728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.687 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(230 reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product166 of 223reviews
Rating Breakdown 230 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(105)
4
(53)
3
(13)
2
(13)
1
(46)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product166 of 223reviews
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete paint spray system

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nicely done spray painting kit. I'm pleased with the dedicated box that is fitted to hold the equipment. It's much nicer than having to store the equipment in the cardboard box it ships in. The inside plastic appears to be very slick so, hopefully, paint residue won't adhere to it.
The sprayers are constructed from thick material and have a quality feel to them. I appreciate the side located spray pattern adjustment on the large sprayer. Located away from the spraying nozzle, the users fingers and hand are safer from accidental spraying during spray pattern adjustment.
The paint reservoirs fit tightly with the power head and the two halves snap together when properly fitted. The design balances the weight of the power head opposite the weight of the paint reservoir helping to balance the system in the user's hand. There are only a few pieces between the paint reservoir and the spray tip, so clean up should be pretty straight forward.
I'm impressed with the quality and design of this spray system and look forward to using it on my next spray painting project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hand held handle did not bother my arthritis at all while using.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this sprayer yesterday and used today on wooden fence 45' long by 5' high. It did a great job and did not have to thin down the latex stain. However I'm an older gentleman and the clean out was fairly easy but for me putting the sucker back together wasn't easy and I'm sure it was just me and my old worn out hands..+ eye sight..
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will change the way you paint (and maybe your life)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am absolutely blown away by how well this paint sprayer worked. This is a gem of a tool that will address a wide range of DIY and homeowner projects.
Overview: The sprayer comes well packaged in it's own hard-sided carrying case for storage. Awesome.
Project: I've never used a paint sprayer before, so I decided to start with something straightforward- fencing and decking.
Performance: I sprayed ~300 sq ft of fencing and decking with a water sealer/stain in less than 20 minutes. The majority of that time was spent filling up the paint holder (refilled roughly 5 times). Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is better than this thing for fencing and decking. I've painted a lot of fences by hand and this BLOWS paintbrushes and rollers away. It fills in the cracks with one coat quickly and smoothly. AWESOME. There is no other way to paint a fence.
- I'll also be using this to paint my outside furniture and my interior doors with semi-gloss paint. I'll update the review once I do so. (The sprayer literally worked so well and was so fun to use that I'm actively trying to think of things to paint.)
Clean-up: Easy. Put a bit of paint thinner in the container and sprayed it out and wiped down with a rag. Done in no time. Easier to clean than brushes.
Other benefits:
- Instructions are incredibly thorough and detailed. Wagner has really thought of everything, they even include a poster to help you test out the spray as you acclimate to the tool.
The tool itself is pretty straightforward and intuitive, I was able to figure out most of the assembly without even looking at them.
Good to know:
- Paint container size is the only possible drawback. It could get tedious to frequently refill for very large jobs. For the average job it's fine.
- Screwing in the paint container (when it's full) is slightly awkward, but you'll get used to it. Move to fast in the beginning though and you may be looking at some spilled paint.
- Highly recommend a mask (also encouraged in the instructions). You might be able to get away without one outside, but you'll definitely need one if you inside.
- I used this outside so the overspray wasn't a real issue, but if you're painting indoors you'll need to prep/use tarps. (Wagner includes instructions on how to prep your space. I told you they'd thought of everything).
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really awesome tool

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been updating my whole house and changed over all the stained trim and door to white... by brush which was taking about 4 coats to get a nice solid white. This sprayer was incredible and fast. Once I got the hang of it... I was covering in one coat... turned out beautiful. And I bought this kit with a detail sprayer and used that on my staircase balusters... worked excellent. Kit comes with a huge paper poster for trying out sprayer techniques... which is a great idea. I carried a rag and the provide pin hole tool in back pocket so if the sprayer started spraying bigger specks of paint, simply wipe off nozzle and use tool to keep nozzle clear of any buildup... then it's back to fine spraying. Can't believe I didn't try a sprayer like this years ago. I even love that you can set down the sprayer for breaks like lunch, kids, and dinner, and pick back up where you left off. I simply wiped externally only around nozzle, and left paint in the containers overnight... and picked right back up the next day. Can't do that easily with a paint tray and brush! There is an art to learning the technique. I did mess up a door in the beginning because it was spraying bigger splatters instead of finer mist... then I realized I just need to keep the nozzle cleaner from build-up... and pull trigger less which adjusts paint flow. But it worked great with a very thick premium Behr paint w/ primer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this paint sprayer is a real time saver

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very pleased with the ease of use and how easy it was to clean......I would recommend this product to a friend
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this recently to touch up a few patio home furnishing that desperately needed a paint touch up. I used this in my garage along with some protective surface protector that I got from Home Depot. They both worked in unison to get the job done well. This sprayer was able to be adjusted accordingly to minimize paint missing its intended target. One key thing to remember with this is to follow the instructions on cleanup and do it properly. More than likely, cleanup will take longer than your actual task will take. I'm a slow painter, and this sprayer turned a multiple hour job into a 10 minute job, at most. Cleanup definitely took longer than 10 minutes but from what I read online it's absolutely essential for proper long-term function of this device. The machine has a little hum to it when its being used but overall its pretty quiet. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is sick of painting the old fashioned way. I know I certainly am! This is 2013!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance, the engineer, doesn't believe in instruction manuals. However, this product proves they exist for a reason. After errant sprays (all over the TV) and paint oozing out the back of the unit he reluctantly pulled out the manual and discovered that it was put together incorrectly. When assembled properly, the unit worked like a charm. It saved us significant time in painting our living room - and we only had to do one coat of paint! The unit must be cleaned out immediately after using so prevent the nozzle from getting clogged, don't procrastinate.
For a DIYer this was a great item....once the instructions were reviewed :)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the features of pro-series and then some!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to spray a desk with varnish. It worked well and made the job a breeze. I love that is has multiple paint containers so you can keep going when you get going. The price is well worth the trade for making application so easy! Thanks Wagner!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even I can paint with it.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK - first impressions. The sprayer comes in a nice plastic case, with the turban, the general use spray head, and the detail spray head. Assembly is easy - a quarter turn locks the spray head to the turban. It latches in place so you do not have to worry about it while painting.
While it is about the same size, and looks a lot like an airless paint sprayer, you notice the difference when you start to use it. It is quiet, and almost vibration free. You do not require hearing protection, even at the highest turban settings. I wish my vacuum cleaner was this quiet! Unlike an airless sprayer, you can go through several batches of paint without significant hand fatigue.
I am not that good at painting, but I can get good results from this sprayer. While you can get acceptable results after just skimming the manual, to get the most out of it, you should read the manual, and then fill the sprayer with water, and tape it outside to play with it. Get a feel for how the controls interact to give you different spray patterns and sizes. You have the choice of a vertical fan, a horizontal fan, or a circle pattern. You can control the size of the pattern by varying the turban speed and the trigger stop. If you have a fine touch, you can even change it on the fly by how much you pull in the trigger.
I am pleased by how the spray heads handle a variety of paints and stains. It even managed to handle drywall primer, but it struggled with it. I did not expect it to be able to spray it at all. It made quick work of staining my fence, at least until the wind picked up. Mother nature has not been helpful with the weather this spring.
Cleanup could not be easier. After cleaning the cup, you half fill it with cleaner, and spray it through. It will usually clean up the venturi just fine. If not, a brush is included to help. Even the outside cleans up easily. Being able to detach the turban lets you put the spray head in the sink and clean it - great for paints and stains that clean up with soap and water.
I have not used the detail spray head much yet. I plan on using it to stain small woodworking projects over the winter. From my tests with water, it looks like it will work great.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Abita Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Item!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the Wagner 590 and was skeptical on how it would work. It was the first time I used a sprayer. It was very easy to use. I did find out a trick that works well to keep it spraying smoothly. If it begin to splatter, there is probably something in front of the jet. I just keep a small jar of water with a tooth brush handy and brush it across the front of the tip, wipe with a rag and continue on. It really works great. I highly recommend this product
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sweet and quick

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instructions were very clear. Not as complicated as I thought it would be. There are adjustments for air flow depending what you are painting, also the width. Once you make the proper adjustments you are good to go. I expected to spend all day painting a shed and in an hour we were done. The HVLP turbine delivers enough power and the overspray was low. For those who don't know what HVLP is it is high volume low pressure and it lowers the overspray considerably. Cuts painting time down drastically. I would highly recommend this. Cleanup of the gun and parts was quick . Again, instructions were very good. As a woman retired it was no problem as it was lightweight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Bel Air, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't believe the negative reviews

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a smooth finish for my latest project. I spent too much time sanding and finishing to have brush or roller strokes. I have several other Wagner products that I have been satisfied with. After reading previous reviews about this paint sprayer, I had some concerns. But fear not, this paint sprayer is awesome! Just follow the directions to archive the results you want. I mainly purchased this unit to finish some furniture I built. I wanted to use the detail sprayer with latex paint. The only thing I had to do was thin the thin the paint with Wagner Easy Paint conditioner. Flawless results were achived. Just make sure all connections are tight. This is a sprayer under pressure. Take the added time and thoroughly clean unit after use and you will have no issues. The only issue I have is that the Home Depot near to me does not stock additional bowls or filters. They can be ordered easily on-line, but would be more convienient if offered in store.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: availability of in store accessories.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an average DIYer and this is the second time I use a paint sprayer. Having used the FLEXIO 570 series last week, this week I had the opportunity to test the FLEXIO 590 series.
The first major difference is that this sprayer (590) comes in a nice and organized case rather than just parts thrown in a carton box (570). The second difference is the spray rate. The 590 series sprays up to 8 gal/hr vs. 7.2 gal/hr for the 570 series.
Upon use, I could not find a tangible differenece between the two. Maybe this is because I did not compare them back-to-back. Having used the 570 series last week, I'm sure there was a learning curve and that's why I was more comfortable with the 590 series.
I painted an indoor garage wall and I am happy with the results. Once you get the hang of it you can achieve better consistency and therefore better results. You need to switch between the vertical (up-down) and horizontal (side-to-side) options as appropriate for your application. You can also control the amount of paint it sprays by modulating your finger on the trigger.
You would need a roll or brush to correct mistakes you make as you go. You will need those particularly when you release the trigger as the sprayer tends to spit out some lumps of paint. The other option would be to direct the sprayer away from the paint area and then release the trigger.
As with any other tool, take a few minutes to read the instructions and familiarize yourself with the equipment.
Plan on taking short rests every few minutes as the weight of carrying this thing around can fatigue your arms & shoulders.
Overall we are very happy with this product, and would definitely use it for our future painting plans. It appears to be of good quality and the price is reasonable.
Having recently painted our new house using rollers & brushes, I can now appreciate this sprayer and the time it can save the average DIYer :)
I would definitely recommend the 590 series as I believe the price difference is justified by having (1) the case for better storage & carrying around, and (2) the higher spray rate that can definitely help with bigger projects.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It gets the job done!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a bit apprehensive since i had never used one of these sprayer kits, and was not sure i could do it. It turned out amazing. It is easy to use once you get the hang of it. You should practice on a small area first so you can get the feel of pressure and coverage. Once i practiced, it was easy and fun to use. It gets the job done in a fraction of the time. Only drawback i saw was that the container is on the small side, so if you are working on a larger project you need to refill. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing, professional results

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The multi-use Wagner 590 paint sprayer is not your typical home paint sprayer. I've used paint sprayers aimed at the home market before, and I've always been disappointed. The little 'putt-putt' motors would spatter the paint and provide a surface that needed back-rolling.
This sprayer is just amazing. No spluttering, even when using unthinned paint. Rather than spray the paint in uneven bursts, this sprayer creates a fine mist, similar to what you might get from a paint aerosol, rattle, can. The difference being this sprayer covers a much larger area.
The spray is consistent, and allows you to quickly cover larger areas. I found it was not necessary to thin the paint when spraying textured walls and a ceiling, I did thin the paint when spraying kitchen cupboards as I wanted a smooth, gloss like, finish.
Two paint tubs, with different nozzles, are provided. The larger tub quickly covers larger areas, and leave a finish similar to that of using a paint roller. The smaller tub is perfect for fine detail work, and works best with oil based stains and paints, it leaves a smoother finish.
A few years ago we paid a contractor to paint a 30 by 30 room as I felt it was beyond my ability using a roller and brush. I watched part of the process as the contractor used a larger, commercial, spray machine. When it needs repainting I will be using this sprayer myself. This sprayer easily matches the results the contractor had.
Many companies claim to sell machines that are easy to use, inexpensive, and give professional results. I've previously always been let down. Wagner just made me a believer, I'me very pleased with this sprayer. I suspect my contractor may not be as happy.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>