728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Rust-Oleum's 10-oz. Glow in the Dark Spray Paint is a matte paint that creates a glowing effect in the dark when charged by light. It can be applied to wood, metal drywall, plastic and more. It is perfect for kid's room decorations, holiday decor and nighttime safety.
Overall rating:
1.538 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
16%of customersrecommend this product6 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
1.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(31)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
16%of customersrecommend this product6 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Review 1 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear spray !

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised and pleased to see that this paint is clear and thus simply adds a glow in the dark layer to whatever you spray it onto.
Application is as simple as one would expect from any aerosol application.
I sprayed it on the following: kayaks, kayak paddles, fire lighters, light switch covers. It works, if the items get well charged up, and I am sure the more coats one applies the better the glow would be.
There is a 'matte' feel to the items after it dries.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly, clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+85points
89out of 93found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from South Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st thing I noticed is that even though it's in a normal size spray can, they give you less oz of paint in it compared to buying regular spray paint. 2nd - I was skeptical of the glow it lets off in some marketing pictures. I was stunned when I sprayed a few things and absolutely NO glow what so ever. It goes on clear, I had a scrap piece of wood that I put 2 coats on. Let it sit out in the sun for the day in hopes to get maximum glow and when I went to check it that night no glow what so ever. a few days later I tested on a plastic bucket with same result. They need to go back to the drawing board with this product.
Cons: doesnt glow
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

does glow but not much or long with one can

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to use a can to coat the outside of a planter after seeing a commercial in which it was used that way. By the time the sun is down no glow. You can activate it with light but you would need a very bright/large light to do that with a flashlight I had to hold it within inches and I was able to draw in glow in dark. They obviously use many cans and studio lights to activate the paint for the effects you see on tv or the can.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: not bright and does not last long., took a picture but it was too dim to show up
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Rustoleum Glow in the Dark paint product. I followed the directions exactly as stated on the can. Painting over several white items, applying MULTIPLE coats, shaking the can frequently while spraying, positioned the items in full sun to charge. Then anxiously awaited for evening. Nothing happened. The items painted, don't glow, not even a little bit. I then thought maybe it was the surface being painted. I have tried it on plastic, stone, metal and concrete. Still, none of the items glow. Glow in the dark paint is a good idea, it just doesn't work as advertised
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Kettering Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useless Product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried this yesterday...Left it in sun all day. Did not glow at night! Absolutely did not work for me!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Redondo Beach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy glow in the dark spray

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to apply glowing spray. In light the spray is hard to see and doesn't really discolor the surface. The glow is ok, not as bright as other things that glow, but pretty good for a thin layer of paint. The directions recommend a clear coat, and I would say it's required. The spray stays a little powdery and can rub off on your fingers. With the clear coat, this spray is pretty cool for all sorts of crafts.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: requires clear coat
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product with the simple intention of stenciling a few cool designs on my son's bedroom wall like: shooting stars, moons, astronauts and the like. That being said, it is amazing the uses you will find for glow in the dark spray paint!
Since the designs on their bedroom wall came out so well I decided to try a few other places like the light switch in my bedroom, the handle of my flashlight, and yes even one of my PS3 controllers. (Make sure to tape the area around the buttons and the base of the analog sticks very well!)
One should know before purchasing this particular can of paint that it glows green, and is by no means CLEAR or transparent. It actually has more of an off-white appearance when closely observed in the light. So if you're okay with that then by all means this is the paint for you! Just follow the directions, and make sure to use quick sweeping motions and to make several light coats for an even finish. (I learned the hard way!)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint doesn't work

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Waste of money, bought 5 cans and absolutely nothing good to say about them!
Pros: don't waste your money
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Fairfield
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint did not work.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I painted flower pots and did not end up with glow in the dark pots, it did however dull the apperance of my seven ceramic pots at $65.00 each.
Not happy at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from The Woodlands Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a can to paint some out door flower pots. Exposed to full sun. Nothing. Complete wast of my time painting those pots more upset with the price of $10 a can.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: does not glow in the dark
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so anxious to use this product on my outside Fairy Garden and was really disappointed when it did not glow at dark. It must have a very bright light to make it glow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Neat Idea

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
In theory this is a pretty cool idea. I used this to paint a few golf balls that I could hit in the backyard at night. I ended up using a few coats to get a good coverage and left it out in the sun all day to "charge". The glow didn't last too long and it wasn't too bright, but I was able to find them in my dark yard.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried this on a vase as I have seen it on Pintrest and other websites. Did not work. Went back to return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Arnold, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid almost $50.00 for 4 cans of glo paint which was a joke. One can did nothing one can wouldn't spray and it was a joke. Very disappointed.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product did not work

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the "Glow in the Dark" paint (4 cans) for TWO flower pots outside thinking - "What a neat idea to see at night". Wrong!! After several coats of paint (2 cans per pot & waiting 24 hours between coats) - following the directions (yes, I do read instructions/directions), the two flower pots I ruined by painting them NEVER GLOWED IN THE DARK!!!
Waste of money!!!!! Very disappointed!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: did not glow in the dark!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rust-Oleum Didn't work can clogged up

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem I bought 4 cans as soon as I began to spray it clogged right away the can is full but nothing is coming out it happen to both when the tried the second can it did the same thing the other 2 cans I gave to my friend I dont know if she has tried them yet very disappointed 40.00 dollars down the drain
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: got clogged
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not waste your money.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to add some interest to our Halloween display. I found the can spayer to be unusable becase of clumps, unevenness and stoppages. This after following directions regarding agitation of the product, distance from the surface to be sprayed, etc. I would never purchase this product again.
Pros: none
Cons: does not cover well., the can spayer colgs and clumps.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glow? What glow?

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read directions, primed with white paint primer, sprayed on "GLOW" paint and waited until it soaked up the sunshine, and waited, and waited! Still no glow! For over $8 dollars per can, I expected something! Will not waste my money again. And to think I thought that it would look so cool!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Roseau, MN 56751, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No glow!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless I did something wrong, this product didn't work. I shook the can thoroughly before applying, but the plastic bones I sprayed for Halloween decorations did not glow.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Horrible product

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work at all! Used it on a flower pot and used multiple coats. Still did not work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>