728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Spray Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

A revolutionary super hydrophobic system. This product creates a barrier that dramatically repels water, mud, ice and more. Can be used on a variety of surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.894 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product114 of 237reviews
Rating Breakdown 254 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(54)
3
(34)
2
(35)
1
(77)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product114 of 237reviews
Customer reviews for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Review 1 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently used this product on the swing set I just built for my son. So far, none of the roping has gotten dirty or dry-rotted. The seat on the swing stays dry and there is far less dirt for my son to sit on.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

wow

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been waiting for this for a long time. I have a truck load of projects to do with this, thanks Rustoleum.
Cons: Scratches Easily
-16points
7out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from topeka
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liquid Repellant

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I, like so many, coated my shoes and a few other accessories. All I can say is: WOW! Splashing mud around like a BOSS! Telling water to take a HIKE! I felt sorry for those around me that got mud on them, but not me. Walked out clean as ever, Now to coat my Windshields, Car, Glasses, Cat, and everything that has a potential to get wet! THANK YOU SCIENCE FOR BEING SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!! NANOTECHNOLOGY!!!!!!!!
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exciting product!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think this product is going to change the world! This exciting new technology will represent excellent solutions for numerous applications.
It is a two-step process consisting of a base coat and a top coat. It appears that multiple base coats followed by multiple top coats will give the best results. The bottom coat is clear but the top coat is a milky white color. (So forget about windscreens and eyewear for now.) The box says that the two cans will provide coverage for ten to fifteen square feet - not a very big area. Because of the limited coverage I tried to assemble the things I wanted to waterproof in one area so that any overspray might get used. The obvious application is to boots and shoes. I laid out all the winter gloves, shoes and boots that I did not mind getting a milky white color and gave them all two very light coats. I repeated that with the top coat. I also sprayed a chair and used up the rest of the cans on an outdoor umbrella.
I dipped a boot in water and it certainly rolls off the leather! (I did not coat the sole as it will wear off the sole anyway).
The chair also repels water but I think my coats on the umbrella were too thin as it got wet in yesterday’s rain.
I think the trick is to ensure that the coats are solid - I suspect that unless one can see a milky white layer (on a non-white surface) then you have not applied enough.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern
Cons: needs multiple coats
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+75points
114out of 153found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet Instruction Sheet

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Here is the instruction sheet that comes with the product. I did a baseball cap and it is definitely SUPERHYDROPHOBIC!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Croydon, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is amazing

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this product on a costume that I was afraid of getting wet and the water runs right off of it. It's so amazing though I wish it were a little cheaper.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: $20 is a bit expensive for two bottles.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Excellent product!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works just as the video shows. It is amazing how many different liquids this product can stop. Highly recommended!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Modern, Easy to Apply
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful..Did everything i hoped for.Very easY to use.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WONDERFUN Did everything i hoped for. Was very easy to use.Instruction were easy.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Western New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for interesting things

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Given as a gift and still looking for other things to use it on!
Easy to use, dries quickly. so far, used on all the garden tools, both big tools Ike shovels,hand things like trowels, the inside of the wheel barrow. Also on THE BOTTOM of all my shoes, sneakers and dress shoes too. One of the neat things was the inside of the concrete birdbath. No more mold or algae if I neglect it for a day or two. Birds seem to like a nice clean splash!
Still plenty left in the containers and looking for ideas on where to use it
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

READ ABOUT PRODUCT BEFORE BUYING

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
IF YOU READ ABOUT PRODUCT YOU WOULD KNOW ALL OF THESE THINGS BEFORE USING.EVERY REVIEW HERE THEY DID NOT KNOW BE CAUSE THEY DID NOT READ.
THEY ARE COMING OUT WITH FABRIC LINE SOON.
THERE WEBSITE SAYS
What are some applications which are not (currently) good for NeverWet?
• High abrasion applications are not good for NeverWet yet. We aren't excited about well-traveled road surfaces or walks. Machinery which undergoes a lot of friction is also not a good application.
• The outside of cars. This is not a glossy finish. Cars also have to withstand a ton of pressure as they speed down the road in driving rain. The coating isn’t quite up to this pressure yet.
• Windows/windshields/glasses. This coating will frost your glass.
• Nice clothing. The coating has a strong tactile feel to it. If you are hiking or working in a dirty environment, this feel may not bother you, but it will on your nice clothing.
• Glossy or black shoes. The white haze will change the appearance of these types of shoes.
• Bathing suits. You would think it was perfect for bathing suits. If you just coat the outside, the bathing suit will still get completely wet from the inside (where you didn’t coat it) out. I don’t think you’ll want this coating on the inside of your bathing suit. We’re coming out with a fabric solution soon – standby for the new NeverWet with a fabric focus!
Does NeverWet have a gloss finish?
No. The finish of NeverWet is a matte finish. It has a velvety feel to it. In our development cycle, gloss surfaces are not in the near future due to the technical difficulty of the challenge.
7) How can I repair a damaged NeverWet coating.
Repair is easy. First, try re-applying the Top Coat. This will restore the effect, and if any of the base coating is still present, the new Top Coat will bond with the existing base coat. Should the base coat be worn away, you may want to re-apply both coatings.
8) Any suggestions for clothing?
Rustoleum NeverWet will leave a velvety tactile feeling on your clothing, so we recommend you save its use for work or play clothing. We are developing a solution dedicated to fabrics, so stay tuned!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Wet is Awesome!!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When people find out just how good this stuff is, it will be sold out and backordered! I used it on a tent, raingear, my sattelite dish, etc. It works just like the box says and I have not had any problems with its longevity! Maybe the other people applied it incorrectly?? Just follow the directions exactly and it will work.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: a little on the pricey side but it does work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from america
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I can't believe it!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I sprayed my entire body with this stuff and jumped into molten lava and it didn't stick! Then I rolled around in manure, and that didn't stick! Amazing!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Santa Fe
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit (3-Pack)
I had maintenance spray this on my dish and have had no issues with snow!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Neverwet Easy

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is very easy to use in two steps. Time had to be allowed between each coat. Used on house where water sprinklers hit brick. First base coat of sealer is clear and dries in 30 minutes. First top coat of repellant is clear and should be sprayed in even lines along surface and also dries in 30 minutes. Applied second coat and was careful not to over apply. If applied to heavy it leaves a white film on surface. All in all, easy to apply and is very good at shedding even heavy water spray. Pleased !!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: leaves white film if applied too heavily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As an employee of DSNY I used this for extra protection to my boots and it works excellent.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit

Great Quality

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does exactly what it says it does. Stands up great against liquids and stains. An invaluable tool for sneaker lovers like myself or anyone looking to protect their clothing or an other product from liquids. About to try it on my iPhone
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

did the job

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for my Dad for a particularly troublesome area where water kept getting in. He used it and the area is staying dry and he is very happy.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from North East - TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Neverwet saves the day

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 8yrs of service our kitchen stool seats looked dingy. We were going to reupholster, but could find fabric that matched or worked well. Finally, we bought another fabric and I started disassembling the seats cushions.
Meanwell, on a planet far far away, I had purchased the never wet kit on a lark that I'd use it on other things.
Back to the stools. The underside of the fabric was a lot closer to new than I expected. By reversing the fabric and coating the seats with NeverWet I was able to restore the stools to a like new appearance.
Fortunately, our stool fabric was an antique white so the milky coating didn't matter. I would tread very lightly if I were doing a fabric with any color depth. Your mileage may very. Speaking of mileage; Step 1 did all four stool seats handily, but Step 2 ran out in the middle of the last stool. Fortunately, the cost of a second kit was within the budget of this restoration project.
I followed the instructions to the letter, including timing between coats, and had no problems.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: careful with milkiness if applied too thick., would have proportionally preferred more of step 2, fabric feels ruberized.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waiting on Weather!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When we recently remodeled I talked my husband into adding a WHITE Hill Country stone wainscot below the outside brick. He cautioned that it would discolor...and, of course, it has... turning muddy red for about 12" above ground level. Today the gutters are going up, tomorrow we power wash (bought some acid to clean the stone surface) and, as soon as it's clean and dry, on goes the "NeverWet". I'll report back!
I've tried other sealants for "porous stone" in the past and just don't trust them to do the job in this case. Reading other reviews, I don't think the "milky white" will be a problem on white stone and I'm anxious to see if it dissuades the discoloration and eye-rolling I'm experiencing right now. My reputation is on the line here! (and possibly my marriage? LOL)
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: expensive only covers 15 sf
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 oz. NeverWet Multi-Purpose Spray Kit
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a handy man, so I needed to read an instruction a couple of times. Very easy to use and results are amazing.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>