728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplaces or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED

Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED

This exciting rolling mantel fireplace was designed with multiple functions. This mantel has a dock on the top to allow you to place your iPod and is also equipped with BlueTooth technology to enjoy music on those chilly nights. Two tiered magazine racks are on each side for added organization. The 18 in. Electric Fireplace insert has blue flame Spectra Fire technology that allows you 5 choices for your desired flame effect and brightness. Infrared technology allows for a greater heat output than traditional heating units as it can heat up to 400 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What a Great Product!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this little fireplace. We put it in our master bedroom sitting room and it perfectly matches our espresso furniture. There are really two separate products to review here, the fireplace and the speaker.
The speaker has good volume, average sound quality, and low distortion at high volumes. It doesn't do a great job of reproducing low (bass) frequencies, but it also doesn't try to play frequencies that other small speakers fail miserably with. I found that I did need to turn the bass setting up to +3 to get a full midrange sound, but there was no distortion at max volume and the highs were still clean and clear. I was quite impressed with the fullness of the sound and how well it fills the room.
The biggest downside to the speaker is the 30-pin dock, which is useless if you don't have an Apple product from at least two years ago. I find this very frustrating in all of our other docking devices now that we have all lightning plugs. But this is only a minor inconvenience in this speaker, as the Bluetooth was easy to pair and worked great. I had no trouble connecting my iPhone in under 30 seconds and was pleased to discover that the remote worked to control my phone over Bluetooth.
The fireplace is also highly functional, and allows you to operate the visual fire effect separately from the heating element. It is very nice to be able to sit by a fire on a comfortable evening without baking from the heat, or to be able to quickly warm up the room without the light from the fire. The fire looks very real, and offers over half a dozen effects ranging from a roaring golden blaze down to just a slight flicker from the glowing deep red embers with purpleish tones around the edges.
My biggest complaint about this unit is that it requires two outlets to operate, one for the fireplace/heater and one for the speaker. We only have easy access to one two-plug outlet in our sitting room, so there is no outlet left to plug something else in--like an iPhone charger to power a phone while using it to stream music over wifi to the speaker via Bluetooth, both of which are big battery drainers. Plan to get a short flush-mount (if the outlet is behind the fireplace) splitter/extension cord and some wire wraps if you want to keep the power cords under control. Along with the separate power cords, there are also two separate remotes to control the fireplace and the speaker--just one more thing to not lose and to keep out of the dogs' and baby's mouth.
Overall, this is a great unit that is a good size, very versatile, and easy to use. It's few shortcomings are very minor, and it really adds a lot of functionality to a room without taking up much space. And the real benefit of having soft music and a warm fire in the bedroom goes without saying...
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: two remotes and power cords
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love this thing!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man, I seriously love this little fireplace! The different flame settings look realistic as they possibly can. I absolutely love that I can play my iPhone or iPad through it, and it sounds pretty darn good to me. The heat, clock, and magazine rack/movie rack or whatever you want to put in there is awesome. The fact that it rolls, but you can't see the wheels is just icing on the cake. Also, I can play my TV through it so my TV sounds tons better. Love the cherry wood look to it as well. Appearance wise it looks great to me. Tickled with this thing. The size to me is perfect. I can move it to the living room or bedroom and not have to rearrange a ton of stuff. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight, sound is good, love the flame
Cons: it would only be nicer if it was a little taller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED

It is ok, just wish it was a little deeper.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a fairly large room and it heats it well, however it looks much smaller than anticipated after seeing it in store. The Shelfs on the side are about worthless for any type of storage for entertainment purposes, but the speaker does give pretty good sound quality
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Good Shape, Economical, multiple flame options
Cons: shelves are small, ipod dock should be closer to edge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

No assembly required

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Oak-DISCONTINUED
The console fireplace arrived in a single box, with no assembly required. This fireplace is completely fully assembled, right down to the casters. You simply open the box and roll it out.
This console fireplace attempts to be many things, and accomplishes them in an OK manner. Not amazing, but certainly usable. The console fireplace has a space for books or magazines on either side, a built in speaker system, an iPod / iPhone dock, a 1500W heater, and a faux flame effect centerpiece.
The faux flame effect is actually very realistic (see the video I uploaded) and has 5 different settings. In the video, I cycle through each setting in the video. The heater is similar in heat output to a regular fan heater, and the noise is the same,with the drone of a fan.
The /iPodiPhone dock is for the older style connector. I was able to use an adaptor with the iPhone 5S and have the unit charge. You can also stream music to the console over BlueTooth. Pairing the device was simple, and it worked really well. The speaker I found to be a little flat, but OK for casual use. You can also use RCA connectors to hook up an external sound source.
The speaker system is a single speaker in the middle of the unit, requires its own power outlet, and uses its own remote. The sound response is fairly basic, and not something an audiophile would enjoy, but for casual use it is just fine.
If you are short on space, on a budget, and wish to combine a fireplace, magazine rack, and sound system in to a small and compact appliance, then this is everything you need.
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical, Light Weight, no assembly required, Compact
Cons: ugly remote, sound quality only ok
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little unit!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
My house was freezing last winter so this nice little faux fireplace was needed for my bedroom. It is October and I have already been using it on chilly nites and it does a great job. You can set the temperature and the heating unit will shut itself off when the temp is reached and turn itself on when it drops below. You don't have to put the heat on if you just want the ambience of the fireplace. You can adjust the flames of the fireplace to different levels and it also has a timer option! There is a remote and buttons on the front that blend in so well you really cannot see them.
The best part about it is a media center also! It has a built in speaker and fm radio, a place for your i pod, blue tooth and you can hook up a tv or other audio/video devices.
I took some pictures to show you how the reading shows thru the speaker.
The sides have great little compartments too. It is on wheels so it is easy to move around.
It comes already assembled so that is a wonderful thing too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for my home office

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Oak-DISCONTINUED
I really like this product! I think they had me in mind when they designed it. It comes fully assembled. Take it out of the box, remove the packing material, plug it in, and you are all set.
Look and Feel
The fit and finish is nice. It's oak, but not "1980's" oak with the wide dark cathedral grain pattern. It is fairly tight grained and while definitely a veneered substrate, well executed. The finish is nice as well. The fireplace insert fits great with no gaps and looks natural as a fireplace would. Unless you are very close, you cant even tell the fireplace has buttons in the upper right hand corner. The entertainment console is hidden behind black fabric that plays well with the black fireplace insert. The LED's and display screen are lit from behind the fabric and clearly visible when on, but not at all visible when off.
It's on lockable casters so it rolls easily. At chair height, the casters are not visible.
Heat
It hasn't been quite cold enough to put this to the test yet, but I have definitely used it to take the edge off on cool mornings. I primarily work from home and my office is a finished room in our basement. It brought the temp up from 58 to 68 in no time. The settings are great, but not accessible from the remote. You can only turn the heat on or off (hard or via timer) with the remote. Temperature control has to be done on the unit.
Features
The fireplace has 6 settings. One shows no blue flame, and 5 are varying degrees of brightness with the blue flame present. This can be changed via the remote. The only thing that I don't like is there is a noise when the fireplace display is on. My room is very quiet and it's quite noticeable (even with the heat function turned off). It sounds like a washing machine would from far away.
The entertainment system is pretty cool. If you have the previous generation of ipod/iPhone, you can dock your device and charge it as well. The lightning adapter on the newer iPhone/iPod doesn't fit and no adapter is included. However this does play music over bluetooth and has a line in. The remote control will also control your bluetooth connected music device if compatible (my Samsung Note II and my wife's iPhone 5 are compatible). The sound quality is acceptable. Being a bit of an audiophile I can't say it is really good, but I wasn't expecting it to be at this price point. Honestly it is better than I was expecting. I'm not sure if it is advertised, but there is an FM radio as well.
My only complaints are minor annoyances:
1 - It requires 2 outlets. The audio system and the fireplace display/heater have seperate plugs. This is understandable given the power consumption of the heater
2 - It has 2 remotes. One for fireplace functions and one for the audio system. I wish they were on the same remote. Also the remote for the audio system can be a bit touchy. I have a feeling this is due to the fact the sensor is behind the fabric. Most of the time you have to press the button twice for it to register.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, High Quality, integrated sound system, quiet and efficient heater, range of settings, no assembly required, wired and wireless options for non-ipod devices
Cons: two seperate remotes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instant Ambiance- Plug And Play!

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Oak-DISCONTINUED
This electronic fireplace gives a nice ambiance to your room, with realistic looking flames and logs. It has 5 different settings for the flames in different light intensities with a blue hue, and a setting with just an orange flame, and full brightness.
It comes with a remote control so you can turn it on and off and adjust the flame, and turn the heat on or use the fireplace without the heat. You have to adjust the temperature on the control panel on the fireplace though.
It has a timer, so you can set it from 30 minutes, and one hour increments up to 8 hours. It has a digital display that turns off after a few seconds when you are using the remote so you know what setting you are on when you're adjusting it.
The cabinet is nice, in a simple Craftsman Style, and has a nice Golden Oak finish. I have Oak floors and trim, and it blends nicely with my decor. They also included a marker to repair any scratches you might get.
The cabinet measures 29" high, 37" wide and is 11 1/2" deep. The fireplace window is approximately 17" wide by 13" high. It has a storage place on both sides of the unit for holding magazines or C.D.'s or whatever you want to store in it.
It does an o.k. job at heating, the instructions say it heats up to 400 square feet, but I'm using it in a way much bigger room where conditions aren't optimal, but it's by the dinner table, and it does provide a nice warmth to the room.
I can't really comment on energy usage, I haven't really seen a big spike on my energy usage from the electric company's website on the days that I've used it, but it does allow you to lower your house furnace and to heat up the space that you're in. I think that's the problem that no one can really fix, how to effectively lower your heating bills in the winter.
It has a docking station for an iphone or an ipad, which I have neither, and you can play music through the speaker system in the fireplace, so I can't really comment about that function. It also has RCA jacks to plug your T.V. or stereo into the speakers, and a separate remote control for that. So I haven't used any of this because I don't have a T.V. or a stereo where the fireplace is.
I've had several compliments on it from friends and family about how much heat it gives off, and how pretty it is. I have a wood burning fireplace in the front room, which I don't really use, and it's kind of a hassle to make a fire and constantly tend it, with this electronic fireplace, you just plug and play. It also has rollers where you can roll it into whatever room that you want it in.
The description above says it has infra-red heating, but the instruction manual doesn't really say it does- that I could find, but on infra-red heaters, for better heating, usually they instruct you to not put it against an outside wall or use on concrete because they don't work as effectively.
Electronic fireplaces would be great for apartment dwellers who wish for a fireplace, they look so realistic. A lot of apartments don't allow fireplaces anymore, if they still have them, they don't allow the tenants to use them. I love it and it's a nice addition to my home!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Exceeded expectations.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Oak-DISCONTINUED
Looks great, works great. Remote is very convenient. The wheels are hidden but are a nice touch if you want to move it to another room for dinner. Well worth the money.
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable Fireplace Heater

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
This is a nice electronic fireplace with a dark cocoa cherry finish that goes well with the more modern dark wood styling that is out now. The cabinet is in a simple Craftsman Style that goes well with almost any decorating style.
I'm using this fireplace in an attic bedroom and it keeps the room nice and comfortably warm, and the flames and logs look realistic and is an especially nice addition to have in a bedroom, and it's nice to fall asleep looking at the fire.
The fireplace has a remote control that you can adjust the flames. There are 6 settings, 5 feature a blue flame and can be adjusted from bright to dimmer, and there is the brightest setting that has just an orange flame. It also has a timer that has a 30 minute setting and 1 hour increments from 1 to 8 hours. You can turn the heater on and off with the remote control, but you have to adjust the heat temperature on the panel of the fireplace. It has a digital display that comes on when you are using the remote control, and goes off after a few seconds when you're done adjusting.
It has an iphone docking station that you can use with an iphone or an ipod, which I have neither, so I really can't comment on how it works. It also has RCA jacks that you can hook up a stereo or a t.v. to the built in sound system. It also comes with a remote control for the sound system.
It has wheels so you can easily move it from room to room. It's a good way to heat up the space you are in, and lower your house furnace temperature to try to save money, and enjoy the look of a fireplace. I don't really know what the energy usage is. I looked on my electric company's website, and didn't really notice a real surge in usage on the days that I've used it so far, but I haven't had to turn on the house furnace yet because I've been using the fireplace.
I love it and it's a great addition to my home! I've had several compliments on it's warmth and looks from my friends and family so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Philadelphia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome sound!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
It's is only about the speaker part because this sounds so much better than I thought it would. Synced up my phone on Pandora and then my I-pad using YouTube. Sounds amazing. I'm no picky audiophile or anything, but I do like loud, clear music and this has it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Yonkers NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Monthly

So far so good

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Oak-DISCONTINUED
Great product so far. I love the sound dock feature. Does a great job heating room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Point Pleasant Beach, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very poorly built!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
I received this product to test and it was damaged. I then received 3 more and all were damaged. You may not have the issues when you buy in the store and can inspect, but I have very serious reservations about the durability! There were screws and dowels had pulled out of the fiberboard cabinet. Very poorly made with cheap materials. I would give it no stars if that was possible.
Cons: poorly built, poor materials used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fireplace

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
We bought this for our bedroom and placed our 42" flat screen TV on it. Very sturdy, looks great and heats the room quickly. The only negative thing about it is the clock does not display continuously. It states in the directions to hold the clock button on the remote but we can't get it to work. Very minor issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Stylish, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Espresso-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice addition to our bedroom

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Templeton 37 in. Rolling Media Console Electric Fireplace in Cocoa Cherry
We have had this fireplace for 2 weeks and I like the way it heats up the room, and don't need to bump up the thermostat to keep the room comfortable. I haven't used the music yet, but will do that soon.
The unit comes fully assembled and ready to plug in. The only problem was unpacking the styrofoam .. Took almost 2 hrs to break it up and what a mess.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: difficult to unpack
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.