728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

The Wagner Flexio 590 is an indoor/outdoor hand-held sprayer kit for all projects. The X-Boost turbine produces unmatched power and provides adjustable control, full coverage, and low overspray. The Flexio 590 comes with two nozzles to meet the needs of any project. The iSpray nozzle delivers a professional finish spaying broad surfaces with residential unthinned paints. The Detail Finish nozzle is ideal for small projects and fine finishing. The Flexio provides advanced user comfort being 50% quieter and 20% lighter than traditional airless sprayers.
Overall rating:
3.706 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(218 reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product159 of 211reviews
Rating Breakdown 218 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(99)
4
(52)
3
(13)
2
(12)
1
(42)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product159 of 211reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 159 Answers
Customer reviews for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Review 1 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the Impossible, Possible. Fast, Lightweight, Easy Grip & Ez pull trigger.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The spray painter arrived in a lightweight plastic storage case. Easy is a word I could overuse in describing how this Paint system can help a DIYer working alone.
Out of a smooth plastic Box: The 590 power sprayer with 9 speeds has pictures on the display as a reminder when adjusting speeds; A detail nozzle with a .625 quart cup; I-Spray nozzle with the material flow adjustment and pattern adjustment control and a 1.5 quart wide mouth cup; Small bottle brush for cleaning; 1 page poster size color illustrated quick start guide; A large foldout illustrated spray poster practice sheet; An illustrative black and white owner's manual; A one sheet masking guide for Interior Paint Spraying; and A plastic tool, thinning accessory that can also be used for stirring paint, unclogging the holes in the detail finish nozzle, opening containers. Wagner has references you can follow to an online website.
The manuals are clearly written and illustrated. A postcard, my cat chewed, tells you Wagner values what you think, please review us. This respect for a customer boosts your confidence in this company.
The only extra item I wanted in the box was an ordering postcard for another 1.5 quart wide mouth paint cup. I weigh the spray system at about 3lbs, without paint in the cup. The nozzle pulls easily, even if you already have slight pain in your hands.
This came after the start of rainy season in Florida. I ignored most of the directions, except the quick start guide. I needed to use my 1 (one day) of dry weather to repaint a storage unit and touch up house eaves. Love bug season has started in Florida. I was fighting bugs while doing this. RA in my hands was flaring.
I've done many paint jobs. I'm very slow and mask everything, I've attempted wall art and design. This system surprised me with how much I could accomplish quickly. Although sometimes sloppy. I was painting white on white. I would take more time to mask if I was using color. The eaves touch up and storage unit repaint took one afternoon. Clean up was easy with latex paint.
The potential for projects with the detail nozzle is very exciting. I judged this entire kit on one afternoon of painting. I woke up with no hand pain from the five hours of pulling the paint gun trigger. I could start using it again today, if it wasn't too wet already.
As an older person who is told you can't keep a house up alone, I'll be happy to reply, I'm not alone, Wagner is helping me!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, many uses including creative, lightweight, easy cleanup
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a labor intensive job and made it easy.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last year I had a 12'x14' Workshop built and needed to paint the T1-11 exterior siding this year. We wanted the color to match our home.
I cringed every time I thought about the amount of time it'll take me with a brush and roller, not counting the time involved if I needed to apply 2 coats. Along came the opportunity to use the new Wagner Flexio 590 HVLP Sprayer. I've never used or owned a sprayer before. I've read the reviews for various sprayers out there which were geared towards a homeowners budget, and figured anything meeting my needs was around the $250.00 price range. I wasn't really sold on any one of these as the majority of negative comments I’ve read involved the dreaded cleaning process, and paint thinning involved. I also wasn't interested in any of the self-contained hand-held units. The majority of those did an average to poor job of spraying latex paint, which is what I primarily will be spraying. With the Flexio 590 though, I became increasingly excited with what Wagner was stating, and what user's were saying about their results. Of everything I've read though, what caught my attention was the 8.0 gallons an hour production rate. With that, I really had no clue how much paint I would need for my workshop. It would be nice if Wagner could provide a simple matrix breakdown to aid consumers figuring out amount of paint needed.
I ended up getting 2 gallons of semi-gloss white for trim work, and 6 gallons of color matched, satin exterior latex. This paint was not the primer and paint variety, as the exterior of my workshop already had a basic paint color applied.
I've got to say, the majority of my time from start to finish was involved with the papering and taping than the actual painting.
My conclusion, having painted my workshop, is that the Flexio 590 Sprayer met all my expectations and then some. I was delightfully surprised and very relieved at the finished job. I was mindful about not arching the sprayer as I painted, and to depress the trigger half way to spool up the turbine prior to fully engaging the trigger to spray. Throughout this project, I kept the gun’s settings on full power and full spray pattern as suggested for spraying latex. I’ve cycled between the horizontal and vertical spray patterns. The quality of the sprayed paint unto the siding was really impressive. I moved the gun in a controlled slow motion hoping to obtain an even, one coat coverage without putting it on too thick and have drips and sags. Overall, I was definitely not disappointed doing it this way, and was so relieved that when I finished that one coat of paint came out great, and would be enough. I ended up using just about 2 gallons of trim and soffit paint, and 4 gallons of paint for the siding.
Observations:
Throughout the spraying process, I found that every now and then I needed to wipe off, or clean with a damp rag both the air nozzle, (yellow tip) and usually only one of the paint spray holes as paint would have a tendency to build up and restrict / close these holes.
A full container of paint would last me about 5 minutes, spraying it at the full/full settings I selected.
I found it very easy to determine when I needed to refill the container simply by the sound of the spray. When the container needed to be refilled, the spray would audible start burping. Once I heard it, I stopped spraying and refilled the container. This would be the result of paint going below the suction tube.
I found it much easier when refilling the container, to store the top half of the spray gun upside-down, until the container is full. Much better than trying to figure out what to do with the top half dripping paint all over the place.
Slow, steady, controlled spraying is the key to obtaining uniform results. Keep mindful of ensuring you overlap each spray over the last by about a third or so.
Paint spattering can be minimized by both depressing the trigger half-way to spool up the turbine and, keeping the air and paint nozzles free of any paint build up. Doing this, I still experienced paint spattering about 4 times throughout the whole project. That, I can live with. Not really sure about other reviews indicating noticeable spattering spraying issues. There are just too many variables to try and guess what may have happened in their case.
I really cannot say I’ve had a lot of overspray either. Yes, there is some overspray involved, but perhaps slightly more than using a can of spray paint, but nothing that really stands out.
Cleanup:
Throughout this project, I ended up having to clean the unit 3 times. I found it actually harder cleaning the overspray from the outside areas of the gun than anything else. Cleanup was remarkably painless. I think it took me about 30 minutes to fully clean everything. This process is really something you cannot short change, or rush yourself on. The quality of a good, thorough cleaning directly effects the performance on your next project. Spend the time and get all the paint off before it has a chance to harden. You’ll thank yourself in the end.
Conclusion:
I am totally satisfied, impressed, and relieved with this Flexio 590 sprayer. It exceeded what I was hoping to achieve in this project I was so dreading. What would have taken me easily, 3 days to complete, I was able to accomplish in about 3 hours, with one of those hours spent on container refilling, grabbing another gallon of paint, and wiping the nozzles of excess paint. At first I thought it sure would be nice to have a bigger paint container so I wouldn’t have to refill it as much, but now that I’ve finished painting, and refilled the container what seemed like way to many times, perhaps 15 or more, I don’t want a larger container. Towards the end, the supplied container got heavy enough…Thank you very much.
If I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I would buy the Flexio 590 Sprayer in a heartbeat. It sprayed un-thinned exterior latex just fine, without any issues whatsoever.
The quality of the finished results are only matched by systems costing twice what this sprayer sells for.
When I was making yet another trip to one of the big box stores for more masking tape, the paint specialist told me they’re having trouble keeping these sprayer stocked on the shelves. I now can see why…They actually work, and remarkably well.
As far as hand-held, self-contained sprayers, the Flexio 590 Sprayer is in an unmatched class all in its own. Well worth a serious consideration for your next, dreaded project.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+110points
132out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit

BEST $150 Ive ever spent for work!!!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I LOVE this sprayer!!! I bought it specifically for a garage job i just got, I sprayed valspar primer/paint without any problems, no thinning,, nice even spray and the adjustments were great!! so much to do with this!!!! Cant wait to do more with it!!! Cant really say i have any "cons" . when something works, go with it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great painter!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to paint some unfinished concrete walls in our basement and decided to use the paint sprayer for the job. It did not take long at all.
The paint I had was in a 5 gallon bucket, too heavy for me to pour into the 1-1/2 quart spray bottle, so I decided to scoop paint out with a glass jar. That was rather messy but I had plenty of rags on hand to wipe up. When I needed to refill the bottle I just scooped the paint up directly out of the bucket and wiped the excess of the bottle - just as messy.
The kit comes with a practice poster and good documentation, plus a couple of paper funnels (still too small for use with a 5 gal/ bucket) and also a measure for achieving proper thinning if one needs to thin something. I used regular interior latex paint and no thinning was needed at all. I did not practice on the paper poster since this was after all just a basement wall.
The spray is beautifully fine and one needs to hold the sprayed about 8” from the wall. Though one hand can be used, I found it was best to use two hands especially for the top of the wall. I also found it best to walk from side to side rather than trying to sway about keeping the distance to the wall constant. The fineness of the spray meant that there was no issue with spraying the same area more than once. The nozzle can be adjusted to produce a vertical spray for side to side action or a horizontal spray for up and down work and it is easy to switch between them. (I did not try the round setting for diagonal action).
It went on so easily that I decided to do two coats. The next day I had my wife hold the spray bottle while I poured from the big bucket and that was less messy. The second coat went on just as easily and in fact I was confident enough to also pray some of the plumbing pipes in the ceiling ‘freehand’ without any issues. The walls look great.
Clean up
I used lots of water outside to clean the unit. These days paints dry pretty fast and I don’t want the sprayer to clog itself with paint. I suggest preparing the cleanup area before you start painting. You will need a bucket, more rags/cloths, a power source and lots of water (assuming a latex paint). After washing out the spray bottle I plug the unit in and run water through the unit. I then take the nozzle pieces apart as shown in the instructions and place them in a bucket of water, then take each out and clean before reassembly.
Case
The unit comes in a serviceable carry case
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an average DIYer and this is the second time I use a paint sprayer. Having used the FLEXIO 570 series last week, this week I had the opportunity to test the FLEXIO 590 series.
The first major difference is that this sprayer (590) comes in a nice and organized case rather than just parts thrown in a carton box (570). The second difference is the spray rate. The 590 series sprays up to 8 gal/hr vs. 7.2 gal/hr for the 570 series.
Upon use, I could not find a tangible differenece between the two. Maybe this is because I did not compare them back-to-back. Having used the 570 series last week, I'm sure there was a learning curve and that's why I was more comfortable with the 590 series.
I painted an indoor garage wall and I am happy with the results. Once you get the hang of it you can achieve better consistency and therefore better results. You need to switch between the vertical (up-down) and horizontal (side-to-side) options as appropriate for your application. You can also control the amount of paint it sprays by modulating your finger on the trigger.
You would need a roll or brush to correct mistakes you make as you go. You will need those particularly when you release the trigger as the sprayer tends to spit out some lumps of paint. The other option would be to direct the sprayer away from the paint area and then release the trigger.
As with any other tool, take a few minutes to read the instructions and familiarize yourself with the equipment.
Plan on taking short rests every few minutes as the weight of carrying this thing around can fatigue your arms & shoulders.
Overall we are very happy with this product, and would definitely use it for our future painting plans. It appears to be of good quality and the price is reasonable.
Having recently painted our new house using rollers & brushes, I can now appreciate this sprayer and the time it can save the average DIYer :)
I would definitely recommend the 590 series as I believe the price difference is justified by having (1) the case for better storage & carrying around, and (2) the higher spray rate that can definitely help with bigger projects.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made Painting My Fence Easy!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just painted a spaced-picket French Gothic fence in under an hour with this sprayer, and the result is very good. The fence has tons of detail on the pickets and posts,and would have taken forever to paint by hand. I learned to paint the sides of each section first, allowing the overspray to hit the front of the pickets. After spraying from both sides, the front face only needed a minor touchup to finish the section.
I used Behr Premium Plus Ultra latex paint and primer in one, which worked great using the recommended settings (7 on the turbine, high flow on the trigger). Because I was using a narrow spray, I found that I did have to move quickly to avoid excess paint application, but I was very pleased with the evenness and consistency of the coverage.
One word of caution: A paint sprayer will require slightly more paint to cover the same surface area than painting by hand, but I found that it took 2 gallons to paint what would normally have required only slightly over one. I'm sure a pro could have done the job with less paint, but doing it myself ended up looking just as good as a professional, and was still cheaper even with the extra gallon of paint.
Cleanup was easy, and everything fit back into the case nicely. Overall, I am very pleased and would highly recommend this sprayer to any homeowner tackling a moderate-size paint job.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it twice, but cleanup and adjustment from narrow fine 2 inch spray with excellent paint control to bold a 12 inch wide pattern with max material usage allows the best paint regulation I have ever seen.
The time complete is a project is the shortest I have every used for a home project.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A complete package for all paint jobs

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a three level town home that I had to repaint before I list it back for rent. We were 3 guys including me. It took us half a day just to prep the house but once prepping was done, this gun had us rolling through the rooms. Since the house was empty, we did not have to move any furniture. Using Flexio 590 with iSpray nozzle attached, a task that seemed daunting at the start became a fun group activity. We had the rollers and brushes around but we only used them in areas where we did not want to consume time prepping. We had the whole house painted in one long day. The paint looked like done by professionals. I am absolutely delighted being owner of this paint kit. It certainly saved me a good amount of labor cost. Use it with face mask and safety glasses or you will breathe paint particles.
This gun comes in a nice storage case with two containers i.e. iSpray and Detail Finish. Having a full control over the amount of paint it sprays, the pattern you want and the variable power control makes this kit a complete package for any size paint project. Do not cut corners during gun/nozzle cleanup which takes about 20-30 minutes. This kit does not need a recommendation. Just buy it, try it and you will love it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+55points
66out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Tennessee
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wagner got it right with this sprayer. It is easy to use, works well, and cleans up easily. Went through 4 gallons of solid sealer on my deck in 2 hours that would have taken two days to do by hand. Having owned Wagner products in the past, I have always liked them. but this sprayer is night and day better than those. It is extremely quiet compared to the old sprayers and cleans up much easier. Worth every penny.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great and easy to use, but follow these tips!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 590 is well constructed and all the plastic parts fit well together. I am very impressed with the results of my first project. I painted an old ugly rusty metal shed with the Behr paint and primer in one can from HD. When I saw how thick the paint was I was very skeptical and thought I might have to thin the paint but not so. The 590 sprayer performed like a champ with the heavy thick paint! I read the manual a few times and followed the instructions for thick paint and never needed to thin the paint! But here are some valuable tips for everyone! First...practice taking the sprayer apart and reassembling it for cleaning several times before you ever run paint through it. Second tip... get your cleaning station set up before hand so you are ready to go when the time comes to clean. I used a 5 gallon bucket about half full of water with a squirt of dish soap for the paint tank. There will be a small amount of paint left in the tank at the end of the project, use a paint brush to get the last bit out or pour it back in the can. I bought a smaller blue bucket (they are in the paint Dept.) to clean the sprayer head separately because the water in the 5 gallon bucket gets pretty cloudy and it is very easy to loose small parts (which I did). Use the garden hose sprayer to clean out the paint tank under the surface of the water in the 5 gallon bucket to clean the paint tank and pickup tube. Use the smaller bucket to clean the small sprayer parts separately! One warning! The little o-ring gasket is very easy to loose! it is small enough to fit on you finger so I just wore it like a ring after I lost it in the murky water 3 times! Third tip... remove the turbo motor before refilling the paint tank ! It comes off with just a half turn and makes the refill job MUCH easier. Last tip.... there are only about 4 small parts to reassemble the sprayer head, just match one part to it's mating part and then final assemble is an easy step. Have a clean brush ready if the sprayer gets clogged and starts to spit paint. I highly recommend buying on of those red pour spouts that fit to the top of gallon can, makes refilling the paint tank extremely easy!! I sprayed almost an entire gallon of thick heavy paint before cleaning was necessary, but I was ready for break and a cold drink anyway. I would recommend the 590 to friends, but they can't borrow mine because I love it! I used water based latex paint so I don't know how difficult oil based paint would be at clean up time
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with its performance

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Flexio 590 Wagner Spray gun is a must have for home improvements, even for a novice. It comes in a convenient storage case with a well-written manual which is a quick read and easy to understand. Rollers and brushes are synonymous with backbreaking work but this gun made painting an enjoyable task. With no assembly required, you have the option to use a large iSpray Nozzle or the smaller Detail Finish Nozzle which attaches to the gun like plug-n-play. You can adjust the spray width lever which determines the pattern of spray and can control the amount of material sprayed. It also has X-Boost power dial ranging “0-9” which gives you control over the air power.
I used the detail finish nozzle to stain my deck and followed up with a brush to work the stain into the grain especially where there were deeper grooves. This allowed me to apply the stain equally with ease. The unit was not too heavy on the wrist either and this project took about 3 hours. I also stained the mailbox post in less than a minute. Irrespective of the job size, this gun delivers. Make sure to wear a face mask and safety glasses because there are some fine particles which permeate the air. Also, tape and drape off the area not to be painted. More time is spent in prepping the area so there are crisp clear lines and no spatter. Once the prep is complete, staining/painting is a piece of cake. I felt like a professional and accomplished so much without lifting a roller. The gun coated the wood beautifully with a smooth and even spray with no drips, drops or clumps.
Cleanup was easy and not messy like washing trays, rollers or brushes. The iSpray Nozzle has 10 parts and Detail Finish Nozzle has 9 parts that require cleaning with negligible time to disassemble and reassemble. Just soak the parts in detergent and scrub away and the unit is ready to tackle a new project. Thoroughly clean the unit before storage to ensure a clean even spray each time. I am very happy with its performance and highly recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+65points
77out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All the features of pro-series and then some!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to spray a desk with varnish. It worked well and made the job a breeze. I love that is has multiple paint containers so you can keep going when you get going. The price is well worth the trade for making application so easy! Thanks Wagner!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes painting a lot faster

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never used a home paint sprayer before. But I actually like it. Using the iSpray nozzle, I painted a 150ft long wooden fence in about 45 minutes - normally this would have taken hours. The finish was very even, and there was surprisingly very little overspray and misting. The reservoir is fairly small though, so I had to stop every 8 to 10 feet to refill it. That's what actually took most of the time. Cleanup was simple and quick. The instruction manual is good, very detailed, and even though I'm the kind of guy that usually doesn't read instructions, I found it very helpful. It gives you good information to get a clean, even spray pattern.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance, the engineer, doesn't believe in instruction manuals. However, this product proves they exist for a reason. After errant sprays (all over the TV) and paint oozing out the back of the unit he reluctantly pulled out the manual and discovered that it was put together incorrectly. When assembled properly, the unit worked like a charm. It saved us significant time in painting our living room - and we only had to do one coat of paint! The unit must be cleaned out immediately after using so prevent the nozzle from getting clogged, don't procrastinate.
For a DIYer this was a great item....once the instructions were reviewed :)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good solution for an unpleasant chore

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our front porch includes about fifty feet of wooden lattice, and painting it has to score in the top ten of my least favorite jobs. Rollers don't work well, and using a brush takes half of forever. This time around I decided to try a sprayer -- and after some research decided on this Wagner Flexio 590.
Some of the negative reviews gave me a bit of hesitation, but the general drift I got from most is that you need to read and follow the instructions closely (many people don't), you need to pay particular attention to cleaning the parts (again, some people apparently don't), and you need to reassemble it correctly if you expect it to work a second time (yup, that seems to catch some people too).
I spent a fair amount of time reading the instructions, and took the thing completely apart and reassembled it several times before I tried actually using it. That turns out to be a really good idea: the parts are much easier to identify when they aren't covered in paint. In particular, there's a special washer with a groove that needs to face toward the nozzle; if you don't know what you're looking for, it would be easy to lose it during the cleaning process, or to reassemble it facing the wrong way.
Armed with this experience, I took the thing outside and filled it with Kilz latex primer. After a few practice swipes on a piece of cardboard, I tried my hand at the lattice -- and was quite surprised at how well it works. The spray pattern is quite even, and though there is a bit of overspray, it was less than I expected. The shocker was that I managed to finish all fifty feet of lattice in about ten minutes.
It turns out that cleanup took about twice as long as the painting, but it helped my attitude to remember that had I been using a brush, I would still be at it for at least another hour. And in truth, the cleanup wasn't all that hard. Latex paint comes off all of the plastic parts fairly easily, and the little brush that is supplied is fairly helpful. A light duty scrubbing sponge also helps.
After several hours, I reassembled the sprayer and filled it up with Behr latex enamel; again, it worked flawlessly even though the paint is rather thick. The instructions warn against thinning the paint for most cases, and they are right. Again, the coverage is even and the job went by very quickly, followed by a thorough cleaning.
The kit includes a carrying case, the power unit (which is something like an overpowered unheated hair dryer), the larger spray attachment for general work, and a smaller attachment for finer work. I haven't used the smaller sprayer yet, but I would expect it to perform similarly.
All in all, the Flexio 590 has turned out to be a very good choice. It made very quick work of a tedious chore, and did it nicely. If your style is to rip open the box, toss the instructions aside and blaze away... well, you probably will have trouble, especially the second or third time you try to use it. But so long as you are patient and are willing to follow directions, I gladly recommend it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, good for painting irregular surfaces, very fast application
Cons: cleaning is time consuming
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great hand held handle did not bother my arthritis at all while using.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this sprayer yesterday and used today on wooden fence 45' long by 5' high. It did a great job and did not have to thin down the latex stain. However I'm an older gentleman and the clean out was fairly easy but for me putting the sucker back together wasn't easy and I'm sure it was just me and my old worn out hands..+ eye sight..
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will change the way you paint (and maybe your life)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am absolutely blown away by how well this paint sprayer worked. This is a gem of a tool that will address a wide range of DIY and homeowner projects.
Overview: The sprayer comes well packaged in it's own hard-sided carrying case for storage. Awesome.
Project: I've never used a paint sprayer before, so I decided to start with something straightforward- fencing and decking.
Performance: I sprayed ~300 sq ft of fencing and decking with a water sealer/stain in less than 20 minutes. The majority of that time was spent filling up the paint holder (refilled roughly 5 times). Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is better than this thing for fencing and decking. I've painted a lot of fences by hand and this BLOWS paintbrushes and rollers away. It fills in the cracks with one coat quickly and smoothly. AWESOME. There is no other way to paint a fence.
- I'll also be using this to paint my outside furniture and my interior doors with semi-gloss paint. I'll update the review once I do so. (The sprayer literally worked so well and was so fun to use that I'm actively trying to think of things to paint.)
Clean-up: Easy. Put a bit of paint thinner in the container and sprayed it out and wiped down with a rag. Done in no time. Easier to clean than brushes.
Other benefits:
- Instructions are incredibly thorough and detailed. Wagner has really thought of everything, they even include a poster to help you test out the spray as you acclimate to the tool.
The tool itself is pretty straightforward and intuitive, I was able to figure out most of the assembly without even looking at them.
Good to know:
- Paint container size is the only possible drawback. It could get tedious to frequently refill for very large jobs. For the average job it's fine.
- Screwing in the paint container (when it's full) is slightly awkward, but you'll get used to it. Move to fast in the beginning though and you may be looking at some spilled paint.
- Highly recommend a mask (also encouraged in the instructions). You might be able to get away without one outside, but you'll definitely need one if you inside.
- I used this outside so the overspray wasn't a real issue, but if you're painting indoors you'll need to prep/use tarps. (Wagner includes instructions on how to prep your space. I told you they'd thought of everything).
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Painting is Fun Again

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This paint sprayer exceeded my expectations. I’d heard lots of poor reviews about various paint sprayers over the years – you have to dilute the paint so much it takes 5 coats, they clog & leak easily, the coverage is clumpy and/or uneven, etc. So, while I loved the idea of the Flexio 590 & its claims of providing even coverage with unthinned paint, I was only guardedly optimistic that it would be a pleasant experience.
Now, I started to go easy on it for its first job out of the box & use it with relatively thin deck stain. However, at some point during my Home Depot trip, I decided to abandon that plan & really see what this thing could do. I told the friendly paint counter staff I needed outdoor paint. They advised me Glidden & Behr were both good paints, but Behr would provide thicker coverage. “Thicker, you say? I’ll take it.” So, I carted my gallon of red Behr Premium Plus Satin Exterior paint home & unpacked the Wagner Flexio. The instructions are pretty straightforward (assembly is minimal) & after I’d briefed myself on the do’s and don’ts, I cracked open the gallon of paint & started to pour. Immediately upon seeing how thick the paint was I was concerned I was going to end up having to paint the chairs by hand. However, I’d come too far to back down at that point, so I fired up the Flexio with the iSpray attachment on the highest speed setting. It took a couple seconds for the paint to filter through, but then boom – perfectly even spray. To start, I used it first on a flat, vertical surface, being very sure to keep the sprayer level.
First impressions: it was quieter than I expected & not so heavy that it became uncomfortable. I weighed it & empty it's 4.3lbs. Once I added paint it was 6.5lbs. So, it’s definitely heavier than a paint brush, but not so heavy it’s restrictive. The trigger mechanism is adjustable to control the paint flow & it has a comfortable feel to it.
It performed so fabulously on the flat surface, I then moved on to painting Adirondack furniture (new, untreated lumber). Again, I attempted to keep the sprayer level at first, but with so many angles, I eventually gave up & turned the painter every which way, painting under armrests & down the back slope of the chair, fully expecting it to start sputtering. IT NEVER DID. Including setup & putting down a dropcloth, I painted both chairs & an outdoor deck box in about 40 minutes (not including touching up with a second coat after the first had dried). The coverage was thick & even. Some areas did require a second coat, but with red paint naturally having thinner pigment & the lumber being untreated, I expected this. In fact, I’ve hand-painted chairs just like this before & it’s taken a minimum of 2 coats and about 5x longer. Needless to say, I was thrilled with the results. It went so quickly, I was legitimately sad I didn’t have more things to paint.
The only issue I ran into was during the second coat on the deck box – I twisted the nozzle and apparently broke some kind of vacuum seal, causing the sprayer to hemorrhage paint for a second. I moved the nozzle back and left it alone until the paint slowed & finally stopped (maybe about a minute total). I’m still not exactly sure what caused it, but I wiped it off & fired it back up & it didn’t miss another beat.
For wall applications, I think this sprayer will actually have less wasted paint than traditional brushes and rollers, however, for painting furniture & other items that will have overspray, you probably do waste some paint. It took about half a gallon for my 3 pieces of furniture. Last time I did this by hand, it took about a quart and a half. However, for the ease of application & the time it saves, I will NEVER paint another Adirondack chair by hand. When using inside, you will need to be diligent about using a drop cloth & taping off trim & ceilings, but the spray is very well focused, so as long as you stay at a proper distance & don’t accidentally point it at something you don’t want painted, you won’t regret using it indoors (NOTE: it does continue to spray for a second or two after you release the trigger, so always keep it pointed at the paint surface for a moment before turning away.)
Lastly, clean up was also easier than expected. It took me about 15 minutes to drain & rinse the reservoir, run a cup of soapy water through the turbine & remove & clean the nozzle attachments. All in all, I’m extremely impressed with the Flexio. For anyone who does a considerable amount of painting, this is a must have. You’ll get the same quality results in a fraction of the time. I’m already planning my next painting project!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
65out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Outdoor Projects

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this power painter because I had about 150ft of stockcade fence to seal. It did a fantastic job.
I started off by assembling the sprayer. The directions are very clear, and as a result this only took a few minutes.
It's suggested that anyone starting off by "practicing" on another surface, which I did. It only took a few minutes to get the hang of the power of the spray and to learn how the fan distributes the paint, or in my case, sealer.
Eventually I started on the fence. It was a breeze. The sealer went on smoothly and evenly. I did have to follow with a brush just to make sure that the sealer was worked in to the wood sufficiently, but that is more a function of the method I chose to use, not the sprayer itself. I would guess that I saved several hours of work by using the Wagner Painter Sprayer.
Finally, clean up. Clean up was not totally easy, but again that is a function of any sprayer. I had to make sure that all of the pieces were totally clean after I ran soapy water through the unit. The whole process took me about 20-30 minutes. Again, not great, but not bad either.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone doing an outside project.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flexio 590 HVLP Paint Sprayer Kit
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Results, Fast

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After spending way too many hours rolling paint onto the walls of my room, and then seeing inconsistencies it was frustrating. I am installing crown molding and chair rails, 21 pieces total, and needed to paint prior to installation. Decided to buy this sprayer so I get get a even coat, no brush marks. This did all 21 pieces in 20 minutes perfectly!
I will do the remainder of the room with the sprayer and now be more interested in painting more rooms sooner than later.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>