728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.902 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product126 of 259reviews
Rating Breakdown 276 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(56)
3
(36)
2
(37)
1
(85)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product126 of 259reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 1 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

READ ABOUT PRODUCT BEFORE BUYING

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IF YOU READ ABOUT PRODUCT YOU WOULD KNOW ALL OF THESE THINGS BEFORE USING.EVERY REVIEW HERE THEY DID NOT KNOW BE CAUSE THEY DID NOT READ.
THEY ARE COMING OUT WITH FABRIC LINE SOON.
THERE WEBSITE SAYS
What are some applications which are not (currently) good for NeverWet?
• High abrasion applications are not good for NeverWet yet. We aren't excited about well-traveled road surfaces or walks. Machinery which undergoes a lot of friction is also not a good application.
• The outside of cars. This is not a glossy finish. Cars also have to withstand a ton of pressure as they speed down the road in driving rain. The coating isn’t quite up to this pressure yet.
• Windows/windshields/glasses. This coating will frost your glass.
• Nice clothing. The coating has a strong tactile feel to it. If you are hiking or working in a dirty environment, this feel may not bother you, but it will on your nice clothing.
• Glossy or black shoes. The white haze will change the appearance of these types of shoes.
• Bathing suits. You would think it was perfect for bathing suits. If you just coat the outside, the bathing suit will still get completely wet from the inside (where you didn’t coat it) out. I don’t think you’ll want this coating on the inside of your bathing suit. We’re coming out with a fabric solution soon – standby for the new NeverWet with a fabric focus!
Does NeverWet have a gloss finish?
No. The finish of NeverWet is a matte finish. It has a velvety feel to it. In our development cycle, gloss surfaces are not in the near future due to the technical difficulty of the challenge.
7) How can I repair a damaged NeverWet coating.
Repair is easy. First, try re-applying the Top Coat. This will restore the effect, and if any of the base coating is still present, the new Top Coat will bond with the existing base coat. Should the base coat be worn away, you may want to re-apply both coatings.
8) Any suggestions for clothing?
Rustoleum NeverWet will leave a velvety tactile feeling on your clothing, so we recommend you save its use for work or play clothing. We are developing a solution dedicated to fabrics, so stay tuned!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Great Product, A Little Pricey

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This product works great. Does give a slight blue tint to covered surface, but they state that in the directions. This would be a great product in protecting any non-waring surface from moisture, but at the present price, it would be expensive to cover any large surface.
Pros: Easy Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Home Depot delivered quickly and as expected. The product worked as advertised. Video on web site shows it's capabilities.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dynamic Product

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried it on several items and it works very well. Even used it on my Satellite Dish and it stopped the rain interruptions during my favorite shows. Put it on my outdoor boots but it has been too dry to try it out. I am already think of uses I can use it on including my Rv.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently used this product on the swing set I just built for my son. So far, none of the roping has gotten dirty or dry-rotted. The seat on the swing stays dry and there is far less dirt for my son to sit on.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from North East - TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Neverwet saves the day

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 8yrs of service our kitchen stool seats looked dingy. We were going to reupholster, but could find fabric that matched or worked well. Finally, we bought another fabric and I started disassembling the seats cushions.
Meanwell, on a planet far far away, I had purchased the never wet kit on a lark that I'd use it on other things.
Back to the stools. The underside of the fabric was a lot closer to new than I expected. By reversing the fabric and coating the seats with NeverWet I was able to restore the stools to a like new appearance.
Fortunately, our stool fabric was an antique white so the milky coating didn't matter. I would tread very lightly if I were doing a fabric with any color depth. Your mileage may very. Speaking of mileage; Step 1 did all four stool seats handily, but Step 2 ran out in the middle of the last stool. Fortunately, the cost of a second kit was within the budget of this restoration project.
I followed the instructions to the letter, including timing between coats, and had no problems.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: careful with milkiness if applied too thick., would have proportionally preferred more of step 2, fabric feels ruberized.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Southbridge MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outdoor field photos

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For years my favorite hobby has been taking photos of nature’s creations in all weather. The main drawback to this has been the wet mud that seems to always find its way onto my camera bag, no matter how careful I try to me. Wet snow and sleet is the worst. I had tried several different products in an attempt to keep the wet dirt off the bag to no avail so I would carry a spare bag for a towel to get the worst off before taking the camera out. Then I tried NeverWet and am very impressed with the results. Despite at times crawling through wet dirt thickets and pulling the bag with wet dirty gloves, it stayed dry and clean, allowing me to remove the camera(without my gloves on) without having to wipe it clean first. Before I went out again, I sprayed my leather gloves with three light coats with the base and left them for half an hour and then two light coats with the finish spray and again left then for 30 minutes. Also did my shoes and hat. Results were as perfect as they could be. The rain that would slide off my hat would sometimes hit the bag but the NeverWet from Rust-Oleum did its job and as the very first bear of the day came into view, I had a nice dry bag to quickly open and remove the camera without fear of water and dirt being smeared on it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+29points
40out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I repainted a plaster bird that I've had outside for probably ten years. So I wanted to protect it and this looks like it's doing the job. I checked on it when it was raining heavily and it was beading up. Hopefully this will do the job for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
40out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Western New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for interesting things

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Given as a gift and still looking for other things to use it on!
Easy to use, dries quickly. so far, used on all the garden tools, both big tools Ike shovels,hand things like trowels, the inside of the wheel barrow. Also on THE BOTTOM of all my shoes, sneakers and dress shoes too. One of the neat things was the inside of the concrete birdbath. No more mold or algae if I neglect it for a day or two. Birds seem to like a nice clean splash!
Still plenty left in the containers and looking for ideas on where to use it
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Trenton, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims - sheds water.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It sheds water like claimed - don't know yet how durable it will be, but on fabric it comes off in the wash.
It does leave the surface with a frosty appearance / texture.
No issues with application - just followed the directions.
Didn't smell worse than any other spray paint.
Sadly, the hat I applied it to was last seen floating in the middle of Lake Huron. At least it was still dry...
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Actually works!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product on my work boots. Needed to work in the yard after a long spell of rain. Ground was wet and muddy. The day before, I followed the directions for applying to my boots, to include the recommended number of coats and drying time between each coat. After working in standing puddles of water and mud, I have to say that nothing stuck to my boots. Water and mud just rolled off the boots like glass. Absolutely nothing stuck. Wonderful product. As this product is so new, I can't comment on the longevity of protection afforded however, in the mean time, I'll start thinking of different things to use this product on.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet Instruction Sheet

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Here is the instruction sheet that comes with the product. I did a baseball cap and it is definitely SUPERHYDROPHOBIC!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what it said it would.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked perfect, The only complaint is that it leaves a white tint so I could not use on my brown work boots. It's amazing around my tub. Waterproof and no mold. Awesome.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

wow - good stuff

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is amazing (at least with my application, a chimney). We have been fighting a water leakage problem for years and had just about reached our whits end. We could not find a solution......until now. Neverwet has worked fantastically for us! Thank goodness!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful..Did everything i hoped for.Very easY to use.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WONDERFUN Did everything i hoped for. Was very easy to use.Instruction were easy.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet is Awesome!!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When people find out just how good this stuff is, it will be sold out and backordered! I used it on a tent, raingear, my sattelite dish, etc. It works just like the box says and I have not had any problems with its longevity! Maybe the other people applied it incorrectly?? Just follow the directions exactly and it will work.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: a little on the pricey side but it does work!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Jury is still out, it's still too early to tell how well the product works, so far so good.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Stuff!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Revolutionary Stuff! Good acquisition from Rustoleum, and Home depot! Home depot shipped for free, good doing business
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True Water Repellant

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product on the floor fabric for my camping tent. It does dry to a light haze, and I recommend not using this on the tent sides.
After applying per the instructions, and to make sure the coating was completely dry, I allowed the tent to remain out overnight with the bottom facing up for air circulation.
Next day, I proceeded to flood the bottom of the tent by running our yard sprinkler and allowing the water to pool. This has always been a true test method in past waterproofing testing. Usually there was always the occasional water seepage from the tent floor. This time however, the floor remained completely dry. To further test this out, I placed the hose under the tent. Again, no water came through.
Now comes the test of time. I am hopeful this product will be just as waterproof come next spring.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waiting on Weather!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When we recently remodeled I talked my husband into adding a WHITE Hill Country stone wainscot below the outside brick. He cautioned that it would discolor...and, of course, it has... turning muddy red for about 12" above ground level. Today the gutters are going up, tomorrow we power wash (bought some acid to clean the stone surface) and, as soon as it's clean and dry, on goes the "NeverWet". I'll report back!
I've tried other sealants for "porous stone" in the past and just don't trust them to do the job in this case. Reading other reviews, I don't think the "milky white" will be a problem on white stone and I'm anxious to see if it dissuades the discoloration and eye-rolling I'm experiencing right now. My reputation is on the line here! (and possibly my marriage? LOL)
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: expensive only covers 15 sf
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>