728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser

Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser

The New Bosch GLL 2-45 Self-leveling Long-range Cross-line Laser features Vertical, Horizontal and Cross Line Modes. It projects two lines independently or together for a wide array of level and/or alignment applications. The same quality, durability and innovation found in Bosch power tools are now offered in a complete line of measuring tools. With Bosch laser technology, users are able to be more productive and thus more profitable on the job-site. Bosch is able to provide solutions for a wide variety of applications.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
Review 1 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive Laser

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The coverage of the laser is amazing. If you set it up on one wall it projects a line that almost entirely covers the other three walls.
The beam is really bright making it easy to see and if you don't have the laser in the acceptable level range it pulses on and off to warn you.
It projects a horizontal and vertical line at the same time or projects the two lines individually. This device is ideal for installing moldings, pictures and cabinets for the home owner. It has endless uses for construction with its long range capabilities. I recommend this laser and also suggest getting a tripod for it. It makes using it much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser

A Great Addition to Any Toolbox!

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a strong and industrial strength product. High quality and does the job extremely well. Out of the box, you notice 4 pieces, the laser level, very nice carrying case, robust mounting bracket, and additional angle attachment (see attached picture.) There is some questions as to how intuitive the product is, I did have to read the instructions as to why it kept blinking after I had set it up. Turns out it will auto-level (which is awesome) within a 4 degree tolerance, outside of 4 degrees to the horizontal, it can not level and will blink to let you know. It is a great feature, but took some digging through the manual to discover.
The bracket is great, it is magnetized which comes in handy. There are accommodations on the leveler itself to mount to a tripod. However for the price I feel a basic tripod could have been included. Beyond this, I have no question that this product can fulfill any handyman's needs, it is a very high quality tool, and a great addition to any tool box!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, High Quality
Cons: not completely intuitive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built like a tank. Self leveling is such a luxury!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you can afford all the bells and whistles you'll probably end up with a rotary level. If you're looking for a good price point for a tool you don't plan use often, it can be hard to justify a rotary.
I actually own an inexpensive rotary and worked with it quite a bit when restoring my barn. The nightmare of that tool is that it's not self leveling. I wasted a lot of time leveling and re-leveling it during that project. In fact, I had to tread as if on egg shells after leveling it to get to the walls to transfer the lines because of the bounce and movement in the loft itself.
While this laser isn't a rotary, because of the self leveling feature it's easy to simply rotate it in place to extend the line if need be. I did just this on a patio project that I'm currently working on. I installed two granite steps in front of the barn and mudroom, leveled to lines I set with the laser. My next task was to scribe a second line for the patio itself. My driveway slopes up to the barn. I ripped out the pavement at the top and will be installing a level granite block patio that encases those two steps. This means I needed to scribe a level line against the house, the barn and across the two steps. I will build up to that line.
My first challenge with this level was the lack of a low, adjustable tripod. The laser comes with a small tripod, which is adjustable (quite nicely, I must say!) only when hanging by the clip, which is meant for drop ceilings or when using the magnetic mount. When the two arms are swiveled out to form the sitting tripod, you can't adjust it vertically because the arms are attached to the riser and lift right off the ground. As you can see in the photo this meant I had to go through a sloppy trial and error process of stacking scrap boards until I found a height that I liked. The next laser up is the GLL2-45, which includes the WM1 tripod, which looks PERFECT for my needs. The problem is the extra cost to move up to that model. I'm not sure what other differences there are between these two models, but I think you should compare them when making your choice. You can also buy the WM1 separately. It's expensive for such a small accessory, though. If I were a cabinet installer, I'd buy it for the bases, along with a regular tripod for the uppers.
My next challenge was that there was no hope of seeing the laser outside during the daytime. I know I have a pair of red glasses that came with my other laser but I couldn't find them, so I was forced to wait until the evening to work with the laser. That was obviously less than ideal. I don't know whether the glasses would have worked in that sunlight, either. Bosch offers the LR30-RT laser receiver, which is a separate device that picks up the laser even when you can't see it. Unfortunately, it's more expensive than the laser itself! I do think they should include a cheap pair of red glasses with the level.
My third and final challenge was that the unit has to be fairly close to level in order to operate. If it's not within 4 degrees of being level the lines flash, indicating that it's incapable of self leveling. I wish it could accept a wider range because I had to mess with shimming the stack of scrap wood , trying to get it to stop flashing. This wouldn't be a problem on a real tripod, but if you're doing any outside work, the ground is never level. This may not be a problem for you if your intended application is indoors on reasonably level surfaces.
The unit itself is crazy rugged! I was quite impressed when I saw the bag and even more impressed when I removed the unit. It's a real tank, for sure! It's easy enough to operate and I have no complaints about its features or operations. It worked great on my above mentioned work, once I could see the beam. It took me all of ten minutes to get the desired line established and transferred.
The "positioning device" (pseudo tripod) is really rugged. I'll never use the drop ceiling hanger, and probably won't use the magnet mount, either in my residential projects. That's a shame because the sliding mechanism is fantastic. It's got a firm, smooth movement that seems precise. That leaves the basic nonadjustable tripod mode for sitting it on something. I've read some complaints about the magnet not being strong enough, so if you intend to use that feature you might want to research that.
Included is a "measurement plate". The instructions gave very little information on how to use it and I haven't figured it out yet. It's a small red square with a reflective backing on one half and measurement marks. I'll have to try to find better instructions or hopefully a video.
I do recommend the laser, but I wish it were easier to compare the various models Bosch offers. I found it to be quite difficult to spot key differences that could help decide how much to spend. If you plan to use it on a tripod I think you'll be quite pleased with this level!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, self leveling!
Cons: would like a better mini tripod, glasses not included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts any job time in half!

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is something people always wish they had, but never actually get around to purchasing. This product has become an essential to every home project I complete, making every task efficient, accurate, and easy.
In the Box you receive all the necessities for using the product, including batteries, carrying case, magnetic mount, level mount and laser target.
The level has multiple laser functions, self-leveling crosshairs, self-leveling single line, as well as locked no leveled modes for various angles. The laser is very bright and projects a lot further than expected, even in daylight.
The mount attaches magnetically and and can be adjusted up and down when attached. The magnetic mount it self could use some work on how it attaches to the laser level. The laser level's mount itself can attach to any metal surface and then be used as the mounting point.
The product has been the most convenient, with its small size and durability, I expect it to last a while!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser

A-mazing

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This laser is pretty darn amazing. It projects a super bright beam both horizontally and vertically. It's quick to self level and will indicate if it's too off kilter by flashing. The mounting options are nice including the magnetic base which is especially cool. So happy I had this for a large project of wall mounted moulding. One suggestion, the directions could use a revamp as they feel like a major afterthought.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Midwest USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had similar device for about 10 years, discovered it'd broken late one Sunday so bought this Bosch via on-line access, picked up early next morning. Brighter, thinner lines that other model. Making sure auto-leveling feature is trustworthy takes a little time. Nice set of accessories too.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Las Cruces Naw Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cross Lazer

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good Useful for my application clamps and magenet.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It was like getting hooked on drugs! I think anyhow.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed something that would work like a string line for a project I was doing and figured this would make my life a lot easier. I have just spent every last dime I've had trying to make a foreclosure livable for my family. I even saved up a little and quit my job to finish. Needless to say I planned on taking it back when I was finished. As wrong as it might be it's the truth. There isn't a chance I will part with it now. I even make sure not to have it in eye sight of my wife when she is near because taking it back was the excuse that got her to shut up about how much it cost. Anyhow I have to say that the laser line level is awesome. I would definitely recommend getting a tripod for it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a welcome addition to my weekend warrior arsenal. Make no mistake this is a professionally designed piece of equipment - it comes with mounting brackets for a tripod and is adjustable eight ways to Sunday. It has many more uses than just hanging pictures on the wall.
I have used it in place of a chalk line, the laser is powerful enough to be seen outside during the day which is awesome. Also it is indeed a long-range laser, it can easily give you a straight line 30 feet long. It is a very durable product and comes in a great carrying case to protect the laser.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good results

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
SETUP
One thing that really can't be stressed enough, is that this device is almost useless for horizontal leveling without a metal telescoping pole or a tripod. In a commercial environment with aluminum beams, this would not be an issue. However, the non-professional rarely works in arenas such as this. Any installation would require a level surface on the other side of the room, at exactly the height required. This just doesn't happen. Even something as simple as hanging two nails for a picture frame cannot be achieved without one of those two items. The vertical line is of course fine, as the unit can be placed on the floor anywhere. Also, as this is a class 2 laser device, always make sure to stand BEHIND it when you set it up.
ACCURACY
The laser level is incredibly accurate, assuming that you are within the specified +-4 degrees. Anything outside of that, and the leveling mechanism simply doesn't work. That means you have to have a reasonably level surface to begin with. This seems like much too narrow of a range, and should offer more flexibility.
VISIBILITY
The laser beam is bright, consistent, and shows a very clear, thin line. Indoors, the line is crisp and visible with no breaks or anomalies. It is incredibly easy to work with and offers invaluable leveling from a distance. The line was easily visible over 40 feet away. Outdoors, as one would expect, is a different story. On a bright sunny day, the line can be seen in the shade no more than about 3 feet away. The pulse mode was helpful in locate the line outdoors, but on bright, sunlit surfaces, it is completely invisible.
ACCESSORIES
The level comes with a protective pouch, a versatile mounting device, and a targeting reflector. The versatile mounting device isn't as versatile as one would hope. It is really just a clip, but with a very small jaw, meaning it really is only useful for clipping onto a horizontal metal i-beam edge; it's not even big enough for a shelf. The magnet on the back of the mounting bracket also serves little use outside of a commercial installation environment, unless you have a metal pole.
SUMMARY
Overall, this product performs beautifully indoors, assuming you have metal telescoping pole or a tripod. The lines are crisp and clear and can be seen clear across the room. Outdoor performance is almost non-existent.
Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Laser Unit + Accessories = Great Buy!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid laser level with very useful accessories. Magnetic mount which includes a hole to mount on a screw(solidly anchored, of course) is very versatile. With just that mount, you can manipulate anything to make this work without spending a fortune for a true rotary level. The other mount for attaching to drop ceiling wall angle is very handy.
What sets this laser level apart from others though, is the Laser Receiver. It's a small red-tinted transparent plastic square that allows you to see the laser at longer ranges or high light situations. Mostly though for outdoors. Paired with the mounts that allow almost 360 degree manual rotation, the laser level and receiver really make any task possible, indoors or out!
You really get all the features of very expensive, "Pro-Grade" laser levels, but at a very affordable price. Don't get me wrong, you need to be a little creative with how you can manipulate it's capabilities, but once you get your hands on it, you won't let it go!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Louisburg, KS 66053, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laser Line Level is the future

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Laser line levels are great in the construction industries, such as glaziers,carpenters anyone who builds for a living. These are time savers and have many uses. It will project a bright 1/8 red laser line that is accurate to a 1/4 at 100'. It comes with a clever laser mount that has attached magnets with an adjustable knob to set it to the desired height. Bosch sells a detector at an extra cost for outside use to go with this laser.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality level for multiple projects

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used both a manual bar level as well as a spinning laser level before this, and it is certainly the best option for precision in comparison. For the price, it probably should include a tripod, but there's a decent (included) alternative as well as a much better alternative you may already own.
First, the level line is very bright. (Cats love it.) You can display the light vertically, horizontally, or both at once. It also includes an auto-level mode where it will blink if it can't level, and a not-so-auto-level mode if you need a different angle. It's very bright in indoor light and decent in a garage with the garage door open in sunlight. The laser also has an excellent range and casts its light in a very wide area, making it great for wall-long shelving-type projects. This is also the sort of level that is great for mounting hooks for ladders in a garage or large mirrors or paintings indoors.
It includes a nice case as well as a multi-use magnetic bracket that can be attached to pretty much whatever you want to attach it to, assuming it's metal. There's a little clip for clipping it to material, but that has to be rather thin material. My glass desk is maybe 1/4-3/8" think and that was too thick. It also has screw holes for attaching it to wood (or anything with screw holes) and includes a nice dial to make micro-sized adjustments both up and down to get your line exactly where you want it.
Perhaps more important for home users or DIYers, the bottom of the level includes a standard size screw hole that will mount to a standard camera mount. If you have one of these already, you are set. Screw the laser level into the top where your camera normally goes, and voila! You have a very professional laser level and all the adjustment capabilities of your camera's tripod. If you don't have a camera tripod, investing in one is recommended (and probably less expensive than a specific laser level tripod).
Overall, this is a professional grade laser level that's missing a tripod (if you don't have the camera tripod already) that works very well. The included batteries mean it'll work out of the box, and the included bracket will allow you to securely attach it to multiple stationary, and presumably already level, objects. Or, if you're a DIYer, you can build your own. There's not much more you can ask from something of this caliber (beyond the tripod). The brightness and accuracy will fit 99.x percent of straight line needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no included tripod but mounts to camera tripod
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Minimum Factory accuracy worse than stated on Home Depot specs

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit worked well the first day and was easy to set-up. Day two, the auto leveling feature would not work on perfectly level surface, Bosch service said to return unit to store. While searching the owner’s manual for possible issues, I ran across discrepancy in the leveling accuracy. The box (and Home Depot) state accuracy of ¼” per 100 ft, the main reason why I purchased the Bosch unit. Leveling accuracy stated in the technical data, page 8 of manual, states a minimum factory accuracy of ±0.3 in/ft (let’s hope value is wrong) or ± .3 mm/m which would convert to .39 in/100 ft.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not accurate
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Liverpool, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't get better than Bosch

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is an excellent product. It is a bit expensive compared to other brands, however it is built to last. You definitely get what you pay for. Bought this for my boyfriend who is very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser

This product meets all my applications

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This laser level did not disappoint one bit. With the feature of vertical and horizontal leveling, my whole living room is full of straight line frames. The minimum leveling accuracy is so precise that all the jobs I have done, including tiling, are clean and very organized.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Self-Leveling Long-Range Cross-line Laser
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Haven't hardly used a normal level in months

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of those products that seems too good to be true, until you use it. It has two modes, locked on and self leveling on. With self leveling, you get the device close to level and it levels for you. The forces are more equalized if you are perfectly level, so you should set it up as best you can.
My first use for this was handing a rack in my garage. I setup the height and did two pencil marks, then hung it. Then I put my old reliable bubble level and couldn't see and issues with level on the install. You can get slightly more accurate with a good bubble level, but it is so small as to be irrelevant. And the errors when shooting level over a long distance with a traditional level go away.
I've done enough deck posts and foundation layouts with mason string and this wins, hands down. I recently had to rebuild my front porch to include wheelchair access. I decided on a deck style construction. I set the laser a 1" above where I wanted level to be and this keeps the front edge of a platform from blocking the laser. Then just put a tape on the top and make sure the laser hits 1". I was having to do much of the construction solo, and it was amazing how much easier this made everything. I had to build multiple stand alone post decks to meet up with the various ramps and everything ended up perfectly level.
When setting up the ramps, I locked the laser and positioned it to paint the horizontal line along the ramp top. Then I could mark a board and transfer the angle to my miter saw. This made joists that were perfectly cut. I will be adding a flexible small camera tripod to my kit for non-level uses like this in the future.
The only con I found with this is that the fixed beam can be hard to see in bright sunlight. I wound up doing my layouts in times I knew it would shaded. Someone that needs this to work anytime, might want to look at the higher end models that include pulsing the laser to give you a clue where it is. You can also use the included target to help, but if you are like me that is somewhere else.
Overall, it is a minor annoyance and doesn't affect any inside work. Hanging pictures is a dream. Hanging drywall accurately. Too many uses for this thing. Now a must have in my toolbox.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: dim in bright light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.