728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tarps, Drop Cloths & Plastic Sheeting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp

10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp

The UTARPit tarp is a self-adhesive, water mitigation product. It eliminates the need for hammers, wood stripes, nails, bricks and sandbags when trying to cover the damaged roof area. It can easily be installed by a single person providing consumers with a quick, easy and effective solution in the installation of a tarp. This tarp mitigates the water damage while protecting the property. UTARPit can be used on barrel tile, asphalt shingles, slate, fiberglass, concrete and metal surfaces. It is proved to sustain hurricane winds up to 110 miles per hour with 8.8 in. per hour of wind driven rain without releasing. UTARPit is the best solution to protect assets pre and post various weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
Review 1 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from San Diego, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well made, great for emergencies

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
OVERALL: Better waterproofed than other "blue tarps" I've had. Excellent gromets. Glue sticks very well, and should withstand most winds, great for emergencies.
UTILITY: Glue will probably only stick once, but the tarp is strong enough to reuse for other purposes later if so inclined. Gromets would make tarp reusable tied down.
WATERPROOFING: Ran some basic pooling tests, held water when pulling, bending or shaking tarp. Coating is very solid.
GLUE: Not just a thin tape like layer, thick layer of very sticky glue. As long as the surface is clean, you shouldn't have any trouble getting this stuff to stick.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, excellent waterproofing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds in place very well. Does the job!

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this tarp because you don't have to use nails! My roof has one small spot that leaks and this tarp is going to keep things dry until the contractor comes to fix it. It has a really wide very sticky border that sticks very well. I like that it sticks all around because it seals the area off, whereas if you had to use nails, water could stll run underneath. I am not the one who went up on the roof but the man who did said it would hold well on many different types of materials. He is just as impressed as me. The material is strong and it appears that it will last so after the leak is fixed, I'm going to use it on my little backyard storage unit to keep the rain/snow out. Made in the USA which is a wonderful thing. I do recommend this tarp.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable, thick, cloth-like tarp

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Right off the bat the feel of this tarp was more like a cloth than the standard tarp we are all use to. It is thick and you can feel its weight and durability right out of the package. A true quality product that will be protecting my cord wood this season. If you need a durable, flexible and strong tarp this one won't disappoint you!!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, durable and thick
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

When needed, worth its price and then some

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is one of those products that makes complete sense, once you see it. To stick a tarp down, you only need to pull tight and secure the edges. This is traditionally done with nails, a new source of water leaks.
The UTARPit has a sticky adhesive band around the outside of the tarp. With adhesives, you are only as strong as the structure of the surface you are bonding to. So it needs to be fairly clean and secure. I would recommend trying to bond the top edge under your leading shingle, if possible. That will be the edge most attacked with water.
I did not have a hole to cover and tested with a few common roof covering materials (both the wood under layer and shingle top layer.) It was a better stick to a more flat and smooth surface, than the top of the shingle. But I was surprised that it stuck well enough to the shingle to be water tight. I stuck a small width of the tarp to a surface and used a massive amount of hose water flow to look for leaks.
For a water tight seal to a shingle, I needed to do what UTARPit shows in their installation video on YouTube, use a small roller. This makes it easier to tuck around shingle edges, etc. After this is done carefully, I was impressed by the water seal against shingles.
I only tested one side of my tarp, so I can use that for the bottom. This is just too handy of an emergency item not to have around. It is the first thing I'd run to Home Depot to pick up after a massive hail storm had ravaged my roof.
I could see people not being careful to clean a dirty roof prior to installation, or just not being careful, having water seepage issues. It is going to work as good as the quality of install you do.
I do not know how long it will take in the sun to break down the material, but it is supposed to be a temporary fix, so that shouldn't be a factor.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Covering Anything

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is excellent for covering anything. It keeps your items dry and is very durable. Definitely an asset to your home.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Cincinnati Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Security

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't put a price on peace of mind. But the blue roofing tarp is excellent for taking a load off when you are in need of a quick fix for your roof due to a leak and storm damage. The self adhesive works great and no need for nails or large items to hold it down. Because the tarp is so durable you can keep and use
again, but the adhesive will not be for reuse.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Mojave, CA 93501, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like it should.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I kept waiting for it to rain, but we are in a drought, so I put it over a damaged area of the roof we need to fix next summer, then I shot water from the hose over it for 15 minutes just to test it. It was the equivalent of a heavy downpour which would tell me if it would hold or not. I works great, and it would seem that no water leaked through. Now, we live in the desert, and it gets really windy here, so I used a few bricks to give it some extra help to stay on the roof. So far, so good.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Single use.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a big blue plastic tarp with a strip of adhesive along the perimeter. There are 12 grommets along the perimeter as well, 4 at each corner and 2 along each side. It does not come with rope or line to feed through the grommet holes. Enclosed lit says it is made in USA and is UV treated. Can be applied to shingle, tile or concrete and the adhesive is suppose to eliminate the need for nails, bricks or sandbags to keep it in place. The directions say that once the adhesive is exposed and pressed into place, the only way to remove is by disposal of the material it's adhered to. So, this is designed for single use. I did try to peel back some of the adhesive on the tarp and I think it's possible to remove it with some work. Maybe tarp can be repurposed once it has been used for the roof. Directions do not specifically say how long tarp can be used on damaged roof effectively but says it's for emergency use. Which is what I'm saving mine for. I have a beautiful roof, 4 years old and in great shape. I also have several beautiful big old trees well within crashing distance of three sides of the house. Saving mine for the next ice storm. (Weird weather this Fall.)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: adhesive could damage intact surface
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice, thick tarp, perfect for a quick roof patch

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its a large, well made, thick tarp. There is glue on the edges of the underside to allow for quick repair on a roof. Sticks VERY well. Perfect for it's intentions
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Stratford, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rain Repair Made Easy

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a quick fix for a damaged door in on the garage. New door would be in for a week and a storm was coming. Was able to tack the tarp into place an protect the garage.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
Cons: refolding it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and Innovative

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I do have a roof project in the works but it does not require a tarp at this point. Instead, the tarp is covering some items stored in the side yard over the winter. It's light enough to be easily handled and of course, it's waterproof. You have to be careful with the adhesive strip as it's meant to permanently grip-- it would leave adhesive behind if attached to a painted wall or something.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Kitsap County, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a self adhearing tarp!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a renovation project that has required me to remove an old chimney and it won't be until spring that I can fully repair the roof. I was able to stretch this out with the help of a buddy and a couple of boards we pulled the paper off the adhesive strip and secured it to the roof. I have asphalt shingles with a little bit of moss on the leading edge but the tarp held well. We put bricks around the perimeter just to make certain it doesn't come off as I will have it on for about 5 months.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Levittown, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very light and easy to handle

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tarp is very lightweight and easy for one person to handle. It sticks well and initial use was very satisfactory. The material is very tough and will not tear easily as some cheaper tarps do. I will update when exposed to the weather and wind with durability status.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from Jackson, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a cover for a large item. This worked out fine. It is big and thick.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm from the Jersey Shore, so I lived through Superstorm Sandy. Our house had 2 trees fall on it and we were without power for a week. It gives me peace of mind that this tarp is in my garage ready to go should we ever sustain damage to our roof again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 ft. x 12 ft. Blue Roofing Tarp
from MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good solid Tarp

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love these tarps. They seem to be holding up better than some other more expensive ones we've purchased in the past. Good tarp
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.