728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.706 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(221 reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product161 of 214reviews
Rating Breakdown 221 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(101)
4
(52)
3
(13)
2
(12)
1
(43)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product161 of 214reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 159 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance, the engineer, doesn't believe in instruction manuals. However, this product proves they exist for a reason. After errant sprays (all over the TV) and paint oozing out the back of the unit he reluctantly pulled out the manual and discovered that it was put together incorrectly. When assembled properly, the unit worked like a charm. It saved us significant time in painting our living room - and we only had to do one coat of paint! The unit must be cleaned out immediately after using so prevent the nozzle from getting clogged, don't procrastinate.
For a DIYer this was a great item....once the instructions were reviewed :)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the features of pro-series and then some!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to spray a desk with varnish. It worked well and made the job a breeze. I love that is has multiple paint containers so you can keep going when you get going. The price is well worth the trade for making application so easy! Thanks Wagner!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Painted a 10x12 shed

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was told by a friend of mine that Wagner makes a good product but I had no idea it worked this well. I put 2 coats of primer on and two coats of thick lifetime Sherwin Williams paint on my shed in about 3 hours and it looks professionally done. I am by no means a professional painter. It puts an even coat on every time with no troubles. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from collinsville il

sprayer works good even with thick paint

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this gun to paint new trim it handle the thicker paint with no problems
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+110points
132out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even I can paint with it.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK - first impressions. The sprayer comes in a nice plastic case, with the turban, the general use spray head, and the detail spray head. Assembly is easy - a quarter turn locks the spray head to the turban. It latches in place so you do not have to worry about it while painting.
While it is about the same size, and looks a lot like an airless paint sprayer, you notice the difference when you start to use it. It is quiet, and almost vibration free. You do not require hearing protection, even at the highest turban settings. I wish my vacuum cleaner was this quiet! Unlike an airless sprayer, you can go through several batches of paint without significant hand fatigue.
I am not that good at painting, but I can get good results from this sprayer. While you can get acceptable results after just skimming the manual, to get the most out of it, you should read the manual, and then fill the sprayer with water, and tape it outside to play with it. Get a feel for how the controls interact to give you different spray patterns and sizes. You have the choice of a vertical fan, a horizontal fan, or a circle pattern. You can control the size of the pattern by varying the turban speed and the trigger stop. If you have a fine touch, you can even change it on the fly by how much you pull in the trigger.
I am pleased by how the spray heads handle a variety of paints and stains. It even managed to handle drywall primer, but it struggled with it. I did not expect it to be able to spray it at all. It made quick work of staining my fence, at least until the wind picked up. Mother nature has not been helpful with the weather this spring.
Cleanup could not be easier. After cleaning the cup, you half fill it with cleaner, and spray it through. It will usually clean up the venturi just fine. If not, a brush is included to help. Even the outside cleans up easily. Being able to detach the turban lets you put the spray head in the sink and clean it - great for paints and stains that clean up with soap and water.
I have not used the detail spray head much yet. I plan on using it to stain small woodworking projects over the winter. From my tests with water, it looks like it will work great.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Tennessee
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wagner got it right with this sprayer. It is easy to use, works well, and cleans up easily. Went through 4 gallons of solid sealer on my deck in 2 hours that would have taken two days to do by hand. Having owned Wagner products in the past, I have always liked them. but this sprayer is night and day better than those. It is extremely quiet compared to the old sprayers and cleans up much easier. Worth every penny.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Houston,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better sprayer then I expected.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had another paint sprayer years ago from black and decker and vowed to never buy another one again.
After attempting to roll pain on the walls it didn't take me to long to figure out i wasn't going to paint the room with a roller. My neck back and shoulders could not take it.
I researched this sprayer and a few others but finally decided to get this one regardless of the negatives posted(ill address some of the negatives shortly).
Well the last few days after purchasing this product restored my faith in paint sprayers. I was able to use a latex paint out of the can and in to the sprayer and went to town. It did what it is supposed to do. Though it took me 2 days to paint a room 13 x 21 x 10.
It sprayed the point on flawlessly. But in order for it do that I had to prep the room properly taping off everything i didn't want to get paint on including the carpet (don't buy the cheep plastic painters drapes they are not worth the money buy the good cloth ones you will have less headaches in the long run). My previous sprayer would always get globed up and splatter the paint on to the walls that you had to run a roller on it after you sprayed it. This sprayer did not require that step at all, no globs just a nice pattern of spray with no clogging either. Great sprayer!
Now to address some of the negatives. I have read about the problems people are having after initial use or even after a couple uses. I believe that this is because the directions are not fully finished on how to clean the sprayer. Sure you can do what the directions say by running water through the sprayer. But realistically you need to take the spray head apart and clean it thoroughly. I found no instructions on how to separate the spray head components individually but was able to figure it out after about 10 min. I cleaned the spray head as if i was going to take it back and say i decided i wasn't going to use it after all. In short when i was done the sprayer looked like it was brand new. So when the second day came around and i was able to finish the job using the sprayer the second day it again worked flawlessly.
I am no painter I hate painting more then anything else. Painting is a job for some one else to do if it didn't cost so darn much to hire some one to do the job. That being said buy this sprayer use it clean it like you want to take it back and say you never used it dry it off and put it in the box tell you want to use it again.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: poor cleaning instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for DIYers!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've been painting a long time and can be pretty darn effective with a roller, but I have some good things to say about this sprayer. After putting the first coat stain on my deck, I decided to try utilizing the sprayer for the second coat. I would say for large jobs like that, this sprayer is ideal. Some perks over other sprayers would be the lower noise, very little if any overspray, and improved clean up job over other sprayers. It came in a durable plastic case that was very handy. For the price point, I think I got some good value out of it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, low noise level
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Bel Air, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't believe the negative reviews

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a smooth finish for my latest project. I spent too much time sanding and finishing to have brush or roller strokes. I have several other Wagner products that I have been satisfied with. After reading previous reviews about this paint sprayer, I had some concerns. But fear not, this paint sprayer is awesome! Just follow the directions to archive the results you want. I mainly purchased this unit to finish some furniture I built. I wanted to use the detail sprayer with latex paint. The only thing I had to do was thin the thin the paint with Wagner Easy Paint conditioner. Flawless results were achived. Just make sure all connections are tight. This is a sprayer under pressure. Take the added time and thoroughly clean unit after use and you will have no issues. The only issue I have is that the Home Depot near to me does not stock additional bowls or filters. They can be ordered easily on-line, but would be more convienient if offered in store.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: availability of in store accessories.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
65out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great when you treat it right.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this to do three rooms, walls, ceilings and trim. Wall and ceilings were latex, trim was oil base. Did an excellent job and left a great finish. To get good results always always always strain your paint. Second always err to the light side of paint application. It is easier to spray twice than to wipe excess paint off the wall. Clean the sprayer before and after you use it because it doesn't take much to mess up your spray. Also keep the nozzle clean while you are spraying. Wipe the nozzle at least every minute. Treat this sprayer right and it will do an outstanding job for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution for an unpleasant chore

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our front porch includes about fifty feet of wooden lattice, and painting it has to score in the top ten of my least favorite jobs. Rollers don't work well, and using a brush takes half of forever. This time around I decided to try a sprayer -- and after some research decided on this Wagner Flexio 590.
Some of the negative reviews gave me a bit of hesitation, but the general drift I got from most is that you need to read and follow the instructions closely (many people don't), you need to pay particular attention to cleaning the parts (again, some people apparently don't), and you need to reassemble it correctly if you expect it to work a second time (yup, that seems to catch some people too).
I spent a fair amount of time reading the instructions, and took the thing completely apart and reassembled it several times before I tried actually using it. That turns out to be a really good idea: the parts are much easier to identify when they aren't covered in paint. In particular, there's a special washer with a groove that needs to face toward the nozzle; if you don't know what you're looking for, it would be easy to lose it during the cleaning process, or to reassemble it facing the wrong way.
Armed with this experience, I took the thing outside and filled it with Kilz latex primer. After a few practice swipes on a piece of cardboard, I tried my hand at the lattice -- and was quite surprised at how well it works. The spray pattern is quite even, and though there is a bit of overspray, it was less than I expected. The shocker was that I managed to finish all fifty feet of lattice in about ten minutes.
It turns out that cleanup took about twice as long as the painting, but it helped my attitude to remember that had I been using a brush, I would still be at it for at least another hour. And in truth, the cleanup wasn't all that hard. Latex paint comes off all of the plastic parts fairly easily, and the little brush that is supplied is fairly helpful. A light duty scrubbing sponge also helps.
After several hours, I reassembled the sprayer and filled it up with Behr latex enamel; again, it worked flawlessly even though the paint is rather thick. The instructions warn against thinning the paint for most cases, and they are right. Again, the coverage is even and the job went by very quickly, followed by a thorough cleaning.
The kit includes a carrying case, the power unit (which is something like an overpowered unheated hair dryer), the larger spray attachment for general work, and a smaller attachment for finer work. I haven't used the smaller sprayer yet, but I would expect it to perform similarly.
All in all, the Flexio 590 has turned out to be a very good choice. It made very quick work of a tedious chore, and did it nicely. If your style is to rip open the box, toss the instructions aside and blaze away... well, you probably will have trouble, especially the second or third time you try to use it. But so long as you are patient and are willing to follow directions, I gladly recommend it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, good for painting irregular surfaces, very fast application
Cons: cleaning is time consuming
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great time saver with professional results

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gun upgraded my previously owned Wagner 570 and I am more than happy with 590’s performance and capabilities. It requires no spray painting skills what so ever and any DIYer can produce professional results using this gun with the help of tips provided in included manual. Kit ships with 2 nozzles which I find very handy while painting multiple colors or working in tight coverage area. With iSpray nozzle, I had been able to cover large areas with minimal effort / time and with detailed finish nozzle my prep time was shortened since it worked great in tight areas.
My wife and I built a hard board castle for our 4 year old and we used this gun along with paint ready station to paint it all. Once prep work was done, it took us about half hour to complete the task that could have taken half a day with brushes and rollers. The outcome appeared professional. The gun allowed me to control the speed, pattern and amount of paint it sprayed out which makes it a true jack of all trades.
Even though this gun can handle any size task but I recommend using it when a task without this gun will take more than an hour since the afterwards cleaning will take about good 20+ minutes. Even though you can just soak the nozzles in soapy water for cleanup but I scrub every part with a small brush to ensure that it’s absolutely clean and ready for my next task. iSpray and Detail nozzle dis-assembles in 19 parts so I would strongly recommend taking pictures as you dis-assemble. It helped me a lot when I assembled the nozzles again. Included 2 cleaning tools are very handy and have greatly helped me in cleaning the gun.
I strongly recommend wearing a good quality face mask and if you are painting outdoors then pick a day when there is no wind at all.
Given the time and energy I saved and professional results I produced using this gun, it has already paid itself off. Go buy it, you will like it,
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Chicago IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint Sprayer

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to paint the porch from outside and wanted to paint the fence but it would have taken me all day to do this, so I went to home depot and asked about a paint gun, this was very inexpensive and to my surprise it worked fine, i was able to paint the whole back porch, the fence, and part of the garage,
awesome. I've seen other comments about it is hard to clean,, it is not hard, it just takes some time, but for the time i saved on not painting by hand, i don't mind taking a bit of time to clean it.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>