728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

The Akorn Kamado Kooker is one of the most versale charcoal grills on the market. Few grills can reach a searing temperature of 700 F and maintain consistent temperatures from 200 to 700 F. This wide range allows the Akorn to cook a wide variety of foods: steaks, fish, chicken, ribs, brisket, bus, pizza, bread, and even cookies. The innovate design, with Mulled Patents Pending, utilizes double walled steel with insulation that creates a lighter weight alternate to the heavy and fragile ceramic kamados. In order to generate heat, air must be flowing through the grill and around the coals. Air flow causes food to dry out. With the Akorn insulated design, it retains heat better, requiring less heat and less air flow. Therefore, insulated heat juicier meat.
Overall rating:
4.784 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product49 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product49 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Review 1 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from North of the Gulf of Mexico and South of Jackson.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made smoker

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received the smoker ahead of the promised date. The box it was shipped in is substantial and arrived in great shape. The smoker is Produced in America and well made.
The directions were concise and easy to follow. All the bolts , screws, washers etc.......... Were blister packed with the size and name of each piece printed on the package.
Easy to assemble. I put this unit together by myself, though An extra pair of hands would help. I was pleasantly surprised how every thing lined up perfectly. Did not have to pry pieces so they would line up with the bolt holes. I would highly recommend this smoker from this manufacture to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from The Northwoods
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality product at substantial saving over a Big Green Egg

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have wanted to buy a Big Green Egg for the past few years. Knowing that I would be moving last year, I held off because I didn't want to have to transport the thing. I am glad that I waited, because I found that other companies have jumped into the kamado cooker business. I have had my Akorn Kooker for almost a month now, and I have done numerous long slow cooks on it, as well as some pizza and beer can chicken. There is a learning curve with temperature control, that depends on a number of variable (fuel, lighting technique, damping, etc..) There are numerous videos and resources online to help you figure it out. The good news is that you almost cannot ruin a meal on this thing.
Assembly is pretty straightforward. My box arrived severely beat up by UPS, but the contents were well packaged and undamaged. Assembly was fairly easy, but the instructions are more like IKEA, and require special attention. It is helpful to have two people when you assemble this. I had one of my kids help me, and it was not difficult. Nothing is very heavy, you just need a spare set of hands.
I sealed the bottom damper with some High Temp Copper RTV. That is recommended by numerous users. I'm sure it helps, but my Akorn already had a gasket there (which may be a new addition, as others have not mentioned it).
You will absolutely want to buy a wireless remote thermometer. I bough a Maverick 732, but it failed after a few cooks. The thermometer that this unit comes with registers temps anywhere from 10-50 degrees F different than the temp at the grate. Plus, you will want a thermometer probe in your meat to measure internal temperature without having to raise the lid. If you're lookin', you ain't cookin'. Every time you raise the lid, your internal temp. will drop, followed by a quick rise (because of all the O2 you introduce). With the remote thermometer, you can keep the lid closed for hours on end and not worry.
I own luxury cars, and do not mind paying more for a better product, but I think this grill delivers nearly the same value as a BGE at 1/3 the cost. As for durability, time will tell, but this grill seems well constructed. If I were cooking in the dead of winter (-15 temps) then maybe the BGE will outperform, but I honestly don't think I am going to be BBQing in the winter. Add to the fact that this unit is significantly lighter than a BGE, and comes with a cart which makes it easier to transport and store, and I think that the Akorn Kamado beats the BGE for value. BTW, I have had this thing up over 550F (pizza night) and the outside of the unit is comfortable to touch. Another nice feature is that a Weber charcoal grate (for the 22" grill - which makes the grate 18.5") fits the tabs where a diffuser plate goes so that you can place a drip pan or pizza stone under your food for indirect cooking and to keep the interior moist and aid in cleanup. A cheap mod that increases the versatility and usefulness of this grill. I am very pleased with this purchase, and Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: poor assembly instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Alpharetta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great first Kamado/Smoker

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like most people, I've seen many friends using the Big Green Egg and I wanted one. The problem is I already have a gas grill and I don't smoke/grill often enough to justify spending that much money. Then I saw this Akorn Kamado at my local Home Depot. After reading the positive reviews and the fact that I had a few HD gift cards, I decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did.
I've owned it for a few months now. I'm no expert, but it seems to be cooking every bit as well as the BGE. Plus it has a few advantages over the BGE. One, the bottom comes off very easily so you can dump and clean out the old coals. Two, it is very light and easy to move. This may not be important to some, but if there is any chance you will need to move it back and forth between patio, porch, driveway, etc. then it comes in handy.
ADVICE: If you get one, get a cover right away. Home Depot is out of stock of the cover that is made specifically for this grill, so I called Char-griller to see where to get one. They were out of stock as well, so I decided to wait. Unfortunately, when it rains, any water that gets in through the top smoke vent gathers in the bottom. Then, on sunny days, the water evaporates up to the grill grates which are cast iron. It caused lots of rust on my grates. After a few months, I decided I couldn't wait any longer so I decided to try the Weber grill cover that is made for their Performer series of grills. It works like a charm. See Picture. It is the Performer Silver 22-1/2 in. Premium Grill Cover model 7449.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Azle, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buy this!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a kamado grill that won't break the bank, this is it. Juiciest chicken you'll ever grill! Awesome fajitas! I haven't got to make pizza on it yet but I can't wait to. Seriously buy this grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from GA

The Akorn King Griller is cool

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought online and UPS delivered. Put it together myself.Good directions,not hard. Love the cart prep area. I have used the Akorn a couple times and the food flavor is wonderful but I still need to get the smoking temps right. I have taken off the lower vent and used a copper high heat sealer along with some high heat gasket material to be able to control air flow better. Have not used it since that fix. Added a Weber 22.5 grate where the optional smoking stone would go to put a pizza stone there for direct heat control and a stainless charcoal basket ( used colander from Salvation Army) to catch the ash and measure the lump. Also a large floor tile on the cart to put hot things on. It looks good though. Read all the posts on the web to see how to tweak the Akorn to be more efficient and worth a lot more for much less than a ceramic model. This is a good buy at HD.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: needs a few little mods for smoking
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Best all around grill/smoker!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I bought the Akorn for my wife for her birthday because she has been wanting a smoker. The Akorn was the best all around value I saw. It can do it all.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Akorn Kamado Grill

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best grill and smoker I have ever owned. Easy to maintain and a pleasure to own and use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Murrieta, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best Grill ever!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been cooking on propane BBQ's for a long time and wanted to get something different. I wanted a grill, smoker and outdoor oven, this Kamado is all 3 in 1. I promise, I have cooked some of the tastiest food ever, and my wife and kids agree as well (they are picky eaters). I can assure you, if you want a grill that does it all, get this grill. 1/3 of the price of ceramic and just as good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from North Richland Hills TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

After 1 year .....

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always try and wait at least a year to write and review a larger purchase type of product and I can honestly say this grill has been amazing. Everything from WHOLE Turkeys, to steaks to home made pizzas. My wife was always a gas grill girl but after the first ribeye she never wanted gas grilled steak again.
I would recommend this grill to everyone.
Side note.... going from a gas grill to natural charcoal is a learning curve, so be patient with temperatures and grill times...!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Lewisville, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best grill ever!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Add me to the legion of "Best Grill Ever" reviews. I've wanted a Big Green Egg for years, but was priced out of the market. Walking down the aisle at Home Depot one day, I did a triple-take at the price tag on the Akorn Kamado with a cart for $329. An employee walked by and asked if I needed assistance. I asked him if there wasn't a "1" missing in front of the $329 price tag. He laughed. I bought. This is a seriously good unit. I've only just begun, but have cooked NY strips, pork chops and pizza... all "best ever quality". I LOVE this thing! My only "do-over" would be not to buy THREE bags of lump charcoal at once. I've only used about 15% of one bag so far. lol Thank you Home Depot and thank you Akorn Kamado. Wow!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Black Forest, CO

Great for grilling and smoking

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great grill. I've already smoked salmon and chicken, and have grilled fish (mahi mahi, ono, salmon), burgers, brats, pizza, pork chops, and breakfast sausage,..and I've only had the grill just over a week. Results are awesome. Now for a little information as an FYI, although it does reflect in the overall review/rating of this product...the grill is sold online only...OK...no problem there. Shipment and delivery of this product is terrible. I received MANY broken or damaged parts on my first shipment of which I refused delivery and ordered another grill to be delivered. The second one also arrived with MANY broken and/or damaged parts. I followed the manufacturers recommendation of calling them for the replacement parts. The Customer Service staff is very friendly, but their responsiveness leaves a bit to be desired. After repeated contacts (making sure the required information was provided) it took them a week and a half to put together the replacement parts order...then when it was received there were more damaged parts. I went ahead and put it together...assembly (as mentioned in other reviews) is quite easy. After using the grill for only one week, the paint on the handle is already cracked and chipping/peeling off.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: shipment/delivery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Kamado Style Cooker

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely happy with the results after smoking the best ever ribs, chicken and brisket. The table top surface is very handy and the lower shelf is great for storing my charcoal and cooking accessories. It only takes a small amount of lump coal and a handful of flavored wood chips to produce a slow burning fire that lasts for hours. The Kamado will transform a cheap cut of meat into a juicy and tender meal within 3-4 hours depending on the size. I haven't tried grilling steaks or chops yet but I do know that the Akorn will reach a temperature of 700 degrees which is how I seasoned the grill for initial use (don't skip that step). The Akorn Kamado cooks as well as my neighbors big green smoker but for a third the cost!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart

Cha-Griller Arkorn

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fantastic grill!!! 5 stars!! Cook's great, would recommend to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN, BUT SOONER.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice cooker! Quick shipping to the local HD. Easy to put together. I have had it for 2 weeks and have smoked pork butt, pork loin, made meatloaf in it, steaks hotdogs and pizza. The second day I made......haha.
Buy this and the smoking stone and a Maverick 2 channel thermometer. You will not be disappointed. Go on line to the BBQ forums and read up on the Kamodo style cookers. There are lots of great ideas on how to get the most from your new grill/smoker/oven. I replaced my vertical smoker and my grill with one unit that uses comparatively little charcoal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, easy to remove the ashes., very efficient with charcoal
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from asheville, nc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sweeeeeeet Grill

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
grill is pretty freakin awesome. researched for a while and decided to go with this one and not sorry about it. should be a great product for a long tiime!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Buford, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Could be better but worth it !!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First the good. Assembled easily, and was ready to go in a short period of time. I have an early model ceramic egg at the house, and this was to use on our houseboat. We have cooked everything from chicken to bacon meatloaf, ribs and even a turkey. It will hold heat as low at 200 and on up over 500 without a problem. Once set, needs only minor adjustment. I just bought the smoking stone and hope to try indirect heat now that the polar vortex has subsided.
OK, the improvements. Notice that this is on our houseboat, so first, I will replace all the exterior screws with stainless steel. Next, I will spray another coat of paint on the bottom rack of the stand. I personally want to put a charcoal grid with smaller holes in the bottom.
I would also buy the cover if left outside. The handle is showing some wear and if it rains, the charcoal dump will fill up with water and make a mess. I did not deduct points from my review because I really should have covered it.
I would definitely buy this again and highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, holds temps easily
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Near Chicago
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The grill on it's own is almost perfect!
With the "Smokin Stone", cover & remote thermometer, Perfect!
Only 5 meals so far but, all turned out A+
Using "Lump charcoal" is the only new thing that you need to learn.
I gave it a "Good" rating only because I was a "Tool Maker & Machinist" for more than 25 years.
Pros: 7/16 nut driver and phillips screwdriver & go!
Cons: difficult for the "average" person to understand., no usb port!, "no iphone app!", "where do i get a phillips screwdriver?
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Alpharetta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed so far

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had limited use, due to the "polar vortex" weather. Did season the grates and do a beer-butt chicken. Was impressed at the ability to hold a fairly consistent temperature. Did have to do some damper adjusting while cooking the chicken. The results were very good. Grill is stingy with charcoal. Requires very little lump for a hour plus cook time. Manufacturing/build quality seems decent. Thermometer is pure junk. Buy the remote temp monitor. Overall, pretty nifty grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: thermometer is inaccurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
from Chattanooga, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It just simply works.

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to understand assembly instructions, took about 30 minutes to assemble. Took cooking advice from instruction book with excellent results. Great experience as other reviewers have stated.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Akorn Kamado Kooker 22 in. Charcoal Grill in Grey with Cart
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a fraction the cost of ceramic kamados

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, took me about an hour and half with a badly sprained ankle and once finished it is sturdy construction. I expected it to be a bit heavier than it is, which at first had me concerned that it wouldn't hold heat because the walls were too thin. I have since smoked an 8 pound pork butt for 16 hours and once I figured out the settings it held my target temperature easily without using much charcoal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>