728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.712 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product146 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(89)
4
(49)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(38)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product146 of 192reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 153 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+109points
131out of 153found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made Painting My Fence Easy!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just painted a spaced-picket French Gothic fence in under an hour with this sprayer, and the result is very good. The fence has tons of detail on the pickets and posts,and would have taken forever to paint by hand. I learned to paint the sides of each section first, allowing the overspray to hit the front of the pickets. After spraying from both sides, the front face only needed a minor touchup to finish the section.
I used Behr Premium Plus Ultra latex paint and primer in one, which worked great using the recommended settings (7 on the turbine, high flow on the trigger). Because I was using a narrow spray, I found that I did have to move quickly to avoid excess paint application, but I was very pleased with the evenness and consistency of the coverage.
One word of caution: A paint sprayer will require slightly more paint to cover the same surface area than painting by hand, but I found that it took 2 gallons to paint what would normally have required only slightly over one. I'm sure a pro could have done the job with less paint, but doing it myself ended up looking just as good as a professional, and was still cheaper even with the extra gallon of paint.
Cleanup was easy, and everything fit back into the case nicely. Overall, I am very pleased and would highly recommend this sprayer to any homeowner tackling a moderate-size paint job.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes painting a lot faster

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never used a home paint sprayer before. But I actually like it. Using the iSpray nozzle, I painted a 150ft long wooden fence in about 45 minutes - normally this would have taken hours. The finish was very even, and there was surprisingly very little overspray and misting. The reservoir is fairly small though, so I had to stop every 8 to 10 feet to refill it. That's what actually took most of the time. Cleanup was simple and quick. The instruction manual is good, very detailed, and even though I'm the kind of guy that usually doesn't read instructions, I found it very helpful. It gives you good information to get a clean, even spray pattern.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Houston,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better sprayer then I expected.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had another paint sprayer years ago from black and decker and vowed to never buy another one again.
After attempting to roll pain on the walls it didn't take me to long to figure out i wasn't going to paint the room with a roller. My neck back and shoulders could not take it.
I researched this sprayer and a few others but finally decided to get this one regardless of the negatives posted(ill address some of the negatives shortly).
Well the last few days after purchasing this product restored my faith in paint sprayers. I was able to use a latex paint out of the can and in to the sprayer and went to town. It did what it is supposed to do. Though it took me 2 days to paint a room 13 x 21 x 10.
It sprayed the point on flawlessly. But in order for it do that I had to prep the room properly taping off everything i didn't want to get paint on including the carpet (don't buy the cheep plastic painters drapes they are not worth the money buy the good cloth ones you will have less headaches in the long run). My previous sprayer would always get globed up and splatter the paint on to the walls that you had to run a roller on it after you sprayed it. This sprayer did not require that step at all, no globs just a nice pattern of spray with no clogging either. Great sprayer!
Now to address some of the negatives. I have read about the problems people are having after initial use or even after a couple uses. I believe that this is because the directions are not fully finished on how to clean the sprayer. Sure you can do what the directions say by running water through the sprayer. But realistically you need to take the spray head apart and clean it thoroughly. I found no instructions on how to separate the spray head components individually but was able to figure it out after about 10 min. I cleaned the spray head as if i was going to take it back and say i decided i wasn't going to use it after all. In short when i was done the sprayer looked like it was brand new. So when the second day came around and i was able to finish the job using the sprayer the second day it again worked flawlessly.
I am no painter I hate painting more then anything else. Painting is a job for some one else to do if it didn't cost so darn much to hire some one to do the job. That being said buy this sprayer use it clean it like you want to take it back and say you never used it dry it off and put it in the box tell you want to use it again.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: poor cleaning instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!! I highly recommend.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few days but it's been long enough to get to know the product pretty well. I used it to repaint some nursery furniture and it came out beautifully. The paint went on evenly and coated it well. I painted a glider chair in about 5 minutes. With a brush it would have taken me an hour +, and it would have been a lot messier (and ugly).
The only things to be aware of are that it can get a little heavy after awhile and you need to allow a good 20-30 minutes for cleanup. CLEANUP IS ESSENTIAL! They provide great directions on how to properly clean the machine and it's worth following them. If it get's clogged you'll get frustrated. Ultimately it's easy to clean but it is time consuming.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little sprayer!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I consider my self to be a semi-pro painter, not in the big leagues, but functionally advanced for my own residential projects. This sprayer has taken me to the next level!
Pros:
-Easy to use;
-Easy to get going out of the box;
-Multiple spray options, perfect for any job;
-Expedites big or small projects - large rooms, interior/exterior, or small furniture, it does it all;
-Awesome storage case;
-Intuitive to use.
Cons:
-Not really a con, but make absolutely sure you take time and care with clean up. Really. It will make or break your next use of the machine.
Get it. Your won't regret it!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete paint spray system

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nicely done spray painting kit. I'm pleased with the dedicated box that is fitted to hold the equipment. It's much nicer than having to store the equipment in the cardboard box it ships in. The inside plastic appears to be very slick so, hopefully, paint residue won't adhere to it.
The sprayers are constructed from thick material and have a quality feel to them. I appreciate the side located spray pattern adjustment on the large sprayer. Located away from the spraying nozzle, the users fingers and hand are safer from accidental spraying during spray pattern adjustment.
The paint reservoirs fit tightly with the power head and the two halves snap together when properly fitted. The design balances the weight of the power head opposite the weight of the paint reservoir helping to balance the system in the user's hand. There are only a few pieces between the paint reservoir and the spray tip, so clean up should be pretty straight forward.
I'm impressed with the quality and design of this spray system and look forward to using it on my next spray painting project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A complete package for all paint jobs

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a three level town home that I had to repaint before I list it back for rent. We were 3 guys including me. It took us half a day just to prep the house but once prepping was done, this gun had us rolling through the rooms. Since the house was empty, we did not have to move any furniture. Using Flexio 590 with iSpray nozzle attached, a task that seemed daunting at the start became a fun group activity. We had the rollers and brushes around but we only used them in areas where we did not want to consume time prepping. We had the whole house painted in one long day. The paint looked like done by professionals. I am absolutely delighted being owner of this paint kit. It certainly saved me a good amount of labor cost. Use it with face mask and safety glasses or you will breathe paint particles.
This gun comes in a nice storage case with two containers i.e. iSpray and Detail Finish. Having a full control over the amount of paint it sprays, the pattern you want and the variable power control makes this kit a complete package for any size paint project. Do not cut corners during gun/nozzle cleanup which takes about 20-30 minutes. This kit does not need a recommendation. Just buy it, try it and you will love it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+50points
61out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even I can paint with it.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK - first impressions. The sprayer comes in a nice plastic case, with the turban, the general use spray head, and the detail spray head. Assembly is easy - a quarter turn locks the spray head to the turban. It latches in place so you do not have to worry about it while painting.
While it is about the same size, and looks a lot like an airless paint sprayer, you notice the difference when you start to use it. It is quiet, and almost vibration free. You do not require hearing protection, even at the highest turban settings. I wish my vacuum cleaner was this quiet! Unlike an airless sprayer, you can go through several batches of paint without significant hand fatigue.
I am not that good at painting, but I can get good results from this sprayer. While you can get acceptable results after just skimming the manual, to get the most out of it, you should read the manual, and then fill the sprayer with water, and tape it outside to play with it. Get a feel for how the controls interact to give you different spray patterns and sizes. You have the choice of a vertical fan, a horizontal fan, or a circle pattern. You can control the size of the pattern by varying the turban speed and the trigger stop. If you have a fine touch, you can even change it on the fly by how much you pull in the trigger.
I am pleased by how the spray heads handle a variety of paints and stains. It even managed to handle drywall primer, but it struggled with it. I did not expect it to be able to spray it at all. It made quick work of staining my fence, at least until the wind picked up. Mother nature has not been helpful with the weather this spring.
Cleanup could not be easier. After cleaning the cup, you half fill it with cleaner, and spray it through. It will usually clean up the venturi just fine. If not, a brush is included to help. Even the outside cleans up easily. Being able to detach the turban lets you put the spray head in the sink and clean it - great for paints and stains that clean up with soap and water.
I have not used the detail spray head much yet. I plan on using it to stain small woodworking projects over the winter. From my tests with water, it looks like it will work great.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great when you treat it right.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to do three rooms, walls, ceilings and trim. Wall and ceilings were latex, trim was oil base. Did an excellent job and left a great finish. To get good results always always always strain your paint. Second always err to the light side of paint application. It is easier to spray twice than to wipe excess paint off the wall. Clean the sprayer before and after you use it because it doesn't take much to mess up your spray. Also keep the nozzle clean while you are spraying. Wipe the nozzle at least every minute. Treat this sprayer right and it will do an outstanding job for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the Impossible, Possible. Fast, Lightweight, Easy Grip & Ez pull trigger.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The spray painter arrived in a lightweight plastic storage case. Easy is a word I could overuse in describing how this Paint system can help a DIYer working alone.
Out of a smooth plastic Box: The 590 power sprayer with 9 speeds has pictures on the display as a reminder when adjusting speeds; A detail nozzle with a .625 quart cup; I-Spray nozzle with the material flow adjustment and pattern adjustment control and a 1.5 quart wide mouth cup; Small bottle brush for cleaning; 1 page poster size color illustrated quick start guide; A large foldout illustrated spray poster practice sheet; An illustrative black and white owner's manual; A one sheet masking guide for Interior Paint Spraying; and A plastic tool, thinning accessory that can also be used for stirring paint, unclogging the holes in the detail finish nozzle, opening containers. Wagner has references you can follow to an online website.
The manuals are clearly written and illustrated. A postcard, my cat chewed, tells you Wagner values what you think, please review us. This respect for a customer boosts your confidence in this company.
The only extra item I wanted in the box was an ordering postcard for another 1.5 quart wide mouth paint cup. I weigh the spray system at about 3lbs, without paint in the cup. The nozzle pulls easily, even if you already have slight pain in your hands.
This came after the start of rainy season in Florida. I ignored most of the directions, except the quick start guide. I needed to use my 1 (one day) of dry weather to repaint a storage unit and touch up house eaves. Love bug season has started in Florida. I was fighting bugs while doing this. RA in my hands was flaring.
I've done many paint jobs. I'm very slow and mask everything, I've attempted wall art and design. This system surprised me with how much I could accomplish quickly. Although sometimes sloppy. I was painting white on white. I would take more time to mask if I was using color. The eaves touch up and storage unit repaint took one afternoon. Clean up was easy with latex paint.
The potential for projects with the detail nozzle is very exciting. I judged this entire kit on one afternoon of painting. I woke up with no hand pain from the five hours of pulling the paint gun trigger. I could start using it again today, if it wasn't too wet already.
As an older person who is told you can't keep a house up alone, I'll be happy to reply, I'm not alone, Wagner is helping me!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, many uses including creative, lightweight, easy cleanup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sweet and quick

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions were very clear. Not as complicated as I thought it would be. There are adjustments for air flow depending what you are painting, also the width. Once you make the proper adjustments you are good to go. I expected to spend all day painting a shed and in an hour we were done. The HVLP turbine delivers enough power and the overspray was low. For those who don't know what HVLP is it is high volume low pressure and it lowers the overspray considerably. Cuts painting time down drastically. I would highly recommend this. Cleanup of the gun and parts was quick . Again, instructions were very good. As a woman retired it was no problem as it was lightweight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One Of The Best Ever...

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WAGNER FLEXIO 590 HVLP PAINT SPRAYER
I’ve purchase many paint sprayers over the last few years. Some were either too big or too small to do the job properly, or too much work to clean. The battery units were too heavy. The Wagner Flexio 590 however is the most flexible unit I have. It’s the right size for so many jobs.
I would recommend this for anything from painting outdoor furniture, fences, Interior rooms and even the whole house. Its solid, Lightweight and doesn’t make a lot of noise like some of the other airless sprayers.
Setup & use are a snap, and cleanup is a breeze. Attached pictures show a cinderblock wall I sprayed with 2 coats in less than 4 hours including clean up time. The gun sprayed a heavy latex paint, with minor problems, every once in a while I had to clean out the tip with the yellow tool that came with the gun.
Totally pleased with this item and see it getting plenty of use well into the future. Just started painting the Aluminum and garage door at my home and its working great,,, you should be albe to see the difference..
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution for an unpleasant chore

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our front porch includes about fifty feet of wooden lattice, and painting it has to score in the top ten of my least favorite jobs. Rollers don't work well, and using a brush takes half of forever. This time around I decided to try a sprayer -- and after some research decided on this Wagner Flexio 590.
Some of the negative reviews gave me a bit of hesitation, but the general drift I got from most is that you need to read and follow the instructions closely (many people don't), you need to pay particular attention to cleaning the parts (again, some people apparently don't), and you need to reassemble it correctly if you expect it to work a second time (yup, that seems to catch some people too).
I spent a fair amount of time reading the instructions, and took the thing completely apart and reassembled it several times before I tried actually using it. That turns out to be a really good idea: the parts are much easier to identify when they aren't covered in paint. In particular, there's a special washer with a groove that needs to face toward the nozzle; if you don't know what you're looking for, it would be easy to lose it during the cleaning process, or to reassemble it facing the wrong way.
Armed with this experience, I took the thing outside and filled it with Kilz latex primer. After a few practice swipes on a piece of cardboard, I tried my hand at the lattice -- and was quite surprised at how well it works. The spray pattern is quite even, and though there is a bit of overspray, it was less than I expected. The shocker was that I managed to finish all fifty feet of lattice in about ten minutes.
It turns out that cleanup took about twice as long as the painting, but it helped my attitude to remember that had I been using a brush, I would still be at it for at least another hour. And in truth, the cleanup wasn't all that hard. Latex paint comes off all of the plastic parts fairly easily, and the little brush that is supplied is fairly helpful. A light duty scrubbing sponge also helps.
After several hours, I reassembled the sprayer and filled it up with Behr latex enamel; again, it worked flawlessly even though the paint is rather thick. The instructions warn against thinning the paint for most cases, and they are right. Again, the coverage is even and the job went by very quickly, followed by a thorough cleaning.
The kit includes a carrying case, the power unit (which is something like an overpowered unheated hair dryer), the larger spray attachment for general work, and a smaller attachment for finer work. I haven't used the smaller sprayer yet, but I would expect it to perform similarly.
All in all, the Flexio 590 has turned out to be a very good choice. It made very quick work of a tedious chore, and did it nicely. If your style is to rip open the box, toss the instructions aside and blaze away... well, you probably will have trouble, especially the second or third time you try to use it. But so long as you are patient and are willing to follow directions, I gladly recommend it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, good for painting irregular surfaces, very fast application
Cons: cleaning is time consuming
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with its performance

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Flexio 590 Wagner Spray gun is a must have for home improvements, even for a novice. It comes in a convenient storage case with a well-written manual which is a quick read and easy to understand. Rollers and brushes are synonymous with backbreaking work but this gun made painting an enjoyable task. With no assembly required, you have the option to use a large iSpray Nozzle or the smaller Detail Finish Nozzle which attaches to the gun like plug-n-play. You can adjust the spray width lever which determines the pattern of spray and can control the amount of material sprayed. It also has X-Boost power dial ranging “0-9” which gives you control over the air power.
I used the detail finish nozzle to stain my deck and followed up with a brush to work the stain into the grain especially where there were deeper grooves. This allowed me to apply the stain equally with ease. The unit was not too heavy on the wrist either and this project took about 3 hours. I also stained the mailbox post in less than a minute. Irrespective of the job size, this gun delivers. Make sure to wear a face mask and safety glasses because there are some fine particles which permeate the air. Also, tape and drape off the area not to be painted. More time is spent in prepping the area so there are crisp clear lines and no spatter. Once the prep is complete, staining/painting is a piece of cake. I felt like a professional and accomplished so much without lifting a roller. The gun coated the wood beautifully with a smooth and even spray with no drips, drops or clumps.
Cleanup was easy and not messy like washing trays, rollers or brushes. The iSpray Nozzle has 10 parts and Detail Finish Nozzle has 9 parts that require cleaning with negligible time to disassemble and reassemble. Just soak the parts in detergent and scrub away and the unit is ready to tackle a new project. Thoroughly clean the unit before storage to ensure a clean even spray each time. I am very happy with its performance and highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+61points
73out of 85found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>