728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System

Chop enough wood for the winter in single weekend with the Sportsman Series Towable Log splitter. Hardwood trees like oaks, hickory, chestnut and ash are no match for the hydraulic jack with 15-Ton of splitting power. Easily split logs up to 21 in. long for the fireplace, wood burning stove, and outdoor fire pit. Ideal for folks with large wooded properties, this Log Splitter can even go off- road. A low center of gravity and all terrain tires make it stable on rough trails. Two tandem hitches, (one in the front and one in the back) let you tow the log splitter and a trailer at the same time. The adjustable tongue can extend up to 18 in. so it will easily fit under your ATV’s extended rack.
Overall rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
Review 1 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great splitter

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was smooth, fired right up on one pull, been splitting ever since. My husband is grateful as he no longer has to sling an axe.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great log splitter.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to cut down a huge Ash with Ash bore and as you can see the log splitter is handling even these logs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from San Luis Valley, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got what I paid for

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not very happy with this splitter. The assembly instructions were poor but no big deal to figure out. However, blew a line the first time I used it and sheared a couple of bolts off. Replaced bolts and hydraulic lines with higher quality ones. During the second season, the control valve stopped working and will not retract.
When it works, it's not a bad little splitter, but the money I've spent in repairs plus the cost of the machine, I could have gotten a 22 ton brand name splitter.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bang for the buck

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Obviously there are gonna be ones out there that are more expensive and better put together, but for the most bang for your buck this is it. Instructions can be head scratching so count your bolts. I ended up with 2 extra bolts I have no idea where they'd go. The braces that prevent the logs from rolling off should be mounted lower. I put on a large log and it sheered the bolts right off. I'm gonna weld them lower where I want them. You could just remove them altogether. For the money I spent I am very happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Greeley Hill, California 95311, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great price, great splitter

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THE 196 CC 15-TON 6.5 HP GAS POWERED LOG SPLITTER, SHIP TO STORE. IT LOOKS A BIT SMALL BUT I HAVE SPLITTER 2 CORDS AND IT HAS NO PROBLEMS SO FAR. THE LOG RAIL IS A LITTLE LACKING. BUT IF YOU ARE ONLY SPLITTING WOOD FOR YOUR OWN HOUSE HOLD, I THINK THIS ONE WILL DO THE JOB. THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PUT IT TOGETHER NEED SOME IMPROVEMENT, MORE INTRUCTION. OVER ALL THIS IS A GREAT DEAL. REGARDS,
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: more intructions for putting together
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Black Forest, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This splitter has awesome features if it would stay working!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought it home, assembled it as per instructions, started the engine and ran the hydraulic lever to move the ram forward, back and in neutral. Shut it off. Tried to start it the next day and it would not start. Called the maintenance line for it, but they never called me back. I figured out the problem (the lever needs to be in forward to start, or it did then) after four days. The next day I went out and split wood for 4 hours when the ram slowed down and then stuck in the all the way forward position. I called them again, three weeks ago, and they cannot figure out what is wrong with it. I WANT IT TO WORK! I paid $900 for this splitter which I would not have done if I did NOT NEED it.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, difficult to get help from the maintenance line
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Fallston, Md
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value For The Money

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received product in large box on pallet--"some assembly required" was certainly an understatement--had to purchase snap ring pliers to assemble wheels--could have better fasteners here-unit was packed rather well, but directions were certainly lacking--having mechanical background helped me here--after getting unit put together ,went to work with it--works rather well, and was impressed with height adjuster, but the log cradle bent with the first log--too light-could be beefier. overall, I got what I paid for.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions, instructions were included but not complete--
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Like it so far

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
AS others have written, the manual for assembly is difficult to follow. I googled Home Depot and immediately a helper responded in a "chat" and sent me a link to another manual. These instructions were better. Not sure what the handle is for on the back end. The ram is a bit loose, so I would not lift it from that end.
I got it all together and ran it today. Took lots of pulls to start the engine, but once it started it worked fine. 2 bolts sheered off from the log holder. I will replace them.
I only used it once so far, but am excited to have it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: assembly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Easterm Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not sure about the featers as I'm still putting it together.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry about a bad review but I didn't know it was a KIT. Nearly all was needing assembly and the book that shows you how is not easily followed. It would be nice if it was all assembled and ready to run except for the oil and gas and fluieds needed for the hydraulics. Otherwise I would give it a good review, it does take alot of time to assemble.
Pros: still assembling
Cons: difficult to assemble.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Big Oak Flat, Groveland, CA 95305, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was good for only one use

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine was flawed from the beginning I was on the phone with manufacture while we assembled, the tong was drilled off so the pins wouldn't go in, the hydraulics leaked when you are trying to split wood and the screws, and bolts snapped with every log .. The motor however, was strong running, and easy to start
So glad Home depot stands behind the product the sell.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is sturdy and easy to use.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The wood splitter is nicely made and very sturdy as far as the actual metal frame/wheels. It would be easy to wheel out to a spot and split wood. The only downside was that several screws/bolts were either bent or missing so we had to replace them. This may have just been a fluke.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: broken/missing bolts
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The assembly instructions were pretty bad. I had to use the picture on the box to figure out where some parts go. I had a small fluid leak from a pipe between the contol lever and the ram. The splitter does split well. Make sure you use flat sided logs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: bad instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needs to be put together but not to hard instructions are a little vague but able to figure out
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store, price
Cons: instructions could be better, could say it came with hydrolic fluid
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 196 cc 15-Ton 6.5 HP Gas Powered Log Splitter with Dual Hitch System
from Toccoa Ga USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

okay for the money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Have had issues with the engine stopping every couple of minutes and some oil leaks.
The log catch bent on the first day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.