-assembles in 19 parts so I would strongly recommend taking pictures as you dis-assemble. It helped me a lot when I assembled the nozzles again. Included 2 cleaning tools are very handy and have greatly helped me in cleaning the gun.
I strongly recommend wearing a good quality face mask and if you are painting outdoors then pick a day when there is no wind at all.
Given the time and energy I saved and professional results I produced using this gun, it has already paid itself off. Go buy it, you will like it,
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Daniel
from Califronia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sprayer

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to repaint exterior of house with wood siding and trim. After reading fairly simple instruction used Behr premium latex primer/paint without thinning with great success. Makes fast work of large areas. Instead of taping again went with roller for trim but pre-painted trim on initial sprayer run so less 'missed' spots on trim paintwork. Cleaning easy as well - DID have problem on 2nd day of painting as no paint sprayed out. Thought I didn't clean well or reassemble correctly and spent hours trying to fix. Turns out there is a tiny hole on the suction tube that goes to the paint canister that must be well cleaned or it prevents spray. Didn't really catch it on initial cleaning so latex paint clogged hole. Once found and cleaned everything back to total spraying awesomeness. So easy and light had the kids help on some sections!
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
DB28
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!! I highly recommend.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few days but it's been long enough to get to know the product pretty well. I used it to repaint some nursery furniture and it came out beautifully. The paint went on evenly and coated it well. I painted a glider chair in about 5 minutes. With a brush it would have taken me an hour +, and it would have been a lot messier (and ugly).
The only things to be aware of are that it can get a little heavy after awhile and you need to allow a good 20-30 minutes for cleanup. CLEANUP IS ESSENTIAL! They provide great directions on how to properly clean the machine and it's worth following them. If it get's clogged you'll get frustrated. Ultimately it's easy to clean but it is time consuming.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Aayan
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A complete package for all paint jobs

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a three level town home that I had to repaint before I list it back for rent. We were 3 guys including me. It took us half a day just to prep the house but once prepping was done, this gun had us rolling through the rooms. Since the house was empty, we did not have to move any furniture. Using Flexio 590 with iSpray nozzle attached, a task that seemed daunting at the start became a fun group activity. We had the rollers and brushes around but we only used them in areas where we did not want to consume time prepping. We had the whole house painted in one long day. The paint looked like done by professionals. I am absolutely delighted being owner of this paint kit. It certainly saved me a good amount of labor cost. Use it with face mask and safety glasses or you will breathe paint particles.
This gun comes in a nice storage case with two containers i.e. iSpray and Detail Finish. Having a full control over the amount of paint it sprays, the pattern you want and the variable power control makes this kit a complete package for any size paint project. Do not cut corners during gun/nozzle cleanup which takes about 20-30 minutes. This kit does not need a recommendation. Just buy it, try it and you will love it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+45points
54out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Transplanted
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+108points
128out of 148found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Neelam
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with its performance

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Flexio 590 Wagner Spray gun is a must have for home improvements, even for a novice. It comes in a convenient storage case with a well-written manual which is a quick read and easy to understand. Rollers and brushes are synonymous with backbreaking work but this gun made painting an enjoyable task. With no assembly required, you have the option to use a large iSpray Nozzle or the smaller Detail Finish Nozzle which attaches to the gun like plug-n-play. You can adjust the spray width lever which determines the pattern of spray and can control the amount of material sprayed. It also has X-Boost power dial ranging “0-9” which gives you control over the air power.
I used the detail finish nozzle to stain my deck and followed up with a brush to work the stain into the grain especially where there were deeper grooves. This allowed me to apply the stain equally with ease. The unit was not too heavy on the wrist either and this project took about 3 hours. I also stained the mailbox post in less than a minute. Irrespective of the job size, this gun delivers. Make sure to wear a face mask and safety glasses because there are some fine particles which permeate the air. Also, tape and drape off the area not to be painted. More time is spent in prepping the area so there are crisp clear lines and no spatter. Once the prep is complete, staining/painting is a piece of cake. I felt like a professional and accomplished so much without lifting a roller. The gun coated the wood beautifully with a smooth and even spray with no drips, drops or clumps.
Cleanup was easy and not messy like washing trays, rollers or brushes. The iSpray Nozzle has 10 parts and Detail Finish Nozzle has 9 parts that require cleaning with negligible time to disassemble and reassemble. Just soak the parts in detergent and scrub away and the unit is ready to tackle a new project. Thoroughly clean the unit before storage to ensure a clean even spray each time. I am very happy with its performance and highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+56points
67out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
MrFixIt
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let me start this review off by saying that i have never used a paint sprayer before. All of my experience lay with brushes & rollers. I recently built a gate for the driveway, and recall that it took me a good 2 hours with a brush to prime the whole thing. As a matter of fact, it took so long, that i didn't have the motivation to ever put a top coat on it! With this Wagner Flexio paint sprayer, i was hoping to save valuable time and energy, and for the most part that's exactly what i did.
SETUP
There's really nothing to the setup. You pour in the paint, change the settings, and you're good to go. The instruction manual explained the features and settings thoroughly, but they're pretty simple to figure out.
USE
The paint sprayer was quite easy to use. Pull the trigger half-way to start the motor, and then all the way to paint. Then you either move side to side, or up and down, depending how you plan on painting. Basically, you're holding an over-sized hairdryer, albeit much, much heavier. With a full load of paint, this thing weighs a ton. Perhaps its my lack of strength, but I had to change hands frequently to maintain control, and take breaks often.
The paint sprayer puts out a nice, even spray that is easy to work with and easy to adjust, I found it trivial to maintain a constant pattern, and became much more comfortable after some time with the device. I expect future projects to go much more smoothly now that I've got the hang of this.
PAINT
For the gate, i went with some exterior latex paint. I made the terrible and amateurish mistake of mixing the paint with a drill attached mixer instead of a stick. Rubbing up against the sides and bottom, latex paint that had formed a skin came loose into the paint. With the high speed of the drill, the skin shredded and formed hundreds of little chunks of paint that caused me a massive headache.
First, the paint sprayer would spit out these chucks every so often, forcing me to stop, remove the piece with a brush, and then re-spray the area. Secondly, a large enough piece eventually got stuck in the nozzle causing the nozzle to jam and stop spraying! I finally wised up and realized that i had to strain the paint. This caused an enormous mess, as i was dumping paint back and forth. So if you're using latex paint, make sure to mix with just a stick, and save yourself this nightmare!
CLEANUP
Due in part to the mistake mentioned above, the cleanup of the pain sprayer took much longer than anticipated, as there was a lot more paint everywhere. The front of the nozzle comes off effortlessly to give access to the pieces inside. However, the nozzle itself has many small nooks and crannies that are tough to get to. The kit does come with a brush to help to clean, but it still took an unreasonably long time to do so. I would hesitate to use this gun on small projects, opting to simply buy a can of spray paint and avoid the setup & cleaning hassle.
SUMMARY
A bit of a learning curve if you've never used a pain sprayer before. HEAVY. Good spraying results. Parts could be easier to clean. Not efficient for smaller projects.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
mixmox
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
texbot
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy & Fun to use, Pour & Paint, but HORRIBLE results!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(Sorry for any repeats, I posted this on the Wagner Site too. )
This sprayer looked so promising and easy to use when reading reviews , but turned out horrible with my application. I tried to paint my Doors and Trim using BEHR Premium Ultra Pure White Hi-Gloss Enamel Interior/Exterior Paint. I have spent countless hours and money trying & testing all the paints and this Acrylic latex is the best in color and sheen in my opinion overall. Other paints would look good in direct sunlight but change tints with darker or cloudy light in the room or the finish would be too dull. So I was really hoping I could spray this stuff some how. Unfornuately, when trying to apply the paint STRAINED & UNTHINNED playing with all settings, it is absolute disaster!I Worse clump of Orange Peel I have ever seen. It spits paint insted of spraying. I tried the detail nozzle and it would only spray by thinning it with water or some flowtrol. And it did almost turn out Ok, but I realized after the test trim I painted dried, it had lost some of its gloss which is another reason I wanted this paint. I am sure this thing will work with thinner paints and would work great within certain applications, but with this particualr type of very thick paint, again, its disaster.
In fairness a painter told me there is NO sprayer that will spray that kind of paint and maintain your gloss. So I'm back to square one tring to figure out how to paint with a high gloss and no brushstrokes. I give a one star only for my application I tried. I took it back to Home Depot and got my money back.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: horibble wih high gloss acrylic paints.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Wagner Spray TechMarch 24, 2014By Wagner Spray TechMarch 24, 2014
The Flexio 590 comes with two spray heads. The iSpray Nozzle will apply a roller-like, slightly stippled finish and can be used with unthinned latex paint. This spray head is best used on broad surfaces such as walls, small buildings, fences etc. The second spray head - the Detail Finish Nozzle - can be used with latex as the reviewer describes, with a bit of thinning. Both water and a paint conditioner can be used to reduce the paint in order to be effectively sprayed using the Detail Finish Nozzle. The Detail Finish Nozzle is best used with smaller detail jobs such as cabinets, furniture, trim etc.WagnerSprayTech
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Judson
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+40points
64out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
freelyelee
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will change the way you paint (and maybe your life)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am absolutely blown away by how well this paint sprayer worked. This is a gem of a tool that will address a wide range of DIY and homeowner projects.
Overview: The sprayer comes well packaged in it's own hard-sided carrying case for storage. Awesome.
Project: I've never used a paint sprayer before, so I decided to start with something straightforward- fencing and decking.
Performance: I sprayed ~300 sq ft of fencing and decking with a water sealer/stain in less than 20 minutes. The majority of that time was spent filling up the paint holder (refilled roughly 5 times). Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is better than this thing for fencing and decking. I've painted a lot of fences by hand and this BLOWS paintbrushes and rollers away. It fills in the cracks with one coat quickly and smoothly. AWESOME. There is no other way to paint a fence.
- I'll also be using this to paint my outside furniture and my interior doors with semi-gloss paint. I'll update the review once I do so. (The sprayer literally worked so well and was so fun to use that I'm actively trying to think of things to paint.)
Clean-up: Easy. Put a bit of paint thinner in the container and sprayed it out and wiped down with a rag. Done in no time. Easier to clean than brushes.
Other benefits:
- Instructions are incredibly thorough and detailed. Wagner has really thought of everything, they even include a poster to help you test out the spray as you acclimate to the tool.
The tool itself is pretty straightforward and intuitive, I was able to figure out most of the assembly without even looking at them.
Good to know:
- Paint container size is the only possible drawback. It could get tedious to frequently refill for very large jobs. For the average job it's fine.
- Screwing in the paint container (when it's full) is slightly awkward, but you'll get used to it. Move to fast in the beginning though and you may be looking at some spilled paint.
- Highly recommend a mask (also encouraged in the instructions). You might be able to get away without one outside, but you'll definitely need one if you inside.
- I used this outside so the overspray wasn't a real issue, but if you're painting indoors you'll need to prep/use tarps. (Wagner includes instructions on how to prep your space. I told you they'd thought of everything).
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Wrexxralph

Delivers quality finish for any project

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Wagner Flexio 590 is my first airless paint sprayer, however, I have extensive experience using sprayers fed by compressors as well as traditional roller and brush painting. So far I've used a latex based enamal to refinish a baby crib and a latex based flat primer to refinish some trim on the exterior of my house. I've been very satisfied with the results of my projects thanks to the 590. The paint flows out of the nozzle evenly and smoothly resulting in a quality, professional looking finish. Of course, the durability and length of time you can enjoy a great finish all depends on the proper application and quality of paint you buy and use. Much like any other power painting tool, the 590 can go through a gallon of paint rather quickly. There is a setting on the tool designed to control the flow rate of paint being sprayed. Heavier paints, such as enamal, can be used up quite quickly since the flow rate required for an even coverage must be set higher which results in a signifigant amount of wasted paint due to overspray. So work quickly and use common sense when deciding how much paint to purchase. The only glaring issue I did tend to have with the 590 was the sagging and running of paint on vertical surfaces. No matter what flow rate, distance from the object I was painting or how fast I moved the sprayer across the object, I couldn't achieve a perfectly flat finish without drip marks. This has become somewhat irritable since I have to sand those spots down when I didn't notice them the first time and they dried that way. I've used sprayers run off of air compressors in the past that produced no run or drip marks on the finished product so I know it can be achieved. Despite the very few projects I've painted so far, I have practiced on scrap wood and metal on at least 20 occasions with a combination of different settings and still struggle to achieve that perfect finish without drips. Hopefully in time that will change and operator error will be the cause as opposed to the Flexio 590. The drips and runs issue alone is why I decided to give the 590 4 stars instead of 5. Cleanup is a breeze with water based paints. Its as simple as flushing the unit with hot soapy water in the same manner that it sprays paint. Then disassemble the nozzle and soak or brush off in hot soapy water and reassemble when everything is dry. After cleanup the unit looks brand new again. I can't speak for oil based paints since I haven't used any but cleanup for water based is very simple so I can imagine oil based is much the same. Overall, if you can handle the occasional runs on your finish or are an experienced user that has tricks to avoid the drips and runs then you will be highly satisfied and will have a versatile sprayer that should last you many years.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
joelav22
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatility and solid results

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cleaning is a major consideration with power painting equipment and something I am going to focus on here. I've used power painters in the past. They worked ok, but were a nightmare to clean. So much so that it was barely worth cleaning them That is not the case with this system. I actually get my cleaning set up ready before I even start painting. It's quick and fairly painless with this system. Oil based finishes are easier to clean up after because the solvents do a better job than water - just be aware you are going to run through quite a bit of solvent.
So far I have used this to spray polyurethane on custom made furniture. I wasn't expecting to be blown away as "power painters" are capable of spraying fine finishes, but in general do a terrible job. With the fine finish nozzle, that was not at all the case here. This truly is a turbine driven HVLP system. I wouldn't say the fine finish was completely flawless, but it was more than acceptable, and better than anything I have used costing close to twice as much.
It is very easy to control, and very easy to use. The instructions are awesome, and the included case is great.
Wagner definitely put a lot of effort into the design and overall user experience of this product. It shows and it a very solid performer.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Texas
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing, professional results

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The multi-use Wagner 590 paint sprayer is not your typical home paint sprayer. I've used paint sprayers aimed at the home market before, and I've always been disappointed. The little 'putt-putt' motors would spatter the paint and provide a surface that needed back-rolling.
This sprayer is just amazing. No spluttering, even when using unthinned paint. Rather than spray the paint in uneven bursts, this sprayer creates a fine mist, similar to what you might get from a paint aerosol, rattle, can. The difference being this sprayer covers a much larger area.
The spray is consistent, and allows you to quickly cover larger areas. I found it was not necessary to thin the paint when spraying textured walls and a ceiling, I did thin the paint when spraying kitchen cupboards as I wanted a smooth, gloss like, finish.
Two paint tubs, with different nozzles, are provided. The larger tub quickly covers larger areas, and leave a finish similar to that of using a paint roller. The smaller tub is perfect for fine detail work, and works best with oil based stains and paints, it leaves a smoother finish.
A few years ago we paid a contractor to paint a 30 by 30 room as I felt it was beyond my ability using a roller and brush. I watched part of the process as the contractor used a larger, commercial, spray machine. When it needs repainting I will be using this sprayer myself. This sprayer easily matches the results the contractor had.
Many companies claim to sell machines that are easy to use, inexpensive, and give professional results. I've previously always been let down. Wagner just made me a believer, I'me very pleased with this sprayer. I suspect my contractor may not be as happy.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
SkyMan
from Maui, Hawaii
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I painted my car with this sprayer and everyone said don't do it...You decide if I was wrong.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a limited budget to paint my car. Most of the money I spent on very good quality car paint from NAPA, the Finish1 brand. I purchased the Prevail bottle sprayers to do the initial grey primer and it took 10 replacement tops. To paint the entire car would have cost $200 in prevail paint tops. So I decided to see what else I could purchase for that money and have something to show for it instead of a pile of empty Prevail containers. Unfortunately $200 was not enough for the proper compressor system and guns but was enough for the Flexio 590 Paint Sprayer.
I proceeded to put on a second coat of grey Primer using the Flexio and I noticed with the base attached that is shown in the sales image it tends to spit and throw on a lot of paint and not evenly. So I switched to the fine spray nozzle container and after some adjustment it was like using an aerosol can except much heavier to move around. The trick to this sprayer to get a nice result is it is important to note how far you pull on the trigger affects how much paint is being dispensed. So I recommend painting on a thick painters sheet of plastic until you see how much paint is coming out. This trigger is adjustable. You rotate the knob on the trigger to prevent it from being depressed all the way in which limits the amount of paint that gets dispensed. It took us a long time to figure this out, but once you get the proper dispensing set, this works as good as having a can of spray paint.
I had two of my friends help me. We cleaned up the car dents and dings as best as we could (I recommend taking a lot more time than I did on this. Any dents or bumps will show up in the new paint job, but for me, I couldn't stand my car looking poorly for so long, so I am more than happy with the results.)
I put two coats of grey primer. Two coats of Black Sealer. Two Coats of Speckled Metallic and Two Coats of Clear Coat. Each time after painting I put thinner inside the container and sprayed it out to quick clean between coats. If you do this you have to be very careful because the thinner tends to build up pressure in the container. So after you spray it out open it up after you are done so the pressure does not continue to build and pour out the thinner into a bowl and use it later for cleaning your hands and other stuff even though it will be contaminated with whatever paint you were using. I do not recommend reusing the thinner after cleaning out the clear coat. Clear coat paint is like glue and it very sticky and the left over thinner from the paint container will only make any thing you try to clean with it sticky also. So properly dispose of it.
Finally when spraying I noticed you do need a fair amount of paint coming out and you have to take consistent full strokes over the car body. The most difficult areas are the hood, top of the car, and trunk, since you are holding up all this weight of the gun and attempting to keep your proper distance. The total paint job cost me between $600 and $800 if you include the bondo and other items I needed to prep the car, tape, sandpaper, glue, respirators, body outfits, hoody, gloves, etc. The paint came to $400 and the sprayer was $160 so I feel it cost me $560, since some people already have those other items. I got quotes from other people and the least expensive paint job without repairing the body and with me doing all the taping was $1,500. One company wanted $4,000 if they were to do the entire job. Thank God for my friends. Without them it would not have happened. They kept me going when things got a little off and helped with all the prep work which took us almost a day and a half before even painting.
We painted it all outside and for the conditions and the fact that I have never painted a car in my entire life, I am very pleased with the result. By far the hardest job is the prep work. Taping off as precision as possible is critical to get nice sharp straight lines. Take your time when taping off. If you noticed I painted it two tones. The Speckled Metallic and the Black. I decided to tape off and paint all the black areas first and then when they were dry, I took off the tape and taped over all the black areas so when I put on the Speckled Metallic the black locations were all under cover. It was worth it to make it two tone, it looks so good as two colors. The original car was red.
Just to warn you make absolutely sure the cord for powering the unit is tied in a knot so it does not disconnect while you are spraying. If it does the sprayer will slow down spraying and if you are holding the trigger down the sprayer will spit blotches of paint all over your car, so please heed this. It happened to me on the door of my car and after the clear coat is not as noticeable but it happened while spraying on the Speckled Metallic and I was so frustrated, but it could have been avoided if I had tied the cords together when I plugged them to each other.
I did not give this an excellent rating because this unit is obviously not as good as a full compressor and air gun setup but allows you to turn a very shabby looking car into something you are not ashamed of, even if there are still dents in it. Overall it got the job done and now I have a Spray Painter I can use for other jobs.
If you are painting your car and you want it to look expertly perfect I would either pay someone else to do it (this process of painting a car is very intense) or I would get the professional equipment or see if you can rent it, but if you want a pretty decent paint job, the Flexio 590 can provide the results . If you have never done this before, do not think for a minute you will get the car painted in one day, plan on three or more, unless you know what you are doing. Take time to watch videos on people painting cars and practice on a piece of metal. When I got to the clear coat I put it on heavy because I wanted a shiny finish not a peach fuzz finish. This takes some artistic ability to get it right. There is a lot of money at stake since the paint is so expensive, but even with the areas I had some small runs, I think it was worth it. Just so you know I highly recommend car paint, it is so much better when it goes on and the results are fantastic. Follow the directions for the paint application as best as possible considering your not using top notch spray equipment.
If I had to do it again, would I paint my own car with this same sprayer? Yes but next time I would Prep better and rig up a system so I can easily get over the car to spray it evenly. Lastly I would pay the extra hefty fee to get a Super Quality Charcoal Respirator. When I was using the clear coat I practically choked every time I sprayed it because it is like billowing smoke or imagine a snow maker blasting out snow. Your breathing is very important so get a very good mask. All in all, I am so excited that my car looks great and that I did it myself with a help from some of my friends.
For the final touches put some nice hubcaps like I got online to make the car look like its worth much more than it is. Warning if you are not careful you could majorly screw up the job and be irritated at me that you wasted money on paint. If that is you save your money and get someone else to do it. If you are not willing to risk the job with the idea it may not be perfect and you could totally mess it up then do not attempt this. I went in knowing this and was willing to go there because anything was better than what I had.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks High End
Cons: do not let it unplug while painting or it spits.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Jeff
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really awesome tool

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been updating my whole house and changed over all the stained trim and door to white... by brush which was taking about 4 coats to get a nice solid white. This sprayer was incredible and fast. Once I got the hang of it... I was covering in one coat... turned out beautiful. And I bought this kit with a detail sprayer and used that on my staircase balusters... worked excellent. Kit comes with a huge paper poster for trying out sprayer techniques... which is a great idea. I carried a rag and the provide pin hole tool in back pocket so if the sprayer started spraying bigger specks of paint, simply wipe off nozzle and use tool to keep nozzle clear of any buildup... then it's back to fine spraying. Can't believe I didn't try a sprayer like this years ago. I even love that you can set down the sprayer for breaks like lunch, kids, and dinner, and pick back up where you left off. I simply wiped externally only around nozzle, and left paint in the containers overnight... and picked right back up the next day. Can't do that easily with a paint tray and brush! There is an art to learning the technique. I did mess up a door in the beginning because it was spraying bigger splatters instead of finer mist... then I realized I just need to keep the nozzle cleaner from build-up... and pull trigger less which adjusts paint flow. But it worked great with a very thick premium Behr paint w/ primer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Rusty
from Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was finished in no time

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a paint sprayer before in my life but wish I had. Right out of the box I had this sprayer together and was spraying. I didn't even read the instructions it was so easy. I am redoing an old cabinet so I wanted it to look nice with no paint lines. Using this sprayer made it look like it was sprayed in a paint booth in a cabinet shop. Not to mention it is so powerful. Effortless painting and very quick. I am now going to spray paint all my doors.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Sandiegohaunted
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Sprayer for big jobs

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This paint sprayer / system met my expectations. I have done many paint jobs over the years and used a variety of equipment including professional grade sprayers, so I have some knowledge of how to spray to draw on. Air based sprayers have their place in the arsenal of tools available to do it your-self-ers. During use the Flexio system didn't show any stigmata generally placed on air sprayers including uneven coats, poor coverage, and leaks.
The system comes packed nicely in its own lightweight case, which is handy for moving and storage. One thing that I really liked was the including of a test spray guide, to help the new owner learn how to spray using hand strokes.
I decided to test the Flexio by painting parts of my new pergola on my patio deck. I used a deep Caribbean blue paint, and found the results to be good. The Flexio is capable of doing a fast even painting job but some care must be given for over-spray especially if painting outside where wind and temperature conditions can effect the outcome.
Lastly, clean up was at par for expectation, it took around 20 minutes which is almost the same for a normal brush paint job. I like the Flexio 590, and was satisfied with the results and would use on other larger paint jobs, I wouldn't use this sprayer for most minor paint jobs where a brush is simply a more convenient option.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>