728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Rust-Oleum's 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray Paint is a matte paint that creates a glowing effect in the dark when charged by light. It can be applied to wood, metal drywall, plastic and more. It is perfect for kid's room decorations, holiday decor and nighttime safety.
Overall rating:
1.644 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product10 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(42)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product10 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Review 1 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear spray !

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised and pleased to see that this paint is clear and thus simply adds a glow in the dark layer to whatever you spray it onto.
Application is as simple as one would expect from any aerosol application.
I sprayed it on the following: kayaks, kayak paddles, fire lighters, light switch covers. It works, if the items get well charged up, and I am sure the more coats one applies the better the glow would be.
There is a 'matte' feel to the items after it dries.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly, clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+93points
98out of 103found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from South Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st thing I noticed is that even though it's in a normal size spray can, they give you less oz of paint in it compared to buying regular spray paint. 2nd - I was skeptical of the glow it lets off in some marketing pictures. I was stunned when I sprayed a few things and absolutely NO glow what so ever. It goes on clear, I had a scrap piece of wood that I put 2 coats on. Let it sit out in the sun for the day in hopes to get maximum glow and when I went to check it that night no glow what so ever. a few days later I tested on a plastic bucket with same result. They need to go back to the drawing board with this product.
Cons: doesnt glow
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Rustoleum Glow in the Dark paint product. I followed the directions exactly as stated on the can. Painting over several white items, applying MULTIPLE coats, shaking the can frequently while spraying, positioned the items in full sun to charge. Then anxiously awaited for evening. Nothing happened. The items painted, don't glow, not even a little bit. I then thought maybe it was the surface being painted. I have tried it on plastic, stone, metal and concrete. Still, none of the items glow. Glow in the dark paint is a good idea, it just doesn't work as advertised
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Sugar Land, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glow in the Dark Spray Paint

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The paint does not glow in the dark. Made several coats after drying and never did glow.
Cons: doesn't glow in the dark
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

does glow but not much or long with one can

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to use a can to coat the outside of a planter after seeing a commercial in which it was used that way. By the time the sun is down no glow. You can activate it with light but you would need a very bright/large light to do that with a flashlight I had to hold it within inches and I was able to draw in glow in dark. They obviously use many cans and studio lights to activate the paint for the effects you see on tv or the can.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: not bright and does not last long., took a picture but it was too dim to show up
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Redondo Beach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy glow in the dark spray

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to apply glowing spray. In light the spray is hard to see and doesn't really discolor the surface. The glow is ok, not as bright as other things that glow, but pretty good for a thin layer of paint. The directions recommend a clear coat, and I would say it's required. The spray stays a little powdery and can rub off on your fingers. With the clear coat, this spray is pretty cool for all sorts of crafts.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: requires clear coat
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Kettering Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useless Product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried this yesterday...Left it in sun all day. Did not glow at night! Absolutely did not work for me!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product with the simple intention of stenciling a few cool designs on my son's bedroom wall like: shooting stars, moons, astronauts and the like. That being said, it is amazing the uses you will find for glow in the dark spray paint!
Since the designs on their bedroom wall came out so well I decided to try a few other places like the light switch in my bedroom, the handle of my flashlight, and yes even one of my PS3 controllers. (Make sure to tape the area around the buttons and the base of the analog sticks very well!)
One should know before purchasing this particular can of paint that it glows green, and is by no means CLEAR or transparent. It actually has more of an off-white appearance when closely observed in the light. So if you're okay with that then by all means this is the paint for you! Just follow the directions, and make sure to use quick sweeping motions and to make several light coats for an even finish. (I learned the hard way!)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

It's supposedTo glow?

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Says good
For outdoor use (just have to reapply more often for lasting effect) but the thing is.... It never really "glowed" at all. At all. Used it inside on Halloween decorations. Same thing.... No noticeable glow in the dark effect. I give it 3 because after 2 days of trying to get enough coats for a glow I stopped trying....glow in the dark craft paint is less expensive and always works. So, go to Michael's if you MUST have something glow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Neat Idea

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
In theory this is a pretty cool idea. I used this to paint a few golf balls that I could hit in the backyard at night. I ended up using a few coats to get a good coverage and left it out in the sun all day to "charge". The glow didn't last too long and it wasn't too bright, but I was able to find them in my dark yard.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from post falls, id
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

glow in the dark spray not worth it

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
very disappointed on the out come.
i put it on some figurens and they didn't glow.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: didn't have the affect expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint doesn't work

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Waste of money, bought 5 cans and absolutely nothing good to say about them!
Pros: don't waste your money
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Sammamish, wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product took multiple coats to get close to desired effect, did not glow as much as I wanted.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sprayed on as easily as any other paint, but took four coats to completely cover. Paint requires a lot of light to glow at all, and does not glow for more than about and hour.
Pros: Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Fairfield
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint did not work.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I painted flower pots and did not end up with glow in the dark pots, it did however dull the apperance of my seven ceramic pots at $65.00 each.
Not happy at all.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rust-Oleum Didn't work can clogged up

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem I bought 4 cans as soon as I began to spray it clogged right away the can is full but nothing is coming out it happen to both when the tried the second can it did the same thing the other 2 cans I gave to my friend I dont know if she has tried them yet very disappointed 40.00 dollars down the drain
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: got clogged
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Charlotte, nc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent purchase!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product. Good coverage. Used it on my chicken wire ghosts for Halloween.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Halloween

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not glow in the dark at all, what a waist of my money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Tucson,Az.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did Not Work As Advertised

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the product is from a company we all know and thought we could trust my wife bought a can of spray glow in the dark paint to spray over a metal saguaro we have in the yard and when the sun went down it looked the same as before spraying----totally hard to see! It definitely did not work "as advertised"!
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Terrible product

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible product and complete waste of money. Does not work and anyone who buys this should be refunded full amount
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Didn't glow on outside project.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Might work in doors....but not so good out door for what I used it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>