728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Bali Cut-to-Size Natural Roller Shades invite elements of the outside world in. Made of natural, renewable materials with the look of jute or hemp, the woven shade has a room darkening privacy liner on the street side. A great solution for windows of many sizes, they can be easily trimmed to your desired width.
Overall rating:
4.109 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product36 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(18)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product36 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
Review 1 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Larchmont, NY 10538, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice blinds but HORRIBLE to cut to size- had to make 4 visits to Home depot- blade not sharp enough- not enough stock in the

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
nice blinds but HORRIBLE to cut to size- had to make 4 visits to HD for miss cuts & missing stock
Pros: Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged, not enough stock
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I've been looking for!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 38.5 in. W x 72 in. L
I've been searching for an inexpensive roller shade for the window above my kitchen sink for two years. I didn't want to spend a lot on a custom shade, so I was very excited when I found this on the Home Depot website! It arrived pretty quickly and was fairly easy to install. I was a little skeptical about the plastic chain, but it is surprisingly sturdy. My only complaint is that the back side is a thin white material. I wish it matched the front side, but it's not a huge deal. I would definitely buy this shade again and I'm really glad that I made this great purchase!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Niagara Falls

Size is Confusing

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 45 in. W x 72 in. L
The line "No deductions are made to this blind - the actual width of this blind is the same as width ordered" is confusing. I couldn't figure out if it meant the fabric width or the assembled width. Bottom Line - Order the blind width the same width as the window for an inside mount - the fabric is then cut 1" narrower than the window to accommodate the hardware.
Pros: Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Quality shade but may need some adjustments to fit window

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 45 in. W x 72 in. L
This is a good quality shade that operates very smoothly and looks beautiful on my windows. There are 2 issues; however, but they can be easily overcome. 1. A standard vinyl roller shade when cut tip-to-tip (the inside dimensions of a window) is cut 1" shorter than the inside dimensions to accommodate the side brackets. Ex: if inside window dimension is 25", the resulting cut shade will measure 24". If a standard roller shade cutter is used employing standard cuts, it will result in a shade width that is too wide. To accommodate the brackets & mechanism for this particular shade another 3/8" has to be added to the cut. Ex: if inside window dimension is 25", the resulting cut shade will measure 23 5/8". 2. The chain may be too long for some windows and although the instructions included in the packaging doesn't discuss chain length, the length can be shortened. You need to examine the bead chain connector on the chain. There are a few different styles of bead chain connectors for plastic chains. The one on the shades that I bought, the cover of the connector slides over the beads. (Note: Some bead chains connectors snap over the beads.) I found it easiest to slide the covering off by using pliers. It did not require any force, but I found it difficult to do with my fingers. Once slid off, there are 2 beads resting in a pod. Remove them from the pod, cut to length you want, place back in pod and slide cover over pod. By the way, the chain can be mounted on either side of the shade.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could use more detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from New York, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent - and look much more expensive than they are

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 30 in. W x 72 in. L
I really appreciated the reviews other people left here regarding measuring and fitting these blinds - thanks! I love the blinds, they look fantastic, but it took me 45 minutes to install the first one (and 5 minutes to install the 3rd one) because there are a few tricks to getting it right.
One side of the shade is an attractive rattan/bamboo look, the other side is an unattractive whiteish polyester backing. Obviously, you want the backing to face outside, away from the room and you want the backing to roll up on the inside so that when the shade is rolled up, its a tube of bamboo, not a tube of white polyester. Bizarrely, when you receive this shade it will be rolled so that the whitish backing is on the outside. The image on the packing box/online even shows it installed that way. Who would want that? It doesn't have to be this way.
To fix this problem, do the following steps. It will make sense when you have the parts in your hands: 1) unroll the whole shade and re-roll it with the bamboo on the outside. 2) install the diamond-shaped bracket on the right side of the window. 3) install the circular bracket on the left side of the window. 4) face the window and hold the roller mechanism the direction it will be when it is installed on the window (It will be inserted into the diamond bracket) The beaded pull cord has a joint in it (a little plastic tube). Pull the beaded cord through the mechanism until the plastic joint is away from you, at the back of the roller mechanism, and can't go any higher. 5) insert the round plastic pin into the left end of the blind. 6) insert the roller mechanism with its diamond pin into the right side of the blind. 7) insert the blind into the brackets as shown in the instructions.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Rockland NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, great price

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 23.5 in. W x 72 in. L
These shades are decent quality and they look nice on the windows. The color is neutral and they block the light pretty well. They go up and down easily and they were cut to be the perfect size, so installation was a breeze. We have them in the playroom and they're great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Bali roller shades

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 42.5 in. W x 72 in. L
I'm good at DIY installation, measure six times, install once. If possible for inside the frame mounting, I would recommend top mounting and not side mounting. That way you can order without worrying about exact measurements. My wife is very impressed with how they work and look on our sunroom/porch.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Exton, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 30 in. W x 72 in. L
It took several tries to install the first one. It must not be too close to the window frame, or too far. Once we got the "hang of it", installing the rest was easy and quick. There are not many colors from which to select, but, for the price, it is a good value.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: Not Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 30 in. W x 72 in. L
The sides of the shade are fraying, the chain came off the roller and when I put it back it no longer operates to raise or lover the shade. This purchase was a mistake. I would return it if I could find the receipt.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Unaligned, Flimsy Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for what I wanted.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 34 in. W x 72 in. L
Easy to install. Looks beautiful. Perfect for our decor!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Pleasant Grove, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 52 in. W x 72 in. L
The shades are beautiful and well made, easy to install and operate, and they do a great job of shading but letting light in.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Milwaukee, WI

Great Look - Beware Big Hardware

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 45 in. W x 72 in. L
This product looks nice when installed, with the backing it offers light filtering, and in the evening hours allows for moderate privacy. All the hardware is included, BUT the exterior box description and directions lack useful information (see below). We installed these in our kitchen windows with an interior fit.
I went to the store with the intention of replacing traditional spring loaded roller blinds, but I loved the natural look of these and was happy to see they were in the "cut to fit" section. I based my measurements on our old standard roller blind, and after the first blind was cut I realized that the blind is continuous loop, not spring loaded, and then when I got home and opened the packaging I found the blinds hardware is much larger than a traditional roller blind (brackets are 2x2.5") and "cuts in" more. I would have been better off going home and evaluating the hardware fit in our windows and then going back to have the blinds cut for the best fit.
Useful install tips: The directions only show a top down install (ceiling mount/or on side in a deep window), but we installed these like traditional roller shade hardware pointing out (our windows are too shallow - less than 1/2" deep - to do otherwise) and because of the larger hardware they do stick out farther. The blind rolls off the back (wood strip adds weight in bottom hem) and the cord works most logically on the right - that means the diamond hardware on the right, and circle on the left (the cord may be able to be installed on the left with adjustments). The continuous loop cord can be adjusted to fit shorter windows by opening the tiny seam on the stopper with something like a razor blade. To get the cord measurement it may help to have your cord guide installed where you want it first, and I'd also suggest popping the bead in and giving it a test run before cutting and closing the cord case back up. The cord runs better with less slack.
The system works pretty smooth, and a bonus I had not considered, was that the loop makes it easier to retract harder to reach windows all the way up. Wish I hadn't cut them before evaluating all the components, but overall happy.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement roller shade

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 46 in. W x 72 in. L
I had this shade cut to size to replace an existing one that is identical, so there were really no surprises with this product.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Not a good choice.

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 34.5 in. W x 72 in. L
Did not roll evenly so appeared crooked when drawn, was VERY difficult to maneuver cord (it stuck easily & repeatedly) and cut to the measurement we gave, it was too short. We had to top mount the brackets to make it fit.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: Poor looking, Unaligned, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from College Park, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good.

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 36.5 in. W x 72 in. L
Basically as advertised. I wish the drawstring were longer and metal instead of cheap-looking white plastic. It would really have helped if the drawstring were adjustable as it only goes about 4/5's of the depth of the average window -- I would really have preferred it go all the way to the bottom of the frame.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from S/W Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does a Great job

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 26.5 in. W x 72 in. L
I am very pleased with the quality and performance of this blind. It looks great at the window and not like a plain old blind.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product ....love them

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Bermuda Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 29.5 in. W x 72 in. L
texture of the cord needs to a little better (plastic beads)
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: platic bead cord
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

nice shade for the price

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 31 in. W x 72 in. L
The cream plastic looped chain and plastic loop that secures it to window jam area bit on the cheap side. Could be easily replaced with metal version of the same if desired. Still al good value for the $
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

nice blinds - i'm picky

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 35.5 in. W x 72 in. L
Easy to hang. Just measure your dimensions and home depot sends them cut to the perfect size. Someone mentioned deducting inches - no need.
The cord can be shortened easily. All of our windows are short and we shortened the cord on all 3 blinds.
They look nice .... like custom shades.
They are not privacy shades. You can see throug Khan them at night if the lights are on (just shadows).
Nice blinds. Im ordering more.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try it; I think you'll not be disappointed

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Light Filtering Roller Shade - 30.5 in. W x 72 in. L
The chain driven roll up/down feature works precisely as I had hoped.
If the shade is to be hung inside the window frame, take careful measurements at the top of the window frame then be sure to have the shade cut 1-3/8" shorter than your measurement in order to accommodate the operating mechanism (I had to take mine to the local store to be recut). This WILL result in the shade being off center by 3/16" but can't be helped unless the shade is surface mounted.
The manufacturer could resolve this off center issue by extending the length of the idler pin by 3/8".
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Unaligned
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>