728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(251 reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product113 of 234reviews
Rating Breakdown 251 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(54)
3
(34)
2
(35)
1
(75)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product113 of 234reviews
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 61 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Wisconsin, USA

ABSOLUTELY not for anything dark

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you expect this to work on leather boots, like the ones they show on the package, forget about it. I wrecked a brand new pair of boots with this stuff. Notice in the HD demo, they use items that won't show the chalky surface this product leaves. It was horrible to see the brown leather turn light gray as I sprayed. It did repell water after it was applied, but I would never want to walk around in the boots looking like they did. I finally put enough polish on them that the surface is boot like in appearance now, but VERY disappointed in the product based on how they market it vs. real life appearance of treated items.
If you are buying this for foot and hand wear, just buy rubber products and forget about this stuff.
Pros: makes things not absorb water
Cons: chalk like surface after application
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

sensless product in most applications

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tested the product on several surfaces such as textile (shirt), my new shoes and my Iphone, such as advertised on the neverwet homepage.
Furthermore, coating comes off by a simple wipe with your fingers.
Conclusion: materials become milky (frosted). If you want to remove the coating there is a high risk of destruction of the surface. Never use this product on materials, where a milky haze is not desired.
I will try to get my money back
Cons: Scratches Easily, change the look of your materials, wrong application examples on neverwets homepage, no resistance ot touches
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

What a joke

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ridiculous how short of a life span this stuff has dont waste your money on this stuff. Plus a ware of time applying it for the 5 minutes it actually works.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After seeing the ads and anticipating it's arrival, now that it's available I'm very disappointed.
First of all don't spray it on anything that you don't want to be covered by a white film.
Second, it just doesn't work. We bought it to keep the mud off our work boots. Treated "his and hers" and we both had to scrape just as mud off our boots as we ever did.
Third, this stuff is expensive, so don't waste your money
Cons: not effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

hasn't worked on clothing

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far it hasn't worked on clothing. Maybe I haven't used enough coats
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from California
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to use and it takes a lot of it.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Not sure whether I would recommend this product or not. It really depends on what you want it for. The main problem that I had in applying it was that I could not tell where I had already sprayed it. I have a feeling that I missed some areas. It is pretty costly for any application that is not really small. It does leave a haze on some surfaces and it is NOT appropriate for fabric. The smell is really strong when you are applying it.
I don't think that I will use it again.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: costly, hard to apply evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Did not work

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product with all the hopes and expectations possible. I'd checked out the display at the store with a tennis shoe that completely repelled grape juice once NeverWet was sprayed on it and was sold instantly. Most unfortunately, I used this product on boat cushions that took me a day and a half to recover with relatively expensive fabric. After spending so much time and energy making my cushions look perfect, I wanted to make sure that water wouldn't ruin their appearance. I followed the directions to a T and had the paint drying for over 12 hours. The cushions did NOT repel the water in the slightest. Rather, water soaked right in and left horrible looking stains in the sides of the cushions. This is highly upsetting. Not only has ruined the texture of my fabric, but also the appearance of the sides. And it cost me money. So, no--I would NOT recommend this product as far as fabric goes.
Cons: not the slightest bit effective, texture is horrible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Melbourne, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Update

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Update on previous review from May 27, 2014 - In my previous review I stated I planned to sand down the Neverwet finish and repaint. Before I was able to do that we had a huge thunderstorm. I just want to add this; the Neverwet certainly did work as it states it will, which is waterproofing. After the rain I went outside to check on my bench and the water was beaded up all over the top much like a car wax finish. I still don't care for the rough sticky finish. As planned I did go ahead and lightly sand the bench to remove the rough texture left by the NeverWet. I then repainted it. It has a much smoother finish now, which is what I had been hoping for. I don't know if there was enough of the NeverWet left after the sanding, so I'm not sure how that may continue to waterproof. Updated review = product does seem to work as stated, but the resulting finish is not to my liking.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, rough sticky finish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It makess things waterproof as represented

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it say: makes a surface water proof, at least to rain. However, it leaves the surface with a rubbery feeling that's not particularly pleasant. Of course, on a hat, for example, the rubbery surface is on the outside, so it's not uncomfortable; but it's something to keep in mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

It works but not like you think.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My review will be straightforward. I have tested this product thoroughly.
There are 2 cans. The first sprays a milky white substance and the second is a sealer. You wait 30 min after spraying the first before the sealer is sprayed. It is recommended that you wait 24 hours for the entire process to cure before testing and/or using.
You cannot spray glass, it leaves an opaque white film. You want to refrain from spraying electronics. I sprayed a laptop to see it if would work. The laptop did not take the first coat and failed to work after. The first coat is a rubber like spray. The key to it sticking is to make sure that everything is grease free and clean. I did not with the laptop but the instructions say, do not use on electronics.
I sprayed my converse. They were black. I washed them, removed all dirt and sprayed them per instructions. The shoes are now a blue jean color. They have a "tacky" feel to the fabric and laces. HOWEVER it does work and water cannot penetrate it. Further, the dirt that gets on the rubber toe part all the time, cannot stick.
I sprayed a toilet seat. I did this so I never have to lift it. Yes it works. However, if you sit on the seat it is a tacky rough feeling, Urine does not stay on the seat so you never have to lift it again.
Clothes, basically anything you want to stay soft and pliable will be waterproof but will no longer be soft and pliable.
Again, it has uses. Your cellphone is not one of them. It will ruin it.
It is fun to play with, nothing I would go out of my way for.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Vernon Hills, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk junk junk!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For years, Rust-oleum has been a name to trust for high quality products. Lately, that seems to be slipping. First, my friend painted his deck with their Restore product last summer, and it is peeling off in sheets in the spring, and now I am stuck with this NeverWet garbage. I saw the videos online and thought this might be a neat product to use on my work boots to keep the mud from sticking. I applied the base coat, and then the top coat, and they turned kind of a bluish-purple color. Nothing like a "Frosted Clear" like the label. A few days later, I put them on to go work in my garden, the mud initially rolled right off, but after about half an hour, it as if I had never sprayed them (except now they are purple with mud stuck to them). This stuff is terrible. I can't believe Rust-Oleum would put their name on such a terrible product.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

It works awesome...but is fragile and not feasible

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is really amazing...for as long as it lasts. It is demonstrated in use on all types of surfaces and objects, but the majority of these uses are just not feasible. I applied them to my boots (as was demonstrated in all of their ads and was even the featured picture on the box) and I allowed it to dry for the 12 hours that it said was required for heavy use. The protection on the bottom of the boots was gone within a couple of hours. My boots were holding water on the bottom, like any shoe would, and leaving water tracks on the ground. This should not happen if the product was not worn off. I got a cleaning chemical on the top of my left boot and it instantly destroyed the application causing that one area to absorb the water instead of repelling it. This product is ridiculously NOT FEASIBLE for most applications. I can not even believe this made it to the market, and I DEFINITELY can't believe they using boots as a flagship marketing strategy when just simply walking will wear off the treatment. Oh, and if you trip and scratch your boots even a little, the treatment's gone in that one spot as well. It just boggles my mind, I'm taking it back to get my money back and I'll be sending an e-mail to Rustoleum as well the company that's licensing this out to Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily, wears off very fast
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from illinoise
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product works great. The only downside is it leaves a flat white powder look. very noticeable on black or dark colors.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Horrible product

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst products that I have ever used. Totally ruined my $80.00 pair of dress shoes. I followed their directions to the tee and ended up throwing my shoes away. What a complete waste of money. Rust-Oleum really dropped the ball with this product. Don't walk, run away from this horrible product---YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: horrible results
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says, but with lots of caveats

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spray does make things super-hydrophobic, but not before leaving it a dusty milky mess. The spray leaves your object feeling 'weather-proofed' with a rubberized coat and a white dusty after coat. With friction you can also remove the coating. This is a novelty and not something I see being used for intended purposes.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Does not last

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work very well. Smells horribly. Changes the color of surfaces it covers. Makes an impressive initial demo but does not last. Not suitable for any of the purposes shown in the video.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Severn, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NeverWet? NeverBuy?

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say I wasn't impressed with this product at all. Rust-Oleum is a trusted name; I have used their products for years and they always worked exactly as they were supposed to -- high quality, reasonably priced, durable, and dependable. NeverWet didn't fit that same mold.
One two-can set was almost $20 and it only covered 10-15 sq.ft. Not very much coverage for a pretty hefty price. I don't spend much time working in the mud anymore, so wasn't really sure what to use the product for, but had some boots I do use outdoors sometimes, and a few tools and things I could try it on.
I got everything out at once to use it all in one application. I had two pair of boots, a shovel, an edger tool that I use for an ice scraper, a wheeled trashcan and two recycle bins that get a lot of splash and mud in the rain, and a small wheelbarrow-like platform I use for moving multiple things around (like a trashcan and one or more recycle bins).
I followed the directions on the can as far as the distance rom the items (6-14" away) and applied 2 light coats of the irst can and let it set for about an hour. I only covered bout the bottom 18" of the trashcan and recycle bins. I ent back in an hour and applied the second can, which eft a kind of milky white coating on everything. I thought it ould go away and turn clear as it dried, but it never really id. The cans were almost empty as I finished the bottoms f the last can, and I don't think I quite got 10 sq ft out of it, or I may have been over-spraying.
I let everything sit overnight, about 18 hours (the directions aid 12 hours, I believe) and because of a fortuitous rainstorm the night before, I had plenty of puddles and a ice muddy yard. I put on my boots and dragged the tools and cans out into the back yard. All still had most of the milky-white coating on them, which was disappointing - did some digging, and was pretty happy with the shovel. one of the wet dirt or grass stuck to it at all! My boots eren't collecting any of the mud or grass from the digging ither, although my pant legs were. I used the edger here nd it didn't pick up any mud or grass, either. So that was retty impressive. By the time I finished digging a hole bout 3 x 3 x 3, the tools hadn't collected any significant mounts of mud or grass, but there was some grass and a ittle mud sticking to the blade of the shovels. I also had ome sticking to my shoes, but not nearly as much as I ould expect.
I drug around the trashcan and other cans and the wagon-ike thing in the yard and through the big puddles for a little it, just to get them a test. They looked a little funny, ecause there was some mud and grass and stuff splashed and sticking to the cans above the point where 'd sprayed them, but below that line, where I had sprayed he product, it was clean as a whistle. It looked pretty funny, and that's the picture I should have taken for this, ut I didn't have my iPhone with me. It was very obvious here I had used the product and where I hadn't on the ans. My boots still had quite a bit of grass and mud on hem, but I realized I hadn't sprayed the laces (wasn't sure f they could handle the spray or not), so much of the junk ad stuck around the laces.
Review has gotten too long. Bottom line: The product mostly works as it says, but not well enough to really be that helpful in my humble opinion. At least not at $20 a serving. If ou really, really, absolutely needed something to shed water and mud and not much else, this would work for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Modern
Cons: Scratches Easily, expensive, discoloration of items
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Olympia WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't meet my expectations...

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product over bare metal, some mole traps I wanted to keep from rusting. It left a white gritty substance on them, very uneven. It chips off easily once dry. I followed the 2 step process to the letter and it didn't seem to adhere to the metal, even though dry and clean. I'd use this over other types of material to see if I could get a better result, but it is so labor intensive that I am just going to say it is not for me. I didn't get a good result the first time around.
Cons: messy, didn't adhere well to metal
+4points
33out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Walnut, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money, do NOT buy!!!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very temporary product. It works for the 20 minutes (if you're lucky) that it is on whatever you sprayed it on. This Neverwet can easily be rubbed off without even trying.
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 13 >>