728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.705 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product163 of 217reviews
Rating Breakdown 224 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(103)
4
(52)
3
(13)
2
(12)
1
(44)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product163 of 217reviews
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete paint spray system

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nicely done spray painting kit. I'm pleased with the dedicated box that is fitted to hold the equipment. It's much nicer than having to store the equipment in the cardboard box it ships in. The inside plastic appears to be very slick so, hopefully, paint residue won't adhere to it.
The sprayers are constructed from thick material and have a quality feel to them. I appreciate the side located spray pattern adjustment on the large sprayer. Located away from the spraying nozzle, the users fingers and hand are safer from accidental spraying during spray pattern adjustment.
The paint reservoirs fit tightly with the power head and the two halves snap together when properly fitted. The design balances the weight of the power head opposite the weight of the paint reservoir helping to balance the system in the user's hand. There are only a few pieces between the paint reservoir and the spray tip, so clean up should be pretty straight forward.
I'm impressed with the quality and design of this spray system and look forward to using it on my next spray painting project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hand held handle did not bother my arthritis at all while using.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this sprayer yesterday and used today on wooden fence 45' long by 5' high. It did a great job and did not have to thin down the latex stain. However I'm an older gentleman and the clean out was fairly easy but for me putting the sucker back together wasn't easy and I'm sure it was just me and my old worn out hands..+ eye sight..
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made Painting My Fence Easy!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just painted a spaced-picket French Gothic fence in under an hour with this sprayer, and the result is very good. The fence has tons of detail on the pickets and posts,and would have taken forever to paint by hand. I learned to paint the sides of each section first, allowing the overspray to hit the front of the pickets. After spraying from both sides, the front face only needed a minor touchup to finish the section.
I used Behr Premium Plus Ultra latex paint and primer in one, which worked great using the recommended settings (7 on the turbine, high flow on the trigger). Because I was using a narrow spray, I found that I did have to move quickly to avoid excess paint application, but I was very pleased with the evenness and consistency of the coverage.
One word of caution: A paint sprayer will require slightly more paint to cover the same surface area than painting by hand, but I found that it took 2 gallons to paint what would normally have required only slightly over one. I'm sure a pro could have done the job with less paint, but doing it myself ended up looking just as good as a professional, and was still cheaper even with the extra gallon of paint.
Cleanup was easy, and everything fit back into the case nicely. Overall, I am very pleased and would highly recommend this sprayer to any homeowner tackling a moderate-size paint job.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will change the way you paint (and maybe your life)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am absolutely blown away by how well this paint sprayer worked. This is a gem of a tool that will address a wide range of DIY and homeowner projects.
Overview: The sprayer comes well packaged in it's own hard-sided carrying case for storage. Awesome.
Project: I've never used a paint sprayer before, so I decided to start with something straightforward- fencing and decking.
Performance: I sprayed ~300 sq ft of fencing and decking with a water sealer/stain in less than 20 minutes. The majority of that time was spent filling up the paint holder (refilled roughly 5 times). Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is better than this thing for fencing and decking. I've painted a lot of fences by hand and this BLOWS paintbrushes and rollers away. It fills in the cracks with one coat quickly and smoothly. AWESOME. There is no other way to paint a fence.
- I'll also be using this to paint my outside furniture and my interior doors with semi-gloss paint. I'll update the review once I do so. (The sprayer literally worked so well and was so fun to use that I'm actively trying to think of things to paint.)
Clean-up: Easy. Put a bit of paint thinner in the container and sprayed it out and wiped down with a rag. Done in no time. Easier to clean than brushes.
Other benefits:
- Instructions are incredibly thorough and detailed. Wagner has really thought of everything, they even include a poster to help you test out the spray as you acclimate to the tool.
The tool itself is pretty straightforward and intuitive, I was able to figure out most of the assembly without even looking at them.
Good to know:
- Paint container size is the only possible drawback. It could get tedious to frequently refill for very large jobs. For the average job it's fine.
- Screwing in the paint container (when it's full) is slightly awkward, but you'll get used to it. Move to fast in the beginning though and you may be looking at some spilled paint.
- Highly recommend a mask (also encouraged in the instructions). You might be able to get away without one outside, but you'll definitely need one if you inside.
- I used this outside so the overspray wasn't a real issue, but if you're painting indoors you'll need to prep/use tarps. (Wagner includes instructions on how to prep your space. I told you they'd thought of everything).
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really awesome tool

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been updating my whole house and changed over all the stained trim and door to white... by brush which was taking about 4 coats to get a nice solid white. This sprayer was incredible and fast. Once I got the hang of it... I was covering in one coat... turned out beautiful. And I bought this kit with a detail sprayer and used that on my staircase balusters... worked excellent. Kit comes with a huge paper poster for trying out sprayer techniques... which is a great idea. I carried a rag and the provide pin hole tool in back pocket so if the sprayer started spraying bigger specks of paint, simply wipe off nozzle and use tool to keep nozzle clear of any buildup... then it's back to fine spraying. Can't believe I didn't try a sprayer like this years ago. I even love that you can set down the sprayer for breaks like lunch, kids, and dinner, and pick back up where you left off. I simply wiped externally only around nozzle, and left paint in the containers overnight... and picked right back up the next day. Can't do that easily with a paint tray and brush! There is an art to learning the technique. I did mess up a door in the beginning because it was spraying bigger splatters instead of finer mist... then I realized I just need to keep the nozzle cleaner from build-up... and pull trigger less which adjusts paint flow. But it worked great with a very thick premium Behr paint w/ primer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this paint sprayer is a real time saver

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very pleased with the ease of use and how easy it was to clean......I would recommend this product to a friend
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this recently to touch up a few patio home furnishing that desperately needed a paint touch up. I used this in my garage along with some protective surface protector that I got from Home Depot. They both worked in unison to get the job done well. This sprayer was able to be adjusted accordingly to minimize paint missing its intended target. One key thing to remember with this is to follow the instructions on cleanup and do it properly. More than likely, cleanup will take longer than your actual task will take. I'm a slow painter, and this sprayer turned a multiple hour job into a 10 minute job, at most. Cleanup definitely took longer than 10 minutes but from what I read online it's absolutely essential for proper long-term function of this device. The machine has a little hum to it when its being used but overall its pretty quiet. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is sick of painting the old fashioned way. I know I certainly am! This is 2013!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance, the engineer, doesn't believe in instruction manuals. However, this product proves they exist for a reason. After errant sprays (all over the TV) and paint oozing out the back of the unit he reluctantly pulled out the manual and discovered that it was put together incorrectly. When assembled properly, the unit worked like a charm. It saved us significant time in painting our living room - and we only had to do one coat of paint! The unit must be cleaned out immediately after using so prevent the nozzle from getting clogged, don't procrastinate.
For a DIYer this was a great item....once the instructions were reviewed :)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the features of pro-series and then some!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to spray a desk with varnish. It worked well and made the job a breeze. I love that is has multiple paint containers so you can keep going when you get going. The price is well worth the trade for making application so easy! Thanks Wagner!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even I can paint with it.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK - first impressions. The sprayer comes in a nice plastic case, with the turban, the general use spray head, and the detail spray head. Assembly is easy - a quarter turn locks the spray head to the turban. It latches in place so you do not have to worry about it while painting.
While it is about the same size, and looks a lot like an airless paint sprayer, you notice the difference when you start to use it. It is quiet, and almost vibration free. You do not require hearing protection, even at the highest turban settings. I wish my vacuum cleaner was this quiet! Unlike an airless sprayer, you can go through several batches of paint without significant hand fatigue.
I am not that good at painting, but I can get good results from this sprayer. While you can get acceptable results after just skimming the manual, to get the most out of it, you should read the manual, and then fill the sprayer with water, and tape it outside to play with it. Get a feel for how the controls interact to give you different spray patterns and sizes. You have the choice of a vertical fan, a horizontal fan, or a circle pattern. You can control the size of the pattern by varying the turban speed and the trigger stop. If you have a fine touch, you can even change it on the fly by how much you pull in the trigger.
I am pleased by how the spray heads handle a variety of paints and stains. It even managed to handle drywall primer, but it struggled with it. I did not expect it to be able to spray it at all. It made quick work of staining my fence, at least until the wind picked up. Mother nature has not been helpful with the weather this spring.
Cleanup could not be easier. After cleaning the cup, you half fill it with cleaner, and spray it through. It will usually clean up the venturi just fine. If not, a brush is included to help. Even the outside cleans up easily. Being able to detach the turban lets you put the spray head in the sink and clean it - great for paints and stains that clean up with soap and water.
I have not used the detail spray head much yet. I plan on using it to stain small woodworking projects over the winter. From my tests with water, it looks like it will work great.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with its performance

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Flexio 590 Wagner Spray gun is a must have for home improvements, even for a novice. It comes in a convenient storage case with a well-written manual which is a quick read and easy to understand. Rollers and brushes are synonymous with backbreaking work but this gun made painting an enjoyable task. With no assembly required, you have the option to use a large iSpray Nozzle or the smaller Detail Finish Nozzle which attaches to the gun like plug-n-play. You can adjust the spray width lever which determines the pattern of spray and can control the amount of material sprayed. It also has X-Boost power dial ranging “0-9” which gives you control over the air power.
I used the detail finish nozzle to stain my deck and followed up with a brush to work the stain into the grain especially where there were deeper grooves. This allowed me to apply the stain equally with ease. The unit was not too heavy on the wrist either and this project took about 3 hours. I also stained the mailbox post in less than a minute. Irrespective of the job size, this gun delivers. Make sure to wear a face mask and safety glasses because there are some fine particles which permeate the air. Also, tape and drape off the area not to be painted. More time is spent in prepping the area so there are crisp clear lines and no spatter. Once the prep is complete, staining/painting is a piece of cake. I felt like a professional and accomplished so much without lifting a roller. The gun coated the wood beautifully with a smooth and even spray with no drips, drops or clumps.
Cleanup was easy and not messy like washing trays, rollers or brushes. The iSpray Nozzle has 10 parts and Detail Finish Nozzle has 9 parts that require cleaning with negligible time to disassemble and reassemble. Just soak the parts in detergent and scrub away and the unit is ready to tackle a new project. Thoroughly clean the unit before storage to ensure a clean even spray each time. I am very happy with its performance and highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
79out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Abita Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Item!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the Wagner 590 and was skeptical on how it would work. It was the first time I used a sprayer. It was very easy to use. I did find out a trick that works well to keep it spraying smoothly. If it begin to splatter, there is probably something in front of the jet. I just keep a small jar of water with a tooth brush handy and brush it across the front of the tip, wipe with a rag and continue on. It really works great. I highly recommend this product
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sweet and quick

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instructions were very clear. Not as complicated as I thought it would be. There are adjustments for air flow depending what you are painting, also the width. Once you make the proper adjustments you are good to go. I expected to spend all day painting a shed and in an hour we were done. The HVLP turbine delivers enough power and the overspray was low. For those who don't know what HVLP is it is high volume low pressure and it lowers the overspray considerably. Cuts painting time down drastically. I would highly recommend this. Cleanup of the gun and parts was quick . Again, instructions were very good. As a woman retired it was no problem as it was lightweight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+110points
132out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Bel Air, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't believe the negative reviews

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a smooth finish for my latest project. I spent too much time sanding and finishing to have brush or roller strokes. I have several other Wagner products that I have been satisfied with. After reading previous reviews about this paint sprayer, I had some concerns. But fear not, this paint sprayer is awesome! Just follow the directions to archive the results you want. I mainly purchased this unit to finish some furniture I built. I wanted to use the detail sprayer with latex paint. The only thing I had to do was thin the thin the paint with Wagner Easy Paint conditioner. Flawless results were achived. Just make sure all connections are tight. This is a sprayer under pressure. Take the added time and thoroughly clean unit after use and you will have no issues. The only issue I have is that the Home Depot near to me does not stock additional bowls or filters. They can be ordered easily on-line, but would be more convienient if offered in store.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: availability of in store accessories.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>