728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

The Akorn Kamado Kooker can maintain consistent temperatures from 200 degrees to 700 degrees F. That lets you cook a variety of foods such as steaks, fish, chicken, ribs, brisket, pizza, bread and even cookies. The innovative design uses double walled steel with insulation. In order to generate heat, air must be flowing through the grill and around the coals. Air flow causes food to dry out. With the Akorn insulated design, it retains heat better, requiring less heat and less air flow. Therefore, insulated heat, juicier meat.
Overall rating:
4.695 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product90 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(75)
4
(16)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product90 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Review 1 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from North of the Gulf of Mexico and South of Jackson.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Received the smoker ahead of the promised date. The box it was shipped in is substantial and arrived in great shape. The smoker is Produced in America and well made.
The directions were concise and easy to follow. All the bolts , screws, washers etc.......... Were blister packed with the size and name of each piece printed on the package.
Easy to assemble. I put this unit together by myself, though An extra pair of hands would help. I was pleasantly surprised how every thing lined up perfectly. Did not have to pry pieces so they would line up with the bolt holes. I would highly recommend this smoker from this manufacture to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

Issues with assemble but now its great

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill based on the reviews it got. We had the grill shipped to home depot and when we went to pick up the box it looked like it had been thru WWII. Nonetheless, we brought it home and started to unpack it. I immediately noticed two dents on the hood and the latch was set on an angle. We got thru about 75% of the assembly and the hinge was not lining up right, the screw holes were off about an inch. Even if I rotated the top hood in order for the holes to line up, then the latch would not line up. I immediately sent customer service pictures and they shipped a new hood to me which I received about 5 days later. I placed the new hood onto the bottom and had the same issue, the hinge was not lining up right. I sent additional pictures to customer service and they sent out a new bottom dome which I received about 4 days later. Finally, after two weeks from my purchase, I was able to finish the assembly. I used it over July 4th weekend and it was a HUGE hit. Everyone loved the flavor of the food. This is a great grill and I realize not everyone has had issues with the assembly but I was happy to see how quickly customer service was to remedy the issue. I would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the issues up front but either way, its a great grill.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best grill I've ever purchased! Can be used as a smoker which will broaden my grilling horizon!

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this product for about a month now and I have to say I am in love with this grill. The price point was very competitive for a grill this size as the weber equivalent is around $300. That being said, the beauty of this grill starts when you go past standard grilling though, because this grill has insulated walls, and well sealed joints, you have great airflow control, which allows you to use this grill for baking and smoking meats as well. The center top of the grate is removable so you can add charcoal for those really long smoke-cooks.
Last weekend I used this grill to smoke up 20 pounds of meat. I made a 5 lb brisket, a 6 lb pork shoulder, AND 2 full 4.5 lb chickens, all at the same time! The total cook time for the brisket/shoulder was 8 hours, and temperature control was very simple and easy throughout the cook with the bottom/top vents. As if that wasn't enough, because this grill is insulated, you will use far less fuel (charcoal) than equivalently priced smokers, which means you wont have to open the grill up as much, which is a big reason temperature control can be such a pain on other smokers/grills.
I would recommend this grill literally to ANYONE looking for a grill/smoker, and have recommended it many times in the last month of ownership!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, insulated interior, easy temperature management
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from The Northwoods
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality product at substantial saving over a Big Green Egg

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have wanted to buy a Big Green Egg for the past few years. Knowing that I would be moving last year, I held off because I didn't want to have to transport the thing. I am glad that I waited, because I found that other companies have jumped into the kamado cooker business. I have had my Akorn Kooker for almost a month now, and I have done numerous long slow cooks on it, as well as some pizza and beer can chicken. There is a learning curve with temperature control, that depends on a number of variable (fuel, lighting technique, damping, etc..) There are numerous videos and resources online to help you figure it out. The good news is that you almost cannot ruin a meal on this thing.
Assembly is pretty straightforward. My box arrived severely beat up by UPS, but the contents were well packaged and undamaged. Assembly was fairly easy, but the instructions are more like IKEA, and require special attention. It is helpful to have two people when you assemble this. I had one of my kids help me, and it was not difficult. Nothing is very heavy, you just need a spare set of hands.
I sealed the bottom damper with some High Temp Copper RTV. That is recommended by numerous users. I'm sure it helps, but my Akorn already had a gasket there (which may be a new addition, as others have not mentioned it).
You will absolutely want to buy a wireless remote thermometer. I bough a Maverick 732, but it failed after a few cooks. The thermometer that this unit comes with registers temps anywhere from 10-50 degrees F different than the temp at the grate. Plus, you will want a thermometer probe in your meat to measure internal temperature without having to raise the lid. If you're lookin', you ain't cookin'. Every time you raise the lid, your internal temp. will drop, followed by a quick rise (because of all the O2 you introduce). With the remote thermometer, you can keep the lid closed for hours on end and not worry.
I own luxury cars, and do not mind paying more for a better product, but I think this grill delivers nearly the same value as a BGE at 1/3 the cost. As for durability, time will tell, but this grill seems well constructed. If I were cooking in the dead of winter (-15 temps) then maybe the BGE will outperform, but I honestly don't think I am going to be BBQing in the winter. Add to the fact that this unit is significantly lighter than a BGE, and comes with a cart which makes it easier to transport and store, and I think that the Akorn Kamado beats the BGE for value. BTW, I have had this thing up over 550F (pizza night) and the outside of the unit is comfortable to touch. Another nice feature is that a Weber charcoal grate (for the 22" grill - which makes the grate 18.5") fits the tabs where a diffuser plate goes so that you can place a drip pan or pizza stone under your food for indirect cooking and to keep the interior moist and aid in cleanup. A cheap mod that increases the versatility and usefulness of this grill. I am very pleased with this purchase, and Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: poor assembly instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Huntington Beach, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UPDATE..... Poor Quality Control

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Back on 1/31/15 I wrote a review on my displeasure with this product. I have to say that I was taken care and the customer service was excellent. They made sure that I recieved the replacement part and in very quick time. After assembly I have to say that I am very please with this grill and that I would recommend this to everyone.
Please disregard my previous review. Char-Griller's customer service is enough to keep me as a customer
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from GA

The Akorn King Griller is cool

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought online and UPS delivered. Put it together myself.Good directions,not hard. Love the cart prep area. I have used the Akorn a couple times and the food flavor is wonderful but I still need to get the smoking temps right. I have taken off the lower vent and used a copper high heat sealer along with some high heat gasket material to be able to control air flow better. Have not used it since that fix. Added a Weber 22.5 grate where the optional smoking stone would go to put a pizza stone there for direct heat control and a stainless charcoal basket ( used colander from Salvation Army) to catch the ash and measure the lump. Also a large floor tile on the cart to put hot things on. It looks good though. Read all the posts on the web to see how to tweak the Akorn to be more efficient and worth a lot more for much less than a ceramic model. This is a good buy at HD.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: needs a few little mods for smoking
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Quality Control

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Original shelf would not go together as welds were WAY OFF. Spent an enormous amount of time locating an HD that had a unit with the correct part and swapping it out. Several of the screws were also malformed (unable to use screwdriver on them). Shoddy workmanship, would not buy again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Alpharetta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great first Kamado/Smoker

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like most people, I've seen many friends using the Big Green Egg and I wanted one. The problem is I already have a gas grill and I don't smoke/grill often enough to justify spending that much money. Then I saw this Akorn Kamado at my local Home Depot. After reading the positive reviews and the fact that I had a few HD gift cards, I decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did.
I've owned it for a few months now. I'm no expert, but it seems to be cooking every bit as well as the BGE. Plus it has a few advantages over the BGE. One, the bottom comes off very easily so you can dump and clean out the old coals. Two, it is very light and easy to move. This may not be important to some, but if there is any chance you will need to move it back and forth between patio, porch, driveway, etc. then it comes in handy.
ADVICE: If you get one, get a cover right away. Home Depot is out of stock of the cover that is made specifically for this grill, so I called Char-griller to see where to get one. They were out of stock as well, so I decided to wait. Unfortunately, when it rains, any water that gets in through the top smoke vent gathers in the bottom. Then, on sunny days, the water evaporates up to the grill grates which are cast iron. It caused lots of rust on my grates. After a few months, I decided I couldn't wait any longer so I decided to try the Weber grill cover that is made for their Performer series of grills. It works like a charm. See Picture. It is the Performer Silver 22-1/2 in. Premium Grill Cover model 7449.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Chandler AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product and great deal while on sale!!!

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am new to owning a Kamado style cooker and so far I am very impressed with this product. I've only cooked a couple of meals on my Akorn, but they have been very good. I am still learning the ins and outs of controlling temps, but haven't had any run away from me yet, and I still have yet to do a low and slow cook too. I have been able to maintain 350 for 3 hours and 400 for 1 without any issues. I will say an external thermometer is a must to get an accurate grate temp due to the shape of the bowl and distance from the cooking surface, the external thermometer isn't accurate, in my grills case about 35 degrees off, which on a long cook could really make a difference. Overall though this is a very good product that doesn't use much fuel, and cooks really well. I also really love the prep space with this particular model. I definitely use it a lot either for holding my spices as I prep the meal or just holding my platters and utensils. Also the under cart storage is awesome to hold the lump charcoal and any other items, suchas the deflector plate when not being used. I highly recommend this for anyone wanting a good product at a great price. I have seen some complaints of smoke leaking from the Akorn while cooking, but I have not had any issues with it as my grill seems to be sealed up well. Time will only tell if this stays true, but there are many options out there to help correct this if it happens, just google it and you'll get many hits. Hope you enjoy your Char-Griller Akorn as much as I do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: none so far!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Azle, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buy this!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're looking for a kamado grill that won't break the bank, this is it. Juiciest chicken you'll ever grill! Awesome fajitas! I haven't got to make pizza on it yet but I can't wait to. Seriously buy this grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Best all around grill/smoker!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I bought the Akorn for my wife for her birthday because she has been wanting a smoker. The Akorn was the best all around value I saw. It can do it all.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Akorn Kamado Grill

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best grill and smoker I have ever owned. Easy to maintain and a pleasure to own and use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Murrieta, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best Grill ever!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been cooking on propane BBQ's for a long time and wanted to get something different. I wanted a grill, smoker and outdoor oven, this Kamado is all 3 in 1. I promise, I have cooked some of the tastiest food ever, and my wife and kids agree as well (they are picky eaters). I can assure you, if you want a grill that does it all, get this grill. 1/3 of the price of ceramic and just as good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Ohio

Good grill, large roomy

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The box was dinged when I picked it up from my HD store and I was somewhat concerned since the cardboard was actually punctured.
Well we did work a while to put all many pieces together and at the end viola ....an axle that holds the larger wheels was missing.
Looked all over inside the box, styrofoam packaging inside out.
Called HD they took all info and after couple days got an email saying that no part will be available.
So I can return the grill if I want to. I did not want to transport the big grill back, reorder it to go trough the
Assembly process again etc.
Got 10 % back from HD. And I still can return if I choose to.will see if the manufacturer can help us.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for beginner like me

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first grill in my life.
I assembled them, not easy, but little more effort, no problem for anyone.
Looks good to me.
I bought some extra with this ; lump charcoal, lighter, cleaning brush, cover, rapid chimney
Recommend to buy all these together.
First fire, first time in my life, flawless no problem and felt like I'm expert now.
no more woooorry to invite friends(4) and grill for them.
Grill for my family(4) with pleasure
I'm looking forward to grilling any time soon
Grilling space is about right my skill (ultra beginner)
so far enough for 8 person serves
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Wisconsin

Amazing! Takes your grilling to the next level

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Akorn Kamado Kooker is an amazing charcoal grill. You will be able to do things on it better than on anything else in its price range. After assembly I ran a test fire in it (to burn off any assembly smells) and before I knew it I was up to 600 degrees! I shut the dampers a bit and it held there for more than an hour before I turned it lower. I love I can select to cook steaks at higher temps than on standard grills and maintain them for as long as I want. We also bought a pizza stone (and lifter!!!) and that is just mind-blowingly good and fun to make.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Hudson Valley, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loving it so far

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly was a bit of a slog. Just pay careful attention to each and every illustration and take your time. I've only used it for high-heat grilling and it's been great. Also really like that you can shut it down when you're done and reuse whatever lump charcoal is left. Looking forward to doing some low-and-slow cooking, which I'm sure will be more of a challenge--but the rewards will likely be higher as well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from God's Country, East Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

These grills are the greatest.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I already had a red one of these in the three-legged configuration, but the cart adds even more convenience to an already great product. I use these for competitive BBQ cookoffs and couldn't be happier. I get the performance of one of the over priced green behemoths, without the excessive weight or worry that they will crack in transit to and from the cookoff. An added bonus is that I can get these into the back of a pickup truck all by myself. Paired with a DigiQ controller I would stack these up against anything else on the market. They hold temperature beautifully for long periods of time and use very little charcoal for low and slow cooks. Plus, at the end of Saturday when cooking is finished I can just pop off the bottom of the grill and dump everything in the ash barrel. There is no waiting for the coals to cool down so I can scoop them out. These are excellent grills and I highly recommend them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, inexpensive
Cons: not expensive enough to be a status symbol.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

A very nice kama do style grill

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had mine for about 2 years now. I got rid of a big smoker and small grill and replaced it with this one. I've done everything from hot dogs to brisket. Just smoked a picnic on it a few days ago. It's pretty easy to get it to a certain temp and keep it there even with hickory, the unit seals up tight and does not allow any unintended drafts. The pros of this unit light weight, low cost, attractive style, durable, locks in moisture, saves on charcoal. The cons the cast iron grate rust easily, the ash pan will allow water to get in between its 2 layers even with the cover on, and yes the grate will rust even oiled with the cover on, also the prep table on mine cracked after just a few uses. Over all I would recommend this unit if you don't have $1000 you just want to blow on a heavier more fragile one that takes 3 people to move, this will do every thing an egg will do and stay cooler to the touch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Keene, Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good Grill for the money

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I picked up the grill from Home Depot and it took three hands in order to assemble. Once we put it together with a few extra tools, (7/16 wrench and 1/4 inch drive socket as well as a #2 cross tip screw driver) and a spare hand. Suggestion as to the instructions, (finish the cart before attaching the cooker). I used eight Brinquettes and three pieces of seasoned White Oak pieces. I ran out of food trying to out cook the grill. Ribs were moist and tender, Burgers were juicy and had that grillmaster tale tale ring and the steaks were a close second to aged beef.And as in the instructions the more air the more heat, it is easy to get it up to 700 degrees. My only complaint is there were zero accesories at the point of sale, from grill cover to the stones.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>