728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.995 / 5
3
 / 
5
(219 reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product102 of 203reviews
Rating Breakdown 219 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(48)
3
(30)
2
(33)
1
(58)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product102 of 203reviews
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 61 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
MrConsumer
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After seeing the ads and anticipating it's arrival, now that it's available I'm very disappointed.
First of all don't spray it on anything that you don't want to be covered by a white film.
Second, it just doesn't work. We bought it to keep the mud off our work boots. Treated "his and hers" and we both had to scrape just as mud off our boots as we ever did.
Third, this stuff is expensive, so don't waste your money
Cons: not effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
the74impala
from Wisconsin, USA

ABSOLUTELY not for anything dark

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you expect this to work on leather boots, like the ones they show on the package, forget about it. I wrecked a brand new pair of boots with this stuff. Notice in the HD demo, they use items that won't show the chalky surface this product leaves. It was horrible to see the brown leather turn light gray as I sprayed. It did repell water after it was applied, but I would never want to walk around in the boots looking like they did. I finally put enough polish on them that the surface is boot like in appearance now, but VERY disappointed in the product based on how they market it vs. real life appearance of treated items.
If you are buying this for foot and hand wear, just buy rubber products and forget about this stuff.
Pros: makes things not absorb water
Cons: chalk like surface after application
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Ruxor

It works but not like you think.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My review will be straightforward. I have tested this product thoroughly.
There are 2 cans. The first sprays a milky white substance and the second is a sealer. You wait 30 min after spraying the first before the sealer is sprayed. It is recommended that you wait 24 hours for the entire process to cure before testing and/or using.
You cannot spray glass, it leaves an opaque white film. You want to refrain from spraying electronics. I sprayed a laptop to see it if would work. The laptop did not take the first coat and failed to work after. The first coat is a rubber like spray. The key to it sticking is to make sure that everything is grease free and clean. I did not with the laptop but the instructions say, do not use on electronics.
I sprayed my converse. They were black. I washed them, removed all dirt and sprayed them per instructions. The shoes are now a blue jean color. They have a "tacky" feel to the fabric and laces. HOWEVER it does work and water cannot penetrate it. Further, the dirt that gets on the rubber toe part all the time, cannot stick.
I sprayed a toilet seat. I did this so I never have to lift it. Yes it works. However, if you sit on the seat it is a tacky rough feeling, Urine does not stay on the seat so you never have to lift it again.
Clothes, basically anything you want to stay soft and pliable will be waterproof but will no longer be soft and pliable.
Again, it has uses. Your cellphone is not one of them. It will ruin it.
It is fun to play with, nothing I would go out of my way for.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
soundfx4

It works awesome...but is fragile and not feasible

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is really amazing...for as long as it lasts. It is demonstrated in use on all types of surfaces and objects, but the majority of these uses are just not feasible. I applied them to my boots (as was demonstrated in all of their ads and was even the featured picture on the box) and I allowed it to dry for the 12 hours that it said was required for heavy use. The protection on the bottom of the boots was gone within a couple of hours. My boots were holding water on the bottom, like any shoe would, and leaving water tracks on the ground. This should not happen if the product was not worn off. I got a cleaning chemical on the top of my left boot and it instantly destroyed the application causing that one area to absorb the water instead of repelling it. This product is ridiculously NOT FEASIBLE for most applications. I can not even believe this made it to the market, and I DEFINITELY can't believe they using boots as a flagship marketing strategy when just simply walking will wear off the treatment. Oh, and if you trip and scratch your boots even a little, the treatment's gone in that one spot as well. It just boggles my mind, I'm taking it back to get my money back and I'll be sending an e-mail to Rustoleum as well the company that's licensing this out to Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily, wears off very fast
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Noel
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
turboz450
from illinoise
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product works great. The only downside is it leaves a flat white powder look. very noticeable on black or dark colors.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
welovejeff
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says, but with lots of caveats

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spray does make things super-hydrophobic, but not before leaving it a dusty milky mess. The spray leaves your object feeling 'weather-proofed' with a rubberized coat and a white dusty after coat. With friction you can also remove the coating. This is a novelty and not something I see being used for intended purposes.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Radakiss
from New Brighton, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Re-Apply Often

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It does work as advertised, but you have to reapply so often. I did my boots, but by the time it rained it had worn off already. Even my hard hat doesn't repel water anymore. If you really want to make a water repelled object I recommend Ever Dry, but it for industrial purposes only. I won't tell if you don't.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: doesn't last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
tmills

Does not last

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work very well. Smells horribly. Changes the color of surfaces it covers. Makes an impressive initial demo but does not last. Not suitable for any of the purposes shown in the video.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
ajh33
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Did not work

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product with all the hopes and expectations possible. I'd checked out the display at the store with a tennis shoe that completely repelled grape juice once NeverWet was sprayed on it and was sold instantly. Most unfortunately, I used this product on boat cushions that took me a day and a half to recover with relatively expensive fabric. After spending so much time and energy making my cushions look perfect, I wanted to make sure that water wouldn't ruin their appearance. I followed the directions to a T and had the paint drying for over 12 hours. The cushions did NOT repel the water in the slightest. Rather, water soaked right in and left horrible looking stains in the sides of the cushions. This is highly upsetting. Not only has ruined the texture of my fabric, but also the appearance of the sides. And it cost me money. So, no--I would NOT recommend this product as far as fabric goes.
Cons: not the slightest bit effective, texture is horrible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
DrDave
from Severn, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NeverWet? NeverBuy?

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say I wasn't impressed with this product at all. Rust-Oleum is a trusted name; I have used their products for years and they always worked exactly as they were supposed to -- high quality, reasonably priced, durable, and dependable. NeverWet didn't fit that same mold.
One two-can set was almost $20 and it only covered 10-15 sq.ft. Not very much coverage for a pretty hefty price. I don't spend much time working in the mud anymore, so wasn't really sure what to use the product for, but had some boots I do use outdoors sometimes, and a few tools and things I could try it on.
I got everything out at once to use it all in one application. I had two pair of boots, a shovel, an edger tool that I use for an ice scraper, a wheeled trashcan and two recycle bins that get a lot of splash and mud in the rain, and a small wheelbarrow-like platform I use for moving multiple things around (like a trashcan and one or more recycle bins).
I followed the directions on the can as far as the distance rom the items (6-14" away) and applied 2 light coats of the irst can and let it set for about an hour. I only covered bout the bottom 18" of the trashcan and recycle bins. I ent back in an hour and applied the second can, which eft a kind of milky white coating on everything. I thought it ould go away and turn clear as it dried, but it never really id. The cans were almost empty as I finished the bottoms f the last can, and I don't think I quite got 10 sq ft out of it, or I may have been over-spraying.
I let everything sit overnight, about 18 hours (the directions aid 12 hours, I believe) and because of a fortuitous rainstorm the night before, I had plenty of puddles and a ice muddy yard. I put on my boots and dragged the tools and cans out into the back yard. All still had most of the milky-white coating on them, which was disappointing - did some digging, and was pretty happy with the shovel. one of the wet dirt or grass stuck to it at all! My boots eren't collecting any of the mud or grass from the digging ither, although my pant legs were. I used the edger here nd it didn't pick up any mud or grass, either. So that was retty impressive. By the time I finished digging a hole bout 3 x 3 x 3, the tools hadn't collected any significant mounts of mud or grass, but there was some grass and a ittle mud sticking to the blade of the shovels. I also had ome sticking to my shoes, but not nearly as much as I ould expect.
I drug around the trashcan and other cans and the wagon-ike thing in the yard and through the big puddles for a little it, just to get them a test. They looked a little funny, ecause there was some mud and grass and stuff splashed and sticking to the cans above the point where 'd sprayed them, but below that line, where I had sprayed he product, it was clean as a whistle. It looked pretty funny, and that's the picture I should have taken for this, ut I didn't have my iPhone with me. It was very obvious here I had used the product and where I hadn't on the ans. My boots still had quite a bit of grass and mud on hem, but I realized I hadn't sprayed the laces (wasn't sure f they could handle the spray or not), so much of the junk ad stuck around the laces.
Review has gotten too long. Bottom line: The product mostly works as it says, but not well enough to really be that helpful in my humble opinion. At least not at $20 a serving. If ou really, really, absolutely needed something to shed water and mud and not much else, this would work for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Modern
Cons: Scratches Easily, expensive, discoloration of items
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
jimspompom
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Advertised Benefits a Bit Overblown!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have reviewed this product in the past with mixed results. On reflection, it seems that even the great reviews all have some caveats to them. It dosen't seem to be designed to be a permanent solution. in other words, it dosen't seem to last long, rather seems to be designed for a single use application. Such uses might be spraying satellite dishes or motor casings or such as perfect examples - spray it and leave it alone. This dosen't describe many common consumer products that people might like to protect from water damage. As I found in my review Neverwet treated products seem to be subject to wear, erosion, cracking of the coating, drying with a haze and removal by soaps..It can also be rubbed off.. I wonder why if this product is supposed to be so good at displacing water and preventing ice build up (u tube video), why the cable and utility companies don't use it on above ground lines? It would save them a fortune in line repairs if it did just that! I think the product may have more limited use than the adverrtising and u tube videos seem to suggest.. Also, it seems expensive for a single use. If you get 10 square feet of coverage, that $2.00 a square foot!. Coming out of a can as an aerosol, I doubt that you can spray only the object intented. Probably be better as a roll or brush-on product. If you had an icing problem on a 20' x 20' roof, it would require 30 - 40 sets of spray cans at $20.00 each, or $600 - $800 to tyeat ONCE.
Cons: Scratches Easily, wears off, soluble in soap, does not dry to a clear finish, single application use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
BA27
from Cin OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dont waste your money!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your $$- works but not long, leaves a white film after second coating so don't use on anything you care how it looks. Disapointed
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: doesnt last, leaves a chalky film
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Pohonui
from Olympia WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't meet my expectations...

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product over bare metal, some mole traps I wanted to keep from rusting. It left a white gritty substance on them, very uneven. It chips off easily once dry. I followed the 2 step process to the letter and it didn't seem to adhere to the metal, even though dry and clean. I'd use this over other types of material to see if I could get a better result, but it is so labor intensive that I am just going to say it is not for me. I didn't get a good result the first time around.
Cons: messy, didn't adhere well to metal
+4points
33out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
WebCohort
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Be very careful using this on clothes

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I watched several video's on this product and saw an in store demo of it. it seemed amazing. I used this on a pair of boots I use for hunting, and a hat. it left a white sticky residue on my hat and darkened the boots about 4 shades. on a scale from 1-10 using this for clothes (which they have on their web site) I would give this a 1. both my boots and hat became drenched after a light rain while walking in the woods. I am not sure how this works on other products but I followed the instructions exactly and it was terrible. I cannot ever recommend this product.
Cons: leaves sticky film on clothes, does not work as advertized
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
BonzaiBob

Not Bad For A New Technology, But Room For Improvement

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I own a paintball field and thought this could be useful for some of our rental equipment. We have a lot of rental masks that are cleaned and sanitized after every use. The elastic goggle strap is made of cotton and takes hours to dry. My hope was this product would reduce the time required to dry our masks and that its anti-bacterial properties would be a benefit.
The product repels water as advertised, but its durability and appearance limit its usefulness. While I knew it wouldn't dry clear, the chalky, uneven appearance and texture take the luster off this innovative product.
The promotional videos show it being used on clothing and shoes, so I figured it'd be durable and might be a good way to keep some of our equipment clean. I was disappointed to find the disclaimer, "not for use on clothing".
It doesn't adhere well to smooth plastics or rubbers. It can be removed by rubbing it with your thumb. It takes a bit of pressure, but I was expecting it to be more durable.
Another issue is the feel and appearance of the product. Spray cans have never been known for applying a smooth coat, and this product is no exception. The coating is gritty and slightly tacky on smooth surfaces--very similar to a spray adhesive. It has the appearance of chalk dust. As it wears, it peels of in a manner similar to rubber cement.
I've applied this a few different ways and found that surfaces which are slightly absorbent, such as fabric, require two coats of the base coat. A single base coat is only effective on non-absorbent surfaces. Letting it dry for 12 hours between coats seems to help.
Overall, this technology has the potential to be very useful. This the first try at a consumer product, and I expect we'll see improvements in the near future.
Pros: works as described
Cons: Scratches Easily, manufacturer does not recommend on clothing, leaves a visible texture & residue, not as durable as expected
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Nate
from Denver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only use on whie or light surfaces

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It seems to work, but like the pictures of other reviewers show it leaves a white haze over darkl surfaces. used sonme on brown leather shoes and theyre now basically white.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Benniman
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to work, very easy to use.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just painted picnic table for back yard bright red. Knew I would need to protect from elements. Tried Rust Oleum NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray. Application is a breeze. Let dry through afternoon and evening. Next day, hosed down newly painted table. Could visibly see water "bead up" on surface. Works good.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
MIKE
from MISSISSIPPI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT USE ON BOOTS

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT SOME BRAND NEW RED WING BOOTS JUST SO I COULD STEP IN THE MUD LIKE THE AD. DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS. IT DID WORK FOR ONE DAY AND THEN IF YOU USE YOUR BOOTS IN ANY WAY IT COMES RIGHT OFF. IT WAS GONE IN A DAY UNDER THE SHOE LACES AND THEN WHERE MY BOOTS RESTS ON IT;S SIDE ON THE GAS PEDAL. AFTER ONE WEEK IT IS NEARLY GONE ALL OVER. OH YEA, IT TURNS YOUR BOOTS SMURF BLUE. BOTTOM LINE IF YOU WANT YOUR BOOTS XTRA WATER PROOF, USE MINK OIL LIKE YOU ARE SUPPOSE TO.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: Scratches Easily, does not last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
SouthernUtahBoy
from Southern Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Probably not best way to protect fabric.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tested this product on two items, a pair of boots, and on a light grey cushion that's on a chair outdoors. It sprays out very evenly, making it simple to apply a good coat of the product. After following the directions, I see that it leaves a hazy look on the fabric, it didn't look so bad on my light tan boots though. While it doesn't rain much here, I notice the product wore off over time on the cushion, and instead of the water beading off the fabric during a rainstorm, it just gets absorbed now. I don't see this being practical for continued use on the cushion.
On my work boots, I do see this being somewhat useful in keeping my feet dry so water does not seep between the stitching, and to protect the leather on the boot itself. You would need to be diligent in applying it every few months to use it for this purpose.
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 11 >>