728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Rust-Oleum's 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray Paint is a matte paint that creates a glowing effect in the dark when charged by light. It can be applied to wood, metal drywall, plastic and more. It is perfect for kid's room decorations, holiday decor and nighttime safety.
Overall rating:
1.681 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product12 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
1.7 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(5)
2
(9)
1
(50)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product12 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Review 1 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear spray !

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was surprised and pleased to see that this paint is clear and thus simply adds a glow in the dark layer to whatever you spray it onto.
Application is as simple as one would expect from any aerosol application.
I sprayed it on the following: kayaks, kayak paddles, fire lighters, light switch covers. It works, if the items get well charged up, and I am sure the more coats one applies the better the glow would be.
There is a 'matte' feel to the items after it dries.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly, clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+112points
120out of 128found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Does not work!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sprayed an entire can on one spot of white wall that hits direct sunlight for the majority of the day and maybe a few sparkles of green came up when the sun went down. We're talking dust, like two specks of green dust light up On that whole spot. Waste of money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 18, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 18, 2015
Rust-Oleum Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. It is highly recommended items are scuff sanded and coated with a flat white primer prior to application. Apply 2 coats 45 minutes apart and avoid painting surfaces that are hot to touch at the time of application. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785 to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 3 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

"Non-Glowing Crackle Spray"

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It states you can use this over a light color (in fact, this is suggested). I always read directions, so this isn't a classic case of user error; It was well over a month after spraying metal address numbers with Rustoleum 2X Ultra Cover Satin (which is normally awesome on its own btw) before I decided to use the glow in the dark spray over the white, so I KNOW the white paint had fully cured. As soon as I sprayed a light coat, I noticed the paint had a crackle effect. Not only did it ruin the white finish, but it didn't even glow. Definitely returning this, considering it's twice the price of their regular spray paint, which I'll need another can of to fix these numbers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015
Thank you for your review. Based on the information provided it is difficult to determine exactly what is occurring. While these results are not typical after 2 months of cure time. Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 4 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from South Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st thing I noticed is that even though it's in a normal size spray can, they give you less oz of paint in it compared to buying regular spray paint. 2nd - I was skeptical of the glow it lets off in some marketing pictures. I was stunned when I sprayed a few things and absolutely NO glow what so ever. It goes on clear, I had a scrap piece of wood that I put 2 coats on. Let it sit out in the sun for the day in hopes to get maximum glow and when I went to check it that night no glow what so ever. a few days later I tested on a plastic bucket with same result. They need to go back to the drawing board with this product.
Cons: doesnt glow
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Bakrersfirld CA
Age Range:55 to 64

They should call this "No Glow" paint. That was a waste of $20.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tjere is not even a hint of glow. All instructions were followed, now we have to waste another $20 to correct our mistake. I'll buy my spray paint from Krylon from now on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 31, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 31, 2015
We are sorry to hear of the problems that you are having with your project. It is important that the Glow in the Dark Paint be applied over white, or very light colors. You will not get the same effect going over a dark colored surface. This may require that the surface be primed or painted white in order to achieve the best results.
The glow will be the strongest in an indoor setting, where it would charge by sunlight or indoor lighting throughout the day until the lights are turned off at night. It can also be applied to outdoor surfaces, however in an outdoor setting the sunlight will fade more gradually and the glow may not be as intense.
The glowing effect on the paint will be strongest for 1-2 hours and then diminish slowly over time (typically around 6-8 hours of glow time depending on the length of 'charge' time). We do stand behind our products and you may reach our Product Support Group directly at 1-800-481-4785 for further assistance. Rustoleum
Review 6 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Rustoleum Glow in the Dark paint product. I followed the directions exactly as stated on the can. Painting over several white items, applying MULTIPLE coats, shaking the can frequently while spraying, positioned the items in full sun to charge. Then anxiously awaited for evening. Nothing happened. The items painted, don't glow, not even a little bit. I then thought maybe it was the surface being painted. I have tried it on plastic, stone, metal and concrete. Still, none of the items glow. Glow in the dark paint is a good idea, it just doesn't work as advertised
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

does glow but not much or long with one can

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to use a can to coat the outside of a planter after seeing a commercial in which it was used that way. By the time the sun is down no glow. You can activate it with light but you would need a very bright/large light to do that with a flashlight I had to hold it within inches and I was able to draw in glow in dark. They obviously use many cans and studio lights to activate the paint for the effects you see on tv or the can.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: not bright and does not last long., took a picture but it was too dim to show up
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from los angeles,ca.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not enough glow per can

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe I got a bad can, but I shook it and shook it and still almost nothing but clear came out.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: almost useless
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Redondo Beach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy glow in the dark spray

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to apply glowing spray. In light the spray is hard to see and doesn't really discolor the surface. The glow is ok, not as bright as other things that glow, but pretty good for a thin layer of paint. The directions recommend a clear coat, and I would say it's required. The spray stays a little powdery and can rub off on your fingers. With the clear coat, this spray is pretty cool for all sorts of crafts.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: requires clear coat
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from PALM BAY, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GLOW IN THE DARK [AINT NOT GLOWING

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I SANDED THE PLASTIC FLOWER POTS, PAINTED THEM WITH WHITE PRIMER, THEN USED THE PAINT AS DESCRIBED ON SIDE OF CAN. I ALSO SPRAYED A MASON JAR. THESE ITEMS ARE IN THE SUN OVER 12 HRS A DAY. NONE OF THEM GLOW,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not sure I would buy again

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied it twice and it didn't work. I was kind of disappointed. I saw it on Pintrest
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMay 22, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMay 22, 2015
This is an extremely creative idea. However, these pots were not painted with Rust-Oleum Specialty Glow In The Dark, but are actual lights. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glow In The Dark aerosol does create a glow effect, however it would need to be reapplied occasionally to maintain its "glow" if it is exposed to the elements. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 12 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Rio Rancho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like this product . Was what I was looking for.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this product with the simple intention of stenciling a few cool designs on my son's bedroom wall like: shooting stars, moons, astronauts and the like. That being said, it is amazing the uses you will find for glow in the dark spray paint!
Since the designs on their bedroom wall came out so well I decided to try a few other places like the light switch in my bedroom, the handle of my flashlight, and yes even one of my PS3 controllers. (Make sure to tape the area around the buttons and the base of the analog sticks very well!)
One should know before purchasing this particular can of paint that it glows green, and is by no means CLEAR or transparent. It actually has more of an off-white appearance when closely observed in the light. So if you're okay with that then by all means this is the paint for you! Just follow the directions, and make sure to use quick sweeping motions and to make several light coats for an even finish. (I learned the hard way!)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+44points
47out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually taking the time to say....

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I actually read the bad reviews but bought it anyway, two cans. I bought the white Rust-Oleum primer and wire-brushed my two flower pots. After all that I sprayed several coats of the 'Glow in the Dark' paint on each pot. I got "NOTHING". The worst I've been duped in a very long time. Nothing about this product is worth the time it would take to apply it, even if you got if for free. It's worthless, in fact worse than worthless. It's a wast of time as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 29, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 29, 2015
Thank you for your review.
The intensity of the glow will be dependent on how long the paint 'charges' in the light. The object should be charged under direct sunlight or artificial light for 2-3 hours for maximum glow.
We do stand behind our products and if you are not satisfied with the product please call our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785 for assistance. Rustoleum
Review 15 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Neat Idea

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
In theory this is a pretty cool idea. I used this to paint a few golf balls that I could hit in the backyard at night. I ended up using a few coats to get a good coverage and left it out in the sun all day to "charge". The glow didn't last too long and it wasn't too bright, but I was able to find them in my dark yard.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Horrible, paint doesnt glow.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paint did not perform as advertised. I followed the instructions exactly and the paint would only glow for a few minutes if taken into a dark room directly from the sunlight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015
Thank you for your review. It is Important to use the Glow in the Dark over a white or light colored surface. Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. The glowing could start even if there is a little bit of sun out. So when it is pitch black outside, you might not get the full 8 hours of glow. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 17 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from laughlin nv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

didnt realy work that color

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
didn't glow like it said it would, should of tried a different color.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Kettering Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useless Product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried this yesterday...Left it in sun all day. Did not glow at night! Absolutely did not work for me!
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Camarillo, calif
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

glow in dark spray

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed, Does not glow as it seem to indicate
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: poor results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 20, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 20, 2015
Thank you for your review. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. We recommend using the coating over a white or light colored surface. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 20 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rust-Oleum Didn't work can clogged up

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem I bought 4 cans as soon as I began to spray it clogged right away the can is full but nothing is coming out it happen to both when the tried the second can it did the same thing the other 2 cans I gave to my friend I dont know if she has tried them yet very disappointed 40.00 dollars down the drain
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: got clogged
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>