728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.763 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(190 reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product143 of 184reviews
Rating Breakdown 190 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(49)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(33)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product143 of 184reviews
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 150 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 21 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Practice First!

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this sprayer to tackle 3 projects around the house: paint a wall in the garage, paint the concrete block on the outside of the house, and paint the shed. I just finished the first project and thought I'd chime in.
I found it difficult to get accustomed to the coverage, but part of that was I was spraying white paint on an already white wall (re-painting). The two important comments here are 1) always keep moving, don't hesitate or stop, and 2) be sure to always overlap your strokes. If you don't have enough overlap, you end up with a streak in the middle. I suspect the next projects will be easier, as the colors will be different.
Also, masking is extremely important. This thing was designed to spray paint every where, and it will do just that. The user manual has guidelines for this. I wasn't concerned with overspray for this project, so I didn't mask anything.
All-in-all, I think this tool will be useful down the road on my exterior painting projects. I'm nervous about using it inside, though.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: messy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Nothing but problems

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the positive reviews on this sprayer, I decided to buy to paint interior walls. The spray was very blotchy and the the nozzle constantly dripped paint all over the floor. Thank GOD I had drop cloths down. I called tech support and they were of little help, suggesting I take the gun completely apart and clean it thoroughly. This was a brand new sprayer, why would I have to spend an hour cleaning it?? But I did. It started spraying more evenly. I finally finished one wall (total time to this point, at least two hours -- I could have rolled two coats in this time.) What I didn't realize until I was done, was there was very fine overspray all over all the furniture and everything on the furniture. It even was found outside the room in the hallway and room across the hall! My wife had to hand dust everything in three rooms, just from spraying one wall in one room. I spent two hours thoroughly cleaning the sprayer just so I could return it to Home Depot. I vowed to never ever use a sprayer for interior, furnished rooms again. IMHO, paint sprayers should be used for outdoor use only, or unfurnished interior walls.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, way too much overspray
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013
If you haven’t returned your Flexio 590 as you mentioned, please call Wagner at 1-800-328-8251. We’d love another chance to try and help you troubleshoot your spray issues. I’m concerned about the alignment and tightness of the nozzle section of your sprayer. It sounds as if it isn’t sealing correctly. The excessive overspray and dripping you describe are likely related issues.WagnerSprayTech
Review 23 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an average DIYer and this is the second time I use a paint sprayer. Having used the FLEXIO 570 series last week, this week I had the opportunity to test the FLEXIO 590 series.
The first major difference is that this sprayer (590) comes in a nice and organized case rather than just parts thrown in a carton box (570). The second difference is the spray rate. The 590 series sprays up to 8 gal/hr vs. 7.2 gal/hr for the 570 series.
Upon use, I could not find a tangible differenece between the two. Maybe this is because I did not compare them back-to-back. Having used the 570 series last week, I'm sure there was a learning curve and that's why I was more comfortable with the 590 series.
I painted an indoor garage wall and I am happy with the results. Once you get the hang of it you can achieve better consistency and therefore better results. You need to switch between the vertical (up-down) and horizontal (side-to-side) options as appropriate for your application. You can also control the amount of paint it sprays by modulating your finger on the trigger.
You would need a roll or brush to correct mistakes you make as you go. You will need those particularly when you release the trigger as the sprayer tends to spit out some lumps of paint. The other option would be to direct the sprayer away from the paint area and then release the trigger.
As with any other tool, take a few minutes to read the instructions and familiarize yourself with the equipment.
Plan on taking short rests every few minutes as the weight of carrying this thing around can fatigue your arms & shoulders.
Overall we are very happy with this product, and would definitely use it for our future painting plans. It appears to be of good quality and the price is reasonable.
Having recently painted our new house using rollers & brushes, I can now appreciate this sprayer and the time it can save the average DIYer :)
I would definitely recommend the 590 series as I believe the price difference is justified by having (1) the case for better storage & carrying around, and (2) the higher spray rate that can definitely help with bigger projects.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Nassau, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good features, ease of use

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Before I purchased the 590 I viewed the video. Everything looked as easy as pie with what appeared to be very little overspray (I especially wanted to use it indoors). Sadly when spraying latex paint indoors there was an over abundance of overspray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Wagner Spray TechOctober 29, 2013By Wagner Spray TechOctober 29, 2013
If this is the case, please check your settings and consider lowering them. Try lowering the power setting on the turbine and the flow rate dial behind the trigger. Lowering these settings may help lower the amount of overspray.WagnerSprayTech
Review 27 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete paint spray system

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nicely done spray painting kit. I'm pleased with the dedicated box that is fitted to hold the equipment. It's much nicer than having to store the equipment in the cardboard box it ships in. The inside plastic appears to be very slick so, hopefully, paint residue won't adhere to it.
The sprayers are constructed from thick material and have a quality feel to them. I appreciate the side located spray pattern adjustment on the large sprayer. Located away from the spraying nozzle, the users fingers and hand are safer from accidental spraying during spray pattern adjustment.
The paint reservoirs fit tightly with the power head and the two halves snap together when properly fitted. The design balances the weight of the power head opposite the weight of the paint reservoir helping to balance the system in the user's hand. There are only a few pieces between the paint reservoir and the spray tip, so clean up should be pretty straight forward.
I'm impressed with the quality and design of this spray system and look forward to using it on my next spray painting project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made Painting My Fence Easy!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just painted a spaced-picket French Gothic fence in under an hour with this sprayer, and the result is very good. The fence has tons of detail on the pickets and posts,and would have taken forever to paint by hand. I learned to paint the sides of each section first, allowing the overspray to hit the front of the pickets. After spraying from both sides, the front face only needed a minor touchup to finish the section.
I used Behr Premium Plus Ultra latex paint and primer in one, which worked great using the recommended settings (7 on the turbine, high flow on the trigger). Because I was using a narrow spray, I found that I did have to move quickly to avoid excess paint application, but I was very pleased with the evenness and consistency of the coverage.
One word of caution: A paint sprayer will require slightly more paint to cover the same surface area than painting by hand, but I found that it took 2 gallons to paint what would normally have required only slightly over one. I'm sure a pro could have done the job with less paint, but doing it myself ended up looking just as good as a professional, and was still cheaper even with the extra gallon of paint.
Cleanup was easy, and everything fit back into the case nicely. Overall, I am very pleased and would highly recommend this sprayer to any homeowner tackling a moderate-size paint job.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New Concept for Spraying

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past, I had an older type of airless sprayer. The cleanup, maintenance, and overall performance were less than desired.
I think this new design is an efficient and effective way to paint with an airless sprayer. Cleanup is much much easier, and there are less parts to have to disassemble and replace.
I recommend that you forget how you used an older type of airless, and develop a technique for this new style of sprayer. There is certainly a trigger finesse that needs to be learned, as well as the paint application technique. Practice, practice, practice should be your first rule. After I spent some time using the practice poster, and some unseen areas of my garage, I have no issues using this painter. I will admit I devoted a couple of days playing and practicing with this machine at first. It was time well spent that is paying dividends now.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Lexington, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for paints - not so much for oil primers

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sprayer is my second HVLP sprayer. It worked very well on latex paints. I was painting furniture so used the detail sprayer with paint thinned 10%. I was able to achieve a nice smooth finish with very little slump and run problems. Prior to spraying the latex paint I sprayed an oil based primer to seal the pine furniture. I was never able to get a really smooth finish, but got a slightly lumpy, almost sandpaperish finish. This product did not seem to adapt well to spraying. Overall a great tool for use with suitable materials.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013
If you didn't try it already, try using the Detail Nozzle (the smaller spray head) for projects where you desire a smoother, finer finish. It may require you to thin some materials but the Detail Nozzle is great for finer finishes on things like furniture, cabinets, trim etc.WagnerSprayTech
Review 31 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for outdoor work

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Always been skeptical of paint sprayers in general due in part to the "horror story reviews" of various sprayers. I found this sprayer to be quite the opposite. From the start, I found the storage case and packaging of the sprayer to be nicer than expected. The sprayer motor is a bit bulky but this is to be expected considering this unit is "self-contained" and only requires household power to operate. The controls are fairly intuitive and get you painting with minimal effort or waste during the learning curve. The fine detail spray bottle/tip allows for smaller, more precise control which makes it ideal for tough to reach spaces or fine detail work on items such as outdoor furniture.
Expect to spend a bit of time with clean-up. Be sure to do a thorough job of clean-up to prevent clogs & particles the next time you go to use the sprayer.
Overall I am pleased with the painting results and wondering why I didn't get one sooner!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One Of The Best Ever...

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WAGNER FLEXIO 590 HVLP PAINT SPRAYER
I’ve purchase many paint sprayers over the last few years. Some were either too big or too small to do the job properly, or too much work to clean. The battery units were too heavy. The Wagner Flexio 590 however is the most flexible unit I have. It’s the right size for so many jobs.
I would recommend this for anything from painting outdoor furniture, fences, Interior rooms and even the whole house. Its solid, Lightweight and doesn’t make a lot of noise like some of the other airless sprayers.
Setup & use are a snap, and cleanup is a breeze. Attached pictures show a cinderblock wall I sprayed with 2 coats in less than 4 hours including clean up time. The gun sprayed a heavy latex paint, with minor problems, every once in a while I had to clean out the tip with the yellow tool that came with the gun.
Totally pleased with this item and see it getting plenty of use well into the future. Just started painting the Aluminum and garage door at my home and its working great,,, you should be albe to see the difference..
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes painting a lot faster

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never used a home paint sprayer before. But I actually like it. Using the iSpray nozzle, I painted a 150ft long wooden fence in about 45 minutes - normally this would have taken hours. The finish was very even, and there was surprisingly very little overspray and misting. The reservoir is fairly small though, so I had to stop every 8 to 10 feet to refill it. That's what actually took most of the time. Cleanup was simple and quick. The instruction manual is good, very detailed, and even though I'm the kind of guy that usually doesn't read instructions, I found it very helpful. It gives you good information to get a clean, even spray pattern.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Severe overspray mars a decent spraying system

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Considering that I'm planning on rebuilding my fence (around 150 feet total, and 8 feet tall), I was really hoping to like this sprayer. It seems to have everything I would need to expedite that process, and maybe it does.
I'd recently custom built my own work bench for my garage. There's nothing particularly fancy about this bench. The dimensions are average (roughly 48" L x 24" D x 30" H). I had built this with specific cuts to contain my rolling tool chest underneath, as well as a few other specific things. That's why you build custom, right? Considering I built it out of pressurized wood with a nice birch top, it was a perfect candidate for staining.
I dropped a tarp in the backyard and set the desk on it, and followed the instructions included with the sprayer to a tee. I was on low settings, using Minwax stain to give the desk a nice finish. The finish did in fact come out quite good, but the process was a mess.
I bought a gallon of a stain to do this, thinking I'd use maybe 1/4 of the can, if that. (I didn't buy a quart just in case I need a little more.) I ended up using roughly 3/4 of a gallon due to severe overspray from this sprayer. Parts puddled (fixable with shop rags), and the stain went everywhere, even on the low settings. In a very large backyard with a fence between us, we still felt compelled to move our cars from the driveway just to make sure they didn't get coated.
The overall product is nice. The included case is decent, and it includes two separate spray nozzles for different types of work. In my experience though, this is the sort of thing that will work better on a larger project, like a fence or siding. Although it's advertised as working on smaller pieces, the overspray is so bad that the amount of product wasted doesn't equal the time savings versus using a brush. It's also advertised as indoor/outdoor, but I cannot see myself using this inside. Wagner themselves make better products for indoor painting needs. On top of that, this sprayer would occasionally gush out a stream of stain when starting from a full stop after use, and then return to the misting-like spray.
Finally, as is the bane of most sprayers, the cleanup is something of a hassle. I had used stain, so I ended up using both mineral spirits and then warm soapy water to clean the unit. Then, you disassemble it and, with a brush, clean the components like you're preparing them for a dental visit.
The end result (the stained desk) was very good. But the process of getting it there was far more consuming than the convenience of just using a brush, both total time-wise and cost-wise.
It might be great with fences or other large projects, but in my experience, I can't recommend it. There's too much mess, way too much overspray, and the small container (for stain or paint or whatever you're spraying) means frequent refills. It's pretty quiet (like a hair dryer on low to medium), but there are far better alternatives, especially if you own an air compressor.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, overspray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013
I’m happy to hear your project did indeed turn out well. However the large amounts of overspray you described are not typical of this sprayer, and we would love the opportunity to help you with this. If you haven’t already had the chance to do so, please give us a call at Wagner at 1-800-328-8251 and we’ll be happy to help you troubleshoot this issue.WagnerSprayTech
Review 37 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A complete package for all paint jobs

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a three level town home that I had to repaint before I list it back for rent. We were 3 guys including me. It took us half a day just to prep the house but once prepping was done, this gun had us rolling through the rooms. Since the house was empty, we did not have to move any furniture. Using Flexio 590 with iSpray nozzle attached, a task that seemed daunting at the start became a fun group activity. We had the rollers and brushes around but we only used them in areas where we did not want to consume time prepping. We had the whole house painted in one long day. The paint looked like done by professionals. I am absolutely delighted being owner of this paint kit. It certainly saved me a good amount of labor cost. Use it with face mask and safety glasses or you will breathe paint particles.
This gun comes in a nice storage case with two containers i.e. iSpray and Detail Finish. Having a full control over the amount of paint it sprays, the pattern you want and the variable power control makes this kit a complete package for any size paint project. Do not cut corners during gun/nozzle cleanup which takes about 20-30 minutes. This kit does not need a recommendation. Just buy it, try it and you will love it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
60out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for outdoor projects

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sprayer is great for applications where you need to lay down a lot of paint. The quality of the finish is pretty good for most applications. I used it mostly to stain a fence and to quickly paint some plywood and 2x4s for a project.
It saved a lot of time and sore arms/back compared to using a roller or a paint brush.
I would recommend this project for anyone who is doing outdoor projects like staining fences, decks, or bare patio furniture. I didn't try but my understanding is you can use this sprayer indoors too.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Delivers quality finish for any project

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Wagner Flexio 590 is my first airless paint sprayer, however, I have extensive experience using sprayers fed by compressors as well as traditional roller and brush painting. So far I've used a latex based enamal to refinish a baby crib and a latex based flat primer to refinish some trim on the exterior of my house. I've been very satisfied with the results of my projects thanks to the 590. The paint flows out of the nozzle evenly and smoothly resulting in a quality, professional looking finish. Of course, the durability and length of time you can enjoy a great finish all depends on the proper application and quality of paint you buy and use. Much like any other power painting tool, the 590 can go through a gallon of paint rather quickly. There is a setting on the tool designed to control the flow rate of paint being sprayed. Heavier paints, such as enamal, can be used up quite quickly since the flow rate required for an even coverage must be set higher which results in a signifigant amount of wasted paint due to overspray. So work quickly and use common sense when deciding how much paint to purchase. The only glaring issue I did tend to have with the 590 was the sagging and running of paint on vertical surfaces. No matter what flow rate, distance from the object I was painting or how fast I moved the sprayer across the object, I couldn't achieve a perfectly flat finish without drip marks. This has become somewhat irritable since I have to sand those spots down when I didn't notice them the first time and they dried that way. I've used sprayers run off of air compressors in the past that produced no run or drip marks on the finished product so I know it can be achieved. Despite the very few projects I've painted so far, I have practiced on scrap wood and metal on at least 20 occasions with a combination of different settings and still struggle to achieve that perfect finish without drips. Hopefully in time that will change and operator error will be the cause as opposed to the Flexio 590. The drips and runs issue alone is why I decided to give the 590 4 stars instead of 5. Cleanup is a breeze with water based paints. Its as simple as flushing the unit with hot soapy water in the same manner that it sprays paint. Then disassemble the nozzle and soak or brush off in hot soapy water and reassemble when everything is dry. After cleanup the unit looks brand new again. I can't speak for oil based paints since I haven't used any but cleanup for water based is very simple so I can imagine oil based is much the same. Overall, if you can handle the occasional runs on your finish or are an experienced user that has tricks to avoid the drips and runs then you will be highly satisfied and will have a versatile sprayer that should last you many years.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>