728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.908 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product99 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product99 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
PJCC
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the Impossible, Possible. Fast, Lightweight, Easy Grip & Ez pull trigger.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The spray painter arrived in a lightweight plastic storage case. Easy is a word I could overuse in describing how this Paint system can help a DIYer working alone.
Out of a smooth plastic Box: The 590 power sprayer with 9 speeds has pictures on the display as a reminder when adjusting speeds; A detail nozzle with a .625 quart cup; I-Spray nozzle with the material flow adjustment and pattern adjustment control and a 1.5 quart wide mouth cup; Small bottle brush for cleaning; 1 page poster size color illustrated quick start guide; A large foldout illustrated spray poster practice sheet; An illustrative black and white owner's manual; A one sheet masking guide for Interior Paint Spraying; and A plastic tool, thinning accessory that can also be used for stirring paint, unclogging the holes in the detail finish nozzle, opening containers. Wagner has references you can follow to an online website.
The manuals are clearly written and illustrated. A postcard, my cat chewed, tells you Wagner values what you think, please review us. This respect for a customer boosts your confidence in this company.
The only extra item I wanted in the box was an ordering postcard for another 1.5 quart wide mouth paint cup. I weigh the spray system at about 3lbs, without paint in the cup. The nozzle pulls easily, even if you already have slight pain in your hands.
This came after the start of rainy season in Florida. I ignored most of the directions, except the quick start guide. I needed to use my 1 (one day) of dry weather to repaint a storage unit and touch up house eaves. Love bug season has started in Florida. I was fighting bugs while doing this. RA in my hands was flaring.
I've done many paint jobs. I'm very slow and mask everything, I've attempted wall art and design. This system surprised me with how much I could accomplish quickly. Although sometimes sloppy. I was painting white on white. I would take more time to mask if I was using color. The eaves touch up and storage unit repaint took one afternoon. Clean up was easy with latex paint.
The potential for projects with the detail nozzle is very exciting. I judged this entire kit on one afternoon of painting. I woke up with no hand pain from the five hours of pulling the paint gun trigger. I could start using it again today, if it wasn't too wet already.
As an older person who is told you can't keep a house up alone, I'll be happy to reply, I'm not alone, Wagner is helping me!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, many uses including creative, lightweight, easy cleanup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Judson
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+40points
64out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
mixmox
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Homeremodeler533
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My fiance, the engineer, doesn't believe in instruction manuals. However, this product proves they exist for a reason. After errant sprays (all over the TV) and paint oozing out the back of the unit he reluctantly pulled out the manual and discovered that it was put together incorrectly. When assembled properly, the unit worked like a charm. It saved us significant time in painting our living room - and we only had to do one coat of paint! The unit must be cleaned out immediately after using so prevent the nozzle from getting clogged, don't procrastinate.
For a DIYer this was a great item....once the instructions were reviewed :)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Smo77
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
LindaPB
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sweet and quick

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions were very clear. Not as complicated as I thought it would be. There are adjustments for air flow depending what you are painting, also the width. Once you make the proper adjustments you are good to go. I expected to spend all day painting a shed and in an hour we were done. The HVLP turbine delivers enough power and the overspray was low. For those who don't know what HVLP is it is high volume low pressure and it lowers the overspray considerably. Cuts painting time down drastically. I would highly recommend this. Cleanup of the gun and parts was quick . Again, instructions were very good. As a woman retired it was no problem as it was lightweight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Mikkel1955
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even I can paint with it.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK - first impressions. The sprayer comes in a nice plastic case, with the turban, the general use spray head, and the detail spray head. Assembly is easy - a quarter turn locks the spray head to the turban. It latches in place so you do not have to worry about it while painting.
While it is about the same size, and looks a lot like an airless paint sprayer, you notice the difference when you start to use it. It is quiet, and almost vibration free. You do not require hearing protection, even at the highest turban settings. I wish my vacuum cleaner was this quiet! Unlike an airless sprayer, you can go through several batches of paint without significant hand fatigue.
I am not that good at painting, but I can get good results from this sprayer. While you can get acceptable results after just skimming the manual, to get the most out of it, you should read the manual, and then fill the sprayer with water, and tape it outside to play with it. Get a feel for how the controls interact to give you different spray patterns and sizes. You have the choice of a vertical fan, a horizontal fan, or a circle pattern. You can control the size of the pattern by varying the turban speed and the trigger stop. If you have a fine touch, you can even change it on the fly by how much you pull in the trigger.
I am pleased by how the spray heads handle a variety of paints and stains. It even managed to handle drywall primer, but it struggled with it. I did not expect it to be able to spray it at all. It made quick work of staining my fence, at least until the wind picked up. Mother nature has not been helpful with the weather this spring.
Cleanup could not be easier. After cleaning the cup, you half fill it with cleaner, and spray it through. It will usually clean up the venturi just fine. If not, a brush is included to help. Even the outside cleans up easily. Being able to detach the turban lets you put the spray head in the sink and clean it - great for paints and stains that clean up with soap and water.
I have not used the detail spray head much yet. I plan on using it to stain small woodworking projects over the winter. From my tests with water, it looks like it will work great.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Randall

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
whatdoiknow
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
thebighash
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an average DIYer and this is the second time I use a paint sprayer. Having used the FLEXIO 570 series last week, this week I had the opportunity to test the FLEXIO 590 series.
The first major difference is that this sprayer (590) comes in a nice and organized case rather than just parts thrown in a carton box (570). The second difference is the spray rate. The 590 series sprays up to 8 gal/hr vs. 7.2 gal/hr for the 570 series.
Upon use, I could not find a tangible differenece between the two. Maybe this is because I did not compare them back-to-back. Having used the 570 series last week, I'm sure there was a learning curve and that's why I was more comfortable with the 590 series.
I painted an indoor garage wall and I am happy with the results. Once you get the hang of it you can achieve better consistency and therefore better results. You need to switch between the vertical (up-down) and horizontal (side-to-side) options as appropriate for your application. You can also control the amount of paint it sprays by modulating your finger on the trigger.
You would need a roll or brush to correct mistakes you make as you go. You will need those particularly when you release the trigger as the sprayer tends to spit out some lumps of paint. The other option would be to direct the sprayer away from the paint area and then release the trigger.
As with any other tool, take a few minutes to read the instructions and familiarize yourself with the equipment.
Plan on taking short rests every few minutes as the weight of carrying this thing around can fatigue your arms & shoulders.
Overall we are very happy with this product, and would definitely use it for our future painting plans. It appears to be of good quality and the price is reasonable.
Having recently painted our new house using rollers & brushes, I can now appreciate this sprayer and the time it can save the average DIYer :)
I would definitely recommend the 590 series as I believe the price difference is justified by having (1) the case for better storage & carrying around, and (2) the higher spray rate that can definitely help with bigger projects.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
CMMToolMan
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete paint spray system

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nicely done spray painting kit. I'm pleased with the dedicated box that is fitted to hold the equipment. It's much nicer than having to store the equipment in the cardboard box it ships in. The inside plastic appears to be very slick so, hopefully, paint residue won't adhere to it.
The sprayers are constructed from thick material and have a quality feel to them. I appreciate the side located spray pattern adjustment on the large sprayer. Located away from the spraying nozzle, the users fingers and hand are safer from accidental spraying during spray pattern adjustment.
The paint reservoirs fit tightly with the power head and the two halves snap together when properly fitted. The design balances the weight of the power head opposite the weight of the paint reservoir helping to balance the system in the user's hand. There are only a few pieces between the paint reservoir and the spray tip, so clean up should be pretty straight forward.
I'm impressed with the quality and design of this spray system and look forward to using it on my next spray painting project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
mixerdude
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New Concept for Spraying

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past, I had an older type of airless sprayer. The cleanup, maintenance, and overall performance were less than desired.
I think this new design is an efficient and effective way to paint with an airless sprayer. Cleanup is much much easier, and there are less parts to have to disassemble and replace.
I recommend that you forget how you used an older type of airless, and develop a technique for this new style of sprayer. There is certainly a trigger finesse that needs to be learned, as well as the paint application technique. Practice, practice, practice should be your first rule. After I spent some time using the practice poster, and some unseen areas of my garage, I have no issues using this painter. I will admit I devoted a couple of days playing and practicing with this machine at first. It was time well spent that is paying dividends now.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Brian
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Retired
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
ThisOldGarageNJ
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One Of The Best Ever...

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WAGNER FLEXIO 590 HVLP PAINT SPRAYER
I’ve purchase many paint sprayers over the last few years. Some were either too big or too small to do the job properly, or too much work to clean. The battery units were too heavy. The Wagner Flexio 590 however is the most flexible unit I have. It’s the right size for so many jobs.
I would recommend this for anything from painting outdoor furniture, fences, Interior rooms and even the whole house. Its solid, Lightweight and doesn’t make a lot of noise like some of the other airless sprayers.
Setup & use are a snap, and cleanup is a breeze. Attached pictures show a cinderblock wall I sprayed with 2 coats in less than 4 hours including clean up time. The gun sprayed a heavy latex paint, with minor problems, every once in a while I had to clean out the tip with the yellow tool that came with the gun.
Totally pleased with this item and see it getting plenty of use well into the future. Just started painting the Aluminum and garage door at my home and its working great,,, you should be albe to see the difference..
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
LEDengineer
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes painting a lot faster

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never used a home paint sprayer before. But I actually like it. Using the iSpray nozzle, I painted a 150ft long wooden fence in about 45 minutes - normally this would have taken hours. The finish was very even, and there was surprisingly very little overspray and misting. The reservoir is fairly small though, so I had to stop every 8 to 10 feet to refill it. That's what actually took most of the time. Cleanup was simple and quick. The instruction manual is good, very detailed, and even though I'm the kind of guy that usually doesn't read instructions, I found it very helpful. It gives you good information to get a clean, even spray pattern.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Aaron
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Texas
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing, professional results

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The multi-use Wagner 590 paint sprayer is not your typical home paint sprayer. I've used paint sprayers aimed at the home market before, and I've always been disappointed. The little 'putt-putt' motors would spatter the paint and provide a surface that needed back-rolling.
This sprayer is just amazing. No spluttering, even when using unthinned paint. Rather than spray the paint in uneven bursts, this sprayer creates a fine mist, similar to what you might get from a paint aerosol, rattle, can. The difference being this sprayer covers a much larger area.
The spray is consistent, and allows you to quickly cover larger areas. I found it was not necessary to thin the paint when spraying textured walls and a ceiling, I did thin the paint when spraying kitchen cupboards as I wanted a smooth, gloss like, finish.
Two paint tubs, with different nozzles, are provided. The larger tub quickly covers larger areas, and leave a finish similar to that of using a paint roller. The smaller tub is perfect for fine detail work, and works best with oil based stains and paints, it leaves a smoother finish.
A few years ago we paid a contractor to paint a 30 by 30 room as I felt it was beyond my ability using a roller and brush. I watched part of the process as the contractor used a larger, commercial, spray machine. When it needs repainting I will be using this sprayer myself. This sprayer easily matches the results the contractor had.
Many companies claim to sell machines that are easy to use, inexpensive, and give professional results. I've previously always been let down. Wagner just made me a believer, I'me very pleased with this sprayer. I suspect my contractor may not be as happy.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Hondo
from Tennessee
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wagner got it right with this sprayer. It is easy to use, works well, and cleans up easily. Went through 4 gallons of solid sealer on my deck in 2 hours that would have taken two days to do by hand. Having owned Wagner products in the past, I have always liked them. but this sprayer is night and day better than those. It is extremely quiet compared to the old sprayers and cleans up much easier. Worth every penny.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Buddy
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hand held handle did not bother my arthritis at all while using.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this sprayer yesterday and used today on wooden fence 45' long by 5' high. It did a great job and did not have to thin down the latex stain. However I'm an older gentleman and the clean out was fairly easy but for me putting the sucker back together wasn't easy and I'm sure it was just me and my old worn out hands..+ eye sight..
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>