728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Roller Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)

Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)

The Bali Cut-to-Size Panama Natural Roller Shade is made of a light filtering woven material with a privacy liner. The color coordinated continuous cord loop provides a smooth operation.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
larchmontlaura
from Larchmont, NY 10538, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice blinds but HORRIBLE to cut to size- had to make 4 visits to Home depot- blade not sharp enough- not enough stock in the

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
nice blinds but HORRIBLE to cut to size- had to make 4 visits to HD for miss cuts & missing stock
Pros: Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged, not enough stock
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
DMG1

Quality shade but may need some adjustments to fit window

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
This is a good quality shade that operates very smoothly and looks beautiful on my windows. There are 2 issues; however, but they can be easily overcome. 1. A standard vinyl roller shade when cut tip-to-tip (the inside dimensions of a window) is cut 1" shorter than the inside dimensions to accommodate the side brackets. Ex: if inside window dimension is 25", the resulting cut shade will measure 24". If a standard roller shade cutter is used employing standard cuts, it will result in a shade width that is too wide. To accommodate the brackets & mechanism for this particular shade another 3/8" has to be added to the cut. Ex: if inside window dimension is 25", the resulting cut shade will measure 23 5/8". 2. The chain may be too long for some windows and although the instructions included in the packaging doesn't discuss chain length, the length can be shortened. You need to examine the bead chain connector on the chain. There are a few different styles of bead chain connectors for plastic chains. The one on the shades that I bought, the cover of the connector slides over the beads. (Note: Some bead chains connectors snap over the beads.) I found it easiest to slide the covering off by using pliers. It did not require any force, but I found it difficult to do with my fingers. Once slid off, there are 2 beads resting in a pod. Remove them from the pod, cut to length you want, place back in pod and slide cover over pod. By the way, the chain can be mounted on either side of the shade.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could use more detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
DesertRat
from Santee, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nice in Kitchen & Family room

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
These are easy to install and the cord is adjustable. We installed them inside the window frames with the bracket attached to the top of the window frame. The cut wasn't exactly right and we had to bend the brackets outward (toward the wall) to allow for the slightly too long cut.
The cord on the kitchen shade was far too long for the 36 inch high window but we were able to open up the little piece that attaches the two cord ends together and cut the cord and make it shorter.
When you buy these cut-to-fit shades you are at the mercy of the person doing the cutting. On our first purchase the lady who helped us knew what she was doing. Today, the young man seemed to have no clue as to how much to cut off. He was going to cut them to the dimensions of the window without allowing for the brackets. This shade hasn't been installed yet, so the jury is out as to whether it will fit without too much adjustment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
housemom

nice shade for the price

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
The cream plastic looped chain and plastic loop that secures it to window jam area bit on the cheap side. Could be easily replaced with metal version of the same if desired. Still al good value for the $
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Jerry
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try it; I think you'll not be disappointed

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
The chain driven roll up/down feature works precisely as I had hoped.
If the shade is to be hung inside the window frame, take careful measurements at the top of the window frame then be sure to have the shade cut 1-3/8" shorter than your measurement in order to accommodate the operating mechanism (I had to take mine to the local store to be recut). This WILL result in the shade being off center by 3/16" but can't be helped unless the shade is surface mounted.
The manufacturer could resolve this off center issue by extending the length of the idler pin by 3/8".
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Unaligned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
akaAmy
from Milwaukee, WI

Great Look - Beware Big Hardware

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
This product looks nice when installed, with the backing it offers light filtering, and in the evening hours allows for moderate privacy. All the hardware is included, BUT the exterior box description and directions lack useful information (see below). We installed these in our kitchen windows with an interior fit.
I went to the store with the intention of replacing traditional spring loaded roller blinds, but I loved the natural look of these and was happy to see they were in the "cut to fit" section. I based my measurements on our old standard roller blind, and after the first blind was cut I realized that the blind is continuous loop, not spring loaded, and then when I got home and opened the packaging I found the blinds hardware is much larger than a traditional roller blind (brackets are 2x2.5") and "cuts in" more. I would have been better off going home and evaluating the hardware fit in our windows and then going back to have the blinds cut for the best fit.
Useful install tips: The directions only show a top down install (ceiling mount/or on side in a deep window), but we installed these like traditional roller shade hardware pointing out (our windows are too shallow - less than 1/2" deep - to do otherwise) and because of the larger hardware they do stick out farther. The blind rolls off the back (wood strip adds weight in bottom hem) and the cord works most logically on the right - that means the diamond hardware on the right, and circle on the left (the cord may be able to be installed on the left with adjustments). The continuous loop cord can be adjusted to fit shorter windows by opening the tiny seam on the stopper with something like a razor blade. To get the cord measurement it may help to have your cord guide installed where you want it first, and I'd also suggest popping the bead in and giving it a test run before cutting and closing the cord case back up. The cord runs better with less slack.
The system works pretty smooth, and a bonus I had not considered, was that the loop makes it easier to retract harder to reach windows all the way up. Wish I hadn't cut them before evaluating all the components, but overall happy.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
OMah
from Newport ORegon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cord too long

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I bought these in the store where they cut them to fit my measurements. The width is fine, but the cord is too long and is not adjustable. I phoned Bali for help and they advised me to make a custom order instead. There was no way to anticipate that the cord would not be adjustable.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, cord is not adjustable, hardware is not for power drill or screwdrive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
ellkay
from Enfield CT

Panama Natural Roller Shades

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Love these shades. I like bamboo but wanted something lighter in color and light filtering but with a little privacy and some texture .These are perfect. Went up very easily. Much cheaper than custom blinds but don't look it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
WalterP

No way to shorten chain! Worthless!

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
For a product that is designed to be cut to custom-fit any window, it is completely worthless if your window isn't long enough to fit the length of the chain. They give you NO way of shortening the chain either; something I honestly was silly enough to expect. I am completely disgusted by this "customizable" product.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
charlescrabcake
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The blinds look great in our guest bedroom.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
The salesperson was very experienced and helpful. The blinds went up with some modification of the window trim. I also omitted the pull cord hold down as it too didn't conform. Overall I like the look of this product, and we softened up the window treatment with sheer drapes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Marty
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install, look great!

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
These shades look really great, went up quickly. The
hardware's configuration didn't completely fit squarely into the sill of a 1940's window (some overhang) and I only used one screw on each side, (the shades hold tight though) but the drapery covers the hardware. I'm buying more
for other windows in my home! Delivery was quick.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Netzle
from Montana, USA

Lookin' Good

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I purchased 2 of the 30" Panama Natural Roller Shades back in November for a door and window in our utility room. We were so pleased with their appearance and the ease of installation that in January we decided to purchase two 60" shades for the adjacent kitchen and dinette. They have added a nice casual finished look to the previously bare windows. All of these windows face due East and it is now May with the bright morning sun shining full force on the house. These shades are doing a wonderful job of filtering the sunlight in those rooms. There is a noticeable temperature difference with them closed, yet they let in a soft, ambient light. Our only gripe with the set is that the larger shades have a different pull chain and tie-down which is more awkward to use and less aesthetically pleasing: The "chain" on the 60" shades runs through an open-loop holder; and has a splice that sticks as it runs through the loop. Also, because of the way the chain and loop work, the chain is looser (sloppier) which makes operation more clumsy. Overall we are still happy with the purchases.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
LillyD
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great service - great experience

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I bought these shades in the store a few years ago and wanted to match up some addt'l windows - they were available on your on-line store - rec'd shipment quickly - took them to my local store where they cut them - it all went very smoothly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
mesinnh
from Pembroke, NH

roller shade with chain

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
this is a pretty good product. It went together easily. The only issue is that it is geared towards a full size window. My window is only 48 inches - shade wise, it is fine but the chain is too long to attach to the wood frame and there is no apparent way to shorten the chain. But it fit the need of a hard to reach window.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
pcmaven
from Lake Tahoe, United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does stop the sun.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
The shade was easy to install, but the included screws were too long for my wooden window frame. I can't find a way to position the shade at an intermediate position. Since the window frame is dark, I now wish I had ordered the chocolate color.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
howboy
from Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product. Easy to install and operate. Similar products purchased several years ago have been reliable.

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
The original window coverings were much more expensive, failed in just a few years, and were not easy to operate.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
emilio1
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard to install, requires EXACT measurements.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Even the store consultants were confused as to how to install. Not your average blind, but nice now that it is installed.
Pros: Rich Looking, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Budgetdecorator

Nice.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Panama Natural Roller Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Too bad these are only available online.
They over complete privacy.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.