728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

Chop enough wood for the winter in single weekend with the Sportsman Series Towable Log splitter. Hardwood trees like oaks, hickory, chestnut and ash are no match for the hydraulic jack with 15-Ton of splitting power. Easily split logs up to 21 in. long for the fireplace, wood burning stove, and outdoor fire pit. Ideal for folks with large wooded properties, this Log Splitter can even go off- road. A low center of gravity and all terrain tires make it stable on rough trails. Two tandem hitches, (one in the front and one in the back) let you tow the log splitter and a trailer at the same time. The adjustable tongue can extend up to 18 in. so it will easily fit under your ATV’s extended rack.
Overall rating:
3.481 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product20 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(2)
Features 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product20 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
Review 1 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Burrillville, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good splitter for the price

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was assembled for free by HD so that was great however, one of the oil fittings started to leak after about an hour of operation and the piston doesn't return automatically when I push the lever back. I have to hold it the whole time to return the piston to it's starting position which causes me to have to waste a lot of time when I could be getting the next piece ready to split. I called the mfg. service line and the tech told me he didn't know how to fix that!
The splitter has plenty of power and did not bog down even when I split some really stringy/knotty wood.
I will probably fix the leak myself and try to figure out how to adjust the return valve so it works properly.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, help line no help
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great splitter

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly was smooth, fired right up on one pull, been splitting ever since. My husband is grateful as he no longer has to sling an axe.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Robinson, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Wood Splitter foer the Price

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The splitter arrived in a box with several sub-assemblies that had to be bolted together. Assembly was pretty straight-forward, but the assembly instructions left a lot to the imagination. The motor started after a few pulls and seemed to run strongly. I had about 1/2 cord of seasoned oak to split, and the splitter did a great job until about half way through when two of the bolts on the pusher assembly sheared into. A quick trip to Tractor Supply for a couple of high-grade bolts fixed that problem,and I was back in the splitting business. The rest of the job went smoothly, with only one large log of the pile causing the hydraulic ram to stall out, and after repositioning that log, it split OK. The motor usually takes four or five pulls to start, but runs fine after starting. There is a small hydraulic oil leak from somewhere in the pump assembly, but not enough to cause any concern for the present. My opinion of the splitter is that it is plenty sufficient for the average home-owner, but would probably require a lot of maintenance if used every day professionally. For only occasional use, though, I feel like this is probably a good buy, and I would buy it again if I needed another splitter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great log splitter.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to cut down a huge Ash with Ash bore and as you can see the log splitter is handling even these logs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Washington
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought it online and it was on sale for $599.00, it was $300 of the listed price. In my opinion it is not worth the regular price of $899 but a good deal at $599. As others have stated make sure you download the manual form the Home Depot site as the one that comes with is only good for the recycle bin. First thing I always do it match the part list with the parts that were included with the product. I was really surprised that so many nuts, washers and bolts were missing. I think there were over 25 of them missing in the shipment. I called and they were great on the phone and took care of it but then it was about 10 days to get the parts. I told them that their quality control leads a lot to be desired. It works fine and I was splitting big logs with no problems. Although the auto return is intermittent and sometimes will click off without fully retracting. The unit is easy enough to move around to where you need to put it. I took about 6 pulls to start it the first time but fired up after that with no more then 2 pulls.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: many parts missing in shipment, poor instrctions included
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Kauneonga Lake, NY

Great value!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You get what you paid, but this is definitely a great value.
The instructions that come with the splitter are sort of confusing. I downloaded the ones available on the home depot website which were much clearer.
After assembling the splitter, I could not start it up right away. I couldn't really figure it out what was wrong. Had to read through the manual to find out what the problem was, and I found out that there was not enough oil in the engine. Note, the engine has a sensor, and if there's not enough oil in there, IT WILL NOT START!! I think that might have been the issue for some reviewers that couldn't start the splitter.
After solving the issue, everything else was a piece of cake. Great splitter for a great price!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
Cons: poor instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Kempner, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good splitter

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall performance is great, the assembly instructions need work, pictures are not clear and nuts and bolts have no distinguishing features. Customer service was very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Baltimore, Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay for the sale price

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only run this splitter for 2 hours so I don't know about longevity. I put the splitter together and had to guess at how the log support went on since the pictures in the manual don't reflect what is in the box. I guessed wrong and bent the log support. I was able to find a manual on the Buffalo website that said 2014 version. This had the correct picture and I was able to assemble correctly. The splitter is very slow. The cycle time on the home depot site says 14 seconds. I guess they don't know what a cycle is. The true cycle time is 28 seconds. It takes 14 seconds for the push rod to extend and 14 to return. The problem is compounded by the fact that the detent valve doesn't work properly and is not adjustable so when to try to return the push rod you have to stand at the splitter and hold the lever. You should be able to push the lever to return the push rod and have it return all the way so you can grab another log. If you are lucky you can get 2 splits in per minute. This is extremely slow. One of the normal benefits from getting a small ton splitter is the faster cycle time. But this is not the case with this splitter. The working height is a little low and I am only 5'7''.
Now what I liked about the splitter. It is light weight and easy to move around the yard. It did split everything I put on it, mostly oak that was 20 inchs long by 12 - 15 inches wide. The splitting wedge did seem to work well.
With all these negatives the reason I gave it a 3 star rating is that for the sale price it may be worth it for someone who isn't going to split a lot of wood and just doesn't want to split by hand.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Greeley Hill, California 95311, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great price, great splitter

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I BOUGHT THE 196 CC 15-TON 6.5 HP GAS POWERED LOG SPLITTER, SHIP TO STORE. IT LOOKS A BIT SMALL BUT I HAVE SPLITTER 2 CORDS AND IT HAS NO PROBLEMS SO FAR. THE LOG RAIL IS A LITTLE LACKING. BUT IF YOU ARE ONLY SPLITTING WOOD FOR YOUR OWN HOUSE HOLD, I THINK THIS ONE WILL DO THE JOB. THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PUT IT TOGETHER NEED SOME IMPROVEMENT, MORE INTRUCTION. OVER ALL THIS IS A GREAT DEAL. REGARDS,
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: more intructions for putting together
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bang for the buck

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Obviously there are gonna be ones out there that are more expensive and better put together, but for the most bang for your buck this is it. Instructions can be head scratching so count your bolts. I ended up with 2 extra bolts I have no idea where they'd go. The braces that prevent the logs from rolling off should be mounted lower. I put on a large log and it sheered the bolts right off. I'm gonna weld them lower where I want them. You could just remove them altogether. For the money I spent I am very happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

Great log splitter (but poorly written instructions and bolts constantly strip)

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The log splitter works great, however getting it to its working condition is NOT too great. The store told us that the assembly would mostly consist of attaching wheels to the unit, but that is not the case. It would have been fine to do the assembly at home, but the instructions are not clear. They start out easy enough once you get into the assembly parts that you truly need instruction for, you realize that the directions are written wrong. The bolt sizes and corresponding numbers do NOT match up with the instructions. The last complaint that we have is that once the assembly is done, four of the bolts (that are important and necessary) are constantly stripping, the four bolts that attach the plate to the push rod. I have replaced them three times and I have split 3 cords of wood. The ONLY thing they need to do to make this log splitter perfect is rewrite (or edit) the instructions and fix the bolt stripping problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: poor instructions, bolts stripping
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Black Forest, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This splitter has awesome features if it would stay working!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought it home, assembled it as per instructions, started the engine and ran the hydraulic lever to move the ram forward, back and in neutral. Shut it off. Tried to start it the next day and it would not start. Called the maintenance line for it, but they never called me back. I figured out the problem (the lever needs to be in forward to start, or it did then) after four days. The next day I went out and split wood for 4 hours when the ram slowed down and then stuck in the all the way forward position. I called them again, three weeks ago, and they cannot figure out what is wrong with it. I WANT IT TO WORK! I paid $900 for this splitter which I would not have done if I did NOT NEED it.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, difficult to get help from the maintenance line
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Loveland Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A very good product. A little difficult to assemble but very good quality material used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from San Luis Valley, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got what I paid for

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not very happy with this splitter. The assembly instructions were poor but no big deal to figure out. However, blew a line the first time I used it and sheared a couple of bolts off. Replaced bolts and hydraulic lines with higher quality ones. During the second season, the control valve stopped working and will not retract.
When it works, it's not a bad little splitter, but the money I've spent in repairs plus the cost of the machine, I could have gotten a 22 ton brand name splitter.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

Good Mid-Priced Log Splitter

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far have split about 1/2 cord of red and white oak some pieces 24" with no issues. Box was torn open on pickup at HD. Later discovered parts were missing including hydraulic hoses. Buffalo Tools was very responsive and got the missing parts to me in a week. Very happy with transaction and product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Warrensville , NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

You get what you pay for

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bolts were turned around and bent. The gas switch sticker was backwards. On the positive side it does have more power than I expected. It split larger logs than I thought it would. My ship dates kept being changed. I finally got to talk to them and they were very nice. I am glad I ordered early because it was a Christmas gift..
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Fallston, Md
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value For The Money

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Received product in large box on pallet--"some assembly required" was certainly an understatement--had to purchase snap ring pliers to assemble wheels--could have better fasteners here-unit was packed rather well, but directions were certainly lacking--having mechanical background helped me here--after getting unit put together ,went to work with it--works rather well, and was impressed with height adjuster, but the log cradle bent with the first log--too light-could be beefier. overall, I got what I paid for.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions, instructions were included but not complete--
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Quinlan, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Piece of Junk

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Bolts broke on the Mount the 2nd day I had it and the Automatic Reverse Quit working.The 3rd week I had it all the Hydraulic Fluid starting Leaking.Returned to the store for a Credit.
Pros: it is cheap.
Cons: Not Durable, its discontinued
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Lenoir, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good splitter

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When description said dual hitch system, thought that meant that I could hook it to my truck, WRONG!
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can't tow behind truck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is sturdy and easy to use.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The wood splitter is nicely made and very sturdy as far as the actual metal frame/wheels. It would be easy to wheel out to a spot and split wood. The only downside was that several screws/bolts were either bent or missing so we had to replace them. This may have just been a fluke.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: broken/missing bolts
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>