728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Rust-Oleum's 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray Paint is a matte paint that creates a glowing effect in the dark when charged by light. It can be applied to wood, metal drywall, plastic and more. It is perfect for kid's room decorations, holiday decor and nighttime safety.
Overall rating:
1.609 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
16%of customersrecommend this product14 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
1.6 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(5)
2
(9)
1
(64)
Quality 
1.8 out of 5
1.8 out of 5
Value 
1.6 out of 5
1.6 out of 5
16%of customersrecommend this product14 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Review 1 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Glowing

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Painted a planter with the glow in the dark paint. Read reviews beforehand and was aware of issues, but did it anyway. End result is very poor - planter does not glow. Used 2 coats of white primer on beige plastic planter before the glow paint. Kept putting on glow layer to increase glow effect - in fact, used FULL CAN of glow paint. After planter in sun all day, get a faint green color on planter. Had high hopes for this craft idea because it was for a gift, very disappointed and not glowing about product. Recommend to avoid purchasing glow in the dark paint that most likely will not work as indicated.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportAugust 3, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportAugust 3, 2015
We understand your frustration, Suhio. Keep in mind Rust-Oleum Glow in the Dark Spray Paint only lasts for 4 – 8 hours. Try putting your planter indoors to charge directly under light and then, when completely dark out, put the planter back outside. Glowing effect will be strongest when there is no other competing light. Rustoleum
Review 2 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear spray !

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was surprised and pleased to see that this paint is clear and thus simply adds a glow in the dark layer to whatever you spray it onto.
Application is as simple as one would expect from any aerosol application.
I sprayed it on the following: kayaks, kayak paddles, fire lighters, light switch covers. It works, if the items get well charged up, and I am sure the more coats one applies the better the glow would be.
There is a 'matte' feel to the items after it dries.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly, clear
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+119points
127out of 135found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Temecula, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

didn't work

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the paint to use on a project I found on Pintrest. Painting small gravel pebbles and putting them in my river rock pathway. I also sprayed a garden gazing ball. I guess it takes artificial light because sunlight doesn't seem to work. It was a waste of money. I wanted it to work!
Pros: Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: didn't work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportJuly 2, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportJuly 2, 2015
Genuinely hate to hear that! For best results, this product should be applied over a white or light covered surface, and be allowed to charge for several hours before the glowing effect will occur. Please call us at 877-385-8155 if you'd like to discuss further. Rustoleum
Review 4 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

"Non-Glowing Crackle Spray"

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It states you can use this over a light color (in fact, this is suggested). I always read directions, so this isn't a classic case of user error; It was well over a month after spraying metal address numbers with Rustoleum 2X Ultra Cover Satin (which is normally awesome on its own btw) before I decided to use the glow in the dark spray over the white, so I KNOW the white paint had fully cured. As soon as I sprayed a light coat, I noticed the paint had a crackle effect. Not only did it ruin the white finish, but it didn't even glow. Definitely returning this, considering it's twice the price of their regular spray paint, which I'll need another can of to fix these numbers.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015
Thank you for your review. Based on the information provided it is difficult to determine exactly what is occurring. While these results are not typical after 2 months of cure time. Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 5 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Does not work!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sprayed an entire can on one spot of white wall that hits direct sunlight for the majority of the day and maybe a few sparkles of green came up when the sun went down. We're talking dust, like two specks of green dust light up On that whole spot. Waste of money.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 18, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 18, 2015
Rust-Oleum Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. It is highly recommended items are scuff sanded and coated with a flat white primer prior to application. Apply 2 coats 45 minutes apart and avoid painting surfaces that are hot to touch at the time of application. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785 to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 6 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Horrible, paint doesnt glow.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paint did not perform as advertised. I followed the instructions exactly and the paint would only glow for a few minutes if taken into a dark room directly from the sunlight.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportApril 24, 2015
Thank you for your review. It is Important to use the Glow in the Dark over a white or light colored surface. Glow In The Dark is a luminous paint that creates a glowing effect for 4-8 hours in the dark after being charged by natural or artificial light. The glowing could start even if there is a little bit of sun out. So when it is pitch black outside, you might not get the full 8 hours of glow. Please contact our Product Support Group at 1-800-481-4785, to discuss your particular experience with this product further. Rustoleum
Review 7 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from South Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st thing I noticed is that even though it's in a normal size spray can, they give you less oz of paint in it compared to buying regular spray paint. 2nd - I was skeptical of the glow it lets off in some marketing pictures. I was stunned when I sprayed a few things and absolutely NO glow what so ever. It goes on clear, I had a scrap piece of wood that I put 2 coats on. Let it sit out in the sun for the day in hopes to get maximum glow and when I went to check it that night no glow what so ever. a few days later I tested on a plastic bucket with same result. They need to go back to the drawing board with this product.
Cons: doesnt glow
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Rustoleum Glow in the Dark paint product. I followed the directions exactly as stated on the can. Painting over several white items, applying MULTIPLE coats, shaking the can frequently while spraying, positioned the items in full sun to charge. Then anxiously awaited for evening. Nothing happened. The items painted, don't glow, not even a little bit. I then thought maybe it was the surface being painted. I have tried it on plastic, stone, metal and concrete. Still, none of the items glow. Glow in the dark paint is a good idea, it just doesn't work as advertised
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Redondo Beach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy glow in the dark spray

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to apply glowing spray. In light the spray is hard to see and doesn't really discolor the surface. The glow is ok, not as bright as other things that glow, but pretty good for a thin layer of paint. The directions recommend a clear coat, and I would say it's required. The spray stays a little powdery and can rub off on your fingers. With the clear coat, this spray is pretty cool for all sorts of crafts.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: requires clear coat
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

does glow but not much or long with one can

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to use a can to coat the outside of a planter after seeing a commercial in which it was used that way. By the time the sun is down no glow. You can activate it with light but you would need a very bright/large light to do that with a flashlight I had to hold it within inches and I was able to draw in glow in dark. They obviously use many cans and studio lights to activate the paint for the effects you see on tv or the can.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: not bright and does not last long., took a picture but it was too dim to show up
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from LEES SUMMIT MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT A GOOD BUY

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 cans, gave one to my daughter I kept the other. We both painted flower containers, yard ornaments and 3 days later "No Glow".
And in reading above....who wants to carry a planter in and out of the house to recharge it so it will glow outside....seriously?
Cons: doesnt work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Flower pots

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Paint some flower pots with the glow in the dark paint. Plant some pretty flowers and line your walk way with the pots. At night they will glow and will add soft light to your yard.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from howell, mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst purchase by far!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to paint planter pots. I had seen it done in magazines and your pots would glow at night. Well apparently not with this glow paint. Nothing at all glows I did three pots so disappointing! I wasted 10 dollars on this purchase!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this product with the simple intention of stenciling a few cool designs on my son's bedroom wall like: shooting stars, moons, astronauts and the like. That being said, it is amazing the uses you will find for glow in the dark spray paint!
Since the designs on their bedroom wall came out so well I decided to try a few other places like the light switch in my bedroom, the handle of my flashlight, and yes even one of my PS3 controllers. (Make sure to tape the area around the buttons and the base of the analog sticks very well!)
One should know before purchasing this particular can of paint that it glows green, and is by no means CLEAR or transparent. It actually has more of an off-white appearance when closely observed in the light. So if you're okay with that then by all means this is the paint for you! Just follow the directions, and make sure to use quick sweeping motions and to make several light coats for an even finish. (I learned the hard way!)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rust-oleum Glow paint

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time and money it Doesn't work, not one bit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportAugust 6, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportAugust 6, 2015
Uh oh, that is not what we like to hear, Loo. Keep in mind that Rust-Oleum Specialty Glow in the Dark Spray Paint needs to be applied over a white or light covered surface in order for it to glow. It also needs to charge for several hours before the glowing effect will occur, and only lasts 4-8 hours. Rustoleum
Review 16 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray

Neat Idea

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
In theory this is a pretty cool idea. I used this to paint a few golf balls that I could hit in the backyard at night. I ended up using a few coats to get a good coverage and left it out in the sun all day to "charge". The glow didn't last too long and it wasn't too bright, but I was able to find them in my dark yard.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Colorado Mountains
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions closely. Doesn't work. No glow. Waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Bakrersfirld CA
Age Range:55 to 64

They should call this "No Glow" paint. That was a waste of $20.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tjere is not even a hint of glow. All instructions were followed, now we have to waste another $20 to correct our mistake. I'll buy my spray paint from Krylon from now on.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 31, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportMarch 31, 2015
We are sorry to hear of the problems that you are having with your project. It is important that the Glow in the Dark Paint be applied over white, or very light colors. You will not get the same effect going over a dark colored surface. This may require that the surface be primed or painted white in order to achieve the best results.
The glow will be the strongest in an indoor setting, where it would charge by sunlight or indoor lighting throughout the day until the lights are turned off at night. It can also be applied to outdoor surfaces, however in an outdoor setting the sunlight will fade more gradually and the glow may not be as intense.
The glowing effect on the paint will be strongest for 1-2 hours and then diminish slowly over time (typically around 6-8 hours of glow time depending on the length of 'charge' time). We do stand behind our products and you may reach our Product Support Group directly at 1-800-481-4785 for further assistance. Rustoleum
Review 19 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rust-Oleum Didn't work can clogged up

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem I bought 4 cans as soon as I began to spray it clogged right away the can is full but nothing is coming out it happen to both when the tried the second can it did the same thing the other 2 cans I gave to my friend I dont know if she has tried them yet very disappointed 40.00 dollars down the drain
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: got clogged
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 oz. Glow in the Dark Spray
from Texas

Didn't work at all -

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed two coats on a table for pool side, that sits in the sun constantly & there's not even a hint of glow. COMPLETE waste of money
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportJuly 13, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportJuly 13, 2015
Yikes, in order for Rust-Oleum Glow in the Dark Spray Paint to glow properly it needs to be painted over a white or light colored surface. Another factor with the table constantly being outdoors is that it only glows for 4-8 hours. Once the sun starts going down but it’s still light out, the glow wears out before its completely dark. To fix this problem leave the table indoors to charge – then when it’s completely dark, bring the table back out to the pool side for it to glow. Remember when used outdoors a periodic reapplication may be needed. Rustoleum
1 2 3 4 5 >>