728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.908 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(260 reviews) 260
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product117 of 243reviews
Rating Breakdown 260 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(57)
4
(54)
3
(35)
2
(36)
1
(78)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product117 of 243reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 1 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dynamic Product

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried it on several items and it works very well. Even used it on my Satellite Dish and it stopped the rain interruptions during my favorite shows. Put it on my outdoor boots but it has been too dry to try it out. I am already think of uses I can use it on including my Rv.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

wow

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been waiting for this for a long time. I have a truck load of projects to do with this, thanks Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily
-16points
7out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Southbridge MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outdoor field photos

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years my favorite hobby has been taking photos of nature’s creations in all weather. The main drawback to this has been the wet mud that seems to always find its way onto my camera bag, no matter how careful I try to me. Wet snow and sleet is the worst. I had tried several different products in an attempt to keep the wet dirt off the bag to no avail so I would carry a spare bag for a towel to get the worst off before taking the camera out. Then I tried NeverWet and am very impressed with the results. Despite at times crawling through wet dirt thickets and pulling the bag with wet dirty gloves, it stayed dry and clean, allowing me to remove the camera(without my gloves on) without having to wipe it clean first. Before I went out again, I sprayed my leather gloves with three light coats with the base and left them for half an hour and then two light coats with the finish spray and again left then for 30 minutes. Also did my shoes and hat. Results were as perfect as they could be. The rain that would slide off my hat would sometimes hit the bag but the NeverWet from Rust-Oleum did its job and as the very first bear of the day came into view, I had a nice dry bag to quickly open and remove the camera without fear of water and dirt being smeared on it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+29points
40out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a handy man, so I needed to read an instruction a couple of times. Very easy to use and results are amazing.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great way to waterproof boots

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a Boy Scout leader I am always looking for easy ways to do something. Rustoleum NeverWet seems to be one of those easy ways. I recently went on an overnight camping trip and my duffle with my sleeping bag in it was left out of the tent and in the rain while I was off registering the Troop. When I returned and found my sleeping bag had become wet through the duffle I was not a happy camper.
Now I am prepared for the worse that Mother Nature has to offer. I stuffed my duffle bag with crumpled newspaper and following the directions that came with the product I sprayed two light coats from the Step 1 can on the bag. I waited about 45-60 minutes between coats, even though the direction say to wait 30 minutes. Hay, I forgot to go back outside and respray until I went out to tell my dog to stop barking. Next I applied 3 coats of the Step 2 can waiting about 30 minutes between coats.
After allowing the bag to dry thoroughly for two full days, again because I forgot about it, I misted it with water from my garden hose and let it set for a couple of hours in the puddle that formed. I then checked the newspapers inside and they were dry. My hiking boots are the next to get the treatment.
Thanks for a great product that is simple to use and works like a charm. Now let's just see if it holds up over time and the rough treatment of camping with Scouts.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wow

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great idea someone had for a product that will save so many people from having to throw away damaged items. I used this on shoes like they showed and it worked great. I have plans for so many other items.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I repainted a plaster bird that I've had outside for probably ten years. So I wanted to protect it and this looks like it's doing the job. I checked on it when it was raining heavily and it was beading up. Hopefully this will do the job for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
40out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True Water Repellant

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on the floor fabric for my camping tent. It does dry to a light haze, and I recommend not using this on the tent sides.
After applying per the instructions, and to make sure the coating was completely dry, I allowed the tent to remain out overnight with the bottom facing up for air circulation.
Next day, I proceeded to flood the bottom of the tent by running our yard sprinkler and allowing the water to pool. This has always been a true test method in past waterproofing testing. Usually there was always the occasional water seepage from the tent floor. This time however, the floor remained completely dry. To further test this out, I placed the hose under the tent. Again, no water came through.
Now comes the test of time. I am hopeful this product will be just as waterproof come next spring.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Actually works!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product on my work boots. Needed to work in the yard after a long spell of rain. Ground was wet and muddy. The day before, I followed the directions for applying to my boots, to include the recommended number of coats and drying time between each coat. After working in standing puddles of water and mud, I have to say that nothing stuck to my boots. Water and mud just rolled off the boots like glass. Absolutely nothing stuck. Wonderful product. As this product is so new, I can't comment on the longevity of protection afforded however, in the mean time, I'll start thinking of different things to use this product on.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently used this product on the swing set I just built for my son. So far, none of the roping has gotten dirty or dry-rotted. The seat on the swing stays dry and there is far less dirt for my son to sit on.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from topeka
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liquid Repellant

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I, like so many, coated my shoes and a few other accessories. All I can say is: WOW! Splashing mud around like a BOSS! Telling water to take a HIKE! I felt sorry for those around me that got mud on them, but not me. Walked out clean as ever, Now to coat my Windshields, Car, Glasses, Cat, and everything that has a potential to get wet! THANK YOU SCIENCE FOR BEING SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!! NANOTECHNOLOGY!!!!!!!!
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exciting product!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think this product is going to change the world! This exciting new technology will represent excellent solutions for numerous applications.
It is a two-step process consisting of a base coat and a top coat. It appears that multiple base coats followed by multiple top coats will give the best results. The bottom coat is clear but the top coat is a milky white color. (So forget about windscreens and eyewear for now.) The box says that the two cans will provide coverage for ten to fifteen square feet - not a very big area. Because of the limited coverage I tried to assemble the things I wanted to waterproof in one area so that any overspray might get used. The obvious application is to boots and shoes. I laid out all the winter gloves, shoes and boots that I did not mind getting a milky white color and gave them all two very light coats. I repeated that with the top coat. I also sprayed a chair and used up the rest of the cans on an outdoor umbrella.
I dipped a boot in water and it certainly rolls off the leather! (I did not coat the sole as it will wear off the sole anyway).
The chair also repels water but I think my coats on the umbrella were too thin as it got wet in yesterday’s rain.
I think the trick is to ensure that the coats are solid - I suspect that unless one can see a milky white layer (on a non-white surface) then you have not applied enough.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern
Cons: needs multiple coats
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+77points
116out of 155found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Space age technology you can actually own an afford

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just go ahead and buy two packages up front. This stuff is AMAZING!! I found myself coating anything and everything. It's impossible to describe how well this product works in words or pictures. Look for some videos on the Rust Oleum website.
It does dry to a slight milky haze. If you have any older (worn) black leather items (like boots) they will look a little blue. It's a good idea to test this out before applying to make sure the discoloration is slight and acceptable. Applying is easy, but if you go too heavy you will have a noticeable texture left on the item. This was a trail and error thing but did not take me long to figure out.
With that said, I am done typing, I have to go search the house for more stuff I can waterproof.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, works better than you can imagine
Cons: slight discoloration on darker items
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Get outta here water!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brought this product to my friend's lakehouse feeling that we could find a good use for it. However, he wondered how the final finish would look. The can specifies that it has a clear hazy finish. We decided to test it first on a beverage can (see photos.) Clear haze is a great description. We also ran a couple wetting tests on it, and it worked has promised... no water could stick to the can! We ended up using the product on the steps to the hot tub, which can get wet/slippery. They couldn't be happier with the product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet Instruction Sheet

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Here is the instruction sheet that comes with the product. I did a baseball cap and it is definitely SUPERHYDROPHOBIC!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Stuff!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Revolutionary Stuff! Good acquisition from Rustoleum, and Home depot! Home depot shipped for free, good doing business
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Croydon, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is amazing

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this product on a costume that I was afraid of getting wet and the water runs right off of it. It's so amazing though I wish it were a little cheaper.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: $20 is a bit expensive for two bottles.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have to say this stuff is amazing!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product to coat the hardware on my son's basketball goal in the backyard. I'd noticed that as hurricane season approaches and we've seen increasing amounts of rain, small amounts of rust have emerged around the base of the goal post & a few connecting points, and I have to say I haven't seen any further deterioration at all the 2 or 3 weeks! Water just beads right off!
For good measure I've treated an old pair of tactical boots that I use for yard work and they are completely waterproof now... Although I wouldn't advise standing in a foot of water for more than a few minutes or so. The instructions are spot on, and claims are accurate. If using on a surface or material that is heavily contacted in anyway the performance / lifespan is significantly decreased. Keep that in mind when considering the application.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I’m a coatings chemist so was very excited about this product but also doubted it. I’ve used it on several items with success The texture of the material changes slightly, but the water proofing of the surface is quite amazing. Things I’ve coated and tested for over a month now…. 1) My old bike pannier were worn out and lacked their originally waterproofing. Sprayed them down and now keeps paperwork, computer, etc dry. 2) Apron for cooking typically becomes quite nasty. Neverwet really is amazing at keeping things from sticking. Now, you can’t use the apron for drying hands, etc, but wow, will your apron stay clean. It is a two step process and a little expensive, so pick your applications wisely. I almost sprayed a leaky gutter corner down with this stuff, as I was certain it would do the job, but decided on a less costly spray type rubber.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>