728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

The front wheel drive JS28 features a 190-cc engine manufactured to John Deere's quality standards for reliable performance. John Deere steel-deck walk-behind mowers are ideally suited for homeowners who desire a high-quality yet economical mower that has the capability to side discharge, mulch, or bag.
Overall rating:
4.038 / 5
4
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Springfield, IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor Died in under two years.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am writing this review so that no one else is lead to believe that this mower is actually a John Deere and of the same quality. Purchased this mower in May 2011. After less than 23 months owning, the mower wouldn't start. I had the mower serviced yearly at an authorized John Deere dealer and had been informed when I first brought it in for the end of season maintenance that this mower would not last. They do not sell any push mowers, telling me that the push mowers are not made by John Deere! After this mower was unfixable, I called John Deere and they will not honor the two year warranty even though I have maintenance records and an authorized dealer telling them the motor was unfixable! Don't buy! Go with a Toro or Honda.
Cons: Not Durable, warranty
+123points
130out of 137found this review helpful.
Review 2 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this mower for 2+ yrs. Going to buy a new mower today. Both axels have broker, they are only tack welded. The motor burns oil like a old car. I have owned 4 other JD products and never had an issue. Had a JD snow blower for 20 yrs.
JD was no help. Local dealer wouldn't sell because he had so many people bring them in broken.
This is junk.
Cons: Not Durable, burns oil, axels keep breaking on weld
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Similar to many others

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower has two features that I do not care for. The starting rip chord is linked to the handle (I prefer to keep the chord close to the engine instead). Also, the speed of the self propel feature cannot be locked in - it is controlled by the speed of the user. That does not work well with the type of mowing I have to do with the landscape that I have.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from North Richland Hills, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Front drive system is trash.

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year. I just started mowing my lawn this spring and the left front wheel broke. The pivot point just broke out of the middle of the wheel. I am not rough on my equipment. All this is used for is less than 1/4 acre lawn. It can not even stand up to light duty work. I gave it one star because to right a report you have to give it at least one star.
Cons: poor engineering
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 5 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lawn Mower

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About me: Middle aged, athletic, retired military, have a third of an acre to mow with thick St. Augustine grass in Florida.
Not a person who provides feedback often unless its really good or really disappointing.
I've been mowing my lawn with a push mower for the past three years and it usually takes 35-45 minutes and I felt as if I had a great workout after finishing. Yesterday, I mowed my lawn with this self propelled lawn mower and it was a breeeze. The lawn mower arrived and all I needed to do was put the handle in place (less than a minute and very easy) put in 19 oz of provided oil and then filled the gas can. It started on the first pull of the cord. I did notice that one of the front wheels is a little off center, but it did not affect the operation. Within minutes of the UPS delivery, I was mowing the lawn. Within 20 minutes, I was done.
My lawn is set at 3 inches cut and when I cut it, the grass height was between 4 and 5 inches. If you have St Augustine grass in Florida, you know that it can be quite thick. The mower had no issues with this lawn and the self propelled feature made for an enjoyable walk!
Mulching was outstanding and the grass cut was smooth and crisp.
After reading some reviews, I was a little worried about this mower, but take it from someone who has mowed lawns since a child, this is a fine mower and you cannot beat the price. With my military discount and free shipping, I paid less than $230 for a genuine John Deere (yes, JD does make this!)
I'd highly recommend this for anyone who has upto an acre of lawn to mow!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

Poor quslity

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Laura was damaged inbox left front wheel snapped and cracked off. Reorder and return required have not received second one yet. Not happy with overall experience
Cons: damaged
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

Plastic handle broke, engine burns oil. Don't buy!!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolutely horrible lawn mower. I've owned this lawnmower for almost two years now and I have serious buyers remorse. John Deere is horrible to deal with and will not honor the warranty. The handle is plastic and broke off. Also the engine is Briggs and Stratton and burns oil. I constantly have to add oil after every use. I tried to make a warranty claim and was told that its not a defect? I absolutely beg you to not buy this lawn mower.
Cons: Not Durable, plastic handle will break., burns oil, terrible lawn mower
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Del Rio, TX 78840, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing Runs Like A Deere

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received the mower and instructions were very good to initiate its use. The shipper was a little rough and broke two plastic knobs on the lower handle and bent a mounting bracket. Deere personnel were contacted and immediately sent me two new ones without so much as a how did they break or who was at fault, no questions asked. First use proved why I will stick wiith John Deere when it comes to walk behind mowers. Very smooth operation and one pull starts. Great little machine that is quiet and cuts great!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Wilmington NC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed, Expected better from Deere

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product and was so excited to get it home and cut my grass. It started immediately for which I was quite excited, however, it continued to struggle to run. I was able to get through cutting the grass and learning to tweak it when it started to struggle, but after 3 months of fighting with the engine, I took it back. I expected better from a John Deere and was highly disappointed.
Pros: Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, easy start
Cons: does not run well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted less than a year. John Deere does not stand behind their product. Once you turn off mower, need to wait an hour before you can turn back on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from duluth, ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to push one finger, My yard is close to acre, front yard is a hill. Mower works good on hill

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great mower, good qualty, I like it, It doesn't tire you out
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shocked By John Deere Warranty

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the mower on-line for $250 shipped to my door which was a super buy. I literally used it 3 times without a problem and the the 4th time I went to start it up, it would not start. So, I took it to an authorized John Deere dealer and assumed whatever it was would be coveread under warranty. Was I Wrong!!!! Spoke with John Deere and they would not cover the problem. Basically they said the Carb would need to be rebuilt because it was clogged due to the gas having ethanol in it. I used what the Manufactor suggested which says in the manual to use either Non-Ethanol or use Ethanol with no more than 10% which is what I used. So needless to say, I had a $110 repair bill after owning it for 2 months. I feel like they need to change the manual to say only use NON-ETHANOL GAS ONLY. Since having used NON-ETHANOL gas since getting it out of the shop, haven't had 1 problem. The reason why I purchased it in the 1st place was because of the quality and customer feedback about John Deere. I get it that it was only a $250 mower which is all I can afford but I am just shocked that they would not cover it and that the dealer even told me they knew this was an issue because I was not the 1st person to bring in a 2 month old mower with the exact same issue. John Deere, please changed the manual to read "ONLY USE NON-ETHANOL GASOLINE"
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable, use non-ethanol gas
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of garbage

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with this mower. I have had it just over two year and had multiple issues with it. Hard to start since day one (no choke). Tried reaching out to JD, but they do a great job in avoiding the consumer.
I had a Toro prior to this one and it was not much better.
Going back to Craftsman.
Cons: Not Durable, poor customer service, hard to start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Sanford, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

John Deere Front Wheel Self Propelled

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Product; love to mow my lawn and the pine needles that go along with mowing! Easy to assemble and easy to start...so far GREAT!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
Cons: none
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Deere

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the reputation behind it. So far it starts at the first pull. It cuts the grass just like my old mower. No biggie.
However, for what's out there in the market, this was a good deal.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Southfield, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No issues at all with set up.

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've use the machine once and I found it a pleasure to cut my grass. Easy to start, first pull will start the mower. The self propel system made it a breeze to do the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the product works great, cleans up great, sturdy, easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Idaho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower for the buck

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is great, I have used it for two months now and I am impressed with the power and durability that it has to offer. Who says a country boy that moves to the city, cant have his John Deere green in his shop. Great Mower, I would not expect anything else.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

good mower

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was quick and easy. Mower starts after one pull. Now I have only had it for 1 month but so far so good. Home depot had the best price!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Shreveport, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 in. Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower is a great product and has great features.

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 inch Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower once. For that time frame, my review is somewhat limited. The price and product name recognition aided me in my decision to purchase this unit. The JS28 Model appearance is very impressive. This unit was very easy to assemble and it was very easy to use. At this point, I am very pleased with the JS28 Front Wheel Drive 22 inch Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower. This is my first time using a walk-behind mower. It was very easy starting.
My only complaint is that in using the mulching function, it generated lots of dust. I had to wear a mask. I really like this mower and it has great features. I would recommend this product and overall, I do not believe you will find a better lawn mower for a better price.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>