728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.711 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product150 of 198reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(49)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(40)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product150 of 198reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wagner = Ergonomic

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know why they don't hype their ergonomic design more -- everyone else has reviewed its performance, but the usability is outstanding. It's light -- a hairdryer that sprays paint -- and perfectly balanced -- the motor can rest on your forearm. It does run through paint quickly, but I keep telling myself that allows an opportunity to rest your shoulder while you reload. A significantly larger paint container would be significantly heavier, and a tube-in option would require a much heavier motor, so it's clear they concentrated on usability and comfort here.
So until Wagner comes up with a backpack-gravity-hopper-fed system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) -- or better yet, a frontpack-gravity-hopper-fed-system (c, tm, me, all rights reserved) this is a perfect sprayer for a homeowner.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing, professional results

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The multi-use Wagner 590 paint sprayer is not your typical home paint sprayer. I've used paint sprayers aimed at the home market before, and I've always been disappointed. The little 'putt-putt' motors would spatter the paint and provide a surface that needed back-rolling.
This sprayer is just amazing. No spluttering, even when using unthinned paint. Rather than spray the paint in uneven bursts, this sprayer creates a fine mist, similar to what you might get from a paint aerosol, rattle, can. The difference being this sprayer covers a much larger area.
The spray is consistent, and allows you to quickly cover larger areas. I found it was not necessary to thin the paint when spraying textured walls and a ceiling, I did thin the paint when spraying kitchen cupboards as I wanted a smooth, gloss like, finish.
Two paint tubs, with different nozzles, are provided. The larger tub quickly covers larger areas, and leave a finish similar to that of using a paint roller. The smaller tub is perfect for fine detail work, and works best with oil based stains and paints, it leaves a smoother finish.
A few years ago we paid a contractor to paint a 30 by 30 room as I felt it was beyond my ability using a roller and brush. I watched part of the process as the contractor used a larger, commercial, spray machine. When it needs repainting I will be using this sprayer myself. This sprayer easily matches the results the contractor had.
Many companies claim to sell machines that are easy to use, inexpensive, and give professional results. I've previously always been let down. Wagner just made me a believer, I'me very pleased with this sprayer. I suspect my contractor may not be as happy.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One Of The Best Ever...

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WAGNER FLEXIO 590 HVLP PAINT SPRAYER
I’ve purchase many paint sprayers over the last few years. Some were either too big or too small to do the job properly, or too much work to clean. The battery units were too heavy. The Wagner Flexio 590 however is the most flexible unit I have. It’s the right size for so many jobs.
I would recommend this for anything from painting outdoor furniture, fences, Interior rooms and even the whole house. Its solid, Lightweight and doesn’t make a lot of noise like some of the other airless sprayers.
Setup & use are a snap, and cleanup is a breeze. Attached pictures show a cinderblock wall I sprayed with 2 coats in less than 4 hours including clean up time. The gun sprayed a heavy latex paint, with minor problems, every once in a while I had to clean out the tip with the yellow tool that came with the gun.
Totally pleased with this item and see it getting plenty of use well into the future. Just started painting the Aluminum and garage door at my home and its working great,,, you should be albe to see the difference..
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great when you treat it right.

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to do three rooms, walls, ceilings and trim. Wall and ceilings were latex, trim was oil base. Did an excellent job and left a great finish. To get good results always always always strain your paint. Second always err to the light side of paint application. It is easier to spray twice than to wipe excess paint off the wall. Clean the sprayer before and after you use it because it doesn't take much to mess up your spray. Also keep the nozzle clean while you are spraying. Wipe the nozzle at least every minute. Treat this sprayer right and it will do an outstanding job for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Miramar, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flexo 590

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wagner Flexio 590
We were looking for an indoor/outdoor Hand-held Sprayer. This sprayer is easy to use, light weigh and very quiet.The nozzle settings allow you to modify the width of what you spray. For the detail finish nozzle I found you can get as close as 1-2” away from the surface for a perfect 1/2” trim spray, great for baseboards and trim work. Set up was really very easy. Just fill up the container with your paint, attach the nozzle, and then the trigger/sprayer apparatus and your ready to paint. What I like about the sprayer is the easy cleanup. I was able to run some warm soapy water through the Flexio 590 sprayer
This is an amazing time-saver that I highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It gets the job done!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit apprehensive since i had never used one of these sprayer kits, and was not sure i could do it. It turned out amazing. It is easy to use once you get the hang of it. You should practice on a small area first so you can get the feel of pressure and coverage. Once i practiced, it was easy and fun to use. It gets the job done in a fraction of the time. Only drawback i saw was that the container is on the small side, so if you are working on a larger project you need to refill. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Ft Wth, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for Me !

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I paid the extra $20 for the 590; and that is what I would recommend. Because it has 3 variable adjustments for the spray & amt of paint. The recommended setting was 7-9 for latex. I was painting the inside of a fence [with the 2X4s.] So I used the smallest spray pattern [about 6"], #5, and about 1/3 trigger adjustment. I did a small section at #7 and it used a ton of paint & I had to brush out runs. Thick paint will not go on smooth, if you want a smooth finish you will have to thin the paint. For latex you can use Wagner Paint Easy. I have not used the detail Sprayer. One nice thing about this, is you can take the spray head off the main body & throw the whole thing in a bucket of water to soak, before you clean it. Almost all parts are plastic; I am not sure how they will hold up in the long run. Negatives; [1] you can't tell how much paint is left in container [even in the sun.] Some people said when it ran out that it squirted blobs of paint; When mine ran out, it just did not spray paint. [2] It needs an on/off switch for the air & just have the trigger for paint. It was difficult for me to keep the air on without the paint.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage
Cons: can not tell level of paint, air on with partial trigger pull
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+110points
132out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Tennessee
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wagner got it right with this sprayer. It is easy to use, works well, and cleans up easily. Went through 4 gallons of solid sealer on my deck in 2 hours that would have taken two days to do by hand. Having owned Wagner products in the past, I have always liked them. but this sprayer is night and day better than those. It is extremely quiet compared to the old sprayers and cleans up much easier. Worth every penny.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made Painting My Fence Easy!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just painted a spaced-picket French Gothic fence in under an hour with this sprayer, and the result is very good. The fence has tons of detail on the pickets and posts,and would have taken forever to paint by hand. I learned to paint the sides of each section first, allowing the overspray to hit the front of the pickets. After spraying from both sides, the front face only needed a minor touchup to finish the section.
I used Behr Premium Plus Ultra latex paint and primer in one, which worked great using the recommended settings (7 on the turbine, high flow on the trigger). Because I was using a narrow spray, I found that I did have to move quickly to avoid excess paint application, but I was very pleased with the evenness and consistency of the coverage.
One word of caution: A paint sprayer will require slightly more paint to cover the same surface area than painting by hand, but I found that it took 2 gallons to paint what would normally have required only slightly over one. I'm sure a pro could have done the job with less paint, but doing it myself ended up looking just as good as a professional, and was still cheaper even with the extra gallon of paint.
Cleanup was easy, and everything fit back into the case nicely. Overall, I am very pleased and would highly recommend this sprayer to any homeowner tackling a moderate-size paint job.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes painting a lot faster

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never used a home paint sprayer before. But I actually like it. Using the iSpray nozzle, I painted a 150ft long wooden fence in about 45 minutes - normally this would have taken hours. The finish was very even, and there was surprisingly very little overspray and misting. The reservoir is fairly small though, so I had to stop every 8 to 10 feet to refill it. That's what actually took most of the time. Cleanup was simple and quick. The instruction manual is good, very detailed, and even though I'm the kind of guy that usually doesn't read instructions, I found it very helpful. It gives you good information to get a clean, even spray pattern.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the Impossible, Possible. Fast, Lightweight, Easy Grip & Ez pull trigger.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The spray painter arrived in a lightweight plastic storage case. Easy is a word I could overuse in describing how this Paint system can help a DIYer working alone.
Out of a smooth plastic Box: The 590 power sprayer with 9 speeds has pictures on the display as a reminder when adjusting speeds; A detail nozzle with a .625 quart cup; I-Spray nozzle with the material flow adjustment and pattern adjustment control and a 1.5 quart wide mouth cup; Small bottle brush for cleaning; 1 page poster size color illustrated quick start guide; A large foldout illustrated spray poster practice sheet; An illustrative black and white owner's manual; A one sheet masking guide for Interior Paint Spraying; and A plastic tool, thinning accessory that can also be used for stirring paint, unclogging the holes in the detail finish nozzle, opening containers. Wagner has references you can follow to an online website.
The manuals are clearly written and illustrated. A postcard, my cat chewed, tells you Wagner values what you think, please review us. This respect for a customer boosts your confidence in this company.
The only extra item I wanted in the box was an ordering postcard for another 1.5 quart wide mouth paint cup. I weigh the spray system at about 3lbs, without paint in the cup. The nozzle pulls easily, even if you already have slight pain in your hands.
This came after the start of rainy season in Florida. I ignored most of the directions, except the quick start guide. I needed to use my 1 (one day) of dry weather to repaint a storage unit and touch up house eaves. Love bug season has started in Florida. I was fighting bugs while doing this. RA in my hands was flaring.
I've done many paint jobs. I'm very slow and mask everything, I've attempted wall art and design. This system surprised me with how much I could accomplish quickly. Although sometimes sloppy. I was painting white on white. I would take more time to mask if I was using color. The eaves touch up and storage unit repaint took one afternoon. Clean up was easy with latex paint.
The potential for projects with the detail nozzle is very exciting. I judged this entire kit on one afternoon of painting. I woke up with no hand pain from the five hours of pulling the paint gun trigger. I could start using it again today, if it wasn't too wet already.
As an older person who is told you can't keep a house up alone, I'll be happy to reply, I'm not alone, Wagner is helping me!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, many uses including creative, lightweight, easy cleanup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sweet and quick

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions were very clear. Not as complicated as I thought it would be. There are adjustments for air flow depending what you are painting, also the width. Once you make the proper adjustments you are good to go. I expected to spend all day painting a shed and in an hour we were done. The HVLP turbine delivers enough power and the overspray was low. For those who don't know what HVLP is it is high volume low pressure and it lowers the overspray considerably. Cuts painting time down drastically. I would highly recommend this. Cleanup of the gun and parts was quick . Again, instructions were very good. As a woman retired it was no problem as it was lightweight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WOW...Awesome sprayer actually works

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was skeptical but now I am a believer. They spent the time to improve the wagner sprayer and have come up with THIS...it has actually surprised me. I hand brushed one side of my basket weave fence and could not pass up trying to spray it to save tons of time and this thing worked AWESOME...and I mean every sense of the word. Once I had it dialed in, it sprayed the stain and sealer so perfectly and made additional coats a breeze because when you brush it, it drags the stain and sealer while this sprayer just lays it down so smoothly. It took roughly 30 minutes to clean it properly but it is soooo worth it. It is a bit on heavy side, but it's a good workout...while I know my wife could not use it for long periods of time because of its weight. One thing is for sure, it saved me time which I value on beautiful days because that extra time saved can be spent with my better half relaxing. Go try it, it does truly work very, very well and beats renting other equipment because it is so versatile and will always be in your garage ready to go.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: slightly heavy but it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
65out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW! Worth the money and a snap to use!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never used a sprayer before however, like most of us I have painted more houses more than I can remember and I'm not a professional painter. I wanted a sprayer that is versatile for interior and exterior finishes including cabinets and decks...but not break the bank. After a long exhausting search and keeping an open mind I bought the Flexio 590HVLP. There are so many cool features but what really caught my eye was in most cases you will not have to thin the paint... a huge plus. It clearly states thinning is not needed but if you must, instructions are provided.
Before I start if you are not the type of person that likes to prep very much and I mean prep to prevent over spray...stay with a roller and brush. Its not that the unit is messy but you are spraying paint!
After reading the instructions which are ease to follow (a must before starting) I was ready to start. again READ THE INSTRUCTIONS to make your painting project fun!
The sprayer is quiet, light weight and well balanced. There are several adjustments that make it a snap to select the spray pattern best suited for various applications. I sprayed walls and a popcorn ceiling, yes popcorn ceiling! without a hitch. The undercoat was dark so I applied a thin coat on the first pass and followed after drying with a second. WHAT A TIME SAVER! and cleaning was a breeze! Can't overstate that enough.
Overall, if you have the budget and looking for a good sprayer this is the one.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Houston,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better sprayer then I expected.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had another paint sprayer years ago from black and decker and vowed to never buy another one again.
After attempting to roll pain on the walls it didn't take me to long to figure out i wasn't going to paint the room with a roller. My neck back and shoulders could not take it.
I researched this sprayer and a few others but finally decided to get this one regardless of the negatives posted(ill address some of the negatives shortly).
Well the last few days after purchasing this product restored my faith in paint sprayers. I was able to use a latex paint out of the can and in to the sprayer and went to town. It did what it is supposed to do. Though it took me 2 days to paint a room 13 x 21 x 10.
It sprayed the point on flawlessly. But in order for it do that I had to prep the room properly taping off everything i didn't want to get paint on including the carpet (don't buy the cheep plastic painters drapes they are not worth the money buy the good cloth ones you will have less headaches in the long run). My previous sprayer would always get globed up and splatter the paint on to the walls that you had to run a roller on it after you sprayed it. This sprayer did not require that step at all, no globs just a nice pattern of spray with no clogging either. Great sprayer!
Now to address some of the negatives. I have read about the problems people are having after initial use or even after a couple uses. I believe that this is because the directions are not fully finished on how to clean the sprayer. Sure you can do what the directions say by running water through the sprayer. But realistically you need to take the spray head apart and clean it thoroughly. I found no instructions on how to separate the spray head components individually but was able to figure it out after about 10 min. I cleaned the spray head as if i was going to take it back and say i decided i wasn't going to use it after all. In short when i was done the sprayer looked like it was brand new. So when the second day came around and i was able to finish the job using the sprayer the second day it again worked flawlessly.
I am no painter I hate painting more then anything else. Painting is a job for some one else to do if it didn't cost so darn much to hire some one to do the job. That being said buy this sprayer use it clean it like you want to take it back and say you never used it dry it off and put it in the box tell you want to use it again.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: poor cleaning instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>