728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.916 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(263 reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product119 of 246reviews
Rating Breakdown 263 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(54)
3
(35)
2
(36)
1
(79)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product119 of 246reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 1 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True Water Repellant

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product on the floor fabric for my camping tent. It does dry to a light haze, and I recommend not using this on the tent sides.
After applying per the instructions, and to make sure the coating was completely dry, I allowed the tent to remain out overnight with the bottom facing up for air circulation.
Next day, I proceeded to flood the bottom of the tent by running our yard sprinkler and allowing the water to pool. This has always been a true test method in past waterproofing testing. Usually there was always the occasional water seepage from the tent floor. This time however, the floor remained completely dry. To further test this out, I placed the hose under the tent. Again, no water came through.
Now comes the test of time. I am hopeful this product will be just as waterproof come next spring.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

wow

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been waiting for this for a long time. I have a truck load of projects to do with this, thanks Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily
-16points
7out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have to say this stuff is amazing!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this product to coat the hardware on my son's basketball goal in the backyard. I'd noticed that as hurricane season approaches and we've seen increasing amounts of rain, small amounts of rust have emerged around the base of the goal post & a few connecting points, and I have to say I haven't seen any further deterioration at all the 2 or 3 weeks! Water just beads right off!
For good measure I've treated an old pair of tactical boots that I use for yard work and they are completely waterproof now... Although I wouldn't advise standing in a foot of water for more than a few minutes or so. The instructions are spot on, and claims are accurate. If using on a surface or material that is heavily contacted in anyway the performance / lifespan is significantly decreased. Keep that in mind when considering the application.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I’m a coatings chemist so was very excited about this product but also doubted it. I’ve used it on several items with success The texture of the material changes slightly, but the water proofing of the surface is quite amazing. Things I’ve coated and tested for over a month now…. 1) My old bike pannier were worn out and lacked their originally waterproofing. Sprayed them down and now keeps paperwork, computer, etc dry. 2) Apron for cooking typically becomes quite nasty. Neverwet really is amazing at keeping things from sticking. Now, you can’t use the apron for drying hands, etc, but wow, will your apron stay clean. It is a two step process and a little expensive, so pick your applications wisely. I almost sprayed a leaky gutter corner down with this stuff, as I was certain it would do the job, but decided on a less costly spray type rubber.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works...It really does work

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I saw youtube videos of this stuff and really figured they were fake, but I jumped to it when I got a chance to try it out. I put it on a test piece of 2x6 redwood that I had sanded smooth and coated with deck preservative. I let that weather for a couple of weeks, gave it a quick sanding, and then applied this NeverWet stuff. I've left it out in the grass and allowed the sprinklers to drench it regularly. After a month, it still looks good and the water still beads up and runs right off. So I am off to buy enough to treat my entire picnic table.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently used this product on the swing set I just built for my son. So far, none of the roping has gotten dirty or dry-rotted. The seat on the swing stays dry and there is far less dirt for my son to sit on.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

READ ABOUT PRODUCT BEFORE BUYING

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IF YOU READ ABOUT PRODUCT YOU WOULD KNOW ALL OF THESE THINGS BEFORE USING.EVERY REVIEW HERE THEY DID NOT KNOW BE CAUSE THEY DID NOT READ.
THEY ARE COMING OUT WITH FABRIC LINE SOON.
THERE WEBSITE SAYS
What are some applications which are not (currently) good for NeverWet?
• High abrasion applications are not good for NeverWet yet. We aren't excited about well-traveled road surfaces or walks. Machinery which undergoes a lot of friction is also not a good application.
• The outside of cars. This is not a glossy finish. Cars also have to withstand a ton of pressure as they speed down the road in driving rain. The coating isn’t quite up to this pressure yet.
• Windows/windshields/glasses. This coating will frost your glass.
• Nice clothing. The coating has a strong tactile feel to it. If you are hiking or working in a dirty environment, this feel may not bother you, but it will on your nice clothing.
• Glossy or black shoes. The white haze will change the appearance of these types of shoes.
• Bathing suits. You would think it was perfect for bathing suits. If you just coat the outside, the bathing suit will still get completely wet from the inside (where you didn’t coat it) out. I don’t think you’ll want this coating on the inside of your bathing suit. We’re coming out with a fabric solution soon – standby for the new NeverWet with a fabric focus!
Does NeverWet have a gloss finish?
No. The finish of NeverWet is a matte finish. It has a velvety feel to it. In our development cycle, gloss surfaces are not in the near future due to the technical difficulty of the challenge.
7) How can I repair a damaged NeverWet coating.
Repair is easy. First, try re-applying the Top Coat. This will restore the effect, and if any of the base coating is still present, the new Top Coat will bond with the existing base coat. Should the base coat be worn away, you may want to re-apply both coatings.
8) Any suggestions for clothing?
Rustoleum NeverWet will leave a velvety tactile feeling on your clothing, so we recommend you save its use for work or play clothing. We are developing a solution dedicated to fabrics, so stay tuned!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Get outta here water!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Brought this product to my friend's lakehouse feeling that we could find a good use for it. However, he wondered how the final finish would look. The can specifies that it has a clear hazy finish. We decided to test it first on a beverage can (see photos.) Clear haze is a great description. We also ran a couple wetting tests on it, and it worked has promised... no water could stick to the can! We ended up using the product on the steps to the hot tub, which can get wet/slippery. They couldn't be happier with the product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Croydon, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is amazing

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this product on a costume that I was afraid of getting wet and the water runs right off of it. It's so amazing though I wish it were a little cheaper.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: $20 is a bit expensive for two bottles.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what it said it would.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked perfect, The only complaint is that it leaves a white tint so I could not use on my brown work boots. It's amazing around my tub. Waterproof and no mold. Awesome.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from america
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I can't believe it!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprayed my entire body with this stuff and jumped into molten lava and it didn't stick! Then I rolled around in manure, and that didn't stick! Amazing!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

stop complaining

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Everyone is complaining about it leaving a film and a frosted color, when it clearly says in the product overview: Sprays clear and dries to a flat, FROSTED HAZE. You're probably using too much anyways seeing as how i haven't experienced this problem. Light coats.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Trenton, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims - sheds water.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It sheds water like claimed - don't know yet how durable it will be, but on fabric it comes off in the wash.
It does leave the surface with a frosty appearance / texture.
No issues with application - just followed the directions.
Didn't smell worse than any other spray paint.
Sadly, the hat I applied it to was last seen floating in the middle of Lake Huron. At least it was still dry...
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet Instruction Sheet

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Here is the instruction sheet that comes with the product. I did a baseball cap and it is definitely SUPERHYDROPHOBIC!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Santa Fe
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit (3-Pack)
I had maintenance spray this on my dish and have had no issues with snow!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Jury is still out, it's still too early to tell how well the product works, so far so good.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Great Quality

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product does exactly what it says it does. Stands up great against liquids and stains. An invaluable tool for sneaker lovers like myself or anyone looking to protect their clothing or an other product from liquids. About to try it on my iPhone
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Cool product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit (3-Pack)
This stuff works pretty good.....I used it on the garage trim of my house to prevent rot. Time will tell, but initially the water beaded off quickly.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Actually works!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product on my work boots. Needed to work in the yard after a long spell of rain. Ground was wet and muddy. The day before, I followed the directions for applying to my boots, to include the recommended number of coats and drying time between each coat. After working in standing puddles of water and mud, I have to say that nothing stuck to my boots. Water and mud just rolled off the boots like glass. Absolutely nothing stuck. Wonderful product. As this product is so new, I can't comment on the longevity of protection afforded however, in the mean time, I'll start thinking of different things to use this product on.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>