728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

The Akorn Kamado Kooker is one of the most versale charcoal grills on the market. Few grills can reach a searing temperature of 700 F and maintain consistent temperatures from 200 to 700 F. This wide range allows the Akorn to cook a wide variety of foods: steaks, fish, chicken, ribs, brisket, bus, pizza, bread, and even cookies. The innovate design, with Mulled Patents Pending, utilizes double walled steel with insulation that creates a lighter weight alternate to the heavy and fragile ceramic kamados. In order to generate heat, air must be flowing through the grill and around the coals. Air flow causes food to dry out. With the Akorn insulated design, it retains heat better, requiring less heat and less air flow. Therefore, insulated heat = juicier meat.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product40 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product40 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Review 1 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from North of the Gulf of Mexico and South of Jackson.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received the smoker ahead of the promised date. The box it was shipped in is substantial and arrived in great shape. The smoker is Produced in America and well made.
The directions were concise and easy to follow. All the bolts , screws, washers etc.......... Were blister packed with the size and name of each piece printed on the package.
Easy to assemble. I put this unit together by myself, though An extra pair of hands would help. I was pleasantly surprised how every thing lined up perfectly. Did not have to pry pieces so they would line up with the bolt holes. I would highly recommend this smoker from this manufacture to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Azle, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buy this!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a kamado grill that won't break the bank, this is it. Juiciest chicken you'll ever grill! Awesome fajitas! I haven't got to make pizza on it yet but I can't wait to. Seriously buy this grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Best all around grill/smoker!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I bought the Akorn for my wife for her birthday because she has been wanting a smoker. The Akorn was the best all around value I saw. It can do it all.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from GA

The Akorn King Griller is cool

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought online and UPS delivered. Put it together myself.Good directions,not hard. Love the cart prep area. I have used the Akorn a couple times and the food flavor is wonderful but I still need to get the smoking temps right. I have taken off the lower vent and used a copper high heat sealer along with some high heat gasket material to be able to control air flow better. Have not used it since that fix. Added a Weber 22.5 grate where the optional smoking stone would go to put a pizza stone there for direct heat control and a stainless charcoal basket ( used colander from Salvation Army) to catch the ash and measure the lump. Also a large floor tile on the cart to put hot things on. It looks good though. Read all the posts on the web to see how to tweak the Akorn to be more efficient and worth a lot more for much less than a ceramic model. This is a good buy at HD.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: needs a few little mods for smoking
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from The Northwoods
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality product at substantial saving over a Big Green Egg

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have wanted to buy a Big Green Egg for the past few years. Knowing that I would be moving last year, I held off because I didn't want to have to transport the thing. I am glad that I waited, because I found that other companies have jumped into the kamado cooker business. I have had my Akorn Kooker for almost a month now, and I have done numerous long slow cooks on it, as well as some pizza and beer can chicken. There is a learning curve with temperature control, that depends on a number of variable (fuel, lighting technique, damping, etc..) There are numerous videos and resources online to help you figure it out. The good news is that you almost cannot ruin a meal on this thing.
Assembly is pretty straightforward. My box arrived severely beat up by UPS, but the contents were well packaged and undamaged. Assembly was fairly easy, but the instructions are more like IKEA, and require special attention. It is helpful to have two people when you assemble this. I had one of my kids help me, and it was not difficult. Nothing is very heavy, you just need a spare set of hands.
I sealed the bottom damper with some High Temp Copper RTV. That is recommended by numerous users. I'm sure it helps, but my Akorn already had a gasket there (which may be a new addition, as others have not mentioned it).
You will absolutely want to buy a wireless remote thermometer. I bough a Maverick 732, but it failed after a few cooks. The thermometer that this unit comes with registers temps anywhere from 10-50 degrees F different than the temp at the grate. Plus, you will want a thermometer probe in your meat to measure internal temperature without having to raise the lid. If you're lookin', you ain't cookin'. Every time you raise the lid, your internal temp. will drop, followed by a quick rise (because of all the O2 you introduce). With the remote thermometer, you can keep the lid closed for hours on end and not worry.
I own luxury cars, and do not mind paying more for a better product, but I think this grill delivers nearly the same value as a BGE at 1/3 the cost. As for durability, time will tell, but this grill seems well constructed. If I were cooking in the dead of winter (-15 temps) then maybe the BGE will outperform, but I honestly don't think I am going to be BBQing in the winter. Add to the fact that this unit is significantly lighter than a BGE, and comes with a cart which makes it easier to transport and store, and I think that the Akorn Kamado beats the BGE for value. BTW, I have had this thing up over 550F (pizza night) and the outside of the unit is comfortable to touch. Another nice feature is that a Weber charcoal grate (for the 22" grill - which makes the grate 18.5") fits the tabs where a diffuser plate goes so that you can place a drip pan or pizza stone under your food for indirect cooking and to keep the interior moist and aid in cleanup. A cheap mod that increases the versatility and usefulness of this grill. I am very pleased with this purchase, and Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: poor assembly instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Akorn Kamado Grill

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best grill and smoker I have ever owned. Easy to maintain and a pleasure to own and use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent results.....great cooker, BUILD QUALITY COULD BE BETTER

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just put this Acorn grill (in grey cart) together. There were several dings and knick in the paint. Ok, I can live with that, it is basically cosmetic and nothing a few sprays of rustoleum cant handle. The biggest design flaw is in the legs that house the caster wheels. It is terrible. One leg was missing a bur inside it that evidently keeps the caster casing firm and in place. One leg only had one bur and the caster floated out. I stuffed styrofoam from the packing in the leg to the correct height, sat the caster ring on in, gorilla glued it and voila. This is NOT what anyone should expect. I do not want to be hassled to call customer service or take it back. The second quality issue is the front latch. It is not aligned, it is off center quite a bit and the latch does not "latch" the top. It just floats. So far I have cooked on it twice. Excellent results. I actually own another char griller product, which I was not to happy with as well. It did not hold heat and used a ton of lump charcoal. The quality was poor as well as you can see the paint flaked off the bottom. I just bought that grill about 2-3 months ago.
Pros: good value
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, below average build quality on some parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Murrieta, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best Grill ever!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been cooking on propane BBQ's for a long time and wanted to get something different. I wanted a grill, smoker and outdoor oven, this Kamado is all 3 in 1. I promise, I have cooked some of the tastiest food ever, and my wife and kids agree as well (they are picky eaters). I can assure you, if you want a grill that does it all, get this grill. 1/3 of the price of ceramic and just as good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Buford, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Could be better but worth it !!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First the good. Assembled easily, and was ready to go in a short period of time. I have an early model ceramic egg at the house, and this was to use on our houseboat. We have cooked everything from chicken to bacon meatloaf, ribs and even a turkey. It will hold heat as low at 200 and on up over 500 without a problem. Once set, needs only minor adjustment. I just bought the smoking stone and hope to try indirect heat now that the polar vortex has subsided.
OK, the improvements. Notice that this is on our houseboat, so first, I will replace all the exterior screws with stainless steel. Next, I will spray another coat of paint on the bottom rack of the stand. I personally want to put a charcoal grid with smaller holes in the bottom.
I would also buy the cover if left outside. The handle is showing some wear and if it rains, the charcoal dump will fill up with water and make a mess. I did not deduct points from my review because I really should have covered it.
I would definitely buy this again and highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, holds temps easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Near Chicago
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The grill on it's own is almost perfect!
With the "Smokin Stone", cover & remote thermometer, Perfect!
Only 5 meals so far but, all turned out A+
Using "Lump charcoal" is the only new thing that you need to learn.
I gave it a "Good" rating only because I was a "Tool Maker & Machinist" for more than 25 years.
Pros: 7/16 nut driver and phillips screwdriver & go!
Cons: difficult for the "average" person to understand., no usb port!, "no iphone app!", "where do i get a phillips screwdriver?
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Alpharetta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed so far

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had limited use, due to the "polar vortex" weather. Did season the grates and do a beer-butt chicken. Was impressed at the ability to hold a fairly consistent temperature. Did have to do some damper adjusting while cooking the chicken. The results were very good. Grill is stingy with charcoal. Requires very little lump for a hour plus cook time. Manufacturing/build quality seems decent. Thermometer is pure junk. Buy the remote temp monitor. Overall, pretty nifty grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: thermometer is inaccurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a fraction the cost of ceramic kamados

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, took me about an hour and half with a badly sprained ankle and once finished it is sturdy construction. I expected it to be a bit heavier than it is, which at first had me concerned that it wouldn't hold heat because the walls were too thin. I have since smoked an 8 pound pork butt for 16 hours and once I figured out the settings it held my target temperature easily without using much charcoal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN, BUT SOONER.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice cooker! Quick shipping to the local HD. Easy to put together. I have had it for 2 weeks and have smoked pork butt, pork loin, made meatloaf in it, steaks hotdogs and pizza. The second day I made......haha.
Buy this and the smoking stone and a Maverick 2 channel thermometer. You will not be disappointed. Go on line to the BBQ forums and read up on the Kamodo style cookers. There are lots of great ideas on how to get the most from your new grill/smoker/oven. I replaced my vertical smoker and my grill with one unit that uses comparatively little charcoal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, easy to remove the ashes., very efficient with charcoal
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Tifton, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this products has great feature and it's well built

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best grill i have ever owned.It is well built and was at a great price. I have cooked on this grill at least 15 times and i am still using the same bag of charcoal. The meats have the best favor and they are always moist and never dry. Customer service is outstanding and the grill got to me a few days sooner than what i was told. If anyone is looking to buy a grill this is the grill to buy is has excellant quality and value. This grill gets a excellent rating from me .
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Kamado Style Cooker

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely happy with the results after smoking the best ever ribs, chicken and brisket. The table top surface is very handy and the lower shelf is great for storing my charcoal and cooking accessories. It only takes a small amount of lump coal and a handful of flavored wood chips to produce a slow burning fire that lasts for hours. The Kamado will transform a cheap cut of meat into a juicy and tender meal within 3-4 hours depending on the size. I haven't tried grilling steaks or chops yet but I do know that the Akorn will reach a temperature of 700 degrees which is how I seasoned the grill for initial use (don't skip that step). The Akorn Kamado cooks as well as my neighbors big green smoker but for a third the cost!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Dublin. GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Grill I Have Ever Owned!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over the years I have owned every type grill you can think of from cast iron hibachi's, Weber's, smokers with separate fireboxes, and overpriced gas grills. None of them cooked food as good as this grill. I have cooked bratwurst, fish, chicken, steaks, ribs, pork loin, and a whole fresh ham and everything turned out perfect with about 15% of the charcoal I would have used with a regular grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Selah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Happy with Purchase

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grill was fairly simple to assemble. All parts were there and went together well. Do need a 2nd person to help when doing the cart itself but just a matter of putting in all the screws to hold it all together.
Grill itself has been great to use. mostly air tight right out of the box so has done nice job smoking. as 1st grill of this style for me have had a bit a of learning curve on how much charcoal to light to get the temps I want to cook at. Like the easy to dump ash collector on the bottom. The top and bottom dampners work nicely to control the air flow and as I have gained experience have had a much easier time getting a temperature to hold for 2 or 3 hours at a time.
This grill is a good deal for anyone interested in using Charcoal and looking at the Kamado style cookers. Good way to learn and determine if you would later like to move up to the more expensive ceramic versions that cost 3 to 5 times as much.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Olive Branch, MS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Missing pieces but nice grill

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was not fun, and the package was missing a bolt required for the wheel. Since I waited for over a month for delivery, I just went to another store to get a bolt tht would work. With all that said, the grill is very nice and we have enjoyed it. It was a good value for the price.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Better than a Weber

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using several times, I realized this purchase was long overdue.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth every dime

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only reason this did not get an excellent rating was the company shipped me the wrong parts. It's supposed to have two wheel legs and to caster legs. Mine was shipped with 3 caster legs and one wheel leg. We were in a pinch and could not wait to get the correct parts to put it together because of a planned BBQ. My father is pretty resourceful and rigged it so it stays put on our patio. Took about 4 hrs to put together because of that (wine may have also been a factor) So mine is NOT mobile which means I lost a huge selling feature! The actual grilling however is perfect! Steaks are perfectly seared and juicy. We are never going to pricey restaurants for steak again. Ribs are tender and it has plenty of room for burgers and dogs. We use lump coal and got an inexpensive electric starter. I have the stone but have not put it to use yet. I can't wait to smoke a roast! Have yet to do chicken as well but pretty sure the Thanksgiving turkey is going on the chargriller!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>