728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.902 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product126 of 259reviews
Rating Breakdown 276 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(56)
3
(36)
2
(37)
1
(85)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product126 of 259reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 61 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to work, very easy to use.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Just painted picnic table for back yard bright red. Knew I would need to protect from elements. Tried Rust Oleum NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray. Application is a breeze. Let dry through afternoon and evening. Next day, hosed down newly painted table. Could visibly see water "bead up" on surface. Works good.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from illinoise
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product works great. The only downside is it leaves a flat white powder look. very noticeable on black or dark colors.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Selected as one of the worst new products for 2013

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Consumer Reports and Shopsmart Magazines have selected Neverwet as one of the worst new products of 2013 and a don't buy. It dosen't perform as advertised and the coating comes off with ease.Basically useless.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily, comes off by rubbing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

It works awesome...but is fragile and not feasible

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is really amazing...for as long as it lasts. It is demonstrated in use on all types of surfaces and objects, but the majority of these uses are just not feasible. I applied them to my boots (as was demonstrated in all of their ads and was even the featured picture on the box) and I allowed it to dry for the 12 hours that it said was required for heavy use. The protection on the bottom of the boots was gone within a couple of hours. My boots were holding water on the bottom, like any shoe would, and leaving water tracks on the ground. This should not happen if the product was not worn off. I got a cleaning chemical on the top of my left boot and it instantly destroyed the application causing that one area to absorb the water instead of repelling it. This product is ridiculously NOT FEASIBLE for most applications. I can not even believe this made it to the market, and I DEFINITELY can't believe they using boots as a flagship marketing strategy when just simply walking will wear off the treatment. Oh, and if you trip and scratch your boots even a little, the treatment's gone in that one spot as well. It just boggles my mind, I'm taking it back to get my money back and I'll be sending an e-mail to Rustoleum as well the company that's licensing this out to Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily, wears off very fast
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Did not work

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product with all the hopes and expectations possible. I'd checked out the display at the store with a tennis shoe that completely repelled grape juice once NeverWet was sprayed on it and was sold instantly. Most unfortunately, I used this product on boat cushions that took me a day and a half to recover with relatively expensive fabric. After spending so much time and energy making my cushions look perfect, I wanted to make sure that water wouldn't ruin their appearance. I followed the directions to a T and had the paint drying for over 12 hours. The cushions did NOT repel the water in the slightest. Rather, water soaked right in and left horrible looking stains in the sides of the cushions. This is highly upsetting. Not only has ruined the texture of my fabric, but also the appearance of the sides. And it cost me money. So, no--I would NOT recommend this product as far as fabric goes.
Cons: not the slightest bit effective, texture is horrible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Tampa, florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic. Don't listen to people who don't read instructions

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read the product information: This product dries to a light matte haze. It's a spray paint. Don't think that it can do things spray paint can't do. For example, if you apply it to something that bends and folds, you're going to crack the barrier of paint and it won't be impenetrable anymore.
I had a leak in my roof. Couldn't figure out where but knew the general area. I applied this to stop the water from lingering in the leak area and instead just slide off. Works amazing.
My white sink was porous and is always staining. I hate it. So i masked the edge and I sprayed this all over the inside surface. Again, this product can't do anything spray paint can't do! So I put a rubber grille at the bottom so that my dishes won't be likely to scratch the barrier off. Now, the water dances around in perfect little spheres and I can blow on it and it swoops and swings around the base of the sink like a magical marble!!!!
I know it will start to get scratched and I'll just reapply when necessary, but right now the $8 in product is going to save me two months of constant scrubbing of the weird algae-like residue of bacteria and the stain-loving sink.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Olympia WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't meet my expectations...

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product over bare metal, some mole traps I wanted to keep from rusting. It left a white gritty substance on them, very uneven. It chips off easily once dry. I followed the 2 step process to the letter and it didn't seem to adhere to the metal, even though dry and clean. I'd use this over other types of material to see if I could get a better result, but it is so labor intensive that I am just going to say it is not for me. I didn't get a good result the first time around.
Cons: messy, didn't adhere well to metal
+5points
34out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says, but with lots of caveats

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spray does make things super-hydrophobic, but not before leaving it a dusty milky mess. The spray leaves your object feeling 'weather-proofed' with a rubberized coat and a white dusty after coat. With friction you can also remove the coating. This is a novelty and not something I see being used for intended purposes.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Be very careful using this on clothes

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I watched several video's on this product and saw an in store demo of it. it seemed amazing. I used this on a pair of boots I use for hunting, and a hat. it left a white sticky residue on my hat and darkened the boots about 4 shades. on a scale from 1-10 using this for clothes (which they have on their web site) I would give this a 1. both my boots and hat became drenched after a light rain while walking in the woods. I am not sure how this works on other products but I followed the instructions exactly and it was terrible. I cannot ever recommend this product.
Cons: leaves sticky film on clothes, does not work as advertized
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Severn, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NeverWet? NeverBuy?

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say I wasn't impressed with this product at all. Rust-Oleum is a trusted name; I have used their products for years and they always worked exactly as they were supposed to -- high quality, reasonably priced, durable, and dependable. NeverWet didn't fit that same mold.
One two-can set was almost $20 and it only covered 10-15 sq.ft. Not very much coverage for a pretty hefty price. I don't spend much time working in the mud anymore, so wasn't really sure what to use the product for, but had some boots I do use outdoors sometimes, and a few tools and things I could try it on.
I got everything out at once to use it all in one application. I had two pair of boots, a shovel, an edger tool that I use for an ice scraper, a wheeled trashcan and two recycle bins that get a lot of splash and mud in the rain, and a small wheelbarrow-like platform I use for moving multiple things around (like a trashcan and one or more recycle bins).
I followed the directions on the can as far as the distance rom the items (6-14" away) and applied 2 light coats of the irst can and let it set for about an hour. I only covered bout the bottom 18" of the trashcan and recycle bins. I ent back in an hour and applied the second can, which eft a kind of milky white coating on everything. I thought it ould go away and turn clear as it dried, but it never really id. The cans were almost empty as I finished the bottoms f the last can, and I don't think I quite got 10 sq ft out of it, or I may have been over-spraying.
I let everything sit overnight, about 18 hours (the directions aid 12 hours, I believe) and because of a fortuitous rainstorm the night before, I had plenty of puddles and a ice muddy yard. I put on my boots and dragged the tools and cans out into the back yard. All still had most of the milky-white coating on them, which was disappointing - did some digging, and was pretty happy with the shovel. one of the wet dirt or grass stuck to it at all! My boots eren't collecting any of the mud or grass from the digging ither, although my pant legs were. I used the edger here nd it didn't pick up any mud or grass, either. So that was retty impressive. By the time I finished digging a hole bout 3 x 3 x 3, the tools hadn't collected any significant mounts of mud or grass, but there was some grass and a ittle mud sticking to the blade of the shovels. I also had ome sticking to my shoes, but not nearly as much as I ould expect.
I drug around the trashcan and other cans and the wagon-ike thing in the yard and through the big puddles for a little it, just to get them a test. They looked a little funny, ecause there was some mud and grass and stuff splashed and sticking to the cans above the point where 'd sprayed them, but below that line, where I had sprayed he product, it was clean as a whistle. It looked pretty funny, and that's the picture I should have taken for this, ut I didn't have my iPhone with me. It was very obvious here I had used the product and where I hadn't on the ans. My boots still had quite a bit of grass and mud on hem, but I realized I hadn't sprayed the laces (wasn't sure f they could handle the spray or not), so much of the junk ad stuck around the laces.
Review has gotten too long. Bottom line: The product mostly works as it says, but not well enough to really be that helpful in my humble opinion. At least not at $20 a serving. If ou really, really, absolutely needed something to shed water and mud and not much else, this would work for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Modern
Cons: Scratches Easily, expensive, discoloration of items
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Charleston SC

Didn't Work

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tested this out before using elsewhere by spraying a canvas bag with vinyl liner. Sprayed according to directions on both inside and outside. Paid particular attention to seams. Waited 36 hours and it leaks like a sieve.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Does not last

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work very well. Smells horribly. Changes the color of surfaces it covers. Makes an impressive initial demo but does not last. Not suitable for any of the purposes shown in the video.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

have not found what it would be good for

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to waste your money it would be really good for that i guess but if your looking for a product that will last for more than one wetting this is not it...spray it on a paddle it instantly turns white and flakey paddle a few times and its gone...DO NOT SPRAY ON ANYTHING NOT WHITE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Space age technology you can actually own an afford

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just go ahead and buy two packages up front. This stuff is AMAZING!! I found myself coating anything and everything. It's impossible to describe how well this product works in words or pictures. Look for some videos on the Rust Oleum website.
It does dry to a slight milky haze. If you have any older (worn) black leather items (like boots) they will look a little blue. It's a good idea to test this out before applying to make sure the discoloration is slight and acceptable. Applying is easy, but if you go too heavy you will have a noticeable texture left on the item. This was a trail and error thing but did not take me long to figure out.
With that said, I am done typing, I have to go search the house for more stuff I can waterproof.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, works better than you can imagine
Cons: slight discoloration on darker items
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incredible with caveats

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product repels water and other liquids beyond imagination. However, expect discoloration on fabrics (a frosted light blue hue). Also, be aware that you won't get much coverage. It is also slightly tacky or sticky. I was able to do a pair of hiking boots with three light coats and two light coats on a rainshell. That said, I've been showing people wherever I wear my boots how incredible the stuff is. I plan on using it on my front porch, sidewalk, and a couple strips down my driveway this winter at the least. I'll also be putting some on my Satellite dish.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently used this product on the swing set I just built for my son. So far, none of the roping has gotten dirty or dry-rotted. The seat on the swing stays dry and there is far less dirt for my son to sit on.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Crowley, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a single use product, but room for development...

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this item originally for my work boots. I work in the oilfield and after a month they still look like a brand-new pair, and are still repelling water, only looking like a used pair when I get dirt/dust on them instead of water/mud, which is easily solved by a garden hose.
As you can see by the picture, I tried a small section of it on my back patio. This is after nearly 3 months of southern sun exposure, and it looks the same as it did on day one.
All of this being said, I believe that this product needs to be further developed. And by that, I mean a different type of application. The small section of concrete I sprayed with this product looks like a mess after it dried. While the haze is expected, it's the unevenness of it being applied with spray paint that makes it look like garbage. While I would absolutely LOVE to apply this product after I redo and stain my patio next year despite the extra associated cost, I refuse to use it because there's no guarantee that I - or even a contractor - will get an entire 300 square foot patio sprayed completely evenly so that nothing appears out of the norm. I would only consider some sort of paintable (as in not a spray can) product to use it in volume.
Bottom line, this product is excellent for small surfaces. Don't use it for large ones unless you're a spray can master.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: unevenly applied very easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth buying

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this item to treat new boots and shoes. I followed the instructions as directed on a new pair of white tennis shoes. After wearing the shoes for only the second time, the protective film began peeling off on both shoes. I am extremely disappointed this product didn't last longer as my shoes look horrible with the peeling. Great idea, poor performance.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily, peels off after second use., gritty texture
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Advertised Benefits a Bit Overblown!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have reviewed this product in the past with mixed results. On reflection, it seems that even the great reviews all have some caveats to them. It dosen't seem to be designed to be a permanent solution. in other words, it dosen't seem to last long, rather seems to be designed for a single use application. Such uses might be spraying satellite dishes or motor casings or such as perfect examples - spray it and leave it alone. This dosen't describe many common consumer products that people might like to protect from water damage. As I found in my review Neverwet treated products seem to be subject to wear, erosion, cracking of the coating, drying with a haze and removal by soaps..It can also be rubbed off.. I wonder why if this product is supposed to be so good at displacing water and preventing ice build up (u tube video), why the cable and utility companies don't use it on above ground lines? It would save them a fortune in line repairs if it did just that! I think the product may have more limited use than the adverrtising and u tube videos seem to suggest.. Also, it seems expensive for a single use. If you get 10 square feet of coverage, that $2.00 a square foot!. Coming out of a can as an aerosol, I doubt that you can spray only the object intented. Probably be better as a roll or brush-on product. If you had an icing problem on a 20' x 20' roof, it would require 30 - 40 sets of spray cans at $20.00 each, or $600 - $800 to tyeat ONCE.
Cons: Scratches Easily, wears off, soluble in soap, does not dry to a clear finish, single application use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 14 >>