728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

Ultra Allergen Reduction FPR 9 Air Filter has Electro-statically charged fibers that capture airborne allergens as well as microscopic airborne particles.
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good air filtration, low air flow restriction, 50% damage rate

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A leading consumer magazine said these filters clean the air very well without restricting air flow, and my A/C tech likes them. However half of the 24 received in 2 shipments arrived with damaged cardboard frames, a few of them dented and bent enough to cause a poor air seal around their perimeters. However one filter had a 1" x 8" gouge in the pleated filter media, and that was definitely a manufacturing defect because the clear shrink wrap over it was completely intact (see photo). Some of these filters sagged much more in the middle than I've ever seen before for this exact model, which I've been buying for years.
Pros: good air filtration, low air flow restriction
Cons: high defect rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Air Filter

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two full boxes of this filter during Home Depot's "Clean Air Sale" on the filters...enough for a couple years of usage (also 2 boxes of a lower FPR 8 rating too - which we alternate between the FPR 8 & 9).
When I switch over from the lower FPR filter, from Filtrete, you can immediately notice the difference with the FPR 9! I actually just changed to the FPR 9 2 days ago from the FPR 8 and it really is an improvement.
I would highly recommend these filters as a homeowner and a former high end remodeling contractor/business owner (former = spinal injury).
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, traps fine particulates.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

pretty good, wait for price deals

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These filters are good, but wait for the price deals. They are way too overpriced otherwise.
You don't want too high of a rating or you run the risk of damaging your central air system but you don't want to swim in dust and pet hair either.
Watch the flyers...change these every month or you'll be sorry.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: usually too expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

Good Filters and GREAT Price!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always use these filters. This was their second best but at only $81 for a box of 12,it was a great deal!!
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

Are These Filters Factory Seconds?

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used several of these filters now in two different sizes and have found that they sag more in the middle and the cardboard frame is coming apart and/or bent. These may be factory seconds and should be sold as such if they are. A good deal isn't one if you are getting items that are defective.
Pros: cheap vs 1st quality
Cons: defective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Chesterland, OH 44026, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would have been a good value except we recieved a damaged product.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We received our filters. Five of the filters had damage (slightly crushed) on one side of the filter. It wasn't a major issue, but it does affect the filter performance.
Cons: damaged product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Westborough, MA 01581, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fliter. very sturdy

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have tried many filters, the 3M Fitrete is by far the best. Very Happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good filters at a great price

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good filters at a great price for people who suffer with allergies.
Pros: High Quality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and value.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product and value. enabled me to by a better grade filter.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Maineville, OH 45039, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The filters are premium quality at an exceptional price. Wonderful experience overall. Thank you.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always use these filters

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These filters are near the top of the line and do the job in my furnace. I change them as recommended without a problem. The reason I purchased these online is because of the great deal offered. Definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Minneapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product and performs as advertised. I don't know why, but there seems to be a myth about these filters being to restrictive. What a bunch of malarky. It works fine in my 92% efficiency HVAC. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got this during the 50% off sale Awesome deal at that price

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These are great filters but they aren't cheap normally wouldn't buy this many at once but at 50% off couldn't be beat and I will not have to remember to go get more for at least a few years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Shell Lake, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using these filters for many years and really like how they clean the air. This is the only filter I will purchase.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great price for fine product.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't pass up this offer. Good filers at a great price. Really do a great job keeping down dust and pollen.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was able to get great price on a product I use all the time.I like to change the furnace filters every month.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Price Ever

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great filters for a great price! I could not believe the price until UPS delivered them to my door.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

The order was handled promptly and delivery was within the time frame as indicated.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't used the product yet. I assume it's the same quality as what I used to buy from Costco. The sale price made it a much better deal than that of the Costco's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED

I have not used them yet for this purchase, but I used this brand before. It is good

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not used them yet for this purchase, but I used this brand before. It is good
Pros: High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 25 in. x 1 in. Ultra Allergen Reduction Purple Pleated FPR 9 Air Filter (Case of 12)-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Value of product is great.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was searching for. The delivery was timely. The price was great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>